View Full Version : Rovers Win
cheifo
16/12/2007, 1:57 AM
Going to be interesting to see what gates Rovers get at Tallaght and how they go about marketing their games in the area.
kingdom hoop
16/12/2007, 2:08 AM
Going to be interesting to see what gates Rovers get at Tallaght
Sure will. I reckon they'll go for pearly ones, replete with a 'This Is Heaven' heading. :D
passerrby
16/12/2007, 2:10 PM
i hope this whole sorry saga has the one effect that TDs did not want and cements there place in tallagh and the rovers go from strenght to strenght because a strong rovers will benifit all eircom league clubs
Buller
16/12/2007, 3:14 PM
Sure will. I reckon they'll go for pearly ones, replete with a 'This Is Heaven' heading. :D
I was thinking for a more glenmalure-esque style... The gates will be quite big- more than the capacity will be. The 3,000 seater stand, coupled with temporary seating at either end will not be sufficient I'd imagine. The second stand will have to be built fast to realise its true potential. The stadium is in the very center of Tallaght, an absolutely prime location for a stadium. (Partly why the gaah didn't want to see it going up)
16/12/2007, 3:36 PM
During this process TD stated that they wanted access to the Stadium so that "the youth of Tallaght would not be subjected to a diet of Association Football"
Says it all.
Do you have a source ref for that? Was it in their submission?
HulaHoop
16/12/2007, 3:41 PM
If the GAA don't appeal the permanant stand on the far side goes up straight away so we will be moving into a two sided 6000 seater ground in 2009.
If the GAA do appeal the main stand gets completed and a temporary stand erected on the far side. Either way the builders go back on site in the new year and we play there in 2009.
Buller
16/12/2007, 3:49 PM
Says it all.
Theyre president/head David Kennedy said it. I definately read it in the paper.
HulaHoop
16/12/2007, 3:50 PM
Says it all.
It is a quote taken directly from Thomas Davis affidavit to the High Court. They argued that "the youth of Tallaght will be restricted to a diet of Association football" and that a soccer-only ground would place the "applicant at a severe disadvantage in attracting the youth of Tallaght to club, sport and the GAA culture."
Mental Man
16/12/2007, 4:27 PM
The GAA are 1 of the most bigoted organisations i have ever known, now the sports are great, i consider hurling an amazing game, but there are sone a***holes in it that just cannot accept soccer in this country.
We had cases here a good few years back of glass bottles been crushed and broken and the glass been sprinkled around BOTH goalmouths of soccer pitches here.
Also on Matt Keanes " Terrace Talk " one evening 1 of these idiots (this guy was on the board of Mount Sion GAA club ) came on the radio and said if he found out that the GAA were opening up ALL their grounds to soccer here locally he would personally go out and dig up the fields rather than let a FOREIGN GAME be played on their grounds !
People like that should be put up against a wall !!!
By the way - well done ROVERS !!
kingdom hoop
16/12/2007, 4:59 PM
I completely agree with you Mental Man (and I'm an avid GAA follower), but I think that about which you speak refers to depraved remnants of a cultural outlook that we should have left behind at this stage. Funnily enough rather than bringing it up here I had been thinking of starting a thread along those lines in the Other Sports section and probably will when I get time in a few days, so we can discuss (maturely might I add) it there.
In other words, lets not desecrate this thread with too many references to the w***** who hold sport in this country back. This thread should be about celebrating Rovers' victory. Lets not unduly annoy ourselves in so doing. :)
Erstwhile Bóz
16/12/2007, 7:16 PM
How is football 'foreign' if it's been played here since the 1870s? It's been part of the fabric of Irish sporting life for generations. And is it regarded as 'foreign' in Italy, Germany or Spain? No.
Putting borders on such a global activity is nonsense. Are films 'foreign'? The same could be said of books, TV, coal, tea and even the beloved internet.
Unlike other sporting bodies, the GAA bans certain games from its playing fields for no other reason than it regards them as foreign. Just because we, as a nation, have largely ignored or accepted such sporting apartheid doesn't make it right, justified or true.
Besides, who gave the GAA the right to determine what's an Irish sport and what's not? Football's my sport and I'm no less Irish than any GAA member.:cool:
Grand. I'd agree with most of that, I think, even down to the strange last sentence. Whether a sport can ever be described as 'foreign' in the first place is another question, and you seem to say that it can't. This, though, would seem unrelated to the post I quoted where you seem to imply that 'foreignness' has to do primarily with chronology. And again, above, you ask "How is football 'foreign' if it's been played here since the 1870s? It's been part of the fabric of Irish sporting life for generations.": does this mean that football was 'foreign' to Ireland in the 1870s until the passing of a certain number of generations naturalised it?
It is a quote taken directly from Thomas Davis affidavit to the High Court. They argued that "the youth of Tallaght will be restricted to a diet of Association football" and that a soccer-only ground would place the "applicant at a severe disadvantage in attracting the youth of Tallaght to club, sport and the GAA culture."
They didn't take the quote very directly if they changed the words.
HulaHoop
16/12/2007, 7:43 PM
They didn't take the quote very directly if they changed the words.
Nitpicking - so he used the word subjected rather than restricted. Big deal :rolleyes:
Erstwhile Bóz
16/12/2007, 8:25 PM
Nitpicking - so he used the word subjected rather than restricted. Big deal :rolleyes:
:D Saying that Thomas Davis's affidavit contained a quote about the youth of Tallaght being "subjected" to football makes them sound like raving anti-soccer lunatics (which they may well be); a quote about their (blatantly spurious) concern being that the choice available to the sporting youth of Tallaght might be "restricted" to football doesn't have the same effect of fixing them in the nineteenth century.
They were wrong either way, but they're bad enough without putting words in their mouths.
Billy Lord
16/12/2007, 10:10 PM
Grand. I'd agree with most of that, I think, even down to the strange last sentence. Whether a sport can ever be described as 'foreign' in the first place is another question, and you seem to say that it can't. This, though, would seem unrelated to the post I quoted where you seem to imply that 'foreignness' has to do primarily with chronology. And again, above, you ask "How is football 'foreign' if it's been played here since the 1870s? It's been part of the fabric of Irish sporting life for generations.": does this mean that football was 'foreign' to Ireland in the 1870s until the passing of a certain number of generations naturalised it?
I just find it odd that a sport that has deeper roots in Ireland than gaelic football can be described by the GAA as 'foreign'. Association Football originated in England, but its universal appeal has made it an international activity. To describe it as 'foreign' is fatuous. Jeans were invented somewhere other than Ireland so should they be considered a 'foreign' form of attire? I don't think so.
The GAA consider football an alien activity constitutionally unworthy of sharing their grass. Their rule, not mine - and a rule that is unique in terms of sporting apartheid.
Erstwhile Bóz
16/12/2007, 10:43 PM
I just find it odd that a sport that has deeper roots in Ireland than gaelic football can be described by the GAA as 'foreign'. Association Football originated in England, but its universal appeal has made it an international activity. To describe it as 'foreign' is fatuous. Jeans were invented somewhere other than Ireland so should they be considered a 'foreign' form of attire? I don't think so.
The GAA consider football an alien activity constitutionally unworthy of sharing their grass. Their rule, not mine - and a rule that is unique in terms of sporting apartheid.
The GAA's view, presumably, is that they are an Irish association and the rules they came up with for their games (however influenced they all were by an international fad at the time for sports codification) were devised here. And given that they're forever being slagged for their lack of a bona fide international dimension, I think it's safe to say 'no Ireland, no GAA'.
INSOFAR as there can be foreign games and native games in the barmy context of nineteenth-century codifications their position, therefore, would surely be that they are not them.
As terminology goes, 'foreign' is outmoded, to say the least; as a distinction, it's now useless and does those who make it no favours. But I can sort of see where they're coming from if they want to cling on to the fact that of the games associations in Ireland, they are one of the homegrown ones.
I'm not sure how widely used the term 'foreign' is any more or what status it has in that pesky GAA Rule Book in any case.
Billy Lord
16/12/2007, 11:16 PM
The GAA's view, presumably, is that they are an Irish association and the rules they came up with for their games (however influenced they all were by an international fad at the time for sports codification) were devised here. And given that they're forever being slagged for their lack of a bona fide international dimension, I think it's safe to say 'no Ireland, no GAA'.
INSOFAR as there can be foreign games and native games in the barmy context of nineteenth-century codifications their position, therefore, would surely be that they are not them.
As terminology goes, 'foreign' is outmoded, to say the least; as a distinction, it's now useless and does those who make it no favours. But I can sort of see where they're coming from if they want to cling on to the fact that of the games associations in Ireland, they are one of the homegrown ones.
I'm not sure how widely used the term 'foreign' is any more or what status it has in that pesky GAA Rule Book in any case.
The rule remains. It makes the GAA more a fascist organistation than a pesky one.
kingdom hoop
17/12/2007, 12:19 AM
I just find it odd that a sport that has deeper roots in Ireland than gaelic football can be described by the GAA as 'foreign'.
In 2007 it certainly does seem odd. But if you understand the origins then it appears less odd. Unfortunately the anachronistic term has survived to this day, perpetuated by the true Irishmen of this country. (sarcasm, don't worry!) The term was not formulated yesterday, rather, 120 years ago, at a time when the cultural identity of the island was slowly but surely dissipating.
The GAA was founded with some noble aims, however, its commendable ethos was hijacked to a large degree in order to stoke nationalistic fires. The very game of Gaeilc football itself was created as a vehicle for national identity, a bashtardised mix of soccer and rugby promoted as an indigenous substitute for those awful foreign games. At the time I don't think I'd have had much issue with that (given the good intention of differentiating our culture), but in this day in age it pains me to see sport-loving people in the GAA continue to wage a senseless sepia-tinged war on so-called foreign games.
The majority of people involved in the GAA have no issue with soccer, but, much like a lot of those who follow Celtic for the wrong reasons, many within the organisation continue to see it as their duty to suppress 'foreign' games in an effort to propel Ireland's patriotism. Nowhere in the world comes close to rivalling the small nation syndrome we have. It's a broader cultural complex that we seem to have, something that should have been left go yonks ago but one must realise that while politics and sport shouldn't be mixed in this day in age, once upon a time they were. It is far from an excuse, but it helps explain the way things are, the way certain fcuking retards think, and how we can begin to move forward.
This is a huge can of worms and I could go on all day but I don't think this thread is the place for it. All I'd ask is that the use of 'fascist' and 'bigoted' be appreciated as being more matter of fact than pejorative. That way I think the problems in the GAA would be illustrated a lot clearer than just putting it down to simple bigotry, so that we can put aside the tetchy bickering and try to promote a more harmonious sporting landscape.
Argh, thinking about all this makes me so fcuking angry! Time for a joint and a nice soothing song I think. :D
HulaHoop
17/12/2007, 12:32 AM
Great post Kingdom Hoop.
sniffa
17/12/2007, 1:14 AM
Argh, thinking about all this makes me so fcuking angry! Time for a joint and a nice soothing song I think. :D
Does this "joint" contain an irish substance or is it best described as "foreign".
If so, it should be banned.....:rolleyes:
BTW, great post!
kingdom hoop
17/12/2007, 1:27 AM
Does this "joint" contain an irish substance or is it best described as "foreign".
:D Well it's green at least!
edit; just looking at that post again, it would be a lot more at home on a GAA forum, I'll sort that out in due course. But it's no harm for everyone to appreciate the unique sporting fabric (ie the interrelation of politics, culture and sport) we have in this country. I suppose time might be a great healer but for some reason I think it has been swept under collective consciousness' carpet, brushed off by saying 'shur politics and sport have nothing to do with each other.' The sad fact is that in this country they have, and ignoring that point only serves to embed the problems, to the detriment of sport, and serving to increase my (someone who passionately supports his county, and played Gaelic football for 14 years, loving every second) disdain for the GAA as an organisation. Harumph.
Calcio Jack
17/12/2007, 7:49 AM
Mind nobody gets hurt when the chip falls off that shoulder :rolleyes:
And a happy Christmas to you to...
kingdomkerry
17/12/2007, 9:17 AM
How did this tread stray from Rovers winning a judicial review to a soccer v football issue? Personally i love both sports and dont see why someone involved in one sport has to hate the other.
WoodquayBoy
17/12/2007, 10:58 AM
Congrats Rovers, delighted for ye, sure ye can't wait for The Foundations so ye can be built up, Buttercups (groan, I'm sorry)
No surrender to the GAA
bigmac
17/12/2007, 12:53 PM
Teams renting grounds off local authorities is very common elsewhere. In Ireland this concept seems strange for some reason.
Ahem... :D
On another note - an every cloud sort of note - the lack of use of the stadium since the pitch was laid means that it has had plenty of time to really bed in and develop properly as a surface - it looks fantastic from the road and hopefully it'll be like a carpet to play on.
Erstwhile Bóz
17/12/2007, 2:43 PM
Ahem... :D
On another note - an every cloud sort of note - the lack of use of the stadium since the pitch was laid means that it has had plenty of time to really bed in and develop properly as a surface - it looks fantastic from the road and hopefully it'll be like a carpet to play on.
It does look absolutely beautiful, all right. Even people I know who'd have no interest in the story behind it, or even in football, have mentioned the fact that the surface itself looks so immaculate with the half-started stadium around it.
(Hope they play utter crap on it, obviously.)
Well once a season anyway, when you lot come to play there, afterall Bohs can aptly be describes as being such a thing...:D
Koh
Buller
17/12/2007, 4:23 PM
How did this tread stray from Rovers winning a judicial review to a soccer v football issue?
No it's a football v gaelic handball issue... :rolleyes:
Juanace
17/12/2007, 4:59 PM
This is really great news for the LOI not just Rovers. Well done for the effort and perseverence in getting it through. I wont get started laying into TD cause everything has already been said.
Whats the longterm plan for the stadium - 2 stands either side of the pitch, any planned for behind the goals or is that just to be standing area? I've read its to be a 10,000 seater stadium, is that just a pipe dream or will that happen?
Buller
17/12/2007, 5:37 PM
This is really great news for the LOI not just Rovers. Well done for the effort and perseverence in getting it through. I wont get started laying into TD cause everything has already been said.
Whats the longterm plan for the stadium - 2 stands either side of the pitch, any planned for behind the goals or is that just to be standing area? I've read its to be a 10,000 seater stadium, is that just a pipe dream or will that happen?
I feel like I've said this a thousand times but how and ever. Two stands will be completed initially the lengths of the pitch. Hold 3,000 each bringing capacity to 6,000, the extent of current planning permission. Additional planning permission must then be sought to extend the stands around in a circular fashion the ends of the pitch (2,000 each end) to increase it to 10,000. I have pictures which illustrate this perfectly. The pipeline dream is a second tier, to which the foundations being built have been designed to support. ;)
EDIT: found them...
http://img45.imageshack.us/img45/6971/stadiumag6.jpg
17/12/2007, 5:41 PM
sure it'd look nice with a few houses on it ;) :D :p
kingdomkerry
17/12/2007, 11:02 PM
Looks good. Any word on whether TD are going to appeal?
Juanace
19/12/2007, 3:46 PM
I feel like I've said this a thousand times but how and ever. Two stands will be completed initially the lengths of the pitch. Hold 3,000 each bringing capacity to 6,000, the extent of current planning permission. Additional planning permission must then be sought to extend the stands around in a circular fashion the ends of the pitch (2,000 each end) to increase it to 10,000. I have pictures which illustrate this perfectly. The pipeline dream is a second tier, to which the foundations being built have been designed to support. ;)
EDIT: found them...
Thanks for the info..are they the only design pics available? Not exactly the clearest! Whats the luvly architectural thingy at the middle of the main stand supposed to be?
Buller
19/12/2007, 8:13 PM
Thanks for the info..are they the only design pics available? Not exactly the clearest! Whats the luvly architectural thingy at the middle of the main stand supposed to be?
I have the clearer plans in adobe reader format if you like. (PM me) That's the reception lounge rooms, club shop, bar...
21/12/2007, 8:51 AM
The GAA have never had a problem with other countries bar 1. American Football is hardly an Irish game and it has been played at Croke Park since 1953 (at least then there may have been one earlier even). Cycling and athletics events have also been held there. The problem is with football and rugby which are seen as British games.
Thankfully it has changed though at least in the Republic and the likes of Kennedy are now the exception rather than the rule.
21/12/2007, 9:50 AM
athletics events have also been held there.
Hardly surprising (the clue is in the name ;))
It's definitely an anti-British thing, arising out of the time the association was formed - wasn't cricket also on the list of forbidden sports at the time of The Ban (and possibly hockey?). Would love to see a 20/20 game under lights in Croker:))
There was a valid point made about the shameful neglect of handball, not to mention rounders - I don't even know if kids play this any more (token "exhibition" at Croke Park this year notwithstanding). The sad thing is that Gaelic Football is a far bigger threat to the future of Hurling than soccer.
21/12/2007, 12:50 PM
It's definitely an anti-British thing, arising out of the time the association was formed - wasn't cricket also on the list of forbidden sports at the time of The Ban (and possibly hockey?). Would love to see a 20/20 game under lights in Croker:))Snooker was on the list not allowed to be played in Croke Park too.
passerrby
21/12/2007, 12:54 PM
Snooker was on the list not allowed to be played in Croke Park too.
and rightly so could you imagine trying to follow the match from the hill
21/12/2007, 1:49 PM
Snooker was on the list not allowed to be played in Croke Park too.
BIGOTS! :mad:
I've seen Jimmy White playing pool on the pitch at Dalymount so there's no reason with the GAA couldn't have done something similar.
EDIT: I should point out that he had a table and wasn't just knocking the balls around on the grass. Wonder if it's featured on Brady's Dalymount documentary...
Thomas Davis appealing. Kennedy really is a bigot.
Buller
17/01/2008, 9:33 PM
Thomas Davis appealing. Kennedy really is a bigot.
Yes I think we've established that by now... Depressing... The case is tomorrow so we should know if the appeal is rejected or not by then - and who will foot the judical review bill
kingdomkerry
17/01/2008, 10:38 PM
Jaysus Thomas Davis are wrotten!!
deecay
17/01/2008, 11:14 PM
Well done Shams:D
Anybody got any updates on the appeal?
18/01/2008, 9:53 AM
The very game of Gaeilc football itself was created as a vehicle for national identity
Great post KH.
As someone from the true stronghold of Gaelic football (since Dubs who do GAA are mere culchie wannabes) what do you make of my pet theory, which is that Gaelic football has displaced the Irish language as a signifier of nationality, and in doing so displaced and usurped the role of a far more ancient and fundamental part of our culture?
Would we all, or many of us, be thinking and speaking in our own language, as well as playing proper football, if it hadn't been for Croke & co.? I submit that we would. Or is that completely as an imirt?
Higgo
18/01/2008, 11:40 AM
Shocking comment, absolutely shocking. Hope you are proud of it.
In all fairness, I would imagine this statement is a figure of speech. Get off your high horse would ya. I have to say, in all my time following the EL, I have never been as irritated by something that's going on at a different club. Thomas Davis are scum. End of story. As an avid Shelsman, I sincerely hope this p**** is told where to go next Friday. Disgusting behaviour.
Celdrog
18/01/2008, 11:54 AM
A figure of speech???? I have never heard what he said as a "figure of speech". If condemning what he said means I am on a high horse then I will stay on it thanks.
Fair play to Dhamasta for deleting it so quickly.
placid casual
18/01/2008, 12:11 PM
celdrog..... it looks like your club is going to be homeless quite soon.
come back to me then and we'll talk ok buddy.
ndrog
18/01/2008, 12:15 PM
celdrog..... it looks like your club is going to be homeless quite soon.
come back to me then and we'll talk ok buddy.
How are we gonna be homeless ? any facts or you just bitchin ? We offered rovers a home a couple of seasons ago so pull your head in will ya .
18/01/2008, 7:31 PM
Fair play to Dhamasta for deleting it so quickly.
The questions is - was it up for long enough to make the Herald back pages? Shams fans do themselves no favours at all sometimes.
Same old, same old. We're all scum.