SL Benfica
SuperLiga: 2004–05
Taça de Portugal
Runners-up: 2004–05.
FC Red Bull Salzburg
T-Mobile Bundesliga: 2006–07

Fabio Capello

Italy:
Scudetto: 1991/92, 1992/93, 1993/94, 1995/96 (Milan); 2000/01 (Roma), [2004/05, 2005/06 (Juventus) later removed]
Runner-up: 2001/02, 2003/04 (Roma)
UEFA Champions League: 1994 (Milan 4–0 Barcelona)
Runner-up: 1993 (Marseille 1–0 Milan) 1995 (Ajax 1–0 Milan)
European Super Cup: 1994 (Milan 2–0 Arsenal)
Supercoppa Italiana: 1992, 1993, 1994 (Milan); 2001 (Roma)
Runner-up: 2005 (Juventus)
Coppa Italia Runner-up: 1997/98 (Milan); 2002/03 (Roma)
Spain:
La Liga: 1996/97; 2006/07 (Real Madrid)

The result is clear!

Trap is the best

Forza italia!!

12/02/2008, 8:59 AM
you can add World Cup 2010 to Trap's list;)

Deckydee
12/02/2008, 9:15 AM
you can add World Cup 2010 to Trap's list;)

Of course, I forgot that! :D :cool:

12/02/2008, 9:16 AM
Yeah if anyone actually thinks Trap's appointment will have anything to do with the appointment of the three man Venables, sorry, selection committee, think again. Just remember that after the media had already broke the story of Trap's interest, Givens laughed it off saying they'd never heard anything about him, and that they doubted the FAI would talk to him behind his back. Thank fukk they did.
Could you link to that story please. It's very interesting if true.

BradyIsMyHero
12/02/2008, 9:21 AM
Fr Sensini

But is Trappatoni actually any good ?

The fact that he is Italian and was associated with some top clubs years ago makes him sound vaguely sophisticated in football terms, but what has he actually achieved in recent years ?

Sounds a bit like Fr Sensini in Father Ted, who captained the opposition five-a-side priests team. Nobody knew who he was, but the fact that he was Italian made him seem very impressive

joe_barry80
12/02/2008, 9:22 AM
I predict unprecedented interest in the Austrian League being experienced outside of Austria in the next few months...

If you are interested go to http://vod.premiere.at/oxid/index.php?sid=16aac8b1-baba37b2-00000000-00000000-00000001-9662b7a6f25168cb2d88c55d9ad13c1d&&cl=details&anid=16a47975581188261.82860618

Salzburgs 1st game after the winter break on friday costs €3 though BESTELLEN means Order.

12/02/2008, 9:32 AM
To be honest, it doesn't really matter who is better here, they're both fantastic coaches and any real attempt to say who is better smacks of "my dad is bigger than your dad" type schoolyard arguments

macdermesser
12/02/2008, 9:36 AM
The English have an Italian coach? Oh we better get one too. Monkey see monkey do.

Ok, a bit harsh .. but if the FAI had been blinded by Bob Paisley's CV back in 1986 ..

12/02/2008, 9:44 AM
Anybody worried about Delaney's cheshire cat interview yesterday with Tony O'Donoghue? The big grin on that dozzy head of his gave the game away.

Has he jumped the gun?

Drumcondra 69er
12/02/2008, 9:49 AM
Fr Sensini

But is Trappatoni actually any good ?

The fact that he is Italian and was associated with some top clubs years ago makes him sound vaguely sophisticated in football terms, but what has he actually achieved in recent years ?

Sounds a bit like Fr Sensini in Father Ted, who captained the opposition five-a-side priests team. Nobody knew who he was, but the fact that he was Italian made him seem very impressive

:D Briallinat analogy, he looks quite like him and all!

He won the Portugese league recently and the Austrian League last year. His honours are listed on the Trap v Capello thread.

And in response to ifk101's point, yes, I'm worried, I wish they'd kept a lid on this until it was signed sealed and delivered, I still think Delaney's a goon and wouldn't put him messing this up past him....

Deckydee
12/02/2008, 9:50 AM
To be honest, it doesn't really matter who is better here, they're both fantastic coaches and any real attempt to say who is better smacks of "my dad is bigger than your dad" type schoolyard arguments

Tet, my dad is bigger than your dad :D

Denis The Red
12/02/2008, 10:08 AM
As long as we get to South Africa in 2010, then who cares. I think Trap is more aggresive than Cappello though.

dr_peepee
12/02/2008, 10:32 AM
I think it's a real coup...

Even those with the most reservations about him must admit that at the very worst he's the best manager available to us..

Noelys Guitar
12/02/2008, 11:06 AM
Trapp is known for picking his teams on merit (Brady for one mentioned this last year). Nobody will be guaranteed a starting spot based on what they did 1/2/3 years ago and that is the way it should be.

Billsthoughts
12/02/2008, 11:14 AM

was in all the papers this time last week....

Bondvillain
12/02/2008, 11:19 AM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/fai-official-approached-trapattoni-1279643.html

Earlier this week, Givens said that no contact had been made with Trapattoni and that the panel had one more interview to conduct [with Billy Davies] before making their recommendation.

"When I see that story I find it absolutely amazing. We haven't spoken to Trapattoni and I find it rather hard to believe the FAI are going behind our backs," said Givens on Tuesday in reaction to initial reports surrounding the Italian.

Ah, Don. The poor oul eejit.

Denis The Red
12/02/2008, 11:29 AM
According to eleven-a-side.com it seems Trapattoni will be taking Claudio Gentile as his assistant. I was hoping it would be Brady but he is to be on the management team anyway in some capacity.
Gentile has also a great record with the Italian u21 team. Ahem maybe Don should watch his own job. (hopefully).:D

eekers
12/02/2008, 11:36 AM
was wondering there about trap bringing in his own fitness coach with him. how much fitness work can you really do on international duty?

cavan_fan
12/02/2008, 11:38 AM
Hail delaney! Lead us to success Delaney!

It looks like we are about to become the most boring team in Europe. 0-0 every game but thats how most coaches have success at International level eg Sanchez, Charlton etc.

Great appointment but we will still probably finish 3rd in the table. We just don't have the playes Im afraid and thinking that this 1 manager is going to change everything is living in a bubble.

Would I be right in syang most of those criticising Delaney are eL fans and this may be colouring their views.

As for coming 3rd in the table, if we have a top manager and he gets the best out of players then we have a team which is at least the equal of Bulgaria.

This is by far the best manager we have ever appointed. The FAI should get credit for taking their time, in the face of pressure from the papers and stabilising the finances so we can afford GioTrap (I'm copyrighting this in case it takes off). The players have no excuses now, they must perform.

12/02/2008, 11:39 AM
I'm excited- I can't wait to see how he reacts when O'Shea puts in a half hearted block. This guy is a proven winner, if he can't sort this rabble out then nobody can.

Bondvillain
12/02/2008, 11:41 AM
was wondering there about trap bringing in his own fitness coach with him. how much fitness work can you really do on international duty?

It would do no harm to have constant fitness monitoring as an extra incentive for some of our lads - Your fitness slips from the desired level, you're dropped, and we tell the papers you aren't fit.

Would I be right in syang most of those criticising Delaney are eL fans and this may be colouring their views.

You're being very generous there, assuming that it's only mostly EL fans who hate Delaney.

cavan_fan
12/02/2008, 11:42 AM
The English have an Italian coach? Oh we better get one too. Monkey see monkey do.

This is the most ridiculous argument I have eve heard.

Ok, a bit harsh .. but if the FAI had been blinded by Bob Paisley's CV back in 1986 ..

How do we know Paisley would not have done better than Jack, you don;t have to be Dunphy to think that Jack had some great players. With Paisley in charge would we have gottent the draw against Holland in '88 or beaten Italy in '90.

Drumcondra 69er
12/02/2008, 12:01 PM
How do we know Paisley would not have done better than Jack, you don;t have to be Dunphy to think that Jack had some great players. With Paisley in charge would we have gottent the draw against Holland in '88 or beaten Italy in '90.

The fact that Paisley was suffering the onset of Alzheimers by then makes it a reasonable assumption for me that he wouldn't have. Even though he wasn't properly diagnosed till 1992 it's known now that he was showing signs as far back as 1986, much as I'd the utmost respect for Paisley with hindsight it would have been a bad appointment. The FAI got lucky with that one.

citizenerased
12/02/2008, 12:19 PM
So is it then? discuss:ball::):ball:

eekers
12/02/2008, 12:20 PM
the main difference is that this time the more experienced man, the one with a decent managerial record is in charge.

12/02/2008, 12:27 PM
Stan is not fit to carry the water bottles for Trapatoni.

Dotsy
12/02/2008, 12:28 PM
And Brady has had some management experience. No comparision between the two set-ups in my mind other than the fact that the FAI are appointing a two man team.

Bondvillain
12/02/2008, 12:34 PM
If it turns out to Be Trapattoni / Brady, can we refer to the management team as "Trippy" ?

Ireland4ever
12/02/2008, 12:34 PM
So is it then? discuss:)

No. There ive said it:D:D, for once we have the right blend, hats off to the FAI if this is true they have got what we i think is best for irish football.

Delaney himself said he wasnt qualified enough to select the manager so he got footballing people in to help with the 'process', and i believe the 'process' has come up with an excellent exciting appointment. Hopefully this will give the players/fans and general public renewed interest in the boyz in green.

Its an exciting time in irish football and i for one am beginning to count down the days untill we meet georgia in september!

citizenerased
12/02/2008, 12:37 PM
well said I4E, well said...

amaccann
12/02/2008, 12:43 PM
Hmmm surely there is a strong possibility of Givens being out of a job, what with Gentile possibly taking on the Under21 role?

Bondvillain
12/02/2008, 12:47 PM
Hmmm surely there is a strong possibility of Givens being out of a job, what with Gentile possibly taking on the Under21 role?

Since he's on record as saying he, as the head of the interview board, had no Idea that Trapattoni was being considered for the job just last week, I would say that a new u21 manager is probably on the cards. Groovy.

Cue givens wandering around the Abbotstown basement, wearing a Milton name tag, and looking for his red stapler for many years to come.

Wolfie
12/02/2008, 12:50 PM
This process has heralded so many false dawns that I still can't quite believe they've got Trapattoni. I've been conditioned into fearing the worst and not believing a word I hear about the manager.

I can just visualise the nightmarish images of a press conference tomorrow night to unveil the new manager. "Ladies and Genleman, may I present to you.......................Billy Davis!"

If he is indeed appointed - The contract detail will be interesting and Trapatoni's interpretation of what's expected of him will be revealing. Time isn't on his side and noone wants to hear talk of building for the future - surely the brief begins and ends with qualification for 2010.

Bondvillain
12/02/2008, 12:56 PM
This process has heralded so many false dawns that I still can't quite believe they've got Trapattoni. I've been conditioned into fearing the worst and not believing a word I hear about the manager.

I can just visualise the nightmarish images of a press conference tomorrow night to unveil the new manager. "Ladies and Genleman, may I present to you.......................(ENTER NON-ENTITY'S NAME HERE!) "

That's my nightmare.

After all their lies and criminal stupidity in the past, I cannot convince myself to believe it either.

They simply HAVE to though. There will be lynchings otherwise.

Shilts
12/02/2008, 1:18 PM
After hanging onto the coat tails of enlish soccer for too many years, we can now look to a future where "put em under pressure" and "get stuck in" are not the only tactics available for our national team.

We should be looking to merge the passion of our past with, hopefully, a greater tactical know how. I hope that Trapatonni will bring this to the fore, and us to a new level. We should be looking to keep the ball for longer periods and if we need to go to 4-5-1 or 3-5-2 to do this then bring it on.

His CV says one thing to me and that is - WINNER!
I don't care if he bores the ass of us as long as we get enough points to qualify for the world cup. This is a major coup for the FAI and they should be congratulated for it.

12/02/2008, 1:20 PM
well said I4E, well said...

Are ye boys one in the same?! ;) If not ye are def cut from the same stone, or know eachother offline :D

12/02/2008, 1:23 PM
Are ye boys one in the same?! ;) If not ye are def cut from the same stone, or know eachother offline :D

Was just thinking the same recently. Definately like minded lads.:D
Although I'm fairly sure I seen those 2 labels on different people on away trips.

Better than Schloomp and meself ... in Slovakia 1 lad thought we were twins
while another lad was convinced I was Schlooomps father!!!!!

Threads merged as the discussion is going to be pretty much the same.

cavan_fan
I did wonder when I heard about this first was it going to be Trapattoni and Brady or Brady and Trapattoni. I heard that the original plan was that Stan would be Bobby's assistant. The FAI felt there needed to be an Irish manager and Stan exploited this in his 'I'm the gaffer bit'.

DotTV
12/02/2008, 4:50 PM
So is it then? discuss:ball::):ball:

Trap is expected to bring in fitness coach Fausto Rossi and Claudio Gentile as his assistant so there is no comparison.

backstothewall
12/02/2008, 5:38 PM
After hanging onto the coat tails of English soccer for too many years, we can now look to a future where "put em under pressure" and "get stuck in" are not the only tactics available for our national team.

We should be looking to merge the passion of our past with, hopefully, a greater tactical know how. I hope that Trapatonni will bring this to the fore, and us to a new level. We should be looking to keep the ball for longer periods and if we need to go to 4-5-1 or 3-5-2 to do this then bring it on.

I have 3 concerns about the appointment,

1. Will he attempt to make us play in a Mediterranean style. I don't think out players can do it. Does anyone know what sort of tactics he employed at Bayern?? Did he adapt himself to the German style of play or did Bayern adapt to the Trapattoni style of play??

2. His age. If he is only a short term appointment this might not be such an issue. Does he have any history of health problems?? Does he plan to live in Italy, Dublin, England or elsewhere?? If outside the British Isles will he be up to traveling to 2 games a week at Ipswich or Preston to see emerging talent??

3. Does he speak any English at all?? 69 is old to be learning a new lingo, especially one as hard as English

I will of course give him my full support, which i never did with Stan, but i would like the answers to these questions to be that he plans to go with 442, is fit as a fiddle and his dad is still alive, he is buying an apartment in Cheshire, and has at least enough English to do the press conference without an interpreter

RiffRaff
12/02/2008, 5:57 PM
We'll have to wait and see how he gets on. The one thing that struck me is that while he has a great record of winning things, he has done it with clubs in the top 3 of each country, and with a selection of world class player to choose from. That doesnt detract from his achievements, but he's not going to have anything like that sort of talent to pick from with us and he will have to motivate and produce players to play above their club levels for us to compete. I'm not sure if anyone knows how Salzburg got on in Europe, it may be more relevant to what he can achieve with Ireland.

12/02/2008, 6:01 PM

1. Will he attempt to make us play in a Mediterranean style. I don't think out players can do it.
I think we do. Very similar player to the Benfica team he won the league with. Average defence with quality technically gifted attackers. I'm even more confident in that after seeing Steven Reid last night. Much more of a playmaker type player than I'd remembered. I really believe watching matches from the sidelines helps on that front.

Morbo
12/02/2008, 6:07 PM

2. His age. If he is only a short term appointment this might not be such an issue. Does he have any history of health problems?? Does he plan to live in Italy, Dublin, England or elsewhere?? If outside the British Isles will he be up to traveling to 2 games a week at Ipswich or Preston to see emerging talent??

His age is a slight concern for me too but with Gentile and Brady aboard I think we have decent backup if Trap did have to miss some games due to health reasons unlike the disaster last time when Stan was left all on his own

Drumcondra 69er
12/02/2008, 6:19 PM
His health is fine, there's no comparison with Robson. He's only 3 years older then Venables at this stage. He took on learning German with vigour and much as he was lampooned over it in Germany he had enough of a grasp of the language to hold press conferences that could be lampooned.

I doubt he'll move to England and would imagibe Gentile would be the one checking out Championship matches and what have you. Brady on board is a help in that area as well.

As for his record, he won the league with Benfica for the first time in 11 years and took Fiorentina into the Champions League, anyone questioning his record needs their head looked at. Salzburg werwe unlucky to lose to a decent Shaktar team in this years CL prelim round as far as I know.

carloz
12/02/2008, 6:45 PM
I just can get myself too excited because a tiny bit of me can see Delaney coming out and saying somthing like this tommorrow night, 'Ladies and Gentlemen id like to introduce our new manager..............Kenny Dagleish'. At least their back up manager us occupied:D

http://www.elevenaside.com/acrossthewater/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=31009

jmurphyc
12/02/2008, 7:01 PM
I'd be more worried about Delaney pulling Vladimir Romanov out of the hat. :D

12/02/2008, 9:18 PM
Cue givens wandering around the Abbotstown basement, wearing a Milton name tag, and looking for his red stapler for many years to come.

The ratio of people to cake is too big.

jmurphyc
12/02/2008, 9:18 PM
What time is the announcement roughly meant to be made tomorrow? I assume it's going to be sometime in the evening.

12/02/2008, 9:23 PM
What time is the announcement roughly meant to be made tomorrow? I assume it's going to be sometime in the evening.
The press conference has been called for 5pm at Abbotstown.