View Full Version : Sligo/Leitrim District Soccer League 2007/08

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

26/10/2007, 8:51 PM
Feo we dont have yeh sunday now...have Coolany in the FAI cup.
Delighted im not missin a league game?
Who have other clubs got?

we have city, it said its at home but we already played them at home this year! not sure where its on! am working anyway!

28/10/2007, 10:13 PM
another entertaining game for abbey today red metal was it? ye're conceding too many goals......

28/10/2007, 10:14 PM
another entertaining game for abbey today red metal was it? ye're conceding too many goals......but are scoring aswell, just think if it dosnt improve at the back ye will struggle in the cup competitions against the better opposition

red metal
29/10/2007, 12:48 PM
I swear to god the ref was a joke.Ref,ed the game from the center circle and 2 of there goals were offside.Pitch was like a swamp.He gave chris kelly a yellow card for a bicycle kick.we should have been out of sight a half time but as i said the ref was a joke!but that said we were allways going to win the game!

29/10/2007, 5:03 PM
I swear to god the ref was a joke.Ref,ed the game from the center circle and 2 of there goals were offside.Pitch was like a swamp.He gave chris kelly a yellow card for a bicycle kick.we should have been out of sight a half time but as i said the ref was a joke!but that said we were allways going to win the game!

was it in galway? the refs there are very bad, played their a good bit for summerhill and the standard is way worse than some of the refs in sligo!
we have strand at home on sunday, big game...!

red metal
30/10/2007, 12:38 PM
No the game was in roscommon a place called loughglynn.Great result for ye on sunday you did us a favour there .we have a 6 pointer on sunday v Boyle should be a good game but i dont know were the game is going to be played yet!Boyle are sharing with gurteen and gurteen are down to play at 11 oclock and so are Boyle.They might have to switch it to our place for 2.Because City are at home at 11

biscuit
30/10/2007, 1:36 PM
was it in galway? the refs there are very bad, played their a good bit for summerhill and the standard is way worse than some of the refs in sligo!
we have strand at home on sunday, big game...!

very big!!! both teams need 3 points..
whats the story with treacy, are they folding r what?

DonalE
31/10/2007, 4:05 PM
As far as I know Boyle are playing all their games away, they only used Gurteen's pitch once. It's about 3 weeks since I heard this so might have changed since.

Great to see Strand keeping a clean sheet at the weekend, was it their regular keeper in goals? :D

biscuit
01/11/2007, 10:46 AM
As far as I know Boyle are playing all their games away, they only used Gurteen's pitch once. It's about 3 weeks since I heard this so might have changed since.

Great to see Strand keeping a clean sheet at the weekend, was it their regular keeper in goals?

oh harsh, there was one the week previous too donal...:mad::p:D

04/11/2007, 6:27 PM
calry 3-1 strand
abbey 5-2 boyle

red metal
04/11/2007, 8:16 PM
Carbury 1 Yeats 1

City utd 1 manor rang 1

tracy v arrow harps dont think tracy turned up

04/11/2007, 9:04 PM
says 1-0 to arrow harps on the ocean website, its usually down as 3-0 when a team dosnt turn up. abbey down to play treacy next week. we have carbury!

biscuit
05/11/2007, 1:31 PM
good win against us for calry....pitch was shocking but they took their chances and were helped by some dodgy keeping :o for the 3rd one!:(
feo is that the worst the pitch has been? could do with being cut like!

05/11/2007, 2:22 PM
good win against us for calry....pitch was shocking but they took their chances and were helped by some dodgy keeping :o for the 3rd one!:(
feo is that the worst the pitch has been? could do with being cut like!

ya it was very good at the start of the season, the best its been in years, then we played against treacy in the lashings of rain and messed it up big time. its terrible at the minute. they hardly ever cut it for some reason. its annoying. it'll probably just get worse over the next few months!

biscuit
05/11/2007, 4:40 PM
would paraic not take the flymo to it, instead of flashin his skills on the sideline!!

red metal
05/11/2007, 4:41 PM
Its not looking good for Strand now biscuit!ye really need to start picking points up now!

05/11/2007, 5:19 PM
would paraic not take the flymo to it, instead of flashin his skills on the sideline!!

did you see that flick? he should be starting for us, what a player!!

biscuit
05/11/2007, 5:51 PM
yea i know RM, yest was a strange game, we didnt show up for the first half and then were camped in their half for most f the 2nd half, but they could have got another 3!! pitch definatly suited them, long ball up to the target man, and quick players running off him. the long throws killed us too!

05/11/2007, 7:14 PM
yea i know RM, yest was a strange game, we didnt show up for the first half and then were camped in their half for most f the 2nd half, but they could have got another 3!! pitch definatly suited them, long ball up to the target man, and quick players running off him. the long throws killed us too!

we're shi*e. i hate the way we play. hoof all day long. and anytime we get a throw, we get our left back to run up and throw it long. no matter where the throw is from in the last third! and giggsy gives out for throwing it short and trying to play.

ye should have started cawley and o'mahoney yesterday,conor has scored about 10 goals this year combined ith u18 and senior! i dont rate keaveney. and i thought mick, the english lad at centre back was total muck. heraghty isnt great either. ye have better players than us. in many areas of the pitch. what do u think of kevin devaney lads?

biscuit
05/11/2007, 7:27 PM
keaveney has been v.good for us.i thought his link up play was good yest, and had a goal disallowed. think mahony is injured, has a bad knee. Heraghty i think found it hard on that pitch yest. Mick the english fella is actually our manager now,\ he was with city before. I think his size hindered him yest againt the 2 big lads. Is devanny no 8 witht the shaved head, excellent in the air.

05/11/2007, 7:31 PM
keaveney has been v.good for us.i thought his link up play was good yest, and had a goal disallowed. think mahony is injured, has a bad knee. Heraghty i think found it hard on that pitch yest. Mick the english fella is actually our manager now,\ he was with city before. I think his size hindered him yest againt the 2 big lads. Is devanny no 8 witht the shaved head, excellent in the air.

no, number 10, the young fella.

red metal
06/11/2007, 3:10 PM

And then when he is finished with the pitch!Give the owld tash a quick going over:D:D:D

06/11/2007, 6:41 PM
leave paraic alone lads ;)

biscuit
11/11/2007, 12:35 PM
results today??

Strand beaten by boyle 5-1.
Ended up playin 2nd half at centre half....:(
worryin

DonalE
11/11/2007, 10:12 PM
Results not been updated on aertel yet but the revised league table is up on the Ocean FM website.

11/11/2007, 11:36 PM
calry beat carbury 1-0

red metal
12/11/2007, 10:05 AM
Great result yesterday feo.I was out at the first 20 mins of the game.Good goal that lads took it well.Pitch is very bad though feo.Went over to the City Yeats game.Blaine had a great chance to rap up all 3 points to make it 2 nil.But he went for power instead of tring to place it.Yeats went straight up the pitch and scored and made it 1-1.Fair result in the end id say!

12/11/2007, 12:09 PM
tommy oates made the team stay behind after the match to replace all the divots on the pitch, muppet

red metal
12/11/2007, 12:25 PM
tommy oates made the team stay behind after the match to replace all the divots on the pitch, muppet

Are you joking man?Strand are in real bother now its going to take a lot for them to stay up now i think 20 points should see Calry safe.And your well on the way to that.I think ye have 11 points and 3 more to get of Tracy because they pulled out of the league.So that will bring ye up to 14.

DonalE
12/11/2007, 3:48 PM
Who scored for Yeats and Calry? Any other results?

12/11/2007, 5:43 PM
no, oates made sure the calry players stayed behind for a few minutes afterwards to stamp down the divots. i wasnt there, was just told he done that!

chris crossan scored for calry, a decent volley from what i hear!

Gaillimh Al
14/11/2007, 10:10 AM
Abbey Utd are playing Galway Utd(u-21s) in the Connacht Senior Cup on Saturday evening in Terryland.

red bellied
14/11/2007, 1:16 PM
Heard Treacy Celtic have withdrawn from the league.

14/11/2007, 6:31 PM
yeah treacy are gone, think everyone gets the 6 points off them for the season

red metal
15/11/2007, 7:08 AM
Abbey Utd are playing Galway Utd(u-21s) in the Connacht Senior Cup on Saturday evening in Terryland.

What kind of squad will the under 21 put out Gaillimh Al?

Gaillimh Al
17/11/2007, 9:13 PM
Galway Utd 4 Abbey Utd 2

An entertaining game, was in the balance till Galway scored their fourth four minutes from time. Abbey were missing a couple and had an inexperienced keeper playing his first game. Good game though, Shannon and Marshall showed some good touches and Gareth Kelly was a handful up front.

Goals:
Galway (Neto 12, 18; Sinnott 48; Molloy 86)
Abbey (Marshall 36; G Kelly 58)

red metal
18/11/2007, 10:09 AM
I thought we did played really well once we came to grips with the no-10.The pitch was like a carpet and a lot of credit must go to the ground staff at Galway Utd you would think it was the start of the season instead of the end of it.Our lads can hold tere heads high after that preformance.We should have had a penalty to make it 3-3.your fitness showed in the end and best of luck to Galway Utd u-21 in the final

18/11/2007, 8:49 PM
owenmore 10-1 calry.

shambolic display!! 6 players never showed for the bus (not making excuses), told by the manager in the warm up im suspeded, i idnt know u18 suspensions carry though to senior?

Gaillimh Al
18/11/2007, 9:05 PM
That'd be Oranmore then. Was told that game would be quite even, but obviously ye had a few problems.

18/11/2007, 9:44 PM
sorry i meant oranmore. there not even great thats the annoying thing. nice set up though, good all weather pitch beside the main pitch!
6 starting players didnt show up, then we were stuggeling still no one should ever concede 10 goals i dont care what the circumstances are

Billynose
20/11/2007, 4:52 PM
What was the reason for your players not being there? Calry looked disinterested from the start

20/11/2007, 9:18 PM
where were you playing?

2 or 3 were at the rally, 2 or 3 were injured and one was away in dublin or something. no excuses though as i said earlier, we never showed up!

red metal
24/11/2007, 9:56 AM
Whats the fixtures for this week lads!

DonalE
25/11/2007, 4:23 PM
Bolye beat Strand on penalties and Abbey beat Brazil 2-1 aet.

What you think of the game Red Metal? Unusual would be the first word tht springs to mind

red metal
26/11/2007, 9:04 AM
Well you could say that!but on the other hand you could say we were blessed to get to extra time.we had a lot of the ball and only that tere kepper fecked up!They would have beaten us 1 nil!We were blessed really

26/11/2007, 1:47 PM
yeats drew 1-1 with calry bohs

biscuit
26/11/2007, 2:31 PM
we should have hammered boyle yest. just couldnt put the ball in the net. new signings have & will make a big difference.we missed our first 3 penalties. salthill devon in the cup next weekend :o but the league is the most important thing at this stage.

DonalE
26/11/2007, 3:39 PM
Well you could say that!but on the other hand you could say we were blessed to get to extra time.we had a lot of the ball and only that tere kepper fecked up!They would have beaten us 1 nil!We were blessed really

They were a noisy bunch. . . to say the least. :D

Dunno how sailor didn't send off their no. 9, big fella in the middle of the park. He should have got about 3 reds after all the pushing when ye equalised and countless bad tackles after that

biscuit
26/11/2007, 3:59 PM
[quote=DonalE;825138]They were a noisy bunch. . . to say the least. :D

well u could hear some f*ckin screams cfrom down in mcsharry!! there musta been alot of women at the game!!!

DonalE
26/11/2007, 4:42 PM
[quote=DonalE;825138]They were a noisy bunch. . . to say the least. :D

well u could hear some f*ckin screams cfrom down in mcsharry!! there musta been alot of women at the game!!!

Stephen Coen got booked in the firt half and they went crazy, I thought a carnival was going to break out :D

I heard a few screams from the other side of the pitch too though when Carty scored the winner ;)