View Full Version : Foot.ie team?
Pages :
[
5]
29/07/2007, 7:50 PM
Hopefully dfx- will fill in. He plays in nets.
29/07/2007, 7:51 PM
the seagull is the other lad
No he was talking about me! :eek: :D
I'm hapy enough to be 3rd, 4th or 5th choice anything.. you know, reliable in a sort of unreliable way ;)
LeixlipRed
29/07/2007, 7:53 PM
You were the the lad in the same Bray jersey as superfrank were you Stevo? I'm rubbish with names
theworm2345
29/07/2007, 7:58 PM
What was the lineup and score (or weren't you counting?)
29/07/2007, 7:58 PM
You were the the lad in the same Bray jersey as superfrank were you Stevo? I'm rubbish with names
Yeah thats me, and I'm equally as bad with names.. cant remember yours either :eek:... Jaysus, it was only about 4 hours ago.
29/07/2007, 8:00 PM
What was the lineup and score (or weren't you counting?)
Rotating teams but the top scorer was Phil, the keeper. :o
LeixlipRed
29/07/2007, 8:04 PM
Superfrank will fill you in on the lineup there. I think everyone rattled in a fair fw goals. The goals were ridiculously wide and defending is only an art on tv :D
LeixlipRed
29/07/2007, 8:05 PM
Yeah thats me, and I'm equally as bad with names.. cant remember yours either :eek:... Jaysus, it was only about 4 hours ago.
Martin. I was wearing the white Shels training top
29/07/2007, 8:07 PM
I had it written down somewhere......
superfrank (Fin)
Stevo Da Gull (Stevy)
the seagull (Jamie)
Grasshopper 99 (Si)
LeixlipRed (Martin)
Phil
Buller (James, not John)
DmanDmythDledge (Ronan)
steno (Carl)
and who could forget........Mohammed. :D
theworm2345
29/07/2007, 8:09 PM
I had it written down somewhere......
superfrank (Fin)
Stevo Da Gull (Stevy)
the seagull (Jamie)
Grasshopper 99 (Si)
LeixlipRed (Martin)
Phil
Buller (James, not John)
DmanDmythDledge (Ronan)
steno (Carl)
and who could forget........Mohammed. :D
OK then thanks, who is Mohammed
29/07/2007, 8:09 PM
Martin. I was wearing the white Shels training top
Yeah, I remembered you telling me you were LeixlipRed and everything, just forgot the name. I'll remember it from now on :cool:
LeixlipRed
29/07/2007, 8:10 PM
Ah Ronan was Dman. Was wondering who he posted as
LeixlipRed
29/07/2007, 8:10 PM
Mohammed was just some lad who played with us for 5 minutes at the end. Nice chap
29/07/2007, 8:11 PM
OK then thanks, who is Mohammed
``Who is Mohammed`` he asks!..... Wash your mouth out!!!:mad: :D
bray boy
29/07/2007, 8:57 PM
ye lads thought it was a good run out wasnt going to be amazing as no 1 new each other......i had to hold back on some of my bonebreaking two footed tackles!!!!i reckon the 6 a side is a good idea we may aswell try!!! and muhammed still owes us a fiver doesnt he???lol
Hopefully dfx- will fill in. He plays in nets.
I will indeed if you've found no-one else better/fitter yet :D
29/07/2007, 10:54 PM
Phil
steno (Carl)
Jesus I was calling them Steve and Deano.:eek:
29/07/2007, 11:02 PM
superfrank (Fin)
Stevo Da Gull (Stevy)
the seagull (Jamie)
Grasshopper 99 (Si)
LeixlipRed (Martin)
Phil
Buller (James, not John)
DmanDmythDledge (Ronan)
steno (Carl)It's fairly obvious the manager is a Bray fan:rolleyes:. Foot.ie has got RRS by the Wicklowians:D
LeixlipRed
29/07/2007, 11:05 PM
I will indeed if you've found no-one else better/fitter yet :D
And where were you today then? You have to show up first before superfrank can consider you for selection :D
aido_b
30/07/2007, 9:22 AM
Any plans for another game lads?!
Buller
30/07/2007, 11:57 AM
Buller (James, not John)
*Nods in approval* :)
Yeah good game lads... 5 euro for 2 hours wasn't bad!!! :D I'd say we'd have a very decent 6 a side team alright
30/07/2007, 12:47 PM
Any plans for another game lads?!
Yeah sure. Will you be able to join us next time?
steno
30/07/2007, 12:51 PM
Was a good ole kick around yesterday would be up for it again.
bray boy
30/07/2007, 1:04 PM
I'd say we'd have a very decent 6 a side team alright
i think wed have an alright team if we actually got positions and tactics sorted but sure thats up to thre gaffer i suppose;)
sfc red
30/07/2007, 1:20 PM
I'll be there next time too.
LeixlipRed
30/07/2007, 1:34 PM
Did you send an email off about the 6 a side superfrank?
30/07/2007, 1:40 PM
Yes I sent it last night. I'm still waiting for a reply. The last time it took a few days and the email was sent at 1 in the morning.
30/07/2007, 2:50 PM
Yes I sent it last night. I'm still waiting for a reply. The last time it took a few days and the email was sent at 1 in the morning.
Astro is nearly €1,000 for a panel of 10.
If you're booking in UCD again, let me know, and I may be able to get it done on a student card.
30/07/2007, 6:17 PM
Would Be v-interested in a coaching role if there is one going
Quite good at tactics and that sort of thing
LeixlipRed
30/07/2007, 6:41 PM
What sort of a professional outfit do you take us for??? :D
30/07/2007, 7:35 PM
I accept BGR's application as coach.
bray boy
30/07/2007, 8:07 PM
he just cant handle the pressure
30/07/2007, 8:09 PM
Pulling his hair out and everything!:p
inexile
30/07/2007, 8:56 PM
id be well up for it as well lads if ye could fit me in
aido_b
30/07/2007, 8:58 PM
Yeah sure. Will you be able to join us next time?
Yes midweek the until the 7th of August and then im around all week after that.
theworm2345
31/07/2007, 4:15 AM
I accept BGR's application as coach.
Isn't that for the chairman to decide? If Glazer can do it from over here so can I. I'm not pouring all of this money in to attract foreign players to be underminded, am I (I really just asked who Mohammed was to try and make it a secret, he's our new recruit)? ;)
Your doing a great job otherwise though :)
31/07/2007, 12:26 PM
Astro Soccer League
2007/08 Dublin Winter 6 a side League
Starting the week of September 24th 2007.
Teams consist of 6 players with unlimited subs allowed.
Subs may come on and off at any stage, subject to certain restrictions.
Teams select the standard, vennue and night(s) of their games based on choices available on our site once registration is open.
To join the league, fees must be paid online or a credit card provided to hold the place.
All games are refereed by qualified referees.
All games are one hour in duration.
All games are played on synthetic pitches at the venues specified below.
Games are played, weekday evenings from 6:30pm - 11:00pm.
All results, fixtures, tables, reports etc... are held on our web site (http://www.astro.ie).
There are great prizes at the end of each season.
At the end of each season there is a presentation night for all teams.
Fees:
As division sizes vary so can total fees.
Typical fees for a 12 team division would be:
- Euro 950.00 + 13.5% VAT (Euro 1078.25) League Fees
- Euro 300.00 Referees fees
Approximate costs are 65 euro per team per game.
This covers pitch rental, referee fees and all administration.
No other fees are payable to ourselves.
Teams are expected to supply their own kit and footballs.
Teams are required to enter their own results and scorers on our website after each game.
There is a, cheap, optional insurance scheme of which teams can avail.
Contact Graham Pasley of O'Driscoll O'Neil on 01-6395857 for details
Venues:
St. Benildus College, Stillorgan
Newpark School, Blackrock
St. Andrews College, Booterstown
YMCA, Sandymount
The Iveagh Grounds, Crumlin
DCU, Glasnevin
Buller
31/07/2007, 12:28 PM
It's definitely a lot cheaper then the 11 a side and as LeixlipRed pointed out the pitches are bigger then the 5 a side one in UCD.
Still about 6 weeks to prepare for it if there's enough interest.
Good stuff. I'd be definatly interested, as long as the pitches are a good bit wider than those ucd cages!
31/07/2007, 12:31 PM
Yeah well we appear to have some wide players so a bigger pitch would help.
LeixlipRed
31/07/2007, 1:13 PM
The DCU pitches are identical to the UCD ones. And that's one of the venues. the other pitches I don't know about. And it's 6 a side so wide players aren't our real concern. Remember you'll only have 5 players outfield. Small side games are all about first touch, close control, good finishing and physicality. Also, it's not that much cheaper. you're still talking about over 100 euro per person not including the cost of getting a kit.
31/07/2007, 1:40 PM
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=732638&postcount=15
kdjac brought up the costs of kits on another thread.
31/07/2007, 4:08 PM
http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=732638&postcount=15
kdjac brought up the costs of kits on another thread.
I don't know about anyone else but I personally prefer the Europa no. 2 (the orange one) (http://www.proteamsports.net/Resources/europa.jpeg)
If we were to have 16 players, register for the league and get the kits with proteam, it'd break down about 120 each. At the moment it'd be about 213 each (for 9 players).
Orange one is not bad all. I'm up for this as long we definetly have the players for a 'season' .
Could just get the foot.ie shirts that dahamsta put up for sale and get numbers printed on the back. Everyone could buy their own green shorts and socks. Can't find the thread about the t-shirts but I thought I definetly saw one or maybe I am going mad. Just a suggestion I'm easy either way.
31/07/2007, 5:25 PM
Orange is rotten and unlucky.
BTW,Milestone 6000 threads in the Eircom League section of the forum.
31/07/2007, 7:09 PM
Could just get the foot.ie shirts that dahamsta put up for sale and get numbers printed on the back. Everyone could buy their own green shorts and socks. Can't find the thread about the t-shirts but I thought I definetly saw one or maybe I am going mad. Just a suggestion I'm easy either way.
This is the thread (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=66311)
I was thinking that too, especially for the first year. It would be an awful lot cheaper.
LeixlipRed
31/07/2007, 9:58 PM
6 weeks til we have to enter? Will we have time to assemble all the people who said they were interested and see what we've got before then? Because, and i don't wana offend anyone here, if we enter a team based with who turned up Sunday we'll get destroyed. At any standard. Does anyone else not think that? I;ve played in leagues and competitions like this for years and I know what they;re like. They're tough as hell
31/07/2007, 10:08 PM
Because, and i don't wana offend anyone here, if we enter a team based with who turned up Sunday we'll get destroyed. At any standard. Does anyone else not think that? I;ve played in leagues and competitions like this for years and I know what they;re like. They're tough as hell
I know what you mean. The thing is though right now we've a chance to put a team together. I know very well if we wait around another few months some of the lads will go off and join other teams and we'll be back to square one. If we really want the team put together now's the time.
31/07/2007, 10:14 PM
6 weeks til we have to enter? Will we have time to assemble all the people who said they were interested and see what we've got before then? Because, and i don't wana offend anyone here, if we enter a team based with who turned up Sunday we'll get destroyed. At any standard. Does anyone else not think that? I;ve played in leagues and competitions like this for years and I know what they;re like. They're tough as hellNice try at mind games there Mr. Boards.ie;) :D
LeixlipRed
31/07/2007, 10:16 PM
You're right on that probably but I don't think the players are there right now to enter a league. As i said previoulsy I'm playing with boards.ie team now so if this doesn't go ahead I'm not too bothered but I'd still like to see it happen if possible
31/07/2007, 11:12 PM
As would I, which is why I really want to put this team together. You said yourself it's a football website and we have the opportunity to put a team together right now. It is very hurried and I'd prefer the whole summer to prepare.
Unfortunately this wasn't brought up earlier. The players we have right now mightn't be ready for a league but waiting around for 6 months or so won't help either as people will lose interest and, let's face it, not everyone will turn up for friendlies.
Imo, now's the time to act. Now I won't be around for a meet up this weekend but I'll be free afterwards. Can the people genuinely interested in the team let me know when they'd be available next.