10/04/2009, 9:42 PM
Good luck to Dec, Harry and all the lads for Sat night

but don't forget

Iorrais B Vs Celtic B Sunday @ 2 30.
well gale are ya nervous heading into the unknown on sunday

Northern Gale
11/04/2009, 1:57 PM
well gale are ya nervous heading into the unknown on sunday

When the seagulls follow the trawler, it is because they think sardines will be thrown into the sea.
:cool::cool::cool:

couchpotato
12/04/2009, 12:09 AM
Castlebar Celtic 1-2 Derry City

.....respectful

Cloggs
12/04/2009, 9:27 AM
Castlebar Celtic 1-2 Derry City

.....respectful

hard luck lads but nonetheless a respectfu result as you say.how did the game go (obviously other that the result) should yee have had a point out of it in the end or were derry worth their win?

Bestie
12/04/2009, 10:27 AM
hard luck lads but nonetheless a respectfu result as you say.how did the game go (obviously other that the result) should yee have had a point out of it in the end or were derry worth their win?
Derry were well worth their win. They could have had another two by half time. Celtic were more competitive late in the first half and early second half and limited Derry City to a couple of half chances. Celtic had their own chances but Sean McHale needed more support up front. Celtic will have to up the tempo at this level if they are to make an impression. They could have snatched a draw near the end but Derry were in all fairness the better side. Celtic can be happy with their first outing but will need to improve.

Fair Play
12/04/2009, 10:36 AM
Derry deserved their win. They had most of the chances and the better possession but Castlebar Celtic battled bravely and could have snatched a draw in the last few minutes. Derry's pace at the start of the game was too much for the Celtic rearguard and Ryan and Minogue were caught flat on several occasions. They settled after about half an hour and started to create some of their own chances. Celtic can improve and they now know the level they need to maintain if they are to do well in this competition.

There was a nice crowd of at least 200 at the game on a pleasant night. Well done to all at Celtic for bringing football at this level to Mayo. We should all be out on Saturday nights supporting a Mayo team.

pixiehead
13/04/2009, 12:12 AM
Good fast game. Celtic gave a good account of themselfs. Can only expect them to learn from this initial year. €5 entry was sensible and good value. :cool:

sprah1
13/04/2009, 1:26 AM
Good fast game. Celtic gave a good account of themselfs. Can only expect them to learn from this initial year. €5 entry was sensible and good value. :cool:

Firstly, must agree €5 (2 for students) is good value and will not stop anyone from attending. Secondly, as someone involved with another Mayo club, it was great to go to and see a Mayo team playing at this level and hopefully all of Mayo will get behind them this year. City were obviously the better side, however the gap was not that big and with a liitle more experience at this level the club, management and players will gradually get there. Much will depend on the support, so lay aside the local rivalries and get out and support a local team.

Northern Gale
14/04/2009, 12:21 PM
Tonight will be my first bout of Schizophrenia, but good luck to Dec,Harry and Paul Hegarty.

hoop4life
14/04/2009, 2:40 PM
rumour has it you tried to bring home a souvenir from the erris clubhouse last sunday.

you tried to pull the door of the away dressing room with you!! ;):)
any truth in that??

best of luck to dec, harry and all the lads tonight

hoop4life
14/04/2009, 2:43 PM
4 more big games at the weekend!!

senior team away to drogheda united saturday at 2pm in united park

u13s playing salthill in semi final of sfai cup on saturday at 2pm in celtic park

u16s playing ballina in mayo cup final on saturday at 3.30pm in milebush

and to keep northern gale happy, the b team are playing sunday at 2.30pm against partry in celtic park

all support welcome, needed and appreciated!!

Closing Time
14/04/2009, 3:27 PM
Read PB article in the CT today, see he is still going on about the West Utd game. Not surprised he never mentioned Celtic's entry into the LOI, bad form considering all the bullsh**te we have to read about his team.

Northern Gale
14/04/2009, 3:39 PM
rumour has it you tried to bring home a souvenir from the erris clubhouse last Sunday.

you tried to pull the door of the away dressing room with you!! ;):)
any truth in that??

best of luck to Dec, harry and all the lads tonight

what can i say the wind caught the door as i was leaving, a misfortunate coincidence

kingkong
14/04/2009, 4:10 PM
I hope celtic revert to 4-4-2 and have a real go at Finn Harps,they have not won in 4 games and confidence is probably low...if they get an early goal i can see castlebar coming out on top.

14/04/2009, 4:39 PM
I really think that Celtic will get a result tonite,They gave a good account of themselves against a good technical derry side,who I have to say were worth there win.The qualaties they showed against derry will stand to them tonite.Good luck lads

hoop4life
14/04/2009, 9:48 PM
celtic 0-4 finn harps

didn't play great tonight. scoreless at ht. celtic had two great chances to go 1nil up. harps superior fitness showed in the second half. they weren't 4 goals better than celtic though. nice crowd of about 150-200 i'd say.

hardcore
15/04/2009, 11:24 AM
what can i say the wind caught the door as i was leaving, a misfortunate coincidence

Didnt think you would get too much from that game. What were erris like? And celtic? any excuses gale? erris on a big high recently:ball:

Northern Gale
15/04/2009, 9:55 PM
Didnt think you would get too much from that game. What were erris like? And celtic? any excuses gale? erris on a big high recently:ball:

Poor Pitch

Iorrais def not 5 goals better,

Celtic had poor communication ,no passion and no accountability, it all went wrong on the Sat morning before the game. Lost three players before and during the game. But still Iorrais deserved perhaps a two goal victory. Even 5 months of planning can mean that if the lads don't want to be there and win it wont happen. Tough one on Sun again, but there will be a number of changes 5 in total i think

pinero
15/04/2009, 10:21 PM
pitch was tore up after an u18 game on the thursday played in savage rain,Iorras well worth their 5 goal win couple of crackers as well.

GoodFootball
16/04/2009, 8:02 AM
Poor Pitch

Iorrais def not 5 goals better,

Celtic had poor communication ,no passion and no accountability, it all went wrong on the Sat morning before the game. Lost three players before and during the game. But still Iorrais deserved perhaps a two goal victory. Even 5 months of planning can mean that if the lads don't want to be there and win it wont happen. Tough one on Sun again, but there will be a number of changes 5 in total i think

I count six excuses, how about the ref? ;)

couchpotato
16/04/2009, 8:15 AM
I count six excuses, how about the ref? ;)

Iheard the ref was the erris goalies father;);)

Northern Gale
16/04/2009, 1:10 PM
thanks for the input, i think

Northern Gale
17/04/2009, 10:29 PM
Another big weekend in Celtic History

Good Luck to the U13 and U16 tomorrow in Celtic Park in their respective semi and final.
Good luck to Dec and Harry in Drogheda tomorrow @ 2pm

Dont forget

Castlebar Celtic B Vs Partry @ 2 30 Sunday

TheBoss
18/04/2009, 5:32 PM
I am a little confused about a player called James Minogue, did he join Galway United from Celtic and then rejoined Celtic a few weeks back or is he on loan or is their 2 James Minogues.

Thanks.

PS: Drogheda United 'A' 1-2 Castlebar Celtic

swinfordfc
18/04/2009, 5:49 PM
I am a little confused about a player called James Minogue, did he join Galway United from Celtic and then rejoined Celtic a few weeks back or is he on loan or is their 2 James Minogues.

Thanks.

PS: Drogheda United 'A' 1-2 Castlebar Celtic

Congrats on Celtic first win of the season and away too

hoop4life
18/04/2009, 5:52 PM
james minogue went to galway utd from us and has now rejoined celtic.

well done to dec, harry and all the lads today.

elsewhere, u13s unlucky to loose 3-2 to salthill devon in sfai semi final.

finally, u16s won mayo cup after defeating ballina 4-1.

theboy
19/04/2009, 8:30 PM
good first win for celtic away from home. anyone at the game or have any report on it?

Northern Gale
19/04/2009, 8:38 PM
good first win for celtic away from home. anyone at the game or have any report on it?

was at the game, Droggs were a very young side and a bit on the small side too. Celtic played well and found a lot more room than the last two games. We were strong up front and it should have been more than two one. Droggs put on the pressure towards the end and Matty had to come off so that reduced us to ten men as all subs where used. Alan Mc broke well from their corner and went one on one with their keeper which resulted in a penalty to us and their keeper sent off. We missed the pen too. Minny got injured again about 20 min into the game and may be out for a while.

theboy
20/04/2009, 9:36 AM
was at the game, Droggs were a very young side and a bit on the small side too. Celtic played well and found a lot more room than the last two games. We were strong up front and it should have been more than two one. Droggs put on the pressure towards the end and Matty had to come off so that reduced us to ten men as all subs where used. Alan Mc broke well from their corner and went one on one with their keeper which resulted in a penalty to us and their keeper sent off. We missed the pen too. Minny got injured again about 20 min into the game and may be out for a while.

Good 3points so. the result will help everyone involved. doesnt sound good about minny, hopefully he will return soon.

Northern Gale
20/04/2009, 10:31 AM
Good 3points so. the result will help everyone involved. doesnt sound good about minny, hopefully he will return soon.

cant see minny around for a while unless he wants to dislocate it again and take another six weeks off.

the grape vine
20/04/2009, 10:51 AM
cant see minny around for a while unless he wants to dislocate it again and take another six weeks off.

what happened to him ?

Northern Gale
20/04/2009, 12:17 PM
what happened to him ?

Shoulder again

rava
20/04/2009, 1:47 PM
Celtic B could have lost by a cricket score yesterday, I only saw the last half hour but chance after chance was either wasted or saved. Surely there must be more players available to the managment or it could be long season. Partry were a decent team but no more than that.

rava
20/04/2009, 2:34 PM
Maybe there was chances earlier in the game as I said I only saw the last half hour in which at least 5 good chances were missed or saved.

irishyop
20/04/2009, 2:47 PM
Maybe there was chances earlier in the game as I said I only saw the last half hour in which at least 5 good chances were missed or saved.

Celtic had a few good chances also in fairness. Partry took the 1st goal well and the Celtic keeper messed up for the 2nd, they had maybe one other clear chance when they had a man clean through.
Maybe could have got 3 goals, think 5 is a bit generous.

Partry have a nice squad, bit of pace and experience.

Celtic are on a sharp learning curve, yesterday the lads put in 100%, on another day could have scored a few.

Northern Gale
20/04/2009, 3:58 PM
Celtic had a few good chances also in fairness. Partry took the 1st goal well and the Celtic keeper messed up for the 2nd, they had maybe one other clear chance when they had a man clean through.

Celtic are on a sharp learning curve, yesterday the lads put in 100%, on another day could have scored a few.

Well said yop, its easy for some to point the finger

hardcore
21/04/2009, 5:18 PM

Dont know about the learning curve irishyop. from what ive heard, ye have half of cbar town playing with ye, and theyve been around a while. surely ye have enough good players to stay out of trouble?:ball:

irishyop
21/04/2009, 9:15 PM
Dont know about the learning curve irishyop. from what ive heard, ye have half of cbar town playing with ye, and theyve been around a while. surely ye have enough good players to stay out of trouble?:ball:

They may have been around a while but how many of them played Premier league football? No disrespect to Div 2, but its a big difference playing in the Premier.
1/2 the team, can only think of 3 lads, who would the others be?

footie2008
22/04/2009, 9:44 PM
They may have been around a while but how many of them played Premier league football? No disrespect to Div 2, but its a big difference playing in the Premier.
1/2 the team, can only think of 3 lads, who would the others be?
The standard was'nt great last week irishyop:confused:no disrespect to the Premier league!:rolleyes:

Closing Time
28/04/2009, 4:11 PM
Best of luck to the U-12, U-16 & U-18's in the connacht Cup finals at the weekend. Celtic, Mervue & Salthill have two teams in the Cup finals and Celtic one in a sheild final. Not surprisng three best youth clubs in Connacht by a long way.

pavillion.road
28/04/2009, 4:57 PM
Best of luck to the U-12, U-16 & U-18's in the connacht Cup finals at the weekend. Celtic, Mervue & Salthill have two teams in the Cup finals and Celtic one in a sheild final. Not surprisng three best youth clubs in Connacht by a long way.

A LONG way....best of luck to all celtic teams

hoop4life
28/04/2009, 7:44 PM
U16s should beat manorhamilton in shield final.
U12s vs. salthill and U18s vs. mervue will be very tight and too difficult to call.
wish all teams all the best

ExCiTeD
30/04/2009, 7:15 PM
best of luck to our teams in the 3 finals at the weekend.to john and his young 12's,pat and the 16's and paul in the blue ribbon event of under age football in the under 18 final all the best lads do yourselves proudhttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon14.gif

hardcore
01/05/2009, 3:52 PM
best of luck to our teams in the 3 finals at the weekend.to john and his young 12's,pat and the 16's and paul in the blue ribbon event of under age football in the under 18 final all the best lads do yourselves proudhttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon14.gif

Fair play to them, and best of luck:ball:

03/05/2009, 10:58 AM
Fair play to them, and best of luck:ball:

Good luck to all Teams

ExCiTeD
04/05/2009, 11:28 AM
congrats to paul large and his troops on winning the U18 connaught cup yesterday. a fantastic display by the lads with peter dravins getting a hatrick.3.0 did not flatter them in any way and probably should have won by more. well done to all involved with the squad fantastic achievment

hoop4life
04/05/2009, 7:49 PM
congrats to paul large and his troops on winning the U18 connaught cup yesterday. a fantastic display by the lads with peter dravins getting a hatrick.3.0 did not flatter them in any way and probably should have won by more. well done to all involved with the squad fantastic achievment

brilliant performance by celtic to win their third connaught youths cup in four years. they blew mervue away and mervue beat salthill in the semi final and salthill are now in the all-ireland final. this shows how strong this celtic team is and with a bit more luck they could have gone a long way in the all-ireland cup aswell. give this squad 2-3 more years and they can get celtic into the eircom league first division and should be more than able to hold their own. well done to paul and all the lads :D

gunner1
05/05/2009, 1:20 AM
congrats to paul large and his troops on winning the U18 connaught cup yesterday.

Closing Time
05/05/2009, 3:28 PM
Well done to Paul and the U-18 squad on winning the clubs third Connacht Cup in four years against Mervue Utd. The U-12's were just outstanding on Saturday what a great second half performance, if they had their Irish international the story would have been so different. U-16's were just to laid back and let the sheild slip away. Overall a great weekend for the club and the future looks bright at underage level.

hoop4life
09/05/2009, 2:28 PM
u18 quigley cup semi final
celtic 4-1 achill

decent performance. celtic missing 11 players from last weeks connaught cup win. celtic looking for 4 quigley cups in a row