View Full Version : Trapattoni appointed Ireland coach - Confirmed
Pages :
[
8]
carloz
14/02/2008, 7:42 PM
Was just listening to Jason McAteer talk about Trappatoni on TV3.
He basically said that Venables would have been his choice as he would know the Irish "culture" more than Trap.
Said that he would worry about Trappatoni's appointment due to not knowing what playing for Ireland is "all about" and his man management wouldn't be as good as a result. Playing for Ireland is more than "just football".
Is it just the cynic in me, or does all that sound like Trappatoni won't let them go on the **** and take them for burgers and chips afterwards with Mick Byrne, therefore the craic won't be as good when they come over to Dublin??
If so, I think it is a sad indictment of how playing for Ireland is viewed by the players.
Id agree with you here. Too often the Irish players have wanted to come over here for the week, have the craic and stumble out of Lillies ****ed. The days of this happenning should have ended with Big Jack but it carried on slightly. With Venables i imagined that they wouldhave introduced a dentists chair to Lillies and the players would have been back having the craic. As Dunphy has pointed out, it laughable listening to those in the pro El Tel camp try to punch holes in the Trap appointment. He is echoing the same **** that Stan was spouting out last week, that he wont understand the what the Irish players are about. Complete bull**** and i wish idiots like McAteer would now keep his mouth shut. Aww didums his man didnt get the job, get the **** over it. We have got one of the most decorated managers in world football and im not going to listen to someone try to argue that El bloody Tel would have been a better appointment.
14/02/2008, 8:31 PM
I reckon Trap has forgotten more about motivating and captivating upstart millionaire tossers than most managers have ever known. Does McAteer think that Italian footballers are an easy bunch to keep interested?
If these guys aren't excited by this appointment then stuff them. As I said before, are they afraid they may actually learn something?
As for Shay Given wanting Venables, he was nigh on delirious at Keegan's appointment at Newcastle. Says it all.
14/02/2008, 8:34 PM
I dont think there will be a problem and I think the players will be excited about working with such a great manager and having Brady in there will certainly help also.
Bottle of Tonic
14/02/2008, 9:38 PM
I've followed this manager search here on foot nearly every day since Stan left and I go away to work for a couple of days with no internet and it all gets finalised! Typical!
Deeeee-lighted though.
Stuff the players and the doom of their week long knee's-ups away from their clubs. I'd say a lot of the younger players will be delighted with this appointment though. Not all will be Johno's and Robbie's disappointed el tels karoke machine will be staying in the cupboard!
Whoever said a few pages back about Kerr always showing up for away games unlike other managers - Too true! I saw him in Prague when he strolled into the strip joint we were in at about 3am, then promptly turned on his heel and legged it after seeing the table full of green jerseys taking up half the place!
Finally,
I kinda feel a significant part of my life is now over now that we have our man. It's been that long!
14/02/2008, 9:52 PM
I've no doubts that both Trapattoni & Tardelli will give 100% for Ireland and will bring whole new methods of training, tactics, motivation & focus to the International set up - All of which have been lacking for years.
If these guys aren't excited by this appointment then stuff them. As I said before, are they afraid they may actually learn something?
I'm sure the coaches will bring 100% commitment to our cause, I worry about the players though. They want their pis-up, their second-rate coach, their unqualified backroom staff, their rubbish training arrangements. Many of the old guard didn't take to Brian Kerr's professional approach, so god only knows how they'll deal with no-nonsense Italians doing it. :confused:
They think playing for us is a laugh and a joke. Because as you know, "we're different". :rolleyes:
15/02/2008, 8:21 AM
Am I the only one who has a dreadful feeling that all this might be a dream, and any minute I'm going to wake up to find Patrick Duffy in my shower.
worse still would be to then realise you're not awake at all
Newryrep
15/02/2008, 8:39 AM
I suspect it was subconciously a lack of respect to the previous managers
Stan - who have you ever managed* * - we know he was crap but thats a different matter
Kerr - who in senior football have you ever managed/who did you ever play for ?/won
Macarthy - who have you ever managed/played for/won
If they have no respect for Trapattoni they shouldnt be in the team, WTF have any of them managed teams or won serious honours ? Steve Finnan and he ****ed off.
As was said previously the days of a bit of craic are over, if you want success and all that follows, its a new beginning,if you dont close the door on the way out.
Stan - who have you ever managed* * - we know he was crap but thats a different matter
I'm an Ireland legend who has played for top flight football for practically all my career, and you are?
Kerr - who in senior football have you ever managed/who did you ever play for ?/won
I've won the Youth Worlkd Cup with quite a few of you, do you have alzheimers?
Macarthy - who have you ever managed/played for/won
I was one the most respected Irish captains, and you are?
would have been the answers to the Irish players who bar Steve Finnan and Damien Duff had done little in their own careers, trophy wise, I feel
co. down green
15/02/2008, 9:05 AM
In today's Irish News Brian Kerr says the whole process was about the RTE panel !
“A lot of what’s been going on seems to have been suiting the RTE panel, which is very worrying. The only one who hasn’t had a job in the process is Dunphy, Who’s been clapping like a seal at the Trapattoni possibilities There’s an element of ‘let’s satisfy the RTE panel and they mightn’t criticise us as much.”
“While there is great celebration about his appointment, people better accept that they’re going to be watching defensive football. They need not expect it to be all nice and flowery and us playing 4-4-2.”
He then goes on to say the appointment was a good one and has a dig about the selection process.
Drumcondra 69er
15/02/2008, 9:52 AM
In today's Irish News Brian Kerr says the whole process was about the RTE panel !
“A lot of what’s been going on seems to have been suiting the RTE panel, which is very worrying. The only one who hasn’t had a job in the process is Dunphy, Who’s been clapping like a seal at the Trapattoni possibilities There’s an element of ‘let’s satisfy the RTE panel and they mightn’t criticise us as much.”
“While there is great celebration about his appointment, people better accept that they’re going to be watching defensive football. They need not expect it to be all nice and flowery and us playing 4-4-2.”
He then goes on to say the appointment was a good one and has a dig about the selection process.
Well Mister 'Let's stick a midfielder on for a striker at 2-0 after 25 minutes' Kerr, you did your best to prepare us for that, let's hope he can coach the players how to defend leads properly.....
Ozymandias
15/02/2008, 10:11 AM
I see Kerr as a proper football guy but the above saddens me......i know he's bitter over the way he was treated but anyone can see this is good for Irish football and things can only move in the right direction.....i aam not expecting miracles but I am expecting better performances and a structure to our play
Philly
15/02/2008, 10:21 AM
Trap said in an Italian interview he turned down the chance to manage Parma last Sunday, and also turned down some other nations.
15/02/2008, 11:02 AM
The only one who hasn’t had a job in the process is Dunphy, Who’s been clapping like a seal at the Trapattoni possibilities
It's not just Dunphy. It's pretty much everyone clapping "like a seal" :rolleyes:
Also, I remember Dunphy saying at the time of Kerr's appointment that it was the right one
There’s an element of ‘let’s satisfy the RTE panel and they mightn’t criticise us as much.”
If we're successful, noone will criticise us. You got criticised for not qualifying. Deal with it.
While there is great celebration about his appointment, people better accept that they’re going to be watching defensive football.
12th October 2005. Landsdown Road. Switzerland. We need to win to get to the play offs, so what happens? You take off our top scorer and bring on Gary Doherty. You take off Clinton Morrison (who had scored in Switzerland) and bring on David Connolly. You leave on Stephen Carr while the Swiss never leave their half. Game finished 0-0. We may as well have lost 8-0.
They need not expect it to be all nice and flowery and us playing 4-4-2.
We don't, Trapattoni has a history of playing a 4-2-3-1 formation, his current Salzburg team play that way and, as eirebhoy has pointed out, so did Benfica and Italy
The only question that needs to be asked about the selection process now is "do the end justify the means"?
15/02/2008, 11:20 AM
It's not just Dunphy. It's pretty much everyone clapping "like a seal" :rolleyes:
Also, I remember Dunphy saying at the time of Kerr's appointment that it was the right one
Kerr's appointment was greeted with some optimism by the majority of fans and commentators. He was a reasonable choice. He wasn't quite good enough in the end, but that wasn't evident from the beginning.
Trapattoni's record doesn't leave any room for doubt that he's good. He may still fail, but optimism seems entirely justified at this point. Even Kerr concedes that, if rather begrudgingly.
colster
15/02/2008, 12:15 PM
I'm absolutely delighted with this appointment. I haven't been this excited about the Ireland team in a long long time. Even if he fails I think this is a watershed moment for Irish football.
Qualification for 2010 will be a nice way to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Italia 90.
15/02/2008, 12:36 PM
I'm absolutely delighted with this appointment. I haven't been this excited about the Ireland team in a long long time. Even if he fails I think this is a watershed moment for Irish football.
I disagree. If he fails, then he'll get the same stick every manager gets when he fails as well as being shown the same door. At the time, the Bob Paisley or Jack Charlton appointment was major milestone and getting away from the amateurishness of previous years. This is just a step up from this but not a watershed and IF he fails, which to be honest is a reasonable possibility, the appointment will also have been a failure.
However, we have got one of the best and since Bulgaria were in the group for the qualification campaign for Euro 88, perhaps the omens are good. They were also in a previous group mind you where we were robbed in Sofia and we didn't qualify :o.
A lot of people in the game in England genuinely thought Venables was the right man for the job. They are entitled to that belief even though it wasn't shared by most of us on this side of the water. They are entitled to voice contrary opinions about the appointment. I have yet to see the day where people agree 100% on anything in football. It doesn't spoil my pleasure at the appointment and the anticipation of what will happen.
Metrostars
15/02/2008, 12:36 PM
got this from bigsoccer: A Trap rant when he was at Bayern:
Bqp64q7kHmw
This should be an interesting ride...
jmurphyc
15/02/2008, 3:17 PM
I just read that article now and I see a totally different slant. If anything he has a slight dig at his fellow journalists for concentrating on the Denis O Brien issue and the fact that most of them were ****ed off that it was a professional appointment done in a proper manner. In the article he praises the FAI for a job well done. He points out that JP Mc Manus gives money to Limerick and nobody bats an eyelid.
Maybe give the article another read because I feel you may have missed his point. But I could be wrong here.
I have to say that you were right. I read the front page article first, and reading through the whole 2 articles they were actually quite balanced and he did seem to be mocking his fellow professionals. The first time I read it there was just one line near the beginning which really irked me and made me a bit biased towards the rest of the article.
15/02/2008, 4:15 PM
With Venables i imagined that they wouldhave introduced a dentists chair to Lillies and the players would have been back having the craic.
Completely off-topic but something always stood out for me with Venners and that Euro 96 team. I always thought it ironic that the biggest boozer off the pitch (gazza) was the one that cost England a place in the final. Glorious chance in the final minutes of the game and he just wasn't fit enough to take it. I'd rather have the professionals approach that we'd get with Trap than leaving things to chance with Venables.
colster
15/02/2008, 4:23 PM
I disagree. If he fails, then he'll get the same stick every manager gets when he fails as well as being shown the same door. At the time, the Bob Paisley or Jack Charlton appointment was major milestone and getting away from the amateurishness of previous years. This is just a step up from this but not a watershed and IF he fails, which to be honest is a reasonable possibility, the appointment will also have been a failure.
I think it is a major milestone in a number of ways.
- we have appointed a manager with a major track record.
- we have employed a manager from Continental Europe.
- we have a major business man willing to back Irish soccer.
15/02/2008, 4:28 PM
On an aside I'd like to see another friendly match between Serbia and Norway. Being honest about it the Norway game should be an indicator of formation and personnel he'll choose for the Georgia game. While I don't doubt he'll have a lot of permutations done given what players are available another game in the run-up to Euro 08 wouldn't be bad.
jmurphyc
15/02/2008, 4:29 PM
This is just a step up from this but not a watershed and IF he fails, which to be honest is a reasonable possibility, the appointment will also have been a failure.
Just noticed this post now after Colster quoted it. I could be misunderstanding you but how can you say that the appointment will have been a failure if he fails? Retrospect is a great thing - many on here slate Kerr for bringing on Kavanagh in the Israel home game but not too many people were crying out at the time - but there is no way of knowing how this will pan out. Trapattoni is as successful a candidate that we could possibly have hoped to secure. The FAI have made the right choice, and regardless of what happens the appointment was a complete success. He is one of the most decorated coaches ever.
Beavis
15/02/2008, 4:50 PM
Has anyone noticed that Trappatoni is also the President from Hot Shots...
Topper Harley: President Benson.
President Benson:
No you're not. I've seen him on TV. An older man, about my height.
15/02/2008, 6:06 PM
After the Wales game, I was walking through Croke Park to leave with the lads I went to the game with, Kerr was actually standing beside one of us. So he turns to Kerr and asks "well, what did you think of that Mr Kerr", "thought it was a load of sh!te" was his response. I resisted the urge to point out Stan had just beaten a team ranked far higher than any win he achieved in a competitive game.
ah come on, the Welsh game was awful, one of the worst
I was in wales at the time, and i have never seen a bar empty so quickly after the first half, boring
15/02/2008, 10:38 PM
I wonder how Givens and Trap introduced themselves to each other at the "interview".
Hands outstretched.
"Don"
"Giovanni"
Well come on, there has to be a decent Don Giovanni joke amongst all of this.
15/02/2008, 10:40 PM
Well said D69er. I still have huge admiration for Kerr but he was hardly gung-ho Kevin Keegan-like in his management philosophy.
After the French defeat at Lansdowne my mates and I debated Kerr's merits / demerits. At the end we just concluded he would never be successful, he just was never going to be a winner for us. Trappatoni has that intangible winning "thing" that some people just have but millions of others can only dream of.
16/02/2008, 12:36 AM
Kerr's appointment was greeted with some optimism by the majority of fans and commentators. He was a reasonable choice. He wasn't quite good enough in the end, but that wasn't evident from the beginning.
What I meant was that when Kerr was appointed, the RTE panel all approved, so if he says Trapattoni was only appointed to keep them happy, you could just as easily say the same thing about his appointment.
Probably could have made that a bit clearer.
16/02/2008, 12:31 PM
What I meant was that when Kerr was appointed, the RTE panel all approved, so if he says Trapattoni was only appointed to keep them happy, you could just as easily say the same thing about his appointment.
Probably could have made that a bit clearer.
Fair enough.
Quick question: if Kerr and Trapattoni were both employed to keep the media happy, is this a bad thing? Ultimately, the media are going to be most critical of lazy and/or cheap appointments, neither of which I (nor anyone else given the feelings about Venables here over the past few months) put past the FAI.
an_ceannaire
21/02/2008, 1:22 PM
I know he made a few remarks before the everton game on setanta last week, seems righly ****ed about trappa getting it. Whats this IDIOTS problem....who did he want to get it? Rico? Himself? Givens???
what did he say?
BaZmO*
21/02/2008, 1:29 PM
I think Trapattoni slagged off one of his waist once.
macdermesser
21/02/2008, 1:33 PM
whats the point on opening a thread on this .. and less of the fat comments please
I think Trapattoni slagged off one of his waist once.
How many waists does he have?
whats the point on opening a thread on this .. and less of the fat comments please
That's an_ceannaire's way. He's incapable of hitting the Reply button, when the New Topic button is so tempting.
macdermesser
28/02/2008, 7:40 AM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/gallery/2008/feb/27/thegallery.footballinireland?picture=332718463
like efforts 2 and 3 :-)
Greenforever
28/02/2008, 6:31 PM
Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 http://foot.ie/inc/img/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=877515#post877515)
After the Wales game, I was walking through Croke Park to leave with the lads I went to the game with, Kerr was actually standing beside one of us. So he turns to Kerr and asks "well, what did you think of that Mr Kerr", "thought it was a load of sh!te" was his response. I resisted the urge to point out Stan had just beaten a team ranked far higher than any win he achieved in a competitive
Similar story in Cyprus after we were beaten, was talking to Kerr in the Step Inn afterwards and he wsa actually gloating "the comedy show continues" were his words or something similar. Unfortunately he has become very bitter since he lost the job, never man enough to admit he just wasnt upto it.
Paulie
29/02/2008, 9:17 AM
Similar story in Cyprus after we were beaten, was talking to Kerr in the Step Inn afterwards and he wsa actually gloating "the comedy show continues" were his words or something similar. Unfortunately he has become very bitter since he lost the job, never man enough to admit he just wasnt upto it.[/I]
Considering our previous performance in Cyprus, which was under Kerr, was every bit as bad but we somehow came out with a 1-0 win, it was a pretty stupid comment. The Cypriots could have just as easily beaten us by 5-2 in that game, as they eventually did under Staunton. You're absolutely right in stating that he's very bitter about the way he was treated. Without going into the rights and wrongs of the situation, he just needs to let it go.
Drumcondra 69er
29/02/2008, 1:34 PM
Considering our previous performance in Cyprus, which was under Kerr, was every bit as bad but we somehow came out with a 1-0 win, it was a pretty stupid comment. The Cypriots could have just as easily beaten us by 5-2 in that game, as they eventually did under Staunton. You're absolutely right in stating that he's very bitter about the way he was treated. Without going into the rights and wrongs of the situation, he just needs to let it go.
Remember thinking exactly that watching the game when he was commentating. Had been over at the game the previous year and without Given we would have been well beaten. Apart from the penalty save he made numerous other vital saves. Have lost a lot of respect for Kerr due to his bitterness and inability to accept that his negativity against Israel (which cost us qualification, forget about that moment of magic from Henry, that should and could have been immaterial at that stage) and performances against the Swiss in both campaigns were what really had him fired.
jmurphyc
29/02/2008, 1:42 PM
Remember thinking exactly that watching the game when he was commentating. Had been over at the game the previous year and without Given we would have been well beaten. Apart from the penalty save he made numerous other vital saves. Have lost a lot of respect for Kerr due to his bitterness and inability to accept that his negativity against Israel (which cost us qualification, forget about that moment of magic from Henry, that should and could have been immaterial at that stage) and performances against the Swiss in both campaigns were what really had him fired.
I personally don't blame him for the Israel home game. We should have won the away game though. We played some bizarre tactics in that game, but I think we would have actually won the home game with a different referee and had the Israel team not blatanly cheated as much as they did. That game really riled me. It was the worst cheating I've ever seen in a game. However, the game that really, really disappointed me was the Swiss home game. It was a game that we were clearly capable of winning, and from the very first minute (whether it was down to the players or Kerr, I'll never know) we just didn't look up for that game.
Drumcondra 69er
29/02/2008, 2:57 PM
I personally don't blame him for the Israel home game. We should have won the away game though. We played some bizarre tactics in that game, but I think we would have actually won the home game with a different referee and had the Israel team not blatanly cheated as much as they did. That game really riled me. It was the worst cheating I've ever seen in a game. However, the game that really, really disappointed me was the Swiss home game. It was a game that we were clearly capable of winning, and from the very first minute (whether it was down to the players or Kerr, I'll never know) we just didn't look up for that game.
That's fair enough about Israel but the fact is the we were 2 up and coasting when Keane got injured and instead of replacing him with another striker (Elliot was on the bench and in decent form) he brought on Kavanagh and went 4-5-1. Closing the game out after 25 minutes! I know Duff went forward a bit more after the change but essentially he changed 3 positions (Kilbane out left, Kav in the middle and Duff slightly more central) when all we had to do was change one player. While we were readjusting they got back into the game, rank bad management for me. I agree about the cheating and was going spare on the day (that keeper!) but we were architects of our own downfall that day, their cheating shouldn't have mattered given that we were 2 up so early.
29/02/2008, 3:21 PM
damn i had forgotten about that, it been almost 3 years ago now, but you have just reminded me of it :evil:
RogerMilla
29/02/2008, 3:29 PM
That's fair enough about Israel but the fact is the we were 2 up and coasting when Keane got injured and instead of replacing him with another striker (Elliot was on the bench and in decent form) he brought on Kavanagh and went 4-5-1. Closing the game out after 25 minutes! I know Duff went forward a bit more after the change but essentially he changed 3 positions (Kilbane out left, Kav in the middle and Duff slightly more central) when all we had to do was change one player. While we were readjusting they got back into the game, rank bad management for me. I agree about the cheating and was going spare on the day (that keeper!) but we were architects of our own downfall that day, their cheating shouldn't have mattered given that we were 2 up so early.
agree with every word of that , we could have run away 4-0 and then the group was a whole different story
jmurphyc
29/02/2008, 3:33 PM
agree with every word of that , we could have run away 4-0 and then the group was a whole different story
As I said before, I personally don't blame Kerr for that game. I think the games where the most blame lies with him are the away game against Israel and the home game against the Swiss. The tactics employed in the away game against Israel were poor IMO and in the Swiss game the players really seemed to lack drive. It just looked like a normal game as there was no urgency in our game play when we could have beaten the Swiss with a different attitude. I also agree more with his substitutions during the Israel home game than the Swiss game.
Wolfie
29/02/2008, 3:41 PM
damn i had forgotten about that, it been almost 3 years ago now, but you have just reminded me of it :evil:
Yeah - The trauma of that day has coming flooding back.
Couldn't make the game due to other commitments and watched it in a hotel bar that was already populated with a load of American tourists. I think they may have got a bit concerned about the local with his head in his hands, howling in dispair at the cruel, cruel sporting gods. :(
Somehow, when I'm at the game , its nowhere near as tortuous as to watch the horror unfold on telly. :eek:
Woeful. :(
BigmanCas
29/02/2008, 3:48 PM
That was the worst substitution of ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
jmurphyc
29/02/2008, 3:50 PM
That was the worst substitution of ALL TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I hate to think what some people may make of Trapattoni's substitutions.
29/02/2008, 3:53 PM
Yeah - The trauma of that day has coming flooding back.
Couldn't make the game due to other commitments and watched it in a hotel bar that was already populated with a load of American tourists. I think they may have got a bit concerned about the local with his head in his hands, howling in dispair at the cruel, cruel sporting gods.
Somehow, when I'm at the game , its nowhere near as tortuous as to watch the horror unfold on telly.
Woeful. Wolfie
Ya thats very true, the emotions experience on tele are always far greater than those when watching on tele, i think its because when you are "there" you feel you have more control over the situation etc.....and therefore more control breeds confidence in the outcome leading to a more comfortable viewing, even though its completely false. Either that or its just a case of seeing the overal game gives you a more realistic viewing :D
Drumcondra 69er
29/02/2008, 4:01 PM
I hate to think what some people may make of Trapattoni's substitutions.
Doubt very much he'd have made that change after 25 minutes. With 25 minutes to go certainly but that early in a game I don't think so. Fact is we had to re jig nearly a third of our outfield players because of that sub, that's where the main problem was.
29/02/2008, 4:11 PM
That's fair enough about Israel but the fact is the we were 2 up and coasting when Keane got injured and instead of replacing him with another striker (Elliot was on the bench and in decent form) he brought on Kavanagh and went 4-5-1. Closing the game out after 25 minutes! I know Duff went forward a bit more after the change but essentially he changed 3 positions (Kilbane out left, Kav in the middle and Duff slightly more central) when all we had to do was change one player.
Slight contradiction. Duff went up front and it stayed 4-4-2. The substitution didn't lose* us that game imo. We started off really well and after 18-20 minutes the tempo dropped completely. Israel's 2 best attacks came before Keane was taken off. A freak goal (header from outside the box) and a silly peno given away (after a miskick from Given) got their 2 goals. On overall play we deserved to win 5-0.
29/02/2008, 4:20 PM
It could be that I'm psychic, I know what everybody is going to say on this subject or it could be that it's all been said umpteen times before.
Pity we have to wait so long to find out what Trap is going to do and have to suffer another tournament without us in the middle of it all.