View Full Version : Georgia Away - 6th September 2008

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

20/01/2008, 3:33 PM
If only I could get more holiday. Mr and Mrs Mule will have been married for 25 years this year and have some other trips already bagged, so difficult to make the Monty game. We will just have to make the most of the Georgia game.

Is Paul going?

As long as he remembers his passport. Just did a quick change of flights and going via Talinn now and not flying back via London. Roll on September or August first and the Norway friendly

20/01/2008, 3:37 PM
On that note I have flights from Riga to Stansted and Stansted to Zadar if anybody is interested in them and we can just change the names on the flights. Long shot I know but if anybody is interested just pm me.

AidoM
20/01/2008, 5:17 PM
Four of us taking the "Saint Tom pilgrimage" ;) :D route

Dublin - Prague - Tbilisi ex Dublin Thursday 4th Sept 11.00 arrive Tbilisi 03.05 Friday 5th (7 hour lay over in Prague but better have plenty of time - later flight (16.45) ex Dublin leaves it tight)

Tbilisi- Prague ex Tbilisi Sunday 7th Sept 04.05 arrive Prague 05.55.

Booked as a return via e-bookers with Czech Air worked out @ €421.70 - €300 cheaper than 2 seperate legs. :confused:

Prague - Belgrade - Podgorica (JAT Airways) ex Prague Sunday 7th Sept 10.40 arrive Podgorica 18.50 (5.40 layover in Belgrade). Cost €202 (and rising fast)

Dubrovnik - Dublin Friday 12th Sept depart 12.40 arriving Dublin 15.05. Cost €245.

stojkovic
20/01/2008, 5:53 PM
The bouncer in my local is from Tbilisi. Huge c*nt, lovely fella. He says that the best and cheapest way to Tbilisi is indeed via Riga. When I asked him about Tbilisi to Podgorica, he said forget about it.

Wasnt impressed when I asked had he got any sisters at home.

The Banner Man
20/01/2008, 6:42 PM
Travelling with AidoM, Bear Eleven & another on this Double Header

AidoM
21/01/2008, 10:41 AM
Travelling with AidoM, Bear Eleven & another on this Double Header

I booked it all on the plastic :eek: only hope these pay up their share :rolleyes: :D

21/01/2008, 11:18 AM
I booked it all on the plastic :eek: only hope these pay up their share

you are a very brave man. :D

Been down that route and never again. About 8 of us travel roughly together but it's difficult to get agreement.

3 of us booked to Tbilisi and back then out to Dubrovnik and 1 booked back to Prague from Tbilisi and then home from Dubrovnik - more still deciding.

I've learned the hard way re checking prices, making phone calls, price has gone up, making phone calls etc etc.

AidoM
21/01/2008, 12:12 PM
you are a very brave man. :D

Been down that route and never again. About 8 of us travel roughly together but it's difficult to get agreement.

3 of us booked to Tbilisi and back then out to Dubrovnik and 1 booked back to Prague from Tbilisi and then home from Dubrovnik - more still deciding.

I've learned the hard way re checking prices, making phone calls, price has gone up, making phone calls etc etc.

I was only slagging them gs. In fairness we met and agreed the route and the approximate costs (which went up a bit ) but they had no problem with the route or the additional cost. There's a lodgement to my account today from one of them :) and I know the rest will follow ............. exits with beads :D

Bear Eleven
21/01/2008, 3:29 PM
I was only slagging them gs. In fairness we met and agreed the route and the approximate costs (which went up a bit ) but they had no problem with the route or the additional cost. There's a lodgement to my account today from one of them :) and I know the rest will follow ............. exits with beads :D

What meeting, what route , what costs.
Do i know you.

21/01/2008, 6:06 PM
What meeting, what route , what costs.
Do i know you.

Are you not barred from Georgia?:D
Going to start looking at plans this week ourselves

Colie
21/01/2008, 8:20 PM
Bloody hell! Already buzzin for these. Caaaaaaaadiff seems like only yesterday. I'm looking for drinking buddies on all these journeys as the cronies have ditched me, so anyone else on this route let me know. Most difficult trip to date.

€888 for this lot. Haven’t even booked the hotels yet.

Flight Number: BT662
Date: Thursday, September 04, 2008
To: RIX - Riga
Departs: 1:25 PM
Arrives: 6:20 PM

Flight Number: BT722
To: TBS - Novo Alexeyevka, Tbilisi
Departs: 10:40 PM
Arrives: 3:10 AM Friday
----------------------------------

Flight No.: BT723
Date: Mo 08/09/08
Departure: 03:45 Tbilisi
Arrival: 06:20 Riga

Flight No.: BT431
Departure: 07:25 Riga
Arrival: 08:25 Vienna

Flight No.: OS773
Departure: 13:30 Vienna
Arrival: 14:40 Belgrade

Flight No.: JU664
Date: 8 Sep 08
Departure: 17:50 Belgrade , Serbia
Arrival: 18:50 Podgorica , Montenegro
-----------------------------------

Flight No.: JU663
Date: 12 Sep 08
Departure: 09:10 Podgorica , Montenegro
Arrival: 10:10 Belgrade , Serbia

Flight No.: JU210
Departure: 11:00 Belgrade , Serbia
Arrival: 13:00 London Heathrow

Flight No: EI 167
Departure 15:50 London Heathrow
Arrival: 17:05 Dublin

Madness. Craic.

SuperDave
21/01/2008, 10:49 PM
you should have just taken the train between belgrade and podgorica. probably much cheaper.

Mayo_Bhoy
22/01/2008, 3:10 PM
Just been reading throught the Georgia match thread on the tartan army message board. The Scots cant praise Tibilisi high enough. Well worth a read.

http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showforum=39&prune_day=100&sort_by=Z-A&sort_key=last_post&topicfilter=all&st=0

Beavis
28/01/2008, 11:50 AM
So, What I am reckoning, for the adventurous type, is buying a van in Tiblisi, setting off the morning after, and going hell for leather on the quieter Turkish roads, driving for about 18 hours a day, for the following three days, not including time spent at border control, going Turkey, Bulgaria, Serbia, Montenegro (Uncertain of the current situation in Kosovo, and the speed you could manage the back roads through Kosovo at). The fourth day should be about 8 hours travel, and you should arrive in Podgorica for 16h. If the van doesn't die, you don't get stopped by cops wanting a bribe, remember to bring enough food, don't encounter a major "cattle on the road" incident, don't annoy any North Eastern Turkish Kurds, you should make the game with time for a pint. As long as it isn't a three o'clock kick off.

I'm up for it - anyone else?

By the way, I should mention that I don't drive...

Would you be still on for this? I certainly would be and I think I could maybe rope the bro around despite already booking flights.Both fully licensed drivers so you could put the feet up:)

I'm flying to Istanbul and doing bus or train-bus to Georgia for the craic, it turns out I wont be working at this time so days off are not a problem, havent it all worked out yet but I'll leave a couple of days early and it should be a day and a half travel.It would be nice to do car thing cos I'm not sure if the land route will get me to Montenegro in time.

Closed Account 2
28/01/2008, 6:16 PM
Lads anyone else heading Tblisi -> Batumi -> Yerevan -> Baku, am doing a trip from the Black Sea to the Caspian, should be a good laugh!

stiofain
28/01/2008, 8:25 PM
Bloody hell! Already buzzin for these. Caaaaaaaadiff seems like only yesterday. I'm looking for drinking buddies on all these journeys as the cronies have ditched me, so anyone else on this route let me know. Most difficult trip to date.

€888 for this lot. Haven’t even booked the hotels yet.

Flight Number: BT662
To: RIX - Riga
Departs: 1:25 PM
Arrives: 6:20 PM

Flight Number: BT722
To: TBS - Novo Alexeyevka, Tbilisi
Departs: 10:40 PM
Arrives: 3:10 AM Friday
----------------------------------

Flight No.: BT723
Departure: 03:45 Tbilisi
Arrival: 06:20 Riga

Flight No.: BT431
Departure: 07:25 Riga
Arrival: 08:25 Vienna

Flight No.: OS773
Departure: 13:30 Vienna
Arrival: 14:40 Belgrade

Flight No.: JU664
Date: 8 Sep 08
Departure: 17:50 Belgrade , Serbia
Arrival: 18:50 Podgorica , Montenegro
-----------------------------------

Flight No.: JU663
Departure: 09:10 Podgorica , Montenegro
Arrival: 10:10 Belgrade , Serbia

Flight No.: JU210
Departure: 11:00 Belgrade , Serbia
Arrival: 13:00 London Heathrow

Flight No: EI 167
Departure 15:50 London Heathrow
Arrival: 17:05 Dublin

Madness. Craic.

Sweet Jesus, i make that 9 flights? Fair play to ya! I really dont like flying and have managed to book a route to the two games (from London) which will use just the 5 flights and as little time in the air as possible. Has anyone got a more direct route than that?

Colie
29/01/2008, 6:56 PM
I really dont like flying and have managed to book a route to the two games (from London) which will use just the 5 flights and as little time in the air as possible. Has anyone got a more direct route than that?Some of them are trying to organise buying a car in Georgia & driving to Podgorica. It's the Dennis Bergcamp route.

Sligo Hornet
31/01/2008, 2:37 PM
Good job we weren't scheduled to play in January http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/5day.shtml?world=0241
....might have needed TWO pairs of socks!

01/02/2008, 9:16 AM
At least there is a bit of sun there on Tuesday

citizenerased
01/02/2008, 10:19 AM
Some of them are trying to organise buying a car in Georgia & driving to Podgorica. It's the Dennis Bergcamp route.

yeah if you dont mind driving 2000 miles...cost you more in petrol hotels and your general mental health..pay the extra few pound for the flights lads..loosin the purse strings..

Beavis
01/02/2008, 10:45 AM
yeah if you dont mind driving 2000 miles...cost you more in petrol hotels and your general mental health..pay the extra few pound for the flights lads..loosin the purse strings..

Its not about money, its a chance to explore a part of the world unfamiliar to most. All most Ireland fans ever see on away trips is the bottom of a beer glass.

citizenerased
01/02/2008, 11:56 AM
Its not about money, its a chance to explore a part of the world unfamiliar to most. All most Ireland fans ever see on away trips is the bottom of a beer glass.
Fair play to you then. Enjoy the road trip, wouldnt fancy it myself though.

Sligo Hornet
01/02/2008, 12:11 PM

or in the case of Bratislava......the toe of someone's boot!:eek:

citizenerased
01/02/2008, 1:50 PM
i take it ya got a boot in the face off some disgruntled slovak then sligo?

Sligo Hornet
01/02/2008, 2:12 PM
i take it ya got a boot in the face off some disgruntled slovak then sligo?

No not me....just heard a few "tales of woe"

citizenerased
01/02/2008, 2:32 PM
heard a few myself, not a nice place uber hostile...reports from the tartan army forum indicate that Tbilisi is warm and welcoming to tourists..so fingers crossed, roll on september!

lopez
01/02/2008, 2:37 PM
i take it ya got a boot in the face off some disgruntled slovak then sligo?Some of the stories going around was that it was more than likely to be an Irish fan on the Gianluca.

SuperDave
01/02/2008, 8:09 PM

plus you have to pay for hotels anway, which usually jack up the price on match weekends.... and petrol for 2000 miles among 5 people at 50mpg is 40 gallons... 8 gallons each...35 litres = e35. not too bad. plus you could always\sleep in the car.

dublinwanderer
06/02/2008, 12:18 PM
lads whats the best way of going to these games and cheapest? my head is wrecked trying to look up flights and what not. they seem to be all over 1000e at this stage....

i see pilgrimsabroad are running packages - 969e for both games...

07/02/2008, 10:10 AM
lads whats the best way of going to these games and cheapest? my head is wrecked trying to look up flights and what not. they seem to be all over 1000e at this stage....

i see pilgrimsabroad are running packages - 969e for both games...

We are in the process of booking a route for under 700 Euro. Have also searched for several hours near every night for the last few weeks. Our route involves some overnight flights and an overnight train but that's all the fun of it sometimes plus the flight times suit us. Will post up itinerary when we complete the booking(2 flights to book still)

Sligo Hornet
07/02/2008, 10:20 AM
We are in the process of booking a route for under 700 Euro. Have also searched for several hours near every night for the last few weeks. Our route involves some overnight flights and an overnight train but that's all the fun of it sometimes plus the flight times suit us. Will post up itinerary when we complete the booking(2 flights to book still)

I must admit I had a severe headache when completing ours......then came another......hotels:eek:....especially in Podgorica...good luck!

Babysis
07/02/2008, 11:18 AM
I must admit I had a severe headache when completing ours......then came another......hotels:eek:....especially in Podgorica...good luck!

Absolute nightmare looking into routes for this trip. The effort has paid off, as GT said we are happy with the route and the price, happy days:). So pleased at not to having to search for flights of an evening! Looking into accomodation now - Doesnt seem so bad in Georgia but Podgorica is going to be hassle:eek:

Sligo Hornet
07/02/2008, 12:21 PM
Absolute nightmare looking into routes for this trip. The effort has paid off, as GT said we are happy with the route and the price, happy days:). So pleased at not to having to search for flights of an evening! Looking into accomodation now - Doesnt seem so bad in Georgia but Podgorica is going to be hassle:eek:

From experience.....send email enquiries to several (best to try the smaller hotels/motels )....its almost impossible to try and book anywhere on line

Babysis
07/02/2008, 1:30 PM
From experience.....send email enquiries to several (best to try the smaller hotels/motels )....its almost impossible to try and book anywhere on line

Cheers:). Yep thats what we have been doing. going to really look into at the weekend

dublinwanderer
07/02/2008, 3:20 PM

thank you very much...

07/02/2008, 7:51 PM

Pain in the hole indeed:eek:

Colie
07/02/2008, 8:57 PM
i see pilgrimsabroad are running packages - 969e for both games...But with 2 overnights in airports. Could ya be?

Mine's come to over a grand easy. Biggest nightmare Ireland trip I've ever had the pleasure of booking. If yer not prepared to go to a G after booze & food I don't think ye should bother with this one. Thank God it's the only trip of the year!

07/02/2008, 8:59 PM
I think its a great trip I am really looking forward to seeing. Riga, Tiblisi, Talinn Dubrovnik again and Montenegro and maybe see Sarajevo too. Can't wait.

The Banner Man
10/02/2008, 5:33 PM
Did anybody on the site travel to Georgia last time we played them ?.
It was March 2003 & we won 2-1.

10/02/2008, 8:29 PM
Did anybody on the site travel to Georgia last time we played them ?.
It was March 2003 & we won 2-1.

Think there's a good few. Cowboy anyway.
Been looking at Tbilisi on Google Earth, is brilliant, especially if you search hotels in tbilisi it marks them all out as well as other landmarks(churches, banks, museums, football stadium, irish bars etc)

Babysis
11/02/2008, 6:01 PM
Myself and Green Tribe are all booked up - Happy days.
The itinerary is below; hopefully it might help someone who is still to book. This is the best possible route we could find after many many hours of searching:

Thurs 4th Sept
Galway - Dublin (Aer Arann)
Dep: 17:15
Arr: 18:00

Fri 5th Sept
Dublin - Riga (Flylal)
Dep: 01:05
Arr: 08:35

Fri 5th Sept
Riga - Tbilisi (Air Baltic)
Dep: 22:40
Arr: 03:10

Mon 8th Sept
Tbilisi - Riga (Air Baltic)
Dep: 03:45
Arr: 06:20

Riga - Belgrade (Air Baltic)
Dep: 12:25
Arr: 16:15

Belgrade - Podgorica by overnight train Mon 5th Sept
Dep: 21:10
Arr: 15:05

Podgorica - Sofia by train Thursday 11th Sept
Dep: 09:06
Arr: 16:07

Thurs 11th Sept (Wizzair)
Sofia - Luton
Dep: 21:30
Arr: 22:50

Then a weekend in London with my folks and a cheap flight back to Galway:D.

Total Cost €670 (Id say this will go up soonish)

Also, people might want to check out Estonian Air as it has a Dublin to Tallinn direct flight that was very reasonable, although again, it might have gone up. Flylal and Air Baltic both fly out of Tallinn too.

Sligo Hornet
12/02/2008, 6:20 AM
The itinerary is below; hopefully it might help someone who is still to book. This is the best possible route we could find after many many hours of searching:

Thurs 4th Sept

Fri 5th Sept
Dublin - Riga (Flylal)

Fri 5th Sept

Mon 8th Sept

Riga - Belgrade (Air Baltic)

Belgrade - Podgorica by overnight train Mon 5th Sept
Dep: 21:10
Arr: 15:05

Sofia - Luton

Also, people might want to check out Estonian Air as it has a Dublin to Tallinn direct flight that was very reasonable, although again, it might have gone up. Flylal and Air Baltic both fly out of Tallinn too.

Well done......looks a very interesting/knackering journey:eek:....it seems ALL flights into to Tbilisi seem to be arriving Friday at around 3am!......at least there will be some welcoming faces.:)

Did you manage to get hotels in Tbilisi and Podgorica?

Babysis
12/02/2008, 7:58 AM
Well done......looks a very interesting/knackering journey:eek:....it seems ALL flights into to Tbilisi seem to be arriving Friday at around 3am!......at least there will be some welcoming faces.:)

Did you manage to get hotels in Tbilisi and Podgorica?

Aren't all double headers knackering though :D Its not too bad, with an over night train and plane - just means sleep rather than drink.

We have nearly sorted a hotel in Tbilisi and are working on a hotel in Podgorica......fingers crossed.

13/02/2008, 9:26 PM

Thurs 4th Sept

Fri 5th Sept
Dublin - Riga (Flylal)

Fri 5th Sept

Mon 8th Sept

Riga - Belgrade (Air Baltic)8h sept

Belgrade - Podgorica JAT airlines 8th Sep
21:15/22:05

Sofia - Luton

slight change BEL_POD

AidoM
14/02/2008, 10:52 AM
slight change BEL_POD

Whts with part of the sig :eek: Is it Georgian :confused: :o

14/02/2008, 1:00 PM
Georgian script anyways. Check out www.google.ge!

14/02/2008, 8:14 PM
Whts with part of the sig? Is it Georgian :confused: :o

Easy
Click (http://www.google.ge/search?hl=ka&q=%E1%83%9B%E1%83%94+%E1%83%9B%E1%83%98%E1%83%9C%E 1%83%93%E1%83%90+%E1%83%AC%E1%83%90%E1%83%95%E1%83 %98%E1%83%93%E1%83%94+%E1%83%97%E1%83%91%E1%83%98% E1%83%9A%E1%83%98%E1%83%A1%E1%83%A8%E1%83%98&meta=)

:p

Mayo_Bhoy
28/02/2008, 5:18 PM
I pm'd poter on tripadvior looking for info on Tibilii (cant type letter between R and T) and got the following reply

Hello

I’ve been to 4 away trips watching Scotland in football matches, first Ljubljana then Vilnius then Kiev then Tbilisi

My favourite was Ljubljana and closely followed by Tbilisi, Tbilisi is an amazing place and I am definitely going to go back one day and hopefully soon

Myself and one of my mates went for a week and we had a brilliant time, the Georgia v Scotland game was played on a Wednesday and we went out on the Friday before because we wanted to see a bit of Georgia not just Tbilisi

We heard all these horror stories before we went over warning us not to wear our kilts because taxi drivers would try and kidnap you and people might try and rob you in the street, all I can say is that it’s the biggest load of rubbish I have ever heard!!

The Georgians are amazing people; they are a very proud nation, they couldn’t do enough to help us, everything from people in the street wanting to talk to you to people in shops/bars coming out to say hello, the taxi drivers themselves were sound and we never got over charged once by any of them

We went via Vienna and arrived at 4 o’clock on the Saturday morning, we wore our kilts travelling and even when we were going through customs at that time of the morning the security staff were all wanting to talk to us and asking why we were in Georgia for so long, the security staff even wanted to take photos of us with them at passport control!!!!

At first we were booked into a hotel called Hotel Kala this was located in the old part of Tbilisi http://hotelkala.caucasus.net/

The week we were due to fly out they got in touch with us saying they had to shift us to their sister hotel called Hotel Gorda because guests that they had were wanting to stay longer, the Gorda isn’t as nice as the Kala, it was more like a Hostel but it was still in a central location and the staff were friendly and really helpful http://www.hotels.ltd.ge/

We arranged for an airport transfer through the hotel which I would recommend you to do if the hotel you stay in can arrange that, when they met us at the airport the owner of the hotel and one of the receptionists were waiting for us with a sign with my name on it, myself and my mate were a bit worse for wear after travelling/drinking all day but we soon livened up when we saw them and we had a good laugh

When we were at the airport the receptionist then told us that there were no rooms in the Gorda hotel, I started thinking……. Here we go chaos already!

They had arranged for us to stay for 2 nights in a guest house in an area called Saburtalo, I would avoid staying up in Saburtalo because it is too far away from the centre and we got lost on the way home both nights, even the taxi drivers couldn’t find our guest house

By the time we left the airport it was going on 5am, the people then decided to give us a guided tour and history lesson round Tbilisi!!

They took us up to Narikhala Fortress and Metekhi church and through the streets of the old town and up Rustavelli Avenue, it was superb and a really nice thing of them to do

When we were leaving Tbilisi they told us that the hotel Kala was getting done up and the name was going to change so I don’t know if the email address’s/contact details will be the same

I would recommend staying at the Kala and the Gorda

To get a better feel of Georgia and if you have the time I would recommend trying a day trip somewhere

We went to the Davit Gareja monasteries and a place called Mtskheta which is the ancient capital of Georgia, both were great days out

For great pubs/clubs/restaurants and general information this website is very good http://www.info-tbilisi.com/

If yous are going through the week and yous are into the night clubs the only annoying thing is that theres not many open through the week, but there are plenty bars open through the week though

The food in Georgia was good, its kind of an Asian meets Europe mixture

If you like red wine you will like the Georgian red wine

My favourite Georgian beer was Natakhtari, Kazbegi was nice as well but stay away from once called Argo!!!

There are a few Irish Bars in Tbilisi, we only made it to one though, it was called the Hangar Bar, its owned by an American girl called Rebecca, very nice woman indeed, she put on free beer for the Scotland fans after the game against Georgia

As you know yourself Scotland’s game against the Georgians was a disaster, the Georgian’s were extremely happy and it was mental after the game, people were driving down the streets in their cars beeping the horns, waving flags and hanging out of the windows and sun roofs!

After the game it was very well policed, all the Scotland fans were put onto buses which dropped you off on Rustavelli Avenue

I would thoroughly recommend Tbilisi and I wouldn’t have any worries at all about going

If the Scots were made to feel welcome in Tbilisi you can rest assured the Irish will be as well!!!!

I hope you book up and have an excellent craic in Tbilisi!!

Good luck for the match and campaign and hopefully we’ll see you in South Africa!!!

Cheers

Lucas

p.s.

If you want any more info just give us a shout

p.p.s.

It’s very heard but try and learn a bit of the Georgian language and the Georgians will love you for it, we learned a good bit and they really appreciate you trying to speak their language

stiofain
29/02/2008, 1:51 PM
Would anyone have an idea or be able to make an educated guess as to what time this game is likely to kick off? I'll be flying out in the early am of Sunday morning and i'm just wondering if it'll be worth my while having a room in the hotel on the saturday night. I'm not overly bothered about saving a few quid but if the game kicks off at 8pm or so and i have to leave for the airport around 1am, theres probably not much point.

Newryrep
29/02/2008, 2:01 PM
Would anyone have an idea what time this game is likely to kick off? I'll be flying out in the early am of Sunday morning and i'm just wondering if it'll be worth my while having a room in the hotel on the saturday night. I'm not overly bothered about saving a few quid but if the game kicks off at 8pm or so and i have to leave for the airport around 1am, theres probably not much point.

Wouldnt bother myself, me and Mrs Newryrep are flying Mon am, not bothering with a hotel on sunday night. (mind you I havent told her yet about no hotel room )

What happens when we get 3 points in Trapattoni's 1st competative game you are going to be legging it to the airport