View Full Version : Rovers Win

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

blackholesun
14/12/2007, 10:07 AM
News just in from the courts, great result for Rovers / LOI / the beautifull game, no word yet on detailed judgement or leave to appeal ...

koh

bhs :D :) ;)

soccerc
14/12/2007, 10:08 AM
Thomas Davis GAA club lost the judicial review on Tallaght Stadium.

Some very emotional Rovers people in High Court as their destiny is now in their own hands.

Congrats to all concerned

placid casual
14/12/2007, 10:08 AM
a victory for inclusion at the expense of exclusion.:)
FOAD to Thomas Davis !!

Port Saint
14/12/2007, 10:13 AM
Is that it then? any chance of more appeals?

If that's it all the best of luck to everyone at Rovers.

14/12/2007, 10:16 AM
Aw brill! I hope it all works out well for you Rovers and I look forward to Monaghan United playing in Tallaght twice in 2009!

14/12/2007, 10:16 AM
hopefully they will drop it now.Good luck lads Great news.

GuisaSaigon
14/12/2007, 10:18 AM
Great news! Up Yours TD!:D

14/12/2007, 10:20 AM
Great stuff !

DvB
14/12/2007, 10:23 AM
Christmas has come early!!

SDCC/SRFC 1 GAA 0 :D

14/12/2007, 10:24 AM
Woohoo!

Congrats to Rovers on what is hopefully the end of their ordeal.

Slap that up ye Thomas Davis you utter scum.

14/12/2007, 10:25 AM
Brilliant! Great news.

Is this the end of it now? No more challenges?

14/12/2007, 10:26 AM
A great victory for football in this country.

Fair play and congrats to Rovers.

14/12/2007, 10:28 AM
Justice at last. Can TD appeal the decision.

14/12/2007, 10:29 AM
Great news......

Banner for the Brazil game.

LOI 1 GAA 0

Love to see that in Croker!!!!!!

DvB
14/12/2007, 10:30 AM
Justice at last. Can TD appeal the decision.

Due to the nature of the dismissal only to the supreme court & within a period of 4 weeks, hopefully they'll cop on to the futility of such a move & just f**k off once & for all!

Koh

saint morrissey
14/12/2007, 10:32 AM
whos funding the completion of the stadium and when is it expected to be finished? are they going to open it as soon as they have that one stand finished?

14/12/2007, 10:37 AM
Congratulations to Rovers. A historic win.

mrtndvn
14/12/2007, 10:38 AM
Great news......

Banner for the Brazil game.

LOI 1 GAA 0

Love to see that in Croker!!!!!!

it would be fairly ironic with the game being held in croke park now.

the joke really would be on who ever made the banner

reder
14/12/2007, 10:39 AM
Congrats to all associated with Rovers. An important victory for you and irish club football.

14/12/2007, 10:41 AM
Delighted, Well done to all concerned. suppose we cant sing 13 years and you won fcuk all any more so.

14/12/2007, 10:44 AM
hopefully they will drop it now.Good luck lads Great news.
It's the GAA were talking about no chance will they drop it,

JC_GUFC
14/12/2007, 10:49 AM
Christmas has come early!!

SDCC/SRFC 1 GAA 0 :D

Should that not be 1-0 to 0-0?! ;)

Fair play to Rovers. Looking forward to the first proper game there! :cool:

14/12/2007, 10:49 AM
Yes! If we assume there are no further hold-ups (bare with me for a moment), how soon could Shams be playing in Tallaght? Next March?

Mr_T
14/12/2007, 10:53 AM
Effing brilliant.

Slap it up ye bigots barstewards.

Good luck to Rovers with the finally getting things sorted.

TG

eelmonster
14/12/2007, 11:10 AM
Delighted the ruling went in Rovers' favour, great news.

cheifo
14/12/2007, 11:17 AM
Yipeeeeee, best news for EL in yonkers.Fair play to the people at Rovers for fighting the good fight.Delighted for yis lads.Great idea for the banner.Are you watching Tom Humphries?

fergalr
14/12/2007, 11:17 AM
This is a victory not just for Rovers for the the entire future of the league.

The turnaround started when the fans took control of the club and this is a huge further step along the way of recovery from 21 years of hurt.

sonofstan
14/12/2007, 11:22 AM
Well done. Very pleased that Justice prevailed.

srfc-1901
14/12/2007, 11:26 AM
Yes! If we assume there are no further hold-ups (bare with me for a moment), how soon could Shams be playing in Tallaght? Next March?

End of 2008 /Start of 2009 Season is whats being mentioned.

F*cking hell after a decade of putting up with so much ****e following this great club today has made it all worth while.:):):)

lofty9
14/12/2007, 11:26 AM
Nice one. As an avid follower of both sports I'm glad to see common sense has prevailed.

14/12/2007, 11:31 AM
Great news about time!
I look forward to the 5 minute walk across the road to watch Rovers.
Will be nice to finally turn what's pretty much an eyesore at the moment into a proper stadium.
Well done to all concerned.

14/12/2007, 11:32 AM
Excellent news. Are there any more possible delays form the GAA side though? Appeals, etc.?

14/12/2007, 11:34 AM
To The Tune of always a woman by Billy Joel

You can move up to Tallaght in dublin south west, Sing of the good times when you were the best, you think you're a big club that will never be you'll always be homeless to me.

Nah just kidding fair play to Rovers, Going home at last

14/12/2007, 11:37 AM
:ball:Congratulations to Rovers, good for you. :ball:

(Perhaps merge with this thread - http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=79114 and change the title to "Rovers win court case" - thread title sound like Rovers won a game, not a legal battle)

Postman
14/12/2007, 11:43 AM
Just came from the courts. It couldn't possibly have gone better according to our barrister. Hopefully now we can sting them with one whopper of a legal bill, dating right back to us seeking to be party to proceedings. The irony is fantastic. By delaying and delaying they've probably added a zero to their over all bill. They increased their own costs and by default our costs and the SDCC's cost. Now they'll have the pleasure of footing the entire bill, for everyone. It just doesn't get any sweeter.

Not surprisingly the people who argued so vociferously in favour of the GAA now admit that they never really cared. The frustration of listening to people arguing to the high heavens about something they neither know nor care about is indescribable. Anyway, thank God it's all over.

And finally, take a moment to remeber David Kennedy's Last Man Standing comment. He'll be the last man standing in the queue at AIB when he has to remortgage his gaff! What a cnut! What a day!

See yiz all in Tallaght in 2009.

ForzaHoop
14/12/2007, 11:49 AM
Hoops Hail High Court Win
Press Release Issued : 14 Dec 2007
HOOPS HAIL HIGH COURT WIN

Today the High Court ruled in favour of South Dublin County Council and against Thomas Davis GAA club in the Judical Review of the Tallaght community stadium.

This means that work can resume on the site and that Shamrock Rovers can look forward to moving into the stadium some time between the end of the 2008 and the start of the 2009 season.

Says Shamrock Rovers Chairman Jonathan Roche: "Obviously this is the news we were hoping for and it's fantastic for everyone involved at Shamrock Rovers.

"I want to thank everyone who supported us along the way, from the South Dublin County Council to the various politicians and the FAI - and of course our great fans.

"It's been 20 years since we lost Milltown, so we're at the end of a long struggle. It's a great testament to the fans that they remained loyal and they deserve this so much.

"It's just a relief to think that Rovers will finally have a home. We can start dreaming again, and carry on with the rebuilding process that began at the club two years ago."

Calcio Jack
14/12/2007, 11:51 AM
Just came from the courts. It couldn't possibly have gone better according to our barrister. Hopefully now we can sting them with one whopper of a legal bill, dating right back to us seeking to be party to proceedings. The irony is fantastic. By delaying and delaying they've probably added a zero to their over all bill. They increased their own costs and by default our costs and the SDCC's cost. Now they'll have the pleasure of footing the entire bill, for everyone. It just doesn't get any sweeter.

Not surprisingly the people who argued so vociferously in favour of the GAA now admit that they never really cared. The frustration of listening to people arguing to the high heavens about something they neither know nor care about is indescribable. Anyway, thank God it's all over.

And finally, take a moment to remeber David Kennedy's Last Man Standing comment. He'll be the last man standing in the queue at AIB when he has to remortgage his gaff! What a cnut! What a day!

See yiz all in Tallaght in 2009.

Whilst all of the above is an accurate summation of what happened this morning... TD still have the right to lodge an appeal...however based on the strenght of the judgement hard to see how they would as the cost of a Supreme Court visit would be astronomical on top of hopefully all their and hopefully everyones elses costs that hace accrued so far.Would expect that they'll reach the right decison and advise that they aren't appealing by Mid Jnuary next.

note to Postman, don't worry about Kennedy...rejoice in the moment

Dricky
14/12/2007, 11:51 AM
Great news, another step forward for clubs in Ireland in the changing world of LOI. Well done to the 400 club you are getting a return on the support you have given your club through thick and thin.

carrickharp
14/12/2007, 11:57 AM
Well done folks:ball:

jamie m
14/12/2007, 12:01 PM
a great victory over those pre-historic knuckle draggers, congratulations!

Celdrog
14/12/2007, 12:03 PM
Great news - well done Rovers

Noelys Guitar
14/12/2007, 12:06 PM
Great day for the Hoops and for the league. Delighted.

j ramone
14/12/2007, 12:18 PM
Well done to everyone at Rovers. Let's not forget the role of John O'Donoghue in the result- despite being from a staunch GAA background , he has stood up to the GAA on this, and deserves every praise.

14/12/2007, 12:19 PM
Yes- that's a good point. He played a blinder on this issue.

14/12/2007, 12:21 PM
Aw brill! I hope it all works out well for you Rovers and I look forward to Monaghan United playing in Tallaght twice in 2009!

Thats a backhanded compliment if I ever saw one, "well done on winning your court hearing, can't wait til ye get relegated next year" :)

Buller
14/12/2007, 12:32 PM
YES!!!!
Sorry I've been pretty emotional since I heard the news....

whos funding the completion of the stadium and when is it expected to be finished? are they going to open it as soon as they have that one stand finished?

Shamrock Rovers FC and SDCC are funding/already funded it... Completion date is set at 6 to 9 months of the builders being back on site as far as I know :D
In retaliation to Dave Kennedy's bigoted "we'll be the last Man" standing comment:

Shamrock Rovers FOOTBALL Club - The Last Man Standing.
or....
The Beautiful Game - The Last Sport Standing

Finally an end to this pointless effort to delay and destroy the stadium, the judge obviously saw some sense. This is the best news Shamrock Rovers have had in 20 years.
May justice forever prevail in the face of bigotry

passerrby
14/12/2007, 12:35 PM
well done to all at the rovers super day...last man standing y b**locks

14/12/2007, 12:38 PM
Great news. Roll on Tallaght.

Let's see the media try to justify the GAA's waste of time and money.

passerrby
14/12/2007, 12:40 PM
possible statement from thomas davis "oh fcuk"

soccerc
14/12/2007, 12:45 PM
The Football Association of Ireland today welcomed the decision of the High Court in relation to the Tallaght Stadium.

The Association believes that the decision of Justice Roderick Murphy to refuse the relief sought by the applicant will greatly aid the speed at which this project can be completed.

A spokesman said: “We are very pleased with the outcome and we would like to congratulate Shamrock Rovers and South Dublin County Council. Today is a great day for Shamrock Rovers and for the supporters who have worked tirelessly to bring the club to Tallaght. This stadium is a vital project for Irish football and we believe that today brings us a huge step forward towards completing the stadium and having Shamrock Rovers playing eircom League of Ireland football in Tallaght.”