View Full Version : Election 2007

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

03/05/2007, 1:08 PM
Looks like Roisín Shortall is my only option. Interestingly, the working class areas where I live are festooned with SF, FF and FG posters, whereas the Labour posters don't begin to appear until you reach the middle class district.

Noticed that here too, Sinn Fein (surprise, surprise) in particular are everywhere in the working class areas and are the only ones who actually stuck up posters in the estate.

Tim O'Malley (PD for anyone who doesn't know) stuck one up at the entrance to the estate. The following morning someone had drawn a handgun next to his head. The morning after that someone had managed to rip the poster into a thousand pieces while somehow still leaving it clinging to the pole along with a firm message about hanging anymore :eek: :D

03/05/2007, 1:08 PM
Nope we have only resources to run 4 candidates this time around. Well we could run more but we'd be stretching our resources far too thin.
Course if any of you want to join up you'd never know where we could run next time around cough LTID cough.

03/05/2007, 1:12 PM
Ya great website. I wasn't even 100% on the name of my constituency (it's Dublin South Central), nice to have a look at all the candidates in one place.

Welcome to our lovely constituency. I believe we have the highest heroin usage of any voting constituency in Europe (well according to a pamphlet I once read)!

I notice Gay Mitchell has decided not to contest his seat to focus on being an MEP. It's a pity, he was a decent TD for his local area. I also see the PDs are running two candidates in an area they have no seats.:confused:

03/05/2007, 1:15 PM
Nope we have only resources to run 4 candidates this time around. Well we could run more but we'd be stretching our resources far too thin.
Course if any of you want to join up you'd never know where we could run next time around cough LTID cough.

Sign me up, although remember I could prove a huge embarressment, just look at some of my wacky, far out and no doubt evil ideas above :rolleyes: :D

What happened to that lady you ran down here in the European elections anyway?? Thought she was in UL??

One of the Limerick lads is actually going to miss the next two home games canvassing for Joe Higgins. Just so you know BP I draw the line at that :p

03/05/2007, 1:18 PM
One of the Limerick lads is actually going to miss the next two home games canvassing for Joe Higgins. Just so you know BP I draw the line at that :p

I have Fridays off Canvassing for obvious reasons.

Ashling Golden ran in the local elections. We don't have enough people in Limerick to run an effective general election campaign. Locals are easier as you have less ground to cover.

03/05/2007, 1:20 PM
I have Fridays off Canvassing for obvious reasons.

Ashling Golden ran in the local elections. We don't have enough people in Limerick to run an effective general election campaign. Locals are easier as you have less ground to cover.

Was indeed the locals. Apologies

None of her posters in my area were damaged so ye must be doing something right :)

Calcio Jack
03/05/2007, 1:37 PM
Dick Roche, unfortunately thousands have copped the joker yet.

Not sure about that... iI suspect the people of Galway City and its environs have.... he's more than a joker IMO he's almost as pompus and arrogant as McDowell

kingdom hoop
03/05/2007, 1:38 PM
Anyone got any weird & unusual candidates running locally? Any rivals for Ming the Merciless or Irish equivalent of the Monster Raving Lunnie Party?

I wouldn't quite say he is weird but it was weird to see him go forward; a former sub teacher of mine running as an independent in Kerry North. An interesting character, taxi driver mostly and 'maths' teacher to an extent. We had him for the last six months of the Leaving Cert course (honours) and he hadn't a clue. Really nice guy, most of the time we used to just chat(though he never hinted his political aspirations). We taught him a lot more Irish than he taught us maths with the better people in the class teaching him some maths to boot! He used to think I was a bit strange, likable, but strange. We had him a few days a week after lunch, and he used to ask me nearly everyday if I'd been eating ceapairí gáire (laughing sandwiches) at lunch. Presumably he was intimating joints (not the case by the way) which just made me laugh more. Weird that he's going for election now. I'm sure he hasn't a hope, one of those community rights type campaigners I'd say but still fair play to him

Then there's our Green Party candidate, David Grey, whose interesting fact is; "Play fifa football or pro evolution on my sons PS2 before canvassing or big meetings" :ball:

And then there's the infamous Martin Ferris - who is actually a sound enough sort regardless of whatever connotations people may draw.

Alas a combination of Bertie's devilment and my own laziness for not applying for a postal vote mean I'm looking a bit disenfranchised at the moment.

By the way, republicofwhite - a member here and my friend - bumped into said Bertie yesterday on Grafton Street and asked him what he was playing at putting the election on when nearly every college student in the country is doing exams. An Taoiseach firstly spins around and of course offers the obligatory oily flesh. Then the question is asked and his demeanour quickly turns sour, and growls; 'where are from?' Answer is given and then asks; 'and you can't get down there?'. 'No'. And that was that, no mention of the chance of a postal vote or any other pleasantries, or a 'ah, don't worry about it son, the country is in safe hands.' :o

So that's my election update. Back to the studio

03/05/2007, 1:56 PM
kingdom hoop - check on here http://www.checktheregister.ie/

Tomorrow's the last day. Just been down the cop shop to get my form signed. Was almost disenfranchised myself, which obviously would have left the whole democracy thing looking very suspect. ;)

03/05/2007, 2:04 PM
he's more than a joker IMO he's almost as pompus and arrogant as McDowell
Unfortuanately he'll top the poll in excess of the quota here in Wicklow though. He's worse than McDowell, as he's pompus, arrogant and the smugest(?) git you'll ever meet.

03/05/2007, 2:04 PM
kingdom hoop - check on here http://www.checktheregister.ie/

Tomorrow's the last day. Just been down the cop shop to get my form signed. Was almost disenfranchised myself, which obviously would have left the whole democracy thing looking very suspect. ;)

Just checked and discovered my polling station is about a 2minute walk from my apartment. So no excuses. Traffic should be interesting on the day though.

Bald Student
03/05/2007, 4:33 PM
....the type of nod'n'wink chancer who'll look the Irish people in the eye and tell them he managed to spend somewhere between fifty and eighty thousand punts on a "refurbishing"...
-of a three or four year old house...
-that he didn't own...
-in the year 1994...
-while he was supposedly broke.

But I suppose that's his own business
...are you seriously saying there is nothing suspicious ...even curious, in there?

There are a lot of things curious about the whole affair but a whole mountain of innuendo doesn’t add up to a single piece of hard evidence. If the people making these accusations had been kind enough to do so earlier than three weeks before an election the issue could have been dealt with by now and we’d know either way whether Bertie’s crooked or innocent.

I’m one of those people who didn’t believe that Iraq had weapons of mass destruction because I saw no real evidence that Iraq had weapons of mass destruction, despite all the innuendo and circumstantial evidence going around at the time. If Bertie’s were crooked and anyone had any evidence of his crookedness I would expect them to have produced it by now. If the only evidence going around is of the type that a mate of a mate saw him take a wad of cash to Manchester I’ll remain both curious and sceptical.

03/05/2007, 4:45 PM
An interesting character, taxi driver mostly and 'maths' teacher to an extent.

You gotta love Kerry :D :D :D

kingdom hoop
03/05/2007, 7:46 PM
You gotta love Kerry :D :D :

No choice but to for me!

Kerry North is getting more and more eccentric.

We have a very good Labour candidate who as a result of a swimming pool accident 20 odd years ago is in a wheelchair, he has a decent chance and if elected he well in all likelihood displace the FF seat.

As well as my ex-teacher alluded to earlier there are two other independents; one I happen to know quite well as he drinks in our local GAA club which I used to play for and is very well acquainted with my dad who would share a drink with him pretty regularly. Absolutely dead on, I should give him my vote really but the other independent makes such a germane (cough) argument for election that I may have to plum for him. Why? - "Because I believe one of the biggest issues right now is that governments around the world have been going around blowing things up,
blaming it on Islamic fundamentalists and using it as a pretext to launch imperial wars in the middle east such as Iraq where a
million people have been killed to date, as well as the curtailment of civil liberties here in Ireland as well as Britain and the US,
and I believe I'm the only candidate who will tell the truth in this regard." Read more at www.911truth.ie. (Insert all smilies here)

Aren't elections the most crazily exciting things ever!

As I type there are currently ELEVEN Fine Gaelers congregating right outside my house. I feel scared. Where is my pellet gun when I need it. Or a camera either. Quite the sight, a caucus of such elite beings:)

I think the sky will fall in next our something, strange oul day.

05/05/2007, 9:43 PM
Seems like the PDs could resign from the coalition tomorrow. It seems some Indo journo has passed some interesting information onto McDowell about Bertie. With the PDs evapourating in the polls perhaps McDowell wants to strike a chord with voters by appearing to be a high principled man with an ultimately meaningless resignation with the government in its final days? Then again it does mean they can hardly resume the partnership after the election unless Ahern moves to the side.

LeviathanNI
06/05/2007, 1:35 AM
It would be a very stupid stunt to pull if they did that.. like you said, redigning from the coalition in its final days? The electorate will see right through that, and the other parties will make maximum capital out of it.

06/05/2007, 9:41 AM
It would be a very stupid stunt to pull if they did that.. like you said, redigning from the coalition in its final days? The electorate will see right through that, and the other parties will make maximum capital out of it.

...add to that the likelyhood that, at constituency level, they'd be looking largely to Fianna Fáil candidates for transfers and it could badly wrong for them.

On the other hand -I could see them taking the view that they can't stay in with it being widely known that they know what they now know that we maybe don't know yet. :confused: ;)

06/05/2007, 11:55 AM
On the other hand -I could see them taking the view that they can't stay in with it being widely known that they know what they now know that we maybe don't know yet. :confused: ;)

Does the wider electorate or more specifically the people who are likely to vote for FF really care anyway?

I think the PDs have bottomed out so much that any publicity like this can only benefit them. It puts all the media focus onto them (which they're managing to drag out over several days). I had forgotten the vote transfer aspect though. But who else could FFers transfer their votes to in order to help return them to government?

06/05/2007, 7:49 PM
Whatever about the wider electorate it's sadly been long evident that the people who vote for Fianna Fáil couldn't give a rats ass what some of the guys (and gals) they vote for get up to.

I wouldn't write off the PDs. It's been done a few times before and they've beaten the bookies.

Perhaps like the poll on this thread, the only thing opinion polls seem to consistently tell us about the PDs is that there's a clique out there who vote for them but maybe don't admit to voting for them. :)

06/05/2007, 7:56 PM
A clique of one on here!

LeviathanNI
06/05/2007, 8:04 PM
I wpuld say the PD's are the kind that would pick up lots of transfers... and I suppose with the media coverage they are getting, they are staying fresh in he electorates mind.

06/05/2007, 8:59 PM
Surprised that Labour are still a strong second here, with FG down below SF and the Greens. Very odd results. Must have another poll in a week or so.

Ringo
07/05/2007, 1:15 PM
Maybe we could have a few polls. Bertie V Enda for Taoiseach or alternative governments. How many people polled will actually go out and vote on the day.

07/05/2007, 4:11 PM
How many people would rather stick their arm in a mincer than vote for FF, PD's or FG.

07/05/2007, 8:00 PM
How many people would rather stick their arm in a mincer than vote for FF, PD's or FG.Both arms.

Then my head.

Clifford
08/05/2007, 11:55 AM
How many people would rather stick their arm in a mincer than vote for FF, PD's or FG.

Everything but my todger would go in before I'd give them a vote. :D

How people still fall for that bumbling clown is beyond me, a cartoon character at best, radio roy's finest mickey take. Good grief.

08/05/2007, 12:09 PM

Same question could be asked of SF.

I read they have done u-turn on Corporation tax (no increase) yet they policy is for tax harmonisation with NI. Given the UK government decide their tax rates can't see a government in Dublin can produce that (assuming not going to increase to their levels)

Other hair brained schemes include Nationalising Aer Lingus & creating a State oil & gas exploration company. :eek:

Best of all SF have zero costings for their Manifesto. :rolleyes:

08/05/2007, 12:35 PM
Other hair brained schemes include Nationalising Aer Lingus & creating a State oil & gas exploration company. :eek:

Given what has happened since the privatisation of Aer Lingus it should be renationalised and the perpetrators of that robbery jailed.
On an oil & gas exploration company, too right! Our natural resources have been ripped off by the multinationals for long enough. Its no accident that countries who had State Oil companies also had the best health services.

Best of all SF have zero costings for their Manifesto. :rolleyes:

Costings is a particular obsession with you Pete and its an absolute Red Herring. Now in the case of SF, there is no need as they won't be implementing any of this for the simple reason that they are a reformist party who have continuosly shifted to the right over the last few years. If they go into a coalition government all this would be abandoned. However if you had a national oil and gas company it would more than pay for itself while at the same time providing funding for health, education etc. As an example of how valuable fuel revenue can be READ THIS (http://scotlandonsunday.scotsman.com/business.cfm?id=392006)

Chavez and Venezuelan oil (http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=9937606)

More on Venezuelan Oil (http://www.venezuelanalysis.com/articles.php?sec=oil)

08/05/2007, 12:38 PM
Other hair brained schemes include Nationalising Aer Lingus & creating a State oil & gas exploration company.
No problem with either. Much rather a state company found the oil and gas as opposed to the current situation of selling the rights for buttons, with no price or supply benefit at the end. So re-nationalising a state company that was putting millions into the exchequer and setting up a company that could see us have billions of euro of scarce resources under our own control. Frankly, if thats the hair brained schemes then must be a fairly good policy document!

08/05/2007, 12:47 PM
creating a State oil & gas exploration company. :eek:
:

That actually makes a lot of sense

08/05/2007, 1:41 PM
If the state had an extra 500m to 1billion hanging around I think it could be better spent than buying Aer Lingus. Will the staff who were paid huge sums to give up public status be handing that back too?

I don't think anyone has suggested we have similar oil & gas supplies to the UK or Venezuelan. Its all very well setting up such a company when you have large reserves but such a state company would still need to pay the going rate for exploration as opposed to somewhere like Norway weher they have two state companies.

Exploration Costs (http://www.iran-daily.com/1385/2561/html/energy.htm)

Trying to source oil and gas around Ireland has been like trying to find a needle in a haystack, but in recent years companies are showing renewed optimism about possible finds. Since the 1960s, 121 exploration wells have been drilled in Ireland, resulting in just four commercial finds. This makes the odds of a find worse than 30 to 1, compared with odds of 3 to 1 in gas and oil rich areas off Norway.
The cost of exploring for and extracting gas from the seas around Ireland are also among the highest in the world.
In Norway, the average water depth for wells is less than 200 meters and an exploration well costs about Û8 million.
The last two exploration wells drilled in Ireland’s waters were 1,500 meters deep and cost about Û20 million each.

I apologise for looking at political parties to cost their Manifestos.

(i don't want to drag this off into Corrib gas debate so leave it at that).

08/05/2007, 1:51 PM
If the state had an extra 500m to 1billion hanging around I think it could be better spent than buying Aer Lingus.

Get your shocked smiley ready Pete, because I wasn't suggesting buying it back. I was suggesting taking it back.

As for the costs of exploration:
€600 Million was given to national toll roads for the M50 toll bridge. This should have been taken without compensation or If the state had taken out a loan and built the thing itself in the first place it would have cost around 50 million. That is only one example out of many of a chronic waste of money that could have been diverted elsewhere.

08/05/2007, 2:02 PM
Get your shocked smiley ready Pete, because I wasn't suggesting buying it back. I was suggesting taking it back.

Adam, can we have a new smiley please? (sound of pete choking on afternoon coffee)

08/05/2007, 2:05 PM
Adam, can we have a new smiley please? (sound of pete choking on afternoon coffee)
Fecking private sector "workers" swanning around drinking coffee all day

08/05/2007, 2:12 PM
Fecking private sector "workers" swanning around drinking coffee all day

At my desk on a break. :p

08/05/2007, 2:27 PM
Another break...

kingdom hoop
08/05/2007, 2:28 PM
87 votes cast out of an electorate of 4000; 2% turn out suggests apathy reaching a nadir. Maybe it's time a plebiscitary approach was taken

To quote some chap called Einstein; "The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it."

Though maybe most members here are under 18 and feel the poll would give a false indication:p

08/05/2007, 9:43 PM
I've a feeling apathy will decide the Election...

Who cares. ;)

16/05/2007, 7:49 PM
It's fair to say that elections always bring out the odd kook who runs for election on a whim. The following is from the Wicklow Times today. It had a little column on all nineteen candidates in the Wicklow/East Carlow constituency and one of the stand out characters was this one.

Jim Tallon (Independent)

"Not a lot is known about the policies of James Tallon, a framer (I assume it's a typo for farmer) from Emoclew on the outskirts of Arklow. He lists 'Film Director' as his occupation and when our photographer went to his home to capture his image he displayed some 'animal magic'. Opening the window he whistled to the robins outside who immediately flew in to him!
He has been involved in a number of controversial incidents in the past. When making an appearance in the District Court charged with threatening a builder by throwing stones at his digger, he gave his address as 'Independent Republic of Glasnost' but he said he had been the victim of a military coup. :eek:
He is not without resources however having declined an offer of £4.5 million in the past for his 35 acre far."

Later in the paper it gives the addresses of all politicians and his house is actually named 'Glasnost'.

I will post where his results after the election. I'm intrigued to see how he does.

17/05/2007, 12:05 PM
It's fair to say that elections always bring out the odd kook who runs for election on a whim.

There is a guy in Cork South Central (Morgan) running on a 9/11 conspiracy issue.

Anyone know how many signatures you need to be nominated for election?

17/05/2007, 12:23 PM
There is a guy in Cork South Central (Morgan) running on a 9/11 conspiracy issue.

Have to say after watching the video you posted I feel genuinely sorry for that guy.

17/05/2007, 2:40 PM

That's almost as wacky as the Greens running in Limerick East

18/05/2007, 6:27 PM
SF-What have they got to offer?

Quality affordable and social housing and a health service that works for a start

Matchman
18/05/2007, 7:32 PM
Quality affordable and social housing and a health service that works for a start

Its a pity Joseph Rafferty will never get to use the wonderful Sinn Fein sponsored health service

18/05/2007, 7:41 PM

LOL

No seriously...

19/05/2007, 5:56 PM
Quality affordable and social housing and a health service that works for a startNot without a budget I'm afraid.

20/05/2007, 3:08 PM
Not without a budget I'm afraid.

Obviously not without a budget. the money is there and the potential is there all thats missing is a will to spend the money where its needed ! that will has been missing in successive gov's. I am by no means suggesting that I want to see sinn fein ever being in government on their own but I do feel that in coalition with say FF they'll do a lot better for joe soap taxpayer than the PD could ever manage

20/05/2007, 3:15 PM
I am surprised no political party has attempted to cost a NHS style system. I've only heard of talk of adding the money spent on private insurance into the public system but would that be enough? If it was costed at least voters could make an informed choice.

Provision of social housing in huge numbers would probably undermine the house market as it is currently leading to massive negative equity. Sure if Gerry Adams can afford to pay for two homes on the average industrial wage then do we need social housing?

20/05/2007, 4:02 PM
This looney in Wicklow is running for the election:

James Tallon (http://forum.shelbournefc.ie/chat/viewtopic.php?t=8556&start=15)

He has declared his farm an independent country, the Independent Republic of Glasnost. He has labelled two stables on his land as Passport Control and Duty Free.

And people have actually voted for him :eek: :D

http://www.electionsireland.org/candidate.cfm?id=3417

20/05/2007, 5:07 PM
Does anyone else think of McDowell whe listening to this guy's ideas?? ;)

tJs2Iq580nY