View Full Version : Castlebar Celtic

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8

theboy
25/11/2008, 11:30 AM
Looks like celtic tryin to get into the A league next year according to the C.T. what are the chances of this happening?? will be a good step forward for mayo soccer.

GoodFootball
25/11/2008, 12:16 PM
Looks like celtic tryin to get into the A league next year according to the C.T. what are the chances of this happening?? will be a good step forward for mayo soccer.

Do ya think will that attract players from round the county to play for Celtic? Its a big step up from super league so would probably need to recruit some more players. Positive for the ML though :ball:

theboy
25/11/2008, 2:41 PM
Do ya think will that attract players from round the county to play for Celtic? Its a big step up from super league so would probably need to recruit some more players. Positive for the ML though :ball:

I think it will, alot of the young players especially, for them to attract some of the quality older players they would have a better chance if it came under the name mayo fc. i.e sligo rovers or galway utd.

but your right it is a positive move for th ML.

GoodFootball
25/11/2008, 3:37 PM
I think it will, alot of the young players especially, for them to attract some of the quality older players they would have a better chance if it came under the name mayo fc. i.e sligo rovers or galway utd.

but your right it is a positive move for th ML.

Would be better all round if they called it Mayo FC alright to get the older players on board and to get support, sponsorship etc it would be good.

Thats a couple of years away though, cant see it happening this spring...at least Celtic have plans to move the club forward :ball:

theboy
25/11/2008, 3:55 PM
Would be better all round if they called it Mayo FC alright to get the older players on board and to get support, sponsorship etc it would be good.

Thats a couple of years away though, cant see it happening this spring...at least Celtic have plans to move the club forward :ball:

Exactly, whats the chances of them been in the A league next season and not in the super league??

30/11/2008, 9:17 PM
The lads did well on saturday night,whos up next

threefivetwo
02/12/2008, 6:45 PM
a lot of quality young players will be back wit celtic soon enough and will have more experience of playing eircom league!! if mervue can do it in their first year??? who knows? mervue hadn't that strong of a team either!!

the grape vine
05/12/2008, 12:08 PM
was driving by celtic park today, and i see the astro pitch is coming on very well and near completion, it looks like a great set-up, fair play to all involved in the project !!

it look very narrow,is it narrower then a normal size pitch ?? and will it be available to other clubs to hire?

pavillion.road
05/12/2008, 1:02 PM
Its an impressive facility surely. Doesn't look like you could play an 11-a-side game on it though, as you said g.v it is a bit narrow!
It might just be for training purposes. Not sure if it will be available for public bookings/other clubs to rent, but celtic will probably go down this route to generate finance.

threefivetwo
06/12/2008, 7:13 AM
IT'S OFFICIAL 11 a side size but no senior games will be played on it, it's more for training purposes and offficial for our quality youth teams to play on, better astro than milebush, far better and hopefully which i sure it will be put to better use!!!! c'mon the hoops!!! always looking forward and looking after their players!!! everyone involved in the youths set up in celtic deserve the utmost respect for their commitment in having all these underage quality and international players it's a credit to everyone who puts in the effort for this serious club. only for these serious managers and their heart celtic would not have such serious quality they have coming through, fair play to all coaches involved!!! celtic and mayo legends!!! at least they put in the effort!!!!!!

07/12/2008, 6:51 PM
IT'S OFFICIAL 11 a side size but no senior games will be played on it, it's more for training purposes and offficial for our quality youth teams to play on, better astro than milebush, far better and hopefully which i sure it will be put to better use!!!! c'mon the hoops!!! always looking forward and looking after their players!!! everyone involved in the youths set up in celtic deserve the utmost respect for their commitment in having all these underage quality and international players it's a credit to everyone who puts in the effort for this serious club. only for these serious managers and their heart celtic would not have such serious quality they have coming through, fair play to all coaches involved!!! celtic and mayo legends!!! at least they put in the effort!!!!!!
Serious!!!!!!

hardcore
08/12/2008, 11:24 AM

You're up early for a saturday morning steve! were you getting up or just going to bed?:)

theboy
09/12/2008, 2:08 PM
how are ye fixed for this weekends game?

renovater
04/01/2009, 1:31 PM
I want to say well done to every one involved at Celtic for the project of there new astro pitch. its the finest in the county. Having walked it, made a big impression on me.
There is no reason why you could not play Junior football on it, may be a bit narrow for there A team.It would be good enough for any of there other teams.
I have reason to believe they are hoping to get there UEFA Licence, Should this happen this would be the only ground in Mayo allowed to play league and inter county games on there Astro.Looking forward to hope they get there just rewards.

irishyop
09/01/2009, 10:10 PM
I want to say well done to every one involved at Celtic for the project of there new astro pitch. its the finest in the county. Having walked it, made a big impression on me.
There is no reason why you could not play Junior football on it, may be a bit narrow for there A team.It would be good enough for any of there other teams.
I have reason to believe they are hoping to get there UEFA Licence, Should this happen this would be the only ground in Mayo allowed to play league and inter county games on there Astro.Looking forward to hope they get there just rewards.

It is a fine setup for sure, having played and trained on it now it is really an A1 facility and a credit all to all involved in setting it up.

renovater
10/01/2009, 2:06 PM
hope all Celtic players respect what they have,look up to those who put themselves out for those players:)
Let us know should you get the UEFA.licience

hardcore
19/01/2009, 3:25 PM
It is a fine setup for sure, having played and trained on it now it is really an A1 facility and a credit all to all involved in setting it up.

Hi Irishyop. Do you know how much it costs to rent?

irishyop
19/01/2009, 10:30 PM
Hi Irishyop. Do you know how much it costs to rent?

Sorry I dont but I will find out for you. Not unless the other lads know how much.

hoop4life
27/01/2009, 7:56 PM
Saturday 31st January
KO 2pm

U13 sfai cup last 32
celtic v lourdes celtic (dublin)

U18 league
glenhest v celtic

Sunday 1st February
KO 2pm

U16 connaught shield
claregalway v celtic

littleman
28/01/2009, 2:10 AM
I know this aint the right thread,but there aint a thread for what I'm lookin for but yer me best bet cause ye aint far away from what I'm lookin for without meanin to sound funny:)

Simply do ye know of any Roscommon clubs that have websites or infact dose there league have a website.Any help would be much appriciated................

FahyForever
28/01/2009, 4:34 PM
I know this aint the right thread,but there aint a thread for what I'm lookin for but yer me best bet cause ye aint far away from what I'm lookin for without meanin to sound funny:)

Simply do ye know of any Roscommon clubs that have websites or infact dose there league have a website.Any help would be much appriciated................

I think there should be some programme installed that disables posting after, say, one in the morning... These late night efforts make for tough reading. Rspecially when 352 has had a few bevvies... ;)

littleman
29/01/2009, 1:50 AM
Just my luck,Ive come across the only person on this thread that dosnt know the rest of the world works away while his eyes are shut.Eyes open an the world revolves around ya an close um an it stops,go on give it another try.I asked a simple question an I get someone who thinks hes Foot.ie answer to Graham Norton.I do shift work,thats my excuse for postin so early in the mornin,why you are lookin at this at an un socilable hour is better left to the imagination;)

29/01/2009, 9:58 AM
Hi littleman,

I don't think the RDL have a website but they have up to date tables at
http://www.soccerbot.com/rdfl/rdfl.htm
And there are links to Club websites in this thread
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=32990
Not sure how up to date they are though.

29/01/2009, 1:58 PM
Just my luck,Ive come across the only person on this thread that dosnt know the rest of the world works away while his eyes are shut.Eyes open an the world revolves around ya an close um an it stops,go on give it another try.I asked a simple question an I get someone who thinks hes Foot.ie answer to Graham Norton.I do shift work,thats my excuse for postin so early in the mornin,why you are lookin at this at an un socilable hour is better left to the imagination;)

May I just apologise for that other persons post that you refer to as he always has something to say usually not very positive,unless that is about his own club or wesport utd.I wish I could help you out on your origional question,Im sorry I cannot

29/01/2009, 1:59 PM
Hi littleman,

I don't think the RDL have a website but they have up to date tables at
http://www.soccerbot.com/rdfl/rdfl.htm
And there are links to Club websites in this thread
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=32990
Not sure how up to date they are though.

When are we going to see you back on the playin field?Have you moved away?

29/01/2009, 2:09 PM
When are we going to see you back on the playin field?Have you moved away?
?? Training tonight?

hoop4life
31/01/2009, 4:05 PM
u13 sfai cup
celtic 1-0 lourdes celtic
loftus

u18 league
glenhest 1-8 celtic
dravins (2), naughton (2), towey, staunton, durkan, duffy

hoop4life
02/02/2009, 6:22 PM
only one celtic fixture this weekend.

saturday 7th february.
u18 league. 2pm.
ballinrobe v celtic

elsewhere, three mayo youth teams out at the weekend.
u16s away to galway at 7.30pm friday night the 6th.

u12s at home to galway at 2pm in milebush on saturday the 7th.

u15s at home to galway at 2pm in milebush on sunday the 8th.

the grape vine
03/02/2009, 10:31 AM
have Celtic made any decision on them entering the A championship ?

03/02/2009, 12:39 PM
have Celtic made any decision on them entering the A championship ?

Its 99% confirmed that they will be going into the A League

theboy
03/02/2009, 2:21 PM
Its 99% confirmed that they will be going into the A League

does this mean so they are getting all the lads back that left? and that there B team will replace them in the super league?

threefivetwo
03/02/2009, 3:59 PM
only seen that post didn't even know i said it, drink talk, i apologise!!!

05/02/2009, 8:57 PM
does this mean so they are getting all the lads back that left? and that there B team will replace them in the super league?

Well that would be the plan,hopefully to get the players that left back.As regards the b team,thats the way I would envisage it to be,that they will now play in the super league next year.

hoop4life
07/02/2009, 4:21 PM
u12 sfai cup
letterkenny 4-1 celtic
mcdermott
no complaints. beaten by a better and a physically bigger side.

u18 league
ballinrobe 0-3 celtic
naughton, griffin, duffy

hoop4life
11/02/2009, 10:18 AM
saturday 14th february
u13 league
12noon
achill v celtic

u18 connaught cup quarter final
2pm
celtic v strokestown

also, best of luck to the mayo oscar traynor team at the weekend

theboy
16/02/2009, 1:53 PM
Any new signings for the A-league?

Thunderblaster
16/02/2009, 11:44 PM
Any new signings for the A-league?

Definitely not from Westport United as I write. Could change though!!

theboy
17/02/2009, 8:55 AM
Definitely not from Westport United as I write. Could change though!!

sounds like something could happen, do you think many lads would jump ship from around the county if asked?

Shilts
17/02/2009, 9:28 AM
Any info on Erris United? Are they a good side? They can't be bad if they are the only Mayo side left in the FAI Jun Cup :ball:

hoop4life
17/02/2009, 11:53 AM
Any info on Erris United? Are they a good side? They can't be bad if they are the only Mayo side left in the FAI Jun Cup :ball:

decent, they were lucky not to be relegated from mayo super league this year. physical and tough to beat but they are a lot better at home in erris than they are when ye take them out of erris. i don't know what ye are like so i can't give any prediction

Shilts
17/02/2009, 12:21 PM
decent, they were lucky not to be relegated from mayo super league this year. physical and tough to beat but they are a lot better at home in erris than they are when ye take them out of erris. i don't know what ye are like so i can't give any prediction

Thanks hoop4life. In Cork the top teams play in the Munster Senior League (30 teams) and thus play in the FAI Intermediate Cup. We're well below this standard so no world beaters here, but we'll give it a lash! Good day out by the seaside expected tho'!

17/02/2009, 4:47 PM

They are ok,can be tough to beat especially down in thier own patch,There biggest asset is that they never know when they are beaten and will play for the full 90 mins.They have a lad who is very good from a dead ball situation.I wont give you too much more info,it would not be fair,Best of luck to the two of ye next sunday

theboy
18/02/2009, 11:11 AM
will any of the lads that play with your A-league be able to play with next years oscar traynor team? or will they be able to play any games with your B team in the super league? Have ye to name a squad and thats it??

renovater
18/02/2009, 8:41 PM
will any of the lads that play with your A-league be able to play with next years oscar traynor team? or will they be able to play any games with your B team in the super league? Have ye to name a squad and thats it??
I would think players playing in A -league would not consider playing in super-league / O/T as they would need to regrade, should they return, would find themselves out of junior football for upto 5 years. however this does not apply to u-18 of those who would play at A-league

Cloggs
19/02/2009, 12:20 PM
I would think players playing in A -league would not consider playing in super-league / O/T as they would need to regrade, should they return, would find themselves out of junior football for upto 5 years. however this does not apply to u-18 of those who would play at A-league

can you not play junior football again for 5 years if you play a league?that sounds really harsh!so if celtic's venture into the a league didn't pan out for whatever reason (hopefully it does obviously) the lads couldn't then play junior football?surely you're wrong on that one reno?

hoop4life
19/02/2009, 12:33 PM

that can't be right.

big game for celts this weekend. home to ballinasloe on sunday at 2pm in last 16 of connaught cup. tough game.

also, u16s at home to claregalway on saturday at 2pm and u13s away to ballyheane on saturday at 2pm also.

FahyForever
19/02/2009, 12:36 PM
can you not play junior football again for 5 years if you play a league?that sounds really harsh!so if celtic's venture into the a league didn't pan out for whatever reason (hopefully it does obviously) the lads couldn't then play junior football?surely you're wrong on that one reno?

He has to be. Did Stevie Gavin take a five year sabbatical after playing Eircom league football? Not likely.

hoop4life
21/02/2009, 7:40 PM
todays results

u13 cup
ballyheane 0-3 celtic

u16 conn shield
celtic 10-1 claregalway

23/02/2009, 10:06 PM
well done yesterday to dec and the lads,

hoop4life
24/02/2009, 8:30 PM
saturday 28th february