View Full Version : The selection team
Noelys Guitar
17/01/2008, 5:09 PM
50 Grand has been bet on Houllier within the last 20 mins on Betfair.
cavan_fan
17/01/2008, 6:14 PM
The longer this whole process goes on the more and more it looks as if this is all just a charade and El Tel is going to get the job (or has already got it) anyway. Could it be that we, the supporters, are being duped into believing that there is a proper and transparent process at work. While all along the post is going to be filled by the man who the players expressed they wanted during their meeting with Delaney in Cardiff on the eve of our final qualification game??
Discuss
If you think that i suggest you avail yourself of the 4/1 available on betfair for venables
Philly
17/01/2008, 6:53 PM
The idea that the FAI are using a selection committee as a smoke-screen for them to appoint Venables is stupid because:
-they turned him down themselves last time
-those involved wouldn't get involved in such a charade
-if the FAI wanted to appoint him originally they could have, and there would have been nothing wrong with it
I don't like this process or it's drawn-out nature either, but I thoink it is what they say it is and not some conspiracy theory to appoint somebody they could have just appointed anyways.
Jicked
17/01/2008, 7:01 PM
Proof that the whole thing is a sham is the presence of Don Howe. What other reason could there possibly be in having such an irrelevant figure have such power over choosing the new manager. I think Delaney wanted Venables from the word go, and picked three stooges to make improve the chances of him being given Venables' name to appoint.
I also think all three have behaved terribly - David O'Leary was always going to be in the frame for the job at least, and being available should have been one of the first people to be contacted about an interview. Why wait until mid January before asking him for an interview?? Baffling stuff.
17/01/2008, 7:10 PM
I also think all three have behaved terribly - David O'Leary was always going to be in the frame for the job at least, and being available should have been one of the first people to be contacted about an interview. Why wait until mid January before asking him for an interview?? Baffling stuff.
Ken Earlie from Off The Ball spoke with O'Leary today, according to him the Dons and Ray approached him in December for an interview, and he mulled it over, and decided this week not to do it.
I'd blame O'Leary more there.
Noelys Guitar
17/01/2008, 7:18 PM
Ken Earlie from Off The Ball spoke with O'Leary today, according to him the Dons and Ray approached him in December for an interview, and he mulled it over, and decided this week not to do it.
I'd blame O'Leary more there.
Ontheball contacted O'Leary for his version of events and here it is. One of the 3 amigo's (allegedly Givens) contacted O'Leary before christmas to find out if he was willing to be interviewed. O'Leary told him there and then no with a few expletitives thrown in. Then today a journo contacted O'Leary and he reiterated that he is not interested.
17/01/2008, 7:52 PM
O'Leary is just getting his rejection in first.
50 Grand has been bet on Houllier within the last 20 mins on Betfair.
What are you talking about Noely?
Tir Oilean
18/01/2008, 8:06 AM
I see where you are coming from about this appointment looking like a farce however its pretty clear to me that the media are taking the absolute pi** by keeping the rumour mills going (3 dfferent favourites this week alone). Having said that the muppets in the FAI have set themselves up for ridicule a long time ago. The worrying factor is that El Tel seems to be the most consistant name in the rumours since the early stages. If he is appointed I would have to say that the FAI is a farce.
18/01/2008, 8:44 AM
I don't like this process or it's drawn-out nature either, but I think it is what they say it is and not some conspiracy theory to appoint somebody they could have just appointed anyways.I agree and furthermore, given that this is the route they have taken, they're right to keep quiet about the status of the interviews and candidates. It's frustrating but it is what it is and we'll know soon enough.
18/01/2008, 8:53 AM
The worrying factor is that El Tel seems to be the most consistant name in the rumours since the early stages. If he is appointed I would have to say that the FAI is a farce.It galls me to say it but I actually think Venables' appointment, say in 2 weeks time, looks better for the FAI. They can genuinely say they pursued other options - in Hodgson's case too slowly, same too for Arie Haan, in other cases they got a "thanks but no thanks" and the candidate they are said to have approached most directly is Jewell.
It's a tough one to get right. If they appointed a decent candidate in November and then a better one came available by virtue of losing his job people would say they acted too hastily etc.
18/01/2008, 8:53 AM
I see where you are coming from about this appointment looking like a farce however its pretty clear to me that the media are taking the absolute pi** by keeping the rumour mills going (3 dfferent favourites this week alone).
In fairness the money on Deschamps and Houllier had nothing to do with the media.
Billsthoughts
18/01/2008, 9:12 AM
the whole point of this process was to grind everyone down to such an extent that nobody could care less who gets the job.
18/01/2008, 9:22 AM
Well, we're soon to hear their deliberations. I think it will come to a vote by the Board similar to the Big J scenario. They may make a recommendation (Vegetables) but will they also say there are one or two other good candidates (Houllier and Deschamps and even possibly Allardyce or Sanchez). Then the tactical voting will come in to play became I am sure the opposition to Vegetables on this Board will be mirrored by the FAI Board.
as_i_say
18/01/2008, 10:42 AM
love that-vegetables!
Wolfie
18/01/2008, 10:46 AM
Well, we're soon to hear their deliberations. I think it will come to a vote by the Board similar to the Big J scenario. They may make a recommendation (Vegetables) but will they also say there are one or two other good candidates (Houllier and Deschamps and even possibly Allardyce or Sanchez). Then the tactical voting will come in to play became I am sure the opposition to Vegetables on this Board will be mirrored by the FAI Board.
Wasn't it a case that Delaney stated that the committee would bring just one name and the FAI would ratify their recommendation of that name?
irishfan86
18/01/2008, 5:58 PM
Wasn't it a case that Delaney stated that the committee would bring just one name and the FAI would ratify their recommendation of that name?
The board make the final decision, and Given has said he's confident the board will ratify the 3 wise men's choice; however, media reports indicate that a good percentage of the FAI board are anti-Venables.
21/01/2008, 7:17 AM
The board make the final decision, and Given has said he's confident the board will ratify the 3 wise men's choice; however, media reports indicate that a good percentage of the FAI board are anti-Venables.
Yes, it is not beyond the bounds of possibility that the 3 wise mens' choice will not be adopted by the Board. I suspect they will come with a preferred candidate and with two others as fall back positions.
21/01/2008, 8:28 AM
There are 10? on the board with Delany having a casting vote.
Media rumours mentioned 2 or 3 against Venables which is not enough to be decisive.
In the event of Venables being the last experienced manager standing then who is to say that those 2 or 3 will not accept him and the board will reach a consensus.
21/01/2008, 8:56 AM
the whole point of this process was to grind everyone down to such an extent that nobody could care less who gets the job.
Well it's starting to wear me down. I was vehemently opposed to El Tel at the beginning of this drawn out process. Now? I'm not so sure. Brilliant tactic by Delaney and the 3 amigo's.
Dr. Ogba
21/01/2008, 9:02 AM
Well it's starting to wear me down. I was vehemently opposed to El Tel at the beginning of this drawn out process. Now? I'm not so sure. Brilliant tactic by Delaney and the 3 amigo's.
ditto...the longer this gets drawn out and as my favoured candidates (Houllier, Hodgson and anyone but TV) drop by the wayside, the more i'm getting worn down by the whole process, so much so at this stage I don't even care if Venebles gets the job as he's probably the most qualified of the absolute sh!te thats left.
They better not make the same mistake twice and give this chancer a 4 year contract though...
21/01/2008, 9:12 AM
Me too, at the start I wanted nothing to do with him. Still don't.
But if he's the final choice, then so be it. Can we just get it over with?
macdermesser
21/01/2008, 9:37 AM
Lads .. remember the reasons why most people don't want him near the job. look at the mirage of a managerial record that he has.
this sort of ah f.eck it let him have the job attitude will spread ... I'd sooner wish for Sanchez, Davies or whoever else is left standing than El Tel. At least they are at the beginning of managerial careers and trying to carve out a reputation.
21/01/2008, 9:59 AM
Have to agree with that.
21/01/2008, 10:09 AM
I'm not sure it was as clever as being a tactic.
If we end up with Venables having given it a good shot at Houllier and other candidates then fair enough.
Let's see - there may be a twist or two yet.
Venables' "mirage" of a track record doesn't rule him out as a candidate, it means that he shouldn't have been considered a shoe-in for the job above all other candidates. We were right to pick out the flaws in his CV but I'd prefer him to Sanchez or Davies any day.
Houllier, Hodgson, Jol & Coppell are / were realistic candidates that would rank higher than him in my opinion. After that though I think Venables starts to look better by comparison unless a really good candidate from leftfield emerges.
I have to say that I found talk of Phil Thompson joining Houllier's set up very alarming. Brian Kidd would be better equipped in my opinion.
lionelhutz
21/01/2008, 10:24 AM
Lads .. remember the reasons why most people don't want him near the job. look at the mirage of a managerial record that he has.
this sort of ah f.eck it let him have the job attitude will spread ... I'd sooner wish for Sanchez, Davies or whoever else is left standing than El Tel. At least they are at the beginning of managerial careers and trying to carve out a reputation.
Give it a break - Sanchez would simply start Docherty, Douglas, Carsley and any other waster who prefers the opposition have the ball. He'd drop Doyle, Andy Reid and other creative players and have Dunne, Finnan et al lump the ball to Docherty hoping Keane would get to the breaking ball - somehow i don't think it would work.
As for Davies..............Is there any point??
21/01/2008, 10:36 AM
Would it really be a big deal if we waited until April or May? A decision like that would rule out Venables and a hope that somebody else capable would be recognized or stand forward.
Wolfie
21/01/2008, 12:17 PM
There are 10? on the board with Delany having a casting vote.
Media rumours mentioned 2 or 3 against Venables which is not enough to be decisive.
In the event of Venables being the last experienced manager standing then who is to say that those 2 or 3 will not accept him and the board will reach a consensus.
Noone would be surprised to hear of El Tel's involvement in a "Bung" throwing incident.
Anyone aware if El Tel ever had a penchant for Bun throwing?
FAI board members seem to equate Buns with the same disaffection that Dracula had for crucifixes.
Noelys Guitar
21/01/2008, 12:30 PM
This delay allows Givens to select the squad for the Brazil game (leave Ireland out again?). And to pick the team for a game against the greatest international side in the world. Not bad for someone who has been a disaster as our u/21 manager. Reinforces the folly of him being part of the 3 amigos.
Bondvillain
21/01/2008, 12:51 PM
This delay allows Givens to select the squad for the Brazil game (leave Ireland out again?). And to pick the team for a game against the greatest team in the world. Not bad for someone who has been a disaster as our u/21's manager. Reinforces the folly of him being part of the 3 amigos.
THe Times yesterday had a confident Givens alleging that he has the backing of the FAI to not only pick the squad for Brazil, but to Manage the team for the game.
This is arsemangling of the highest order. The presence on the interview panel of someone who's very future depends on the manager chosen shows that this process was not taken seriously from the very start.
Is that what the whole 'interview process' comes down to?
"Hello Mr Hodgson, thanks for coming. First off, your CV looks very good, but who do you have in mind for the U21 job?"
"Well, Don, I was thinking of maybe someone like Chris Hughton or perhap.."
"Do you not think Im great?"
"Well, in fairness, Don, I think your results...."
"Right, well we'll have to stop you there. Times up. Good interview. We'll let you know. Good luck. Dont let the door hit you on the arse on the way out..."
If the FAI wanted someone who was a moderate presence in the English game decades ago, but now only features in the papers for a string of embarrassing episodes and failures they could have asked Elton John to do the interviews.
21/01/2008, 1:29 PM
Noone would be surprised to hear of El Tel's involvement in a "Bung" throwing incident.
Anyone aware if El Tel ever had a penchant for Bun throwing?
FAI board members seem to equate Buns with the same disaffection that Dracula had for crucifixes.
Maybe Paddy Mulligan really believes that throwing that bun was the difference between him managing the Irish team or not. A wholehearted player but dumb as fxk as a manager. We were saved by a bun.
lionelhutz
21/01/2008, 1:32 PM
Would it really be a big deal if we waited until April or May? A decision like that would rule out Venables and a hope that somebody else capable would be recognized or stand forward.
Why would it rule out Venables?
21/01/2008, 1:41 PM
If Venables has put himself forward, the contract terms are within reach and the FAI decide to wait another few months, that is saying that they want somebody else to come along.
Bondvillain
21/01/2008, 1:42 PM
Or that they dont fancy paying him for doing nowt... It IS the FAI after all...
21/01/2008, 1:46 PM
I doubt they're penny pinching this time. Getting it right is much more in their financial interests than saving a few bob now.
Bondvillain
21/01/2008, 1:50 PM
Perhaps, but it's extremely difficult for me to envisage any scenario where the FAI care more about football than money.....Maybe Im just cynical.
Noelys Guitar
21/01/2008, 7:43 PM
According to chatsoccer numerous candidates who applied for the job received no reply from the FAI/Amigos.
22/01/2008, 9:05 AM
According to chatsoccer numerous candidates who applied for the job received no reply from the FAI/Amigos.
Yes, I am still waiting to hear from them :mad:
22/01/2008, 9:40 AM
Howard Kendall anybody
Ozymandias
22/01/2008, 4:13 PM
Howard Kendall anybody
no..jaysus..i feel an ulcer coming on
22/01/2008, 4:28 PM
Sorry there I meant, in relation to the FAI not replying to be people.
Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 8:46 AM
feel better now
23/01/2008, 8:57 AM
I would be reasonably confident it is a money thing. Not "penny pinching" as described by Stuttgart but hundreds of thousands of Euro. If you pay a manager a million Euro per annum, then approximately 200K of every home gate goes to that manager in a year. That's a huge proportion with the GAA already taking 20% of the gate receipts.
I reckon the appointment has stalled on the terms of contract (i.e. the dosh). I don't see any other reason since we know there have been interviews and there must be a preferred candidate among those interviewed.
Lovely jubbly.
23/01/2008, 9:05 AM
Again, I'm not so sure. It'd be a finite contract, say 2 years, so the total amount paid out would be the same regardless of when it starts. Also, even if the appointment was made in December it'd in all likelihood have been with a start date in January.
People here are citing the FA's swift appointment of Capello - his contract started a few weeks after the appointment was announced.
23/01/2008, 9:26 AM
Again, I'm not so sure. It'd be a finite contract, say 2 years, so the total amount paid out would be the same regardless of when it starts. Also, even if the appointment was made in December it'd in all likelihood have been with a start date in January.
People here are citing the FA's swift appointment of Capello - his contract started a few weeks after the appointment was announced.
I'd be happy with a 2 year contract to the end of the qualifiers, with the option of another 2 years based on performance, i.e play offs minimum achievement
Can't understand why everyone keeps going on about how England appointed Capello so fast. He came out and said he wanted the job, then they appointed him. No 3 man committee, no short list, just one of the most successful managers in the game saying he wants the job. Nobody could screw it up.
23/01/2008, 10:04 AM
how much do you reckon Venables would want for the job (I think the Bulgarian press quoted a figure)? I'd say his wage demands are higher than Brady's and Sanchez. Whoever gets the poisoned chalice should have a contract that runs till July 2010. A successful WC campaign should have a bonus trigger.
23/01/2008, 10:51 AM
I think I could have used something similar to this selection process when selecting a partner instead of just falling in love.
23/01/2008, 11:01 AM
Have you read "Innumeracy" by John Allen Paulos? There's a bit on how to chose you partner based on game theory and probability theory. Very funny.
23/01/2008, 11:59 AM
Have you read "Innumeracy" by John Allen Paulos? There's a bit on how to chose you partner based on game theory and probability theory. Very funny.
Will get it, it looks more interesting than my wifes usual christmas book present why women don't have to change but men need to understand that
So according to Innumeracy we cannot choose a candidate who we had previously rejected.
soccerc
23/01/2008, 12:03 PM
Here's one Patrick Walker (http://www.chatsoccer.eu/news/content/view/88/1/)
and another Rainer Bonhof (http://www.chatsoccer.eu/news/content/view/79/1/)
Not saying either would be acceptable or possible contenders but they did apply and haven't been co0ntacted.