View Full Version : Irish abroad transfer rumours
18/07/2008, 9:13 AM
Dave Kitson supposed to be completing a move from Reading to Stoke today, don't know how that affects Doyle's rumoured transfers, but it'll probably mean more game time for Shane Long
Junior
18/07/2008, 11:31 AM
Saha and Balde will line out for Sunderland on opening day!
Please God - thats £40k a week off the wage bill for a guy who is not getting on the bench at Celtic. Presumably Sunderland will have to offer similar otherwise Balde is going nowhere.....
18/07/2008, 11:41 AM
Liam Miller was taken off the transfer list by Roy Keane. Miller and Ross Wallace have both been given a 2nd chance.
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=33216
irishfan86
19/07/2008, 8:37 PM
Dave Kitson supposed to be completing a move from Reading to Stoke today, don't know how that affects Doyle's rumoured transfers, but it'll probably mean more game time for Shane Long
I agree it's good for Long, but I'd say he'll be coming off the bench for most games behind Doyle and Lita barring either of them being sold.
20/07/2008, 12:08 AM
I agree it's good for Long, but I'd say he'll be coming off the bench for most games behind Doyle and Lita barring either of them being sold.Doyle's been carrying a hamstring injury, and aggravated it against MK Dons today - http://www.readingfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10306~1347310,00.html - Long started the game. Hunt came on for Doyle, and scored the winner
Colbert Report
20/07/2008, 12:09 AM
I agree it's good for Long, but I'd say he'll be coming off the bench for most games behind Doyle and Lita barring either of them being sold.
I don't understand why Reading haven't sold the likes of Shorey, Hunt, Doyle and Lita yet. Just a matter of time, these players are all on big money and they are too good for the Championship anyway.
20/07/2008, 12:23 AM
I don't understand why Reading haven't sold the likes of Shorey, Hunt, Doyle and Lita yet. Just a matter of time, these players are all on big money and they are too good for the Championship anyway.
Has there been any official bids for any of those players?
SilkCut
20/07/2008, 12:27 AM
Has there been any official bids for any of those players?
Doesnt appear to have been. Just the usual speculation. Apparently West Ham are interested in Doyle. And MK dons have made Andrews available for transfer. Have never seen him play, could he be the new Mark Kinsella?
20/07/2008, 12:42 PM
Adam Rooney on trial at Inverness Caledonian Thistle: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/i/inverness_ct/7516114.stm
21/07/2008, 11:05 AM
Steve Finnan to Villa could be back on, from http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8671_3846655,00.html
Earlier in the summer, Steven Gerrard announced to the press that he was "desperate" for Liverpool to sign Gareth Barry...a deal that could finally go through this week for £16m plus Steve Finnan.
21/07/2008, 11:05 AM
It looks like Keane has exhausted his usual sources of players; former team-mates at United & Celtic & Irish internationls. Now he has gone back to Cark. Logical progression I guess...has Meyler even played underage for Ireland?
PLayed in the u19 game against France at the cross a few month back
22/07/2008, 12:00 AM
...Dundee United may well be facing the Spanish side without one of their key performers from last season. Last night, the club rejected a bid believed to be in the region of £500,000 from Reading for striker Noel Hunt.
Steve Coppell, the Reading manager, is in the market for a new forward following the sale of Dave Kitson to Stoke for £5.5m last week so has turned his attention to the Republic of Ireland B internationalist, whose brother Stephen is already at the Berkshire club.
Reading, who also had an offer of £400,000 for the player turned down last month, are determined to make an immediate return to the top flight following their relegation to the Coca-Cola championship on the final day of last season.
Hunt scored 17 goals for Craig Levein's side last season and has been pivotal in their recent resurgence. He has continued his fine form this summer, scoring in all three pre-season matches so far.
Therefore, United are loathe to lose a player who has steadily improved since joining from Dunfermline two seasons ago and will hold out for a higher fee from elsewhere unless Coppell ups his offer for a third time.
http://www.theherald.co.uk/sport/headlines/display.var.2405265.0.Barcelona_and_Messi_jet_in_b ut_will_Hunt_still_be_around_to_face_them.php
minty
22/07/2008, 11:16 AM
surely noel hunt is worth much more than half a million
23/07/2008, 3:21 PM
David Bell has been transferred from Luton to Norwich for an undisclosed fee. Good move for the lad.
23/07/2008, 3:28 PM
surely noel hunt is worth much more than half a million
Definitely. And if he's to leave Dundee, he shouldn't be going to the Championship.
23/07/2008, 3:46 PM
Definitely. And if he's to leave Dundee, he shouldn't be going to the Championship.
Why not? A move to the likes of Wolves, Birmingham or Reading wouldn't be a step down.
23/07/2008, 3:58 PM
Why not? A move to the likes of Wolves, Birmingham or Reading wouldn't be a step down.
I think it would. Dundee are on the up and Hunt's proven himself as one of their best players. The last of their top players who left was Barry Robson, look what he's gone on to.
I think Hunt can play in the Premiership or Celtic. *shudder* I don't think he should be going to the Championship.
Tenderloins
23/07/2008, 3:59 PM
Nick Colgan rumoured to be signing for Sunderland.
23/07/2008, 4:19 PM
Undergoing a medical today apparently.
23/07/2008, 6:54 PM
Martin Fulop is supposed to be moving to Stoke in a (frankly ludicrous) £6m deal, so Colgan will be replacing him.
23/07/2008, 6:56 PM
I think it would. Dundee are on the up and Hunt's proven himself as one of their best players. The last of their top players who left was Barry Robson, look what he's gone on to.
I think Hunt can play in the Premiership or Celtic. *shudder* I don't think he should be going to the Championship.
well, Dundee have agreed a fee with Reading for him - http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_3857483,00.html
Incidentally, going to Celtic would have been a waste of his time, an amount of decent SPL strikers have gone there in the last few seasons, only to rot in the reserves.
23/07/2008, 7:01 PM
well, Dundee have agreed a fee with Reading for him
That link says he's signed which is confirmed on the Reading site.
http://www.readingfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10306~1349860,00.html
zackmorris
23/07/2008, 7:02 PM
Scott Davies moves to Aldershot on a season long loan and Kieron Murphy has trial extended at Accrington. Any word on James Simmonds?
zackmorris
23/07/2008, 7:14 PM
Interesting article on the Glenn Hoddle academy where there are three Irish players:
http://www.irishpost.co.uk/news/story/?trs=qlidgbcw
Qwerty
23/07/2008, 10:16 PM
Interesting concept, looks like he will coach the players and then try to sell them or negotiate contracts and get a slice of the pie.
http://www.glennhoddleacademy.com/index.html
24/07/2008, 7:08 AM
Scott Davies moves to Aldershot on a season long loan
He was there for all of last season as well and helped them win the league.
24/07/2008, 9:41 AM
Interesting article on the Glenn Hoddle academy where there are three Irish players:
http://www.irishpost.co.uk/news/story/?trs=qlidgbcw
Interesting to see the Irish guy complaining about too many foreigners in the English game :rolleyes:
24/07/2008, 10:56 AM
today's McGeady rumour is that Sunderland are looking to buy him for £6m: http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/2008/07/24/exclusive-sunderland-to-go-in-for-celtic-s-aidan-mcgeady-115875-20668923/
third policeman
24/07/2008, 11:01 AM
today's McGeady rumour is that Sunderland are looking to buy him for £6m: http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/2008/07/24/exclusive-sunderland-to-go-in-for-celtic-s-aidan-mcgeady-115875-20668923/
Keane has got to be taking the ****. Newcastle have allegedly offered twice that amount.
24/07/2008, 11:41 AM
Finnan is in talks with Galatasary.
No link, just from a guy I know, same guy said finnan would be retiring.
24/07/2008, 11:57 AM
Finnan is in talks with Galatasary.
No link, just from a guy I know, same guy said finnan would be retiring.
Must be true then ;)
zackmorris
29/07/2008, 4:53 PM
Former Man Utd striker chris fagan is on trial with Luton and is due to play for them tonight against colchester whilst Ireland 'B' cap lewis emanuel is on trial with birmingham city
Qwerty
29/07/2008, 10:28 PM
Interesting to see the Irish guy complaining about too many foreigners in the English game :rolleyes:
Why? To me a foreigner is someone who doesn't speak English as a first language. Americans, Aussies, Kiwis, Scots are not foreigners to me my friend.
Drumcondra 69er
29/07/2008, 11:02 PM
Why? To me a foreigner is someone who doesn't speak English as a first language. Americans, Aussies, Kiwis, Scots are not foreigners to me my friend.
That's a pretty bizarre definition of foreigner mate in all fairness.....
deecay
29/07/2008, 11:36 PM
A foreigner is someone from a foreign country
irishultra
30/07/2008, 12:54 AM
Qwerty, that was probably, actually without a doubt the most retarted thing I have ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever read in my whole entire life.
Midfielder Keith Andrews is set to complete his £2m transfer from MK Dons to Blackburn. (Daily Express)
30/07/2008, 2:19 PM
Finnan to Villa as part of the agreed deal for Barry to Liverpool, according to football365
Qwerty
30/07/2008, 11:15 PM
Qwerty, that was probably, actually without a doubt the most retarted thing I have ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever read in my whole entire life.
I'm glad I set a record even if a pretty meaningless one.
Maybe I have travelled more than some of you guys, but I feel that English speaking countries share an enormous shared history and heritage and have always felt at home when in the UK, US or Australia. Is Liverpool really foreign? Think about the word for a minute, is Kerry foreign if you are fronm Clare?
Well if nothing more Conor McCormack and I share a common outlook, I'm happy being in the minority, we're usually right. :)
30/07/2008, 11:27 PM
Maybe I have travelled more than some of you guys, but I feel that English speaking countries share an enormous shared history and heritage and have always felt at home when in the UK, US or Australia.
Yeah, it involves conquering a native people, and occupation by a foreign power
BTW you missed out on India, Canada, New Zealand, and South Africa (among others) in your list
youngirish
31/07/2008, 9:27 AM
Maybe I have travelled more than some of you guys, but I feel that English speaking countries share an enormous shared history and heritage and have always felt at home when in the UK, US or Australia.
I've travelled all over the world since I've been 20 and I agree 100% with irishultra on this one.
Is Liverpool really foreign?
Yes.
Think about the word for a minute, is Kerry foreign if you are fronm Clare?
No because both fall within the boundaries of the nation that is the Republic of Ireland ruled by a government in Dublin. Unfortunately Liverpool does not. I think before you travel anymore you should get two things:
1. A map.
2. An Irish history book.
I shudder at the thought of your perceptions of the Republic of Ireland being exported to people worldwide. 1916-1921 what a waste of time that one was, what?
Well if nothing more Conor McCormack and I share a common outlook, I'm happy being in the minority, we're usually right. :)
Only when you're the well-informed, enlightened minority not the ranting, raving, crazy people minority who think it's still 1850.
31/07/2008, 1:03 PM
Daryl Murphy signs one year extension to his contract at Sunderland: http://www.safc.com/home/?page_id=15336
31/07/2008, 1:23 PM
Maybe I have travelled more than some of you guys, but I feel that English speaking countries share an enormous shared history and heritage and have always felt at home when in the UK, US or Australia. Is Liverpool really foreign? Think about the word for a minute, is Kerry foreign if you are fronm Clare?
Are you Kevin Myers
Drumcondra 69er
31/07/2008, 3:59 PM
Can't be that well travelled. If you don't consider Amercia, Britain, Australia or any other English speaking countries foreign then how many times have you actually gone abroad?? ;)
Have to say if you lived in the UK in the late 80's / early 90's I doubt you'd have felt at home.....
cheifo
01/08/2008, 2:12 AM
Not being argumentitive, but I lived in the UK late eighties and early ninties and 99% of English people I met were more than welcoming.
In fact , I was surprised to learn that (for obvious reasons) we were more guilty of stereotyping them, than them us.
The IRA had hit London hard around during those years so their sense of fair play(English people) was all the more surprising and impressive.
All the Irish people I knew over there felt the same altough of course there were one or two isolated incidents.
I went there straight after the leaving Cert in 88, and my image of English people going over was garnered from, our history,The reputation of the Sun/Daily Mail,Margret Thatcher and football hooligans.
Of course I had forgot to consider the fact that all the Best Telly was on the UK stations and a lot of the best music was from Blighty.
I learned a valuable lesson over there that smug stereotypes are never right, apart from when meeting Chelsea fans who were to a man, brainless right wing oiks.
oh and back on topic, em Owen Garvan to ...maybe..em West Ham!!
Drumcondra 69er
01/08/2008, 9:15 AM
Not being argumentitive, but I lived in the UK late eighties and early ninties and 99% of English people I met were more than welcoming.
In fact , I was surprised to learn that (for obvious reasons) we were more guilty of stereotyping them, than them us.
The IRA had hit London hard around during those years so their sense of fair play(English people) was all the more surprising and impressive.
All the Irish people I knew over there felt the same altough of course there were one or two isolated incidents.
I went there straight after the leaving Cert in 88, and my image of English people going over was garnered from, our history,The reputation of the Sun/Daily Mail,Margret Thatcher and football hooligans.
Of course I had forgot to consider the fact that all the Best Telly was on the UK stations and a lot of the best music was from Blighty.
I learned a valuable lesson over there that smug stereotypes are never right, apart from when meeting Chelsea fans who were to a man, brainless right wing oiks.
Much as I met plenty of bang on English people when I lived there and would've conuted many as good friends I have to say that a number of the English lads I worked on the sites with has serious issues with us 'Paddies' (and the African lads working with us) as had a couple of coppers I encountered after World Cup games in 1990, This isn't stereotyping but was,as you point out, mainly as a result of the IRA campaign that was in full swing at the time (Tory MP Ian Gow was killed in a car bomb that summer for example). Of course the majority of people were very decent but it's undeniable that there was tension in certain circles at that stage. Sean Hughes used to have a joke in his stand up routine where he said 'The best thing about being Irish in London is nobosy know you're black until you open your mouth!' which while obviously exagerated had some basis in truth. It was few years later that being Irish became quite fashionable over there.
cheifo
01/08/2008, 9:46 AM
Fair enough D69er , good post,, I actually feel one of the positives side affects of Blairs regime was a less confrontational attitude towards outsiders.
Back on topic, anyone noticing how in recent years there seems to be less to talk about regarding transfer regarding Irish players.This close season has very quiet IMO.
01/08/2008, 10:56 AM
close season in general has been quiet Chiefo, allegedly one of the reasons is that season ticket sales are down because of the credit crunch
Drumcondra 69er
01/08/2008, 11:48 AM
Funnily enough I think Ipswich are playing West Ham this weekend!
Think Owen will be staying put for another season though.....
dr_peepee
01/08/2008, 2:09 PM
Are you "in the know" D69 or are you speculating????
I'm itching for him to step up, if only to get more exposure to him. I worry that I may have built him up too much in me head cos I've not seen that much of him.
But I do think at this stage given the amount of games he's played at that level that he's gotten all he's ever gonna get in terms of development, from Ipswich in the Championship.