View Full Version : Sligo/Leitrim District Soccer League 2007/08

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

jim22
03/10/2007, 7:26 PM
Who`s going to win the super league this year

04/10/2007, 4:30 PM
calry bohemians. newly promoted, great young side there!

red metal
05/10/2007, 8:59 PM
calry bohemians. newly promoted, great young side there!

Il take 12 of whatever tablets your on son:D:D!

biscuit
06/10/2007, 5:31 PM
Strand:eek::D
Bein serious i would say you cant look past abbey.best side they've had in years. Coen impressed on the left wing,metal was he gettin his game all the time so far? F*ckin flier....

06/10/2007, 9:29 PM
think its just us 3 thats interested in local football on this forum!

coen's very good, that must have been his debut last week?! another good addition to the abbey squad! cant see past abbey for winning it again! think the question is who'll go down!

treacy will definatly imo. between ourselves and maybe boyle or strand. strand will be getting a few more players once rovers under 21's season finishes aswell, think that was the last game today! so i can see them getting better

DonalE
06/10/2007, 10:02 PM
Abbey to win, no doubt about that. Carbury to finish second i'd say and Strand'll go down

Rovers fan
06/10/2007, 11:34 PM
looks like strand might be going down. They have an awfully young side

red metal
07/10/2007, 8:21 AM
Strand:eek::D
Bein serious i would say you cant look past abbey.best side they've had in years. Coen impressed on the left wing,metal was he gettin his game all the time so far? F*ckin flier....

No he played about 20 mins v Athenry gets in some great positions and he is very quick good on the ball aswell.

Its a great shame to see Strand in the state they are in.A lot of young lads fired in at the deep end.I think they will definatly go down.And to be honest the committee must shoulder the blame.Thay shafted Donagh Oates last season!But in fairness to strand they have the best under age setup in town.But you wont see the fruits of that labour for about another 4 years.

ps

Feo send me a pm if you must slag me off.Instead of the mods deleting it.I was only having a bit of craic with you bro!

DonalE
07/10/2007, 11:46 AM
Lost 4-0 to Carbury this morning, from what I saw of the game they were awful, only 2 of their players seemed bothered about the game

red metal
07/10/2007, 2:15 PM
Abbey beat Calry Boh,s 2 nil.Both goals in the second half from Lee Marshall.Very young side who work very hard for each other and in fairness never stopped trying even at 2 nil down they worked until the final whistle was blown.But easy win for Abbey who never got out of second gear.Stephen coen man of the match for me!Jesus that boy is quick!

red metal
07/10/2007, 2:16 PM
Any more results? I think City Utd beat Yeats utd 1 nil!

biscuit
07/10/2007, 3:03 PM
ai donal your dead right.(u were lookin lovly by the way;):D) some didnt seem bothered today. Depressing to be honest the last few weeks. i think its 19-20 goals against the last few games (doesnt look great for the keeper...:mad:) Have a few lads back next week, its gonna be a long hard season as it is, and unless we buck up seriously, its by bye to the super league and down to the premier with us.how did treacy get on today...

07/10/2007, 7:05 PM
Abbey beat Calry Boh,s 2 nil.Both goals in the second half from Lee Marshall.Very young side who work very hard for each other and in fairness never stopped trying even at 2 nil down they worked until the final whistle was blown.But easy win for Abbey who never got out of second gear.Stephen coen man of the match for me!Jesus that boy is quick!

we'll struggle to score many goals this year! seem to just play the traditional junior league kick and chase style at the minute. abbey created more chances, we only had one or two half chances at best, could have been 5 or 6 had abbey played better

07/10/2007, 7:13 PM
Abbey Utd. 2-0 Calry Bohs
Manor Rgrs. 3-1 Arrow Harps
Treacy Celt. 0-5 Boyle Celtic
Strand Celtic 0-4 Carbury FC
Yeats Utd. 0-1 City Utd.

DonalE
07/10/2007, 10:05 PM
David Blaine scored for City after a couple of mins. Good goal too, sold the centre half a lovely dummy.

Lee Marshall's first was good, perfect lay off from Shannon.

Who scored Carbury's first 3? Only saw the 4th (was on a bit of a tour of the Sligo Leitrim League ths morning :D

07/10/2007, 11:49 PM
shannon is probably the best footballer in the league when he gets the ball to his feet

biscuit
08/10/2007, 12:16 AM
bar fitness, hes the best footballer in the league by far...

biscuit
08/10/2007, 12:17 AM
it was either faze fallon or michael devins donal..not too sure

08/10/2007, 1:13 PM
any word on next weekends games

red metal
08/10/2007, 6:15 PM
any word on next weekends games

Its the juinor cup next week Feo and we Abbey! have you lads again this week.In fairness to ye yesterday ye stop us from playing in the first half by packing the midfield.But we were allways in charge would that be fair to say.

08/10/2007, 7:03 PM
Its the juinor cup next week Feo and we Abbey! have you lads again this week.In fairness to ye yesterday ye stop us from playing in the first half by packing the midfield.But we were allways in charge would that be fair to say.

yeah we never looked like scoring really. mckenna and mcgloughlin had plenty of time on the ball in the full back positions coz we only had the one man up front chasing. it was a bit like the champions cup semi final last year when we held ye until about the 80th minute, but ye were always in charge! will be much the same next week although we should have kevin devaney back, he's only 16 but he's our best player by far and should make us better out wide. is it in sean fallon park again?

red metal
08/10/2007, 10:17 PM
yeah we never looked like scoring really. mckenna and mcgloughlin had plenty of time on the ball in the full back positions coz we only had the one man up front chasing. it was a bit like the champions cup semi final last year when we held ye until about the 80th minute, but ye were always in charge! will be much the same next week although we should have kevin devaney back, he's only 16 but he's our best player by far and should make us better out wide. is it in sean fallon park again?

No out in yer place!We have carty back this week and hopefully Martin Ward back in the sticks!

09/10/2007, 1:53 PM
No out in yer place!We have carty back this week and hopefully Martin Ward back in the sticks!

hopefully there wont be much rain between now and then so. got cut up the last time we played on it against treacy, was grand last night at training but with some heavy rain it could get worse. should be ok hopefully

red metal
09/10/2007, 8:11 PM
We have 3 big games coming up.Calry in the Fai juinor cup. The week after that it,s Galway utd U21 in the Conn senior cup and then the derby with City in the league!

09/10/2007, 9:20 PM
would ye see the senior cup being more important than the connaght junior cup?

red metal
10/10/2007, 6:44 PM
would ye see the senior cup being more important than the connaght junior cup?

No but it would be great to get a good run in it!We think we can have a good run in connaght junior cup!And if we get a bit of luck with home draws in the fai junior cup!we would be looking at the last 4 as a real possabilaty!

10/10/2007, 8:23 PM
yeah no reason why ye couldnt if ye have a full team, including martin ward, he'd be a good addition to have back in the team, then let rasher go outfield. will paddy conlon be back after international duty?
doubt i'll be playin on sunday, havnt got a chance at senior yet really, only a few sub appearances, u18 captain so am more interested in that anyways

red metal
11/10/2007, 9:22 PM
No we wont have Paddy Conlon or Andrew mc Loughlin or Packie this week!Paddy wont be back for another 3 weeks Packie is away in Liverpool and Andrew is away with his family for the weekend!

11/10/2007, 11:22 PM
so ye'll just have the bear 11 then if ward dosn't show!? don't think it'll make much difference anyway tbh

red metal
13/10/2007, 10:01 AM
No we should have 13!Looking forward to the next few game!

jim22
15/10/2007, 12:52 PM
Any results from the weekend lads,is there going to be a sligo/letrim team this year and who would be on it

DonalE
15/10/2007, 7:40 PM
Results are on Aertel, page 443 on RTE 2.

red metal
16/10/2007, 2:45 PM
Any results from the weekend lads,is there going to be a sligo/letrim team this year and who would be on it

Ya i think Dessie Cawley is looking after them!He was already talking to a few of or lads.

DonalE
16/10/2007, 3:44 PM
Will be mainly Abbey players i'd say, what you think Red Metal?

red metal
17/10/2007, 12:15 PM
No i think tere will be a few but tere is a lot of good player around the league to have a good Sligo Leitrim team.The 2 lads up front for Manor and Naill Walsh Shane Hayes of Carbury.Blaine and keith feeney and nibber of City John Harvey and the goalkeeper of Yeats!And maybe a few of the Boyle lads aswell.But i think Dessie should have a look at all the divisions!

DonalE
18/10/2007, 5:22 PM
Haven't seen much of the Manor lads, Shane Hayes and Niall Walsh alright. Brian McAteer is the Yeats keeper, very good alright and that fella in goals for Strand isn't too bad either I guess :D

I reckon on their day Abbey would beat the best of the rest of the S/L league. . . maybe

red metal
19/10/2007, 6:43 AM
I was just asking the lads last night about the Sligo Leitrim team and they told me tere is not going to be one now.What a joke of a league we are in.

biscuit
19/10/2007, 2:40 PM
that fella in goals for Strand isn't too bad either I guess :D

him!!!hes useless him...:p

DonalE
20/10/2007, 3:44 PM
I was just asking the lads last night about the Sligo Leitrim team and they told me tere is not going to be one now.What a joke of a league we are in.

Did they say why? Was looking forward to seeing them play

biscuit
20/10/2007, 5:01 PM
hot the nail on the head RM...ever since the SL team in the eircom u21 fell apart, the powers that be dont want to know about representative sides...after that happened kennedy said that he didnt think there would be one in any shape or form for years to some.pity really, some great junior players in the league, would have given any other rep side a game.

20/10/2007, 9:25 PM
does anyone know how long suspension for a straight red card is in youth football. and if your sent off u18, do you get suspended for senior

biscuit
21/10/2007, 12:38 PM
Feo afaik its 2 games for a straight red. It doesnt effect senior games as your registered with two different associations.

Any results yet lads.

Strand beath treacy 4-0
City were leadin abbey 1-0 at some stage, how did that finish?

21/10/2007, 4:07 PM
we lost 5-1 to boyle. there a decent side. sean purcell, ex sligo rovers scored the best goal ive ever seen in junior football

biscuit
21/10/2007, 4:36 PM
really!tell me more...percys a great wee player.
abbey 1 - 1 city - howd it go RM? Any oher results?

think we have you next week feo,off to liverpool myself, won't be around..

21/10/2007, 7:12 PM
seems to be a good few going to liverpool from sligo next weekend!

purcell got the ball about 40 yards out, ran to the edge of the box, he was on the corner of the box and chipped the keeper with the outside of his foot. might not sound great the way im explaining it but it was class

big game next weekend, calry v strand. losers will stuggle. think its at home for us.

red metal
21/10/2007, 7:30 PM
We drew 1-1 with City in fairness to city they had 2 good chance,s.And should have beaten us.We just didnt play today and we were lucky to get a point.

21/10/2007, 7:34 PM
heard the report on the radio, seemed as if city deserved the 3 points. nibbs seemed to be prominent aswell. how did ward play?

red metal
22/10/2007, 5:03 PM
heard the report on the radio, seemed as if city deserved the 3 points. nibbs seemed to be prominent aswell. how did ward play?

Wardy did allright made a good save from Nibber after about 5 mins and another god save from Blaine.As i said we played bad yesterday but it tells you something about the squad when we still came away with a point.That is like City cup final twice a year.They give it everything against us and then go away and get bet v Manor or Tracy. Alot of the lads were disappointed with tere own personal performance yesterday!

23/10/2007, 9:13 PM
Wardy did allright made a good save from Nibber after about 5 mins and another god save from Blaine.As i said we played bad yesterday but it tells you something about the squad when we still came away with a point.That is like City cup final twice a year.They give it everything against us and then go away and get bet v Manor or Tracy. Alot of the lads were disappointed with tere own personal performance yesterday!

ye wern't at yere very best against calry imo in the 2 games, but still got 2 wins, so once ye hit top gear again it'll be hard to stop ye

fare play to manor btw, they've done brilliantly. i heard a rumour that they pay their manager to come from enniskillen to coach them.....

biscuit
23/10/2007, 10:21 PM
Feo we dont have yeh sunday now...have Coolany in the FAI cup.
Delighted im not missin a league game?
Who have other clubs got?