View Full Version : Irish Abroad 2007/2008
Pages :
[
16]
Tenderloins
29/02/2008, 9:22 AM
Two Irish lads at Sunderland, Gavin Donoghue and Billy Dennehy have been told their contracts wont be renewed in the summer.
http://www.safc.com/index.php?page_id=14301
29/02/2008, 11:24 PM
Stephen Henderson gone on loan to Weymouth:
Bristol City report: http://www.bcfc.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10327~1253695,00.html
Weymouth Report: http://www.theterras.co.uk/website/news%202008/02%20February/More%20new%20faces.htm
Conal Platt loaned to Rushden & Diamonds
Only a short mention of it on Weymouth's site
Rushden and Diamonds report: http://www.thediamondsfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10784~1252584,00.html
29/02/2008, 11:53 PM
Statistics for February 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/february.xquery
Rory Delap (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=1999), Liam Lawrence (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=19046), and Aiden McGeady (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=38265) won the most games overall. Delap and Lawrence won the most home games, McGeady won the most away games
Lawrence was also the top scorer for the month, and Stoke (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2477) won each game he scored in
McGeady picked up more bookings than any other player, and all away from Celtic Park
Paddy Kenny (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=15285), Sean Dillon (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=46004) and Derek Geary (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17133) drew the most games overall. Dillon and Noel Hunt (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=34469) drew the most home games. Kenny, Geary and Stephen Quinn (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41911) drew the most away games
Hunt also scored the only penalty in February
Alan Maybury (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=8906) lost more games than any other player
01/03/2008, 9:00 PM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 1 March 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-01
Anthony Stokes (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=42483) made his first appearance for Sunderland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2493) since the 29 January 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-01-29)
John O'Shea (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=18121) completed 90 minutes for Man United (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=1724) for the first time since 27 January 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-01-27)
Shane Long (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41355) completed 90 minutes for Reading (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2125) in a League game for the first time since 25 August 2007 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2007-08-25)
Crystal Palace (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=646) continued their record of winning every away game Clinton Morrison (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=10566) scores in
Kevin Thornton (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=42163) scored his first goal of the season
David Norris (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=19144) scored his first goal since moving to Ipswich (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=1372)
Shane Supple (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=38716) looks to have swapped the subs bench at Ipswich for the one at Falkirk (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=955)
Jamie McCarthy (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=44290) came off the bench to score his first goal since 3 November 2007 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2007-11-03)
02/03/2008, 1:28 AM
Did some checking on Fulham's website, here's some recent comments on Michael Timlin:
Monday 11 February 2008
Chelsea Reserves 2 - 2 Fulham Reserves: http://www.fulhamfc.com/Club/News/NewsArticles/2008/February/ReservesvChelsea.aspx
The Whites took the lead midway through the first half when a Michael Timlin corner was flicked on and met by Seol from close range.
Michael Timlin doubled Fulham’s advantage early in the second half with a trademark free kick
Wednesday 20 February 2008
West Ham Reserves 2 - 0 Fulham Reserves: http://www.fulhamfc.com/Club/News/NewsArticles/2008/February/ReservesvWestHam.aspx
Set-piece expert Michael Timlin forced a fine save out of Richard Wright in the first half
Tuesday 26 February 2008
Fulham Reserves 2 - 0 Derby Reserves: http://www.fulhamfc.com/Club/News/NewsArticles/2008/February/ReservesvDerby.aspx
Alexey Smertin was kicking himself on the stroke of half-time, some excellent work down the left by Bouazza and Timlin carved out a chance for the Russian.
Timing his pass to perfection he released Bouazza down the left who beat his defender for pace, drove into the box and squared the ball to Michael Timlin who tapped home to round off an excellent flowing move
Even bearing in mind that the Fulham website is going to be some bit biased towards their own team, it does seem strange that Timlin can perform so well for a decent reserve side (4th in their league, ahead of Arsenal) but can't get a chance in their first team
kingdom hoop
03/03/2008, 5:05 AM
Someone was getting cranky about the Liam Lawrence thread veering off-topic so I said I'd lob this here instead.
I was very impressed by both Delaney and Rowland’s....... I don’t know how consistent they are.
From what I can garner from radio commentary and devout forum-perusals, Sunday's performances were indicative of the last few months. Great showing wasn't it! :)
Anyway, given the paucity of LBs playing regularly, Delaney should get a call-up. Fine strap of a lad too Stutts! Question mark would be over his pace, or more appositely, getting turned inside out by a tricking winger. But it's not like Kilbane is great in that regard, and if there is an advantage to Kilbane it's offset by the fact that Delaney has some clue how to position himself. I was very impressed with him going forward too. Granted Stoke were poor and down to ten men for half the match but he showed great willingness to surge forward, and did well once he did.
I love the buzz off Rowlands I must say. Quick, extremely energetic (always pressing high up the pitch and never caught out), shows finesse and patience on the ball, good setpiece taker, versatile, not afraid to shoot, and a very vocal character (QPR captain) - something we could do with.
In ideal scenarios neither player would be in our squad. But they are playing regularly, playing well, (we can't dismiss those factors lightly) and playing in a good-footballing team with plenty of confidence; a team which will hopefully challenge for promotion next season with them as mainstays therein. Not saviours, nothing to cum over, but I wouldn't groan in despair if we need to call upon them for national service.
Yours,
U Rrrrrsss. :p
Dr. Ogba
03/03/2008, 8:24 AM
Bloody hell Kingdom, a bit too much info in that last paragraph fellah!
Thought Rowlands was very lively alright and was the hub of everything good about QPR. Think he should be in the extended training squad and take it from there. Pleasantly surprised with Delaney also, would deffo like to see him being called into squads so Trap can run the rule over him...
03/03/2008, 9:49 AM
Irish Abroad for Sunday, 2 March 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-02
Joey O'Brien (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=39646) completed 90 minutes for Bolton for the first time since 19 January 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-01-19)
03/03/2008, 12:07 PM
After Cyprus last year Stan made a good decision, constrained by available resources, to pick Carsley and Douglas. Douglas is far from international standard but has a bit of aggression and bite to his game which we were missing. Rowlands has at least this plus is very accomplished on the ball. Admittedly Stoke were down to 10 during the spell I saw and it looked like he was given more time on the ball than he'd ordinarily expect to have.
I'd like to see Carsley and Rowlands tried in a 4-2-3-1 for a bit.
soccerc
03/03/2008, 12:34 PM
I understand that Enköping aren't interested. So I presume he's back at Liverpool?
Your understanding is wildly incorrect :D
03/03/2008, 12:40 PM
Your understanding is wildly incorrect :D
Good. Looking forward to seeing him play soon so.
04/03/2008, 1:28 PM
Haven't seen this posted anywhere
Mark Yeates is going to miss the rest of the season following surgery on a dislocated shoulder: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11702_3182662,00.html
Big blow for Yeates, and Colchester
irishfan86
05/03/2008, 3:44 AM
Haven't seen this posted anywhere
Mark Yeates is going to miss the rest of the season following surgery on a dislocated shoulder: http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11702_3182662,00.html
Big blow for Yeates, and Colchester
That's too bad, he had a decent enough start to the season there, and was firing in some great free kicks.
05/03/2008, 2:27 PM
Irish Abroad for Tuesday, 4 March 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-04
Alan Lee (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=9679) scored his eleventh of the season, Ipswich (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=1372) have not lost a home game when he's scored
Paul Heffernan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17996) scored his fifth of the season, and only his second away from home. Doncaster (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=800) have not lost any of these games
06/03/2008, 9:37 AM
Irish Abroad for Wednesday, 5 February 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-05
Four Irish players started for Coventry (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=621) for the first time this season - Jay Tabb (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=24695), Michael Doyle (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=35384), Kevin Thornton (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=42163) and Leon Best (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=38733).
09/03/2008, 11:22 AM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 8 March 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-08
Shane Long (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41355) scored his third of the season
As did Paddy McCarthy (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=26769)
Jay Tabb (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=24695) notched his fifth of the season
Gary Doherty (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=12910) was sent off for Norwich (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=1855) in the same game
Graham Kavanagh (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=4066) scored his first goal for Sheffield Wednesday (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2330) since going back there on loan. He did score for them on 2 October 2007 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2007-10-02), during his previous loan spell
Damien Delaney (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=23051) scored his first of the season in the same game
Liam Lawrence (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=19046) scored his 14th of the season, his fourth penalty
Paul Heffernan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17996) scored his sixth of the season, and second in consecutive games for Doncaster (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=800)
John Thompson (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=29172) made his first appearance in a matchday XVI since 5 January 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-01-05)
Jamie McCarthy (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=44290) made his first start for Hamilton Academical (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=1187) since 2 February 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-02-02)
09/03/2008, 2:38 PM
Alan Bennet gone on loan to Brentford - http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12875_3257663,00.html
He made his debut yesterday against Macclesfield
danonion
10/03/2008, 12:24 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong but the lad Devanney who put in the cross for Barnsley's goal against Chelsea a former Ireland U16 international?
10/03/2008, 9:45 AM
Irish Abroad for Sunday, 9 March 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-09
Anthony Stokes (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=42483) started his first game for Sunderland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2493) since 29 January 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-01-29)
Darren O'Dea (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41533) started his first game for Celtic (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=512) since 8 December 2007 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2007-12-08)
After two successive introductions from the bench, Alan O'Brien (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=40591) started his first game for Hibernian (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=1227) since 5 January 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-01-05)
10/03/2008, 9:46 AM
Correct me if I'm wrong but the lad Devanney who put in the cross for Barnsley's goal against Chelsea a former Ireland U16 international?
Yep, that's the one: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Martin_Devaney
Season stats: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=15091&seasonID=137
theworm2345
11/03/2008, 2:26 AM
I was incredibly bored and compiled this list. All but the Mayos and Monaghan were off the top of my head (I even knew George Dublin :)) Remember this is only abroad. Only one actual Irishman as well.
Jack Cork (Scunthorpe) (England)
Daryl Clare (Burton) (Ireland)
Neil Kilkenny (Leeds) (Australia)
Shaun Derry (Crystal Palace) (England)
Dion Dublin (Norwich) (England)
Lloyd Kerry (Chesterfield) (England)
Adam Monaghan (St Johnstone) (Scotland)
Kerry Mayo (Brighton) (England) DOUBLE WHAMMY
Tyrone Mears (Derby) (England)
Extras:
George Dublin (Tobago United) (Antigua and Barbuda)
Paul Mayo (Darlington) (England)
Patrick Mayo (Thanda Royal Zulu) (South Africa)
livehead1
11/03/2008, 8:01 AM
I was incredibly bored and compiled this list. All but the Mayos and Monaghan were off the top of my head (I even knew George Dublin :)) Remember this is only abroad. Only one actual Irishman as well.
Jack Cork (Scunthorpe) (England)
Daryl Clare (Burton) (Ireland)
Neil Kilkenny (Leeds) (Australia)
Shaun Derry (Crystal Palace) (England)
Dion Dublin (Norwich) (England)
Lloyd Kerry (Chesterfield) (England)
Adam Monaghan (St Johnstone) (Scotland)
Kerry Mayo (Brighton) (England) DOUBLE WHAMMY
Tyrone Mears (Derby) (England)
Extras:
George Dublin (Tobago United) (Antigua and Barbuda)
Paul Mayo (Darlington) (England)
Patrick Mayo (Thanda Royal Zulu) (South Africa)
More like bored, sad, or both.
Where is the relevance to the topic?
theworm2345
11/03/2008, 11:26 AM
More like bored, sad, or both.
Where is the relevance to the topic?
Should've been in World Football, look at the names
SaucyJack
12/03/2008, 12:02 PM
Arsenal starlet Oliver Nicholas changes mind, oh well
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/news.asp?n=31373
12/03/2008, 12:28 PM
Irish Abroad for Tuesday, 11 March 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-11
Jonathon Macken (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=10775) scored his sixth of the season, five of these have come at home
Charlton (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=10775) continue their record of not winning away from home without Andy Reid (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=23629). This has been discussed before here: Andy Reid's Two Point Influence (http://www.chatsoccer.eu/news/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=277&Itemid=2)
Andy Keogh (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=39039) came off the bench to score his eighth of the season, and his first as a substitute
Martin Rowlands (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=11186) scored his sixth of the season, in the same game Ben Burgess (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=20396) scored his seventh
Ian Morris (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41485) notched his second of the season
David Bell (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=23804) scored his fifth, and his first in 2008
Paul Heffernan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=17996) scored in the third game in a row
13/03/2008, 10:36 AM
Irish Abroad for Wednesday, 12 March 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-12
Stephen McPhail (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=13638) scored his second of the season, both of which came at home
Barry Conlon (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=12178) notched his fifth of the season
Jim O'Brien (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=44696) started against his parent club Celtic (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=512)
Jon Daly (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=14662) made his return from injury in the same game, his first appearance since 24 November 2007 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2007-11-24)
13/03/2008, 10:39 AM
Matthew Cassidy in the Bolton squad for the UEFA Cup game tonight: http://www.bwfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/General/0,,1004~1263569,00.html
13/03/2008, 2:45 PM
Paul Marshall was the reserves player of the month for February at Man City: http://www.mcfc.co.uk/default.sps?pagegid={DBD12D53-8346-431D-A04F-5D0F8664DE80}&newsid=540729
Philly
13/03/2008, 4:34 PM
Michael Timlin loaned from Fulham to Swindon.
13/03/2008, 7:32 PM
Michael Timlin loaned from Fulham to Swindon.
Fulham report: http://www.fulhamfc.com/Club/News/NewsArticles/2008/March/TimlinLoan.aspx
Swindon report: http://www.swindontownfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10341~1264146,00.html
Comments from Timlin here: http://www.swindontownfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/Interview/0,,10341~1264623,00.html
Things were a bit frustrating at Fulham, especially after enjoying success with Swindon last season with automatic promotion last term," he said.
"I played in a lot of the games under Lawrie Sanchez, went to the Far East on tour with them and played quite a bit. There was then a change of management and when Roy Hodgson came in it became clear that I would be allowed to move out on loan."
theworm2345
15/03/2008, 4:51 PM
Billy Clarke scored today for Falkirk
irishblue
15/03/2008, 6:48 PM
Paul marshall named mcfc reserves player for 2 months running but not picked for the u19s v france very strange from Sean McCaffrey ?
15/03/2008, 9:51 PM
Irish Abroad for Saturday, 15 March 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-15
Shane Long (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41355) started his third game in a row, he hasn't done that since the first three games of the season
Roy O'Donovan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=47075) made his first appearance for Sunderland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2493) since 9 February 2008 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2008-02-09)
Ian Harte (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=3308) played his first minutes of football for Sunderland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=2493) since 24 November 2007 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2007-11-24)
Lee Trundle (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=12919) scored his first goal since 20 October 2007 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2007-10-20)
Owen Garvan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=40419) scored his first goal since 15 December 2007 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2007-12-15)
Martin Rowlands (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=11186) scored his seventh of the season, and second in two games
Peter Murphy (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=23120) scored his second of the season, and his second in two games
Billy Clarke (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41447) scored his first goal of the season
15/03/2008, 10:01 PM
Paul marshall named mcfc reserves player for 2 months running but not picked for the u19s v france very strange from Sean McCaffrey ?
Strange alright, he wasn't called into the squad for the friendlies against the Czech Republic in February either - http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2837
irishblue
15/03/2008, 11:52 PM
even stranger i daly,d mcdermot,m daily,cant get in the mcfc reserves but
have been selected for the u19s maybe p marshall for the u21s as he was suppost to be a better prospect than m johnson ?if we want to win things then surley somebody should be looking as we are and noticing
16/03/2008, 1:01 AM
even stranger i daly,d mcdermot,m daily,cant get in the mcfc reserves but
have been selected for the u19s maybe p marshall for the u21s as he was suppost to be a better prospect than m johnson ?if we want to win things then surley somebody should be looking as we are and noticing
McDermott still plays with the Academy, he was in the FA Youth Cup semi final recent win over Sunderland
Ian and Michael Daly usually appear for the reserves, both of them played in the recent win over Blackburn reserves
I check this blog - http://mcfcreserves-academy.blogspot.com/ - for match reports, usually updated very regularly
irishblue
16/03/2008, 9:24 AM
paul marshall plays for the premeir league reserves which is the better quality not the pontins league reserves
16/03/2008, 2:39 PM
Noel Hunt opens the scoring in the Scottish League Cup Final.
Bottle of Tonic
16/03/2008, 4:46 PM
Willo Flood was probably the best player on the park today. He had a great game.
17/03/2008, 9:32 AM
Irish Abroad for Sunday, 16 March 2008: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?seasonID=137&date=2008-03-16
Stephen Ireland (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=41708) scored his third of the season. All three goals have come at home, and Man City have gone on to win all three games
Robbie Keane (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=11957) notched his twenty-first goal of the season in the same game. He has now scored more away from home than at White Hart Lane
Noel Hunt (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=34469) opened the scoring in the Scottish League Cup final with his sixteenth of the season, unfortunately Dundee United (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/teamDetails.xquery?teamID=740) went on to lose on penalties. Willo Flood (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=36241) converted his penalty
ken foree
17/03/2008, 6:19 PM
Owen Garvan (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/playerDetails.xquery?playerID=40419) scored his first goal since 15 December 2007 (http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroad/dateDetails.xquery?date=2007-12-15)
i wonder... did he mean it?! it was an unbelievable goal if so and the way he celebrated it seems like he meant it.
ken foree
17/03/2008, 6:31 PM
ah-ha:
Speaking to Ipswich World after the game, Owen said: "I just looked up and didn't see anyone in the box, so I just decided to hit it across the goal and it went in, so you can make your own mind up about it."
cityman
17/03/2008, 10:03 PM
I was at the CIS final and it was excellent. Rangers didn't get a sniff during 1st half. Fantastic performance from Noel(and the United team) yesterday. Took his goal very well. Unforunate to limp off injured in 2nd half from a challenge on halfway line that took him out. . Could have been a different story if the referee hadn't bottled it on the penalty decision.
Hunt was brilliant but Willo Flood, or as the announcer called him Wee-low!, was outstanding. Best performance in midfield I have seen from an Irish player in quite some time. For the size of Willo, smallest player on pitch, the Rangers team couldn't deal with him-even kicking hm several times and he just got back up! Sean Dillon was on bench but didn't get a run.
Hope United keep these two lads+ also rest of team together next season-I got a feeling some bigger teams are going to come knocking.
17/03/2008, 10:09 PM
Stephen O'Halloran to see Richard Steadman with his knee injury: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/a/aston_villa/7300736.stm
Jonathan Walters to have surgery on cartilage problem: http://www.sportinglife.com/football/nationwide1/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=nonwire_soccer/08/03/17/manual_145502.html&TEAMHD=nationwide1
18/03/2008, 9:41 AM
Shay Given unlikely to play again this season after groin surgery- http://sports.setanta.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2008/03/18/Prem-Given-set-for-surgery/?facets/sport-space/great-britain-locale/football/
Dr. Ogba
18/03/2008, 1:20 PM
i wonder... did he mean it?! it was an unbelievable goal if so and the way he celebrated it seems like he meant it.
Jaysus if he meant it then it had a hint of the Van Basten's about it but judging by his comments he seems to hint that he didn't.
Was still a great hit though...
18/03/2008, 2:43 PM
Anyone got a link to it?
18/03/2008, 2:50 PM
Anyone got a link to it?
Des (who posts irregularly here, and regularly on another message board) sent me this: http://www.football.virginmedia.com/page/championshipvideo/0,,12555~1266924,00.html
18/03/2008, 2:55 PM
Des (who posts irregularly here, and regularly on another message board) sent me this: http://www.football.virginmedia.com/page/championshipvideo/0,,12555~1266924,00.html
Can't view it, not in allowed geographical location (UK presumably). Cheers anyway.
theworm2345
18/03/2008, 8:26 PM
http://www.sendspace.com/file/v0jk5h