Page 10 of 17 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

Thread: Barstoolers Love-In

Quote Originally Posted by harleyleeds View Post
    Still I am only curious as I said to understand more the thought.

In the following order:

Support

Local junior team (every Sunday)
    Local League of ireland team (season ticket holder)
    National team (Only the decent matches or bringing some kids from the club)
    EPL (sky moth when i get time, been to a load of matches when i worked in London)
    Last edited by Hurt Locker; 27/05/2011 at 1:51 PM.

It's the internet - it's not feckin representative of anything let alone the "average LoI fan", who simply doesn't exist. No one I know could give a toss whether someone who goes to games also follows a UK Club. Most couldn't even give a toss about the ones that don't go, but support UK clubs. The only one's that get any real stick are those clueless idiots who slag the league off, like the tool who wrote that article, from a position of zero knowledge and ridiculous logic (again like that tool).

Anyone who takes whats said on a forum to heart is just looking for an excuse - if it wasn't that it'd be some other bs excuse. It's their loss - what they don't realise is that as much as helping the league, if they get into going to live football they'll be helping themselves have a better, more fulfilling life. Unless they go to Athlone.

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    Not tragic CD but indicitive of the cretinous attitude of the muppet that wrote it. i would suggest if he wrote that about any bogball sport (GAA stick fighting, womens stickfighting (chicks with .....), handball)it would have disappeared long before publication. many journo's are idiots that think themselves funny, its the editors job to weed out the crap.
    The fact that the idiot that penned that joke article puts himself forward as a serious sports journalist says it all.
    Handball is the actual name of the sport though.
    It's crying out for someone to come up with a witty replacement name like 'bogball' or 'stickfighting'.
    I like the ring of 'squash for culchies' myself.
    See also 'baseball for culchies' (rounders).

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jinxy View Post
    It's crying out for someone to come up with a witty replacement name like 'bogball' or 'stickfighting'.
    how about BogStick and Fightball?
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Bogfighting and stickball would probably make more sense.

2,446 Posts
    Stickball is already taken though isn't it? 'Too fast, wheres the ball?' is more apt.

433 Posts
    Brawlball?
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    Sure God love the poor pet, you'd have to feel sorry for him. Having nearly cried in 1979 when Man U lost the cup, he now realises he has no connection to them. He's clearly emotionally-repressed!!

And he was so close to the truth. I can picture him in a psychiatrist's office coming close to a breakthrough. He has reached into the depths of his soul to search for a new level of self-realisation. He has come to terms with how empty his past life has been and how he truly seeks a sense of belonging, a more honest and fulfilling path. Here it is - his moment of clarity. Doctor Melfi braces herself for this revelation, this life-altering assertion and then......"I think I'll follow Barca instead" AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGGGGGGGGGH HHHH

It reminds me of a guy I knew who had heart problems and was advised to give up cigarettes......so he took up cigars instead!

So many of his points about Man U/the Premiership are spot on and Barca do play the best football in the world, but how on earth could he look himself in the mirror and say "I used to support Man U, but now I prefer Barcelona"? Of course, the advantage of switching to Barca is that he has even less chance of ever having to attend a match which is clearly a good thing in his mind. I love the line "there is no problem identifying what or who the 2009 winners represent". Not you, that's for sure. Not some journo asking the barman in Mulligans to put on Sky Sports Xtra. But he wonders why he no longer feels a connection with an English team.

And isn't it wonderful how Barcelona are a Catalan team and are run by the fans? The Catlan fans who want to keep the spirit of the club local, who don't even associate with the rest of Spain let alone some hack in D'Olier Street. Also, did anyone seriously believe that when one of the richest clubs in the world (and one of the biggest merchandise sellers) decided to go against their tradition by allowing (even paying for) UNICEF as a shirt sponsor that it was a completely altruistic move and not a gateway to a massive future revenue stream??

Don't get me wrong. I love watching Barcelona play. It's a thing of beauty. But if I became a Barca fan, would I have to deny myself any pleasure from watching Ozil or DiMaria for Real Madrid? Some of the best football I've seen was from Zidane and the traitorous Figo (who any true Barca fan would despise). And I wouldn't have been able to enjoy watching Sgorio when I was a kid to see Butragueno and Hugo Sanchez in Welsh! Far from being Luddite, League of Ireland fans tend to really appreciate football in all its breadth. Growing up, I was fascinated with the technique of Lobanovsky's Kiev. Then there was the sheer awesomeness of Milan 88-94, the teenage kicks of Ajax '95 and the joy of Arsenal's Invincibles. All the while, nothing could beat the thrill of live football (live being 'in the flesh' rather than 'live and exclusive').

That hack would probably love the right-on story of AFC Wimbledon - the ultimate no to franchise football. He uses the example of the Baltimore Colts. I have plenty of friends from around Baltimore. The reason they stopped following the Colts after the move to Indianapolis wasn't because of some disgust about greed-driven shipping out of a franchise, it was because they were no longer their LOCAL team. Baltimore went out and did to Cleveland exactly what Indianapolis had done to them: they stole their team. And now everyone in Baltimore supports the Ravens (formerly the Cleveland Browns) because they can attend games, interact with the team and because the team REPRESENTS them.

As my grandfather would've said "that fella needs some fresh air". It's been said here a million times, but nothing beats going to a game. He, and Mr A, are right. Being a League of Ireland fan is a bit mad. But so are most of the exciting, romantic, inventive things in life. When you love your club, yes, there is a small element of mass-like religious obligation about going when things are bad, but a life with the League of Ireland is genuinely thrilling, emotive and fulfilling. The interaction with the club, the social element, the moments of magic, the despairing lows and the unbridled highs. I never believe we should try to guilt people into going to football matches - it's their loss, they're the ones missing out on something special.

Thanks, Brian O'Connor. You have unintentionally reminded me why I love MY club and MY league. The League of Ireland: Football in Highest Definition!
    excellent post.
    Just to add my two cents worth. I support both Drogheda united and Everton. I emigrated from Drogheda to Boston about 3 and a half years ago (just after the drogs won the league!). Here in Boston a few of us set up Boston Evertonians. There are about 100 members and about 20 of us watch the games together at stupidly early hours. I have been to see the New England Revolution a few times but it is hard to get into as they are about 20 miles away and the fact that they have a fan base of about 10,000 playing in a 80,000 seater stadium doesn't help. I like catching the ocasional live game. the USA are playing Spain here next week and the Revs are playing LA tomorrow, and I like the craic sitting in a bar early on a Saturday morning watching the toffees loose to West Brom but nothing compares to league of Ireland football, I never realized how much I'd miss it until it was gone. So appreciate what you've got and don't pay any heed to barstool LoI bashers. sure LoI fans are a bit odd and there might be a superiority complex there but thats all part of it, Its like being part of a big family (with that ****** brother from Oriel Park).
    LoI haters never really bothered me but the attitude of the press has always gotten to me. I listen to 'off the ball' at work here and Roddy never has anything positive to say about the league and he's their expert. Ken Early, their football supremo, knows sfa about the LoI and cares even less. Surely there must be some sort of way of sponsoring him to pick one club and follow them for a season. His football show lasts an hour four nights a week and them lads would do anything for a few bucks!
    Rambling a bit now, Fu*k what the barstoolers think, appreciate what you've got because I wish I had it.
    we looked from Montrose to Swords, from swords to Montrose and from Montrose to Swords again but already it was impossible to spot UCDs right winger

2,284 Posts
    It's a shame that elements within the country's mainstream media are so openly hostile and unnecessarily condescending towards their own national league and for what really? What harm has it ever done them or the game they apparently love in general? In that sense, it'd be different from those, say, in the English media who decry the commercialisation of football in England and castigate the Premier League as a symptom of this.

305 Posts
    There is a radio station around these parts called LMFM who give sweet fcuk all coverage to the two LOI clubs within their catchment area(Dundalk & Drogs).I dont even think that they had live commentary on the last local derby? But they will cover any(and i mean any) bogball or stick fighting match or event.What chance is there that the mainstream media will pay attention/some respect to LOI when the local crowd dont give a c*ap ?? (and full respect to DundalkFM and the Dundalk Democrat for their top class coverage of DundalkFC games)
    Fair play to you DannyInvicible,you certaintly have a strong passion for this subject. Maith Thu.

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Fair play to you DannyInvicible,you certaintly have a strong passion for this subject. Maith Thu.
    Ah, I'm not actually a Mancunian if that's what you were getting at, in case the location confused you. I was actually born in Donegal. Back in my pre-adolescent days, I used to frequent Finn Park on a regular basis with a Finn Harps-supporting neighbour who drove me up to Ballybofey for my first dabbles with live football. I also attended the Brandywell on occasion as I lived a lot closer to Derry. In later formative years, I've been known to attend the Brandywell exclusively for Derry games, although I generally keep some of my earlier childhood activities under wraps now for obvious reasons. But I've always lived just outside the city, went to school there and my social life generally centres around it whenever I'm home, after all, so it made and makes sense to me in order to get my fix of local football. Whether others would accept that rationale or not is another matter...

My parents still live on the Donegal-Derry border and, as I said, I'd generally still consider it home.
    Last edited by DannyInvincible; 28/05/2011 at 3:00 AM.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Ah, I'm not actually a Mancunian if that's what you were getting at, in case the location confused you. I was actually born in Donegal. Back in my pre-adolescent days, I used to frequent Finn Park on a regular basis with a Finn Harps-supporting neighbour who drove me up to Ballybofey for my first dabbles with live football. I also attended the Brandywell on occasion as I lived a lot closer to Derry. In later formative years, I've been known to attend the Brandywell exclusively for Derry games, although I generally keep some of my earlier childhood activities under wraps now for obvious reasons. But I've always lived just outside the city, went to school there and my social life generally centres around it whenever I'm home, after all, so it made and makes sense to me in order to get my fix of local football. Whether others would accept that rationale or not is another matter...

My parents still live on the Donegal-Derry border and, as I said, I'd generally still consider it home.

We don't take kindly to your kinda folk around here ;P

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Wasn't that Uncle Buck?
    No. Genuine idiot that used to live with me. Don't get me started!

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    No. Genuine idiot that used to live with me. Don't get me started!
    I think we already have.

He's probably on snoos now.

55 Posts
    See when people use the term 'bogball' or 'stick fighting' all the while moaning about showing disrespect to our national league, you really make yourself look silly and a bit of a hypocrite.

And just to say maybe why it gets coverage is because it's actually popular, the LOI isn't - so lose the chip on your shoulder. I find the LOI is usually a turn-off for a lot of people. The attitude stinks.

136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TiocfaidhArmani View Post
    See when people use the term 'bogball' or 'stick fighting' all the while moaning about showing disrespect to our national league, you really make yourself look silly and a bit of a hypocrite.

And just to say maybe why it gets coverage is because it's actually popular, the LOI isn't - so lose the chip on your shoulder. I find the LOI is usually a turn-off for a lot of people. The attitude stinks.
    You really don't belong here.

21. Thanks From:

I find the LOI is usually a turn-off for a lot of people
    no one ever said it was an aphrodisiac...

473 Posts

The attitude to the GAA from sections of the LOI is, I think, based in no small part on the GAA's historic attitude towards "foreign sports", and specific incidents like the Tallaght saga, and ploughing that football field in Kerry. You don't see the same degree of hostility towards, say, rugby.

24. Thanks From:

433 Posts

Wrong forum buddy. I think Hoganstand is thataway ---> http://www.hoganstand.com/forum/forumpage.aspx
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

26. Thanks From:

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    The attitude to the GAA from sections of the LOI is, I think, based in no small part on the GAA's historic attitude towards "foreign sports", and specific incidents like the Tallaght saga, and ploughing that football field in Kerry. You don't see the same degree of hostility towards, say, rugby.
    Yeah. But roll on Sunday and 2 from 2 for the mighty Dubs in the Championship in bog ball and stickfighting.

On a barstooling matter to see parents purchase their young children English/Scottish soccer paraphernalia is another aspect which starts Irish lids on the long road down the slippery slope if barstooling.

Page 10 of 17 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast