View Full Version : The selection team

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

24/10/2007, 9:36 AM
Apologies if this is already covered in some other thread.

Delaney says the new manager will be picked by "football people", not the FAI who will ratify the decision.

Nice move by Delaney. Any criticism of the choice he can now deflect to the "football people". So who will these football people be? Brian Kerr perhaps and some Irish ex-cross channel footballer?

Any thoughts ?

24/10/2007, 9:47 AM
He also used the phrase "involved in professional football"

Which is basically his word for Premiership football. no way will he ask Kerr to be involved.

Pat Devlin has been retained, so you have to figure he's going to be involved. As an aside he's very friendly with Kenny Dalgliesh

24/10/2007, 10:07 AM
Do any other F.A.'s ask for outside help in selecting a manager? You have to ask if the FAI can't choose a manager then what are they there for? I know they made a pigs ear of it the last time but the whole organisation is a laughing stock.

citizenerased
24/10/2007, 10:09 AM
the funny thing is...everyone but the FAI could see the appointment of Stan would be a car-crash

Dr. Ogba
24/10/2007, 10:10 AM
Do any other F.A.'s ask for outside help in selecting a manager? You have to ask if the FAI can't choose a manager then what are they there for? I know they made a pigs ear of it the last time but the whole organisation is a laughing stock.

I'm delighted they are going nowhere near the selection process...they don't have a bloody clue and at least they're kind of admitting it. The Indo were mentioning Giles' name as a possibility - I'd love it if himself and Brady were involved in finding the right man, at least you could trust their instincts and knowledge...

24/10/2007, 10:11 AM
Giles would be a disaster. He's brilliant at analysing a game but doesn't know the names of any managers outside the EPL.

24/10/2007, 10:13 AM
Pat Devlin, holy F**k. Let me see now has he any managers on his books.

Dr. Ogba
24/10/2007, 10:13 AM
Giles would be a disaster. He's brilliant at analysing a game but doesn't know the names of any managers outside the EPL.

True, but if there's an interview process involved at least he'd know if the guy has a decent pedigree and isn't a bluffer...

24/10/2007, 10:22 AM
what a bunch of cowards.

24/10/2007, 10:37 AM
So Delaney's washing his hands of the next guy before he's even appointed.

Schlooooomp
24/10/2007, 10:43 AM
John Giles ruled himself out of the selection panel for choosing a new Ireland manager. He said that it would compromise his media work with RTE and Newstalk and he feels that he wouldn't be able to be supportive or critical of the new manager without people claiming some sort of bias.

From interview on Newstalk this morning.

24/10/2007, 10:44 AM
damned if you do damned if ye dont.

He is winning either way though, if it goes well he says well that is why we decided on the appointment of an external panel, if it goes wrong then we had nothing to do with it. I do feel sorry for him here, the 10 man committee are going to ratify and approve who actually is appointed. Its not completely outsourced.

And yes, England did the same thing last time round with external consultants reporting to a 3 man committee.

24/10/2007, 11:01 AM
I think they are right to get football people in. It all depends on who it is now but it really is a case of damned if you do damned ifyou dont. But I suppose they deserve that response due to the way they have behaved over the years. THey have not built up credibility but at least they seem to be doing it the right way this time but we can wait and see.

24/10/2007, 11:02 AM
John Giles ruled himself out of the selection panel for choosing a new Ireland manager. He said that it would compromise his media work with RTE and Newstalk and he feels that he wouldn't be able to be supportive or critical of the new manager without people claiming some sort of bias.

From interview on Newstalk this morning.
He's right too, fair play to him

Sligo Hornet
24/10/2007, 11:03 AM
Surely Stan should be included in the Selection team, as a Shining example of what we do NOT want in our new boss!

Schlooooomp
24/10/2007, 11:10 AM
Surely Stan should be included in the Selection team, as a Shining example of what we do NOT want in our new boss!

At the very least make a list of Stauntons various traits and characteristics and use it when judging the new man.

Armando
24/10/2007, 11:10 AM
Going on whats happened in the past I can only imagine that the following people will pick the next Ireland manager:
Bobby Robson, Pat Devlin (ah sure why not they're already on the payroll:rolleyes:)...and a token gesture guy, so it doesn't look so pathetic.

I really hope I'm wrong, but when I hear that Devlin still has a job with the FAI what am I suppossed to believe?

24/10/2007, 11:23 AM
surely if your high up in the FAI and sit on the 10 man panel you should be a football person already? That way when big decisions like appointing a new manager comes along you can use your expertise and knowledge to appoint a new manager and thus do not have to rely on some hired hand to tell you that O'Leary and Sounness are not the right men for the job in the first place? Madness. Cowards way out. Live and die by the sword Delaney. You wanted Stan and should go when he failed.

brine3
24/10/2007, 11:25 AM
Our only hope now is that a top class manager decides to apply for the job on his own accord.

Serb
24/10/2007, 11:34 AM
Our only hope now is that a top class manager decides to apply for the job on his own accord.

Even if that does happen, what of the chances of the FAI actually hiring them?

macdermesser
24/10/2007, 12:05 PM
He also used the phrase "involved in professional football"

Which is basically his word for Premiership football. no way will he ask Kerr to be involved.

Pat Devlin has been retained, so you have to figure he's going to be involved. As an aside he's very friendly with Kenny Dalgliesh

.. and just when we thought we had seen the last of Alan O'Brien.. ffs. I think Douglas is on Devlin's books too

Ozymandias
24/10/2007, 1:05 PM
what a bunch of cowards.

explain please don't understand what you mean

Serb
24/10/2007, 2:42 PM
explain please don't understand what you mean

I think he's referring to the fact that they are getting a committee to appoint the new manager which absolves them from any blame if it all goes pear shaped.

24/10/2007, 2:44 PM
Since they're keeping on Sir Bobby, I suspect he may be one of the "selectors" which mightn't be a bad idea.

24/10/2007, 2:47 PM
Bobby is just kept on because his contract is up next month anyway and he can hold Givens hand in Cardiff next month. It makes perfect sense. Not saying he wont be involed but people are reading way too much into it.

24/10/2007, 2:51 PM
Bobby is just kept on because his contract is up next month anyway and he can hold Givens hand in Cardiff next month. It makes perfect sense. Not saying he wont be involed but people are reading way too much into it.

Well, I don't think the FAI were going to ask a seriously ill man to leave by "mutual consent" anyway. I think he would be a good man to advise on who the new manager should be despite his defence of Stan which was admirable and loyal and the right thing to do as his assistant..

btid1
24/10/2007, 3:03 PM
surely if your high up in the FAI and sit on the 10 man panel you should be a football person already? That way when big decisions like appointing a new manager comes along you can use your expertise and knowledge to appoint a new manager and thus do not have to rely on some hired hand to tell you that O'Leary and Sounness are not the right men for the job in the first place? Madness. Cowards way out. Live and die by the sword Delaney. You wanted Stan and should go when he failed.

This is rubbish.To appoint someone to any top job in the world a team of headhunters are usually brought in.Why should the top job in Irish football be any different.It is done at big clubs accross Europe and by a lot of National Associations.

For once I think Delaney and co made the right decision on this one.

monutdfc
24/10/2007, 4:25 PM
Didn't they hire Bryan Hamilton as an adviser the last time? Told him to come up with a shortlist and then Delaney decided to offer Stan a bucketload. Or am I mixed-up?

24/10/2007, 4:34 PM
That was for the Kerr appointment and they came up with a list of Kerr, Robson and Troussier as far as I know. Kerr got two votes and Robson got 1 from Delaney.

monutdfc
24/10/2007, 4:39 PM
Ah, right. Thanks!

24/10/2007, 5:18 PM
That was for the Kerr appointment and they came up with a list of Kerr, Robson and Troussier as far as I know. Kerr got two votes and Robson got 1 from Delaney.

Bryan Robson that is :eek:. He could well be available again soon...

What are the chances that whoever is in charge of picking the manager pulls a 'Dick Cheney' on it and nominates himself as the only qualified candidate :)

backstothewall
24/10/2007, 5:47 PM
I would let Dunphy pick the next manager.

Knowing "fooball people" whoever it is will pick one of their mates.

But Dunphy doesn't like anybody, therefore he has no vested interests!!

3 man committee

Dunphy
Robbie Savage
David O'Leary

On a serious note i would like to see Jim Beglin involved as he should know how important the press are

charliesboots
24/10/2007, 6:04 PM
To appoint someone to any top job in the world a team of headhunters are usually brought in.Why should the top job in Irish football be any different.

They should bring in a team of headhunters to pick replacements for the ten man committee and get rid of all the blazers and hangers on that are there at the moment

24/10/2007, 6:27 PM
This is rubbish.To appoint someone to any top job in the world a team of headhunters are usually brought in.Why should the top job in Irish football be any different.It is done at big clubs accross Europe and by a lot of National Associations.

For once I think Delaney and co made the right decision on this one.

what big clubs and national associations have announced to the whole world that they will be hiring a panel of football experts so that they can headhunt a new manager? If England did go down that route with McClaren then God help em. Who the hell did they hire? McClaren's mum and dad?

By all means ask for advice from guys in the business and get a kind of character reference if you don't know the candidate but I don't think you need to hire a team, pay them a wage and then when it goes tits up (again) blame it on the panel that picked the man in the first place. They are covering their backs publicly this time. That way when the fans and media kick up a fuss about Sounness or O'Leary messing up, Mr Delaney and Mr Blood can shout to the media scrum "our panel of experts picked that man, not us. We are blame free, infact we had our doubts about him in the first place. So let's start the ball rolling again...."

24/10/2007, 6:29 PM
They should bring in a team of headhunters to pick replacements for the ten man committee and get rid of all the blazers and hangers on that are there at the moment

Perhaps you would like to explain what kind of structure you would like to see in place to run the FAI.

Who should head it up, the top man (a CEO?).
How should the CEO be selected?
Who should the CEO be accountable to? (a Board of Management/an Executive Committee?)
What role should representatives of the various clubs and leagues play?

Noelys Guitar
24/10/2007, 6:32 PM
what big clubs and national associations have announced to the whole world that they will be hiring a panel of football experts so that they can headhunt a new manager?

By all means ask for advice from guys in the business and get a kind of character reference if you don't know the candidate but I don't think you need to hire a team, pay them a wage and then when it goes tits up (again) blame it on the panel that picked the man in the first place. They are covering their backs publicly this time. That way when the fans and media kick up a fuss about Sounness or O'Leary messing up, Mr Delaney and Mr Blood can shout to the media scrum "our panel of experts picked that man, not us. We are blame free, infact we had our doubts about him in the first place. So let's start the ball rolling again...."

Exactly. I'm sure Hiddink, Wenger etc only require a phonecall for their opinions. And very probably at no cost. This is typical FAI waffle with a selection committee. Who vouches for the selection committee? Just go and ask the best managers out there for their advice.. The secretary at the FAI could do that for FFS. Delaney is kidding no one with this nonsense.

24/10/2007, 7:15 PM
If I had to pick a 5 man committee who would do the job I'd go for

Liam Brady, Bobby Robson, Brian Kerr, Kenny Dalglish aannndddd Packie Bonner as I think Kerr would give a lot of scope into the Irish game, Bonner because he is a legend, and a coach with experience, Dalglish because he might go for a more attack minded candidate, Brady for his contacts, and Robson for his all round knowledge of the game

24/10/2007, 7:19 PM
Yeah I would not argue with that. Bonner should be there anyway cause he is part of the pay roll of the FAI and Technical Director and he can be the chair for the meeting and its important that if in future we want to encourage ex players to be part of the FAI we start to give importance to one ex player who is there already.

24/10/2007, 10:46 PM
If I had to pick a 5 man committee who would do the job I'd go for

Liam Brady, Bobby Robson, Brian Kerr, Kenny Dalglish aannndddd Packie Bonner as I think Kerr would give a lot of scope into the Irish game, Bonner because he is a legend, and a coach with experience, Dalglish because he might go for a more attack minded candidate, Brady for his contacts, and Robson for his all round knowledge of the game

Robson, Brady and Bonner and a professional recrutiment specialist ought to come up with a credible recommendation. Can't see Kerr wanting any part of this. Don't understand the thinking behind Dalglish's involvement.

24/10/2007, 10:50 PM
Dalglish's too busy playing golf these days. Or was that when he was director of football at Celtic? :D

danonion
25/10/2007, 1:47 AM
I would let Dunphy pick the next manager.

Knowing "fooball people" whoever it is will pick one of their mates.

But Dunphy doesn't like anybody, therefore he has no vested interests!!

3 man committee

Dunphy
Robbie Savage
David O'Leary

On a serious note i would like to see Jim Beglin involved as he should know how important the press are

Robbie Savage, Brilliant :cool:

danonion
25/10/2007, 1:55 AM
Mick
Jack
Arsene

colster
25/10/2007, 9:56 AM
What about David Dein? He got Wenger for Arsenal. He's currently free and has a huge about of experience in professional football, on the admin side of things. I think him along with someone like Bobby Robson, Johnny Giles would be a good selection panel.

backstothewall
25/10/2007, 1:01 PM
Bobby Robson
Jim Beglin
Liam Brady
Phil Gartside (or David Dein)
Roy Keane

25/10/2007, 1:03 PM
Bobby Robson
Jim Beglin (why?)
Liam Brady
Phil Gartside (or David Dein) (Is this because he is in the news lately for picking Gary Megson and before that Sammy Lee)
Roy Keane(he cant buy a decent amount of players never mind a good manager

25/10/2007, 1:12 PM
Daniel Mc Donnell had a good name as part of the team and I think its probably the best one yet.

Andy Roxburgh. I think he would be perfect for this team and would certainly think outside the box and no what it takes to get the right man in and has tonnes of contacts at Uefa level and would know of many coaches with good pedigrees around Europe.

fergalr
25/10/2007, 1:13 PM
In an ideal universe we'd be getting him in as manager ... but ìnstead could he be the man to find us a manager?

He is a proven football expert with time on his hands as he's kicking his heels in London doing nothing more then taking Italian lessons. Easy to contact too as Bobby Robson would have his mobile number.

Noelys Guitar
01/11/2007, 9:27 PM
Who get to "choose" the manager. Who will they go for? Pure speculation but can't see Moran or Quinn choosing someone from outside of Ireland/UK.

01/11/2007, 10:18 PM
Well about time they took their Union jack coloured shades off then :D

02/11/2007, 7:13 AM
ANy news of the selection team?