View Full Version : Irish Abroad 2007/2008
Pages :
[
11]
08/01/2008, 2:37 PM
Marc Wilson has returned to Portsmouth from his loan with Luton. With several players due to leave for the African Cup of Nations, he may well get a run in the first team.
08/01/2008, 6:01 PM
Billy Dennehy's loan to Accrington has been extended by another month: http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=13931
CraftyToePoke
08/01/2008, 9:30 PM
despite being in or around the first 11 for the last month or so, albeit mostly as sub Jonathan Hayes hasnt done enough it seems and has been loaned to northampton
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/n/northampton_town/7176556.stm
Alan Sheehan remains at the club but there will be arrivals this month so he will have work to do, also Graham Kavanagh is being linked with a move here.
theworm2345
08/01/2008, 11:30 PM
Stokes scored twice Miller assisted both of them (the second goal went Connolly --> Miller --> Stokes --> Goal) and Connolly had the assist on the last goal. Carr forced the own goal for Sunderland
09/01/2008, 9:28 AM
from http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_3032005,00.html
Megson, in addition to trying to keep Nicolas Anelka, is aiming to strengthen his squad during the January transfer window.
He is chasing Portsmouth's versatile left-sider Matt Taylor and has also been linked with a bid for Sheffield Wednesday winger Glenn Whelan.
The Owls have rejected a 'derisory' offer from Plymouth Argyle, while Derby County are also rumoured to be keen on the Irishman.
I'd imagine Whelan would be keen on playing in the Premiership, but he could do a lot better than Derby
Also from the rumours: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8671_3032066,00.html
Reading are set to make Stephen Hunt their highest earner in a bid to fend off Sunderland's interest...Bolton and Derby are in a £1.5million scrap for Sheffield Wednesday's Glenn Whelan
And from today's Independent: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/clubs-out-to-swoop-on-ramos-rejects-1261242.html
Sunderland have held talks with Charlton Athletic about signing Andy Reid. The Ireland winger, who has scored seven goals this season, joined from Tottenham for £3m 18 months ago. His time at White Hart Lane was hampered by injury after he moved from Nottingham Forest for £4m.
livehead1
09/01/2008, 2:23 PM
Reid actually cost spurs 5.5million with the combined fee for himself and dawson 8million
09/01/2008, 5:58 PM
I'd imagine Whelan would be keen on playing in the Premiership, but he could do a lot better than Derby
I read that Bolton are also interested.
10/01/2008, 12:58 PM
Irish Abroad for Tuesday, 8th January 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-01-08
Sean Thornton completes a miserable night for his previous employers
Irish Abroad for Wednesday, 9th January 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-01-09
One game, one player, one substitution
Incidentally, Robbie Keane hasn't completed the full 90 minutes for Spurs since November
10/01/2008, 3:00 PM
Richard Dunne and Karl Moore completed an Irish one-two in the player of the month awards at Man City: http://www.mcfc.co.uk/default.sps?pagegid={DBD12D53-8346-431D-A04F-5D0F8664DE80}&newsid=522473
Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 3:01 PM
Bendan Moloney going on loan to Chesterfield. Debut against Brentford on Saturday.
10/01/2008, 3:02 PM
I see Wolves have signed Sylvan Ebanks-Blake from Plymouth for £1.5m - http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_3036943,00.html -
I only mention it because Plymouth were rebuffed by Sheffield Wednesday for a "derisory" offer for Glen Whelan. Now they have 1.5m more to offer. Hmmmm
Also, with Ebanks-Blake at Wolves, that's another striker for Elliott and Keogh to compete against.
Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 3:03 PM
Richard Dunne and Karl Moore completed an Irish one-two in the player of the month awards at Man City: http://www.mcfc.co.uk/default.sps?pagegid={DBD12D53-8346-431D-A04F-5D0F8664DE80}&newsid=522473
Dunne has been excellent.
I noted Sven used a few young subs last week, pity Moore did not get a look in.
Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 3:43 PM
Lewis Emanuel has gone on loan to Lincoln.
And Hull have made a bid for Dean Brill.
10/01/2008, 3:59 PM
SKY saying Sunderland has increased its offer for Hunt to £4.5 million.
Paddy Garcia
10/01/2008, 7:18 PM
Did someone say that Ruairi Harkin has reverted back to the North? Anyone know the position?
11/01/2008, 7:57 AM
Anyone know the position?Winger I think.
11/01/2008, 8:20 AM
apologies if this has been posted already but it's a fans review of the season so far and each team has a star man. Kelly (Brum), O'Brien (Bolton), Hunt (Reading) and Dunne just edged out by Elano.
http://observer.guardian.co.uk/sport/story/0,,2236255,00.html
11/01/2008, 9:17 AM
Nice to see Kelly being appreciated, I really hope this guy can cement his position as a Premiership quality full back. Fair play to O'Brien too.
robbie_B
11/01/2008, 10:01 AM
http://www.southendunited.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10444~1210613,00.html
11/01/2008, 4:48 PM
U21 international Shane McFaul has signed for Brighton.
Paddy Garcia
11/01/2008, 7:44 PM
1m offer from Forest for Best.
12/01/2008, 12:16 PM
Burnley in for Glenn Whelan: http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/2008/01/12/coyle-springs-for-owls-star-89520-20282573/
12/01/2008, 3:04 PM
Morrison and Scannell scored against Wolves. 2-0 Palace.
McGeady set up Celtic's only goal so far with a cross from the left.
12/01/2008, 3:23 PM
Morrison and Scannell scored against Wolves. 2-0 Palace.
McGeady set up Celtic's only goal so far with a cross from the left.
Clinton has to be in the next squad. Surely?
12/01/2008, 3:26 PM
10 in his last 13 games. It would be madness to exclude him.
Paddy Garcia
12/01/2008, 7:45 PM
Given his reputation for being a big mouth, he has taken being dropped with surprising good grace & dignity. I doubt Stan would even consider him now if still in charge.
CraftyToePoke
12/01/2008, 8:31 PM
leicester v coventry 2-0
Sheehan was not involved at all here, I didnt hear if he was injured or not, and with Hayes gone out on loan, no Irish for leicester.
Thornton and Best for cov, with both subbed in the last 15/20 having tried hard but not really impacted in any memorable way, Thornton had an early shot which was blocked after he got forward of his strikers and Best had some nice traps on his chest under long balls fighting off close attention of cb's each time, but it didnt ammount to a great day for either of them with the home side boasting an almost entire new midfield, well up for it and well in control.
neither Tabb or Doyle available for coventry, and no sign of Hawkins either, I dont even know if he is still at the club. ?
Paddy Garcia
13/01/2008, 8:18 AM
Keane has told Connolly, Harte, and Kavanagh they can go.
13/01/2008, 6:53 PM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 12 January 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-01-12
Clinton and Scannell continue scoring
Irish Abroad for Sunday, 13 January 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-01-13
Jimmy Ryan, who won 2 FA Youth Cups at Liverpool, has transferred to Shrewsbury and made his first appearance today
ofjames
13/01/2008, 9:13 PM
leicester v coventry 2-0
Sheehan was not involved at all here, I didnt hear if he was injured or not, and with Hayes gone out on loan, no Irish for leicester.
Thornton and Best for cov, with both subbed in the last 15/20 having tried hard but not really impacted in any memorable way, Thornton had an early shot which was blocked after he got forward of his strikers and Best had some nice traps on his chest under long balls fighting off close attention of cb's each time, but it didnt ammount to a great day for either of them with the home side boasting an almost entire new midfield, well up for it and well in control.
neither Tabb or Doyle available for coventry, and no sign of Hawkins either, I dont even know if he is still at the club. ?
he's still there alright. he's got an achilles injury. Which can be very nasty and long-term. Just ask stephen mcphail, he lost the two most important years of his career to an achilles injury and never really recovered.
http://www.sportinglife.com/football/nationwide1/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=nonwire_soccer/08/01/07/manual_115218.html&TEAMHD=nationwide1
one another subject, i thought stokes and particularly murphy had very good games today
14/01/2008, 8:34 AM
Clinton has to be in the next squad. Surely?Agree, and is close to deserving a starting place.
His goal was superb - anyone see it?
14/01/2008, 9:22 AM
What a refreshing read, an article on an English match in an Irish newspaper that actually bothers to mention the performances of the Irish players feauturing.
David Kelly in the Indo:
Liam Miller, often maligned, typified this abrasiveness. It was his doggedness in midfield which produced the possession for the first of a brace of goals from another player to attract his share of derision, Kieran Richardson.
Daryl Murphy was also an outstanding performer, graft and work ethic personified, while Stokes responded to Keane's public urgings with a vigorous display. Even Dwight Yorke, despite a hesitant opening 20 minutes, stood up to the plate. Unfortunately for the benched Paul McShane, the reunited defensive pairing of Nyron Nosworthy and Jonny Evans were imperious.
14/01/2008, 9:23 AM
Highlights of the game here: http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Uomai7Or4Fs
Video quality isn't great though.
Clinton's goal reminds me of Zidane's from the Champions' League final a few years ago. Think he got the assist for Scannell's goal too.
14/01/2008, 9:32 AM
Yeah, Morrison's shot was deflected to Scannell's feet.
SKY on Saturday referred to him as "Scan-elle".
dr_peepee
14/01/2008, 9:34 AM
SKY on Saturday referred to him as "Scan-elle".
He has a brother at Palace too doesn't he... Is he gonna be "Scan-elle eile"
dr_peepee
14/01/2008, 9:36 AM
Agree, and is close to deserving a starting place.
Clinton's available on a free in the Summer isn't he???
14/01/2008, 9:54 AM
Yes, I think so.
I'm obviously looking through green-tinted specs, but I think Clinton was harshly treated at Birmingham. He was heavily involved in any goal Heskey ever scored and Bruce's purchase of Pandiani to play him ahead of Morrison was ill advised to say the least.
Paddy Garcia
14/01/2008, 10:28 AM
Yes, I think so.
I'm obviously looking through green-tinted specs, but I think Clinton was harshly treated at Birmingham. He was heavily involved in any goal Heskey ever scored and Bruce's purchase of Pandiani to play him ahead of Morrison was ill advised to say the least.
Agree, & he was harshly treated by us too.
Dr. Ogba
14/01/2008, 10:30 AM
Great to see Clinton back on form. Think he offers something different to the likes of Long/Stokes/Keogh so he's well worth his place in the squad and could definitely be challenging Doyle for a starting spot. Added to this it's always handy to have a man of his experience around the squad...
14/01/2008, 1:00 PM
Unfortunately for the benched Paul McShane, the reunited defensive pairing of Nyron Nosworthy and Jonny Evans were imperious. [/I]
A clean sheet is fantastic but that was more down to Portsmouth being completely off form. Any time Porsmouth really attacked they troubled the Sunderland defence and Benjani should have done much better when he got behind their defence on a couple of occasions. Anyway, they'll keep their places for the next game but Evans certainly hasn't solved their problems.
14/01/2008, 1:36 PM
A clean sheet is fantastic but that was more down to Portsmouth being completely off form. Any time Porsmouth really attacked they troubled the Sunderland defence and Benjani should have done much better when he got behind their defence on a couple of occasions. Anyway, they'll keep their places for the next game but Evans certainly hasn't solved their problems.I read that McShane repaced Evan for the last 13 mins or so anyway.
He's still work-in-progress as we all know. Andy O'Brien on the other hand is playing very well, is 28 (I think) a really good age for a CB and is the type of CB whose style would most complement Dunne's in my opinion.
Finnan-Dunne-O'Brien-O'Shea is my preferred back 4 if everyone is fit. O'Shea is a worry but it's experienced without being old and would be a good foundation for the rest of the team.
Manc Irish Wolf
14/01/2008, 3:22 PM
My brother went to the Wolves v Palace game and was overjoyed at Scannel's performance, as he was absolutely gutted at how toss we played. Reckons it's as a good a performance from a young kid as he's ever seen and sounds like he's the real deal. Started on the right and skinned Micky Gray all game - no great feat maybe ad Gray is getting on, however he has been man of the match in our last couple of games and has international experience.
I know that he's pacy having seen him against Sheff Utd, however it appears that he is strong as well, supposedly holding off hard challenges easily. It sounds like he is playing off Morrison as part of a front three - switching from right flank to left - which is encouraging. Scored a good poachers goal as well. Great news considering the fact that we have a lack of right wingers in the squad. Could also be interesting to see what Him & Keane could offer playing off Doyle as part of a front three.
As for Wolves, Potter & Foley supposedly played well, however Mick persisted with playing Ward & Gibson out of position on the left & right wing. Fear that if he continues with his bizarre tactical decisions (playing players out of position, persisting with underperforming favourites, taking off the best players on the park etc.) he'll be given the sack, or worse still land the Irish Job.
dr_peepee
14/01/2008, 7:07 PM
Yes, I think so.
DEfinately. Plus he was crazy unlucky in terms of the amount of times he hit the bar/post in the last few games of his last full season there..... I like him. Under Kerr he clearly scarificed his natural game for the sake of the team (Could be argued he's a better alround player for it though). Watch how he celebrated Kilbanes goal against the Czechs from the bench, plus he turned up to watch the B team at Dalymout. You can't knock his commitment.
As a free transfer on current form I wonder will he get another shot at the premiership???
livehead1
15/01/2008, 8:48 AM
Glad to hear someone saying something positive about Clinton Morrison on here. Over the last couple of yearsthere have been far too many detractors due to his apparent reluctance to play for us. Every time he pulls on that green shirt he gives 110% and when I watch him, I certainly feel happy or possibly even proud that he is out there. If all the lads showed the commitment he has shown over the last 3-4 years then I feel we would be a far better side.
Tipp Townie
15/01/2008, 12:45 PM
U21 international Shane McFaul has signed for Brighton.
Can anyone give me a bit more info on McFaul? Ashamed to say i've basically neverheard of him before..
irishfan86
15/01/2008, 2:57 PM
Best has said that he wants to stay with Coventry despite Forest's interest:
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11688_3049438,00.html
15/01/2008, 3:26 PM
Can anyone give me a bit more info on McFaul? Ashamed to say i've basically neverheard of him before..
He's 21 centre midfielder. Played for Ireland from U14 to U21 levels. Played for Cherry Orchard schoolboys, then joined Notts County and was a regular for them at 17, playing right back. Fell out of favour when a new manager was appointed and then released. Played for Virginia in America in the division below MLS for a season before returning to Ireland to play for UCD last season.
15/01/2008, 7:17 PM
Manchester United have completed the signing of the much-sought after Republic of Ireland teenager Robert Brady.
The 16-year-old winger joins from North Dublin club St Kevins Boys after Sir Alex Ferguson beat off competition from several rival Premier League sides chasing the youngster, who will move to United later this year.
more... (http://sports.setanta.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2008/01/15/Prem-United-sign-Brady/)
16/01/2008, 9:42 AM
Irish Abroad for Tuesday, 15 January 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-01-15
Robbie Keane scores his 99th goal for Spurs. Incidentally, that was the first time he's completed 2 full games in a row for Spurs since October
Michael Spillane makes his first start for Norwich since November 10th.
I've been told some of the stats for players in the lower leagues are inaccurate, so I'll be working on that over the next few days and hope to have it all corrected by the weekend's games
Metrostars
16/01/2008, 3:00 PM
Tomorrow is the MLS Draft day where MLS teams can draft college players. Two players of interest:
Joe Lapira: Well documented here for his infamous cap last year against Ecuador, won the Hermann Trophy for best college player in 2006, can third in voting in 2007. He is in the draft but may not be picked as he is rumored to be on his way to Europe.
Ciaran O'Brien: 20, Son of former Bohs & NASL player Fran O'Brien, a midfielder for UC Santa Barbara is leaving college early, apparently got a Generation Adidas contract(i.e. salary does not count towards MLS team cap) so he will probably be picked in the first round or two of the draft.
Will let you all know how it turns out if anyone is interested.