View Full Version : Trapattoni appointed Ireland coach - Confirmed

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9

Nipper
13/02/2008, 4:19 PM
Don Givens, our saviour.

13/02/2008, 4:20 PM
Fair play Ray Houghton, Don Givens, Don Howe and Liam Brady.

13/02/2008, 4:20 PM
Is Don Given currently admitting to an illegal approach? Whether on the phone or face to face he's saying he pitched the Irish job, on behalf of the FAI, to Trap without going through Salzburg.:confused:

jmurphyc
13/02/2008, 4:21 PM
I can't watch it on this computer. Can anyone post it up later?

13/02/2008, 4:22 PM
I can't watch it on this computer. Can anyone post it up later?

Will do, barring any copyright issues

13/02/2008, 4:22 PM
Houghton scores is 3rd most important goal for Ireland.

jmurphyc
13/02/2008, 4:26 PM
Will do, barring any copyright issues

Thanks!

Jicked
13/02/2008, 4:26 PM
Is Don Given currently admitting to an illegal approach? Whether on the phone or face to face he's saying he pitched the Irish job, on behalf of the FAI, to Trap without going through Salzburg.:confused:

Trap was in the last six months of his contract, and so free to talk to whomever he wanted.

blobbyblob
13/02/2008, 4:27 PM
Without doubt the most pivitol moment in Irish football in 5 years

GREAT GREAT DAY.

WELL DONE DELANEY AND THE 3 WISE MEN ( AND DENIS O'BRIEN)

13/02/2008, 4:28 PM
Houghton scores is 3rd most important goal for Ireland.
...further to my previous post -Ray just confirmed they spoke to people who's names they won't reveal because, amongst other reasons, some of those people are under contract. All spilt milk now of course but still seems a messy way to do business.

Jicked
13/02/2008, 4:28 PM
Seriously, what has Trap's appointment to do with Givens, Houhgton or Howe? Isn't Jerome Anderson the man to thank?

13/02/2008, 4:30 PM
Trap was in the last six months of his contract, and so free to talk to whomever he wanted.

Fair and true. :ball:

13/02/2008, 4:30 PM
T'O'D is a ***** of a journalist.

Ozymandias
13/02/2008, 4:37 PM
press conference starting on http://www.rte.ie/live/ now

thanks for the link..fair play

bohsRap
13/02/2008, 4:42 PM
...further to my previous post -Ray just confirmed they spoke to people who's names they won't reveal because, amongst other reasons, some of those people are under contract. All spilt milk now of course but still seems a messy way to do business.

Why do you care if it means getting the best manager?

13/02/2008, 4:47 PM
Yeah fair play to the 3 man committee and to Liam Brady. I think if what Houghton and Givens said is true, which we have no reason to believe it is not, the process has worked and it has delivered the best man for the job. The decision was taken out of the hands of administrators and put into the hands of football people. It is a lot easier to bluff a Delaney rather than Houghton Givens and Howe when talkin about football.

I am no cheerleader for Delaney or the FAI but in this case the 3 man selection committee has worked and as Johnny Giles has said all along it is better football people pick the manager rather than non footballing people.

bohsRap
13/02/2008, 4:49 PM
can we let this go lads..lets not side track what is a great day for Irish Football

Fair point, excellent appointment and credit where due.

13/02/2008, 4:54 PM
Another thing, that shoves it up the SFA's whole. I thought it was bang out of order for another association to slag a fellow associations process and how they went about appointing the manager.

13/02/2008, 4:55 PM
As Johnny Giles has said all along it is better football people pick the manager rather than non footballing people.

Yet, nearly all the Irish soccer players interviewed, and I assume they are classified as "football people", wanted Venables. Not sure it made much difference it was "football people". It was the process which worked. ALso is Dunphy not a "football person" and he (and Giles) wanted Jewell. Jewell vs Trappatoni. Hmmmm, I wonder which we would prefer.

ruben_sosa
13/02/2008, 5:00 PM
What will Trapatonni make of the training facilities in Malahide? are they of a standard that he's used to?

Metrostars
13/02/2008, 5:01 PM
Yet, nearly all the Irish soccer players interviewed, and I assume they are classified as "football people", wanted Venables. Not sure it made much difference it was "football people". It was the process which worked. ALso is Dunphy not a "football person" and he (and Giles) wanted Jewell. Jewell vs Trappatoni. Hmmmm, I wonder which we would prefer.

Dunphy is a journalist first. And Giles probably is too.

13/02/2008, 5:03 PM
I think if Giles or Dunphy were asked who they would prefer Trap or Jewel they would go for Trap every time. Judgin from what they have said on this, I would bet big money that they would rate Trap higher.

So at no point did they say Jewel was better than Trap for the job. Also when I said footballing people I did not mean the current players as someone should not pick their own boss, I would have thought that was obvious. The point I was makin is that that process worked because the FAI got 3 footballing people who had contacts within the game and when they went to chat to Trap, could make a good impression with him and vice versa and could also see it in his eyes if he was genuine about the job and if he really knew his stuff etc. A bluffer like Venables could easily have wowed Delaney or Blood as they are not footballing people and they may be impressed by PR. Givens is many thins but he is not a PR guy and there is an integrity about him, even though I dont agree with his style a lot of the time .

13/02/2008, 5:13 PM
I think if Giles or Dunphy were asked who they would prefer Trap or Jewel they would go for Trap every time. Judgin from what they have said on this, I would bet big money that they would rate Trap higher.

I would never bet any money on what Dunphy will say or whom he rates. The fact is both he and Giles on RTE strongly wanted Jewell for the job. The FAI (i.e. Blood and Delaney) ignored this and continued on with the process.

So at no point did they say Jewel was better than Trap for the job.

No they didn't because neither had probably ever heard of him and wanted to stampede the FAI in to appointing Jewell on national TV.

Also when I said footballing people I did not mean the current players as someone should not pick their own boss, I would have thought that was obvious.

Many former football players also supported Venables for the job, including Cascarino, Lawrenson and others.

A bluffer like Venables could easily have wowed Delaney or Blood as they are not footballing people and they may be impressed by PR.

Venables has bluffed many people, including many ex-internationals including Cascarino and Lawrenson who were backing him for the job. Luckily Blood and Delaney were not as gullible as you seemed to think they were and I also suspect there was a lot of opposition on the FAI Board to Venables.

WembleyGreen
13/02/2008, 5:14 PM
"I wonder will a result of this appointment be the emergence of unknown Irish passport holders who want to player international football under a great manager that may not previously have done so."
Lets hope so, we could do with some new faces. Plastic Paddy's to Pasta Paddy's in a day eh! Roll on the qualifiers. Great appointment, credit where it's due. Right I'm off for a pint of stout and cannelloni, Giovanni Trappatoni

13/02/2008, 5:16 PM
Owls Fan this is too good a day for Irish Football to get into a petty argument. Go on the Trap and at last we have a manager we can be really proud of and cv that really stands up.

bohsRap
13/02/2008, 5:16 PM
ALso is Dunphy not a "football person" and he (and Giles) wanted Jewell. Jewell vs Trappatoni. Hmmmm, I wonder which we would prefer.

Ye, but at the time Trapattoni wasn't mentioned anywhere and the quality of managers being mentioned weren't of a very high standard. I'm sure if you asked them now their answer would probably be different.

13/02/2008, 5:22 PM
Press conference from rte.ie: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=JLV7KE5M
Needs realplayer, install from http://uk.real.com/player/

eekers
13/02/2008, 5:30 PM

is that 10 minutes of photographers talking about the size of their lenses that we all had to sit through at the start included?

13/02/2008, 5:31 PM
Great day for Irish football. The rumours and counter rumours have done my head in over the last 100 odd days. The journalists, so called experts and bookmakers did not see this coming and it makes it all the sweeter. "El Tel has been offered the job, no he hasn't, yes he has...." the wait is over and we have a first class manager. Don Givens and Houghton came across well (no notes I see) and I couldn't be any more pleased unless we appointed Mourinho.

Lets get behind the new manager, fresh start for the team and I hope it leads to a successful qualifying campaign.

carloz
13/02/2008, 6:01 PM
I have an excitement now that in all honesty i dont think i have had since the 2002 World Cup(and even then it was dampened a little by Saipan). A very good day Ireland and i hope a day that proves we will no longer accept mediocrisy. Well done to the three amigos, well done to the FAI. Truely an excellent day:D

Clifford
13/02/2008, 6:15 PM
"I wonder will a result of this appointment be the emergence of unknown Irish passport holders who want to player international football under a great manager that may not previously have done so."
Lets hope so, we could do with some new faces. Plastic Paddy's to Pasta Paddy's in a day eh! Roll on the qualifiers. Great appointment, credit where it's due. Right I'm off for a pint of stout and cannelloni, Giovanni Trappatoni

Gladly the day when we are crying out for granny linked players is as good as gone. There is a superb set of players there crying out for tactics and leadership, now hopefully, they will get it.

I never thought we would see such a day, the FAI have pulled off a massive coup with this manager. I only hope people give him a chance, some already have him written off - Pat Dolan the fool on setanta being one.

KevB76
13/02/2008, 6:19 PM
I would never bet any money on what Dunphy will say or whom he rates.

I thought I heard a quote from Dunphy the other day (on Newstalk 106 I think) along the lines of : it would be the happiest day of his life to see Trappatoni appointed as our manager......

cavan_fan
13/02/2008, 6:21 PM
Is there any word on Gentille? Was the bbc thing that he has refused an offer true. It would be the only bad bit of news

eekers
13/02/2008, 6:22 PM
anyone else notice that without any sense of irony PaddyPower were sponsoring the fai press conference!

cavan_fan
13/02/2008, 6:29 PM
anyone else notice that without any sense of irony PaddyPower were sponsoring the fai press conference!

lol, they could have funded him off the back of the 200 favourites we've had. Anyone remember Arie Haan?

DotTV
13/02/2008, 6:44 PM
Great day for Irish football. Trap has serious standing in world football. If the players can't play for him, they can't play for anyone.
I think we'll be really hard to beat under him. Nice to see him coming right out and saying we should top the group Bring back the glory days!

ken foree
13/02/2008, 6:52 PM

thank you. if anyone knows any places with different formats than real player could you please post them too? happy daze!

Armando
13/02/2008, 6:55 PM
Great day for Irish football. Trap has serious standing in world football. If the players can't play for him, they can't play for anyone.
I think we'll be really hard to beat under him. Nice to see him coming right out and saying we should top the group Bring back the glory days!

Topping the group would be a mini-miracle. If I'm correct we have only ever managed this once, when we qualified for Euro '88?

shaneker
13/02/2008, 7:01 PM
So now we have him, what happens next? I'm so excited about this, I think we are in a great position now, but I do wonder about a few things..

What about McGeady? Will O'Trappatoni take the SPL seriously?
Will the LOI be explored or will Trapp ignore it and focus soley on England?
Will players like Garvan and Morrison be considered even though not in the EPL?
Will Dunne finally be given the captaincy?

Its wierd...now I've had my few hours of happiness I'm back to worrying about where we go from here!

Still, absolutely chuffed. I think the majority thought we needed a proven Continental manager with tactical acumen and a strong personality, and I think the FAI have - for once - got it spot on.

Murpholini
13/02/2008, 7:03 PM
Great day for us all, worth waiting for. For all their shortcomings in the past the FAI have gone and given us Someone to believe in and lift the spirits of the fans:ball:

13/02/2008, 7:22 PM
It is a great appointment, but when all the fuss calms down, it's important that we have realistic expectations regarding qualification.

Qualifying for the WC is going to be a very difficult task. Leaving aside the games themselves, overhauling the "craic" culture within the squad, and establishing a professional set up with sulking players who didn't get their candidate for the job is going to be a big task to achieve in one campaign. We must also remember that many of the players are neither experienced enough, nor of world-class quality, and there are limits to what they can/are prepared to do for us. Technically, many of them are extremely limited, and that's being generous.

So with that in mind, nobody should be expecting us to qualify as group winners. We hope they are as committed to our side, like they are for their clubs. Qualifying for the play-offs is very achievable, but it will require more commitment and passion, never mind better results than in the last campaign.

13/02/2008, 7:32 PM
Technically, many of them are extremely limited, and that's being generous.
The players that really matter aren't though (midfielders). Duff, McGeady, Reid, Reid and Ireland. Then there's Owen Garvan coming through too obviously.

Italy are still obviously clear favourites to win the group but I can't split ourselves and Bulgaria for the other spot.

dr_peepee
13/02/2008, 7:33 PM
F'kin thrilled.... Delighted with the appointment, definately the best we could have got.

Now lets get down to Brass tacks...

Backroom staff will be crucial. He's gonna be based in Milan. I have some slight "worries" about his awareness and up coming exposure to the depth of the squad outside the top say 15.. And by that I mean when the innevitable injuries and suspensions come and he has to go down to the Championship or League One for back up, I hope he's in a position to assess & differentiate accurately the players. Sometimes I'd rather have a specialist player from the championship rather than a premiership player playing out of position, so it's crucial that when he goes to the championship that he calls the best player in that position at that level. I obviously hope Brady's involved but if it's in conjunction with his media and Arsenal responsibilies, I hope someone else, John Aldridge say, is involved in some cappacity.

Still thrilled though...

dr_peepee
13/02/2008, 7:40 PM
Technically, many of them are extremely limited, and that's being generous..

Have to disagree with you there man.. I think we're more depth with established technically gifted players than I can remember in a long time. Duff, Keane, A Reid, Ireland, McGeady. (I don't think we'll ever start with that 5 on the pitch)...

It's Ironically the area we're traditionally flush in that we're limited at the moment. The grafting midfeilders, centre halves, right backs,

viagogo
13/02/2008, 7:46 PM
The best news I've heard in ages. The Serbia game will be very interesting to see how we play the game. Imagine an Irish team playing a game without the outdated 4-4-2 formation.

co. down green
13/02/2008, 7:52 PM
Great day for Irish football. The rumours and counter rumours have done my head in over the last 100 odd days. The journalists, so called experts and bookmakers did not see this coming and it makes it all the sweeter. "El Tel has been offered the job, no he hasn't, yes he has...." the wait is over and we have a first class manager. Don Givens and Houghton came across well (no notes I see) and I couldn't be any more pleased unless we appointed Mourinho.

Lets get behind the new manager, fresh start for the team and I hope it leads to a successful qualifying campaign.

Agreed shakermaker.

A great appointment and hopefully his vast experience will be used to help the underage sides progress as well.

Aaron
13/02/2008, 8:02 PM
Good to see him giving the squad an early boost by saying they are a first rate team. I agree, its just direction and tactical nous we need. Now we have it, also hopefully it may groom Liam Brady to be the next boss.

Kilcruise
13/02/2008, 8:03 PM
Good Appointment, Hopefully This Now Gets The Team Into Shape. Think The Fai Could Have Handled It Better , But That Might Have Been Asking For Too Much. I Look Forward With Some Hope And Anticipation.
Lets See How It All Pans Out:d

13/02/2008, 8:28 PM
Honestly we have such a good chance now with trap.

Im tired of not qualifying for major tournments.

Please God let it be a successful campagin and learn me how to spell

I think I am the only one here (or one other) who is not over joyedby the appointment, but hell i agree with Deckydee.........Im really tired of not qualifying for tournaments.............:)

would be great if givens is gone from the under 21's

13/02/2008, 8:36 PM
thank you. if anyone knows any places with different formats than real player could you please post them too? happy daze!
if you can get RealPlayer Plus (through whatever means you feel are appropriate....) you can export the video in different formats - MPEG, AVI, QuickTime, etc