View Full Version : Transfer rumours
Rocky77
04/01/2008, 5:17 PM
hungry players who are willing to learn the game... Vinny fully fit would be an addition
Make your mind up ;)
Nobody was saying fill the team with veterans, but a few are important. Which is why we were advocating Vinny. Now that it seems he's joining nobody is complaining. Of course we'd all be much happier if Sulli and Deego stayed.
04/01/2008, 5:45 PM
delighted to see "na na na na na vinny vinny perth vinny perth" back with us! this is terrific news! i would hazard a guess that aaron will have signed up a few of the atfc players that were let go by scumlone!
maybe next season :Dmight not be as bad as we thought....
04/01/2008, 6:13 PM
I hear ye have signed/will be signing Ian Rossiter :eek:
where did you heat that rumour sam heggy??? :confused:
Keen2win
04/01/2008, 6:54 PM
Great news. I'm starting to feel real confident.
Watch out! Vinny's gonna get ya (Athlone) :D
04/01/2008, 8:16 PM
Make your mind up ;)
Nobody was saying fill the team with veterans, but a few are important. Which is why we were advocating Vinny. Now that it seems he's joining nobody is complaining. Of course we'd all be much happier if Sulli and Deego stayed.
I think the management want a core of say five or six experienced players and the rest younger players or players with something to prove. Sulli and Deego staying would be great but I dont know how likely or unlikely it is. Time will tell
Rocky77
05/01/2008, 3:42 PM
It's official:
http://www.ltfc.ie/news/article/?id=7f16ec6b-b0eb-480a-a9ef-1b02603a7b4d
Welcome home Vinny!!!
06/01/2008, 1:40 PM
Is Gary Deegan staying with you this season? I wouldn't mind seeing him at UCD.
06/01/2008, 1:54 PM
Is Gary Deegan staying with you this season? I wouldn't mind seeing him at UCD.
We're hopeful. New manager is supposedly talking to him and a few others this week about staying. Was roumered Harps were after him aswell.
spaceghost
06/01/2008, 7:04 PM
welcome vinnie.as marty said , things are lookin a little bit brighter than a few weeks ago:)
06/01/2008, 8:25 PM
looking at the article on ltfc.ie it looks like vinny will be asst mgr only...:(
06/01/2008, 8:38 PM
Ah yeah, ill add my sentiments. Welcome back Vinny. Come on man, just play a game for us. Preferably one that coincides with a flight home that weekend. Just for old time's sake. :)
06/01/2008, 9:03 PM
looking at the article on ltfc.ie it looks like vinny will be asst mgr only...:(
sorry should have readed :(longfordians posting before I posted...
07/01/2008, 12:34 AM
I don't know if he'll be playing every week or what, probably depends what sort of squad we have but as far as I know he will be registered. Vinny himself has apparently said before that he feels he could play on for another couple of years. We'll see, either way he'll be a very good influence and a good character to have involved.
Sonic
07/01/2008, 11:15 AM
Who's this Vinny fella
Whos this Vinny fella!! Who are YOU!!!!:D:D
Sonic
07/01/2008, 11:20 AM
Lets not kid ourselves, this season, finishing in the top 3 will be a great achievement. Waterford and Shels have added significantly, and dundalk will be strong, as could limerick.
in fairness noone is saying we WILL get promoted but for God sake we have to be looking at at least callenging. The facts are we dont know what squad of players we have so we can worry about targets when we do get a squad. But remember rovers did it in a year from scratch why not us!!?? Waterford are still not overly great and while shels have increased there squad with decent players they still only have a squad of about 12 at present. Dundalk will be the team to beat I feel for whoever is to challenge them!!
07/01/2008, 11:32 AM
Limerick won't be challengers this season, lucky to be top 5 i'd say. it'll be waterford shels and dundalk as the three contenders for the promotion.
07/01/2008, 11:33 AM
in fairness noone is saying we WILL get promoted but for God sake we have to be looking at at least callenging.
You can forget about promotion if Vincent Perth causes such a stir :ball:
Tallanted
07/01/2008, 12:15 PM
Infairness rovers was a completly different situation, they didnt exactly start from scratch like we are and they had 2000 fans every home game.. Somthing we couldnt even sustain at our height in the premier division.. Rovers were favourites to win the 1st division that year were as we wont be rest assured of that.. So i wouldnt really use rovers doin it in a year as a guideline they had alot more in their favour
07/01/2008, 12:20 PM
i'd say the situation is more like shels last year in their first season. starting out from scratch. i'd say ye will start average and grow stronger as the season goes, the same way shels did. this all depends on the type of squad ye have of course.
07/01/2008, 5:04 PM
You can forget about promotion if Vincent Perth causes such a stir :ball:
Blasphemy! Ah no Vinny is a Town legend as much for his attitude and love of the club as anything else. We should have a squad that will be competitive in the division. Promotion may be a step too far this year but we could certainly hope to be pushing at the top end rather than the bottom.
I heard today Adrian Murphy could be signing, anyone know anything about this? I thought he had given up football in general
07/01/2008, 6:24 PM
Thought he had too. I'd be surprised if he came back at this stage
seand60
08/01/2008, 2:53 PM
Apparently Callaghan has approached all of Athlones team from last season with a view to signing for Longford.
09/01/2008, 10:23 AM
Blasphemy! Ah no Vinny is a Town legend as much for his attitude and love of the club as anything else.
Fair Enough.
We've a squad full of "those" players :o :)
RockofGibraltar
09/01/2008, 10:27 AM
any word yet on players?
Apparently Callaghan has approached all of Athlones team from last season with a view to signing for Longford.
Dunno about all but he's definately contacted most of them.
09/01/2008, 10:42 AM
Dunno about all but he's definately contacted most of them.
Why?!?!?! :eek:
And also, why switch clubs??
Sonic
09/01/2008, 11:26 AM
Why?!?!?!
My sentiments also. There was a time when Athlone used to take our dead wood now it seems the opposite is the case!:(:(
On another note Deegan and Sullivan have both been contacted by Finn Harps with a view to moving there. If they go that is ridiculous. What would either of them be doing up there. if they went to anyone outside Galway Finn Harps or Cobh fair enough but im thinking you may as well stay with Longford as sign for the aforementioned. With 3 down next season they along with maybe UCD look like gonners! Oh and whats all this talk of consolidation. Consolidation of what exactly Relegation!!?? Come on lads show a little foresight and ambition please!!
Why?!?!?! :eek:
And also, why switch clubs??
They were contacted while out of contract with Athlone and before
we had a manager in place to talk to them. Dermie doing the rounds
with last seasons squad at the moment.
Also, serverly reduced pay on the table for whoever signs with us this
season so with the money Mooney to Cork might bring in there might
be more on offer across the way!
I suppose O'Callaghan though if they wanted to stay local, and there
was no word from Athlone, they might join them, and also those who
travelled might travel to Longford now seeing as theres not much distance
between them.
Although, will ye still be training in Dublin?
09/01/2008, 3:50 PM
I wouldn't read an awful lot into the fact that he was talking to them. Aaron and Vinny have been talking to players all around. I think at one stage between the two of them they had spoken to over 60 players. Obviously we aren't going to sign them all, they're just making sure we get the right lads for the right money. It's going to be a much changed set up. Training a lot in Longford I believe hence a good few lads may well be from within driving distance of Longford. It's hard to know what to expect next year but Aaron has a plan that he believes will set the club up with proper foundations for a long time to come, from schoolboy level right up through to the senior squad.
09/01/2008, 4:23 PM
I wouldn't read an awful lot into the fact that he was talking to them. Aaron and Vinny have been talking to players all around. I think at one stage between the two of them they had spoken to over 60 players. Obviously we aren't going to sign them all, they're just making sure we get the right lads for the right money. It's going to be a much changed set up. Training a lot in Longford I believe hence a good few lads may well be from within driving distance of Longford. It's hard to know what to expect next year but Aaron has a plan that he believes will set the club up with proper foundations for a long time to come, from schoolboy level right up through to the senior squad.
well he is one of the most qualified men around to do this. I must get my season ticket next time i'm home.
Keen2win
09/01/2008, 4:39 PM
He seems to be making good progress. Always good news to hear.
09/01/2008, 4:42 PM
it is such a strange situation what athlone are in at da mo/ this time last season athlone took davy byrne off us for bigger wages... now davy byrne has no club.. i wouldnt be too surprised with a few of athlone players joining us. great news about the players regularly training in longford its a long time since this has happened since stephen kennys days...
Davy may be heading up North I hear!
Keen2win
09/01/2008, 4:45 PM
Would these be open training sesions or whats the deal with them?
09/01/2008, 4:58 PM
Davy may be heading up North I hear!
you dont know where ash??
09/01/2008, 4:59 PM
Would these be open training sesions or whats the deal with them?
of course not. Maybe one every so often but a team needs to train in private and get things done in a professional manner. Not something that can be done if people are there looking at them.
Also some scumlone people might come and steal tactics !!!
By training in LOngford that will mean the team will all be friom the midlands area so. Cant see that prospect inticing many dublin based players of any quality. Its a long stay in division one so:(:(
of course not. Maybe one every so often but a team needs to train in private and get things done in a professional manner. Not something that can be done if people are there looking at them.
Also some scumlone people might come and steal tactics !!!
It wouldnt take up too many pages in my notebook..
1. Get ball
2. Hoof
3. Watch ball come back
4. Pick ball out of our net
5. Go to point 1
;) :p
09/01/2008, 8:30 PM
It wouldnt take up too many pages in my notebook..
1. Get ball
2. Hoof
3. Watch ball come back
4. Pick ball out of our net
5. Go to point 1
;) :p
were you at the last open training session ???:D
10/01/2008, 12:00 PM
By training in LOngford that will mean the team will all be friom the midlands area so. Cant see that prospect inticing many dublin based players of any quality. Its a long stay in division one so:(:(
Plenty of decent players in the Midlands/West region if you look hard enough. I'm sure we'll still have a contingent of Dubs too, Vinny has been out and about the Dublin area by all accounts! Longford isn't that bad a drive these days with the motorway. The emphasis is gong to be on players who want to play for the club and if they want to play then one or two nights training in Longford during the week isnt that big a deal. Training wont be solely in Longford just more than previous years
Sonic
10/01/2008, 12:22 PM
Plenty of decent players in the Midlands/West region if you look hard enough. I'm sure we'll still have a contingent of Dubs too, Vinny has been out and about the Dublin area by all accounts! Longford isn't that bad a drive these days with the motorway. The emphasis is gong to be on players who want to play for the club and if they want to play then one or two nights training in Longford during the week isnt that big a deal. Training wont be solely in Longford just more than previous years
Yeah but in fairness the quality players from the Dublin area we would want to attract all have jobs and the last thing they want to be doing is queuing on the M50 to get to longford. And dont mean to be negative but surely if there was quality enough in this area of the country we would have found it by now!
10/01/2008, 12:25 PM
one minute its give local a chance and the next its what about Dublin players....... make up your mind !!!
10/01/2008, 1:00 PM
They've been training in Lucan for the last while anyway, it nearly takes as long to get there as to go the rest of the way. We're going to be looking at younger lads anyway as they're cheaper than the old pros and hungrier too.Plenty of players want the chance to step up and maybe if they impress move to a bigger club. We never really did an awful lot of searching in these areas until now and there's people involved now such as Des Cawley with more contacts in the region than was previously the case. There's no harm in looking at these players and I'd say there'll be a good few looked at in pre-season. It's important for the club in the long term that we have a Longford identity, it's always been one of people's biggest criticisms in the past that the club was practically a Dublin club who played games in Longford. That wont be the case this year, there'll be a lot more of a presence of players and management in Longford, with Aaron or Vinny going to underage games, being around the town a lot more etc.
one minute its give local a chance and the next its what about Dublin players....... make up your mind !!!
Ecuse mate I never once complained about the number of Dublin players in the team. Thats the rest of the towns excuse for not getting out to Flancare. I suggest if you have a team of locals they still wouldnt bother their backsides to come out. They just dont want to support anything successful in our local community so why bother!
10/01/2008, 3:19 PM
Ecuse mate I never once complained about the number of Dublin players in the team. Thats the rest of the towns excuse for not getting out to Flancare. I suggest if you have a team of locals they still wouldnt bother their backsides to come out. They just dont want to support anything successful in our local community so why bother!
Sorry that wasn't directed at you in general. But over the last few seasons people here have complained about lack of locals and local talent in the club.
But yet they want success. Perhaps they should wake up to the fact that a team of locals wouldn't be good enough for the top division and maybe also the 1st division.
Only time will tell
Ronnie
11/01/2008, 8:54 AM
I don't think that happened on here so much, although it is one of the many excuses given by barstoolers for not attending.
Rocky77
11/01/2008, 3:21 PM
I heard today Adrian Murphy could be signing, anyone know anything about this? I thought he had given up football in general
Don't think he has ever even contacted. As far as I'm aware, he's going to play with Slashers this year and has no interest in playing soccer.
Battery Rover
11/01/2008, 3:35 PM
Rumour that ye have signed Damien Rushe ahead of us. Any truth in it?
11/01/2008, 3:51 PM
Sounds possible all right. Aaron's keeping his cards relatively close to his chest until they're back in training. I remember seeing Rushe a few times when he played against us. He's decent enough from what I can recall, a little small though.