View Full Version : Football Manager 2008

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

16/07/2008, 11:32 AM
We should try setting up a network game and getting enough players to take over all the clubs in Conference North/South and see how it goes for a few seasons

Conroy
16/07/2008, 12:04 PM
Defo be up for that. Dont think ive stayed that long in the Lower League's in England took ebbsfleet??? Up a few divison one year that was about it.

Rovers fan
16/07/2008, 12:37 PM
Yeah,I'd be up for it too.

harpstilidie
21/07/2008, 11:20 AM
Network games are a nightmare in all honesty. We had one earlier for the eircom league and it was really slow to get through and eventually everyone gave up.

Conroy
21/07/2008, 12:50 PM
Never been involed in one so cant comment, But seems to be a good bit of craic.

endabob1
21/07/2008, 1:36 PM
Should I take 1 point from my last 3 games I'll have taken Kettering from Blue Square North to League 1 in 5 seasons.

Season 1: Won Blue Square North.
Season 2: Beaten Blue Square Premier Playoff Semi-finalists (penalties against Halifax).
Season 3: Won Blue Square Premier.
Season 4: Beaten League 2 Playoff finalists (Hammered 4-1 by Peterborough after a 1-0 home defeat against Northampton on the last day of the season saw me slide from 3rd to 5th).
Season 5: Short of a catastrophic collapse will go up between 1st and 3rd (probably 2nd).

Not a massive achievement in some ways because Kettering are definitely better than the 6th tier. if I kept them in the 3rd I'd be quite impressed with myself.

I've done similar with Kettering, because they are one of the bigger non-league sides and certainly one of 2/3 capable of pulling 3k+ in the FCN it is much easier with them than virtually anyone else at that level. It also helps if you have a lot of leagues/countries open as there is a good chance of getting African/Eastern European players to come.
From memory I missed promotion from TCN in season 1 went up as champions in season 2 went straight up from the conference the follwing season. A couple of seasons in league 2 followed by a majestic title winning season, unfortunately a lot of overseas players came to the end of contracts at the end of this season and they weren't keen to renew, so my first season in League 1 was a struggle and I started to lose motivation :)

21/07/2008, 1:46 PM
Never with the same club. I don't think it's possible, without cheating to take a club with a stadium capacity of 5k to the Premier League. Normally I start off in Conference South/North and take the team as far as I can go before leaving for a bigger club. Example in this game was,

took Cambridge City from Conference South to League 2 in 3 seasons, had them in 10th by Christmas and left to take over at Tranmere who were sitting 16th in League 2.

Finished 8th with Tranmere that season and went up the season after as runners up (Cambridge City got relegated:().

Took me two years to get Tranmere to the Championship, had the league won with 2 games left and quit to take over at Nottm Forest who were languishing a few points out of the relegation zone in the Championship. Kept them up (only had to win one out of two games mind, probably didn't even have to win that in the end) and within two season had Forest back in the Prem :)

Normally it takes me two years to get out of a division from taking over. One to clear out the deadwood and get my own squad together, and the other to go up. Often I've gone up in successive promotions, but mostly it would take two seasons. In Football Manager 2007 I took Wednesday from Legaue One to the Premiership with back to back league wins, had them in 8th in December of my first season in the Prem and they sacked me for falling out with 3 of my players! One of the Swedes I had brought in (can't remember his name) was mouthing about not getting a game, I told him to shut up and wait his turn, this upset Tommy Spurr (fellow reserve) and Branamir Kostadinov (star striker), and the chairman sacked me! Still raging about it!

Typical Wednesday

22/07/2008, 1:32 PM
how long does it take you guys to whizz through a season?

22/07/2008, 1:35 PM
Typical Wednesday

:D:D:(

blinkx
22/07/2008, 3:36 PM
how long does it take you guys to whizz through a season?

Depends how well I like the team I'm managing,ATM I could breeze through a season with Dortmund in about a week or so at 2-3 hours a day.

20/08/2008, 1:07 PM
my first season in League 1 was a struggle and I started to lose motivation :)

That's where I am at the moment. :) 3-5-5 13 games in, 5 points above the drop zone. Suddenly taking more of an interest in the real world again! :p

20/08/2008, 8:31 PM
I'm still on FM07 myself, after years of slight tinkering I decided on the honest approach and started a season with two unemployed managers. It's pretty boring to begin with but I eventually got the Galway job with a couple of months to go in the season and finished 5th, in January the other manager got the Vizela job in the Ligo Do Honra. I finished 11th with them after being bottom when I took over, a few months into the second season and I'm 5th.

At Galway I was 2nd in the first division and on an incredible run of form, the Hearts job became available and I applied for it which upset the board. Craig Levein left Dundee Utd for the job so I applied at Tannadice. The Galway board told me to resign before they sacked me so I resigned and was shockingly offered the Dundee Utd job. I'm currently second in the table with them which is a bit of a shock but I must be just that good :D

eamo1
20/08/2008, 8:49 PM
I won the premier division with my beloved Galway Utd,then the Setanta and the FAI cup the following year and lost on away goals to Celtic in the 2nd qualifying round of the C.L.I took them as far as i could and moved on to League 1 side Swindon(to get my foot in the door in England basically).However i struggled so badly with Swindon,playing a 4-1-3-2 formation,attacking,using both wings and down the middle,defending deep.These tactics worked so well with G.U.So my qs is did ye keep using the same tactics for each team ye managed or did ye change?What tactics seem to work best???????

Green_Hoop
22/08/2008, 6:01 PM
I won the premier division with my beloved Galway Utd,then the Setanta and the FAI cup the following year and lost on away goals to Celtic in the 2nd qualifying round of the C.L.I took them as far as i could and moved on to League 1 side Swindon(to get my foot in the door in England basically).However i struggled so badly with Swindon,playing a 4-1-3-2 formation,attacking,using both wings and down the middle,defending deep.These tactics worked so well with G.U.So my qs is did ye keep using the same tactics for each team ye managed or did ye change?What tactics seem to work best???????

I tend to mold my tactics around the squad I've got, weather or not a certain formation worked for a form team I had. My current formation is 5-3-2 with chelsea,Cole and Ivanvic being the wing backs,Deco/Lamps/Ballack and Drogba/Anelka or Shevchenko up front.

Question? Is it my game or do United tend to do horribly in game? End of season one when I had MK dons they finished 8th with horrible injuries hitting the squad,then 11th season 2 and the sale of Ronaldo that summer to Real Madrid and Rooney to Ac Milan, Ferguson gets sacked and they become a rather rollercoaster of a team with some excellent wins and some horrible 3-1 defeats..

22/08/2008, 6:42 PM
I usually play a 4-4-2 with wing backs unless the full backs can't attack, the worse a team gets the more defensively I tend to operate -switching to a 5 man midfield with some teams. The exception being if I inherit a team with a poor defense when I generally switch to a more attacking style depending on the players available (could be 3-5-2 3-4-3 or an attacking 5-3-2). I had one nightmare when I jumped ship to Valencia mid-season, the team could only really play a 3-5-2 or in similar variations but I just found it impossible to get results. I will also tamper with the tactics for individual games, usually for European ties.

Question? Is it my game or do United tend to do horribly in game? End of season one when I had MK dons they finished 8th with horrible injuries hitting the squad,then 11th season 2 and the sale of Ronaldo that summer to Real Madrid and Rooney to Ac Milan, Ferguson gets sacked and they become a rather rollercoaster of a team with some excellent wins and some horrible 3-1 defeats..

I don't really manage in England often but I do notice that West Ham tend to do very well domestically - they usually ending up winning the league once. In Scotland it seems that one of Celtic or Rangers usually falls away to miss out on Europe after a few seasons leaving the other Glasgow club to canter to titles .

22/08/2008, 7:37 PM
I ruled the world with a 3-5-2 at Barca before.

Usually, I'll go with a variation of a 4-4-2. I'll change the midfielders around, depending on the players at the club. Sometimes, I'll use wing-backs. I'll always go out to play football.

Hitman
25/08/2008, 9:05 AM
Almost always 3-4-1-2 for me, dating back to CM 00/01. I've used other tactics as well, sometimes successfully, but a habit of stockpiling wingers and attacking midfielders means I nearly always go back to it, intentionally or not.

Mr Maroon
26/08/2008, 12:44 AM
With Galway United 4-4-2 in most games at the moment. 4-4-1-1 has worked wonders for me in the past though. I won the Setanta Cup with it.

With Juve I used to always use 4-4-2 but I tried out 3-1-4-2 for a while and won the league (I also won the league with 4-4-2 though). I've gone back to 4-4-2 now.

MMVIII
13/09/2008, 10:48 PM
Took over Sligo Rovers half way through the season, took them from 10th to 2nd at the end of the season :cool: 3-4-1-2 worked wonders with me!

eamo1
14/09/2008, 4:24 PM
Lads is there any way to change which leagues and divisions i can manage in during the game.I set it at the start to just managing teams in Ireland but ive won everything with a few different clubs and would love to move on to a different league.Is there any way of editing it mid game??Any help appreciated.

14/09/2008, 5:10 PM
Lads is there any way to change which leagues and divisions i can manage in during the game.I set it at the start to just managing teams in Ireland but ive won everything with a few different clubs and would love to move on to a different league.Is there any way of editing it mid game??Any help appreciated.

Short answer is no I believe.

DerekMC
17/09/2008, 11:11 PM
Hey Derek here from Football Manager Graphics Site FMGLive. Here are the two new season packs for the Eircom League, if any errors please let me know.

http://img364.imageshack.us/img364/1340/ss080809previewgn9.png (http://http://www.fmglive.com/index.php?option=com_remository&Itemid=39&func=fileinfo&id=1208)

http://img364.imageshack.us/img364/5499/ss080809previewfk8.png (http://http://www.fmglive.com/index.php?option=com_remository&Itemid=39&func=fileinfo&id=1216)

For more packs click HERE (http://www.fmglive.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=6287)

Visit our mainsite HERE (http://www.fmglive.com/) & forums HERE (http://www.fmglive.com/forums/index.php?act=idx)

18/09/2008, 12:27 AM
Have UCD finally been thrown out? Did Pats not get a licence?!

DerekMC
18/09/2008, 9:17 AM
Have UCD finally been thrown out? Did Pats not get a licence?!

There in the pack, just not on the preview!!!

harpstilidie
18/09/2008, 11:21 AM
Thanks Derek...super stuff. Will these work on FM09 as well?

harpstilidie
18/09/2008, 11:37 AM
I just put it on there and some of them didn't work. Maybe I didn't put them on properly. The teams that didn't work were:
Bray (still "Hard Metal" on the shirts)
Sporting Fingal
Limerick 37
Drogheda (still has "Murphy" on the shirts)

Just to point out Finn Harps away jersey is now green and not yellow.

Best pic I could find...

http://www.droghedaunited.ie/photo/index/id/3181

harpstilidie
18/09/2008, 1:27 PM
Oh another question...is it possible to transfer games from PC to Laptop and vice-versa?

18/09/2008, 1:34 PM
Oh another question...is it possible to transfer games from PC to Laptop and vice-versa?

Don't think so, could be wrong though

18/09/2008, 1:41 PM

Yes, it's easy enough to transfer a file between different machines using a memory stick.

niallsparky
18/09/2008, 1:51 PM

Yes, copy your whole "Sports Interactive" folder and make sure you have the same patch on both etc.

harpstilidie
18/09/2008, 1:54 PM
Thanks lads...just bought a laptop so want to continue my game on it.

18/09/2008, 3:55 PM
Make sure you copy over any tactics and training etc too