View Full Version : Recommended Films

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

11/11/2007, 12:57 AM
Saw "Control". Based on the life of Ian Curtis - Joy Division lead singer.

Pretty good.

11/11/2007, 1:40 PM
Ah yes, 'Debbie does Dallas' and 'Deep Throat'?:D Masterpieces!

No, I remember the names of them films ;) :D

11/11/2007, 2:30 PM
Into the Wild is next on my must see list. While I'm here I'll recommend Half Baked as well, it's out on DVD and is just a great movie

11/11/2007, 6:26 PM
went to see 30 days of night today (as recommended by my brother) and it was very average. How it got a 15 certificate I'll never know when you consider it has a few vampire beheadings along the way.....but other than that it isn't very scary. Considering I once jumped when watching the village that is saying something!!! It had the potential to be a very good movie if they toned down the violence and messed with your head a little more but they went for the blood and guts.

Next on my list is amercian gangster. Good trailor for I AM LEGEND doing the rounds (new Will Smith movie which has his character walking round NYC as the only human survivor of some tragedy.....or so you think).

11/11/2007, 7:40 PM
Tzameti 13, saw it first in the cinema a few years ago and loved it, was screened on BBC4 a few weeks ago. Takes a wee while to warm up, but give it time.

12/11/2007, 7:45 AM
"The three burials of Melquiades Estrada."

Tommy Lee Jones directorial debut, and a good omen for the future hopefully. Half in Spanish, for those who detest subtitles. Lee seems to speak it fluently in this film.

DIFChick
12/11/2007, 8:32 AM
Into the Wild is well worth seeing. Cineworld on Parnell St. really need to upgrade their air-con system. Last half hour was like sitting in a sauna (theatre no.10). I had read the book written by Jon Krakauer before seeing the movie on Friday, so I knew the story of Christopher McCandless and his Alaskan Adventure. The actor who plays Christopher was in Lords of Dogtown and in Alpha Dog which didn't really showcase his acting skills. They guy does a good job in Into The Wild, maybe an Oscar candidate?

I haven't seen the original 3:10 to Yuma so I went in with a new look on the film and really enjoyed it. I suppose if the remake of 3:10 is anything like the other remakes such as Halloween , Psycho, Omen, King Kong, Poseidon, Charlie & Chocolate Factory, Texas Chainsaw Massacre etc. it probably was overkill.

I'll give the original a go just to get some comparison between the new and old.

12/11/2007, 8:51 AM
Good trailor for I AM LEGEND doing the rounds (new Will Smith movie which has his character walking round NYC as the only human survivor of some tragedy.....or so you think).

This is a remake of "The Omega Man", which starred Charlton Heston in the late 60's, early 70's. It turns up occaisonally on TCM and various other channels, usually pretty late.

12/11/2007, 9:30 AM
I haven't seen the original 3:10 to Yuma so I went in with a new look on the film and really enjoyed it. ....
I'll give the original a go just to get some comparison between the new and old.
You'll still have that "new look" with the original and will enjoy it. Report back.

DIFChick
12/11/2007, 10:26 AM
Just read the original posters message there, so here's a cut from my top list of arthouse films:

Pi, Memento, Kes, Eraserhead, Donnie Darko, Yojimbo, Cube, Fargo, Amores Perros, Blade runner, Carandiru, Delicatessen,the Big Blue by Luc Besson and Cinema Paradiso.

12/11/2007, 11:07 AM
Tzameti 13, saw it first in the cinema a few years ago and loved it, was screened on BBC4 a few weeks ago. Takes a wee while to warm up, but give it time.excellent film and shocked me at times.
This is a remake of "The Omega Man", which starred Charlton Heston in the late 60's, early 70's. It turns up occaisonally on TCM and various other channels, usually pretty late.is the Omega man based on a book? I'll have a look out for it on TCM if it's any good!

cheifo
15/11/2007, 4:43 PM
Watched The Bourne Supremacy on RTE last night.This is the only film I have watched belonging to the franchise(hate that word!) and I have to admit I thought it was cracking stuff.Never bothered with them because didnt believe Matt Damon could carry it off but he is really good in portraying the man hunted to edge of his sanity .Obviously the whole premise isjust silly fun but IMO its darker edge put it streets of recent Bond films.Looking forward to seeing the other two.

15/11/2007, 5:04 PM
Watched The Bourne Supremacy on RTE last night.This is the only film I have watched belonging to the franchise(hate that word!) and I have to admit I thought it was cracking stuff.Never bothered with them because didnt believe Matt Damon could carry it off...

The Bourne movies are the best of their genre. You should rent/buy the 1st movie. IMO the original is the best which is not to say the others not good either but stories a bit thinner..

15/11/2007, 5:09 PM
The Bourne movies are the best of their genre. You should rent/buy the 1st movie. IMO the original is the best which is not to say the others not good either but stories a bit thinner..
The cameras are steadier too. Damn Greengrass and his accursed documentary roots.

Damon was excellent in the first Bourne movie - I didn't think he could carry it off before I saw it, but he really surprised me. The sequels are fine action movies too.

cheifo
15/11/2007, 5:16 PM
Just read the original posters message there, so here's a cut from my top list of arthouse films:

Pi, Memento, Kes, Eraserhead, Donnie Darko, Yojimbo, Cube, Fargo, Amores Perros, Blade runner, Carandiru, Delicatessen,the Big Blue by Luc Besson and Cinema Paradiso.

Fargo is imo a masterpiece.Dark,funny and incredibly tense.Donnie Darko, I thought it was good but a bit overhyped(I was expecting to be blown away!).
I was seeing a Swedish in girl in London who constantly raved about The Big Blue(it must appeal to the Swedish sensibility!)-I thought it was just ok:)
Cinema Paradiso is in a word beautiful and watching it can change your life.

DIFChick
16/11/2007, 8:12 AM
Yeah Cheifo, I suppose the love the main character has for the ocean would be the same as what we Swedes feel for our lakes and vast forests. Went for a drive in Wicklow mountains a couple of months ago and almost felt like being at home...

I have a new one for ya, I went to a preview in Swords/Pavilions last night: Beowulf.
I saw The Polar Express on Sky Family the other night and Beowulf is filmed in the same style. Not sure what to make of it really, visually very different. It felt a bit like watching a video game but with better graphics of course. Ray Winston and Beowulf don't look anything alike but the other actors where easy to recognise. I think there was a poor attempt at speaking Swedish or some Scandinavian sounding language, words were mispronounced. Wonder if they hired a translator or interpreter for this movie? Lots of nudity but a couple of well placed elbows/cups etc. covered up err, bits. It was quite funny! Angelina Jolies anatomy was just weird, especially the boobs. The preview in Dundrum was in 3D, would have loved that!I'd say go and see it just because it's something different.

Going to American Gangster this evening with high expectations.

Adam, did you go to Elizabeth the Golden Age? Good or bad compared to the first one?

lofty9
16/11/2007, 1:36 PM

The books aren't. They get thicker. I think the films get better. The third is amazing, hard to watch sometimes with the camera style though.

Paddyfield
16/11/2007, 2:09 PM
Saw "Control". Based on the life of Ian Curtis - Joy Division lead singer.

Pretty good.

I saw it last night. Before watching the movie, the only Joy Division song that my wife knew was Love Will Tear Us Apart; today she was digging out my Joy Division CD's.

The film is set in late 1970's Maccelsfield and is made in black and white. The Joy Division singers' short life was ended by suicide. The film is based on a book by his wife, Debbie Curtis. Joy Division got a new singer after the death of Ian Curtis and changed their name to New Order.

Brilliant film.

16/11/2007, 2:18 PM
I left the cinema after seeing Control thinking it was alright , decent enough , but the more I thought about it the better I thought it was it took a while to sink it is what I'm trying to say , brilliant performances by all especially Riley

17/11/2007, 11:30 PM
I'm just after watching it again and I hope someone else has mentioned it before.

Downfall is a brilliant film. Bruno Ganz is excellent as Hitler.

18/11/2007, 12:20 PM
I saw The Machinist last night on Film4. Rivetting.
Think its on that channel again soon.

cheifo
18/11/2007, 7:14 PM
Yeh Ristard thought Machinist was good stuff.I went to see American Gangster last night not expecting much(dont know why!) but thoroughly enjoyed it.Crowe and Washington are excellant with Crowe in particular keeping his character nice and understated.Perhaps not a classic but a damn fine movie nonetheless.Enjoy.

19/11/2007, 2:04 PM
I'm just after watching it again and I hope someone else has mentioned it before.

I am sure it was mentioned above somewhere. One of those movies where you don't notice time & can't keep eyes off. ok so you have to read the subtitles... ;)

Kildare Lad
19/11/2007, 4:18 PM
Saw good luck chuck over the weekend, thought it was a brilliant film! Very funny

DIFChick
19/11/2007, 8:18 PM
Agree with you Cheifo on the acting in American Gangster, some fine acting. The woman who plays the mother is brilliant. Love some of the music to, especially that song by Bobby Womack , "Across 110th Street".

Checked out the VIP theatre in Swords for the first time, €17.50 :eek: a ticket but it was worth it. Leather seats that recline, loads of leg space, comfy armrests and free popcorn/sodas. Beer and wine is also available.

Seen a new ad for Sweeney Todd - Demon Barber from Fleet Street with Helena Bonham Carter and Johnny Depp. It looks like half musical/half movie, some crazy costumes and make-up but what can you expect (directed by Tim Burton).

Seen some sad trailer for a film called 'Shrooms. Teens trippin' on magic mushrooms and something about a super mushroom from Ireland??? and a mushroom curse/legend. No thanks.

cheifo
19/11/2007, 9:20 PM
I got THIS IS ENGLAND out on DVD and was really looking forward to watching it but my damn player is not working.:mad:

20/11/2007, 10:36 AM
I saw 40 Days of Night the other day. I'm not a big horror fan, but it's pretty good.

20/11/2007, 11:37 AM
I saw 40 Days of Night the other day. I'm not a big horror fan, but it's pretty good.

did you get an extra 10 nights to the one I went to see??:D

20/11/2007, 12:09 PM
did you get an extra 10 nights to the one I went to see??:D
Touché. Yes, 'twas 30 Days of Night.

20/11/2007, 12:14 PM
I saw 30 Days of Night the other day. I'm not a big horror fan, but it's pretty good.

I'm not a horror fan and I thought it was awful. Mrs dodge is a horror fan and thought the ending was a total cop out

One great scene with a high camera howering over the town as the vamps do their thing though

citizenerased
20/11/2007, 12:29 PM
american gangster is good enough

20/11/2007, 2:49 PM
Checked out the VIP theatre in Swords for the first time, €17.50 :eek: a ticket but it was worth it. Leather seats that recline, loads of leg space, comfy armrests and free popcorn/sodas. Beer and wine is also available.

€17.50 for 1 ticket? Might break even if you a sofa/popcorn junkie :eek:

DIFChick
20/11/2007, 4:09 PM
I know Pete. I go to the cinema way too often to be spending that much on just one ticket... The VIP experience will solely be for special occasions.

20/11/2007, 4:37 PM
I'm not a horror fan and I thought it was awful. Mrs dodge is a horror fan and thought the ending was a total cop out

One great scene with a high camera howering over the town as the vamps do their thing though

I thought so too, that's why I felt sorry for John if he had to endure another 10 days of that film. That camera shot you mention was the only bit (other than Melissa George!) about the movie I enjoyed. I didn't understand why the vampires or whatever they were didn't do a thorough house search? :confused: I mean they have 30 nights to kill and they are hungry......yet they stand in the middle of the road waiting for fresh blood to just suddenly appear!!!!

20/11/2007, 6:15 PM
I caught Stardust and Into the Wild over the weekend and I'd recommend both of them

21/11/2007, 7:36 PM
american gangster is good enough

how was it a 16 film, surely the violence and drug storyline should have made it 18 ??

But a great film, really enjoyed it.

Neish
21/11/2007, 9:50 PM
I got THIS IS ENGLAND out on DVD and was really looking forward to watching it but my damn player is not working.:mad:

Quality show, really like meadows work

22/11/2007, 9:30 AM
has anyone seen swingers? Someone recommended it to me and it was the worst film ive ever seen.

22/11/2007, 9:53 AM
Seen some sad trailer for a film called 'Shrooms. Teens trippin' on magic mushrooms and something about a super mushroom from Ireland??? and a mushroom curse/legend. No thanks.

I cant wait to see it! Might go this weekend. It was mostly filmed in the park behind my house and there is a "shack" in the forest that my brother built! Am wondering will his name be in the credits as he was one of the carpenters. Am soooooo excited! I met 2 of the lads who were staring in the movie while they were here. One of them is Max Kasch brother of Cody Kasch, who plays Zach in Desperate Housewives, Cody & other brother Dylan were over staying with him for a few days and they came into the pub where we were holding a fundraising table quiz for our womens team and they took part. I sold them raffle tickets and had great craic with them.

A Face's mate was the producer too and they used loads of locals as crew. Oh and my sons failed in the audition to play the ghost boy in this movie.

So yeah, am looking forward to seeing it and if its poo will be gutted!

22/11/2007, 10:04 AM
has anyone seen swingers? Someone recommended it to me and it was the worst film ive ever seen.

I enjoyed it. Comes down to whether you like Vince Vaughn or find him annoying. I like him and thought it was a clever little comedy

DIFChick
22/11/2007, 10:05 AM
Magicme>> Had no idea it was filmed in Ireland. Ya, let us know what you thought about the film. The only thing that looked remotely interesting in the trailer was the talking cow, very trippy! I love a good horror/slasher film!

22/11/2007, 10:07 AM
I enjoyed it. Comes down to whether you like Vince Vaughn or find him annoying. I like him and thought it was a clever little comedy
I haven't seen it, but it has a very good reputation.

22/11/2007, 10:07 AM
Yeah apparently they are tripping on Shrooms and they start getting killed off and dont know whether it is for real or part of the trip.

Should be fun!

mr miyagi
22/11/2007, 11:23 AM
The Legend of 1900 / La Legenda del Pianista sull'oceano ....best film ever.
Directed by Guiseppe Tornantore, starring Tim Roth. Score by Ennio Morricone.
A must see film...

or "The Killer", a Chinese film directed by John Woo and starring Chow Yun Fat

22/11/2007, 12:37 PM
My big screen debut* next week in good cinemas nationwide.
Well, the big screen debut of my scrunched up face over Michael Madsens shoulder.

DIFChick
22/11/2007, 3:36 PM
Strength & Honour?

22/11/2007, 9:26 PM
9kDjMUlxtoE
Yep.

cheifo
22/11/2007, 9:59 PM
Fair play to you Ristard.Not that your a thespian do you find yourself demanding bottled water and throwing hissy fits everywhere you go?;)

23/11/2007, 1:29 AM
How dare you?
I trust cheifo will be banished from this forum by morning.

cheifo
23/11/2007, 9:12 AM
How dare you?
I trust cheifo will be banished from this forum by morning.

Very good.:D