View Full Version : Foot.ie team?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10

DesBoards
29/08/2007, 10:10 AM
Lads.

Just found out the pitch at DCU closes at 4.30.

We're booking it for earlier

2-4pm

So we'll kick off in between them times.

I'll confirm the price later.

29/08/2007, 10:47 AM
One of the Dublin Derry lads can't get logged on and texted to put his name forward, trades under the name of An Absolute Disgrace (aka James) on the Derry forum.

No idea where he plays but he certainly isn't a keeper :D

Last seen scoring a blinder against a group of underfed Armenian orphans.....

DesBoards
29/08/2007, 11:44 AM
An Absolute Disgrace

Hmmm.

I'd like to meet this man, if it's the same Absolute Disgrace from the Shels forum.

DesBoards
29/08/2007, 11:46 AM
Oh yeah.

The kick off will be 3 O'Clock SHARP, we only have the pitch for an hour, but it's free before three.

So if we getr there about half two, kick off at about 2.50 we can play a half hour a half, and have a nice breather in the middle.

It costs €100 for the hour, so less than a fiver each.

Can one of you organise collecting the total of fifty quid from your team, I'll do the same for mine.

Cheers lads, see yiz on Sunday.

a.a.d
29/08/2007, 1:33 PM
Evening all

As ORA posted above I would be interested in playing if there's room.:ball:

PS: Des I tend to post as An Absolute Disgrace everywhere, so I guess yes I am the same person. :D

LeixlipRed
29/08/2007, 1:39 PM
You're definitely welcome. PM Anto McC there and he'll add you to the list. Looks like you'll have enough that i can play for boards. Looking forward to this immensely guys

29/08/2007, 5:16 PM
Right lads as you may have read, kick off is now set at the earlier time of 3pm, if thats a problem for anyone please state here becasue i'm not sending all those PM's again.

It'll be €5 per head which i'll collect. As Des also said, the earlier we get there, the better for all, so can i ask that everybody tries get there for 2.30pm please.

We have (Definites):

Hibs4ever
DFX
Inexile
Forza
DmanDmyth....
Buller
Sniffer
An Absolute Disgrace
Anto +1

Maybes:

Drums Red

I'm working it so that everybody will get a game, more than likely, everyone will get at very least a half (30 minutes), with some getting a full game.. It may not be in your peferred position but at least you'll play.

LeixlipRed
29/08/2007, 5:36 PM
Anyone else who wants to play lads? Come on

29/08/2007, 6:05 PM
If needs be i should be able to draft 1 or 2 more in but i rather i got the interest from here first.

LeixlipRed
29/08/2007, 6:07 PM
Well boards aren't flushed with too much interest so just wait and see for the moment

29/08/2007, 6:52 PM
O
So if we getr there about half two, kick off at about 2.50 we can play a half hour a half, and have a nice breather in the middle.

Half hour? :eek: - can 45 a half not be booked?

aido_b
29/08/2007, 8:05 PM
I'm in, just sent you a messsage there Anto .... been away lads, sorry!

forza
29/08/2007, 8:47 PM
Well boards aren't flushed with too much interest so just wait and see for the moment

If boards are stuck we can loan them a player :p

LeixlipRed
29/08/2007, 10:31 PM
Half hour? :eek: - can 45 a half not be booked?

The pitch over there is 100 an hour and you have to book in hour blocks. As Des said if we get there early we can play for longer

eamoss
30/08/2007, 4:49 PM
Is this game a full 11 on 11 and a 90 min game?

LeixlipRed if this was before the repeats I was have gone up just to ask you how to do my Maths.

Oh btw im eamoss from boards.ie

30/08/2007, 6:40 PM

It is indeed.

LeixlipRed
30/08/2007, 8:34 PM

LeixlipRed if this was before the repeats I was have gone up just to ask you how to do my Maths.

Oh btw im eamoss from boards.ie

That'd be a sly tactic for distracting me on the pitch :D Come along to the game sure eamo if you're around

DesBoards
30/08/2007, 9:01 PM
It is indeed.
No. It isn.t

It's 11 -v- 11, and a sixty minute game.

LeixlipRed
30/08/2007, 9:19 PM
I think anto was attempted to persuade the lad to come along. You ruined that. Well done Des :D

30/08/2007, 9:23 PM
Actually i meant to only quote the 11 v 11 bit but either way you ruined it Des. Such a tool :rolleyes:

30/08/2007, 9:28 PM
Lads, I formally announce my resignation from the foot.ie project. I would be interested in playing in any future one-offs if I'm available but the lack of commitment and drive from others frustrates and depresses me. It was great to meet all of yez and I appreciate that you all enjoy your football but organising a team for a campaign with you lot is exhausting and ultimately, frustrating and unsatisfying. Maybe some other time.

By the way, best of luck on Sunday against the Boards team.

Fin.

30/08/2007, 9:51 PM
Fair play Fin, i'm sure everyone appreicates the effort and i hate to say i told you so but i did. I've played too many games organised on this board to know, a lot of people can talk a good game but few can play one.

LeixlipRed
30/08/2007, 9:58 PM
Yeh Cheers Fin, I did say I told you so as well but sure tis always the way with people. Can you not make it this sunday btw?

31/08/2007, 12:09 PM
Eh... Fin = End. I don't think it's his name. :D

31/08/2007, 12:11 PM

I was hoping they were joking using Fin as his name but at a second read it doesn't look that way. :D

31/08/2007, 1:01 PM
Yeh Cheers Fin, I did say I told you so as well but sure tis always the way with people. Can you not make it this sunday btw?
No I can't. I'm working this Sunday at the air show in Bray.

I was hoping they were joking using Fin as his name but at a second read it doesn't look that way.
My name's Finbarr, or Fin for short.

31/08/2007, 1:07 PM

My bad. :o

LeixlipRed
31/08/2007, 1:46 PM

Yeh that's what I thought til I actually met him a few weks ago :rolleyes::D

31/08/2007, 2:55 PM

LOL typical. I thought you were being all arty, should have known better. :D

01/09/2007, 2:58 PM
Just a reminder to you all about this game tomorrow.

DCU pitch immediately before the Esso garage on the Ballymun Road (as you're heading from town). 2.30pm sharp.

You need a red jersey and shingaurds, astros if possible but if not runners will do.

Might be an idea to bring a drink too because i don't know what the situation is there.

01/09/2007, 9:14 PM
You need....shingaurds

Ah...

01/09/2007, 10:17 PM
I should have an extra pair you can use.

Buller
01/09/2007, 10:17 PM
I'm out lads.. I'm really sorry. I'm playin an DDSL U18 match tomorrow and its a late kickoff... Its a bitch, I really wanted to trash those premiercrap loving *******s

01/09/2007, 10:23 PM
Sh*te! Hopefully some of our maybes show.

02/09/2007, 12:12 AM
Is this going to go ahead? Do we even have 11 players?

02/09/2007, 7:01 AM
Sh*te! Hopefully some of our maybes show.
I'm up from a maybe to a probably.

02/09/2007, 9:36 AM
It's definitely gojng ahead lads,don't worry about that. We'll have 11 for sure.

The traffic around town today will be sh*te because of the All Ireland hurling final in Croke Park so make sure you take that into account for getting to DCU.

02/09/2007, 10:51 AM
By the ways lads, for those of you i haven't met, i'll be the tall one in the Shels jersey.

Hibs4Ever
02/09/2007, 1:19 PM
Won't make it, still stuck in work. The earlier kick off messed me up, have been trying al day to get off early but its just too busy. Sorry, and best of luck lads

DesBoards
02/09/2007, 4:04 PM
In. Your. Face.

02/09/2007, 4:10 PM
Final score?

DesBoards
02/09/2007, 4:40 PM
6-3 to Boards.:ball:

:cool:

Hibs4Ever
02/09/2007, 4:47 PM
Did enough players turn up for each team? Am well p!*sed off I missed it

DesBoards
02/09/2007, 5:00 PM
It was 10 -v- 10 and I reffed it.

02/09/2007, 5:20 PM
Lads we had 7 foot.ie players today, there was also 2 i brought who don't post here and we had to get a lend of one and even then we had to play 10 v 10 because of the lack of numbers on our part. It almost defies logic that you can't find 11 football players on a football website, granted that a lot of teams are nowhere near Dublin, you still should be able to find 11 handy.

As for the game it was close untill the 2nd half where fitness had a big say, regardless the better team won but we gave a good account of ourselves anyway. It was a good game played in good spirits with no nastiness whatsoever.

To the lads that did show up fair play, it was nice to meet you and i hope to play football with you all again sometime. In my opinion the best player on the pitch by a mile, was Sniffer.

Anto.

02/09/2007, 5:21 PM
Oh and the ref was a disgrace :D

DesBoards
02/09/2007, 6:09 PM
In my opinion the best player on the pitch by a mile, was Sniffer.

Agreed, very good player.

Oh and the ref was a disgrace :D
Better than most we've seen in Tolka and around the grounds this season tbh.

02/09/2007, 7:39 PM
Would have loved to play but I couldn't due to poxy work, even missed my own game yesterday because of it (and will miss many more). Starting back college soon so if there is ever a kick about on a weekday evening (apart from Monday) I'd defo be up for it.

LeixlipRed
02/09/2007, 8:50 PM
Yeh sniffer was good. Des sign him up. We don't have any left footers do we? And anto, there were 8 foot.ie posters. Only one of them on the winning team though :D We were muck tbh even though we won. You gave us a good game though. Fair played lads

Drumcondra Red
02/09/2007, 9:47 PM
I'm sorry I couldn't make it, only just got home now!!!