View Full Version : 4 Bohs fans jailed in Derry

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

11/10/2007, 12:23 PM
If are arguments were being heard in a court of law, your case would have been thrown out as it would have been built solely on presumption. Rumbled and Merked on the same day, your having a mare Steve :D

And any statement from you would've been ruled out and struck off on the grounds of mental deficiency or clear insanity...... :o

Give it a rest RT - you're doing your award winning impression of 'Drowning man clawing at steep river bank' again...

11/10/2007, 12:25 PM
ditto for green, white and gold paving stones and tricolours.

Green, white and gold !?!

I expect better from you Gary..... ;)

sonofstan
11/10/2007, 12:34 PM
The Bohemian board have finally issued a statement. The second last para is a doozy

Statement from Bohemian Football Club
The Board of the Bohemian Football Club condemns unreservedly the actions of the individuals charged and convicted of criminal offences in Derry. The Board welcomes the sentences of the court in these cases. They send a clear signal to those intent on causing trouble.
In recent years Bohemian FC has invested significant resources in a bid to permanently remove a small minority of troublemakers. During this period almost 20 people have been banned permanently from Dalymount Park. We have recently introduced measures aimed at ensuring in as far as possible that these known troublemakers do not gain access to away grounds

Some of the individuals involved in the Derry incident are among those who are banned from Dalymount Park and similar life bans will issue to others identified during court proceedings in Derry

Bohemian Football Club wishes to make it clear that those involved travelled independently and were not part of the group of some 300 supporters who travelled on the 6 coaches the club organised for the official trip. The arrangements to put that initiative in place were facilitated with the sporting assistance of Derry City Football Club. In all some 600 genuine supporters travelled, mixed freely with Derry City fans prior to the game without a hint of trouble and supported our team superbly

Club President Gerry Cuffe said “we are sure we speak for these supporters and all genuine fans and reflect the deep sense of anger felt within the club by condemning totally this mindless minority”

Violent behaviour is an increasing problem within society in general and sporting clubs, including the Bohemian Football Club, are not immune to this trend. The assumed attachment to our club and other bodies and events as a flag of convenience to mask reprehensible activities indicates the mindset society is dealing with in these instances.

The Bohemian Football club is a club wholly owned by its members and dedicated to sport and to being part of a community – an involvement that stretches back almost 120 years. It exists for its members and genuine fans who, as a significant body of responsible citizens, will do all in our power to assist the authorities to stamp out the type of behaviour witnessed in Derry.

Last Updated ( Thursday, 11 October 2007 )

11/10/2007, 12:37 PM
a flag of convenience

There's a few literal BSC versions of those on display at every home game in Dalymount that need to be banned and/or confiscated from now on.

I bet the club does no such thing though.....

Theskinloyal
11/10/2007, 12:50 PM
Yeah didn't the board make an official effort to try to get back some BSC flag or banner that was stolen a few years back?

And that 'BSC: Perverts of Society' banner has been on display nearly all season.

sonofstan
11/10/2007, 12:59 PM
There's a few literal BSC versions of those on display at every home game in Dalymount that need to be banned and/or confiscated from now on.

I bet the club does no such thing though.....

A board member - Denis Meagher - said last night on FM 104 that BSC flags were banned from now on- which prompted the obvious question from Adrian Kennedy as to why they weren't banned already.

11/10/2007, 1:00 PM
A board member - Denis Meagher - said last night on FM 104 that BSC flags were banned from now on- which prompted the obvious question from Adrian Kennedy as to why they wern't banned already.

Good news from the Bohs Board so.

What was his response to the obvious question ?

sonofstan
11/10/2007, 1:03 PM
Good news from the Bohs Board so.

What was his response to the obvious question ?

Didn't hear it, sorry - my daughter was listening to it and reported it to me; I couldn't bear to.

11/10/2007, 1:20 PM
LOL at this being society's fault.

btid1
11/10/2007, 1:22 PM
LOL at this being society's fault.

I dont think they were intimating that it was the fault of society but rather it was a reflection of society at large and not a specific football issue which I think that anyone who goes out on a Saturday night in Dublin could agree with.

lofty9
11/10/2007, 1:28 PM
With decent legal representation they will be out tomorrow/Monday on bail pending an appeal.

11/10/2007, 1:33 PM
Good to hear more or less everyone welcoming the sentences. I don't think Bohs can be blamed too much as any club could have scum like this attached to them.

Great to hear they refused representation & then pleaded guilty. I bet they got the fright of their little lives when heard they seeing jail time. They probably only seen English hooligans on TV & expected to be deported like them

Even if they only serve a few weeks in prison it will be surely be a shock to the system & can't any scum trying to cause trouble in Derry again. The actions of the PSNI should be a lesson to the authorities down here about what can be achieved. Even putting a hooligan in jail for a weekend would make him seriously think twicer about again.

:cool:

11/10/2007, 1:41 PM
With decent legal representation they will be out tomorrow/Monday on bail pending an appeal.

Have they got representation now ?

Are moves afoot on this ?

They live in a different jurisdiction, so could very easily jump bail. Therefore - any bail request should either be refused, or set quite high.

Maybe they should get yer man Desmond Doherty who represented Saddam Hussein and the Bloody Sunday relatives to fish them out...... LMAO

Docboy
11/10/2007, 1:44 PM
I dont think they were intimating that it was the fault of society but rather it was a reflection of society at large and not a specific football issue which I think that anyone who goes out on a Saturday night in Dublin could agree with.

I go out every other Saturday night in town and it's rare that I see rows anymore. In my book they only occur where the clowns go looking for it, much like those mugs up in Derry. Delighted that they got what was coming to them.

11/10/2007, 1:47 PM

I disagree with it. Strongly. I'm out quite a bit, and sometimes in large very drunk groups. I've yet to be involved with anything remotely resembling this, and I've never, ever seen a Dublin bar smashed up.

Nothing wrong with society, except for some of the rejects in it...

dcfc_1928
11/10/2007, 1:48 PM
Lofty - how dare you suggest such a thing.......

I don't care if he lives on the set for 'The Bill' - how the hell will they be "out by the weekend".......? :confused: Is he expecting Bertie to personally intervene at a high level on a mission of mercy...?

They've been sent down for 3 months. Therefore - they'll be in Maghaberry this weekend. End of story.

11/10/2007, 1:49 PM
Good to hear more or less everyone welcoming the sentences. I don't think Bohs can be blamed too much as any club could have scum like this attached to them.

Great to hear they refused representation & then pleaded guilty. I bet they got the fright of their little lives when heard they seeing jail time. They probably only seen English hooligans on TV & expected to be deported like them

Even if they only serve a few weeks in prison it will be surely be a shock to the system & can't any scum trying to cause trouble in Derry again. The actions of the PSNI should be a lesson to the authorities down here about what can be achieved. Even putting a hooligan in jail for a weekend would make him seriously think twicer about again.

:cool:

I've never had the pleasure, but apparently even just a single night in the cells is a sobering experience.

Being in your early twenties, and having the prospect of another 90 or so days there hanging over you, I would hope and expect that that is the last time those involved chance their arm with the law.

11/10/2007, 1:51 PM
Lofty - how dare you suggest such a thing.......

Now now DCFC - the rule of foot.ie is to source any such claims you make.

Still no source for the assertion that they'll be out by the weekend -which is why I've asked him are they pursuing an appeal with legal representation.

11/10/2007, 1:57 PM
I disagree with it. Strongly. I'm out quite a bit, and sometimes in large very drunk groups. I've yet to be involved with anything remotely resembling this, and I've never, ever seen a Dublin bar smashed up.

I agree with the broad sentiment with what Bohs Board man was saying - that some individual's in society have problems/issues that they then carry over into football.

However - the scale is different. Smashing-up a pub is extremely unusual to say the least.

Interesting though that it's always the same clubs that have a smell of trouble about them. Would suggest that, society or not, there is a fundamental problem with those clubs as well that can't just be dismissed.

It's very difficult for clubs to shake off troublemakers and/or a reputation once they've setteld in. Cardiff and Millwall are prime examples of this. No matter what they do, their fans will always have a rep. This is where Bohemians FC will find they've created a proverbial rod for themselves by tolerating the BSC nonesense up to now. They're not liking sleeping in the bed that they played a part in creating for themselves.... (proverb overdose time....)

btid1
11/10/2007, 1:59 PM

Why does everyone have to be so pedantic.I'm not specifcally saying that every Saturday dozens of pubs in Dublin are being smashed up or you would be involved in such activities but ask any Garda in Dublin how many people are arrested every Saturday night on public order offences and you will see quite a considerable figure.It does happen that a group of 7 or so lads could be arrested outside any nightclub for fighting etc.Need I mention Annabels, Dublins recent riots etc.

Drugs are rampant in the city also and from what I believe there was an element who carried out these actions in a drug fuelled state.Again no excuse for their behaviour but a further indictment of the Ireland we live in today!

Hence my conclusion that this is an element in Irish society as a whole and not just Bohemian FC.

11/10/2007, 1:59 PM
I agree with the broad sentiment with what Bohs Board man was saying - that some individual's in society have problems/issues that they then carry over into football.

However - the scale is different. Smashing-up a pub is extremely unusual to say the least.

Interesting though that it's always the same clubs that have a smell of trouble about them. Would suggest that, society or not, there is a fundamental problem with those clubs as well that can't just be dismissed.

It's very difficult for clubs to shake off troublemakers and/or a reputation once they've setteld in. Cardiff and Millwall are prime examples of this. No matter what they do, their fans will always have a rep. This is where Bohemians FC will find they've created a proverbial rod for themselves by tolerating the BSC nonesense up to now.Steve, glass houses and let he who is without sin cast the first stone etc........

Bear in mind what has been discussed on our site over the last few months. Not in quite the same league admittedly but not far off it in relation to one incident.

11/10/2007, 2:04 PM
Steve, glass houses and let he who is without sin cast the first stone etc........

Bear in mind what has been discussed on our site over the last few months. Not in quite the same league admittedly but not far off it in relation to one incident.

Totally agree with you ORA. That's the whole 'ills of sopciety infringing upon sport/football' bit that I buy into behind the Bohs statement.

At the same time, however - City don't have a rep for trouble, whilst Bohs have a small but ongoing and growing one. The vast majority of EL clubs do not have a rep for problem fans - yet all our clubs exist within pretty much the same society. That shows that it is a bigger issue than merely 'society' for some clubs than others. It also shows how once a rep gets developed it is difficult to shake off (as Rovers fans are painfulyl aware, for example. Not having a go in saying that).

btid1
11/10/2007, 2:05 PM
Steve, glass houses and let he who is without sin cast the first stone etc........

Totally agree and no club in this league is whiter than white in this regard.

Bohs,Rovers,Shels,Pats,Derry,Cork,Athlone,Drogheda ,Dundalk ,to name but a few, have all had problems of varying degrees over recent times.Some worse than others admittedly but lets not turn this into a Bohs bashing incident or the points scoring exercise as some would want it to be because that will help nobody.

Bohs members will leave the board in no doubt as to their opinions on this matter and will be pushing for some action.Lets wait and see what comes of this before we pass judgement.

11/10/2007, 2:09 PM
Need I mention Annabels, Dublins recent riots etc.
You've proved my point by mentioning the only two newsworthy incidents in 2-3 years.

Showing that this statement

Hence my conclusion that this is an element in Irish society as a whole and not just Bohemian FC.
is simply tabloid sensationalism. The ACTUAL amount of people arrested for public order offences is very low, despite newspapers trying to make out its a fecking warzone.

If these lads are so much a product of their society, why is the first large scale such incident in recent memory in the league? Surely if voilence is that common in Irish society pubs would be smashed up every week?

Just like Gerry's efforts to say that these lads aren't representative of Bohs supporters, I'm making the point they are even less representative of society.

btid1
11/10/2007, 2:16 PM
The ACTUAL amount of people arrested for public order offences is very low, despite newspapers trying to make out its a fecking warzone. This is nonsense!Two of my best mates are Gardai and they tell me quite another story.They hate working weekend because of this very problem.The say there are a significant number of people arrested every weekend.Annecdotally last Saturday night a guy was arrested in Wicklow for assaulting a female Garda.This is one incident of many he tells me about most Sunday nights!!

Just like Gerry's efforts to say that these lads aren't representative of Bohs supporters, I'm making the point they are even less representative of society.While I agree they are not representive of society as a whole they are representative of a small percentage of young males aged between 18-30.It just so happens that they have attached themselves to Bohemian FC.Some others have attached themselves to Rovers.Of that I am sure some Rovers fans would agree.Its not as though Bohs are cultivating young thugs actively that were previously nice young men.

lofty9
11/10/2007, 2:17 PM
Now now DCFC - the rule of foot.ie is to source any such claims you make.

Still no source for the assertion that they'll be out by the weekend -which is why I've asked him are they pursuing an appeal with legal representation.

All they need is to have had representation by today and they could be out tomorrow/Monday with any half decent barrister/solicitor. Info from my bro in law who couldn't do the work 'due to other commitments'. Their parents have spent all morning sourcing legal representation.

11/10/2007, 2:21 PM
While I agree they are not representive of society as a whole they are representative of a small percentage of young males aged between 18-30.It just so happens that they have attached themselves to Bohemian FC.Some others have attached themselves to Rovers.Of that I am sure some Rovers fans would agree.Its not as though Bohs are cultivating young thugs actively that were previously nice young men.

I agree with you. My point is that, whether Bohs like it or not, it HAS therefore now become a Bohs problem as well as a societal problem. And the longer it persists the harder it will be for Bohs to shake off.

In fairness, not a single Bohs fan on here or on City Chat has in any way sought to defend these muppets actions, and have made it clear that they'll leave the club in no doubt as to what they think. It is extremely heartening to hear the fans are giving the club the boot up the hole that it needs here. I hope the magnitude of this incident will be sufficient to shake the wannabe thugs a bit and give the club the opportuntiy to snuff them out for good now. If not, then the rep will stick and the issue will remain a Bohs problem for some time.

11/10/2007, 2:27 PM
All they need is to have had representation by today and they could be out tomorrow/Monday with any half decent barrister/solicitor. Info from my bro in law who couldn't do the work 'due to other commitments'. Their parents have spent all morning sourcing legal representation.

So they're scrabbling around looking for legal representation now ? Reading between the lines, would I be right in summising that your brother didn't want to touch the case with a sh!tty stick? Chances are, he won't be the only one of that mind-set - especially in Derry.

Still conjecture though at this stage to so confidently state that they will be out by the weekend. Doesn't answer the issue of bail either - would they even be granted it, as they would go south with no guarantee of return ? And is there any notion that the families could afford bail set at a level high enough to dissuade their kids from doing a runner ?

11/10/2007, 2:30 PM
This is nonsense!Two of my best mates are Gardai and they tell me quite another story.They hate working weekend because of this very problem.The say there are a significant number of people arrested every weekend.Annecdotally last Saturday night a guy was arrested in Wicklow for assaulting a female Garda.This is one incident of many he tells me about most Sunday nights!!
well my cop friends say it differently. Guess its all down to perception. Your "one incident" has no relevence at all on the type of things we're talking about

EalingGreen
11/10/2007, 2:33 PM

Appeal? They pleaded "Guilty" ffs, after having declined legal representation! This isn't the "Birmingham Six" we're talking about, so there is no chance of the verdict being overturned (imo).

Of course, they might appeal against the sentence, but if at the stricter end of the scale, it was hardly totally excessive, since three pleaded guilty to two reasonably serious offences, in circumstances where there was evidence of possible aggravation (sectarianism etc).

(Afaik, for some offences where the sentence is appealed against, it is possible for a longer sentence to be imposed, where the appeal fails! Now that would make me laugh...:p)

lofty9
11/10/2007, 2:41 PM
So they're scrabbling around looking for legal representation now ? Reading between the lines, would I be right in summising that your brother didn't want to touch the case with a sh!tty stick? Chances are, he won't be the only one of that mind-set - especially in Derry.

well read between the lines ;) He's a big DC fan!

Appeal? They pleaded "Guilty" ffs, after having declined legal representation! This isn't the "Birmingham Six" we're talking about, so there is no chance of the verdict being overturned (imo).

Of course, they might appeal against the sentence, but if at the stricter end of the scale, it was hardly totally excessive, since three pleaded guilty to two reasonably serious offences, in circumstances where there was evidence of possible aggravation (sectarianism etc).

(Afaik, for some offences where the sentence is appealed against, it is possible for a longer sentence to be imposed, where the appeal fails! Now that would make me laugh...:p)

Not a legal eagle, but it's to do with a presentencing report or something like that, that they can get off in bail due to an appeal. They can appeal against the sentencing length due to this, therefore a judge will likely release them on bail until the report arrives and this could take up to 5 - 6 weeks.

Bald Student
11/10/2007, 2:42 PM
They can appeal against the sentencing length due to this, therefore a judge will likely release them on bail until the report arrives and this could take up to 5 - 6 weeks.Just in time for Christmas. I hope they do this.

btid1
11/10/2007, 2:44 PM
My point is that, whether Bohs like it or not, it HAS therefore now become a Bohs problem as well as a societal problem. And the longer it persists the harder it will be for Bohs to shake off.

If not, then the rep will stick and the issue will remain a Bohs problem for some time.

Agree on both counts.

btid1
11/10/2007, 2:46 PM
well my cop friends say it differently. Guess its all down to perception. Your "one incident" has no relevence at all on the type of things we're talking about

Im just using this to display the sort of incidents that are occuring today that never would have happened in the past and hence the changing face of Irish society.

Anyway I guess we will have to agree to disagree on this one.......

11/10/2007, 2:48 PM
Im just using this to display the sort of incidents that are occuring today that never would have happened in the past and hence the changing face of Irish society.

You're right, she's the first garda ever hit. she's probably the first woman too.

Get a ****ing grip will you

btid1
11/10/2007, 2:51 PM
You're right, she's the first garda ever hit. she's probably the first woman too.

Get a ****ing grip will you

There is just no speaking to some people did you not read the last line of my post........

Yes because this country is much better off now than it was 25 years ago in terms of murders,shootings,drugs,rapes,burgularies......etc

I dont know how you could claim that this country is not on a downward spiral in terms of the actions of certain sections of it population.And sarcasm really is the lowest form of wit.

Now can we leave it at that!!!

11/10/2007, 2:56 PM
I dont know how you could claim that this country is not on a downward spiral in terms of the actions of certain sections of it population.

Because the facts back me up in almost* every category :rolleyes::rolleyes:

But you continue to believe whatever tabloids tell you. The 60s was all about love, the 70s was all about disco and Dublin wasn't totally gripped by a heroin epidemic throughout the 80s. :rolleyes:

*(I'll give you shootings are up)

11/10/2007, 2:59 PM
Yes because this country is much better off now than it was 25 years ago in terms of murders,shootings,drugs,rapes,burgularies......etc

I dont know how you could claim that this country is not on a downward spiral in terms of the actions of certain sections of it population.And sarcasm really is the lowest form of wit.

I've stayed well away from this thread, but thought I had to highlight this classic. Sarcasm and then a condemnation of it within 3 lines.

btid1
11/10/2007, 3:04 PM
I've stayed well away from this thread, but thought I had to highlight this classic. Sarcasm and then a condemnation of it within 3 lines.

Here osarusan spell irony!!!

btid1
11/10/2007, 3:07 PM
Because the facts back me up in almost* every category :rolleyes::rolleyes:

But you continue to believe whatever tabloids tell you. The 60s was all about love, the 70s was all about disco and Dublin wasn't totally gripped by a heroin epidemic throughout the 80s. :rolleyes:

*(I'll give you shootings are up)

I love the nonchalant rolling of the eyes as it you are the epitomy of knowledge on all such subjects........

So one question then.You think Dublin is as safe now as it was in the 60's?

11/10/2007, 3:11 PM

Yes. Do you think there are more incidents at LOI than there was during the 70s?

btid1
11/10/2007, 3:16 PM
Yes. Do you think there are more incidents at LOI than there was during the 70s?

I presume you lived in both periods then?

LOI crowds in 1970s V LOI crowds in 2007

passerrby
11/10/2007, 3:23 PM
NI constabulary will automatically object to bail if someone resides ouside the state, number of people in this area have been held for this reason and if bail is granted then a requirement to stay in NI is normally required...on a personnell note hope the all share a cell with some extra large loyalist with yearnings for sex

Bald Student
11/10/2007, 3:25 PM
I don't mean to be a square but if there's a ban on the word 'prod' in this discussion, surley there should be a ban on people promoting rape?

passerrby
11/10/2007, 3:26 PM
no i was hoping it was consenual

11/10/2007, 4:15 PM
Moderation: Lads, no more use of the word 'Prod' or 'Proddy' or whatever variation. Knock it on the head.

sonofstan
11/10/2007, 5:41 PM

Not sure about the 60s, but i'm bloody sure it's safer now in all sorts of ways than in the 70s when i was a teenager - random violence seemed way more prevalent then; and football related violence was much more common; and as Dodge says, the Heroin epidemic in the 80s wasn't pleasant for the non- user either - so yes, Dublin's safer now than at anytime in my experience

onceahoop
11/10/2007, 5:54 PM

I was just thinking this morning that if they had been in the District Court down here a Judge would not have heard the case, if they had no representation, because of the possibility of a custodial sentence, even if they declined representation. I've seen it many times in the Courts here. Judges insisting that defendents are represented. The cynical among you will say that they're just making money for their solisitor friends, but Judges insist on this as far as I can see. Don't know how Magistrates approach it in General up there.

Not withstanding the above, I hope they've had a sharp shock to their systems. As I said earlier rocks for brains.

11/10/2007, 6:20 PM
Just for the record I don't recognise any of the younger scumbags who were sent down but I do recognise the older one called Frankie O'Reilly.

Let the Foot.ie record state that he is a home and away supporter who is regularly seen in the long bar at Dalymount. They don't hand out membership cards to holigan groups but as far as I am concerned he is a fully fledged member of the BSC.

The

I'll second that! also like to add that I recognise two of the other three from same group of muppets in longbar only one that I don't recognise
was also surprised not to see Frankie's mate with him (don't know his name) but you rarely see one without the other so can only assume that he got away I think VM will know who I'm Talking about

depor
11/10/2007, 7:03 PM
ya their behaviour was disgraceful, but the judges comments about '' protecting all the people of the city'' is laughable, the likes of him (crowns court) were one sided and practices aparthite for long enough.

the fellas are also being made an example of, that crowd up there (bbc and local government) love nothing better than making a big thing over a few thugs from the republic so they can tell us how bad our nation is. their full of ****, they are the biggest pack of hypocrites, they talk like that place was peaceful and then the ''southerners'' came up to wreck the paradise. i sure do pity the nationalists and derry fc fans having to listen to that bull**** everyday of their lives.