View Full Version : The selection team
28/11/2007, 4:08 PM
What will he reveal.
Noelys Guitar
28/11/2007, 4:12 PM
Is anyone else having a problem getting newstalk online? I can't access the site
soccerc
28/11/2007, 4:14 PM
What will he reveal.
Now Now Neil,
That just wouldn't be my right to say but I suspect it will be along the lines that he does not want to be part of all or any of the process following events of the past five days.
Also, possibly how his name entered the public domain.It is my understanding that he or any one associated with him clearly didn't leak or release his involvement.
Edit: I could of course be wrong
28/11/2007, 4:19 PM
So to read between the lines he cannot be on the selection team as he has a chance to be part of Terry Venalbles managment team, should Venables get the job.
28/11/2007, 4:50 PM
That's rational paranoia, Neil
eekers
28/11/2007, 5:26 PM
since the fai seem a bit lost at the moment finalising the selection committee. here's what i think is the ideal committee makeup:
One Irish member
knows the irish team, knows our stengths, would be aware of the views of real irish fans.
One continental european member
having a ireland/uk based selection panel is just way too insular.
we need someone thats knows about manager elsewhere in europe.
One big name
Someone to turn the heads of a potenital candidate that wouldnt even think of looking at the job otherwise.
29/11/2007, 9:14 AM
Interesting discussion on Setanta before the Celtic game between Paul Dempsey, Andy T and Pat (Dyed hair) Dolan. Dolan castigating the FAI's handling of the selection process, Andy T saying that he was canvassed by Delaney for his views on various managers but is not joining the selection team but was then hardly allowed speak by Dolan so whatever else he wanted to say was drowned out. Later on on TV3 sports news, Givens said he has had no contact with the FAI since the Wales game and Don Howe says he isn't part of the team either.
Back to square one:confused:
eekers
29/11/2007, 9:20 AM
Interesting discussion on Setanta before the Celtic game between Paul Dempsey, Andy T and Pat (Dyed hair) Dolan. Dolan castigating the FAI's handling of the selection process, Andy T saying that he was canvassed by Delaney for his views on various managers but is not joining the selection team but was then hardly allowed speak by Dolan so whatever else he wanted to say was drowned out. Later on on TV3 sports news, Givens said he has had no contact with the FAI since the Wales game and Don Howe says he isn't part of the team either.
good - better than those 3
29/11/2007, 10:02 AM
I only caught the Andy Townsend piece on the early news this morning. He seemed to be quite scathing of the FAI and I'm surprised it hasn't been brought up more this morning.
I got the impression he had it out with Delaney and that he certainly wasn't part of the process or the job itself. Said he was asked about potential candidates and that he gave straight yes and no answers.
If thats the case, and he asks the various people for opinions on potentials, how can he be getting any sort of grasp on who is right for the job?
29/11/2007, 10:12 AM
Yes, Delaney is out there canvassing people for their opinions while I thought there was supposed to be a selection committee which would do that for him.
Gets stranger by the day :rolleyes:
29/11/2007, 12:51 PM
Irish Times says Townsend believes that the role of the selection panel will be to ratify a single name given to them.
29/11/2007, 1:03 PM
what if the panel says no? Does the search start again? What a shambles.
29/11/2007, 1:19 PM
Looks like a Delaney chronic problem, how can I delegate a decision and at the same time maintain total control over what they decide.
29/11/2007, 1:26 PM
what if the panel says no? Does the search start again?The search for a new panel you mean? The panel will be well chosen to give the right answer.
Bondvillain
29/11/2007, 2:15 PM
Anyone chosen for this "independent" panel will , obviously, have to sign some sort of confidentiality clause.
So when they've signed it, and Delaney says, "Thanks for coming lads, heres the meeting room. You wouldn't mind heading in there for a few hours, and coming out and announcing Terry Venables as the no1 choice for Ireland, would yiz? Good men. There's tea and coffee and fig rolls in there, a couple of complimentary copies of todays Herald, and Sky Sports news is on the big screen " they will, of course, be contractually bound not to tell anyone about the machiavellian meddling.
Of course, if they disagree, and won't do Delaneys "Venables for Ireland" cheerleader routine , the confidentiality contract still stands, so Delaney can dissolve his commit-tee because of "fundamental creative disagreements detrimental to the selection process" without fear of discovery, and hire 3 more honest, unswayable independents who will do exactly what he says...
Or maybe I just watch too much Telly.
29/11/2007, 2:38 PM
The search for a new panel you mean? The panel will be well chosen to give the right answer.
no I mean for a new manager. If the panel are only given one option/manager to debate between themselves then in the unlikely scenario that they say no to candidate X (Venables) then surely the FAI would have to go looking again and offer up an alternative candidate.
Surely the sensible option would be to have a list of 5 candidates who are rumoured to be keen and/or have had their agent on the blower to the FAI expressing an interest - give the names to panel and get them to whittle it down to a first/2nd/3rd choice. Approach the favoured option and offer him the job - if he says no then move on to the 2nd etc.
Noelys Guitar
29/11/2007, 3:33 PM
The funny thing is there is no selection committee. Not one person has come forward and said they are on this Phantom committee. All those names mentioned in the press as being part of this Phathom committee have either said they are not interested or have not been apporached by the FAI (Delaney).
29/11/2007, 3:38 PM
Question is should we know the names of the people on the committee before it starts its work or even before its finished its work. I am not sure we should. I will be happy not to know anything if I find out at a later date that the right procedures were followed and they have the best possible man they can get for the job. Johnny Giles seems to think this is whats going to happen.
29/11/2007, 3:40 PM
Is Giles confident it'll be done correctly, i.e., diligently, thoroughly and objectively?
29/11/2007, 3:46 PM
It seems that he is and I think he is in the loop.
29/11/2007, 3:55 PM
England meanwhile will be consulting with Beckenbauer, Platini, Hodgson and Toshack.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12016_2929584,00.html
we go and ask El Tel's wife....
29/11/2007, 4:12 PM
From FAI.ie
Four members of the Football Associatiion of Ireland's Board of Management will meet members of the panel being set up to assist the association in the recruitment process.
The meeting is to inform members of the panel of the conditions and requirements for the position as well as answering any questions that may arise.
Following the meeting, the recruitment panel will take charge of the next stage in the process.
Flawless
29/11/2007, 6:00 PM
http://www.oxygen.ie/page/1193
Check this out!!
Noelys Guitar
29/11/2007, 11:52 PM
Fridays examiner says 2 of the 3 or maybe 2 of the 2 are Howe and Givens.
30/11/2007, 6:15 AM
Noelys
As has been seen on other threads. Don Givens has not been spoken to by the FAI since the Wales game, Howe denied being approached. So those reports are as I said before total Ball -Ox !
Colbert Report
30/11/2007, 6:49 AM
Here's who I would like to see on the panel.
Jack Charlton
Roy Keane
Bobby Robson
stickyjoe
30/11/2007, 7:01 AM
How could Don Givens be on the panel?
Surely he is compromised as he is currently the Under 21 manager and I`m presuming he would want to stay in that role.....
Dr. Ogba
30/11/2007, 8:40 AM
unbelievable....they've been fannying around for weeks on this now and who do they come up with??? Don bloody Givens....ffs this is just getting beyond a joke :rolleyes:
irishfan86
30/11/2007, 8:49 AM
Here's who I would like to see on the panel.
Jack Charlton
Roy Keane
Bobby Robson
1. Not in touch with the modern game
2. Nominated O'Leary
3. Senile
Ireland4ever
30/11/2007, 8:55 AM
From FAI.ie
Four members of the Football Associatiion of Ireland's Board of Management will meet members of the panel being set up to assist the association in the recruitment process.
The meeting is to inform members of the panel of the conditions and requirements for the position as well as answering any questions that may arise.
Following the meeting, the recruitment panel will take charge of the next stage in the process.
These requirements are that the candidate must go by the name 'Terry Venables'!!;)
30/11/2007, 9:16 AM
These requirements are that the candidate must go by the name 'Terry Venables'!!;)
Exactly fcuking ridiculous.
Why don't they approach someone like Mourinho or Capello with the guise of helping select a manager. That way you can lay out the requirements of the new manager, the wages etc, that way a big wig can decide if he's interested and the association doesn't lose face by approaching a top coach and being rejected.
greatbleddyman
30/11/2007, 9:42 AM
My nominations for headhunters are someone like (but not necessarily these people)
- Kerr ie someone who knows the Irish system
- Irwin ie a good pro with an insight into the mindset of the current irish players but not afraid to speak his mind or be comprimised by holding a role elsewhere
-Deschamps ie a good young continental manager who wouldn't dream of taking the job himself but knows the European game well and might be able to put us onto someone outside the usual media darlings and premiership "they don't like it up em" merchants.
As I said I not saying that these are the three for the job but these are the types of mindset we need
30/11/2007, 9:44 AM
I'd agree. However, I dislike the use of the term "headhunter". "Adivsor" is closer to the mark.
Based on current evidence it's a myth that the FAI is adopting a "headhunting" approach.
30/11/2007, 4:16 PM
FAI Board announces recruitment panel
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2694
have appointed Don Givens and Don Howe to recruit the next manager of the Republic of Ireland senior team
"Over the past month we laid the groundwork (contacted TV) for the next stage in the process. We have finalised the terms of reference, the criteria and financial package (as contained in the 15 contracts printed confidentially at Hacketts). The process has now been handed over the panel.”
Armando
30/11/2007, 5:08 PM
have appointed Don Givens and Don Howe to recruit the next manager of the Republic of Ireland senior team
"Over the past month we laid the groundwork (contacted TV) for the next stage in the process. We have finalised the terms of reference, the criteria and financial package (as contained in the 15 contracts printed confidentially at Hacketts). The process has now been handed over the panel.”
Irish football fans are being royally rode up the ass here:mad:
Just how ridiculous and blatantly corrupt can this get?
If the journos are not unanimous in their condemnation of these 2 guys being on the panel then we know some of them are, as some of us have already expected, in on the ruse of promoting Venables and making sure he gets the job.
...The 2 Dons...you just couldn't make it up
...is there anyone left who still thinks Delaney shouldn't be burnt at the stake?!
Bondvillain
30/11/2007, 5:19 PM
Members are media are requested to direct all queries in relation to the recruitment process to the FAI Communications Department at 01-8999500. There will be no public update from the panel until the process is completed.
...and Venables is announced as manager.
Thank you,
The FAI.
Not giving a F*** what you think since 1921
Flawless
30/11/2007, 5:23 PM
I personally think he shouldnt be Burnt at the stake.....
I'd rather see him take over as head of the English FA!!
Maroon 7
30/11/2007, 6:11 PM
Don Howe used to be a coach under Venables didn't he? I think we can stop worrying about other potential candidates. There's no way anyone other than El Tel is getting the job. Instead of Delaney having to appoint Venables personally he puts together a 2 man recruitment panel. 50% of which used to coach under Venables.
Another masterful stroke by Delaney. If it goes tits up with Venables he can blame it all on the selection panel who put forward the recommendation.
backstothewall
30/11/2007, 6:20 PM
Givens played for him at QPR. Townsend was supposed to be on it as well and worked with him on ITV
30/11/2007, 7:35 PM
As breakingnews.ie puts it in their headline
Former Venables Colleagues Given Job of Finding New Irish Manager
30/11/2007, 7:37 PM
This is an absolute joke of a selection panel. Here was me thinking the FAI were going to take this serious after getting rid of Stan...more fool me, bad times are still here for another campaign:o.
eekers
30/11/2007, 7:39 PM
how will a two man work:
lets say don wants one man and the other don wants someone else. how will they make a decision
Tis-smeee
30/11/2007, 7:51 PM
How can an under 21 manager who admits he is at sea with todays proffesional game be given the job of selectin in affect his own boss?
30/11/2007, 7:58 PM
how will a two man work:
lets say don wants one man and the other don wants someone else. how will they make a decision
Easy! the CEO has the casting vote! :D
LeixlipRed
30/11/2007, 9:37 PM
Farcical stuff,
"Don, who do you think is the best candidate we've seen so far?"
"Well Don, Terry was convincing even if he seeemed to have cut himself shaving this morning"
"So Don, who gets the job?"
"Don, I think it's got to be Terry"
"Shall we interview any of these other candidates first Don?"
"No Don, we've been at this job 20 minutes and I need to use the toilet"
01/12/2007, 6:58 PM
What happened to Bobby Robson? I seem to remember him being against the appointment of TV after it was "known" that he would be on the selection committee. Am I being too cynical thinking that that's why he's not on it anymore.
eekers
01/12/2007, 9:33 PM
What happened to Bobby Robson? I seem to remember him being against the appointment of TV after it was "known" that he would be on the selection committee. Am I being too cynical thinking that that's why he's not on it anymore.
one of the newspapers today reported the exact same thing. although i suspect don howe would have pretty much the same line of thinking as robson.
HolylandsMan
02/12/2007, 12:21 AM
And what's happened to John Giles? I know he'd said something about only having a casual role but surely either he's involved or he's not.
(Apologies if this has already been cleared up - I get confused with the whole thing at times!)
eekers
02/12/2007, 12:40 AM
And what's happened to John Giles? I know he'd said something about only having a casual role but surely either he's involved or he's not.
(Apologies if this has already been cleared up - I get confused with the whole thing at times!)
giles didnt want to be involved in the decision making process. becasue he'd be compromised as a pundit (which is his livelyhood). he wouldnt be able to give impartial critical analysis on the manager if he helped select the manager.
02/12/2007, 10:34 AM
Pat Walker would have been an excellent person to have involved in the selection / advisory process.
It's a pity his call fell on deaf ears.