Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11

Sligo Hornet
21/08/2008, 7:24 AM
Munich if I am being selfish - anywhere (within reason) but London

Did you get your refund in the end Newry?:confused:

Newryrep
21/08/2008, 7:39 AM
Did you get your refund in the end Newry?:confused:

Yeah Sligo Hornet, they offered to fully refund the whole DUB-Rg -TBS - RIga as they had changed the schedule ????? not really sure why but would offer taxes only if i cancelled the Tbilisi legs I double checked with them so I cancelled the whole thing happy days.

So in theory I am standing in Dublin airport not majorily out of pocket waiting for them to decide where the game is. The only criteria is I have to be in Berlin on Mon 8th as we are staying there a few days. I also have a Riga - Berlin on the Mon 8th morning that I will probably cancell.

I could do with them deciding today as its is the wifes birthday tomorrow and we are away for a long weekend and not lkely to be near a computer. It will be hard to sell London to her as a holiday destination:) Please god anywhere but London.

21/08/2008, 8:50 AM
Go to Montenegro as the holiday bit. Lovely part of the world and I am sure she will love it.

London suits me somewhere like Craven Cottage would be grand, It would be like a home game for us. Munich would be good also.

21/08/2008, 9:11 AM
Look JD, if you are pushing the Georgians for London, cut it out.
That's mad Newry Rep how you got refund off Air Baltic cos they changed the route schedule, that was months ago and doesn't effect the situation in Georgia, madness, but well done. Wish it was as simple for us with our Air Baltic flights. Minute we know the venue, they'll get harassed.

Newryrep
21/08/2008, 10:23 AM
Go to Montenegro as the holiday bit. Lovely part of the world and I am sure she will love it.

Gave up on Montenegro a long time ago due to difficullty/expense trying to get from Tbilisi and so made other plans namely a few days in Berlin and a few days in Nice.

Green Tribe I doubt that you will get a refund but think they will eventully give you a credit. Funny thing about the refund is, i orignally paid to alter the Riga-Dub flight from the 8th to the 12th. When they moved this to the 13th it didnt suit so they refunded me the flight and the cost of the change from the 8th to 12th which i wasnt expecting.

When they offered to fully refund on the whole trip yesterday i double checked and nearly bit their hand off. good luck with it refunds cost them money but changing to other usually doesnt cost them much.

aidz1
21/08/2008, 10:30 AM
Gave up on Montenegro a long time ago due to difficullty/expense trying to get from Tbilisi and so made other plans namely a few days in Berlin and a few days in Nice.

Green Tribe I doubt that you will get a refund but think they will eventully give you a credit. Funny thing about the refund is, i orignally paid to alter the Riga-Dub flight from the 8th to the 12th. When they moved this to the 13th it didnt suit so they refunded me the flight and the cost of the change from the 8th to 12th which i wasnt expecting.

When they offered to fully refund on the whole trip yesterday i double checked and nearly bit their hand off. good luck with it refunds cost them money but changing to other usually doesnt cost them much.

Did you get your money back already or have you been told the expected time your fare will be returned?

galah
21/08/2008, 10:45 AM
air baltic reply to me over the changing flights..

Hello,
We know what the situation in Georgia is, but our flights to Tibilisi are safe and that is why we continue operations.
The date change is possible only in accordance to regular date change procedures and fare rules.
If you are not willing to use the tickets at all, we can offer you airport tax refund.
Destanation changes is not allowed.

Kind regards,
airBaltic reservations.

21/08/2008, 10:47 AM
i know newry rep, the most i'm expecting is a credit note due to force majeure as you say.
What use a credit note will be to us if the game ends up in London or somewhere Air Baltic don't fly to :(

21/08/2008, 10:49 AM
galah., we are getting the same response from air baltic, can't believe they won't do destination change that's crap, :mad:

Newryrep
21/08/2008, 11:16 AM
Did you get your money back already or have you been told the expected time your fare will be returned?

Aidz 15-25 working days, seems pretty standard, got my Riga-Dub refund in the next month credit card statement.

Newryrep
21/08/2008, 11:28 AM
galah., we are getting the same response from air baltic, can't believe they won't do destination change that's crap, :mad:

Galah/GT That is a joke: They are bacically

Asking you to fly into an area where multiple countries including our own have deemed unsafe with no insurance as it would be invalidated. If this doesnt come under force majeure I dont know what does

FORCE MAJEURE” means unusual and unforeseeable circumstances beyond your control, the consequences of which could not have been avoided even if all due care had been exercised.

Are the circumsstances unusual - Yes
Were they unforeseable - yes
were they beyond your control - yes
could they have been avoided - no

Ask them how is it not force majuere ? you will get a credit in the end.

Greenforever
21/08/2008, 3:19 PM
Just cancelled with Czech Airlines, getting full refund.

Anyone looking for same ring the Dublin Office 018144626 Option 3.

Doesnt matter what fare class, as long as you are travelling with them from Dublin.

21/08/2008, 3:26 PM
will try newry rep. rumour now is the game may still be in georgia!

Claret Murph
25/08/2008, 6:37 AM
Now I may be wrong here but wasn't the 24th of August the day that FIFA had given them to decide a new venue ?

And is this the 25th today or am I losing it altogther ( don't answer that one )

Milesmayhem24
25/08/2008, 7:43 AM
According to the FAI website they have until the 26th to name an alternative venue

cobra
26/08/2008, 8:32 AM
Just cancelled with Czech Airlines, getting full refund.

Anyone looking for same ring the Dublin Office 018144626 Option 3.

Doesnt matter what fare class, as long as you are travelling with them from Dublin.

did you book through czech airlines or like me through expedia:( or other website

Sligo Hornet
26/08/2008, 9:00 AM
Looks more likely to be "back" in Tbilisi.......unfortunately:(

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0826/1219679952521.html

galah
26/08/2008, 12:36 PM
hopin it still is to be honest ...have spent enough on gettin there and away at this stage!

DubinLondon
26/08/2008, 1:56 PM
Just had a look at the map of Europe and if any of these three come up we should be sorted from Vienna, just need to make our way from Vienna to any of these by train journey but not too bad 2 1/2 hours from Vienna to Graz 6-7 hours to Krackow and 9 Hours to Karlsruhe??? I vote for Vienna and back to Charlie P's great crack there last year between the Slovakia and Czech games It will probably be still in Tbilisi but at least we have alternatives!

Greenforever
26/08/2008, 4:40 PM
did you book through czech airlines or like me through expedia:( or other website

booked direct through czech airlines, they actually rang antofact today and asked him did he want to travel or a refund.

they obviously dont remember him travelling with them last year:D:D

Fr. Murphy
26/08/2008, 10:33 PM
The game has been confirmed for the German town of Karlsruhe according to Setanta.

26/08/2008, 10:37 PM
They are just quoting reuters who are quoting the Georgian FA and what he said was that they will nominate Karlsrhue as the neutral venue but will still ask Fifa to play it in Tiblisi, As far as I know there is a meeting tomorrow and FIFA must decide then.

Greenforever
26/08/2008, 10:54 PM
Stadium in Karshrue only holds 14,724 people seated, over 18,000 extra on terraces, so we would be only entitled to 1,474 tickets, if the Georgians are awkward!

Greenforever
27/08/2008, 1:51 AM
Completly rebooked:

Dublin Frankfurt Hahn Ryanair Fri €50

Frankfurt Podgurcia via Belgrade, out Mon back Thurs Jat Airlines €393 pp

Frankfurt to Dublin Aer Lingus Thurs €71

Hotel in karlshrue €69 per room per night

Need one night in frankfurt and Hotel in Montenegro was cheap, dont know exact price!

If the match isnt on in Germany I'll cry and scream:eek:

reder
27/08/2008, 8:29 AM
How far is it from Frankfurt (Main Airport) to Karlshrue? Would Frankfurt-Hahn be quicker travel wise? Also any ideas what time kick off is at?

eaststand85
27/08/2008, 8:32 AM
According to the Irish Times this will be finally settled today with Karlsruhe looking the most likely:
http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/soccer/2008/0827/1219680039056.html
They also say "Karlsruhe, which is within easy reach of three airports (Baden-Baden, Frankfurt and Stuttgart), is near the French-German border in the south-west of the country" so going to look into flights now as can't make Montenegro game and couldn't justify a weekend trip to Georgia.

UweBarschel
27/08/2008, 8:35 AM
How far is it from Frankfurt (Main Airport) to Karlshrue? Would Frankfurt-Hahn be quicker travel wise? Also any ideas what time kick off is at?

It's about 90mins by car and train to Karlsruhe. It is far easy to get to Karlsruhe via the proper Frankfurt Airport

Havent checked the fares yet, but the nearest Airport is Karlsruhe-Baden (FKB), which is a Ryanair Airport. You can get there via Dublin and Stansted (amongst others)

eaststand85
27/08/2008, 8:45 AM
It's about 90mins by car and train to Karlsruhe. It is far easy to get to Karlsruhe via the proper Frankfurt Airport

Havent checked the fares yet, but the nearest Airport is Karlsruhe-Baden (FKB), which is a Ryanair Airport. You can get there via Dublin and Stansted (amongst others)

Ryanair looking for €360 plus taxes from Dublin. Lufthansa want crazy money to Frankfurt but Aer Lingus not too bad at €180.

27/08/2008, 8:50 AM
Any idea for kick off time? Might try fly in the morning of the game, no ticket but feck it a night away anyway :)

27/08/2008, 9:09 AM
Something to be aware of for those who have booked flights to Georgia, Montenegro and home and are considering scrapping the Georgia leg and picking up the rest of the route, IF you are booked on one reservation (one PNR) and you don't show for a flight leg (eg Dublin-Tblisi), most airlines reservation systems automatically cancel the remaining legs of your trip.

Obviously doesn't apply to those who booked each flight separately eg with a low cost carrier who don't offer interlining.

Something to be mindful of for those who are booking another flight to Karlesruhe and planning to pick up their existing flights to Montenegro later.

Sligo Hornet
27/08/2008, 9:11 AM
Something to be aware of for those who have booked flights to Georgia, Montenegro and home and are considering scrapping the Georgia leg and picking up the rest of the route, IF you are booked on one reservation (one PNR) and you don't show for a flight leg (eg Dublin-Tblisi), most airlines reservation systems automatically cancel the remaining legs of your trip.

Obviously doesn't apply to those who booked each flight separately eg with a low cost carrier who don't offer interlining.

Something to be mindful of for those who are booking another flight to Karlesruhe and planning to pick up their existing flights to Montenegro later.

Very good tip ORA!:)

27/08/2008, 9:11 AM
Any idea for kick off time? Might try fly in the morning of the game, no ticket but feck it a night away anyway :)

One thing is for certain it will not be a problem gettting a ticket for this game.

27/08/2008, 9:15 AM
Feck it have booked flights. Heading over solo if anyone wants to meet up for drinks and sing songs about Athlone ;)

galah
27/08/2008, 9:41 AM
its not definate yet though is it ...still waitin on fifa to confirm right???

27/08/2008, 10:01 AM
still not 100% have insurance on the flights so we shall see.

27/08/2008, 10:30 AM
What insurance do you have, is it the Ryanair insurance.

27/08/2008, 10:38 AM
Have my own multitrip insurance.

27/08/2008, 10:39 AM
Can you just claim that back no matter what the reason is.

27/08/2008, 11:56 AM
Apparently yes! I did not organise it myself had it done through work.

Newryrep
27/08/2008, 12:40 PM
Can you just claim that back no matter what the reason is.

What insurance did you have and are you covered if you go against DFA advice ?

AidoP
27/08/2008, 1:01 PM
Will it be easy enuff to get tickets in Karlsruhe cos a few of us will be travellin up from Munich on the day of the match? Any ideas about the time of kick-off?

27/08/2008, 1:14 PM
It has not even been confirmed yet so kick off times etc is a bit jumping the gun. Tickets I am sure will be fine but this really is unchartered territory so usual rules do not apply.

Fr. Joe
27/08/2008, 1:19 PM
Its down for 5pm Irish time on a TV listings site.

http://liveonsat.com/08_foot_fifa_WC2010.php

27/08/2008, 1:46 PM
That was the original game in Tiblisi. 8pm local time.

DubinLondon
27/08/2008, 2:50 PM
3 of us booked in a nice Hotel in Karlsruhe for the saturday night can cancel up to 48 hours before if it still goes ahead inTbilisi.. Just had a gander on Ryan air €200 plus to fly to Karlsruhe from Dublin and £200 to fly there from London, now all we need is for the nice people at Austrian airlines to refund our trip to Georgia???

AidoM
27/08/2008, 3:00 PM
3 of us booked in a nice Hotel in Karlsruhe for the saturday night can cancel up to 48 hours before if it still goes ahead inTbilisi.. Just had a gander on Ryan air €200 plus to fly to Karlsruhe from Dublin and £200 to fly there from London, now all we need is for the nice people at Austrian airlines to refund our trip to Georgia???

What hotel

DubinLondon
27/08/2008, 3:04 PM
Hotel Astoria

galah
27/08/2008, 3:07 PM
booked flights to frankfurt - hahn there for 50e ....bus to frankfurt on the friday night and 1hr train next day ...not too bad ..prices at around 80e stil....

AidoM
27/08/2008, 4:35 PM
From FAI website today - 27th August 2008

"At close of business today, FIFA has made no decision in relation to the venue for the Group 8 World Cup Qualifier between Georgia and Republic of Ireland on September 6. We remind fans that FIFA is the only authority who will make a decision on this fixture. The FAI will keep fans updated on www.fai.ie in the event of a FIFA decision."

hamburg paul
27/08/2008, 4:43 PM

Just to inform youse lads ,according to the official site of Karlsruhe FC there will be no game in the Wildparkstadion because it is to short of notice, so the waiting goes on.