View Full Version : Trapattoni appointed Ireland coach - Confirmed
Pages :
[
7]
popmart
13/02/2008, 8:54 PM
Its a great day. He has alot more English than i thought he would have aswell which is a great thing. Also great to hear some positivity about the team for a while. No 4 year plan nonsense. Roll on the qualifying campaign!
Trapattoni, makes Capello’s look like Terry Venables....well,not quite that 'orrible'....eh Tel?
Well done 3 man panel, FAI & O'Brien :D
Capello Trapattoni
Serie A titles 5* 7
Italian Cups 0 2
EC/Champs Lge 1 1
Cup Winners Cup 0 1
Uefa Cup 0 3
Super Cup 1 1
World Club Championship 0 1
Other league titles 2 (SPA) 1 (GER), 1 (POR), 1 (AUS)
Other league cups 0 1 (GER)
* Juventus two titles not included.
Trapattoni has won all Cup competitions he has entered with his teams in his career, not a bad omen for a country who have failed to qualify for the last World Cup and for next June’s continental tournament.
The only problem with the almost 70-year-old Salzburg coach is his spell as national coach.
In the two competitions he was at the helm of the national side, the Azzurri crashed out in the early stages. In 2002, in the second round against World Cup hosts South Korea and in the group stage in Portugal 2004.
Both times Italy accused referees and off the pitch Scandinavian allegiances but the reality was they did not perform.
Manager GP W D L Win%
Bearzot 88 40 26 22 45%
Vicini 54 33 14 7 61%
Sacchi 53 34 11 8 64%
Maldini 20 10 8 2 50%
Zoff 23 11 7 5 48%
Trapattoni 44 25 12 7 57%
Lippi 29 17 10 2 59%
Donadoni 16 10 3 3 63%
Looking at Italy managers since 1978, Bearzot and Lippi won the World Cup, Sacchi got to the final, Zoff qualified for the final at Euro 2000 and Vicini lost the World Cup semi-final on penalties.
Maldini’s fate too was decided from the penalty spot, in the quarter final against host country France in 1998.
How big a part did the booing at the Cyprus game and the previous game play in Stan's sacking and the process to find an acceptable ""replacement" Answer...A huge, huge part, unfortunate but true. unfortunate that it took that action to wake the FAI up.
I said when Stan was appointed that the appointment was a serious mistake, even if he had, against all odds, performed well, it was always the wrong appointment. No experience and a a time after Kerr when experience was essential.
Trappatoni is the right appointment at this time, even if results don't go our way, this appointment brings optimism, takes us to another level, breeds confidence and adds respectibility to an organisation and team that were at an all time low.
Well done to all concerned.
Qwerty
13/02/2008, 10:51 PM
It's exciting for sure and it will be interesting just what impact Trappatoni will have, I'm optimistic again. And I care about results not style :)
What a contrast in 2 consecutive appointments!! Stan wasn't even a coach at a League 1 outfit and Trappatoni and basically done it all.
14/02/2008, 12:14 AM
http://www.setanta.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2008/02/13/International-Kerr-not-impressed-by-Trap/?facets/sport-space/football/great-britain-locale/
Kerr has gone down in my estimation in recent months. I supported him right to the end when he was Ireland manager and felt that he should have had his contract extended and that he was undermined by Delaney and as a result I think he has been bitter since and cannot give credit where credit is due.
onenilgameover
14/02/2008, 1:01 AM
kerr really pis$es me off...sometimes more than stan...at least i know that stan is not singing off the same hymn sheet
Bondvillain
14/02/2008, 1:18 AM
http://www.setanta.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2008/02/13/International-Kerr-not-impressed-by-Trap/?facets/sport-space/football/great-britain-locale/
Kerr has gone down in my estimation in recent months. I supported him right to the end when he was Ireland manager and felt that he should have had his contract extended and that he was undermined by Delaney and as a result I think he has been bitter since and cannot give credit where credit is due.
In fairness, the headline in that link is misleading. He isn't vocalising anything that any other sceptic hasn't thought to themselves over the last 24 hours....
"It is fair to say that he has got a great pedigree" says Kerr. (which no-one is denying, club wise) but, as most people opine, dubious disallowed goals or not : "he has not got a great track record in international football , as Italy went out tamely in Japan [World Cup 2002] and in Portugal [European championships 2004], where they went out in the group stages."
It's the man's opinion. Right or wrong. I can't honestly say that makes him seem bitter. He's simply expressing what he thinks when put on the spot by an interviewer.
It may not be what the vast majority of Irish fans (myself included) want to read right now, but it certainly could be considered a viable point of view...
Qwerty
14/02/2008, 1:31 AM
When you buy a stock or mutual fund you always get the * saying "Past Performance is No Guarantee of Future Results". The very same applies to football. There are no sure bets in football, that's why it's fun :) The FAI have delivered a manager with a very fine CV, what more could they have done? We should be cautiously optimistic and enjoy it.
Metrostars
14/02/2008, 3:09 AM
he has not a great track record in international football – unlike what [FAI CEO] John Delaney said – as Italy went out tamely in Japan [World Cup 2002] and in Portugal [European championships 2004], where they went out in the group stages.
Kerr sounding a little bitter. At least Trapp got his team qualified, unlike Kerr and Stan.
He's had resources at all the big clubs that he has had success at. These clubs expected silverware and there was always a benefactor involved to help him. Kerr is certainly a glass half-empty kind of guy.
On 2002, I think anyone who saw that game against S Korea with the slightest but of knowledge of football would know Italy would have won if there was a competent officiating crew.
14/02/2008, 7:18 AM
Kerr was really trying to reason with Dolan who was completely against the appointment. Dolan looked furious last night.
macdermesser
14/02/2008, 7:21 AM
Kerr has gone down in my estimation in recent months.
I'm sure he'll lose sleep over that Neil.
He was asked for an opinion and he gave it. At least he is honest enough to give an opinion not like the bland sound bites that come from others in the profession.
IMHO the man is a legend of Irish football and is always to be seen on away trips .. not like some other ex-Irish managers and players who never go to another game after they finish their Ireland careers.
He deserves more respect even if you don't agree with his opinion
antrimgreen
14/02/2008, 7:26 AM
The FAI have actually appointted someone that the fans are happy about, can't actually believe it, over the moon roll on September. G I, G I O, G I, G I O, G I G I O Giovanni Trapattoni!!
14/02/2008, 7:31 AM
I don't see anything wrong with Kerr's comments - I think they're reasonably balanced.
There's always going to be a certain level of doubt attached to any managerial appointment - nobody is perfect. And Trapattoni over the course of 30-35 years in management is certainly going to have experienced some high points and some low points.
That's all Kerr did with his comments - he highlighted Trapattoni's high points and he highlighted his low points.
His point about his international record is valid though esp. Euro 2004. From what I remember of the Italy-Sweden game, Italy were ultra-defensive in the second half against Sweden. They totally dominated the first half - Sweden hardly touched the ball - and really Italy had enough chances to have been 3 or 4 goals up at half time instead of just 1-0 up. Second half Italy were definitely content to protect their lead. They sat back, let Sweden into the match and Sweden get a late goal that has been continually talked about since here in Sweden. There is no doubt that Italy should have won that match with a few goals to spare.
But in saying the above, ask yourself what type of team went on to win Euro 2004. Were Greece an offensive team?
Of all the names mentioned during the selection process I don't think anybody can argue that Trapattoni wasn't the most outstanding candidate for the job. We have never won anything at senior international level (except a tournament in Iceland :D) so Kerr is certainly right when he says that "Ireland is totally different" to what Trapattoni is used to.
But let's see what he can do.
Deckydee
14/02/2008, 7:49 AM
Givens and Kerr.
Two clowns
blobbyblob
14/02/2008, 8:24 AM
Snap - I saw him at the weekend in an interview and he is worse than a barrel of lemons. Hes let me down.
Wolfie
14/02/2008, 8:25 AM
A mate texted this yesterday:
"Great news for Ireland. We've been mediocre for too long now. The people before him just weren't up to the job but I think this is going to be a success. I really feel that Dustin the Turkey can bring the Eurovision home".:D
blobbyblob
14/02/2008, 8:41 AM
A mate texted this yesterday:
"Great news for Ireland. We've been mediocre for too long now. The people before him just weren't up to the job but I think this is going to be a success. I really feel that Dustin the Turkey can bring the Eurovision home".:D
When did "The Turkey" get added to his title. He was always just Dustin when I was growing up. That post has really tarnish this appointment for me. Cheers.
Drumcondra 69er
14/02/2008, 8:55 AM
Couldn't agree more although I didn't think he deserved to have his contract extended after the insipid performances in the swiss games in both his campaigns "-0 defaet away and 0-0 at home) and they way the team surrendured leads that would have qualified us against Israel home and away as a direct result of his tactics (Kavanagh for an injured Robiie Keane after 25 minutes at home??? Farcical). He has been vert bitter since, that RTE programme he made was cringewrothy to watch. It's a shame because I'd always had a lot of time for him.
14/02/2008, 9:36 AM
Dolan looked furious last night.
More from Dolan: http://eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=31040
Kerr's been fairly negative in his comments for a while now, read some of his articles in the Irish Times about Stan's games, even the wins over Wales and Slovakia and it's hard to sympathise with him.
After the Wales game, I was walking through Croke Park to leave with the lads I went to the game with, Kerr was actually standing beside one of us. So he turns to Kerr and asks "well, what did you think of that Mr Kerr", "thought it was a load of sh!te" was his response. I resisted the urge to point out Stan had just beaten a team ranked far higher than any win he achieved in a competitive game.
Seagull-4-life
14/02/2008, 9:39 AM
[quote=Scram;877228]Trapattoni, makes Capello’s look like Terry Venables....well,not quite that 'orrible'....eh Tel?
Well done 3 man panel, FAI & O'Brien :D
Capello Trapattoni
Serie A titles 5* 7
Italian Cups 0 2
EC/Champs Lge 1 1
Cup Winners Cup 0 1
Uefa Cup 0 3
Super Cup 1 1
World Club Championship 0 1
Other league titles 2 (SPA) 1 (GER), 1 (POR), 1 (AUS)
Other league cups 0 1 (GER)
* Juventus two titles not included.
Trapattoni has won all Cup competitions he has entered with his teams in his career, not a bad omen for a country who have failed to qualify for the last World Cup and for next June’s continental tournament.
The only problem with the almost 70-year-old Salzburg coach is his spell as national coach.
In the two competitions he was at the helm of the national side, the Azzurri crashed out in the early stages. In 2002, in the second round against World Cup hosts South Korea and in the group stage in Portugal 2004.
Both times Italy accused referees and off the pitch Scandinavian allegiances but the reality was they did not perform.
Manager GP W D L Win%
Bearzot 88 40 26 22 45%
Vicini 54 33 14 7 61%
Sacchi 53 34 11 8 64%
Maldini 20 10 8 2 50%
Zoff 23 11 7 5 48%
Trapattoni 44 25 12 7 57%
Lippi 29 17 10 2 59%
Donadoni 16 10 3 3 63%
Looking at Italy managers since 1978, Bearzot and Lippi won the World Cup, Sacchi got to the final, Zoff qualified for the final at Euro 2000 and Vicini lost the World Cup semi-final on penalties.
Maldini’s fate too was decided from the penalty spot, in the quarter final against host country France in 1998.
jaysus fair play im only young didn't really know much about him 'til now
Ozymandias
14/02/2008, 9:42 AM
great post seagull..thanks for that
Seagull-4-life
14/02/2008, 9:48 AM
great post seagull..thanks for that
cheers mate but i had quoted that from someone else!!!
Scram
14/02/2008, 10:09 AM
cheers mate but i had quoted that from someone else!!!
Yeah, don't mention it ;)
I had it as a new thread but the powers that be reckoned it was undeserving. Even thought his thread is a complete mess with offshoots in all directions. I think it is now about Brian Kerr !!
14/02/2008, 11:27 AM
I'm sure he'll lose sleep over that Neil.
He was asked for an opinion and he gave it. At least he is honest enough to give an opinion not like the bland sound bites that come from others in the profession.
IMHO the man is a legend of Irish football and is always to be seen on away trips .. not like some other ex-Irish managers and players who never go to another game after they finish their Ireland careers.
He deserves more respect even if you don't agree with his opinion
I agree with you on that and to me he is a proper footballing person in the best way however I feel his time with Ireland seniors has left him bitter towards the FAI etc and it clouds his opinions on issues such as this.
There were rumblings last year of some Pats fans who were not too happy with him last year but I suppose that is the way with football too.
Philly
14/02/2008, 11:38 AM
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/feb13q.html
Tardelli has loads of experience; him and Trap will make a great team!
Also worth a read; Lippi thinks it's a good appointment but a big, big challenge:
http://www.channel4.com/sport/football_italia/feb13o.html
Drumcondra 69er
14/02/2008, 12:42 PM
Also worth a read; Lippi thinks it's a good appointment but a big, big challenge:
Don't think Robbie will be too happy with that, never gave him a chance at Inter after Lippi was sacked, didn't fancy him at all....
Dr. Ogba
14/02/2008, 12:43 PM
funny that Tardelli was the man that shipped Robbie Keane out of Inter after Lippi was sacked, strange how these things work out...
Wolfie
14/02/2008, 12:46 PM
Might keep Robbie on his toes and with a point to prove. Not a bad thing.
Armando
14/02/2008, 1:31 PM
More from Dolan: http://eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=31040
Kerr's been fairly negative in his comments for a while now, read some of his articles in the Irish Times about Stan's games, even the wins over Wales and Slovakia and it's hard to sympathise with him.
After the Wales game, I was walking through Croke Park to leave with the lads I went to the game with, Kerr was actually standing beside one of us. So he turns to Kerr and asks "well, what did you think of that Mr Kerr", "thought it was a load of sh!te" was his response. I resisted the urge to point out Stan had just beaten a team ranked far higher than any win he achieved in a competitive game.
But, it was a load of ****e..one of the worst ireland games i have ever been to. So, at least he's honest.
cavan_fan
14/02/2008, 1:53 PM
Absolutely, I think he is mostly bitter that after the Ireland job he has had no great demand for his services. According to his analysis we needed someone who had had success at International level with limited resources and was Irish. Surprised he didnt say it didnt matter if the success was at underage level!.
14/02/2008, 2:49 PM
But, it was a load of ****e..one of the worst ireland games i have ever been to. So, at least he's honest.
After the way he was treated by the press in the latter days of his stewardship, I did think he would go easier on Staunton, but he was as bad as the rest of them, which lowered my opinion of him.
I'm not saying Stan didn't deserve criticism, but did think Kerr would be more measured in his comments.
jmurphyc
14/02/2008, 3:10 PM
More from Dolan: [url]http://eleven-a-side.
In the end of the article Dolan mentions that Trap not being at the announcement shows that he's just looking for one last payday. I completely disagree with this. IMO it shows that he's completely professional and doesn't want to take time off from his current job, one that he is currently being paid for. Perhaps he is a bit too old and possibly past it, but I seriously doubt a man with Trapattoni's professionalism would ever just be looking for one last payday.
In regards to Kerr, I really don't think he's ****ed at this appointment. I'm sure he was at Staunton's (and who'd blame him) but I think he's just trying to be objective. Trapattoni is not a guarenteed success and he does have one blotch on his CV - the Italy job - but we were never going to be able to get a perfect candidate.
14/02/2008, 3:30 PM
I have said this before, Nobody can be ojbective about a matter of opinion it is impossible. Especially then when they have worked for the organisation in the same role that they are commenting on. He is being subjective and offering his opinion which is fair enough and he is concentrating on the valid concerns which is fair enough but I think to be fair and balanced he should spend as much time if not more on the benefits and strong points of Trappatoni. He did not he highlighted the concerns, and as a result it comes across as bitter especially when you add to it his previous comments.
However I was and am a supporter of Kerr and his type that invest time and money in Irish football and it should not be forgotton what he did for Pats and the underage set up in Ireland.
jmurphyc
14/02/2008, 3:34 PM
I just read Humphries articles in the Times. I actually used to like his writing when I first started reading them, but now he really does seem to be very bitter. From the sentiment of his articles, he takes as many jabs at the FAI as he could and he almost seems to be disappointed that we got our act together and appointed an excellent coach. I wish he'd **** off and just write about sports that he likes.
14/02/2008, 3:37 PM
I just read that article now and I see a totally different slant. If anything he has a slight dig at his fellow journalists for concentrating on the Denis O Brien issue and the fact that most of them were ****ed off that it was a professional appointment done in a proper manner. In the article he praises the FAI for a job well done. He points out that JP Mc Manus gives money to Limerick and nobody bats an eyelid.
Maybe give the article another read because I feel you may have missed his point. But I could be wrong here.
In the article he praises the FAI for a job well done. He points out that JP Mc Manus gives money to Limerick and nobody bats an eyelid.
That batted my eyelid alright, JP won't touch Limerick FC/37 with a barge pole, let alone give us money. There's O'Briens first lie for you lot.
Anyway just showed a female co-worker a picture of Trappatoni and her response was, 'it's no wonder he won't be living over here, the cold would kill him off at his age' :D
14/02/2008, 3:57 PM
Well she is an ignorant girl cause I don't think we get the same level of coldness as they do in Salzburg or Milan so it shows what she knows.
Also JP Mc Manus is allowed to put money into the GAA and not put it into the LOI if he likes. Its a free world and he does not have to put money. The point is that there seems to be one rule for the GAA here and one rule for the FAI which is fair play for the GAA receiving money from Mc Manus but how dare the FAI recieve money from the FAI. It is terrible that it took a GAA journalist to point this out to his other journalists.
Oh by the way it was Tom Humphries that said that and not O Brien, so no lie there from O Brien.
Well she is an ignorant girl cause I don't think we get the same level of coldness as they do in Salzburg or Milan so it shows what she knows.
Then how the hell is she working alongside me here at Met Eireann!!!??? :)
Also JP Mc Manus is allowed to put money into the GAA and not put it into the LOI if he likes. Its a free world and he does not have to put money. The point is that there seems to be one rule for the GAA here and one rule for the FAI which is fair play for the GAA receiving money from Mc Manus but how dare the FAI recieve money from the FAI. It is terrible that it took a GAA journalist to point this out to his other journalists.
One's amateur, the other's professional, even if it is hard to tell at times, there's the difference
Oh by the way it was Tom Humphries that said that and not O Brien, so no lie there from O Brien.
Alright Tom Humphries is a lying scumbag instead of O'Brien :)
funny that Tardelli was the man that shipped Robbie Keane out of Inter after Lippi was sacked, strange how these things work out...
Tardelli was an amazing player. This just keeps getting better.
I wonder will he keep on Mick Byrne for the hugs?
14/02/2008, 4:09 PM
Then how the hell is she working alongside me here at Met Eireann!!!??? :)
One's amateur, the other's professional, even if it is hard to tell at times, there's the difference
Alright Tom Humphries is a lying scumbag instead of O'Brien :)
Well if anybody is prepared to say to me that we get get colder temperatures than Milan or Salzburg they are living in cloud cuckoo land.
Again its JP Mc Manus's money and he can do what he wants with it. We may wish for more people to invest in LOI but we dont have the right to demand it.
So lying scumbag now is that really an appropriate term for what Humphries said and I would reckon he was talking about the journalist fraternity rather than every human being on earth when he said nobody batted an eyelid. I would think your comments are a bit OTT here.
In the end of the article Dolan mentions that Trap not being at the announcement shows that he's just looking for one last payday. I completely disagree with this. IMO it shows that he's completely professional and doesn't want to take time off from his current job, one that he is currently being paid for. Perhaps he is a bit too old and possibly past it, but I seriously doubt a man with Trapattoni's professionalism would ever just be looking for one last payday.
In regards to Kerr, I really don't think he's ****ed at this appointment. I'm sure he was at Staunton's (and who'd blame him) but I think he's just trying to be objective. Trapattoni is not a guarenteed success and he does have one blotch on his CV - the Italy job - but we were never going to be able to get a perfect candidate.
Dolan's comments mean nothing. It's laughable. He's achieved nothing and he comes out criticisng world class coaches. He's not fit to lace the mans boots
14/02/2008, 4:18 PM
Trap must have told Tardelli that he'll have a significant role to play.
"I like the idea of being for Giovanni what Carlos Queiroz is for Sir Alex Ferguson at Manchester United."
jmurphyc
14/02/2008, 4:21 PM
It's great that we got Tardelli, another man whom has had success at underage level. I thought we'd have to settle for someone slightly second rate after Gentile turned us down, but Trapattoni seems intent on getting a fantastic (world class?) back up team in place, something was severely lacking under the last regime.
14/02/2008, 4:31 PM
It's great that we got Tardelli, another man whom has had success at underage level. I thought we'd have to settle for someone slightly second rate after Gentile turned us down, but Trapattoni seems intent on getting a fantastic (world class?) back up team in place, something was severely lacking under the last regime.
Agreed. Someone that has previously Ronaldo, Seedorf, Blanc, Cordoba, Recoba and others at Inter is going to be on the coaching staff under Trap. He's obviously a respected coach.
co. down green
14/02/2008, 4:34 PM
Tardelli was an amazing player. This just keeps getting better.
I wonder will he keep on Mick Byrne for the hugs?
Tardelli also has a lot of management experience - Inter, Bari, Arezzo, Egypt, Italy u21's.
I've no doubts that both Trapattoni & Tardelli will give 100% for Ireland and will bring whole new methods of training, tactics, motivation & focus to the International set up - All of which have been lacking for years.
Just reading what Tardelli said today gives me confidence.
"Giovanni and I have a great desire to do well," Tardelli told an Italian radio station.
"I like the idea of being for Giovanni what Carlos Queiroz is for Sir Alex Ferguson at Manchester United."
I think there is certain to be a place for Brady in the new management team, especially with his Trap & Tardelli links.
Philly
14/02/2008, 6:22 PM
Brady confirmed on radio today he is interested in having a role in the team, but not willing to quit his Arsenal job. I'd say we will see him as a training/match-day coach or in some role anyway.
14/02/2008, 6:25 PM
Well Hughton was the assistant at Spurs and the assistant at Ireland so it can easily be done. Yeah I reckon he will be a coach in the new set up.
14/02/2008, 7:13 PM
Hopefully he'll help get the Italian staff familiarised with the Irish players, and how best to use them. Right wingers on the right wing, left fulls at left full and other such innovations
sullanefc
14/02/2008, 7:15 PM
Was just listening to Jason McAteer talk about Trappatoni on TV3.
He basically said that Venables would have been his choice as he would know the Irish "culture" more than Trap.
Said that he would worry about Trappatoni's appointment due to not knowing what playing for Ireland is "all about" and his man management wouldn't be as good as a result. Playing for Ireland is more than "just football".
Is it just the cynic in me, or does all that sound like Trappatoni won't let them go on the **** and take them for burgers and chips afterwards with Mick Byrne, therefore the craic won't be as good when they come over to Dublin??
If so, I think it is a sad indictment of how playing for Ireland is viewed by the players.
cavan_fan
14/02/2008, 7:36 PM
Was just listening to Jason McAteer talk about Trappatoni on TV3.
He basically said that Venables would have been his choice as he would know the Irish "culture" more than Trap.
Said that he would worry about Trappatoni's appointment due to not knowing what playing for Ireland is "all about" and his man management wouldn't be as good as a result. Playing for Ireland is more than "just football".
Is it just the cynic in me, or does all that sound like Trappatoni won't let them go on the **** and take them for burgers and chips afterwards with Mick Byrne, therefore the craic won't be as good when they come over to Dublin??
If so, I think it is a sad indictment of how playing for Ireland is viewed by the players.
All of the players need to decide what they want, a fun time or success. If they dont want to work for success then they should follow Steve Finnan