View Full Version : The selection team
Noelys Guitar
05/12/2007, 11:07 AM
Houghton great player. Rubbish pundit. Waffles like Niall Quinn. And that article he wrote for Paddy Powers sums him up for me.
05/12/2007, 11:10 AM
If I had to choose one person in the world for this selection panel it'd be someone like Arsene Wenger. The best judge of a manager is surely a knowledgeable manager. I just don't have respect for Givens as a manager. I have respect for Houghton as a player but that's as far as it goes. And I don't know enough about Howe. What type of manager was he?
eekers
05/12/2007, 11:15 AM
If I had to choose one person in the world for this selection panel it'd be someone like Arsene Wenger. The best judge of a manager is surely a knowledgeable manager. I just don't have respect for Givens as a manager. I have respect for Houghton as a player but that's as far as it goes. And I don't know enough about Howe. What type of manager was he?
an arsenal manager like wenger
wenger couldnt give a crap about ireland, wouldnt have an idea who would be good for us. all he cares about is arsenal. this is the guy that told eriksson that walcott was ready for england and eriksson believed him because hes wenger
05/12/2007, 11:16 AM
an arsenal manager like wenger
wenger couldnt give a crap about ireland,
I think you missed my point.
eekers
05/12/2007, 11:24 AM
I think you missed my point.
i dont rate wengers opinion on anything outside arsenal
look at this for instance
http://www.setantasports.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2007/11/10/Euro-2008-Wenger-warns-against-sacking-McLaren/?facets/sport-space/football/great-britain-locale/
Arsene Wenger has urged The FA not to sack Steve McClaren if England fail to qualify for Euro 2008.
The Arsenal manager believes 'patience' will pay dividends further down the road.
he's not exactly a sage of wisdom
anyway howe is a coach turned manager has his pro licence and all that. no personality whatsoever. not great with the media. but an amazing coach apparently.
05/12/2007, 11:53 AM
Don Howe was head coach at Arsenal for 3 or 4 years of Liam Brady's golden years there.
Amongst other things Howe also worked more recently as Youth coach there, with Brady as his boss?
05/12/2007, 12:49 PM
If I had to choose one person in the world for this selection panel it'd be someone like Arsene Wenger. The best judge of a manager is surely a knowledgeable manager.
Liam Brady would support that choice :)
colster
05/12/2007, 1:16 PM
Settle down Colster, it was a joke, just like the current selection panel. What is ridiculous is having a cheerleader like Houghton on the selection panel! If his statements above are anything to judge his knowledge of Irish football by then god help us all.
As far as I am concerned it is another PR exercise by the FAI to get the Fans on board, Delaney really only has a plan A, get an ex player on board and that will keep the fans happy. Didn't work with Staunton, not gonna work with Houghton
Sorry, don't know what to take seriously anymore. What with the Selection Panel consisting of an Englishman, Irishman and Scotsman. It sounds like a joke... a bad one.
Ireland4ever
05/12/2007, 1:19 PM
Sorry, don't know what to take seriously anymore. What with the Selection Panel consisting of an Englishman, Irishman and Scotsman. It sounds like a joke... a bad one.
Ha Ha, very good Colster!!:D:D
citizenerased
05/12/2007, 2:25 PM
Excellent colster. POTM.
Noelys Guitar
05/12/2007, 2:37 PM
Wait until you see the punchline!
Schlooooomp
05/12/2007, 2:46 PM
Wait until you see the punchline!
Thats the point at which comedy will most likely turn to tragedy.
06/12/2007, 7:45 AM
Disturbing to hears Givens say that the process will take some time because of the difficulties of getting the 4 individuals (panel plus interviewee) around a table and having to interview the 14+ candidates. Most of the decent candidates will have taken up job offers by the time this thing gets off the ground. Surely the 3 should sit down and rule out at least 9 of the candidates and interview their top 5.
------------------
It isn't a an Englishman, Irishman and Scotman. I think you'll find the latter holds an Irish passport :mad:
beautifulrock
06/12/2007, 8:19 AM
------------------
It isn't a an Englishman, Irishman and Scotman. I think you'll find the latter holds an Irish passport :mad:
Yes he does, although if you heard his interview on Talksport this morning you would not know it. I will paraphrase for those who missed it. He was on the the Alan Brazil show and the first thing he saod was that the Irish press are far worse than the English red tops, he supported this by quoting the Robbie Keane late late show interview. He then said "Alan as us Scotsmen we know that it is hard to qualify. He finished off by saying that Big Jack was the best manager he had ever worked with. I always that he was a whining little twit and this interview only proved that further to me. I do of course recognise that he scored two of the most important goals ever and I was lucky enough to be in Giants stadium for the one against Italy and even against that backdrop my impression of him is as above.
eekers
06/12/2007, 8:21 AM
similiarly what if in two weeks time a better candidate comes onto the market (coppell or allardyce for instance). i've no problem with them talking their time over a decision. givens has mentioned though that they'd like to have someone appointed ahead of the january 16th fixtures meeting
06/12/2007, 10:29 AM
Disturbing to hears Givens say that the process will take some time because of the difficulties of getting the 4 individuals (panel plus interviewee) around a table and having to interview the 14+ candidates. Most of the decent candidates will have taken up job offers by the time this thing gets off the ground. Surely the 3 should sit down and rule out at least 9 of the candidates and interview their top 5.
Not quite what I understood from Givens as regard time frame.
'Givens, meanwhile, feels it is difficult at this stage to put an accurate time frame on the entire process. "It's hard to know how long it will take," he said.
"I mean with one interview, there's four people, the three of us and the candidate so and there's anything between 12 and 16 people on the list. We know that we don't want to hang around either but we need to do it properly and efficiently and thoroughly. And we'll do that in the shortest time possible."
He doesn't indicate to any particular order of preferance nor should he imo.
He also hints strongly to the interview panels recommendation carrying the heaviest weight.
I can't speak for the FAI but they have said that they've given the three of us the mandate to go and speak to candidates, and we've assured them that when we come back, having spoken to or interviewed everybody, we'll give our recommendation and say this is who we think the best man for the job is. I'd be very surprised if the FAI said at that point, said, 'no, we don't want him'.
"Subject to them agreeing terms and conditions with the FAI, I suppose, the logic is that we're picking the next manager."
All from
http://www.ireland.com/newspaper/sport/2007/1206/1196838986600.html
graham_d
06/12/2007, 3:03 PM
According to the BBC 'Gossip' page (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/gossip_and_transfers/7130162.stm) :)
Ray Houghton will work with Don Howe and former U21 boss Don Givens to select the new Republic of Ireland manager (Mail).
Not that I'd ever suggest the Mail knows more about anything than anybody.... :rolleyes:
06/12/2007, 3:27 PM
In this instance the Mail are making gossip out of the truth instead of their usual truth out of gossip.
eekers
08/12/2007, 1:02 AM
ere: this again
look what crap wenger has come out with today:
You have [Harry] Redknapp, [Alan] Curbishley, [Steve] Coppell, [Gareth] Southgate, [Stuart] Pearce, [Sam] Allardyce; you have plenty," he said. "But you do not rate them enough. Give them a chance."I do not understand your logic because you want people to represent the national qualities. Why do you go for a foreign guy? You are very nationalistic, you want the English national team to do well and suddenly, it's 'we want a Portuguese or an Italian to represent our national qualities'. I believe that you have to choose an Englishman who represents the country."
im glad wenger isnt on the panel then or our candidates would consist of o'leary, brady, mccarthy, shierdan, aldridge
08/12/2007, 1:19 AM
Wenger has some conradictory view of the game. He does not believe in foreign ownership in club football but will argue quite strongly for free market approach to football and no limits to foreign players in club football. Now he is saying the national coach has to be from the country of the team. In totality his views do not add up. Very good coach though.
Irish_Praha
08/12/2007, 9:17 AM
According to the BBC 'Gossip' page (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/gossip_and_transfers/7130162.stm) :)
Not that I'd ever suggest the Mail knows more about anything than anybody....
Givens got the sack so he could concentratre on his role on the panel? :rolleyes:: ... finally, maybe this panel is not so bad after all :p
Newryrep
08/12/2007, 9:23 AM
[QUOTE=geysir;833572] I mean with one interview, there's four people, the three of us and the candidate so and there's anything between 12 and 16 people on the list. We know that we don't want to hang around either but we need to do it properly and efficiently and thoroughly. And we'll do that in the shortest time possible.[QUOTE]
How are there 12 to 16 people who are realistic/suitable/available ? i would of thought 6 maximum. Arrange a date and send him a ticket or 3 of them fly out to interview him (him being Hodgson)
I am waiting for the excuses about Xmas shopping, people busy .
We need a manager in place before the fixtures are arranged. at this rate we will be lucky to get a manager before the fixtures start
Bondvillain
08/12/2007, 9:46 AM
How are there 12 to 16 people who are realistic/suitable/available ? i would of thought 6 maximum. Arrange a date and send him a ticket or 3 of them fly out to interview him (him being Hodgson)
I am waiting for the excuses about Xmas shopping, people busy .
We need a manager in place before the fixtures are arranged. at this rate we will be lucky to get a manager before the fixtures start
With this being an FAI "expenses-reimbursed " operation, I would expect it to be no doubt the most thorough and lengthy interview process in football history.
As well as time and money spent visiting various outposts to interview the likes of Kendall and possibly Omar Troussier (Morocco in December lads! Wahey! Bring the wife!) If I were the FAI accountant, I would also fully expect to have receipts produced for Flights to Melchester for a 'behind closed doors' meeting with Legendary Roy Race, a weekend in Fulchester to interview Tommy Brown (and a sly meet up with his arch rival, City manager Gus Grimthorpe) and a long , expensive visit to the Simon Weisenthal centre to try and track down for interview the manager of the Nazi XI from Escape to Victory. (MIchael Caine of the Aliied XI has ruled himself out. After "A christmas Carol", he says he won't work with muppets again.)
Meanwhile, all of the proper, genuine candidates who could have made a difference if approached, will have settled into what would arguably be considered "lesser" positions, or at least lower paid ones, as in fairness, If the FAI attache the same gravity & importance to interviewing Howard Kendall as they do to interviewing Roy Hodgson for the position, then anyone who truly loves football will know that no amount of money could make working for the FAI an attractive proposition.
Newryrep
08/12/2007, 10:06 AM
With this being an FAI "expenses-reimbursed " operation, I would expect it to be no doubt the most thorough and lengthy interview process in football history.
As well as time and money spent visiting various outposts to interview the likes of Kendall and possibly Omar Troussier (Morocco in December lads! Wahey! Bring the wife!)
The obvious trip for the wife is shopping in Milan, maybe we should pressurise the wives.
Better to go interview them than they come over here - i wouldnt put a dog out in weather like this today.
Noelys Guitar
08/12/2007, 11:02 AM
If we see the 2 Don's and Rayo wearing sombreros and giant sunglasses returning from "important FAI business" ie inteviewing Shaun Goater out in Bermuda then questons must be asked.
13/12/2007, 9:32 AM
'Givens, meanwhile, feels it is difficult at this stage to put an accurate time frame on the entire process. "It's hard to know how long it will take," he said.
"I mean with one interview, there's four people, the three of us and the candidate so and there's anything between 12 and 16 people on the list. We know that we don't want to hang around either but we need to do it properly and efficiently and thoroughly. And we'll do that in the shortest time possible."
Fair play to England for getting a good candidate and quickly.
Why can't we conduct interviews in, e.g., London hotel or various London locations, over a 2 day period? Those that want the job can make themselves available. Capello flew to London.
Those who require a direct approach can be visited. Hodgson (publicly anyway) has been non-committal for example. That'd take about a week, max.
Houllier is in Dundalk already so if he's a candidate talk to him there.
Cowboy
13/12/2007, 11:10 AM
Thats class man :D
As well as time and money spent visiting various outposts to interview the likes of Kendall and possibly Omar Troussier (Morocco in December lads! Wahey! Bring the wife!) If I were the FAI accountant, I would also fully expect to have receipts produced for Flights to Melchester for a 'behind closed doors' meeting with Legendary Roy Race, a weekend in Fulchester to interview Tommy Brown (and a sly meet up with his arch rival, City manager Gus Grimthorpe) and a long , expensive visit to the Simon Weisenthal centre to try and track down for interview the manager of the Nazi XI from Escape to Victory. (MIchael Caine of the Aliied XI has ruled himself out. After "A christmas Carol", he says he won't work with muppets again.)
Meanwhile, all of the proper, genuine candidates who could have made a difference if approached, will have settled into what would arguably be considered "lesser" positions, or at least lower paid ones, as in fairness, If the FAI attache the same gravity & importance to interviewing Howard Kendall as they do to interviewing Roy Hodgson for the position, then anyone who truly loves football will know that no amount of money could make working for the FAI an attractive proposition.
13/12/2007, 11:28 AM
Why can't we conduct interviews in, e.g., London hotel or various London locations, over a 2 day period? Those that want the job can make themselves available. Capello flew to London.
Those who require a direct approach can be visited. Hodgson (publicly anyway) has been non-committal for example. That'd take about a week, max.
Are you mixing information because I see Houllier is down to talk at the "grassroots" seminar in Dundalk in January.
http://www.faiifagrassrootsseminar.com/
13/12/2007, 12:22 PM
Sorry, I thought that conference was this week. My error.
cavan_fan
13/12/2007, 1:43 PM
There are two key differences between us and england on this. The english fa have not felt it necessary to appoint a selection team (I think this is because people don't think mcclaren was barwicks first choice and brooking is well respected) The FAI have had to spend weeks getting external people on board
More significantly hiring an english manager is a much simpler task. They identified the five people they wanted most in the world. Three were interested and they picked their favourite from those. I'm fairly sure that given unlimited money and prestige we would have quickly put together a similar list. But there is no way Capello etc would have taken the ireland job. At the level we are pitching there are dozens of candidates all of whom have flaws. It is a much tougher decision for the FAI
13/12/2007, 6:43 PM
The delay is probably down to Delaney accidently deleting El Tel's number from his mobile phone. Once he tracks down a number for the sun tanned one we'll have a new manager.
06/01/2008, 3:07 PM
Has there been a formal announcement of who is on this committee yet? We hear about people (eg. Hodgson) having been approached but by whom?
06/01/2008, 3:09 PM
Has there been a formal announcement of who is on this committee yet? We hear about people (eg. Hodgson) having been approached but by whom?
Where have you been? :D Givens, Howe and Houghton.
06/01/2008, 3:11 PM
oh oh, I think OwlsFan may be getting his first "senior moments"
06/01/2008, 3:29 PM
oh oh, I think OwlsFan may be getting his first "senior moments"
hehe. I wouldn't mind but on the previous page he replies to a joke about Howe, Givens and Houghton being the Englishman, Irishman and Scotsman. :)
Noelys Guitar
06/01/2008, 3:39 PM
I can see someone like Rosenstock calling up candidates and offering them the job. "Hi Howard. Don Howe here mate. Naah no need for an interview. We want to offer you the job. Just turn up the weekend of the Brazil game"
06/01/2008, 8:20 PM
"Eh. Don who?"
07/01/2008, 10:41 AM
Where have you been? :D Givens, Howe and Houghton.
But was there ever a formal announcement or was it just leaked in dribs and drabs?
07/01/2008, 10:44 AM
Formal announcement
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2712&Itemid=9
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2709&Itemid=9
07/01/2008, 12:01 PM
Thanks. Missed that for some reason :confused:
galwayhoop
17/01/2008, 3:32 PM
The longer this whole process goes on the more and more it looks as if this is all just a charade and El Tel is going to get the job (or has already got it) anyway. Could it be that we, the supporters, are being duped into believing that there is a proper and transparent process at work. While all along the post is going to be filled by the man who the players expressed they wanted during their meeting with Delaney in Cardiff on the eve of our final qualification game??
Discuss
carloz
17/01/2008, 3:39 PM
Its been a joke since the day they decided to put the current under 21 manager, who might i add is doing a dreadful job with them, on the committee. How in gods name can having him on the committee be justified. The fact that he is attending a coaching meeting next week while the process is still going on again shows the process is a joke. On your point i dont think the players should have been asked for their opinion at all. The players got what they wanted in the manager with Stan and mick Byrne back, look how that ended up
irishfan86
17/01/2008, 3:41 PM
I honestly don't think the 3 wise men would act as Delaney's puppets.
Don Givens doesn't seem to be that kind of character, and I can't see Houghton going along with it either.
The only way Venables will be appointed is if he is deemed the best man for the job, but considering the largely negative public reaction on supporters sites like this, and the rumours that a large chunk of the FAI board would be against his appointment, I have a hard time believing he'll actually get it.
17/01/2008, 3:42 PM
now beginning to think its a sham but what keeps me thinking that it may be a genuine process is that i dont think houghton would let himself be used like that unless he has been fooled into it
17/01/2008, 3:47 PM
I honestly don't think the 3 wise men would act as Delaney's puppets.
Don Givens doesn't seem to be that kind of character, and I can't see Houghton going along with it either.
The only way Venables will be appointed is if he is deemed the best man for the job, but considering the largely negative public reaction on supporters sites like this, and the rumours that a large chunk of the FAI board would be against his appointment, I have a hard time believing he'll actually get it.
I think you're being slightly naive. Why wouldn't Givens be that type of character. After all, he's done an abonimal job with the U 21's and has never been in trouble of losing his job, the fcukin joker.
As for Houghton, he may be a legend for achievements on the pitch, but have you heard him either commentating or analysing on RTE? You wouldn't know he is an ex-pro, hell he makes Kenny (pronounce ev-er-y let-ter in the al-pha-bet) CUnningham sound like Helenio Herrara.
irishfan86
17/01/2008, 4:07 PM
I think you're being slightly naive. Why wouldn't Givens be that type of character. After all, he's done an abonimal job with the U 21's and has never been in trouble of losing his job, the fcukin joker.
As for Houghton, he may be a legend for achievements on the pitch, but have you heard him either commentating or analysing on RTE? You wouldn't know he is an ex-pro, hell he makes Kenny (pronounce ev-er-y let-ter in the al-pha-bet) CUnningham sound like Helenio Herrara.
Neither of us know Givens personally, and I'm certainly not defending his management record with the U-21s, which as you say is abominable, but he comes across as a combative character who doesn't really take ****.
I have a hard time seeing him pushed around by the likes of Delaney.
In any event, if the board don't want Venables, and there seems to be rumours of that, then it doesn't really matter if the 3 dons put him forward as their first choice.
In any event, I get the impression the 3 lads are not making the appointment- they are just giving a list of interested candidates who have been interviewed in the order that they rate them.
That's why you hear things like, "the 3 wise men will present their shortlist to the board in early February following the January 22nd meeting."
17/01/2008, 4:18 PM
Givens keeps saying it's his belief that the panel will go with the manager they put forward. I think that's what he wants to believe but he probably has his doubts.
17/01/2008, 4:22 PM
I Think the whole conspiracy theory thing is getting a bit carried away. why are people on here so sure that El Tel will get the job, do they know something the journo's, the bookie's and the 3 Don's don't? why would the FAI drag this process on so long if they already had their man, what exactly would they achieve by announcing that the 3 wise men had decided on Venables in February in stead of announcing in January that the three wise men have decided on Venables.
If this were a crime it would be motiveless
irishfan86
17/01/2008, 4:23 PM
I Think the whole conspiracy theory thing is getting a bit carried away. why are people on here so sure that El Tel will get the job, do they know something the journo's, the bookie's and the 3 Don's don't? why would the FAI drag this process on so long if they already had their man, what exactly would they achieve by announcing that the 3 wise men had decided on Venables in February in stead of announcing in January that the three wise men have decided on Venables.
Roy would say to save money on salary.
17/01/2008, 5:07 PM
...Could it be that we, the supporters, are being duped into believing that there is a proper and transparent process at work...
Who said it's transparent? The FAI have made it clear that it's being done behind closed doors with this statement (http://fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2765) which politely asked the media to **** off.