View Full Version : Rovers Win
GreenStar
14/12/2007, 12:47 PM
Lads and lassies, it's really very difficult to put into writing the feeling of pure emotion and elation that I'm feeling right now. So far on this thread it appears to be 100% support and to everyone who has and will send messages of congratulations many many thanks.
There have been a few tears already today and there's going to be more (especially after the skinful of Guinness I will shortly be tucking into).
I just want to thank everybody who made this day possible. I'm not even going to attempt to compile a list because it would be vast. But to each and every one of you my heartfelt gratitude to you all. We look forward to welcoming you all to our new home.
To all the lost Hoops who will never get to set foot in the stadium and who will never see their dream come through, you are with us always in out hearts and you're all invited to opening day in Tallaght c.2009.
14/12/2007, 12:48 PM
Great stuff. Hopefully Rovers and the LOI will both get a huge shot in the arm from this.
kingdomkerry
14/12/2007, 12:54 PM
Great news. Hopefully this is only the beginning for the Hoops!
HolylandsMan
14/12/2007, 12:57 PM
FOAD to Thomas Davis !!
I assume that stands for "**** off and Die"? At least I'm guessing its the same messgae as Rovers' charming "fans" were so proud to display.
And you call the GAA bigots.......................
Comic Book Guy
14/12/2007, 12:58 PM
Well done, great news, thrilled for all connected with Rovers.
kingdomkerry
14/12/2007, 1:01 PM
Surely now rovers should try and get in to the rds even if the rent is way higher. One season is'nt going to break the bank and you never know the feel good feeling from the JR might actually swell support to a southside venue?
Olander
14/12/2007, 1:02 PM
Great news, well done Rovers. :ball:
14/12/2007, 1:09 PM
I assume that stands for "**** off and Die"? At least I'm guessing its the same messgae as Rovers' charming "fans" were so proud to display.
And you call the GAA bigots.......................
I don't think it's fair to call someone bigoted for disliking someone who's just fought a long legal battle to screw their club. "Normal" is probably the term I'd use.
Grey Boy
14/12/2007, 1:11 PM
Common sense finally prevails. I used to get depressed passing your stadium in its current state, I can only imagine how Rovers fans felt. Well done.
Tony_Montana
14/12/2007, 1:12 PM
As a member of the Thomas Davis club i say well done and will enjoy going to watch games in the new stadium. Although i am very emotional after todays result in time i will learn to live with it !
DSandy
14/12/2007, 1:12 PM
I've hoped for so long this day would come and Rovers can have what they truly deserve, a home of their own. Delighted that they stood up and were counted and did so with great dignity in the face of such terrible provocation. Well done to all concerned, I couldn't be happier (well I could, Harps doing the treble next season but I think everyone knows what I mean!).
Can't wait to be hopping on the LUAS out to Tallaght to watch the Harps and Shams in a Premier division top of the table clash!
Well done to SRFC, the right result and something which I dont think should have happened in the first place.
One thing I would like to say tho, it wasnt a case of the GAA against the FAI either. It was certain members of a GAA club against the development. Dont be namecalling and showing your own bigotry against whole organisation due to the actions of a small few. It caused huge costs and delays and a lot of arguments what they did, and I dont agree with it one bit, but tar those people with it, not the whole thing.
Dr. Ogba
14/12/2007, 1:19 PM
Fair play Rovers....delighted to see justice and common sense prevail...
DSandy
14/12/2007, 1:23 PM
...it wasnt a case of the GAA against the FAI either. It was certain members of a GAA club against the development. Dont be namecalling and showing your own bigotry against whole organisation due to the actions of a small few...
I would like to echo those sentiments as well, an issue and course-of-action, although sanction by the Dublin county board & the GAA, driven forward by a few within one club. In hindsight I am sure many others within Thomas Davis would have worked harder for this whole debacle not to have reached the stage it did.
conlonn
14/12/2007, 1:28 PM
Great outcome for Shamrock Rovers and Tallaght area. Gives the club a permanent home and identity.
There will always be people who object to everything and drive the frenzy up but Shamrock Rovers should now lok to the future and be positive.
Erstwhile Bóz
14/12/2007, 1:31 PM
Please please please let that be the end of it now!! Build the poxy thing, whoever the feck plays in it!
14/12/2007, 1:46 PM
One thing I would like to say tho, it wasnt a case of the GAA against the FAI either. It was certain members of a GAA club against the development. Dont be namecalling and showing your own bigotry against whole organisation due to the actions of a small few. It caused huge costs and delays and a lot of arguments what they did, and I dont agree with it one bit, but tar those people with it, not the whole thing.
I recall a conversation with a number of people involved in Derry GAA where they relished the involvement of Thomas Davis and could see only one winner.....
I love the game, but the organisation:mad:
Boh_So_Good
14/12/2007, 1:48 PM
Great news......
Banner for the Brazil game.
LOI 1 GAA 0
Love to see that in Croker!!!!!!
Should be done. If there is a fund to pay for this as a Bohs fan I would chip in.
This is a great day - although have Thomas Davis mentioned taking it to European Courts of Counrt of Human rights next. They are biggoted psychos and you would not put it past them.
14/12/2007, 1:55 PM
What capacity will the Tallaght ground have and is there a name on it yet? Thomas Davis memorial ground maybe?:D
Boh_So_Good
14/12/2007, 1:56 PM
Can't wait to be hopping on the LUAS out to Tallaght to watch the Harps and Shams in a Premier division top of the table clash!
Don't forget Metro West running all the way from Bohs new ground in Harristown right to Rovers front door as well. ;)
Boh_So_Good
14/12/2007, 1:59 PM
I recall a conversation with a number of people involved in Derry GAA where they relished the involvement of Thomas Davis and could see only one winner.....
I love the game, but the organisation:mad:
Makes you wonder if this is a first for the GAA? Hence their swagger on the issue.
Port Saint
14/12/2007, 2:02 PM
Should be done. If there is a fund to pay for this as a Bohs fan I would chip in.
This is a great day - although have Thomas Davis mentioned taking it to European Courts of Counrt of Human rights next. They are biggoted psychos and you would not put it past them.
yeah great idea :rolleyes: but will the GAA see the banner or will they be to busy counting the money the FAI have given them in rent that could of been used for funding LOI clubs.
once again best of luck to everyone at Rovers
Boh_So_Good
14/12/2007, 2:03 PM
I would suggest Rovers start getting good security for the ground at night before matches.
Boh_So_Good
14/12/2007, 2:05 PM
yeah great idea :rolleyes: but will the GAA see the banner or will they be to busy counting the money the FAI have given them in rent that could of been used for funding LOI clubs.
Oh get a life, this is only messing. Nobody is serious about such a banner at croker.
Let some of us old LOI heads enjoy feeling accepting in this country for once in our lives.
gufcfan
14/12/2007, 2:06 PM
Well done. That has made my day!
Congrats. Well done for not giving up, I would have. I didn't see much light at the end of the tunnel but fairplay.
TD wahnkirs
14/12/2007, 2:13 PM
I would suggest Rovers start getting good security for the ground at night before matches.
The area around the ground is not bad. At least it's not surrounded by houses or anything. It will certainly need to be very well policed and stewarded in any case. Plenty of losers hanging around looking for trouble will be drawn to the bright lights.
I'd say the main area that will need to be policed is around the square. That's where the Luas and bus terminals are and where travelling supporters will park. It's going to be away from the ground so don't know how much responsibility Rovers will have in this.
14/12/2007, 2:19 PM
I've said this all along, Friday Night football in tallaght will attract every skrote in the area to the stadium and rovers will have to be very diligent in this regard. dont think I'm being snobbish pointing this out as I'm sure Bohs would have the same problem if they moved to blanchardstown where I live
14/12/2007, 2:20 PM
"FAI welcomes High Court decision regarding the Tallaght Stadium
The Football Association of Ireland today welcomed the decision of the High Court in relation to the Tallaght Stadium.
The Association believes that the decision of Justice Roderick Murphy to refuse the relief sought by the applicant will greatly aid the speed at which this project can be completed.
A spokesman said: We are very pleased with the outcome and we would like to congratulate Shamrock Rovers and South Dublin County Council. Today is a great day for Shamrock Rovers and for the supporters who have worked tirelessly to bring the club to Tallaght. This stadium is a vital project for Irish football and we believe that today brings us a huge step forward towards completing the stadium and having Shamrock Rovers playing eircom League of Ireland football in Tallaght.
I am sure as Hoop, Eoghan Rice took great pleasure in putting that statement together.
Erstwhile Bóz
14/12/2007, 2:26 PM
I thought Boh So Good was having a dig at the glass-sprinkling types, myself.
14/12/2007, 2:31 PM
Chi-Ching do ye hear that? Thats the penny dropping that is
shelbourne1904
14/12/2007, 2:47 PM
Congrats to Rovers.Justice was done.
Well done to O Donoghue also TD really got up his goat!!
Now just get back to playing great football and I can hate ye again.
What a Christmas present.
Come on the Hoops........sorry Im getting too carried away.:D
14/12/2007, 2:53 PM
Delighted for all the Rovers people involved. I have to admit abandoning ship many years ago when they left Milltown. Now if the Tallaght stadium gets up and running I would hope to get back.
Fantastic News, Well Done - The first game will have to be against the last team ye played against in Milltown
Calcio Jack
14/12/2007, 3:03 PM
Delighted for all the Rovers people involved. I have to admit abandoning ship many years ago when they left Milltown. Now if the Tallaght stadium gets up and running I would hope to get back.
That's nice of you:rolleyes:
hoops1
14/12/2007, 3:03 PM
As a member of the Thomas Davis club i say well done and will enjoy going to watch games in the new stadium. Although i am very emotional after todays result in time i will learn to live with it !
Fair play sure just show your TD membership at the gate and get the special c**ts discount of 69.99
14/12/2007, 3:08 PM
Chi-Ching do ye hear that? Thats the penny dropping that is
Indeed.
Although the other security issues will be very relevant when the time comes.
For the moment congratulations to Rovers and I'll start saving now for my 2009 season ticket.
Tony_Montana
14/12/2007, 3:09 PM
I don't expect to pay any funds to watch sport in a community sports ground
hoops1
14/12/2007, 3:11 PM
Nice one.:D
Erstwhile Bóz
14/12/2007, 3:14 PM
Hahaha!
14/12/2007, 3:15 PM
In a way that's a valid point. Will Rovers pay rent to SDCC or will they have to hand over a share of gate receipts? Will the stadium provide any revenue to SDCC?
Buller
14/12/2007, 3:19 PM
In a way that's a valid point. Will Rovers pay rent to SDCC or will they have to hand over a share of gate receipts? Will the stadium provide any revenue to SDCC?
It works out very well, better than if we owned it! We'll pay a very small rent. SDCC will actually be getting a deficit with maintaining the ground and its associated costs.
SolitudeRed
14/12/2007, 3:22 PM
Great news!! glad to see common sense has finally prevailed! what now for Rovers finish tallaght and then move in in the next couple of seasons?
blackholesun
14/12/2007, 3:24 PM
>I don't expect to pay any funds to watch sport in a community sports ground
Well then go up and watch the Thomas Bigots v St Annes muckbath of a Sunday in Tallaght instead my friend!
Werent most of the country and club grounds built on land handed over by the Church donkeys for community purposes?
Have you ever paid into any of them?
Here is a little treat for you
http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/3866/lastmanvg8.jpg
Merry Xmas :cool:
bhs
half_full
14/12/2007, 3:33 PM
Great to see:)
14/12/2007, 3:33 PM
That's nice of you:rolleyes:
Ok, perhaps I shouldn't. I'll stick to the armchair watching Sky Sports.
Calcio Jack
14/12/2007, 3:41 PM
Ok, perhaps I shouldn't. I'll stick to the armchair watching Sky Sports.
Please yourself... it's a free democratic country as proven by Rovers legend Judge Roderick C'Connor this morning in the High Court...and we'll struggle on without you as we did for the last 20 years
14/12/2007, 3:52 PM
Find this interesting, read a thread on a GAA forum titled "Thomas Davis Lose". Glasss half empty i suppose
14/12/2007, 4:20 PM
Please yourself... it's a free democratic country as proven by Rovers legend Judge Roderick C'Connor this morning in the High Court...and we'll struggle on without you as we did for the last 20 years
Mind nobody gets hurt when the chip falls off that shoulder :rolleyes:
sniffa
14/12/2007, 5:39 PM
Well done. Great News. Hope proceedings cost millions.
TD = TOUCHDOWN
iceman
14/12/2007, 6:11 PM
Well done Rovers - Great news for the EL. Now take the b!gots to the cleaners with the legal costs :D