View Full Version : Irish abroad transfer rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

irishultra
05/07/2008, 9:31 PM
How is signing a player with 6 goals and 9 assists for a team who were relegatedn from the league a bad signing? I am not one of Hunt's biggest fans but he has a good cross and a good first touch. His dribbling is average but 4/5 million is a fair price and he could do wonders with them.

06/07/2008, 9:16 AM
Doyle and Hunt to Sundireland.

I think you just have had to drink a pint of Guinness and you'll be linked to a move to "Roy Keane's Sunderland" as it's now known to RTE.

Paddy Garcia
06/07/2008, 9:39 AM
Finnan has been offered as part of the deal for Barry

06/07/2008, 4:39 PM
The Walters to Stoke deal looks like going through, according to football365: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_3785509,00.html

07/07/2008, 9:36 AM
Martin Rowlands linked with Hull

dr_peepee
07/07/2008, 12:47 PM
Difficult decision for Rowland if it comes to it..

Grasp his chance at top flight football, but risk a relegation battle..

Or stay with the ambitious clus in the championship and risk A)Never getting there at all or B)Getting Promoted and QPR using their resources to replace him anyway..

I'd Move.... Clubs show no loyalty in football if they outgrow a player. It should work both ways..

Morbo
07/07/2008, 2:19 PM
Shouldn't be that difficult a decision, you have to take these chances when they come around, sure he will be in for a relegation battle but that was always going to be the case but if Rowlands impresses then he may get to stay in the top flight even if his team get relegated

Reality Bites
07/07/2008, 2:32 PM
No offence to Walters, Rowlands or Stack but these players really are the at the lower levels of a B team for Ireland, nothing to get excited about thats for sure!

youngirish
07/07/2008, 3:00 PM
No offence to Walters, Rowlands or Stack but these players really are the at the lower levels of a B team for Ireland, nothing to get excited about thats for sure!
Walters could be a decent player in the Premiership. He's still quite young and could easily force his way into the senior squad if he's a regular for Stoke next season. I would agree with you on the other two however.

third policeman
07/07/2008, 4:10 PM
Agree about Walters. He was one of the outstanding championship performers last season. He has a lot of pace, good in the air and is brimming with self-cofidence. He is a much more forceful and positive player than Darryl Murphy and has vastly more ability and than someone like Folan. I would not be surprised to see him do well at Stoke and become a genuine contender for the international team.

DotTV
07/07/2008, 4:30 PM
Looks like Finnan could be going to Villa as part of the Gareth Barry deal.

Junior
08/07/2008, 10:15 PM
Palace have withdrawn their contract offer for Morrison and it looks likely he will be moving on.

Morbo
09/07/2008, 8:59 AM
Strange, I thought they would be eager to keep him after the season he had

09/07/2008, 9:23 AM
Strange, I thought they would be eager to keep him after the season he had
Nope, apparently Colin told Morrison he wasn't part of his plans for next season, and would be starting as a substitute at best (see the story on eleven-a-side here: http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=32437 ). Hopefully this will mean more gametime for Scannell. Swings and roundabouts, eh?

Torn-Ado
09/07/2008, 11:57 AM
Any speculation regarding the Reading lads. I was expecting Hunt to have moved somewhere in the premiership by now.

Ceirtlis
09/07/2008, 12:11 PM
Any speculation regarding the Reading lads. I was expecting Hunt to have moved somewhere in the premiership by now.

Yeah there has been speculation about them going to Sunderland as you would expect. Coppell was giving out about players not being commited to Reading as well with Hunt seen as one of his targets.

third policeman
09/07/2008, 3:28 PM
Yeah there has been speculation about them going to Sunderland as you would expect. Coppell was giving out about players not being commited to Reading as well with Hunt seen as one of his targets.

I cannot for the life of me understand how Hunt can be taken seriously as a Premiership player. The admiration that people have for his exceedingly limited abilities reminds me of the many deluded Liverpool supporters who used to berate Dalglish for preferring Ray Houghton to Craig Johnstone. Hunt offers a huge amount of enery and honest effort, but 90% of the time it is totally misdirected. He occasionally confuses defenders simply by running straight at them, but whatever temporary advantage he secures is immediately undone by the fact that he has also managed to confuse himself. I would never ever ever pick this man to play for Ireland as I think he typifies an approach based on a collective sense of racial inferiority. (What we lack in class we can make up for with sheer mindless hard work). He has done incredibly well with the little talent he has, but he does not have the guile, technique or awareness to contribute constructively to a successful premiership or international side. I would rather have Willo Flood or Wes Hoolihan in the squad than Hunt, but with Duff, McGeady,Scannell and Walters available to play in the wide positions I would only consider them in desperate circumstances.

I feel better for geting that one of my chest

09/07/2008, 9:13 PM
How many Irish midfielders scored 7 goals in a top league last season? Probably none
Michael Doyle and Martin Rowlands also got 7. McGeady, Yeates and Andy Reid scored 8 (remember Yeates was playing in a crap side and was out from early February) and Lawrence got 15.

SilkCut
09/07/2008, 11:20 PM
Michael Doyle and Martin Rowlands also got 7. McGeady, Yeates and Andy Reid scored 8 (remember Yeates was playing in a crap side and was out from early February) and Lawrence got 15.

In fairness Hunts goals were in the Premier League, the others were in lesser leagues. Only McGeady and Reid have proved themselves in top flight football as yet.
On the point made about Houghton v's Johnston, Johnston was an early version of Harry Kewell, supremely talented but completely inconsistent whereas with Houghton you knew you would get 100% from him every game regardless of what shirt he was wearing. Dalglish did not have a difficult choice to make. Players like Houghton, Moran, Irwin etc.. are sadly on the way out, players who always perform above their actual skill level with 100% consistency and effort week in week out, Hunt is one of these players and we should be happy to have him in the squad. Keane obviously likes this type of player (Leadbitter, Nosworthy, Collins).

dr_peepee
10/07/2008, 10:39 AM
Noel Hunt to Celtic according to yesterdays mirror...

irishultra
10/07/2008, 1:38 PM
That's a load of nonsense. The one and only thing Hunt doesn't have is ball control, he's no Kilbane whatsover. He's a magnificent passer of the ball, gets countless assists and has great set piece ability as well. He's good in the air and has an eye for goal. How many Irish midfielders scored 7 goals in a top league last season? Probably none.
Have you ever even seen him play for Reading? Sounds like you're judging him off 2 or 3 poor Irish performances.

Strange you say that Ciaran. I agree with your post but I would swp bad control for bad dribbling skills. Hunt actually seems to have a good first touch. But his crossing is insanely good, I guess he's David Beckham light.

10/07/2008, 2:16 PM
Clinton Morrison close to signing for Coventry.
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=33108

Morbo
11/07/2008, 11:03 AM
That's a load of nonsense. The one and only thing Hunt doesn't have is ball control, he's no Kilbane whatsover. He's a magnificent passer of the ball, gets countless assists and has great set piece ability as well. He's good in the air and has an eye for goal. How many Irish midfielders scored 7 goals in a top league last season? Probably none.
Have you ever even seen him play for Reading? Sounds like you're judging him off 2 or 3 poor Irish performances.
Agreed, he has proven himself capable in the premiership, to pick Willo Flood, Hoolihan, Scannell and Walters before Hunt is crazy, these guys have yet to prove themselves, to put them ahead of Hunt in the pecking order is something I wouldn't even expect Staunton to do

third policeman
11/07/2008, 12:12 PM
Let me clarify. I do not think tha Hoolihan / Flood are world beaters or that Walters / Scannell are seasoned international performers I merely believe that Hunt is totally overrated by some people on this forum and is not an international footballer. In fact I dont think he is a premiership footballer and would be quite surprised if any premiership manager other than Roy Keane would look twice at him. I stand by the Craig Johnstone comparison, and it was interesting to hear Jan Molby last night on LFCTV descibe Johnstone as a player with limited ability who always gave his all.
Hunt catches the eye because of his hyperactive style and "personality" but he plays with his head down. He lacks awareness and guile and is the antithesis of the kind of intellgent footballer that we need to be assimilating into a decent international team. If we are going to comptete at all at international level we need to abandon the head down and charge style that Hunt epitomises. Like Johnstone, and I suppose the much lamented Micky Thomas, (to whom he bears an uncanny physical resemblace) he does posses the capacity to occasionally excite the crowd, but putting him into an international team is like putting Shane McGowan into an operatic choir.

Morbo
11/07/2008, 12:54 PM
I don't think anyone thinks Hunt is world class or anything, they chant his name because they appreciate his work rate not because he is a great player and when you got lazy players like Daddy Dick on the pitch not pulling their weight it makes Hunt's workrate standout more.
I also think he has more intelligence than you give him credit for, a lot of the goals he has scored were due to using his head to make clever runs at the right time.
Not saying he should definitely start as he has McGeady and Duff to compete with but he deserves to be an impact sub at the very least

irishultra
11/07/2008, 2:14 PM
Let me clarify. I do not think tha Hoolihan / Flood are world beaters or that Walters / Scannell are seasoned international performers I merely believe that Hunt is totally overrated by some people on this forum and is not an international footballer. In fact I dont think he is a premiership footballer and would be quite surprised if any premiership manager other than Roy Keane would look twice at him. I stand by the Craig Johnstone comparison, and it was interesting to hear Jan Molby last night on LFCTV descibe Johnstone as a player with limited ability who always gave his all.
Hunt catches the eye because of his hyperactive style and "personality" but he plays with his head down. He lacks awareness and guile and is the antithesis of the kind of intellgent footballer that we need to be assimilating into a decent international team. If we are going to comptete at all at international level we need to abandon the head down and charge style that Hunt epitomises. Like Johnstone, and I suppose the much lamented Micky Thomas, (to whom he bears an uncanny physical resemblace) he does posses the capacity to occasionally excite the crowd, but putting him into an international team is like putting Shane McGowan into an operatic choir.

You nearly have him summed up spot on as a footballer, but you say you don't think he is an International Footballer or a 'premiership footballer'', but the fact is he scored goals and made a lot of assists in the Premiership. The guy is limited as in he's not brilliant but he is a good player. I think he could be extremely useful to us if Trap can explain to him clearly his role in the team. You underestimate his intelligence as well. He's actually a really good central midfielder, he's not a magician on the ball, but he passes the ball in the hope of having it returned and aways has his head up. Seriously Hunt was Reading's player of the season last year and apparently was the only player who really put the fight in to staying up.

The big thing I feel about Hunt is he is very hit and miss. It wouldn't suprise me to see him just drift away if he doesn't get a move.

11/07/2008, 3:00 PM
Darren Randolf has signed for Hereford on a season-long loan from Charlton.

BTW I also think Hunt is very over-rated.

seanfhear
11/07/2008, 3:46 PM
we shouldnt knock the guy for being a tryer

Paddy Garcia
11/07/2008, 6:35 PM
but putting him into an international team is like putting Shane McGowan into an operatic choir.

I think that is grossely unfair.

irishfan86
11/07/2008, 6:40 PM
There's a balance here.

Hunt is not world-class, and would have no place in any top international side.

At the same time, he's not as bad as some of you are saying.

In the context of us being a second tier international side, he is a very useful option for us. I wouldn't say he's automatically first choice, but he's certainly in competition for a spot on the wings.

Personally, I love his work ethic, and he is more talented than some on here give him credit for. Hope he gets a move back to the Prem.

irishultra
13/07/2008, 12:02 PM
Kevin Foley going to Blackburn. He's Irish right?

13/07/2008, 12:15 PM
Jay Tabb linked with QPR and Reading, from the BBC transfer gossip

Duff to West Ham in part exchange for Anton Ferdinand, according to the rumours on football365

Stephen Kelly to Fulham, according to this: http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/birmingham-city-fc/birmingham-city-fc-news/2008/07/09/fulham-eyeing-bid-for-stephen-kelly-97319-21310438/

13/07/2008, 12:17 PM
Kevin Foley going to Blackburn. He's Irish right?
yeah, he was in the squad for Serbia and Colombia

13/07/2008, 1:04 PM
Article on completed transfers, players released, and contract offers from the herald: http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/irish/time-to-move-on-1425426.html

13/07/2008, 5:58 PM
Article on completed transfers, players released, and contract offers from the herald: http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/irish/time-to-move-on-1425426.html

Out of the 65 players on that page, I've only heard of 19 of them. Obviously the ones with caps I know as well as a few of the former LOI ones but I don't have a clue who the other 46 are. Is it just me that is that out of touch with prospective Irish Internationals playing in Britain? :o

P.S. Paddy McCourt shouldn't be on their list! He's not Irish.. ;)

co. down green
13/07/2008, 7:14 PM
Jay Tabb is a target for QPR and Reading (http://www.people.co.uk/sport/football/tm_headline=on-the-tabb-dowie%26method=full%26objectid=20642194%26siteid=9 3463-name_page.html)

14/07/2008, 8:54 AM
Darren O'Dea wants a loan deal: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/celtic-starlet-odea-wants-loan-move-1432375.html
David Bell linked with Norwich (from http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/davies-ellis-call-for-fa-rethink-on-luton-points-punishment-1432371.html )

Vultures are circling already, with Norwich City making an offer of £300,000 for David Bell, the midfielder who was the subject of a bid in excess of £750,000 from West Brom last season.

seanfhear
15/07/2008, 10:02 PM
Darren O'Dea wants a loan deal: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/celtic-starlet-odea-wants-loan-move-1432375.html
David Bell linked with Norwich (from http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/davies-ellis-call-for-fa-rethink-on-luton-points-punishment-1432371.html )
Darren definitely needs first team football.I was dissappointed that he did not start some games for celtic last season as there were not great in defence

Qwerty
15/07/2008, 10:31 PM

The overall trend seems to be downward but it's not surprising and it's not easy to make the grade at Premier and Championship level these days with so much competition from around the globe. If we had 2 good players coming thru to the senior team each year we would be golden, we're just not getting any real undisputed top class quality coming thru recently. A lot of the underage stars just haven't made the breakthrough, it's a pity Willo wasn't 50 lbs heavier...

padjoe
16/07/2008, 12:22 AM
Why not try bring those players home. surely they would fit into a lot of teams. would anyone gamble on Mark Kennedy at 32 or even Gary Breen? A lot of those players are still young enough to hit the big time.

16/07/2008, 9:26 AM
Why not try bring those players home. surely they would fit into a lot of teams. would anyone gamble on Mark Kennedy at 32 or even Gary Breen? A lot of those players are still young enough to hit the big time.
I'd imagine their wage demands would be beyond most eL teams

bawn79
16/07/2008, 11:10 AM
I probably run the gauntlet of being pitchforked but how about the idea of Marquee players.
Maybe the FAI/ benefactors like Denis O'Brien could help fund one Marquee player per Premier Club. Help get a few more people in thru the gate.
With 10 clubs how much would that be likely to cost? Maybe stick them on a pay as you play deal also.
Plus in the case of more experienced internationals such as Kennedy or Breen it could be a good excuse for them to come home. While here they may stay on and manage. For instance with Gary Breen he comes across as a very genuine lad and you couldnt see him coming over to take the **** and just pick up his pay packet.
Obviously the choice of player would be vitally important. Really would have to be lads that you could seriously see getting into management.

Tenderloins
16/07/2008, 11:21 AM
I see a few names in the herald article have been...
'Offered chance to work at Glenn Hoddle's academy in Spain. '
Is that like a job at Samba soccer or being actually coached by Hoddle for a specific team?

youngirish
16/07/2008, 3:24 PM
I await with bathed breath for the EL boys to read this and slate me for sticking it in this thread a la Roy O'Donovan about this time last year. Here goes anyway.

Meyler on verge of big move

July 16, 2008

Sunderland manager Roy Keane may be about to sign his first player of the summer after the Black Cats have once again expressed an interest in Cork City midfielder David Meyler.

Keane has been frustrated on a number of occasions as he tries to strengthen the squad ahead of the new season and Meyler looks set to become the first acquisition after Sunderland re-opened talks with Cork after they had an initial bid of £150,000 turned down.

Meyler, who is the son of Wexford hurling manager Johnny, has impressed Keane, who has had the 19-year-old watched on numerous occasions over the last year.

Cork City manager Alan Matthews revealed that the Premiership outfit had been in touch with the eircom Premier Division side over a possible deal.

”Sunderland have contacted me through a couple of sources: their chief scout and their chief executive. They put an offer in for David Meyler, which does not reflect our valuation of the player. We have reopened discussions with them and there is something else imminent.

”He has a contract and he’s part of our squad, but we will not stop a player from fulfilling his own ambitions to pursue a career in England.

”Dave’s also mindful of the fact that the right offer has to come, and I think that offer will come very, very soon.

”And whilst we’ll be sad to see him go, we will not look to deprive him of that opportunity. It will probably be after the European game [Thursday] before anything happens.”

16/07/2008, 5:03 PM
i presume this move will suddenly make him good enough for the Irish squad? ;)

Qwerty
17/07/2008, 3:12 AM
It looks like Keane has exhausted his usual sources of players; former team-mates at United & Celtic & Irish internationls. Now he has gone back to Cark. Logical progression I guess...has Meyler even played underage for Ireland?

17/07/2008, 9:10 AM
Robbie Keane to Liverpool seems to be gathering pace: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_3828661,00.html

Caleb Folan to sign new deal at Hull: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_3828885,00.html

Keith Andrews linked with Blackburn again: http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/2008/07/17/blackburn-to-swoop-for-ecuador-star-segundo-castillo-89520-20651602/

Ince is hoping to push through a more controversial move for old team-mate and former MK Dons leader Andrews.
He believes in the 27-year-old Dubliner, who was previously at Wolves and Hull, and thinks Andrews would be a plus for his squad - although it is a deal that has raised eyebrows.

17/07/2008, 10:10 AM
It looks like Keane has exhausted his usual sources of players; former team-mates at United & Celtic & Irish internationls. Now he has gone back to Cark. Logical progression I guess...has Meyler even played underage for Ireland?

Under 19 international as far as I know. Has yet to really break into the Cork team, then again he does have to compete with two senior international players for a spot in midfield. It looks like it could be a very good move for cork. I'd imagine the fee will be at least €250,000 with sell on fees and other add ons. Considering he's not a regular on the first team it should be more bearable for Cork too.

Colbert Report
17/07/2008, 12:57 PM

Saha and Balde will line out for Sunderland on opening day!

17/07/2008, 1:15 PM
Saha and Balde will line out for Sunderland on opening day!

Hopefully!:) I was just about to start sending begging letters to Old Trafford asking them to finally get rid of Louis Saha:D