View Full Version : Transfer rumours

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

Sonic
15/12/2007, 1:20 PM
Incorrect. If he signs for an Irish club we get money. Not sure how much but it could be up to 60k. He was always paid in full, but you have to miss three consecutive weeks as far as I know anyhow to lose your rights. Probably irrelevant since he looks to be going to Birmingham after impressing on trial according to today's Times

Yesterdays sun said we would get €26500 for him should he go to Cork. Hopefully he goes to Cork so better than nothing:D:D

15/12/2007, 1:43 PM
Saw that alright but saw 60k a few days ago somewhere else. Still as you say whatever it is is better than nothing should he stay in Ireland

Keen2win
15/12/2007, 1:58 PM
Honestly can't see him staying in Ireland though

15/12/2007, 4:41 PM
Incorrect. If he signs for an Irish club we get money. Not sure how much but it could be up to 60k.
Not if he's over 23 and out of contract. Also, the E60k is a suggested fee for players of English Division Three/Scottish Division One (I think) standard, but it doesn't fix the fee and is never paid over here anyway.

15/12/2007, 5:35 PM
Two mates of mine, both decent players, one a former Ireland underage player are hopefully gona goto us for some pre season training. Hopefully they will be taken aboard. A very competent right back and an attacking midfielder.

is one of them ronnie the friend of yours that used to be at galway utd the one you were telling me about??/:confused:

15/12/2007, 5:36 PM
Dempsey retired from football at the end of the season.

who was telling you :confused:tallented re dempsey? first I heard of it....

15/12/2007, 5:40 PM
He's just gone 23 and the club have confirmed with the league that if he stays in Ireland we get compensation.The ruling is 23 and under I believe. As I said its unlikely that he will stay in any event but I do know that we would get something. All the newpsaper artciles have also said we would get a fee. Estimates ranging from €26,500 in one (very specific figure for some reason) to €60,000 in another. Not that that means a lot on its own but it is circumstancial back up!

Keen2win
29/12/2007, 3:41 PM
Any news about possible new players yet

30/12/2007, 6:22 PM
heard from a close source that we are being heavily linked with two athlone town players that are currently out of contract. one a young centre half 6 foot 4' the other a right winger. no names confirmed. any athlone town fans (ASH!) care to clarify who these players are???

Sonic
30/12/2007, 6:33 PM
thats stevie gavin back so!!??

02/01/2008, 7:56 AM
heard from a close source that we are being heavily linked with two athlone town players that are currently out of contract. one a young centre half 6 foot 4' the other a right winger. no names confirmed. any athlone town fans (ASH!) care to clarify who these players are???

Havent heard any rumours ... but then again Athlone Town is a wall of
silence at the moment :o

Centre half sounds like Brian McCarthy ... no offence, well, plenty of offence :p,
but he's better than Longford. Still a bit raw but a great emerging talent.

Winger could be Colm Heffernan ... depends on what money ye have I'd imagine though

Stevie Gavin retired due to other committments . He got married during the season so
dunno if he'll be back playing. Absolute legend and a gent.

PS
Happy New Year Longford ... See ye soon!

02/01/2008, 10:59 AM
Interesting. Young emerging players are definitely the way he wants to go and probably has to go coupled with a spine of senior players. The recruitment process should be kicking off in the next week or two I'd say. He has a lot of players in mind but whether he gets them or not we'll have to see. Shay Kelly is more than likely staying with us apparently and as was said Gary Murphy is coming back too

Sonic
02/01/2008, 11:30 AM
Interesting. Young emerging players are definitely the way he wants to go and probably has to go coupled with a spine of senior players. The recruitment process should be kicking off in the next week or two I'd say. He has a lot of players in mind but whether he gets them or not we'll have to see. Shay Kelly is more than likely staying with us apparently and as was said Gary Murphy is coming back too

Any word on Paul Kelly coming back!!?? Wouldnt be a bad option to take up. He would be as good as Robbie Martin or David Feeman thats for sure aside from maybe the experience and he is local.

02/01/2008, 12:11 PM
Actually just heard that McCarthy and indeed Stevie G are the players in question.
Eric looking for a way back to ye too!

02/01/2008, 1:54 PM
Eric is indeed looking for any way back he can possibly get. Not for the first time. Do we want him back? No. Although we do need a kit man.He'd probably take it too. Paul Kelly is as far as I know a part of the plans for next year. He was playing with the Under 21s last season for a while and did very well

Rocky77
02/01/2008, 2:16 PM
A guy I work with is mates with Collie and he told him over Christmas that he is planning on staying. Says he knew relegation was on the cards when he joined anyway and is prepared to play on.

02/01/2008, 2:58 PM
Heard Sulli and Deego might be staying on aswell. Any truth in that?

02/01/2008, 3:07 PM
Aaron was to get in touch with all the players from last year who hadn't signed for anyone else and he had said that was a priority after he was appointed so I presume he has been in touch with them at this stage. Haven't heard any further than that. Would be good if we could keep those lads and build around them.

Rocky77
02/01/2008, 7:02 PM
What about Vinny? I suppose Aaron wouldn't want the guy who wanted his job playing hanging around, but he's only 31. Would he want to come back now? He had officially retired this time last year before Gill persuaded him to play on.

Tallanted
02/01/2008, 7:15 PM
Vinny, lavine, stevie gavin? They were great servants when they were here before but as far as now is concerned its madness talkin bout bringin these players back.. We need to move on stop liven in the past. If we can keep the players from last year that havent signed for other clubs yet and mix it with youth we will have a competitive team.. All this talk of past players comin back is ridiculous.. They are past players for a reason we need to move on from them.. We have already taken 1 step back into the 1st division lets not take a second step back by becoming an average mid table 1st division club

Rocky77
02/01/2008, 7:29 PM
No one is seriously talking about eric, while the Gavin rumours appear to be coming from management and not fans. As for Vinny, he was in the first division winning side two years ago and played in the team that finished third last season. He's hardly over the hill or anything.

It's fine having hungry young fellas, but you need a few old heads too. Did Stephen Kenny not bring Richie Parsons back?

Tallanted
02/01/2008, 8:15 PM
So we would settle for third then? 9 appearances and 8 as a sub for dundalk last year.. Not exactly a big season.. Its just am opinion that we should be showing a bit more ambition.. Biggest signin we can make this season is gary deegan. Getting him to stay would be a massive boost

Rocky77
02/01/2008, 8:35 PM
Biggest signin we can make this season is gary deegan

Agreed. Would be a real statement of intent on the club's behalf.

So we would settle for third then?

Well considering Shels and Dundalk have done a lot of strengthening and we've still only one player under contract at this minute I'd say yes. Aaron said himself in a Daily Mail interview a couple of weeks back that 2008 is more about consolidation that promotion.

02/01/2008, 9:20 PM
Agreed. Would be a real statement of intent on the club's behalf.

Well considering Shels and Dundalk have done a lot of strengthening and we've still only one player under contract at this minute I'd say yes. Aaron said himself in a Daily Mail interview a couple of weeks back that 2008 is more about consolidation that promotion.

you can have all the squad in the world, but without morale its nothing and Vinny can bring that. A leader and a talker, Eric.......eh no chance:rolleyes:

Gettin Shat Kelly to stay is great if we can do it. We need youth with a few experienced heads as well.

atfconline
02/01/2008, 9:57 PM
Actually just heard that McCarthy and indeed Stevie G are the players in question.
Eric looking for a way back to ye too!

Whether or not Brian will be with us next season, he certainly won't be with Longford. Under 23 with two seasons on a pro contract as well as a few seasons underage with the club adds up to €€€€€€.

I hear they might be adding Tom Silke though. :)

03/01/2008, 11:35 AM
I hear ye have signed/will be signing Ian Rossiter :eek:

03/01/2008, 11:44 AM
I hear ye have signed/will be signing Ian Rossiter :eek:

Info? Rubbish yeah?:o

Sonic
03/01/2008, 12:09 PM
Dont forget Mooney still hasnt signed for anyone else! Well youd never know:D:D

Louth4sam
03/01/2008, 12:53 PM
So we would settle for third then? 9 appearances and 8 as a sub for dundalk last year.. He was injured and unfit most of season but was excellent in a couple of games in the middle of the season before he got injured again. If he could stay injury free and fit he could still do a good job in the first division.

04/01/2008, 1:24 PM
Apparently Vinny is returning to his spiritual home! Aaron is bringing him in as his assistant. He will also be registered as a player. Good news I reckon. It'll be good to have Vincent back around the place.

Rocky77
04/01/2008, 1:31 PM
That's brilliant news, I can't tell you how much that's cheered me up!!!

Altogether now: 'We've got our Vinny back, we've got our vinny back...'

Sonic
04/01/2008, 1:40 PM
Brilliant Vinny we love you!!!

04/01/2008, 1:51 PM
Apparently Vinny is returning to his spiritual home! Aaron is bringing him in as his assistant. He will also be registered as a player. Good news I reckon. It'll be good to have Vincent back around the place.

time to take the jersey out of storage:D

with Aaron and Vinny there now, passion & pride won't be a problem.

04/01/2008, 1:54 PM
From what I've heard it souds like they're really trying to build the club up again and not just go after short term gains. Hopefully the feel good factor can return.

04/01/2008, 1:57 PM
well i'm actually going to get to games this season and looking forward to it. Kildare is my local club where i live and even Athlone and Kilkenny are closer to home than Longford.

04/01/2008, 2:01 PM
Will your fancy a$$ camera be making a return too then..

04/01/2008, 2:05 PM
It will be, my new one...... its part of my business empire now:D;)

Set up new business last year and was mad busy. Didn't make it to one single game.

04/01/2008, 2:34 PM
Great newsa about Vinny! A true legend.

Tallanted
04/01/2008, 2:35 PM
Good to see him get him chance as assitant, will gain valuable experience if this is true, rather see him learnin the trade along side someone rather than have been thrown into the deepend as manager on his own

04/01/2008, 3:31 PM
Welcome back Vinny!

04/01/2008, 3:33 PM
Who's this Vinny fella and what position does he play?

04/01/2008, 3:35 PM
Who's this Vinny fella and what position does he play?

WHAT, i think you should stick to the Sligo forum;)

Put in simple terms.........Vinny is God !!!

04/01/2008, 3:36 PM
Put in simple terms.........Vinny is God !!!His position is heaven so is it?:p

04/01/2008, 3:55 PM
Vincent Perth isn't confined by mortal terms such as position. He is omnipresent and omnipotent..But if you want to lower it down to such a basic level he plays midfield or at a pinch centre back

04/01/2008, 4:13 PM
So we have A player, any word on the rest?

04/01/2008, 4:27 PM
Two or three more have agreed to come but he's not naming names yet by all accounts. Apparently he wants to have a whole load of players training for pre-season and whittle them down from that, having a good look at any and all interested and interesting players. He's still hoping to keep some of the lads we had last year seemingly. I think Shay is likely to be the captain.

Rocky77
04/01/2008, 4:59 PM
I'm interested, but not very interesting... ;)

Seriously though, I haven't been so excited about a new season for a long time!

Cabs88
04/01/2008, 5:02 PM
So we have A player, any word on the rest?

that makes 2 actually, along with Dáire Doyle, Midfield taking shape already;)

Some of the posts on this make me laugh. Lavine, Stephen Gavin, **** it Colin Nataro might be in the frame.(that was a joke, dont start a rumour on it) Tallented was spot on with what he said, hungry players who are willing to learn the game, and not just a dads army selection of journey man. If we could hold on to deego, sulli and kelly its a start. Vinny fully fit would be an addition too, should never have been gottin rid of by matthews, when you look at what he kept on with sheridan and pip keogh.
The feel good factor will only return with a decent start to the league. Lets not kid ourselves, this season, finishing in the top 3 will be a great achievement. Waterford and Shels have added significantly, and dundalk will be strong, as could limerick.
A succesful season will se an improvement in the clubs community relations, and a young hungry team full of potential, all wanting to wear the red and black jersey. Throw in a cup victory or 2 and the majority of supporters will be happy.

On the supporters from myself and Paddy intend to consolidate and increase on last years improvement on support, and bring you more banners, witty ditties and generally keep an atmosphere goin at games!

Here's to 2008
C'MON DE TOWN

04/01/2008, 5:03 PM
could it be said that going down to the 1st division could be a blessing in disguise ??

04/01/2008, 5:12 PM
could it be said that going down to the 1st division could be a blessing in disguise ??

Time will tell...but yes, it could turn out to be a good thing