View Full Version : Sligo/Leitrim District Soccer League 2007/08

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

biscuit
26/11/2007, 5:14 PM
were they all brazilian r sumthin? where the hell is lisnamault?

red metal
26/11/2007, 7:57 PM
[quote=biscuit;825180]

Stephen Coen got booked in the firt half and they went crazy, I thought a carnival was going to break out :D

I heard a few screams from the other side of the pitch too though when Carty scored the winner ;)

Dirty shower off feckers all right!The screaming out of them on the side line!That no 9 got away with murder allright!Then sailor gives carty a straight red card!

DonalE
26/11/2007, 7:58 PM
What was he sent off for? Didn't see that

red metal
26/11/2007, 8:04 PM
The no 9 punch garth kelly and sailor seen it!And carty ask him why he didnt send him off and that they were the rule!

historynut
28/11/2007, 11:41 AM
Collect historic data on leagues at Junior/Intermediate. Is anyone able to inform me of league history (details of past champions/runners up).
Believe league in present format goes back to 1975/76 (first champs MCR - runn up- Sligo Collegians). Obviously Sligo has a rich history at junior level, must have been leagues pre 1975- can anyone shed any light and info.
Who won 2006/07 ?
Have full details 1999/2000-2005/06, and know Strand Celtic won 1998/99 but dont know runners up. Would anyone know earlier details.
Many Thanks

red metal
28/11/2007, 11:57 AM
Abbey Have won the league for the last 5 seasons.Carbury the season before and Boyle celtic the one before that!

Runners up in the last year strand won the league was MCR.MCR need a draw and Strand beat them last game of the season 2-0 in Mc Sharry pk!Ithink Adrian Burke got the second goal for them that day!

historynut
28/11/2007, 5:43 PM
Cheers Red Metal - would you know runners-up for last year ?
If it interest's anyone these are details to date, would like to get completed -
YEAR CHAMPS RUNN/UP
1975/76 MCR SLIGO COLLEGIANS

1977/78 SLIGO ROVERS

1986/87 CALRY BOHS

1989/90 SLIGO COLLEGIANS/CORINTHIANS (conflicting records)

1994/95 STRAND CELTIC ?
1995/96 CALRY BOHS ?
1996/97 COOLANEY UTD ?
1997/98 ? ?
1998/99 STRAND CELTIC MCR
1999/2000 CALRY BOHS ABBEY UTD
2000/01 BOYLE CELTIC STRAND CELTIC
2001/02 CARBURY ABBEY UTD
2002/03 ABBEY UTD CARBURY
2003/04 ABBEY UTD STRAND CELTIC
2004/05 ABBEY UTD GLENVIEW STARS
2005/06 ABBEY UTD STRAND CELTIC
2006/07 ABBEY UTD ?

If you can help fill in the gaps-cheers ! Anyone tell us what MCR stands for ?

thekid
28/11/2007, 8:56 PM
The only team in the super league is Abbey there is nothing to stand up to them year it will be the same way for years to come as long as they have young players signingnwith them.

biscuit
28/11/2007, 9:04 PM
The only team in the super league is Abbey there is nothing to stand up to them year it will be the same way for years to come as long as they have young players signingnwith them.

well said, did u come up with that all on your own!:ball:

red metal
28/11/2007, 10:33 PM
If it interest's anyone these are details to date, would like to get completed -
YEAR CHAMPS RUNN/UP

1977/78 SLIGO ROVERS

1986/87 CALRY BOHS

1994/95 STRAND CELTIC ?
1995/96 CALRY BOHS ?
1996/97 COOLANEY UTD ?
1997/98 ? ?
2006/07 ABBEY UTD City Utd

Im sure MCR won the league1997/1998 and Strand Celtic were runners up il chat the owld fella tomorrow and il fill in the blanks!

red metal
28/11/2007, 10:42 PM
We got killarney in the FAI juinor cup!

abbeyvale
28/11/2007, 11:00 PM
Drumbar Utd (Donegal) or Moyville Cel V Star Rvs (Limerick)

Are Moyville Cel from Sligo??

Thats the name printed on the FAI website, Im not even sure its correct?

The Don
29/11/2007, 7:58 AM
Where is strand celtics pitch in sligo, playing them in u12 cc on sat.

red metal
29/11/2007, 9:52 AM
They play in kevinsfort.If you need directions pm me Don!

sligored
29/11/2007, 7:50 PM
YEAR CHAMPS RUNN/UP

1977/78 SLIGO ROVERS

1986/87 CALRY BOHS

1994/95 STRAND CELTIC ?
1995/96 CALRY BOHS ?
1996/97 COOLANEY UTD ?
1997/98 ? ?
2006/07 ABBEY UTD ?

cant fill in any gaps but MCR is mail coach road

sligored
29/11/2007, 7:57 PM
Drumbar Utd (Donegal) or Moyville Cel V Star Rvs (Limerick)

Are Moyville Cel from Sligo??

Thats the name printed on the FAI website, Im not even sure its correct?

moyville celtic are in the inishowen league in north donegal - ye may as well take a plane to iceland and swim back down if ye are away to them.
we have a merville youth soccer team in sligo

29/11/2007, 11:26 PM
We got killarney in the FAI juinor cup!

home or away? ye'd need to stay overnight the night before of ye're away really to play to yere full potential

historynut
01/12/2007, 3:57 AM
Cheers to Red Metal- if able to get more info appreciate it.
Sligored thanks for MCR Ddetail, roughly where in the town is Mail Coach Road ?

red metal
01/12/2007, 10:51 AM
I can tell you history nut that coolaney utd never won the super league.Im going to have a look at the super league trophy tommorow all the league winners and runners up are on it for about the last 15 years.

historynut
01/12/2007, 1:41 PM
Will appreciate that, may well have confused Coolaney's title in 96/97 in wrong division.

01/12/2007, 2:35 PM
Cheers to Red Metal- if able to get more info appreciate it.
Sligored thanks for MCR Ddetail, roughly where in the town is Mail Coach Road ?

not sure where they play their games! is it still out carraroe direction on one of the roads out there, like past maye concrete, think it was out there somewhere where i saw a game they were playin a good few years ago!!

sligobhoy67
01/12/2007, 4:01 PM
What happened to Tracey? I heard Noel ran a few lads and the rest then walked.

Any truth? Not easy keeping up with the SL league here in England!!!

DonalE
02/12/2007, 6:10 PM
Any results from today? Nothing up on Aertel or OceanFM.ie

biscuit
02/12/2007, 6:24 PM
strand beaten by salthill 6-1.
good salthill side, but gifted a few goals and a peno which sailor foley had to be mad to give.

DonalE
02/12/2007, 6:34 PM
sailor foley had to be mad to give.

Sounds about right

red metal
02/12/2007, 7:08 PM
Sailor has lost the plot the last few seasons!Our game v Claremorris called off.Pitch was like a swimming pool.Claremorris wanted us to play it not a hope.WE have them back in cranmore next sunday.Carburys game all so off in Ballina

biscuit
02/12/2007, 8:00 PM
few dodgy offside decisions too, and one where they got a goal...

historynut
02/12/2007, 8:20 PM
REDMETAL
Did you get chance to take gander at trophy ?

red metal
03/12/2007, 9:11 AM
REDMETAL
Did you get chance to take gander at trophy ?

Ya i did history nut but the only teams on it are ourselfs and carbury!sorry history nut.

03/12/2007, 10:44 PM
anyone know who's playing who next weekend?

red metal
04/12/2007, 8:41 AM
Ithink all the conn cup games have to be played first so we are down to play Claremorris and Carbury are down to play Ballina.

Ballbag
04/12/2007, 11:24 AM
hi history nut, theres a site called soccerbot.com, it has all the finalised tables of the S/L league since 99/00 season (when bohs won the league) hope this helps

historynut
04/12/2007, 3:01 PM
Ballbag, appreciate that suggestion, but already obtained those details from that site.
Having got the bit between the teeth, trying to obtain a full list.

DonalE
04/12/2007, 3:46 PM
You could try contacting Noel Kennedy, he runs the league. I'd say Red Metal might have his number or maybe it's on the www somewhere

Leveller
04/12/2007, 9:15 PM
Lads where are all of the Sligo junior clubs results and tables posted?
What kind of team do Abbey have this year? I heard that they have a few former LOI players in the panel.

DonalE
05/12/2007, 3:36 PM
Lads where are all of the Sligo junior clubs results and tables posted?
What kind of team do Abbey have this year? I heard that they have a few former LOI players in the panel.

Yeah, one or 2 ;)

And you'll find the results and table on soccerbot.com or Aertel page 443

red metal
05/12/2007, 10:51 PM
We have 7 to be exact Lee marshall/Glen Shannon/Damien Scanlon/Chris Kelly/John Gaffney/Packie Callaghan/Keith Carty/

Leveller
06/12/2007, 8:35 AM
Yeah, one or 2 ;)

And you'll find the results and table on soccerbot.com or Aertel page 443

Thanks.:)

DonalE
06/12/2007, 6:05 PM
We have 7 to be exact Lee marshall/Glen Shannon/Damien Scanlon/Chris Kelly/John Gaffney/Packie Callaghan/Keith Carty/

Andrew McLoughlin

Leveller
06/12/2007, 10:38 PM
Andrew McLoughlin

Sounds like a quality side.

red metal
07/12/2007, 12:56 AM
Andrew McLoughlin

Sorry i forgot about Andrew we will make that 8 so!

Leveller
07/12/2007, 8:03 AM
Sorry i forgot about Andrew we will make that 8 so!

Abbey United are only 20/1 for the Junior Cup, I would say they could shorten the odds somewhat on them.

Closing Time
07/12/2007, 12:57 PM

You can only play 5 ex LOI players in the FAI Junior Cup. Chris should be OK as he is U-21. So be careful. Celtic were hounded in 2006 under this rule, which we did not break

07/12/2007, 5:57 PM
You can only play 5 ex LOI players in the FAI Junior Cup. Chris should be OK as he is U-21. So be careful. Celtic were hounded in 2006 under this rule, which we did not break

well they've already broken it so...........

red metal
08/12/2007, 12:56 AM
But after 2 and half years they are all re grades back to juinor level.So we are safe enough Check out rule 33 in the Fai rule book.

Lee Marshall has not played LOI for about 5 years.Glen Shannon about 6.Keith Carty 3 years.Packie 6 years.John Gaffney about 4.Andrew mc loughlin about 5.Damien Scanlon 2 yearsAnd Chris Was under 21

http://www.fai.ie/pdf/FAI_Rule_Book.pdf

Closing Time
08/12/2007, 12:26 PM
But after 2 and half years they are all re grades back to juinor level.So we are safe enough Check out rule 33 in the Fai rule book.

Lee Marshall has not played LOI for about 5 years.Glen Shannon about 6.Keith Carty 3 years.Packie 6 years.John Gaffney about 4.Andrew mc loughlin about 5.Damien Scanlon 2 yearsAnd Chris Was under 21

http://www.fai.ie/pdf/FAI_Rule_Book.pdf
It the rules of the FAI Junior Cup you should be looking at. Its not the lenght of time. Gavin Dykes was considered a LOI player after 5 years out of LOI. So you should read the FAI Junior hand book. Might have changed but I would check it out.

sligored
09/12/2007, 11:30 PM
Abbey United are only 20/1 for the Junior Cup, I would say they could shorten the odds somewhat on them.

the 20 to 1 seems very poor odds considering abbey gave a bye to killarney in the next round in order to avoid travelling expenses

red metal
09/12/2007, 11:44 PM
Strand are in real bother now Biscuit!Really need to start Picking up points

biscuit
10/12/2007, 9:26 AM
yea red metal...hard to know what to change. honestly bet them into the goals for the 90 mins, they got 2 from set pieces where people werent picked up!!bar 1 r 2 half chances thats all they had...we couldn finish our dinner!

10/12/2007, 8:54 PM
did anyone hear that theres a play-off now bewtween 3rd from bottom, and 3rd from bottom....to see who plays 3rd team in premier?

it was pauric connor who told me so im not convinced?!