View Full Version : Official transfers, new contracts (NO RUMOURS!)
Pages :
[
3]
30/11/2007, 8:31 AM
Robbie Farell has left Monaghan United and signed for Dundalk. They are slowly building our dream team. If they get Myler they are almost complete.
Battery Rover
30/11/2007, 9:49 AM
If they get Myler they are almost complete.
Don't think that is very likely to happen
Taken from his questions and answers http://www.irishfootienetwork.com/viewtopic.php?t=8291&highlight=myler
Do you know who Craptown are?
Please!!!
Would you ever sign for Craptown? You were linked last season weren’t you?
Don’t think so. I’d shudder to think what the song would be changed to!!
Do you really hate Craptown like the song used to say ‘Andy Myler is a Drog, he hates Craptown’?
I’ve no plans to take holidays there anyway
30/11/2007, 11:43 AM
MONAGHAN UNITED FC
PRESS RELEASE
DATE: 30th November 2007
MONS HOLD ONTO CORE OF SQUAD & ADD SOME NEW PLAYERS
Monaghan United manager Mick Cooke confirmed today that he has signed Alan Mulchay from Waterford United and Brendan Kennedy former Kildare County. “I am delighted to be able to bring in Alan Mulcahy and Brendan Kennedy to add to the squad. I was given the go ahead to start signing players some weeks back and have been working on bringing in some quality to add to the great squad I have.” Mick Cooke stated today.
Mulcahy will help shore up the midfield and Brendan Kennedy will be fighting it out with Danny Woods for the number 1 jersey.
“I am thrilled that Paul Whelan, Luke Fitzpatrick, Kevin Williamson, Aaron Mooney, Danny Woods, Dom Tierney, Wayne Byrne and Darren Meenan have all agreed to stay at United. This gives us a great squad to build from as we look into the 2008 season” Cooke continued.
Monaghan United also confirmed that their top goal scorer from last season Robbie Farrell has gone to Dundalk and Brian Gannon has been released.
ENDS
steno
30/11/2007, 12:08 PM
Brendan Kennedy wasn't with us last season Magicme. He was with us for the 2006 season though.
30/11/2007, 12:10 PM
doh, just realised that when went to double check it now. See am in work and got the phone call so cobbled a press release together a little too quickly! Dammit!
steno
30/11/2007, 12:12 PM
No worries Magicme just letting you know, these things happen;)
30/11/2007, 12:18 PM
Was he any good?
Also Waterford peoples what is Mulcahy like?
KildareFan
30/11/2007, 12:26 PM
Was he any good?
I never really rated Kennedy, good for kicking the ball the length of the pitch, is a decent shot stopper but is very slow on his feet.
Mulcahy is good though, he didn't get much of a look in at Kildare because of a row with John Ryan but I thought he did well for us when he did play.
I don't see Andy Cousins' name on your list magicme, has he been let go?
30/11/2007, 12:28 PM
Not all player negotiations have been completed yet. Mick still needs to finalise some stuff with some players so am not getting into speculation on their status until that has been done.
Mick is away for the next week on holidays so will be after that when I can confirm more.
steno
30/11/2007, 12:47 PM
Kennedy was responsible for some howlers and his positioning wasn't great either. Mulcahy was alright but went missing in some games playwed for County in 2006 season.
'Craptown' .. please...
If anyone ever needed evidence that a majority of drogs are simpletons...
30/11/2007, 5:07 PM
Ridiculously good for the likes of Monaghan.
Real gut buster if it's the same fella I'm thinking of.
Type of guy could be done with in Limerick :(
Kildare Lad
30/11/2007, 5:39 PM
Ridiculously good for the likes of Monaghan.
Real gut buster if it's the same fella I'm thinking of.
Type of guy could be done with in Limerick :(
Your probably thinking of Dave Mulcahy, Alan used to play for us before Waterford, a talented player but think he has an attitude problem, could go either way for youse.
blue til i die
30/11/2007, 6:22 PM
alan mulcahy didnt get many games this season due to injury, but when he played, he didnt seem to offer much, not the greatest touch and not much pace. not really that bothered about him leaving.
We have also signed michael foley,after being released by St Pats.
Alan Mulcahy - for a player that started so few games this season for Waterford and who didnt look up to much for the limited time he was on the field I found it amazing that Cronin started him in the playoff final at the rsci
Although Im not sure Cronin knows what he is at
01/12/2007, 8:28 AM
Mick is good at turning players with "bad attitudes" around. Darren Meenan came to us last season with all of the Harps fans saying he had a bad attitude and you wouldnt find a more committed and enthusiastic player.
Managers have a lot more to do with players attitudes than they are given credit for.
01/12/2007, 9:39 AM
Dundalk isn't craptown folks... it's EL Paso ! :D
Kildare Lad
01/12/2007, 12:13 PM
Cathal Brady has signed a new contract with Kildare County.
01/12/2007, 4:12 PM
Mick is good at turning players with "bad attitudes" around.He worked wonders with Foy alright;).
01/12/2007, 4:13 PM
He worked wonders with Foy alright;).
Turned him round anyway. :D
ciaraa
01/12/2007, 9:33 PM
Dundalk isn't craptown folks... it's EL Paso ! :D
scumdalk
scumdalk
Haha oh dear God give it a medal for creativity hahaha:rolleyes:
02/12/2007, 1:36 PM
Turned him round anyway. :D
Ha ha. Well he did help him get his career back on track somewhat!
onephillyhughes
03/12/2007, 7:58 AM
scumdalk
Bet you've a headache after thinking of that one ;)
Mental Man
03/12/2007, 1:33 PM
Stephen Quigley has just joined the Blues from St. Pats, its on www.waterford-united.ie
BrayUnknowns
03/12/2007, 1:55 PM
Stephen Quigley has just joined the Blues from St. Pats, its on www.waterford-united.ie
He was released by Dundalk last week wasn't he?
03/12/2007, 2:07 PM
He was released by Dundalk last week wasn't he?
Yes he was. He joined us from St. Pats mid season.
RockofGibraltar
03/12/2007, 6:15 PM
our captain damien brennan has joined shels...says it on their website
onephillyhughes
03/12/2007, 6:47 PM
Yes he was. He joined us from St. Pats mid season.
Its emerging that it was only a loan deal now.
Shels are going to be strong this year, making decent signings. Bar Keith Dunne. Hope you're reading this Keith, you useless tit :D
Hee Hee:D. He's fondly remembered at Pats too.
Quigo is a good sigining for Waterford. Terrier of a defender. Great attitude.
BTW, Shels seem to be splashing the cash a bit don't they, for a club that's on it's complete uppers that is. Are they spending the rest of the Tolka sale money ?
The Lilywhites
03/12/2007, 8:04 PM
Quigley was signed permanently in July after being released by St. Pats, and, as far as I know, we had first refusal on him for 2008, but there was no need for him with Flano there.
BTW people, there is a sticky to post transfers in, please only post if it is 100% confirmed
Rocky77
03/12/2007, 8:55 PM
Shels seem to be splashing the cash a bit don't they, for a club that's on it's complete uppers that is. Are they spending the rest of the Tolka sale money ?
Hope so — we might get paid for Sean Dillon yet!
onephillyhughes
03/12/2007, 8:59 PM
Quigley was signed permanently in July after being released by St. Pats, and, as far as I know, we had first refusal on him for 2008, but there was no need for him with Flano there.
There was every need for Quigley if you ask me. Quality defender. Who replaces Flano (who struggled for most of last season for fitness) if he gets injured? Robbie Dunne? Forgive me for not getting excited at that prospect.
As for Shels, banking on winning the league this year? Any word on Matthews going there yet?
03/12/2007, 9:05 PM
Poor Keith... :o
I think a wee trip to the support section of this site for a name change might be in order by the way! ;)
03/12/2007, 9:25 PM
Cathal Lordan, Brian O'Callaghan +2 released.
The Lilywhites
04/12/2007, 1:22 AM
There was every need for Quigley if you ask me. Quality defender. Who replaces Flano (who struggled for most of last season for fitness) if he gets injured? Robbie Dunne? Forgive me for not getting excited at that prospect.
Think Gill didn't want to have two quality and well paid right-backs on the wage bill, better to use the money elsewhere on the pitch. Hopefully Robbie Dunne won't have to be used there but if he is, then I'm sure he'll do a job.
Was he any good?
...... what is Mulcahy like?
Will be a good signing for Monaghan.
He's big friends with one of my mates. Really sound bloke. Was out injured for most of last season so shouldn't really be judged on that.
He will definitely turn out to be a big player for you when he gets back to full fitness.
04/12/2007, 9:09 AM
Will be a good signing for Monaghan.
He's big friends with one of my mates. Really sound bloke. Was out injured for most of last season so shouldn't really be judged on that.
He will definitely turn out to be a big player for you when he gets back to full fitness.
Good!
Am quite happy with our signings so far!
04/12/2007, 10:03 AM
Good!
Am quite happy with our signings so far!
I must say, the 1st Div could be very competitive next season. Waterford, Shels, Dundalk and Monaghan all should be fairly strong. (I left out Longford as they look to be releasing most of their current squad, but i'll reserve judgement for now)
04/12/2007, 10:06 AM
You saw most of the lads we have retained playing too so we do have the core of a good squad here. Giving Mick the go ahead to sign before the end of the season was the right decision. He has been able to keep the players we want (bar Robbie Farrell and Alvin Rouse) and has made good inroads into getting some new blood in.
04/12/2007, 10:18 AM
Robbie and Alvin are both big losses but I think Mick is a good manager and from what ive been told, ye have some handy youths coming through.
04/12/2007, 12:15 PM
Yeah some of our Foyle Cup winning U21's will be pushing for the senior squad this year. A few made appearances last year and others made the bench so there is a good crop coming through. At mons you need a bucket load of patience but this year should see us move closer to our goal.
ramblersnb1
04/12/2007, 12:33 PM
Cathal Lordan, Brian O'Callaghan +2 released.
by +2 do you mean 2 other players were released if so who ??
higgins
04/12/2007, 1:01 PM
BTW, Shels seem to be splashing the cash a bit don't they, for a club that's on it's complete uppers that is. Are they spending the rest of the Tolka sale money ?
Things are not always as they seem..
Theres no splashing of cash at Shels. Look at the list of released players..
04/12/2007, 10:20 PM
Alvin Rouse,Marc McCulloch & Mark Leech confirmed by Tony tonight.
Flawless
04/12/2007, 10:27 PM
Now now, you and i both know at first hand what happens when Keith Dunne hears the truth!!;)
onephillyhughes
04/12/2007, 10:42 PM
F*ck Off!!
Navandrog
05/12/2007, 12:36 PM
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Article.asp?ArticleID=1291
Dublin-born Maher played his schoolboy football with Stella Maris before signing for Bohemians. Having played there for three seasons, then-Fulham Manager Kevin Keegan snapped him up. Having struggled to hold down a first team place, Maher returned to Bohs, before sealing a move back to England with Bournemouth, where he played for six years.
Maher is a tall, strong centre-half, who will replace the departed Steven Gray, who this week signed for Derry City. He becomes the club's second signing of the pre-season, after Adam Hughes was signed from Sligo Rovers. Speaking about the move, manager Paul Doolin said: "I'd like to welcome Shaun to the club. I remember him from my time at Bohemians when he was only a young lad. You could tell then he was a special player and having spent a lot of time over in England, no doubt he will have built on that."
"With the signing of himself and Adam Hughes, we're showing that we're not just resting on our laurels." said Doolin. "We're building on last season and looking to progress even further. I'm delighted with this signing."
We would like to welcome Shaun to the club.
Spoons
05/12/2007, 12:45 PM
Doolin must be either off his head or is clutching at straws signing a chap that hasn't played football for almost two seasons because of injury!:confused: