View Full Version : Irish abroad transfer rumours
HarpoJoyce
01/06/2008, 3:55 PM
MIckey Adams signs Colin Hawkins from Coventry City to Brighton & Hove Albion. I have seen no fee mentioned.
http://www.seagulls.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Latest/0,,10433~1320962,00.html
Meet Colin Hawkins
http://www.seagulls.premiumtv.co.uk/page/TVNews/0,,10433~1320731,00.html?target=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.s eagulls.premiumtv.co.uk%2Fpage%2Fsub%2FTVNews%2F0% 2C%2C10433%7E1320731%2C00.html%3F
youngirish
05/06/2008, 1:46 PM
Doherty linked with US move
June 5, 2008
Former Republic of Ireland international Gary Doherty has been linked with a move to Major League Soccer side San Jose Earthquakes.
Doherty has spent the past four years at Norwich City but his future at Carrow Road is uncertain as Canaries boss Glenn Roeder attempts to rejuvenate his squad.
And reports in California suggest that San Jose general manager John Doyle has held preliminary talks with the 28-year-old.
Doherty won the last of his 34 senior caps under Brian Kerr in 2005 and has failed to feature in the plans of subsequent Irish bosses Steve Staunton or Giovanni Trapattoni.
The Legend
05/06/2008, 5:50 PM
Cool, I might see the Doc around town then... class...
06/06/2008, 5:38 PM
its cool the way ye see fellas registered so long who dont post but still obviouslly read.
Anyhow, lets say Boruc leaves Celtic, do ye reckon Celtic would put in a bid for Given?! I reckon they might do......
Razors left peg
06/06/2008, 5:51 PM
its cool the way ye see fellas registered so long who dont post but still obviouslly read.
Anyhow, lets say Boruc leaves Celtic, do ye reckon Celtic would put in a bid for Given?! I reckon they might do......
Thats not a bad shout, hes a massive fan and he wouldnt be moving too far away from home
Irish_Praha
06/06/2008, 6:33 PM
Hey the rest of us have lives outside of Internet forums Paul!
Would rather see Given at Celtic than at Newcastle anyway. Maybe it will happen.
Colbert Report
06/06/2008, 7:32 PM
No no no Celtic would have to give Given 40k+ per week to get him. There's no need to spend that kind of cash on a goalkeeper in the SPL. If Given leaves Newcastle it'll be for somewhere like Aston Villa or one of the newly promoted clubs.
Razors left peg
06/06/2008, 7:40 PM
No no no Celtic would have to give Given 40k+ per week to get him. There's no need to spend that kind of cash on a goalkeeper in the SPL. If Given leaves Newcastle it'll be for somewhere like Aston Villa or one of the newly promoted clubs.
Maybe not worth it for the SPL but what about Champions League?
Colbert Report
06/06/2008, 8:09 PM
No, not worth it. Boruc is a better 'keeper than Given now. They've never gotten to the quarterfinals with Boruc, so why would they go farther with Given? Spend the money on a quality central midfielder instead. Steve Sidwell would fit the bill.
Razors left peg
06/06/2008, 8:12 PM
No, not worth it. Boruc is a better 'keeper than Given now. They've never gotten to the quarterfinals with Boruc, so why would they go farther with Given? Spend the money on a quality central midfielder instead. Steve Sidwell would fit the bill.
Well aparently Celtic are supposed to have 20 million to spend this summer so I think they could afford both quite easily. Anyway there has been no speculation that Celtic would move for Given so its probably a waste of time to argue about it:)
Fergie's Son
15/06/2008, 8:21 PM
According to football365.com, there are moves afoot for McGeday to go to Sunderland with Stokes being offered to Celtic as part of the deal.
I see this as a great move for Stokes but a step backwards for McGeady. I'm not a huge fan of the SPL but Celtic are certainly a much better team for McGeady. Also, the price being quoted is a little too high given the market.
Thoughts?
Razors left peg
15/06/2008, 8:32 PM
According to football365.com, there are moves afoot for McGeday to go to Sunderland with Stokes being offered to Celtic as part of the deal.
I see this as a great move for Stokes but a step backwards for McGeady. I'm not a huge fan of the SPL but Celtic are certainly a much better team for McGeady. Also, the price being quoted is a little too high given the market.
Thoughts?
If Stokes can reproduce the form he had for Falkirk Id be happy enough to see him at Celtic, McGeady should aim higher though
Paddy Garcia
15/06/2008, 8:34 PM
Agree, McGeady should join a footballing club where he would be better suited
boovidge
15/06/2008, 8:51 PM
sideways step for McGeady. He'll get more competitive matches in the EPL but he won't get the Champions League experience he'll get with Celtic. It'd be interesting to see him in England though. Hopefully he can prove the doubters wrong :)
Closed Account 2
15/06/2008, 9:09 PM
I agree; with Celtic he's pretty much assured of 8 champions league matches each season (sometimes it might be 6 CL but then say 4 more Uefa) all of these European matches are better for him in terms of experience than any premier league fixture against a non top four club. Even if he was to play the likes of Dinamo Kyiv it would be better for his development than playing the likes of Stoke, Boro or Villa as they would have different style and the away fixture would be in a new environment.
It would be a total waste for him to move. If he was going to leave Celtic, realistically the top 4 are not going to be interested in him, I'd like him to move to Serie A (could do well at a club like Torino, Genoa, Sampdoria or Lazio) or in the Bundesliga with a team like Hertha or Dortmund.
[QUOTE=Fergie's Son;963179]According to football365.com, there are moves afoot for McGeday to go to Sunderland with Stokes being offered to Celtic as part of the deal.
Thoughts?[/QUOTE
what is the price?
you say 8 champions league matches! but hasnt he also got 8 matches against Man U, liverpool, arsenal and chelsea combined, for me more competitive that the 8 champions league matches seeing as at least one of those teams he would play against would probably be very poor.
Razors left peg
15/06/2008, 9:15 PM
Personally I think that McGeady is better than Bently so maybe if he has 1 good season with Sunderland the top 4 clubs will start looking at him like they are now with Bently, so while I think he should definately aim higher I suppose it mightnt be a bad move in the long term
Rovers fan
15/06/2008, 9:39 PM
Personally I think that McGeady is better than Bently so maybe if he has 1 good season with Sunderland the top 4 clubs will start looking at him like they are now with Bently,
No way,bentley is a much better player than mcgeady. He was at the heart of everything blackburn did this season,if anything he is underrated.
Razors left peg
15/06/2008, 9:42 PM
No way,bentley is a much better player than mcgeady. He was at the heart of everything blackburn did this season,if anything he is underrated.
And McGeady won player of the year in Scotland. Didnt say Bentley was a bad player, I rate him very highly, I just rate McGeady higher.Some of his performances in the Champions League have been outstanding
15/06/2008, 9:42 PM
[quote=Fergie's Son;963179]According to football365.com, there are moves afoot for McGeday to go to Sunderland with Stokes being offered to Celtic as part of the deal.
Thoughts?[/QUOTE
what is the price?
Says £10 million here.
http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/football/10m-McGeady-wanted-by-Sunderland.4186825.jp
Fergie's Son
15/06/2008, 11:28 PM
Seems a lot for him if you include Stokes. Doubt it'll happen but would be nice to see McGeady in a better league than the SPL.
Colbert Report
16/06/2008, 1:07 AM
Somebody here already made my point. I was going to say sure, he is leaving Celtic who play six or eight Champions League matches per season but sure enough he'll play Liverpool, Chelsea, Arsenal, and Manchester United twice each per season. All four of those teams have made the Champions League final in the last three years. Plus, if Sunderland keep improving they'll likely be in with a shout for a UEFA Cup spot most years. I think this would be a great move for everyone involved - McGeady gets to play at a higher level, Roy Keane gets a very good player, and Celtic get a pile of money plus a young player in Stokes who's already lit up the SPL with a much smaller club.
seanfhear
16/06/2008, 7:31 AM
like it or not sunderland in the premier league week in week out is better than an uncompetitive spl.If mcgeady proves himself at sunderland the top tier clubs will soon come calling.The top clubs do not have faith in the standard of the spl.How many players have transfered from the spl to tier one clubs in recent times
Colbert Report
16/06/2008, 8:03 AM
Liam Miller?
EAFC_rdfl
16/06/2008, 8:38 AM
depends what tier one means, but maloney and petrov to villa would be near enough
seanfhear
16/06/2008, 9:35 AM
very unlikely that miller is going to make the grade even at sunderland
maloney is a bit part player at villa.I have seen him at the emirates and was very disappointed.Ithink he is one these players that looks good on television but when seen in real life is very easily controlled by the opposition
petrov is one player that i thought could adopt to the epl without much difficulty but has looked nowhere near as good for villa as he was for celtic
I think these examples prove my theory that mcgeady would have to prove himself at a lesser club in the premier league before a tier one club would take a chance.
This would also give him the opportunity to prove that he has the stamina /physique to cope with that level of football
irishultra
16/06/2008, 10:36 AM
McGeady should stay clear of England. Surely if an Italian club is interested in a 17 year old kid in the Scottish 1st division, clubs after McGeady's Benfica performance would be interested in him.
Villarreal, Espanyol..Ath. Madrid, even someone like Jooventus.
Junior
16/06/2008, 10:59 AM
Yeh, they could all play on the left wing:rolleyes:
McGeady is more than capable on the right.
16/06/2008, 11:33 AM
Do Celtic need the funds that badly?
16/06/2008, 7:54 PM
There's a seriously big difference between Arsenal and Sunderland.
236 miles apparently.
youngirish
17/06/2008, 9:43 AM
Another claim in the Sun today that McGeady is moving to Sunderland for 10 million. I personally reckon this particular rumour has some legs in it since it's been mentioned numerous times in a number of papers.
Personally I'd see it as a good move for him and a good move for Ireland as he'll be playing with Reid, McShane, Miller, Stokes and possibly Hunt regularly which should ensure they all develop a good understanding of each other and transplant this to the international team (where none of the midfield or forwards seem to have any understanding of each other).
I realise not all of the aforementioned will be at Sunderland next season (I believe it's likely Miller and Stokes will be offloaded) but the sentiment remains, playing with a few International colleagues regularly is better than playing with none. This is particularly true if Sunderland did have a midfield of Hunt, Reid and McGeady next season as this is a particular area of the International team where we need to see an improvement in our use of the ball.
It's also true that none of the big clubs will take a risk on McGeady while he's playing in the SPL. If he performs well at Sunderland, however, then there's every possibility he could be moved on next season. It will also be beneficial for him to test himself against International quality defenders (which most Premiership teams contain) on a regular basis rather than on only a few occasions each season in the Champions league.
The worry I have however is that he'll struggle with the more physical side of the game in the Premiership but in the absence of any transfer offers from a decent club on the continent I think he's be better off moving to Sunderland than staying at Celtic.
17/06/2008, 11:29 AM
Latest rumour: Roy Keane linked with every Irishman currently able to kick a football.
Colbert Report
17/06/2008, 1:04 PM
Latest rumour: Roy Keane linked with every Irishman currently able to kick a football.
There's my laugh of the morning. Well put.
Hibernian
17/06/2008, 1:15 PM
Nice see him at least some faith in Irish lads all the same
ken foree
17/06/2008, 1:20 PM
sorry i skimmed the thread and did a "reid" search with firefox's page searcher but didn't find mention of mark hughes rumour, wanting to bring steven reid to man. city. i thought it would be interesting to see how he would fit in with s. ireland as a potential partnership. playing them together every week could only help us in the OHH that's right i forgot ;)
cavan_fan
17/06/2008, 1:37 PM
Strictly speaking it's
Every Irishman or former Man U plaer or former Celtic player.
This is a real sign of Keane's weakness as a manager, he obviously has no knowledge of football outside payers he has played with and no scouting network.
livehead1
17/06/2008, 8:53 PM
This is a real sign of Keane's weakness as a manager, he obviously has no knowledge of football outside payers he has played with and no scouting network.
Indeed. A little like arguably his two most successful signings, Kenwyne Jones and Carlos Edwards.:rolleyes:
Ordinary Fan
17/06/2008, 9:57 PM
It is a sign of how low the stock of Irish players has fallen that there are so few stories about about moves (with the exception of them all going to Sunderland)
It would be good to see Doyle move to a premiership club and McGeady needs to prove himself outside the SPL.
McShane to anywhere he can get a game.
A fit Duff and Given playing regular football at Newcastle.
There are others but that would be a good start.
cavan_fan
18/06/2008, 8:12 AM
Indeed. A little like arguably his two most successful signings, Kenwyne Jones and Carlos Edwards.:rolleyes:
I forgot Trinidadian's presumably on Yorke's recommendations, its still a small pool
seanfhear
18/06/2008, 9:03 AM
kenwyne jones got keanes transfer dealings out of jail.Keane definetly needs to improve in this respect this time around.Sunderland spent alot of money last year without these players justifying the outlay
dr_peepee
18/06/2008, 9:54 AM
sorry i skimmed the thread and did a "reid" search with firefox's page searcher but didn't find mention of mark hughes rumour, wanting to bring steven reid to man. city. i thought it would be interesting to see how he would fit in with s. ireland as a potential partnership. playing them together every week could only help us in the OHH that's right i forgot ;)
I Definately read that rumour about two weeks ago...
ken foree
18/06/2008, 10:00 AM
I Definately read that rumour about two weeks ago...
interesting, seeing as the thread was started about 3 weeks ago - have we totally given up on the younger stevie then?? personally i was looking forward to more pink rims, underpants-revealing, volleys from outside the box, insanely fabricated stories, etc., etc. only slight sarcasm there :p
Strictly speaking it's
Every Irishman or former Man U plaer or former Celtic player.
You'd think with Keane's reputation (as a player) he should be able to attract some better footballers than he has done. He wasted disgracful amount of money last season on players. Chopra, £5m, certainly not woth that much. Halford, £2.5m sent out on loan to Charlton. Prica, ?? not up to much there either. K. Jones & A. Reid were he best signings & saved his season.
He does seem to rely a lot on players he has played with before. Is this because he feels he knows how to handle these player better than some foreign stars, who they could well afford going on the money wasted? That would be a sign of weakness.
Or he simply could be giving the Irish lads a chance, which is good in a way but it could turn into a bit of a graveyard for them when they fall out of flavour. eg. Kavanagh, Harte, Connolly, Stokes, McShane, Miller(transfer listed), Murphy (nearly went to QPR in Jan) O'Donovan (rumoured to be going on loan to the SPL). Granted the first 3 wont be really involved in the Interenational scene anymore, but the rest need to be getting games.
I read somewhere that Sunderland have employed John Barnes last year as their "Carribbean Scout", so could we expect few more Trinadad & Tobagans arriving on Wearside?
boovidge
18/06/2008, 1:50 PM
Or he simply could be giving the Irish lads a chance, which is good in a way but it could turn into a bit of a graveyard for them when they fall out of flavour. eg. Kavanagh, Harte, Connolly, Stokes, McShane, Miller(transfer listed), Murphy (nearly went to QPR in Jan) O'Donovan (rumoured to be going on loan to the SPL). ?
not anymore
Paddy Garcia
18/06/2008, 9:42 PM
Personally I'd see it as a good move for him and a good move for Ireland as he'll be playing with Reid, McShane, Miller, Stokes and possibly Hunt regularly which should ensure they all develop a good understanding of each other and transplant this to the international team
Well he will only play regularly with McShane if he is in the reserves. Probably Stokes & Miller too.
Qwerty
18/06/2008, 11:19 PM
He's doing very nicely nicely thank you v much. His record in mgmt is fanfu*kingtastic so far.
What it might indicate is that it's hard to get big names to move to Sunderland, that has been mentioned before by folks at the club, the WAGs don't fancy the shopping in Sunderland apparently.
SaucyJack
19/06/2008, 12:49 PM
Apparently Crystal Palace were considering a bid for Mark Yeates, but his injury history has scared them off, Forest were also interested, both would have been good moves IMO.
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=32793
irishultra
19/06/2008, 5:50 PM
Ah Yeates, the 'new Gascoigne'' according to Martin Jol.
Kivlehan
20/06/2008, 2:52 AM
You'd think with Keane's reputation (as a player) he should be able to attract some better footballers than he has done. He wasted disgracful amount of money last season on players. Chopra, £5m, certainly not woth that much. Halford, £2.5m sent out on loan to Charlton. Prica, ?? not up to much there either. K. Jones & A. Reid were he best signings & saved his season.
Keane's job last year was to keep Sunderland up, which he accomplished. This year it is to push higher, maybe 9-12 place. There is money to spend, strong leadership from Quinn and Keane, and most importantly money to spend. They may have to overpay the likes of Darren Bent, Aiden McGeady, etc, but I expect they will push forward again this season. Quinn does a great job as chairman and Keane has his team fighting tooth and nail every week.
Plus, Stoke and Hull appear to be on the Derby County plan, and Wigan, Bolton, Fulham, WBA are almost sure to finish below Sunderland. With strengthening, they could certainly pass Middlesbrough and Newcastle, with the latter looking to trim expenses as Sunderland are infused with cash.
Sunderland's most important signing target is Jonny Evans. The defense is crap without him.