View Full Version : Georgia Away - 6th September 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11

zenokelly
27/08/2008, 4:46 PM
Just to inform youse lads ,according to the official site of Karlsruhe FC there will be no game in the Wildparkstadion because it is to short of notice, so the waiting goes on.

Jaysus I really hope your wrong, flights booked.....:o
I presume this is it?http://www.ksc.de/aktuelles/anzeigen/news/kein-wm-qualifikationsspiel-im-wildpark-1.html

Cowboy
27/08/2008, 5:12 PM
Yep that site does seem to say that, very strange that the Georgians were not aware of this

Just to inform youse lads ,according to the official site of Karlsruhe FC there will be no game in the Wildparkstadion because it is to short of notice, so the waiting goes on.

27/08/2008, 5:17 PM
And from FAI.ie

Georgia V Ireland: No decision yet from FIFA
Date: Wednesday, 27 August 2008
Section: International
At close of business today, FIFA has made no decision in relation to the venue for the Group 8 World Cup Qualifier between Georgia and Republic of Ireland on September 6. We remind fans that FIFA is the only authority who will make a decision on this fixture. The FAI will keep fans updated on www.fai.ie in the event of a FIFA decision.

Juanace
27/08/2008, 8:22 PM
OH ****E!!!

We've just booked EIGHT flights to Frankfurt and then onto Dubrovnik...400euro each!!!!

Could it still be a German city? Jaysus anywhere in central europe will do:mad::mad::mad:

Colie
27/08/2008, 8:29 PM
All I'll say is it better not be on in fookeen Georgia coz I've already cancelled me flights & hotel! Bloody war. Could they not have had it during the Summer break.:mad:

AidoP
27/08/2008, 10:17 PM
OH ****E!!!

Could it still be a German city? Jaysus anywhere in central europe will do:mad::mad::mad:

Apparently it couldve been in Munich or London as well so lets just see wat the people at FIFA say.

27/08/2008, 11:50 PM
Think i might be phoning FIFA from work again tomorrow demanding to speak to someone who knows whats going on :mad:
Complete joke......wouldn't happen with any other country :mad:

DubinLondon
28/08/2008, 9:35 AM
Typical ****ing FIFA useless shower of -----, I have a feeling that it will either be in Graz and or they might just tell the Germans to get their fingers out it only took them four days to overun poland a few years back!

Condex
28/08/2008, 9:42 AM
OH ****E!!!

We've just booked EIGHT flights to Frankfurt and then onto Dubrovnik...400euro each!!!!

Could it still be a German city? Jaysus anywhere in central europe will do:mad:

Only £45 down the pan:mad: here, after spending a week in Norway
which musyt have cost me the guts of £900..

Why the feck was this rumour not quashed earlier..

28/08/2008, 10:10 AM
Gerogian FA officail just on Radio 1 said it will be held in Meinz in germany, 10K seater stadium...........

28/08/2008, 12:00 PM
M-Qualifikation Georgien gegen Irland in Mainz

Das WM-Qualifikationsspiel zwischen Georgien und Irland am Samstag, 6. September (Anpfiff 18 Uhr), wird im Mainzer Bruchwegstadion ausgetragen. Der 1. FSV Mainz 05 springt als Organisator kurzfristig als Ersatz für den ursprünglich ausgewählten Spielort Karlsruhe ein. Die Partie wird aufgrund der unsicheren politischen Lage in Georgien an einem neutralen Ort ausgetragen. Der georgische Verband will die Partie in Deutschland absolvieren und hatte sich an den Deutschen Fußball-Bund gewandt.

„Wir freuen uns, dass wir dem georgischen Verband kurzfristig aushelfen können. Auch für unsere Fans ist diese Partie sicher ein interessantes und außergewöhnliches Fußballereignis“, sagt 05-Präsident Harald Strutz. „Darüber hinaus freuen wir uns auf den Besuch von vielen Fans aus Irland, die durch dieses Spiel unsere Stadt kennen lernen.“

Derzeit laufen Abstimmungen mit dem georgischen Verband und dem Weltfußballverband FIFA zu diesem WM-Qualifikationsspiel. Informationen unter anderem zum Kartenvorverkauf folgen, sobald sie vorliegen. Da ausschließlich Sitzplätze zugelassen sind, beträgt die Kapazität des Bruchwegstadions zu dieser Partie nur 10.400 Plätze.

28/08/2008, 12:16 PM
Rebooked my hotel for Mainz, looking forward to a good weekend and hopefully three points.

DubinLondon
28/08/2008, 12:18 PM
Delaney on Radio just confirmed Mainz, about an hour from Frankfurt at least its deffo on and I love German Beer!!!!!

DubinLondon
28/08/2008, 12:22 PM
€250 on Swine air dub Frankfurt Hahn return

DubinLondon
28/08/2008, 12:23 PM
£70 on swine from London

28/08/2008, 12:25 PM
Lads for fecks sake, unless you are travelling on the saturday think outside the box, you do not have to fly to Frankfurst. This is Germany, trains run on time and are fast and reliable. You can fly to fecking Berlin and still make it.

AidoP
28/08/2008, 12:26 PM
M-Qualifikation Georgien gegen Irland in Mainz

Das WM-Qualifikationsspiel zwischen Georgien und Irland am Samstag, 6. September (Anpfiff 18 Uhr), wird im Mainzer Bruchwegstadion ausgetragen. Der 1. FSV Mainz 05 springt als Organisator kurzfristig als Ersatz für den ursprünglich ausgewählten Spielort Karlsruhe ein. Die Partie wird aufgrund der unsicheren politischen Lage in Georgien an einem neutralen Ort ausgetragen. Der georgische Verband will die Partie in Deutschland absolvieren und hatte sich an den Deutschen Fußball-Bund gewandt.

„Wir freuen uns, dass wir dem georgischen Verband kurzfristig aushelfen können. Auch für unsere Fans ist diese Partie sicher ein interessantes und außergewöhnliches Fußballereignis“, sagt 05-Präsident Harald Strutz. „Darüber hinaus freuen wir uns auf den Besuch von vielen Fans aus Irland, die durch dieses Spiel unsere Stadt kennen lernen.“

Derzeit laufen Abstimmungen mit dem georgischen Verband und dem Weltfußballverband FIFA zu diesem WM-Qualifikationsspiel. Informationen unter anderem zum Kartenvorverkauf folgen, sobald sie vorliegen. Da ausschließlich Sitzplätze zugelassen sind, beträgt die Kapazität des Bruchwegstadions zu dieser Partie nur 10.400 Plätze.

Its mainly just saying that the match is scheduled for a 6pm kick-off (German time) in Mainz as a substitute stadium for Karlsruhe and the president of Mainz 05 is happy to be able to help out the Georgian FA and looks forward to the visit of many Irish fans for the match and they can get to know their city. Information regarding advance ticket sales will be issued soon. The stadium only has a 10,400 capacity. Thats about it really.

DubinLondon
28/08/2008, 12:31 PM
Lads for fecks sake, unless you are travelling on the saturday think outside the box, you do not have to fly to Frankfurst. This is Germany, trains run on time and are fast and reliable. You can fly to fecking Berlin and still make it.

We are sorted as we will be in Vienna German trains are great just bloody expensive!!

Here is a translation

World cup qualifiers: Georgia v Ireland in Mains.

The world cup qualifier between Georgia and Ireland on Sat 6 September (kick off 1800), will be played in the Bruchwegstadium in Mainz. 1. FSV Mainz 05 is replacing the Karlsruhe as organisers for this game. The match has been moved to a neutral place due to the political situation in Georgia. The Georgian football association had expressed the wish to play in Germany and approached the German Football Association.

"We are pleased to be able to help the Georgian Football Association at such short notice. For our Fans, this game should also be interesting and unusual", said 05-President Harald Strutz. "Moreover, we are looking forward to welcoming many Irish fans to our city, which they will be able to get to know at the same time."

Currently, the Georgian Football Association and FIFA are voting on issues relating to this game. Further information, for example relating to advance ticket sales, will be made public as soon as decisions have been made. As there will only be seated areas in the stadium, the current max capacity is 10400.

28/08/2008, 12:33 PM
Summary thread updated with a few bits of Mainz info - ground pictures, town location, wiki articles, etc.

28/08/2008, 1:14 PM
http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/organisation/media/newsid=863721.html#georgia+republic+ireland+take+p lace+mainz

Fr. Joe
28/08/2008, 1:30 PM
The Georgian Football Federation is acting as host association for this fixture and is in charge of all arrangements including ticket allocation for the match. We have already asked the Georgian Football Federation to inform us of ticketing allocations for this match and expect to receive a response soon. In the interim the FAI has sent a team of staff members to Mainz who are in the process of negotiating a ticketing operation for Irish fans at the stadium in the days leading up to the match. As soon as this has been finalised and signed off by all parties, we will provide further details for fans on www.fai.ie.

The FAI welcomes FIFA’s decision to put the safety of fans and players first by playing this match in a neutral venue.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3490

hamburg paul
28/08/2008, 2:00 PM
The Georgian Football Federation is acting as host association for this fixture and is in charge of all arrangements including ticket allocation for the match. We have already asked the Georgian Football Federation to inform us of ticketing allocations for this match and expect to receive a response soon. In the interim the FAI has sent a team of staff members to Mainz who are in the process of negotiating a ticketing operation for Irish fans at the stadium in the days leading up to the match. As soon as this has been finalised and signed off by all parties, we will provide further details for fans on www.fai.ie.

The FAI welcomes FIFA’s decision to put the safety of fans and players first by playing this match in a neutral venue.

http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3490

Kick off is at 18.00 local time and the stadium capacity is 10,400 :)

newrynyuk
28/08/2008, 2:34 PM
Poor Karlsruhr, the hotels and bars there were expecting a big bonanza. They got mass bookings and cancellations all within the space of 24 hours.

I was going to Tbilist via Frankfurt and Vienna anyway, so it's only a slight detour rather than a full cancellation for me. Just sorted my hotel room in Mainz. Less than two hours since the official confirmation and nearly all accommodation in the city is gone. We ARE an on-the-ball bunch, aren't we?

SuperDave
28/08/2008, 4:11 PM
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&hl=en&geocode=&q=&ie=UTF8&ll=50.001064,8.245711&spn=0.006648,0.019312&t=h&z=16

stadium looks a bit small

SuperDave
28/08/2008, 4:17 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stadion_am_Bruchweg

joe_barry80
28/08/2008, 6:09 PM
Any news on the ticket situation?? Thinking of driving up myself.

Colie
28/08/2008, 8:55 PM
Over €500 worth of a trip down the drain! The things we do for the Boys in Green! Anyways, plan B, me & Beavis are sorted as follows:

€49 a night for a double room here beside Mainz somewhere:
http://www.goldentulipruesselsheim.de/

€220 total for 2, aerlingus, to Frankfurt Thursday 4th
http://www.aerlingus.com/cgi-bin/obel01im1/bookonline/index.jsp

Planes, trains & automobiles to Podgorica after the hurling on Sunday. Should be fun.

Greenforever
29/08/2008, 12:42 AM
Poor Karlsruhr, the hotels and bars there were expecting a big bonanza. They got mass bookings and cancellations all within the space of 24 hours.

I was going to Tbilist via Frankfurt and Vienna anyway, so it's only a slight detour rather than a full cancellation for me. Just sorted my hotel room in Mainz. Less than two hours since the official confirmation and nearly all accommodation in the city is gone. We ARE an on-the-ball bunch, aren't we?

Bet Karlshulz Football Club Managment are not the most popular people in their town today:D

When I was booking our rooms on Weds night in Mainz the girl asked was there something on in town next weekend, I said NO WAY NEVER :D:D

Sligo Hornet
29/08/2008, 6:46 AM
Bet Karlshulz Football Club Managment are not the most popular people in their town today:D

When I was booking our rooms on Weds night in Mainz the girl asked was there something on in town next weekend, I said NO WAY NEVER :D

The Wine Festival of course!;)

DubinLondon
29/08/2008, 8:11 AM
and the wine festival in Stuttgart a couple of years ago was spot on..happy days

Sligo Hornet
29/08/2008, 9:05 AM
The Old Town in Mainz looks quite good.....and The Old Town Square looks ideal for the usual pre-match football launching!;)

http://realtravel.com/mainz-photos-p40027-4006175.html

Moscow Mule
29/08/2008, 12:19 PM
The Old Town in Mainz looks quite good.....and The Old Town Square looks ideal for the usual pre-match football launching!;)

http://realtravel.com/mainz-photos-p40027-4006175.html

The Old Town Square looks like Prague without the balls. Watch out incoming!

29/08/2008, 1:57 PM
Just got a call from the FAI, Those that were going to Georgia are going to get tickets for the game in Germany

Sligo Hornet
29/08/2008, 2:11 PM
Just got a call from the FAI, Those that were going to Georgia are going to get tickets for the game in Germany

Good News:):)

Newryrep
29/08/2008, 2:23 PM

any idea how we are going to get them from FAI/Whoever? collect them from a hotel over there after showing id ?

29/08/2008, 2:25 PM
I was told that they will probably be available from the ground and that if you were going to Georgia that they will be there in an envelope with your name on it from probably Tuesday. Just to point out this is the proposed arrangment for those who had tickets for the Georgia game promised to them by the FAI.

Newryrep
29/08/2008, 2:43 PM
I was told that they will probably be available from the ground and that if you were going to Georgia that they will be there in an envelope with your name on it from probably Tuesday. Just to point out this is the proposed arrangment for those who had tickets for the Georgia game promised to them by the FAI.

If that is the case I will probably head to Mainz on the Wed night and pick the tickets up on Thur before a Rhine cruise. Will look for a cheaper hotel Wed/Thur, couldnt afford Novotel for 5 nights but dont want to be constantly travelling

29/08/2008, 3:28 PM
Got the same call. More info Monday but everyone who had tickets booked for Tbilisi will get them for Mainz.

It's easy to say now that I'm sorted but I don't think tickets will be too hard in the end. We bought 20,000 to Stuttgart but had 9 months notice. Gweorgia are much less attractive opponents and time is limited to organise things.

29/08/2008, 4:04 PM
i dont think we brought that many to stuttgart in fairness, id say it was closer to 8 - 10 in the end.

upthecats
29/08/2008, 6:23 PM
My first post on this forum! I have just returned to Ireland having lived in Mainz/Wiesbaden area for 10 years. Am glad to answer any questions in relation to the area.

Maybe some of the following might be helpful:

A bus takes you directly from Frankfurt-Hahn airport to Mainz central station - journey time about 1 hour 10 minutes. http://www.orn-online.de/aiportshuttle/busfahrplan_mainz.htm. If you are in a group of 10 people you can ask for a group rate - but price is normally 11 euro.

Direct S-Bahn train from Frankfurt International airport to Mainz central station.

If hotels in Mainz are full, then Wiesbaden is fine too - just 10 from Mainz by train. It is a beautiful city too - Achat hotel in Wiesbaden is just 50 Euro/night & would be fine - www.achat-hotel.de (http://www.achat-hotel.de). There is also an Ibis in Wiesbaden with rooms normally around 45 euro/night - www.accorhotels.com (http://www.accorhotels.com) or http://www.accorhotels.com/accorhotels/fichehotel/gb/ibi/1179/fiche_hotel.shtml

Mainz is a lively student city with loads of restaurants & bars & a lovely pedestrian area. Wiesbaden has loads of restaurants & bars too & is a beautiful city. Both have cracking irish pubs! www.irish-pub-mainz.de (http://www.irish-pub-mainz.de).

Weather is great there at the moment - 33 degrees yesterday in Mainz!!

29/08/2008, 6:57 PM
yo.u obviously werent in the main square then

Kilcruise
30/08/2008, 8:08 PM
Ayone reckon we could catch the all ireland hurling final whilst in mainz? What would be the best pub?

SuperDub
30/08/2008, 8:41 PM
Ayone reckon we could catch the all ireland hurling final whilst in mainz? What would be the best pub?

I think this pub could be showing it

http://www.theporterhouse.de/impressum.html

Kilcruise
30/08/2008, 9:02 PM
Thanks for that superdub. Will check it out next sunday

upthecats
31/08/2008, 10:24 AM
Hi Kilcruise! Have checked it out & the Irish Pub on Weissliliengasse 5 are definitely showing it on the big screen - www.irish-pub-mainz.de (http://www.irish-pub-mainz.de). This was my local for years when I lived in the area & the manager is a mad GAA fan from Wexford. Think the starting time is 16.30, German time.

Saint Tom
31/08/2008, 6:22 PM
We got a full refund from our original czech airlines fare - got dublin to frankfurt (FRA with aer lingus) for €100 out thursday morning at about 6 am. Then we have a flight from Stuttgart on Midday Sunday(1 and a half hour by train from Mainz €29 pp on bahn.de) to Belgrade with german wings for €80 to catch our original JAT flight to Podgorica. Get €400+ plus refund and the new arrangements cost under €200. Would have loved to go to Tbilisi but it worked out alright in the end. Booked the hilton in Mainz @ €40 pppn. Five of us on this route.

31/08/2008, 7:30 PM
just booked ryanair from kerry to frankfurt for €87 return, didnt realise kerry had an airport!!!

Moscow Mule
31/08/2008, 8:05 PM
We got a full refund from our original czech airlines fare - got dublin to frankfurt (FRA with aer lingus) for €100 out thursday morning at about 6 am. Then we have a flight from Stuttgart on Midday Sunday(1 and a half hour by train from Mainz €29 pp on bahn.de) to Belgrade with german wings for €80 to catch our original JAT flight to Podgorica. Get €400+ plus refund and the new arrangements cost under €200. Would have loved to go to Tbilisi but it worked out alright in the end. Booked the hilton in Mainz @ €40 pppn. Five of us on this route.

Sounds liike you have come out ok Tom. We are booked in the Novotel Mainz from Thursday night so will tie up no doubt.

01/09/2008, 9:33 AM
upthecats where abouts is the Hotel Etap in Mainz? They are usually way out but im assuming mainz is small enough so it must be close enough. How much would it cost to get a taxi from there to the place where you can get the bus to hahn? Are you aware of any other hotels in Mainz still available for saturday?

upthecats
01/09/2008, 10:32 AM
hi Paul, the etap hotel is approx 5 km out from the city centre & the main station where bus to hahn is. would cost 10 euro in taxi. don't know about other hotels with free rooms, but will try to get back to u on it a little later!