View Full Version : 4 Bohs fans jailed in Derry

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

Mr_T
10/10/2007, 9:50 PM
They'll certainly know what it's like to have a queen now....... ! :D

LOL, potm Steve!

BleusAvantTout
10/10/2007, 9:56 PM
They'll serve 6 weeks each (50% remission) and will be out around 23 November. If you're 21 or over you go to Maghaberry, and if under 21 then it will be Hydebank!!

10/10/2007, 9:56 PM
They'll serve 6 weeks each (50% remission) and will be out around 23 November. If you're 21 or over you go to Maghaberry, and if under 21 then it will be Hydebank!!

BAT, any info on those prisons for us not in the know?

onceahoop
10/10/2007, 9:57 PM
Must have thought they were in the Dublin District Court facing a €50 fine and a few hours community service.:rolleyes:

Hope they realise that the only service they'll be doing is getting serviced by the tatoo brigade in Maghabery. :D

Tis-smeee
10/10/2007, 10:06 PM
They went in a car. So! Im sure there was plenty of decent bohs fans that travelled by car you also disassociate your club from those fans?

10/10/2007, 10:13 PM
They went in a car. So! Im sure there was plenty of decent bohs fans that travelled by car you also disassociate your club from those fans?

What the hell are you on about now? You make the Sligo fans look articulate.

10/10/2007, 10:16 PM

you imbecile. How many times do you have to be told something before it sinks in? Where the FCUK was a car mentioned????? ffs... :rolleyes:

10/10/2007, 10:16 PM
Exactly.

What are you talking about?

Those who were involved last night hired their own bus, which they wrecked, to bring them to game.

The driver went back to Dublin without them.

The cops looked at the CCTV and then checked all the Bohs fans waiting for the 00:45 bus from Derry, arresting those that they could identify from the footage.

Apparently there were a few others sweating on whether they would detained as well.

Tis-smeee
10/10/2007, 10:23 PM
The post said they organised there own transport, am i psychic . I make the same point but substitute bus for car.

BleusAvantTout
10/10/2007, 10:25 PM
BAT, any info on those prisons for us not in the know?

Maghaberry is a high security prison about 18 miles from Belfast and 7 miles from Lisburn. It contains all categories of prisoners including lifers. A cross between Mountjoy & Port Laoise!

Hydebank is a Young offenders Centre, 6 miles from Belfast City Centre. It used to be very strict, almost a "boot camp" when it opened in 1979. It is less strict now but still "yes sir, no sir, 3 bags full sir"! I can't think of a Southern equivalent but maybe like the one near Blacklion!!! I'm not sure what type of regime you have there.

I wouldn't fancy being in either but the 4 may "double up" with their co-accused. I'm not a prison officer or offender but am familiar with the criminal justice system up here.

10/10/2007, 10:29 PM
The post said they organised there own transport, am i psychic . I make the same point but substitute bus for car.

so in your mind they were more likely to have organised a car than a bus? And thats ignoring the fact that i specifically said "bus".

you can make the same point all you want man but its useless if youre going to ignore the content of everyones elses posts.

Are you psychic? No, though you are a bit erm... different.

Tis-smeee
10/10/2007, 10:32 PM
My point is not whether they got a car or a bus , my point is that they are bohs fans, scummy ones at that, but you just cant say not real fans and forget about it, bohs in my experience have the biggest hooligan element of all clubs, what apart from saying they are not real fans are the club doing to rid the club of these fans?

biscuit
10/10/2007, 10:33 PM
I can't think of a Southern equivalent but maybe like the one near Blacklion!!! I'm not sure what type of regime you have there.

That is called Loughan House...its been described more as a holiday camp than anything else, so definatly not as strict a regime...not strict enough for them anyway.

10/10/2007, 10:39 PM
My point is not whether they got a car or a bus , my point is that they are bohs fans, scummy ones at that, but you just cant say not real fans and forget about it, bohs in my experience have the biggest hooligan element of all clubs, what apart from saying they are not real fans are the club doing to rid the club of these fans?

We have a bad element for sure. And its doing nothing for our club or the league. I agree.

But what can we do as Bohs fans except come on to message boards like we have today and condemn the actions of a scummy minority?

The club has this season barred known troublemakers from Dalymount and has provided other clubs with this information etc. However the club needs to do more now including stopping BSC flags from being hung around Dalymount. And as has been mentioned on the bohs forum sending stewards to assist the security firms at away grounds to stop these cretins from gaining entry to the ground.

However, i dont see how the club can be held responsible for the actions of a number of mindless drugged up idiots in Derry city centre who travelled independently (on a bus). Can you give me some idea of what can be done in such a situation?

sylvo
10/10/2007, 11:20 PM
Oh dear, all that trying to be like the football factory, I bet they never thought that would be the ending to their apeing of them fine ambassadors of their clubs across the water.

Seen some of them on the news being lead out of the courthouse in their stone island clobber, seems like all that trying to be like Cas Pennent and his pals has payed off at long last. Maybe the Boh Solid Crew will get their own little piece on Bravo with Danny Dyer asking them about their pucker well organised firm, and Phibsboro being ''a right nort-eeee manor'.

But also, this should not be looked upon as reflection on the over whelming majority of real Bohs fans who I know are sick to death of this clowns dragging them down. I hope that everyone in the EL can move away from clowns like this.

L37Ultra
10/10/2007, 11:40 PM
I cant believe this actually happen in Irish football. I have always associated this with other countries and not in our League. Ive only ever witnesed real trouble at a Limerick match once. I was dissapointed with the news coverage of the attacks + arrests on RTE this evening. There is no proof what so ever that this incidence was football related yet on the news they opened the report saying "football violence". this should only be used when it happens in the ground. From reports ive heard the supporters in the ground were excellently behaved. The last thing the EL needs at the moment is negative press.

11/10/2007, 1:02 AM
Sentence was a bit lean though, is that what you'd get if it weren't 'football related'?

Scentence isn't lean at all for criminal damage, nor was it "football related".

My understanding is they got done under anti-sectarianism laws, which meant a stiffer scentence than they'd otherwise have faced.

11/10/2007, 1:04 AM
Stephen lives up here, so is probably very familiar about how things work in the North. :)

I don't care if he lives on the set for 'The Bill' - how the hell will they be "out by the weekend".......? :confused: Is he expecting Bertie to personally intervene at a high level on a mission of mercy...?

They've been sent down for 3 months. Therefore - they'll be in Maghaberry this weekend. End of story.

11/10/2007, 1:12 AM
Bohs fans don't try to cover up for their scumbag element or try to play them down

Sadly though it seems your club is intent on doing just that VM.

Gerry Conway said the following on RTE news tonight :

It's not as if we have a hooligan element who come along every week to cause trouble. That just isn't the case".

Now - he may be technically correct to say that they don't come along to cause trouble every week, but there is clearly a wannabe hooligan element at Bohs, and the club is more than well aware of that. Those involved may not be up to acting the big-men every single week, but it's certainly not the "few and far between" instances that he mentioned either.

Bohemians FC needs to take it's head out of the sand here.

11/10/2007, 1:23 AM
However the club needs to do more now including stopping BSC flags from being hung around Dalymount.

This would be a sensible starting point. It's ridiculous that the club lets a known hooligan group that has attached itself to the club openly and proudly anounce it's presence at every single game unhindered. By tolerating these fools the club has created the problem for itself.

Stopping any BSC banners at games from now on would start to send out the message that those pr!cks aren't welcome. The next home game would be a good time to do it, as their morale will probably be low with 4 of their fellow muppets in the cells.

I doubt they'd have the balls to do it, but will be interesting to see if any 'Free the Bohs 4' type banners make an appearance - especially at the Brandywell on Friday week. Will be interesting to see what Bohemians FC did to any such banners that appeared.

But what can we do as Bohs fans except come on to message boards like we have today and condemn the actions of a scummy minority?

Bottom line is that this is the opportunity for Bohemians FC to show if they are serious about this issue, or whether they will continue to just hope it'll go away. Every ordinary Bohs fan can play a part in forcing the club's hand here - you are anything but powerless.

swano
11/10/2007, 6:07 AM
I just hope that their time in prison is tough enough so they don't come out and look at it as a badge of honour. Fair play to the pub owner, PSNI and the justice system in the north.

ForzaHoop
11/10/2007, 7:46 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FK7XukpsU0w

lofty9
11/10/2007, 7:55 AM
Will they not be in Magilligan, rather than Maghaberry?

11/10/2007, 8:00 AM
The reason these guys were crying in court was almost certainly through relief- because the magistrate had just explained to them what would have happened if Pineapple Stu had happened to witness their shenanigans, and compared to that 3 months inside seemed like a holiday.

aido_b
11/10/2007, 8:38 AM
As a life long Bohs fan I'm absolutely disgusted at what these lads have done in Derry. I would however like to point out one thing,

One of the lads who has been jailed attended the games with myself and a few friends up until he moved away from us and into the "casual" crowd. Up until this point he was a grand young lad and used to love coming to the games purely to watch a match. This young lad was very easily led so was obviously taken in by all of this absolute casual b*llix which seems to be what these younger kids look up to at Bohs games.

Now I do nothing but condemn what happened in Derry but I think it's time for the older lads who have obviously filled the three youngest lads heads full of crap to take a long hard look at themselves and realise that it's a game of football and nothing else.

Any casuals who read this and wish to comment etc .... please do.

Aidan

11/10/2007, 9:12 AM
Gerry Conways comments seem to jar with what the Bohs fans are saying on here. I can understand that he's trying to do a PR spin job but it just makes him look like an apologist on behalf of these scumbags by trying to brush it under the carpet.

He'd be better acknowledging there is an ongoing problem with a small minority of "fans" (can't think of a more appropriate word) and asking why the Gardai can't deal with it in a similar way to the PSNI.

Tir Oilean
11/10/2007, 9:21 AM
Interesting point that the incident has been branded football related on the news while it was anti sectarian laws/criminal damage laws that were used to convict.

11/10/2007, 9:24 AM
Stoopid Republicanism??

Fellas acting the Maggot??

It's become obvious to me that this was infact the work of renegade Shamrock Rovers fans and has nothing to do with Bohs.

I know this for a FACT. Some fella told me and the fella that told him knows one of the convicts brothers cousins.......

Besides Bohs are the Loyalist club

MyTown
11/10/2007, 9:34 AM
Bohs are the Loyalist club

Took a few pages for this to make it into the mix..... the one club with a supposed protestant heritage in the Republic has so-called supporters sent down for wrecking a pub in a predominantly protestant location.

The swift action of the PSNI & the judicial system "up north" has so much to recommend itself. Unfortunately, we are all too slow "down here" to learn the lesssons.

swano
11/10/2007, 9:35 AM
Well Gerry Conway did mention Rovers quite a few times in the interview I heard, obviously trying to deflect attention away from his club.

sonofstan
11/10/2007, 9:43 AM
Gerry Conways comments seem to jar with what the Bohs fans are saying on here. I can understand that he's trying to do a PR spin job but it just makes him look like an apologist on behalf of these scumbags by trying to brush it under the carpet.

He'd be better acknowledging there is an ongoing problem with a small minority of "fans" (can't think of a more appropriate word) and asking why the Gardai can't deal with it in a similar way to the PSNI.

I don't know what Gc was up to. At two away games this season where there's been bother between BSC and other Bohs fans, i was sitting within a few seats of the two Gerrys (Cuffe and Conway) so if i saw it, he saw it.

He'd have been better off acknowledging we have a problem, explaining the limits of what we can do - police Dalymount - and what we can't do - police the BSC miles from any football ground - commend the PSNI, offer the sympathy of the club to the bar owner, and ask that the gardai and the dept. of Justice consider the situation carefully and work with football clubs to eradicate this in the republic.

btid1
11/10/2007, 9:47 AM
As a life long Bohs fan I'm absolutely disgusted at what these lads have done in Derry. I would however like to point out one thing,

One of the lads who has been jailed attended the games with myself and a few friends up until he moved away from us and into the "casual" crowd. Up until this point he was a grand young lad and used to love coming to the games purely to watch a match. This young lad was very easily led so was obviously taken in by all of this absolute casual b*llix which seems to be what these younger kids look up to at Bohs games.

Now I do nothing but condemn what happened in Derry but I think it's time for the older lads who have obviously filled the three youngest lads heads full of crap to take a long hard look at themselves and realise that it's a game of football and nothing else.

Any casuals who read this and wish to comment etc .... please do.

Aidan

I just want to echo what Aido has said above.While not knowing this guy he speaks of too well I have met him in the past at a number of games and know him to say hello to.When he started supporting Bohs he was just like anyother young fella who enjoyed watching the matches much as I did.But soon he fell into the trap of following the casual element within the club.i think the tears in the dock may show that this guy really is not as much of a scumbag as his actions suggest.The only thing I regret from this incident is that they didnt get the root of the problem and that is a number of individuals who need to be weeded out NOW!!

The only thing I hope is that the other younger guys who idolise these older morons now see exactly what trouble their actions can get them into and desist from following them like sheep.

Maybe some good can come out of this situation.

My question now falls to the Gardai as to why it has taken the PSNI to begin to solve this problem which has been growing for the last 5 years or so.The first signs of it appeared in Cobh in our playoff a number of years ago.Since then numbers in this group have continued to grow.

a.a.d
11/10/2007, 9:52 AM
How did they want pub to hit Stevo ? Would there have local collusion of any kind ?

RT They were outside the pub down from the Oakgrove for a long time and then at round seven o'clock they started walking towards the town in the direction of the Bishop Street gate, the Fountain area is right beside this gate and there is a dedicated walkway into the area as part of the gate. They just walked in and the first pub you come across is the Tavern Bar.

So I would suggest that as there were more Derry Fans around the oakgrove they decided not to cause trouble there so took advantage of being so close to the fountain and went in there looking for a fight.

So the pub was unfortunatly the first one they came across and decided to attack that

And the Fountain area is not hard to miss so local collusion is also out.

reder
11/10/2007, 10:14 AM
This incident has quite probably the most reported incident relating to the EL I have ever seen. "Chunky" media slots on the irish channels have been devoted to it. Pity they didnt put the same amount of emphasis on the match itself.

11/10/2007, 10:20 AM
Scentence isn't lean at all for criminal damage, nor was it "football related".

My understanding is they got done under anti-sectarianism laws, which meant a stiffer scentence than they'd otherwise have faced.
The report on Aertel explicitly said that they weren't done on anti-sectarianism laws.

On the other hand, it is Aertel.

11/10/2007, 10:37 AM
How did they want pub to hit Stevo ? Would there have local collusion of any kind ?

Can I have this in English please.....?

"Local collusion"...? :rolleyes:Stop trying to spread the blame or let them off the hook. Shameful.....

11/10/2007, 10:49 AM
Less use of the word "Proddy" please.

11/10/2007, 10:56 AM
Sorry about that Stevo how did they know what pub to hit ?

It would be amazing if they just came on it aqnd straight away decked it for a Proddy Bar ? Just seems very sus to me thats all !

It's in a very recognisable Protestant area. The fact that the Fountain is fenced/caged off makes it stand out a mile. It is also the only Protestant enclave on the city side, and is on the edge of the city centre, so it's not like they were spoilt for choice.

To get to the Oakgrove from the city centre, you would have to go down Bishop St Without. One side of that street is almost entirely taken up by a c. 100 metre long section of wall with high-netting/fencing on top that hems in one side of the Fountain. Walking past it, it would be blindingly obvious that there was something different about an area caged in like that. There is also an old jail tower along that section of wall (where Wolfe Tone was incarcerated when captured off Lough Swilly en route back from France) that almost always has the Union Flag fluttering from the top of it. So take your wildest guess as to how they clocked that the Fountain was a protestant area....

As AAD pointed out - the Tavern would be the first pub you would come across when you walked into the Fountain through an unimpeeded/obvious route form the direction of the Oakgrove.

As for local collusion - they may or may not have got into conversation with a few locals asking what that fenced off area was, or where the protestant areas were etc. That wouldn't be the same as having local supporters who willingly teed-up the pub for attack. Again - stop trying to spread the blame and implicate the people of Derry in an incident that they were clearly the victims of.

Anyways - I'm surprised you needed to ask the above, as I thought you were the expert on Derry, from your in-depth knowledge of tourist movements within the city....? :rolleyes:

11/10/2007, 11:09 AM
This would be a sensible starting point. It's ridiculous that the club lets a known hooligan group that has attached itself to the club openly and proudly anounce it's presence at every single game unhindered. By tolerating these fools the club has created the problem for itself.

Stopping any BSC banners at games from now on would start to send out the message that those pr!cks aren't welcome. The next home game would be a good time to do it, as their morale will probably be low with 4 of their fellow muppets in the cells.

I doubt they'd have the balls to do it, but will be interesting to see if any 'Free the Bohs 4' type banners make an appearance - especially at the Brandywell on Friday week. Will be interesting to see what Bohemians FC did to any such banners that appeared.

Bottom line is that this is the opportunity for Bohemians FC to show if they are serious about this issue, or whether they will continue to just hope it'll go away. Every ordinary Bohs fan can play a part in forcing the club's hand here - you are anything but powerless.

Great post steve.

11/10/2007, 11:23 AM
So the pub was unfortunatly the first one they came across and decided to attack that

And the Fountain area is not hard to miss so local collusion is also out.

Steve, I am still not sure, if these lads or some of them are thick like has been pointed out earlier that they would be able differentiate between pubs. I am not suggesting collusion, but they must have found out somehow....

Ronnie
11/10/2007, 11:25 AM
So now that we can identify some of these muppets, I assume Bohs will have them barred from Dalymount and will provide every other club with stewards for away games to ensure they don't get entry to away matches either?

11/10/2007, 11:25 AM
Why would hte go into a nationalist or replublican pub shouting "sectarian slogans" though?! I am guessing they wouldn't. They had to have an idea of the pub they were going too....or looking for, that though doesn't mean local collusion.

See my explanation above POS.

Even Stevie Wonder would be able to tell the Fountain was a Protestant area.

It's a fairly safe bet that a pub in a protestant area - particularly one next to the Protestant cathedral and within sight of painted kerb-stones/murals - is likely to have a protestant clientele.

Reagrdless - I don't know Belfast particularly well, but I'd still know that places like Sandy Row (on edge of University area) or Tigers Bay were protestant enclaves. I didn't require 'collusion' to know that.

cheifo
11/10/2007, 11:26 AM
Less use of the word "Proddy" please.

Exactly MM

ghBohs
11/10/2007, 11:31 AM
Why would hte go into a nationalist or replublican pub shouting "sectarian slogans" though?! I am guessing they wouldn't. They had to have an idea of the pub they were going too....or looking for, that though doesn't mean local collusion.

Collusion is a very strong word. For what it's worth, the story doing the rounds is that they were drinking with local heads who were more than happy to point the coked up morons in the direction of the bar in question. Of the 30 or so involved in the incident, only the stupidest 4 went down.

I neither know nor care if this is true by the way. They did the crime, let them do the time.

bohsmug
11/10/2007, 11:39 AM
Steve, I am still not sure, if these lads or some of them are thick like has been pointed out earlier that they would be able differentiate between pubs. I am not suggesting collusion, but they must have found out somehow....

It's probably the thick ones that were caught.

I was at the game and Bohs fans were brilliant (as has been discussed on a Derry forum). It was so disheartening to hear about this yesterday and while I expect most EL fans know the difference between the club, it's fans and these people I know non football fans will see this as what Bohs fans do.

11/10/2007, 11:42 AM
RT please refrain from using "P-rod" and such like. Cop yourself on. Things like this can be discussed without name calling.

11/10/2007, 11:43 AM
So if we see an area that is fenced off it is a P-rod area up the north ?

If you're in a nationalist area of the north and you see an area fenced-in with a Union flag flying, red white n' blue kerbstones, and Unionist murals - no wait, your right. I can't see how anyone might think that was a Protestant area.... :o

Good to see your idiocy knows no bounds in terms of the topics it is willing to reveal itself in.

Please stop the whole 'Prod'/'Proddy sh!t as well.

11/10/2007, 11:46 AM
One more case of sectarianism in this thread will result in suspension and/or bannings.

11/10/2007, 12:00 PM
I would hve thought Steve the Clue may have been on the wall where it said you are now entering Loyalist Sandy Row :D

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Sandyrowb.jpg

Sorry Steve you have just been Merked ! :D

1) That mural is not situated where you walk/look down from the University (i.e. where someone would 'stumble' upon Sandy Row coming form a city centre/neutral direction).

2) The Fountain has a very similar mural on the left as you walk under the arch beside the Cathedral : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Londonderry_20030911_Copyright_Kaihsu_Tai.JP G

That picture also shows you the painted kerbstones the Bohs muppets would've had sight of from the pub they attacked. Still can't work out how they realised it was a protestant area, slow kid....?

Not that I know or care what being Merked is, but I suspect I've just done it to you. And I went large for an extra 30p.

So not for the first time - I really think you should stop digging.....

11/10/2007, 12:18 PM
If you drive from Dublin to Derry you pass through towns such as New Buildings and Sion Mills. The red white and blue paving stones and the union flags do give a slight hint as to the political leanings of the locals. ditto for green, white and gold paving stones and tricolours.

However I'm still inclined to believe there was a tipoff because those 4 muppets are probably to thick to figure out anything for themselves.