View Full Version : Rovers Win

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

25/01/2008, 12:33 PM
If ye need a hand with the building I'll grab me shovel and pop across the bypass later. :)

It'd be a nice idea to get a big Rovers flag hanging outside for all too see. Maybe with a subtle reference to 'last man standing'. Congratulations to all involved.

Dricky
25/01/2008, 12:45 PM
If ye need a hand with the building I'll grab me shovel and pop across the bypass later. :)

It that you Wallace?

Celdrog
25/01/2008, 12:47 PM
It was also judged that Thomas Davis must pay all our and SDCC's costs dating right back to our application to be a notice party. They even have to pay for today. If they had have called it a day last week they would have save themselves 10k+. Ah well, what's 10k when you're simply blowing tax payers' money. One of their top men straight out admitted to a Rovers fan that Croke Park was footing the bill. Incredible.
Gets better and better

oldyouth
25/01/2008, 12:50 PM
Well done and congtrats to Rovers. See you soon in WX

25/01/2008, 12:54 PM
It that you Wallace?

I wish!

25/01/2008, 12:55 PM
Great News- it finally seems to have come to a conclusion after such a drawn out battle. Fair play to Rovers and everyone else involved in making sure that sense prevailed in the end.

McShels
25/01/2008, 1:01 PM
Great news for Rovers and genuinely happy for everyone connected with the club. Long overdue!!!!

BTW since you were tenants in Tolka, any chance of Shels being honoured as the first team to play Rovers there????

Steve Bruce
25/01/2008, 1:10 PM
They should invite Linfield for their first match. The Biggest most illustrious club from the LOI against the Biggest most illustrious club from IL, the two biggest clubs on the island.

It would certainly be a match I would look forward to.

25/01/2008, 1:15 PM
A banner that reads "Shamrock Rovers - Still Standing" would look good at an Ireland game in Croke Park.

fergalr
25/01/2008, 1:26 PM
Massive result for football in this country - a purpose built football stadium in the capital for the island's number 1 team.

Steve Bruce
25/01/2008, 1:33 PM
Massive result for football in this country - a purpose built football stadium in the capital for the island's number 1 team.

You wish. ;):D

placid casual
25/01/2008, 2:34 PM
dont kid yourself there SB .
you've had the luxury of playing with the chiildren(not in that way) in the setanta cup for a few years now.
IF we get our act together it will be just like 1984 all over again :eek::)
we'll see youse out there soon ,hopefully.

25/01/2008, 3:03 PM
A banner that reads "Shamrock Rovers - Still Standing" would look good at an Ireland game in Croke Park.

Genius, Someone has to do that, eh not me for obvious reason's:D

hoopy
25/01/2008, 4:18 PM
Now they could possibly be looking at a) losing their application for appeal, and b)being at the loss of approx 450k. If both scenarios are what happens, it'll be a sweet sweet friday night in Dublin.

:D:D:D:

Murpholini
25/01/2008, 4:18 PM
Congrats on getting there at last, look forward to seeing the saints against ye in the near future.

25/01/2008, 6:01 PM
Congrats to Shamrock Rovers for taking on the Gah machine and winning. I'm particularly impressed that the club's leadership never lost sight of the long-term strategic view and didn't pursue the option of playing on a building site, which would have killed the club's momentum stone dead. They now have a platform from which to fully relaunch the club in the local area from a position of strength and good luck to them.

25/01/2008, 6:20 PM
This is one occasion when I am delighted to see Rovers stuffing the opposition.
Congratulations and well done.

hoopy
25/01/2008, 6:21 PM
Congrats to Shamrock Rovers for taking on the Gah machine and winning. I'm particularly impressed that the club's leadership never lost sight of the long-term strategic view and didn't pursue the option of playing on a building site, which would have killed the club's momentum stone dead. They now have a platform from which to fully relaunch the club in the local area from a position of strength and good luck to them.

So can we count you in as a new 'hoop'? :D

25/01/2008, 7:00 PM
Well done Rovers. Congrats. Nice win over the darkside.

Paddyfield
25/01/2008, 7:18 PM
Well done to all Hoops people all over the world most especially the Keep Rovers At Milltown (KRAM) organistaion who kept Rovers in the media for years in the late 1980's.

I lived in Dublin around 1988/89 and often met a few Rovers fans who spent their time plastering KRAM posters on the lamp posts in Dublin. Their dream was a to return to Milltown and of course, it never happened. It is for those people (who were in their 20s and who are now in their 40's) that I am thinking of.

I hope ye' enjoy the moment when Rovers go 'home'.

oldyouth
25/01/2008, 7:38 PM
My da was a Bohs supporter and brought me to a lot of their games even though Milltown was nearer to where we lived. As a chap, he used to drop me off at the ground but wouldn't come in with me. Feck, but that was a long time ago. Hopefully yez have a base now to bring the whole thing forward.
PS. The youfs will trash ye in the pre-season friendly (ha!) next month:ball:

srfc-1901
25/01/2008, 8:29 PM
[QUOTE=Paddyfield;863103]

I lived in Dublin around 1988/89 and often met a few Rovers fans who spent their time plastering KRAM posters on the lamp posts in Dublin. Their dream was a to return to Milltown and of course, it never happened. It is for those people (who were in their 20s and who are now in their 40's) that I am thinking of.

QUOTE]

Very true statement.A good number are still going to this day

Billy Lord
25/01/2008, 9:30 PM
As a Hoop of 40+ years standing I want to thank everyone here and elsewhere for their positive words - particularly Sheridan as we've had our differences in the past. The important thing for Rovers is that we've now got an opportunity to start afresh in Tallaght.
Hopefully it will become one of the great away trips for EL fans, but tonight my thoughts are for the many Hoops who've passed on since 1987 and will never see Tallaght.

Kildare Lad
25/01/2008, 9:34 PM
Great news for Shamrock Rovers and football in this country.

Well done Rovers!

oldyouth
25/01/2008, 9:37 PM
Keep Thomas Davis out of your ground. Henceforth known as the Tallaght Ban:D

Paddyfield
25/01/2008, 10:06 PM
.....Hopefully it will become one of the great away trips for EL fans....

Tallaght is a handy location for us Culchies and also, we can go shopping in the Square beforehand. :D

Is there an official name on the Stadium yet?

25/01/2008, 10:34 PM
As much as I dislike Shams I have to say I am happy with todays announcement and that Thomas ********s end up footing the bill of the court case. Hopefully they will now get the stadium finished and have a proper ground.

26/01/2008, 12:52 AM
Tallaght is a handy location for us Culchies and also, we can go shopping in the Square beforehand. :D

Is there an official name on the Stadium yet?

Hopefully it'll be known as New Glenmalure Park - failing that Tallaght Stadium

26/01/2008, 1:16 AM
Hopefully it'll be known as New Glenmalure Park - failing that Tallaght Stadium

Depends if the club wants to treat this as a totally new chapter and fresh start I guess (for which there would be some strong arguement).

If not, call it Milltown or New Milltown.

alabama rover
26/01/2008, 6:52 AM
We are not going back.... we are going forward!... Glenmalure is gone! Milltown is gone!.... they will always be sacred to us........ but Tallaght will be a new start!.... with a new name..... Tallaght Community stadium!... And Rovers will build a model of community football for the rest of the league to emulate!

AR

SeanDrog
26/01/2008, 7:00 AM
Congratulations to Rovers - a long long road is nearly at an end. This is a great victory for your supporters past and present.

A query what is the est. bill (fig.) the Thomas Davies are going to be hit with?

Are we talking millions or thousands

Seán

Buller
26/01/2008, 8:24 AM

I never thought of that! Must look into it... ;)

HulaHoop
26/01/2008, 1:01 PM
Congratulations to Rovers - a long long road is nearly at an end. This is a great victory for your supporters past and present.

A query what is the est. bill (fig.) the Thomas Davies are going to be hit with?

Are we talking millions or thousands

Seán

Someone mentioned 600k but it could be higher than that. Probably best part of a million.

26/01/2008, 1:01 PM
If not, call it Milltown or New Milltown.

:D Yeah, that would be helpful for people trying to get a bus to the game or asking a taxi driver to take them to "Milltown".

Not trying to stir (for once) but Rovers shouldn't have any say in what the council call their stadium and given all the hassle, I don't even think they'd particularly want to.

26/01/2008, 1:42 PM
We are not going back.... we are going forward!... Glenmalure is gone! Milltown is gone!.... they will always be sacred to us........ but Tallaght will be a new start!.... with a new name..... Tallaght Community stadium!... And Rovers will build a model of community football for the rest of the league to emulate!

AR
Why are so many clubs suddenly obsessed with "community models"? Fingal, Wexford, Shamrocks... Some bunch.

26/01/2008, 4:27 PM
Why are so many clubs suddenly obsessed with "community models"? Fingal, Wexford, Shamrocks... Some bunch.

I think that's fairly obvious really. Do you see any big club in Europe that doesn't have an academy system? A system full of promising local kids, particularly as you move down the scale. Making a club central to the community will encourage participation and investment, as well as offering a genuine opportunity to young local players to advance their game to a higher level.

It's not that different to what most clubs are doing already, or at least should be doing, it's really just an attempt to establish a loyal following for a new club
(Fingal and Wexford) or in a new area (Rovers).

26/01/2008, 4:36 PM
I think that's fairly obvious really. Do you see any big club in Europe that doesn't have an academy system? A system full of promising local kids, particularly as you move down the scale. Making a club central to the community will encourage participation and investment, as well as offering a genuine opportunity to young local players to advance their game to a higher level.

It's not that different to what most clubs are doing already, or at least should be doing, it's really just an attempt to establish a loyal following for a new club
(Fingal and Wexford) or in a new area (Rovers).

Yes but I'd imagine most clubs have been doing that for quite some time. Bemuses me when you have WY boasting of it "never been seen before" or that rovers fan going on about others wanting to "emulate it". The older Dublin clubs have teams down to schoolboys and ourselves down in Cork, with a newer club, have down to u12's with the other clubs blocking our participation below this.

Buller
26/01/2008, 5:21 PM
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2041/2221270212_14fd6180c2.jpg
Can anyone else spot somethings wrong?

Damn it! We were so focused on the GAA we forgot our neighbours Pats.... :eek:
A serious error on behalf of the mirror (not suprising) unless they were refering to PATS'cully? :rolleyes:

EDIT: well I thought it was quite amusing, sorry for hurting your feelings Gavy, it wasn't intentional sweetie - lots of love... James.

26/01/2008, 5:24 PM
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2041/...6180c2.jpg?v=0
Can anyone else spot somethings wrong? Your link?

A serious error on behalf of the mirror (not suprising) unless they were refering to PATS'cully? :rolleyes:
The apostrophe is in the wrong place. I'm sure they'll shut their doors in embarressment.

hoops1
26/01/2008, 6:43 PM
The older Dublin clubs have teams down to schoolboys and ourselves down in Cork, with a newer club, have down to u12's with the other clubs blocking our participation below this.

Tell me more.

26/01/2008, 9:16 PM
Tell me more.

Its either u12s or u15s, I can't remember, I'll ask a lad who plays for them.

basically the youth clubs in Cork don't want City entering a team at that level for fear that they'll poach all the good young players. Well, uh, thats the idea really isn't it? Anyway, they don't seem to have a problem with the likes of Wilton utd selling themselves to Liverpool in exchange for them getting first dibs.

afaik the new owners aren't happy with this situation and will be doing their best to have everything down to street leagues when the new facilities open.

27/01/2008, 1:42 AM
So even the clubs in Cork hate Cork City? Interesting...

Well Done Rovers. Look forward to the new South West Dublin/Luas Derby.

27/01/2008, 1:49 AM
So even the clubs in Cork hate Cork City? Interesting...Jealousy is a terrible thing, isn't it Dodge? Football would be a lot better off without this sort of narrow mindedness

28/01/2008, 10:35 AM
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2041/2221270212_14fd6180c2.jpg
Can anyone else spot somethings wrong?

EDIT: well I thought it was quite amusing, sorry for hurting your feelings Gavy, it wasn't intentional sweetie - lots of love... James.

I would say it was more terrifying :eek: than "amusing" but it was definitely worth pointing out.

WoodquayBoy
28/01/2008, 2:54 PM
I sincerely mean this when I say it is super news for a super club, well done, and it would be great to see ye back challenging for league honours again. See ye in March

Buller
28/01/2008, 3:35 PM
I sincerely mean this when I say it is super news for a super club, well done, and it would be great to see ye back challenging for league honours again. See ye in March

Cheers! (Galway's my favourate away trip by the way) ;)

SUB of the day
28/01/2008, 6:10 PM
A great day for the hoops, always the game with the best atmosphere at the X....looking forward to first away day at the " New Milltown".:):ball:

LeviathanNI
28/01/2008, 6:52 PM
Well done on this.. I had a feeling that should you have lost this it would have set an awful precedence with which the GAA would have used over and over to their advantage, so for that alone, well done!
Looking forward to playing you at your new place one day.. it looks like it will be a brilliant away day.

Maybe a match against us would be a good way to open the ground officially.. full to the rafters with the atmosphere crackin?

saint morrissey
28/01/2008, 7:21 PM
Maybe a match against us would be a good way to open the ground officially.. full to the rafters with the atmosphere crackin?

and a few heads too im sure, maybe im wrong tho, it could turn into a great unified chorus of anti-gaa songs.