View Full Version : Transfer rumours

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

Battery Rover
11/01/2008, 3:57 PM
Sounds possible all right. Aaron's keeping his cards relatively close to his chest until they're back in training. I remember seeing Rushe a few times when he played against us. He's decent enough from what I can recall, a little small though.

Apparently back training this week and as for Rushie being small what is in his heart will make up for that. He only wants to be a winner.

11/01/2008, 3:59 PM
I do remember that about him alright, I seem to recall he and Dean Fitzgerald possibly scrapping/handbags at one stage. Bit of a size difference there!

Rocky77
11/01/2008, 4:22 PM
Apparently back training this week and as for Rushie being small what is in his heart will make up for that. He only wants to be a winner.

We're back in training? Just Vinny and Daire doing laps? ;) There must be some news forthcoming about signings then?

Battery Rover
11/01/2008, 5:35 PM
Might as well say now if he has signed for yourselves supporters here will be gutted we didnt manage to get him. Hopefully it is just a rumour

Rushie is a legend

11/01/2008, 6:00 PM
We're back in training? Just Vinny and Daire doing laps? ;) There must be some news forthcoming about signings then?

Apparently he's keen to announce a whole load together rather than in ones and twos. He's busy organising pre-season games so we must have some coming in anyway!

Rocky77
11/01/2008, 6:12 PM
Well a team is always a useful thing to have in any match — pre-season or otherwise!

Any news on Deego and/or Sulli?

Sonic
11/01/2008, 8:12 PM
Theyre making us sweat anyway that is for sure:D

12/01/2008, 4:25 PM
Dunno if the full squad is back training yet the players considering
signing were due to do a bit of training over there last week

Cabs88
14/01/2008, 10:54 AM
It looks like Gary Murphy wont be back with us, if he remains with the county :(

I think some announcement on signings should be made soon, as always the supporters are kept in the dark!

14/01/2008, 1:12 PM
He has told people he prefers the association variety of football before so I'd say unless he was guaranteed to be involved in the championship squad, he may well be back. He has been made an offer anyway, I know that much. As has Paul Kelly who is also being courted by the GAA. If they don't take them that's their choice I guess. Squad details are set to be announced soon according to the website. Whether that's squads for the friendlies or for the season I don't know but it should give some indication as to arrivals. There'll probably be more friendlies to be announced yet

Rocky77
14/01/2008, 2:26 PM
It looks like Gary Murphy wont be back with us, if he remains with the county

Doubtful. I saw him play in Navan yesterday and I doubt he's good enough to be honest. Very quick and willing, but he lacks a little bit of quality and composure to make it at inter-county level. With the Bardens to comeback, Padraig Berry to be ahead of him and perhaps James Martin and Trevor Smullen to be involved he'll be so far down the pecking order come summer he'd either quit or be let go.

20/01/2008, 5:48 PM
heard at the weekend that padraig moran (ex sligo athlone ) is training with us. apparently 38 people trained last week in longford. vinny perth is looking after trying to get dublin based players, aarron lookin after country players. american fellow training with us , two europeans training with us( think its polish).

interesting to see what sort of a squad it will be when it is announced?? brings back memories of matthews earliest days with the club when we didnt have much of a squad until the last day or two of preseason.

Tallanted
21/01/2008, 5:49 PM
Didnt realise we were going to have an over 35's team too! Padraig Moran was passed it about 5 years ago, lets hope he is just trainin with us and nothin comes of it

Keen2win
21/01/2008, 6:21 PM
The pre season friendlies should be very interesting. Surly we must have spotted 2 or 3 v. good players if there was 35 training

23/01/2008, 9:00 AM
Just been informed that Ronan Frawley has signed up for ye.

Sonic
23/01/2008, 10:13 AM
Matthews is hunting Sulli and Deegan as well as Mooney obviously! Wouldnt be surprised if sulli went but Deegan is only 19 and still has alot to learn before he is ready to jump into a big side like Cork. Not only that but their midfield is class he wont get a look in! Would be better off staying with us for a year anyway at least he will get first team football that would improve him!!

Rocky77
23/01/2008, 11:17 AM
Matthews is hunting Sulli and Deegan as well as Mooney obviously! Wouldnt be surprised if sulli went but Deegan is only 19 and still has alot to learn before he is ready to jump into a big side like Cork. Not only that but their midfield is class he wont get a look in! Would be better off staying with us for a year anyway at least he will get first team football that would improve him!!

I agree. As good as I think Deego is, Gamble, Healy and Farrelly would be ahead of him. At his age needs to be playing regular first-team football to fulfil his potential.

23/01/2008, 5:41 PM
Just been informed that Ronan Frawley has signed up for ye.

good news that we have finally made a second signing! ronans older brother conor frawley played for us in the late nineties ( 96-98 seasons i think).

wonder will his first cousin colin fortune join us? heard ex town hero alan murphy could be rejoining us.

saw in the evening herald last night that shay kelly has committed himself to us for next season which is great news! heres to gettin more good news!!:)

Rocky77
23/01/2008, 5:47 PM
good news that we have finally made a second signing! ronans older brother conor frawley played for us in the late nineties ( 96-98 seasons i think)

I often wondered if they were related. Remember Conor alright.

Great news about Shay!

23/01/2008, 6:03 PM
on the eircom league section of foot.ie dave mooney is now on trial at blackburn rovers which is very bad news if he joins them:(

Tallanted
23/01/2008, 6:18 PM
you have got your alan murphys mixed up marty.. Our ex one has signed a new deal at shels.. Try ex galway and derry alan murphy!

24/01/2008, 2:25 AM
Yeah Aaron was speaking to him alright. He was interested in coming as he wants to stay part time as he has a job in Galway and would like to stay within driving distance. There is about 40 players training with us at the moment alright. It'll be interesting to see who ends up in the squads for the friendlies, we can't play them all!.

sparkey
24/01/2008, 8:46 AM
Dont really rate Ronan Frawley, but I reckon Alan Murphy could definitely score goals in the first division for us given the right service.

Battery Rover
24/01/2008, 9:03 AM
Dont really rate Ronan Frawley.

Last season he seemed very one paced. When he played centre half he seemed to drift out to the right and when on the right he seemed to drift infield. It was only when Brian McCarthy broke into the first team that he seemed to do better as he had someone with pace and height playing beside him

ltfc_2004
24/01/2008, 1:01 PM
in others words we have signed a donkey !!!

although I hope he does well

Rocky77
24/01/2008, 2:29 PM
Deego has signed for Galway. :( :eek: :mad:

GuisaSaigon
24/01/2008, 3:14 PM
Murphy has been a big disappointment since he returned to Galway, hope the change does him some good, great player when at his best.

deecay
24/01/2008, 4:18 PM
Any news on Padraig Moran?

24/01/2008, 5:44 PM
still training with us as far as I know.. great news about alan murphy(galway) he has being poor with galway utd since he returned from derry city...

deecay
24/01/2008, 9:52 PM
Im guessing hes stays part-time?Do ye have any full-timers?

25/01/2008, 12:51 AM
Full timers?! I don't think so. Closest we ever had to full time footballers would be Dessie and Lavine. That however was much more down to them than us!

Xlex
25/01/2008, 2:49 PM
Well looking at the squad, we seem to be assembling a decent squad.

What are the objectives playing wise this year? A year of stablisation or a year where we will be challenging for promotion

Battery Rover
25/01/2008, 3:53 PM
Well looking at the squad, we seem to be assembling a decent squad.

What are the objectives playing wise this year? A year of stablisation or a year where we will be challenging for promotion

According to Ronan Frawley in one of the local Athlone papers he says with the quality of signings O'Callghan is making you will be challenging for promotion. He must have signed a pacey centre half to play alongside him:D

25/01/2008, 4:12 PM
I think the aim is certainly to be challenging at the top end of the table and see what happens. By all accounts we'll have a young squad so the lack of experience may count against us. We'll see.

Sonic
25/01/2008, 4:25 PM
Eh does anyone actually know what squad of players we have. Alot of this is rumours stuff!!

All I can think of is Shay Kelly and Daire Doyle. Are any of these potential transfers official or what. A little communication would help. Dont like the sound of this Ronan Frawley dude either:)

Keen2win
26/01/2008, 11:15 AM
Is it true that we have signed (or are going to sign) damien rushe and jim crawford

Sonic
26/01/2008, 1:25 PM
Crawford is a bit long in the tooth but could do a decent job surely at this level. Any word on Colie James???

26/01/2008, 2:02 PM
I think the two of those are coming alright. Ryan Casey is signing too apparently, Iarflaith Davoren from Galway is another one I think. A young striker from Bohs, Lynch I think could be his name is also supposedly coming. They were down in Longford today, 40 or so lads were training.Training tomorrow too. Colie James is gone to Fingal I read somewhere.

Rocky77
26/01/2008, 2:39 PM
A bit of a turnaround from Collie. I work with a mate of his and he was prety definite over Christmas he was going to stay.

Fingal are putting together a decent squad by the looks of it.

As a matter of interest, anyone know what Freer is up to? Has he retired or is he talking to anyone?

26/01/2008, 2:45 PM
I read on this site somewhere that Collie was gone to Fingal anyway, I don't know if that's 100% true or what. Freeman has gone to Shels according to the Transfers thread in the EL forum?.

Rocky77
26/01/2008, 2:50 PM
Yeah I just checked walkthechalk.com and Collie has signed for them alright. Pity.

What about John Reilly?

Sonic
26/01/2008, 3:05 PM
Colie James is gone to Fingal I read somewhere.

Is he havin a laugh!!!

Battery Rover
26/01/2008, 3:07 PM
Ryan Casey is signing too apparently.

Thank God I thought we would end up with him again

Sonic
26/01/2008, 3:09 PM
Thank God I thought we would end up with him again

Loving the sound of that. Good god:(

Tallanted
26/01/2008, 3:17 PM
Casey played a game pre season last year for us and was very poor to say the least

Battery Rover
26/01/2008, 3:51 PM
Loving the sound of that. Good god:(

I can't wait to see what Ash puts up here about him:D

26/01/2008, 4:13 PM
I think the two of those are coming alright. Ryan Casey is signing too apparently ...

Well Holy God ... with all the doom and gloom around Athlone
at the moment, this news has cheered me up no end :D

May Ryan bring your fans exactly as much joy and excitement
he brought ours last season. His enthusiam for the game will
no doubt leave you all speechless.

If thats the kind of quality signings Ronan is on about, I think
the "salad burgers" from Morellis are affecting his judgement!

26/01/2008, 4:30 PM
I was underwhelmed when I heard it too to be honest but we'll give him a chance! One thing that will be expected by Aaron and Vinny is effort and anyone not giving it will be out fairly quick. Neither of them are shy, retiring types so I'd imagine they wouldn't be long calling lads to task if their attitude isn't right. By all accounts it's a young squad by and large. This Alan Lynch from Bohs is an Ireland U19 international so he might be some addition. We'll see what they're like in pre-season I guess.

RockofGibraltar
26/01/2008, 4:50 PM
bit about that lynch lad here

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=61&Itemid=75

26/01/2008, 5:21 PM
I think the two of those are coming alright. Ryan Casey is signing too apparently, Iarflaith Davoren from Galway is another one I think. A young striker from Bohs, Lynch I think could be his name is also supposedly coming. They were down in Longford today, 40 or so lads were training.Training tomorrow too. Colie James is gone to Fingal I read somewhere.

are the lads training in flansiro tommorrow does anyone know? sorbo the greek popped down to the ground to see them trained he didnt recognise not one person.! so obviously its a much changed squad!!
some interesting names that are linked with us casey and crawford obviously were with us training last season so I would be familiar with them! casey would have played against us in the fai cup semi four years ago rem him alright!

interesting to see da athlones reaction to ryan casey!!:)