View Full Version : 4 Bohs fans jailed in Derry
Luckily, they won't be in it. League Winners (Drogs), Cup Winners (prob Cork), League Cup winners (derry) and obligatory Pats team (pats)
Famous last words!!!
10/10/2007, 4:10 PM
A lesson to the Free State authorities on how to use the wheels of justice to nip these wannabe English hooligans firmly in the bud.
I love the fact that they've been named and addressed in the news. I hope they get a nice healthy mailbag of absue to keep them warm of an evening whilst cowering from the sister's in their prison cells.
By my mathematics, they'll be in there for Christmas and New Year (unless the scentence gets automatically commuted by 50% for good behaviour ?). Any one know what jail they've been sent to - Maghaberry ? No wonder half of them were blubbing whilst scentenced. Hard men indeed......
If only the Gards and the Republic's judicial system had an inkling of interest in doing the same thing, the small but groiwing kiddie-hooligan problme would be snuffed overnight.
Will Bohs now ban these muppets from Dalymount ?
shelbourne1904
10/10/2007, 4:18 PM
Pity the Gardai and the courts dont work like that down here!!
Would these be the same type who stone the Rovers buses going to Tolka??Or maybe the individuals!!!
I wonder would the Justice system here be able to do what the Dept of Health/health board do when they cant attend to patients arfter a set period of time and pay for patients to be sent over seas for treatment????
10/10/2007, 4:33 PM
Well done to the PSNI, courts etc. I bet that's the last we'll see of any visiting fans causing trouble in Derry for a while.
10/10/2007, 4:34 PM
DERRY tis where all the tourists live !
Anyway i heard some of them were crying according to my sources in the crown prosecution service ?!
Your sources in the CPS....!!! :D LMFAO
You mean you read it in the papers....
When the sentences were passed, two of the four defendants wept in the dock.
Any chance you might know where Lord Lucan is, with all your hot contacts...? :p
10/10/2007, 4:36 PM
Edit : Yes i think sent to a prison named Maghaberry and i think it is basically up on a sectarian charge so they will be in for a tight time in there !
I hope they put them in the Loyalist wing and add 'lubricant' as a stock item in the prison shop.....
They'll certainly know what it's like to have a queen now....... ! :D
10/10/2007, 4:38 PM
Luckily, they won't be in it. League Winners (Drogs), Cup Winners (prob Cork), League Cup winners (derry) and obligatory Pats team (pats)
Derry still have this play-off to negotiate before they get near the Setanta.
10/10/2007, 4:42 PM
POTM
:D :D
Fair play also to the bar owner btw
10/10/2007, 5:07 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7037422.stm
Am I the only one reading that, finding it a bit paradoxical. "soccer" mentioned on the BBC. "city of londonDerry" watching "Derry City etc.
I think 3 months sounds harsh, does anyone think that it happened because they were "southerners" and possibly victimised? I am unaware of sentences in the North so excuse my ignorance but I am sure I might not be the only person to jump to this conclusion. Either way, hopefully the scummie dubs learnt their lesson.
whiteshorts
10/10/2007, 5:11 PM
They probably thought "sure we'll get a small fine and that's it".
Sounds like they got what they deserved.
I feel sorry for the club having tossers like this as fans.
10/10/2007, 5:13 PM
hahahahaha ****ing delighted - would have loved to see them weeping away :D:D:D
Fair play also to the bar owner btw
Agreed, it seems he had a choice of compensation of that shower to receive a sentencing - he declined the compensation, absolute hero
10/10/2007, 5:18 PM
haha, typical monkey mentallity, a hero in a group a coward on his own.
10/10/2007, 5:23 PM
Shamelessly stolen off DCChat ;)
niallsparky
10/10/2007, 5:35 PM
Scumbags will be in jail for Christmas and New Year's. Have to commend the work done by the PSNI and the courts system. Hopefully this will set an example for the rest of the absolute dirt like these that work under our club's name.
Gerry Conway on Near FM between 7pm-8pm in relation to this:
http://www.nearfm.ie/livestream.htm
MojoPin
10/10/2007, 5:39 PM
is the sentence starting with immediate effect?? muppets really
said on the news from what i gathered they walked into the pub and started silly chants
is the sentence starting with immediate effect?? muppets really
said on the news from what i gathered they walked into the pub and started silly chants
Doubt it was the silly chants that cost 4000 worth of damage though
10/10/2007, 5:52 PM
Shamelessly stolen off DCChat
sure where do ye think Steve gets all his ideas dancin_pants ;)
im absolutely delighted to read that these idiots got jail time. Brainless morons. I really hope they serve the full sentence. Now we just need the gardai to take the same approach to the troublemakers down here.
to paul o shea: why is it that you only ever come into the el section to criticise and post on the bad things that happen regarding the league? Are you the voice of the barstoolers? :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
10/10/2007, 6:12 PM
to paul o shea: why is it that you only ever come into the el section to criticise and post on the bad things that happen regarding the league? Are you the voice of the barstoolers
if that makes you sleep easy. then yes.
What gets my goat is anytime i read about it on the threads, there is an instant denial or a distancing the people involved from a club, that denial really annoys me.
I also come on when clubs are playing in Europe. I think if you go through all my posts you will see I have posted on more than one subject in the EL section, is that alright with you?
10/10/2007, 6:47 PM
Shamelessly stolen off DCChat ;)
Rumbled..... :D
10/10/2007, 6:48 PM
sure where do ye think Steve gets all his ideas dancin_pants ;)
And we know where you get all your shirts O'Shea !!
Where were you last night btw ?
10/10/2007, 6:54 PM
They'll be out before the weekend. The mistake they made, apart from causing trouble in the first place, was not having legal representation.
That was their choice. They probably thought it was all a big joke, and that they didn't need to waste their time, money or breath on an aul' lawyer : "Sure we'll all be off doyn the rohhd with a slapped hand, and we'll meet the lads in the byar to laugh aboyt it when we gerr in". Clueless muppets.... :o
How will they be "out before the weekend" ...? The Free State may have such lax regard to its own laws, but different and firmer rules apply in the north.
Put them in with Michael Stone and swallow the feckin key...!!!
if that makes you sleep easy. then yes.
What gets my goat is anytime i read about it on the threads, there is an instant denial or a distancing the people involved from a club, that denial really annoys me.
I also come on when clubs are playing in Europe. I think if you go through all my posts you will see I have posted on more than one subject in the EL section, is that alright with you?
fair enough.
What gets on my goat is that someone who doesnt go to games and takes no real interest in the league feels qualified and entitled to come here and start threads on the sh1tty things that happen and little else (except the european glory nights!).
Look at this thread. There is no denial. In the match thread where it was mentioned first there was also no denial. There were some questions looking for facts but that is only reasonable before someone can honestly qualify their opinions.
dcfc_1928
10/10/2007, 7:03 PM
Stephen lives up here, so is probably very familiar about how things work in the North. :)
Isn't there still automatically 50% remission on sentences anyway in the North?
That was their choice. They probably thought it was all a big joke, and that they didn't need to waste their time, money or breath on an aul' lawyer : "Sure we'll all be off doyn the rohhd with a slapped hand, and we'll meet the lads in the byar to laugh aboyt it when we gerr in". Clueless muppets.... :o
How will they be "out before the weekend" ...? The Free State may have such lax regard to its own laws, but different and firmer rules apply in the north.
Put them in with Michael Stone and swallow the feckin key...!!!
I don't see any denial, its there in black and white
What about the other 3 planks, they got away scot free? Lucky boys
EireBadBoy
10/10/2007, 7:13 PM
They probably will be out in a month and a half or so, still a quare shock to the system for the idiots.
10/10/2007, 7:14 PM
I think 3 months sounds harsh, does anyone think that it happened because they were "southerners" and possibly victimised? I am unaware of sentences in the North so excuse my ignorance but I am sure I might not be the only person to jump to this conclusion. Either way, hopefully the scummie dubs learnt their lesson.
Victimised? Schmictimised. They should have got double the sentence!:mad:
10/10/2007, 7:24 PM
Sectarian or Football related doesn't matter it was a Disgusting act by so called Fans of the club I love, In a city that is like a second home to me, I am really Fcuking Disgusted at these retards. I hope they got a hard time off the RUC eh Sorry PSNI.and hope they have to do there time with a load of loyalists it might teach them a thing or two. Every time i've been to derry Ive been recieved impeccably and hope this wont change because of a few NutJobs
10/10/2007, 7:29 PM
Sectarian or Football related doesn't matter it was a Disgusting act by so called Fans of the club I love, In a city that is like a second home to me, I am really Fcuking Disgusted at these retards. I hope they got a hard time off the RUC eh Sorry PSNI.and hope they have to do there time with a load of loyalists it might teach them a thing or two. Every time i've been to derry Ive been recieved impeccably and hope this wont change because of a few NutJobs
I hope Sammy, Sam and Samuel give them a warm welcome in jail !:p
lofty9
10/10/2007, 7:31 PM
Don't fret, everyone knows they do not reflect the attitudes of Bohs supporters or the club (all bar the hoops fans , of course)
Bald Student
10/10/2007, 7:33 PM
Would it be an idea for The Bohs to put a collection together to pay for the damage?
EalingGreen
10/10/2007, 7:34 PM
exactly what i thought lofty...yer man (curry) the owner said that there was 2 tourists there among the 5 customers,....now with my (limited) knowledge of derry,It wouldnt strike me as a spot where tourists would have a pint....seemed he was just making it a whiter than white story....still ********s for thrashin the place, but id say as lofty says there is more to the story!
The publican, Kingsley Curry, was interviewed on BBC NI this evening and said that there were two Canadians in the pub when it happened. Two Canadian girls, that is. Can't remember the exact phrase he used, but he indicated that they were traumatised by the suddenness and ferocity of it. And if you've ever seen what it takes to smash plate glass windows, and the noise and debris it causes, you might understand why.
Still, as lofty says , maybe "there is more to the story!" :rolleyes:
Would it be an idea for The Bohs to put a collection together to pay for the damage?
its being discussed on our forum.
Paddyfield
10/10/2007, 7:45 PM
Named and shamed.
Look at the convicted on the RTE News ....
CLICK to see tv news report
http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1010/derry.html
EalingGreen
10/10/2007, 7:46 PM
I don't see any denial, its there in black and white
What about the other 3 planks, they got away scot free? Lucky boys
Indeed - the four pleaded guilty to the charges:
"The men were jailed for three months after pleading guilty at Derry Magistrates Court to riotous behaviour. Three also admitted criminal damage"
"Two other men and two youths who were also arrested have been released without charge"
Apparently these others spent a night in the cells before their release. Since the four convicted were charged on the basis of CCTV, my guess is that the police didn't have adequate evidence (film) of the four who were released without charge?
Anyhow, if it discourages others from thinking they can travel up to Derry and cause trouble with impunity, which I suspect it might, then it is just the right medicine (imo).
Tis-smeee
10/10/2007, 7:52 PM
Usual not real fans i suppose, i know we have had serious hassle with bohs support over the past couple of years, same excuses everytime
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
lofty9
10/10/2007, 7:53 PM
Still, as lofty says , maybe "there is more to the story!" :rolleyes:
But Lofty was talking out of his hat earlier ;)
Got mixed up with a set of true Bohs fans who I pointed towards the Oakgrove bar yesterday, therefore I thought it was them involved, therefore my presumption in more to the story.
10/10/2007, 7:57 PM
I don't see why the ordinary Bohs fans should pay for the damage.
The owner himself refused an offer from the culprits in lieu of jail time.
Maybe Bohs are culpable to some distant extent, but how far can that go. these guys arranged their own transport to Derry and trashed some pub in the town.
10/10/2007, 8:05 PM
It is brilliant to see it happen, maybe it might raise a few eyebrows amongst the Gardai down here on how to deal with this social problem. Its just a pity they evaded the law in the Brandywell, if they were elsewhere it would have been completely separate from the game.
Sentence was a bit lean though, is that what you'd get if it weren't 'football related'? Is there anyway photos of the convicts could be given to club stewards around the league to prevent them entering games anywhere in the league again?
10/10/2007, 8:06 PM
Usual not real fans i suppose, i know we have had serious hassle with bohs support over the past couple of years, same excuses everytime
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
People like you don't help the case. There were 5 club organiseed buses, these guys weren't on any of them. There were 6 hundred bohs fans cheering on the team last night, 7 muppets caused trouble away from the ground. I think its a justified position to say they are not real fans.
Tis-smeee
10/10/2007, 8:10 PM
Yeah like we were told the fans who broke our bus window, broke a players window attacked our fans werent real fans, accept the fact that they are bohs fans a horrible section of bohs fans but bohs fans all the same.To be frank its people like you who dont help the case by putting your hands over your eyes and pretending none of it is you problem, time for a reality check.
People like you don't help the case. There were 5 club organiseed buses, these guys weren't on any of them. There were 6 hundred bohs fans cheering on the team last night, 7 muppets caused trouble away from the ground. I think its a justified position to say they are not real fans.
7 muppets were caught
There is very little you can do about this though. If people want to behave like animals in random areas of the country, they will do that
Vitruvian Man
10/10/2007, 8:35 PM
Scoring a few cheap points agianst us on a message board won't make you feel any better Tis. Bohs fans don't try to cover up for their scumbag element or try to play them down but I'm not feeling any personal responsibility for this or any other attacks.
Just for the record I don't recognise any of the younger scumbags who were sent down but I do recognise the older one called Frankie O'Reilly.
Let the Foot.ie record state that he is a home and away supporter who is regularly seen in the long bar at Dalymount. They don't hand out membership cards to holigan groups but as far as I am concerned he is a fully fledged member of the BSC.
I also think the guy is boarderline retarded but that's only my opinion.
The
Yeah like we were told the fans who broke our bus window, broke a players window attacked our fans werent real fans, accept the fact that they are bohs fans a horrible section of bohs fans but bohs fans all the same.To be frank its people like you who dont help the case by putting your hands over your eyes and pretending none of it is you problem, time for a reality check.
its time for a reality check yourself. Where has he put his hands over his eyes and denied anything? All he said was that these guys DID NOT travel with the buses organised for fans by the club. They organised their own bus so they could travel together, get ****ed up together and presumably with the sole intention of causing trouble. They are not real Bohs fans. Not by any stretch of your overworked imagination.
I kind of know Frankie too and he is definitely slow. In fact id imagine he was lead pretty easily by the other younger scumbags. He is that sort of person.
onceahoop
10/10/2007, 8:42 PM
It's well past the time the Gardai got tougher with the hooligan element that's attached itself to EL clubs. Maybe they'll take a leaf out of the PSNI book. The Bar Owner wasn't taken any sh1t either.
What a crowd of planks in this age of consensus, when even Big Ian and McGuinness are getting on, they go into a pub and start shouting sectarian slogans. Rocks for brains they have. Will probably lose their jobs too. Good enough for the planks.
Must have thought they were in the Dublin District Court facing a €50 fine and a few hours community service.:rolleyes:
Vitruvian Man
10/10/2007, 8:48 PM
It's well past the time the Gardai got tougher with the hooligan element that's attached itself to EL clubs. Maybe they'll take a leaf out of the PSNI book. The Bar Owner wasn't taken any sh1t either.
What a crowd of planks in this age of consensus, when even Big Ian and McGuinness are getting on, they go into a pub and start shouting sectarian slogans. Rocks for brains they have. Will probably lose their jobs too. Good enough for the planks.
Must have thought they were in the Dublin District Court facing a €50 fine and a few hours community service.:rolleyes:
Agree with this 100%.
Serious misjudgement from the scummers. The Gardai really need to sit up and take notice. Two or three moves like this and the EL's crowd problems would be wiped away. Much respect to the bar owner too.
10/10/2007, 8:50 PM
Crying as they got sent down
LMFAO at the big hard men
Here's hoping the loyalist prisoners are still fond of body building and rubbing lotion into one another
10/10/2007, 9:39 PM
Mr Curry is an absolute hero for not taking the compo and insisting on punishment being handed down.
Also shows what a ****e "police" force we have down here - 18 hours from offense to conviction in Derry - it'd take that long for the Gardaí to order their next batter burger and chips from the Burdocks van.
Have had enough of this BSC ****e everywhere we go - this event has now laid at the feet of the club that the time for excuses is over - act now or forever be labeled as Sectarian Apologists...
10/10/2007, 9:40 PM
Delighted these prats were sent down.
There wasn't the least sign of trouble in the ground, both sets of fans well behaved and only interested in the game, Bohs fans in general should not be tarred with the same brush as these d!cks.
Fair played PSNI, they acted swiftly and show the gardai how these boys shoud be dealt with.
Tir Oilean
10/10/2007, 9:41 PM
One of these guys is a security guard and another a local authority employee. Surely their jobs should be at risk after such behaviour even leaving out the criminal convictions.