View Full Version : Castlebar Celtic

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

swift
12/03/2008, 3:34 AM
They came to your club but you still failed in the external competitions.

We are building are own pitch and we will have one of the best grounds in the country, and yes we will own it.

By the way Westport is has half the population of CBar and Westport teams have still won more league titles than you since the formation of the ML. We are just a bit behind in the Connacht Cup Section.

We won a Junior Cup, and we did not own our ground.

You were lucky on sunday, the covies were disappointed in your team, you are still playing the same rubbish employing a 5 man midfield and one up front. A blatant penalty was overlooked for St Michaels, along with a few offsides which were onside. When you meet a decent team you will be found out.

How did your punch up go after the match?:D

When you say a better team would beat us that maybe so but did a better team beat ye the year ye won it but then again ye got them thrown out of the competion and as they say the rest is history:D

irishyop
12/03/2008, 7:50 AM
I take it from your post your not a real football person. But let me reply to some of your commnets above. You need to get your facts correct: Celtic have won more League titles (16), More Connacht Senior Leagues (1) More Connacht Cups (9 you are 4 behind), More Mayo FA Cups (6), More Connacht Youths Cups (8 to your 1), More Quigley Cups (13 to your 1 maybe 2), both clubs have won FAI National titles. Come get your facts right. Of course the covies were disappointed in our team we won. As for your plans for your pitch well done it only has taken you 97 years to get your act together and buy something. All Mayo clubs should take a leaf out of your book, not. As for off sides last Sunday I think you were looking through your I hate everything about Castlebar especailly Celtic glasses. If we dont go on and win the JC we will take our beating and not resort to going to court to get back in the competition.

You can't beat facts can you ;)

As for after match puch-ups, its wasnt us who were stoned out of Limerick a few years back, odd how that has not happened down there before :confused:

Leveller
12/03/2008, 10:57 AM
I take it from your post your not a real football person. But let me reply to some of your commnets above. You need to get your facts correct: Celtic have won more League titles (16), More Connacht Senior Leagues (1) More Connacht Cups (9 you are 4 behind), More Mayo FA Cups (6), More Connacht Youths Cups (8 to your 1), More Quigley Cups (13 to your 1 maybe 2), both clubs have won FAI National titles. Come get your facts right. Of course the covies were disappointed in our team we won. As for your plans for your pitch well done it only has taken you 97 years to get your act together and buy something. All Mayo clubs should take a leaf out of your book, not. As for off sides last Sunday I think you were looking through your I hate everything about Castlebar especailly Celtic glasses. If we dont go on and win the JC we will take our beating and not resort to going to court to get back in the competition.

You will find that “Westport Clubs” have won 19 ML titles, including the Quay Hearts, Sporting Club, and Westport Crusaders, with half the population.

We are not far behind in Connacht Cups.

We have won a senior national title the Junior Cup with an all local team.

Winning at youths level does not always translate into success at senior level

The Port have owned their ground until 83 when they Went into partnership with the Athletic Club, we still have a ground to kick a ball on.

In spite of us not owning our ground, we still won the Junior Cup with an all local team

As for the court case Closing, as players, supporters, we all agree to be bound by the rules of the game, those same rules sent Vinny OMalley off for a handball at Carew, the substitute who came on to take the penalty for Carew was an ineligible player, and by the rules of the game he should not have been playing, the Court decision confirmed this and the game went to a replay. We won fair and square, we went into that game without the 2004 golden boot holder Vinnie OMalley

Fair Play
12/03/2008, 12:40 PM
Note to Leveller and Closing Time.Come on boys leave your argument behind. We all could pick holes in both of your cases. What is more important is that all genuine football people support all Mayo teams in all outside competitions. Why is it that only Mayo clubs appear to be shooting each other in the foot? Do you see it happening in any other leagues on this forum? Let us hope that Castlebar Celtic go all the way as Westport did in fine style a few seasons ago. Come on boys - "Cop on".

threefivetwo
12/03/2008, 7:45 PM
You will find that “Westport Clubs” have won 19 ML titles, including the Quay Hearts, Sporting Club, and Westport Crusaders, with half the population.

We are not far behind in Connacht Cups.

We have won a senior national title the Junior Cup with an all local team.

Winning at youths level does not always translate into success at senior level

The Port have owned their ground until 83 when they Went into partnership with the Athletic Club, we still have a ground to kick a ball on.

In spite of us not owning our ground, we still won the Junior Cup with an all local team

As for the court case Closing, as players, supporters, we all agree to be bound by the rules of the game, those same rules sent Vinny OMalley off for a handball at Carew, the substitute who came on to take the penalty for Carew was an ineligible player, and by the rules of the game he should not have been playing, the Court decision confirmed this and the game went to a replay. We won fair and square, we went into that game without the 2004 golden boot holder Vinnie OMalley

you say a national title at underage doesn't matter??????? how many of that team have brought celtic to as far as they are now? take out mick wallace and the average age of the team sunday was bout 20!! plus celtis were missin their captain sean reilly and simon kelly and joey maloney and shane hynes!!!!! don't forget celtic have only conceded 1 goal in the whole competition and it was a penalty!!! most of the team them so called young guys that don't matter playin a big part in that!!!!! I SENSE A BIT OF JEALOUSY ON YOUR BEHALF ON CELTIC WINNIN SO MUCH LATELY AND WESTPORT NOT LEFT INVOLVED IN NOTHIN!!!!!!! if you weren't jealous why would ya bother to keep writin in tryin to put other clubs down????????????? because you have nothin to say good bout westport lately stop living in the past good lad. we're on about whats happenin now!!!!

Cloggs
12/03/2008, 9:14 PM
Note to Leveller and Closing Time.Come on boys leave your argument behind. We all could pick holes in both of your cases. What is more important is that all genuine football people support all Mayo teams in all outside competitions. Why is it that only Mayo clubs appear to be shooting each other in the foot? Do you see it happening in any other leagues on this forum? Let us hope that Castlebar Celtic go all the way as Westport did in fine style a few seasons ago. Come on boys - "Cop on".

hear hear.fair play to celtic on doing so well this year and i think that its rediculous that people (or should i say a person) has to be so petty in picking holes in their achievement in getting so far in the junior cup this year.shame on you leveller.grow up man and give them the plaudits that they deserve and try removing those black and red tinted glasses.bitterness and jealousy will get you nowhere.:(we should all be supporting the mayo clubs:ball:

renovater
14/03/2008, 9:58 PM
Lads will you stop the bickering, you are doing it all over again, we had the same thing on Westport thread. you are behaving like kids.Trying out boast the other.
In reality you were not even around when most of these cups were won. Live for tomorrow's Cup Regardless who wins it. As long its a Mayo Team.
One way or another Celtic is the form team at the moment like it or not.
Dykes is the manager Like it or not.The players want to play for them like it or.
If you had the same choice wouldn't you like it or not.:ball:

Thunderblaster
17/03/2008, 6:50 PM
If we dont go on and win the JC we will take our beating and not resort to going to court to get back in the competition.

Westport United lodged an objection with the FAI Junior Council following the first Carew Park game. Westport lost that objection. Westport United subsequently appealed to the FAI Senior Council. That appeal was upheld. Carew Park sought a court injunction against the ruling. The presiding judge advised Carew Park to seek Arbritration. There was an arbritration meeting set up in Dublin with Des Casey being the Arbritrator. The ruling upheld Westport United's appeal to the FAI Senior Council. Westport United never, at any time, sought a court injunction during that period.

renovater
19/03/2008, 12:44 AM
Westport United lodged an objection with the FAI Junior Council following the first Carew Park game. Westport lost that objection. Westport United subsequently appealed to the FAI Senior Council. That appeal was upheld. Carew Park sought a court injunction against the ruling. The presiding judge advised Carew Park to seek Arbritration. There was an arbritration meeting set up in Dublin with Des Casey being the Arbritrator. The ruling upheld Westport United's appeal to the FAI Senior Council. Westport United never, at any time, sought a court injunction during that period.

That what I call X Rated stuff.
Not for the faint hearted.:D

Closing Time
21/03/2008, 8:25 PM

Good you cleared that up I didnt know the real facts, most people I talked to seemed to thing that it was Utd who had to go to court to say in the competition after been beaten in Limerick

Closing Time
25/03/2008, 9:32 AM
Three Celtic league games off at the weekend due to the FAI Senior Cup tie against Douglas Hall.

Closing Time
27/03/2008, 12:10 PM
Celtic play Douglas Hall @ 3.00 pm on Sunday 30th March

gola11
27/03/2008, 2:02 PM
Is David Joyce injured at the moment or is there any other reason why he's not in Irish U-19 squad? I know he has still 1 year left.

Closing Time
27/03/2008, 5:43 PM
Is David Joyce injured at the moment or is there any other reason why he's not in Irish U-19 squad? I know he has still 1 year left.
No, he should be involved next season. Had a run out early on with this squad but did not make it for the UEFA competition. Next season should be his year.

Fireball
28/03/2008, 12:52 AM
Celtic play Douglas Hall @ 3.00 pm on Sunday 30th March
Best of luck to Celtic.

Closing Time
28/03/2008, 1:49 PM
Best of luck to Celtic.

Thanks. Best of luck for the coming season. If we cant take the SL it would be great for Mayo if Ballina Town can win the title. Lets hope you ahve learned from last year and can go one better. Utd the team to beat.

renovater
29/03/2008, 6:02 PM
Thanks. Best of luck for the coming season. If we cant take the SL it would be great for Mayo if Ballina Town can win the title. Lets hope you ahve learned from last year and can go one better. Utd the team to beat.
It would be good for Ballina if they can win the S.L. with Kenny at the helm any thing is possible.
There seems to be a problem in recent years, that you ran out of steam.
Unless you can brake ur duck its back to the drawing board.

Closing Time
30/03/2008, 9:02 PM
Best of luck to Celtic.

Celtic went down 4-1 to Douglas Hall. Unlucky to be 1 down at half time. DH controlled the second half. Pity it was so close to the FAI JC semi.

gunner1
09/04/2008, 3:51 PM
Best of luck to celtic on sunday,do mayo and c/bar proud.

mandarin frogs
09/04/2008, 5:31 PM

Well said gunner. hope everyone gets behind them:ball:

Cloggs
09/04/2008, 7:37 PM

exactly!hopefully they'll do well and everyone supports them.best of luck in the semis

irishyop
10/04/2008, 8:30 AM
Best of luck lads, do us proud :)

10/04/2008, 10:00 AM
Good Luck Celtic, bring the final and eventually the trophy west.

Whipitin
10/04/2008, 5:17 PM
Best of luck to Celtic, hope ye do it!!!!

ExCiTeD
10/04/2008, 6:40 PM
best of luck to gavin and all the lads we'll make as much noise as we can for ye.
do yourselves proud

irishyop
11/04/2008, 2:24 PM
The fun bus departing Castlebar should be some fun tomorrow :)

presario
13/04/2008, 8:51 PM
The fun bus departing Castlebar should be some fun tomorrow :)

how was the journey back to mayo on the FUN BUS. :p:p

inexile
13/04/2008, 8:55 PM
hard luck today lads, always next year

irishyop
14/04/2008, 9:31 AM

Gracious in victory eh :rolleyes:

Well done Carrick

Closing Time
14/04/2008, 11:29 AM
Poor post, You must be one the reasons for the recent negative posts about Carrick over the last couple of weeks. At least your team and management were gracious in victory. As always the trip home was great as was the weekend.

threefivetwo
14/04/2008, 6:18 PM

were youplaying no????? cop on and have a bit of respest

swift
16/04/2008, 3:52 AM
I know that this is going to wrangle some people but just hear me out. I personally think that Gavin Dykes has taken this club as far as he can. I've read all week in the build up to the Carrick game how well he has prepared the team but yet again on the big stage they just didnt perform. He then said that maybe this was the case and that he was considering his position. He then said that the players suffered from stage fright of all things. I would have thought that it was the managers job to make sure that this didnt happen seeing as he is all professional as was claimed. I dont think that Celtic have progessed one bit under his so called leadership. Celtic are'nt even dominating their own league and thats three years down the road. A few domestic cups and one league and throw in a couple of semi finals does not make for successful term for Dykes. Nixy won more than him and he didnt get any of the resources that Dykes is getting. I think that the board have to take a stand and get rid of this man like they did before only a few years ago. But then again it seems that one man(FMcE) is running the show as usual. I dont buy into this Dykes b######t and I believe that if they keep him on it will do untold damage to Celtic. No one person is bigger than the club but this seems not to be the case here. If Celtic dont win the Connaught Cup then surely its time to go. Money does'nt grow on trees but it seems to blow out the gate at Pavillion Road.

OscarBravo
16/04/2008, 7:21 AM
I know that this is going to wrangle some people but just hear me out. I personally think that Gavin Dykes has taken this club as far as he can. I've read all week in the build up to the Carrick game how well he has prepared the team but yet again on the big stage they just didnt perform. He then said that maybe this was the case and that he was considering his position. He then said that the players suffered from stage fright of all things. I would have thought that it was the managers job to make sure that this didnt happen seeing as he is all professional as was claimed. I dont think that Celtic have progessed one bit under his so called leadership. Celtic are'nt even dominating their own league and thats three years down the road. A few domestic cups and one league and throw in a couple of semi finals does not make for successful term for Dykes. Nixy won more than him and he didnt get any of the resources that Dykes is getting. I think that the board have to take a stand and get rid of this man like they did before only a few years ago. But then again it seems that one man(FMcE) is running the show as usual. I dont buy into this Dykes b######t and I believe that if they keep him on it will do untold damage to Celtic. No one person is bigger than the club but this seems not to be the case here. If Celtic dont win the Connaught Cup then surely its time to go. Money does'nt grow on trees but it seems to blow out the gate at Pavillion Road.

Interesting post Swift. I'm guessing by the time of your post you are on a night shift, just in from the pub or, like me, down under.
I think your post will find approval with a lot of people. In terms of results and cups on the table Dykes probably hasn't justified his tenure. But two FAI Junior Cup semi-finals, playing in two FAI Senior Cups, a Connacht Cup final and possibly another one around the corner is serious progress.

The club have a serious group of young lads available (not thanks to Dykes I might add) and could be making serious steps towards L of I full-time. I think that is why Dykes is there. He can help them in the initial steps. Domination of the Super League didn't seem top of their priority list - the eircom U21 league was much more important to Celtic it appeared last year - whereas the fact that Connacht and FAI Junior Cups are winter comps allows Celtic to have much more freedom in trying to win these comps.

But the fact that they haven't will cause a few loud whispers to start. Look at the Snugboro team at the minute and the former Celtic people involved - Johan Collins, Damian Burke and Declan Kilkelly in management, Dwayne Flynn, Paul Walsh, Paul Curry on the pitch and the fact that Stevie Gavin chose Snugboro over Celtic when it came to stepping back from eircom League and there's no doubt there's a swell of discontent against the man. Not to mind the fact that he is an obnoxious so and so on the sideline.

We know one man is probably calling the shots at the club more than anyone and I think that regardless of any possible swell against Dykes, if he is aloud to keep calling the shots, there won't be much change at Celtic Park.
Whether there should be is another question. I have to admit I really don't know . . .

theboy
16/04/2008, 11:44 AM
So if dykes was to go, who would ye be thinkin is the best man or men to take his spot? should they go local again or keep with an outsider??

Has dykes said to his players weather or not he's going or staying??

Westside142
16/04/2008, 12:09 PM

Fair play, you are right to question dykes`s future.
The gravy train can`t go on for ever.
He said after the match that the boys were not focused in training
during the week, that is a bad sign for a manager to come out with
that rubbish after a pasting by carrick.
The buck stops with him,he should do the decent thing and resign but money seems to be the motivating factor here.
Bad return after 3 years and the well running dry.

Leveller
16/04/2008, 4:14 PM
Fair play, you are right to question dykes`s future.
The gravy train can`t go on for ever.
He said after the match that the boys were not focused in training
during the week, that is a bad sign for a manager to come out with
that rubbish after a pasting by carrick.
The buck stops with him,he should do the decent thing and resign but money seems to be the motivating factor here.
Bad return after 3 years and the well running dry.

Read the interview with him in the MN.

A bad return considering how many players they have had at their disposal through their junior and youth squads and all the players they have brought in from clubs around the county, not to mention the LOI boys.

The Nic or DK would have won more with this team.

Closing Time
16/04/2008, 4:44 PM
Just to get your facts correct: Nixy left Celtic after not getting the money he requested but also there was problems within the squad. There alot more to the story but thats old news. Nixy was great for Celtic but I think he made the right decision at the time to leave. Dykes has brough Celtic on and lets hope he stays until the SL is over and it would be great if DK or even Nixy took over the U-20 squad.

Closing Time
16/04/2008, 6:53 PM
Interesting post Swift. I'm guessing by the time of your post you are on a night shift, just in from the pub or, like me, down under.
I think your post will find approval with a lot of people. In terms of results and cups on the table Dykes probably hasn't justified his tenure. But two FAI Junior Cup semi-finals, playing in two FAI Senior Cups, a Connacht Cup final and possibly another one around the corner is serious progress.

The club have a serious group of young lads available (not thanks to Dykes I might add) and could be making serious steps towards L of I full-time. I think that is why Dykes is there. He can help them in the initial steps. Domination of the Super League didn't seem top of their priority list - the eircom U21 league was much more important to Celtic it appeared last year - whereas the fact that Connacht and FAI Junior Cups are winter comps allows Celtic to have much more freedom in trying to win these comps.

But the fact that they haven't will cause a few loud whispers to start. Look at the Snugboro team at the minute and the former Celtic people involved - Johan Collins, Damian Burke and Declan Kilkelly in management, Dwayne Flynn, Paul Walsh, Paul Curry on the pitch and the fact that Stevie Gavin chose Snugboro over Celtic when it came to stepping back from eircom League and there's no doubt there's a swell of discontent against the man. Not to mind the fact that he is an obnoxious so and so on the sideline.

We know one man is probably calling the shots at the club more than anyone and I think that regardless of any possible swell against Dykes, if he is aloud to keep calling the shots, there won't be much change at Celtic Park.
Whether there should be is another question. I have to admit I really don't know . . .
Just one more point, I think Celtic would not have won the Youth Cup if Dykes was not at Celtic. DK will be the first to admit that he learned alot from Dykes training sessions that he still uses today. As one ex Celtic player now with the Boro said all the seesions he has attended at the Boro he had already done under Dykes. Yes DK should take th ecredit on how his team plays etc but his training sessions had alot of help from Dykes. As far as I am concerned Dykes era at Celtic will always be a success.

Thunderblaster
16/04/2008, 9:45 PM
Rumour I heard tonight is that Dykesy is stepping down after the Connacht Cup campaign and that DK is being lined up to take over. Any truth in that?

Closing Time
16/04/2008, 10:10 PM
Rumour I heard tonight is that Dykesy is stepping down after the Connacht Cup campaign and that DK is being lined up to take over. Any truth in that?
Not as far as I am aware. GD on holidays. Not saying it would not happen in the future.

Closing Time
16/04/2008, 10:15 PM
Back to reality. Congrats to Niall Walsh on been capped for the Irish U-18 squad against Malta on Tuesday night. See details on Celtic web site. Also well done to U-14 team on defeating defending champions Ballina Town 3-0 in Celtic Park tonight. Good team and have been enhanced by Snugboro Utd duo of Marus Moylette & Michael Levelle. Report on web site

swift
16/04/2008, 11:42 PM
Just to get your facts correct: Nixy left Celtic after not getting the money he requested but also there was problems within the squad. There alot more to the story but thats old news. Nixy was great for Celtic but I think he made the right decision at the time to leave. Dykes has brough Celtic on and lets hope he stays until the SL is over and it would be great if DK or even Nixy took over the U-20 squad.

My facts were that Nixy asked for a few pound to pay his coaching team but he was told that there was no money to pay them. A month later along comes Gavin Dykes and gets roughly four times what Nixy was looking for!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

swift
16/04/2008, 11:48 PM
Just one more point, I think Celtic would not have won the Youth Cup if Dykes was not at Celtic. DK will be the first to admit that he learned alot from Dykes training sessions that he still uses today. As one ex Celtic player now with the Boro said all the seesions he has attended at the Boro he had already done under Dykes. Yes DK should take th ecredit on how his team plays etc but his training sessions had alot of help from Dykes. As far as I am concerned Dykes era at Celtic will always be a success.

CT thats a load of crap. Just because the trophy cabinet is a bit bare for Gavin and Co you cant come on here and try to give credit to him for the FAI Youth Cup victory you and the rest are clutching at straws if you think that this is the case. I always thought that you were very open minded when it came to Celtic but to say that his era was a success is a joke. For Gods sake even Barry Redmond and Kieran Murphy were more successful than Dykes.

Closing Time
17/04/2008, 8:34 AM
CT thats a load of crap. Just because the trophy cabinet is a bit bare for Gavin and Co you cant come on here and try to give credit to him for the FAI Youth Cup victory you and the rest are clutching at straws if you think that this is the case. I always thought that you were very open minded when it came to Celtic but to say that his era was a success is a joke. For Gods sake even Barry Redmond and Kieran Murphy were more successful than Dykes.
OK maybe over streching my defence of Dykes but you cannot hide the fact that Dykes was the manager who gave the club its first FAI senior cup appearance, pushed the club into the Eircom U-21 League, would this have happened without him dont think so.

theboy
24/04/2008, 9:53 AM
Not alot been said about the con.cup this weekend lads? how are celtic fixed? is the pressure on??

threefivetwo
24/04/2008, 1:20 PM
OK maybe over streching my defence of Dykes but you cannot hide the fact that Dykes was the manager who gave the club its first FAI senior cup appearance, pushed the club into the Eircom U-21 League, would this have happened without him dont think so.

i don't think so either, i prob nearly know 4 a fact it wouldn't knowin what the team was like before gavin, he brings a lot more proffesionalism to the team and demands more where as before he came in players could do whatever they liked at times. it's easy 4 people to say from the outside that he hasn't brought anythin to celtic. I know for a fact you can ask any of the players have they learned anythin from gavin and they would say they've learned a hell of a lot.... last year the SL wasn't the main priority it was the u-21 team which gavin had a massive say in the effort to get them there. it's a work in progress and i myself hope that gavin does stay, the team wouldn't be the same in my view without him!!

renovater
26/04/2008, 11:40 AM
Ballyheane Youths
Will host
Summer Soccer School
For
Boys & Girls
Aged 7-15
Patrick Quigley Park
Ballyheane
14th -18th July
Book on line at www.fai.ie
or
Call 1890 653 653
Book Now.:ball:

renovater
26/04/2008, 7:37 PM
The first time I met "The Gray One " His first comments to me were he didn't like me, this was from a man who didn't even no me.
It was always my impression, we were all small people who were getting in his way.
He always seems to think we should all stand back I am here approach, not good for football.
My advice to this man Stick with Celtic, because he is good for Celtic, but change his attitude towards everyone else, let the officers of the club deal with the media. He sticks to what he knows best. Football.

swift
27/04/2008, 11:01 PM
The first time I met "The Gray One " His first comments to me were he didn't like me, this was from a man who didn't even no me.
It was always my impression, we were all small people who were getting in his way.
He always seems to think we should all stand back I am here approach, not good for football.
My advice to this man Stick with Celtic, because he is good for Celtic, but change his attitude towards everyone else, let the officers of the club deal with the media. He sticks to what he knows best. Football.

Well at least he got one thing right!!

Leveller
28/04/2008, 8:51 AM

You are a man of contradiction.