View Full Version : Election 2007

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

superbohs
28/04/2007, 5:25 PM
Joe is a regular at Dalymount
he still tried his hardest to keep us from doing the land deal:mad:

28/04/2007, 5:33 PM
Mick Barry all the way - I just wonder why theres a plethora of tiny left wing parties. could they not co-operate? at least make a little bit of effort toward negating the need to vote for novelty acts like the greens.

28/04/2007, 8:36 PM
Mick Barry all the way - I just wonder why theres a plethora of tiny left wing parties. could they not co-operate? at least make a little bit of effort toward negating the need to vote for novelty acts like the greens.

... can you elaborate on what makes you consider the greens a "novelty act"?

The only thing I consider "novel" about them is that, unlike pretty much everyone else, they don't pump out short-term goody bag giveaway policies in a vulgar clamour for power at any cost. That's probably the reason why their % popularity is in single figures -there are relatively few short-term benefits to be seen in their positions -but scarcely doubtable long term ones.

Fianna Fail on the other hand seem to just offer whatever they reckon gets them back in for the next four or five years ...where's the leadership in that? There is none. That's clientist administrative brokeridge and nothing more.

29/04/2007, 8:03 AM
... can you elaborate on what makes you consider the greens a "novelty act"?

The only thing I consider "novel" about them is that, unlike pretty much everyone else, they don't pump out short-term goody bag giveaway policies in a vulgar clamour for power at any cost. That's probably the reason why their % popularity is in single figures -there are relatively few short-term benefits to be seen in their positions -but scarcely doubtable long term ones.

Well they attach themselves to some noble causes. Environmental responsilities, renewable energy, etc etc. The long term goals that have come to the fore, and people think of them as "experts" on. Thats grand, but then you have to examine their actual local politics. Things like showing up supporting people whenever they feel like protesting against a new road so they might get a better compo deal. According to the greens, the northside of cork city shouldn't get a ring road linked to the south, because it'd "destroy the last green space in cork city", the lee fields. Well never mind that the area is not actually in cork city, or that theres already 2 roads through it (and this one would be running perpendicular to these, taking up much less space), or that theres plenty of other green around, or that the lee fields are man made, we NEED a ring road. The traffic situation in Cork is a joke. Providing a ring road would improve both private traffic and public transport. Hell, taking away all teh cars sitting in traffic with engines running would do wonders for the air! Do the greens care? No, they just want to be seen doing something "green" in a photo opportunity. Thats just in Cork, without going into the farce caused by them in Galway. They are merely a novelty. Elect a party that actually have more than one purpose, and put pressure on them to perform environmentally. I wouldn't elect a single-cause candidate, let alone party.

Fianna Fail on the other hand seem to just offer whatever they reckon gets them back in for the next four or five years ...where's the leadership in that? There is none. That's clientist administrative brokeridge and nothing more.
Woah - so they give people what they want? Thats dangerously close to democracy.

29/04/2007, 9:22 AM
Elect a party that actually have more than one purpose, and put pressure on them to perform environmentally. I wouldn't elect a single-cause candidate, let alone party.

That's why a reasonably successful Green Party is a necessity. Their existence forces other parties to step up to the plate on evironmental issues. The emergence of Green parties in Europe a few decades ago has had this effect. I have also seen evidence of this in my letter box with the Labour and FF candidates in my area sending four page leaflets through the door pimping their environmental policies. I know such matters are in vogue at the moment anyway but a Green candidate nipping at those parties heels forces them to consider the issues harder. We all know they're don't threaten to be anymore than a junior colaition partner so most of their policies wouldn't be implemented and even if they did grow in stature they'd probably mainstream themselves like Labour.

Speaking of Labour, after Fianna Fail and the PDs they have the potential to be one of the biggest losers according to the polls. In spite of shrinking support for the current coalition Labour's polling sees them the same as last time or even taking a minor hit.

As for Frank McNamara, he's now plastered his mug all over the Walkinstown roundabout with multiples posters on each lampost, expect accidents from disturbed drivers. He may serve some use if he could edge O'Snodaigh out but I think he'd be more likely to push an FF candidate out.

29/04/2007, 9:44 AM
At the moment i'll be voting Fianna Fail.

tut tut ConorH, you wont be voting for the president of Galway United ?????

29/04/2007, 10:05 AM
That's why a reasonably successful Green Party is a necessity. Their existence forces other parties to step up to the plate on evironmental issues.
I think you'll find that once they enter a coalition it will be the other way around. To stay in power, with all the perks that comes with they will have to make compromise after compromise. They completely capitulated on nuclear power. Look at the German greens for example. In fact you don't have to look that far afield. Look at the greens here in council positions. In fingal for example they "abstained" on some votes on planning issues. How can an environmental party abstain on planning?

29/04/2007, 10:08 AM
Election set for 24th May.

29/04/2007, 10:24 AM

Brilliant.

29/04/2007, 10:49 AM
The Greens are a bit flaky but one policy i agree with is:

Reform – in a revenue neutral manner – VRT and motor tax systems so that taxes reflect the level of emissions from a vehicle

29/04/2007, 11:24 AM
Well they attach themselves to some noble causes. Environmental responsilities, renewable energy, etc etc. The long term goals that have come to the fore, and people think of them as "experts" on. Thats grand, but then you have to examine their actual local politics. Things like showing up supporting people whenever they feel like protesting against a new road so they might get a better compo deal..

Not familiar with the ins and outs of the Lee Fields situation but if they're to be attacked for Local Politics so should the Fianna Fail and Fine Gael candidates here in Limerick East whose literature confirms their outright OPPOSITION to the introduction of bus lanes and Cycle lanes here in Limerick for fears these lanes might impinge on the on-road parking rights of some of Limericks wealthiest citizens. No problem sticking clearways outside the homes of the less well heeled who don't have off-road parking or rear access but we'll not be having that carry-on on the millionaire mile of the Ennis Road and South Circular. Feck everyone elses needs.

Woah - so they give people what they want? Thats dangerously close to democracy. ...in it's crudest form perhaps but you don't challenge that it's devoid of leadership. Besides which you can't keep on doing it forever. Oops here comes that "sustainability" word.

29/04/2007, 11:39 AM
They would set it during my college exams... :mad:

29/04/2007, 11:53 AM
They would set it during my college exams... :mad:

... and on a thursday. can't have them ideallistic studenty types getting home and voting now ...they mightn't vote the way needed. :mad:

kingdom hoop
29/04/2007, 12:09 PM

Bertie must think Milan will get through on Wednesday. (CL final is on 23rd):rolleyes:

29/04/2007, 12:22 PM
tut tut ConorH, you wont be voting for the president of Galway United ?????

Not No.1 anyway..perhaps No.2;)

On a side note can anyone elaborate on the ethos/aims of the Socialist Party.

They appear to be very much a shadow party...:confused:

29/04/2007, 12:41 PM
Bertie must think Milan will get through on Wednesday. (CL final is on 23rd):rolleyes:

Is he trying to disenfranchise the Manchester vote as they'll all be in Greece?

29/04/2007, 1:19 PM
... and on a thursday. can't have them ideallistic studenty types getting home and voting now ...they mightn't vote the way needed. :mad:

Actually we are at home to Shels that day so I will be going home for that anyway so I will be able to vote. Elections really should be on a Saturday though.

29/04/2007, 3:30 PM
They appear to be very much a shadow party...:confused:

How do you mean? :confused:

http://www.socialistparty.net

29/04/2007, 5:44 PM
Its ok voting for the Socialist Party based on local issues (maybe better to vote for in local elections) but seems pointless on a National basis as they will never get a chance to implement their policies. I notice there is no mention of tax policy in the website linked above I presume because of required tax rise.

The parties haven't wasted much time in putting up their election posters as the lamp-posts are already covered with them. How many people vote for someone because they recognise their poster?

29/04/2007, 5:56 PM
Probably way too many pete. The Big Brother and Most Haunted watchers that actually vote, for a start.

There's a Micky Martin poster at the end of the Ballinlough Road, and some wag drew a beard and moustache on it, and "I AM GAY" on his forehead. It shouldn't be funny, but I couldn't help chortling to myself.

29/04/2007, 6:12 PM
Noel O'Flynn, TD (FF) has helpfully added his mug to a pole at near the end of a hill in blackpool (cork). Only, he (or his lackies) put it at just the right height so that coming down the hill you can no longer see the traffic lights until the last moment.

29/04/2007, 6:12 PM
Its ok voting for the Socialist Party based on local issues (maybe better to vote for in local elections) but seems pointless on a National basis as they will never get a chance to implement their policies. I notice there is no mention of tax policy in the website linked above I presume because of required tax rise.

On the contrary Pete, its pointless to vote for most of the other parties because regardless of who gets in they'll still be implementing the same neo-liberal policies. If you want those policies fair enough but if you want change, then vote for change. Having a stronger more militant opposition in the dail would be a start to building a broader movement on a national level. As Eugene V. Debbs once said, "I'd rather vote for something I want and not get it than vote for something I don't want and get it".

On how to pay for stuff, I've gone into that in some depth elsewhere.

29/04/2007, 7:27 PM
glad to see the way the PD's are going here anyway !!!!

29/04/2007, 7:34 PM
the Labour and FF candidates in my area sending four page leaflets through the door pimping their environmental policies.I hope the irony of that isn't lost on you!

The Greens are a bit flaky but one policy i agree with is:
Reform – in a revenue neutral manner – VRT and motor tax systems so that taxes reflect the level of emissions from a vehicleMe too. It's very simple too, abolish VRT and motor tax and raise the price of petrol to cover the tax income. Hey presto, cars with low fuel efficiency pay more and cars with fuel efficiency pay less. Some tweaks to avoid destroying haulage companies may be required but it can't be that complicated.

29/04/2007, 7:56 PM
I hope the irony of that isn't lost on you!

Not at all. The thought goes through my mind everytime in fact, but sure what else can you do?

BP, I did note that the Greens would drift towards mainstream as they grew in stature, it doesn't mean their very existence doesn't force parties to be more environmentally minded than they otherwise would be.

29/04/2007, 8:50 PM
Small point but I supposive indicative of the cronyism and wink and a nod nature of the current Goverment.

The erection (ooh err matron) of election posters is strictly controlled pre-election declaration (and effectively banned from most public places until an election is declared I understand?:confused:). I also understand the setting of an election date is solely the perogative of the Taoiseach and should not be disclosed until the President is notified requesting dissolution of the Dail.

I had reason to be driving down the Stillorgan dual carriageway at an ungodly hour this morning, before Bertie had even left Drumcondra to go to the Phoenix Park, and lo and behold, whose elections posters had been put up overnight in prime position, only FF and the PDs.

As I said, small point but indicative of the incumbents general approach to bothersome rules that they think they can get away with.

29/04/2007, 9:52 PM
The election posters for at least one tosser - sorry, 'hopeful' - have been out for a week or two in Cork East. They're supposed to take them down immediately after the election too.

I've already decided to make complaints to the Gardaí and the DoE about every poster that doesn't come down on time this year.

29/04/2007, 9:59 PM
The election posters for at least one tosser - sorry, 'hopeful' - have been out for a week or two in Cork East. They're supposed to take them down immediately after the election too.

I've already decided to make complaints to the Gardaí and the DoE about every poster that doesn't come down on time this year.

Good idea.

The Council are quick to tell us to take GUFC match posters down-but it was only around xmas time the last of the Election posters were coming down.:rolleyes:

29/04/2007, 10:02 PM
The Shinners were out plastering their mug's vacant mug all over Glasnevin Avenue within thirty minutes of the election being called.

Thunderblaster
29/04/2007, 10:42 PM
Michael Ring will be getting my no.1. The people of Westport will be giving the Dail a Ring!!:D :D :D

kingdom hoop
29/04/2007, 11:32 PM
Is he trying to disenfranchise the Manchester vote as they'll all be in Greece?

God no. The postals from Manchester are way too lucrative:o

30/04/2007, 7:53 AM

I think you have 7 days to take them down afterwards if my memory serves me correct. Problem is though the likes of FF, FG, SF and Labour can afford the fines so they are not too bothered. We on the other hand rush around to get them down as we can't afford the fines. Maybe there should be bigger fines. Actually I'd love to see them banned or at least the situation you have in Scotland where they only put up really small posters with no mugshots.

30/04/2007, 8:03 AM
Any notice a the FF "presidential" style posters? Pic of Bertie under the term "Bertie's Team" and then the names of local candidates. Now I can't stand Bertie so I'm biased but I didn't he'd be popular enough for this to work. SF have done it in the past with wee Gerry (and are doing it at the moment) but I can see their point

30/04/2007, 8:14 AM
Any notice a the FF "presidential" style posters? Pic of Bertie under the term "Bertie's Team" and then the names of local candidates.
Not as many as I was expecting to see this morning. Could backfire if the Tribunal stuff kicks off again. PD posters awful, bar the obvious fact they're a right wing t**ts. So airbrushed they don't even look real - took me a while to confirm that it actually was a Liz O'Donnell poster on the Belfield flyover.

30/04/2007, 9:03 AM
Could backfire if the Tribunal stuff kicks off again. Not to mention fears over the property market and the wider economy.

Probably the worst possible time to hold an election at any time over the last 5 years.

Although I can't say I'm too impressed by the alternative rainbow coalition either.

But on a positive note, it would appear that the days of the PDs being in Government are all but gone.

30/04/2007, 10:39 AM
Any notice a the FF "presidential" style posters? Pic of Bertie under the term "Bertie's Team" and then the names of local candidates. Now I can't stand Bertie so I'm biased but I didn't he'd be popular enough for this to work.

FF are clearly using Berties popularity (even if it has fallen) as a tactic. The names under those posters are so small they barely noticable.

30/04/2007, 10:45 AM
D'ya know what I think is funny? The Fianna Failure voters never have the balls to explain why they vote(d) FF, or even admit that they do/did it. God help us if the poll here is in any way representative of reality.

Ah well, at least it gives me the opportunity to weed out a few dupe accounts. Vote early, vote often, eh Fianna Failers? Gotcha! ;)

30/04/2007, 11:42 AM
FF are clearly using Berties popularity (even if it has fallen) as a tactic. The names under those posters are so small they barely noticable.

The posters with him grinning like a tit in the company of his delighted electorate are priceless. Photoshop Fás course ahoy.

Here in Limerick several of the Fianna Failers have posters with bright blue sky (approx 25% cloud cover maybe) backgrounds and I swear they look like Al-Quieda. :D

30/04/2007, 12:03 PM
SF posters are always green. I half expect the candidates to be wearing green clothes & hats. Its ok i get the Nationalist thing but they could tone down the green. :eek:

Shelsman
30/04/2007, 1:05 PM
I've never put a mark in a box next to Fianna Fáil or Sinn Féin and won't be breaking the habit of a lifetime this time 'round either.

You and me both bud. :)

30/04/2007, 1:27 PM
Noticed a few things about FG posters at lunch time. Different subject matter in different colours. Hospital beds - Red, obviously going for the left vote, Money well spent - Green, obviously to draw the attention of FFers, policing dark blue trying to win over a few McDowellites.
Another thing is the pictures of Kenny are so airbrushed he looks like Bush.
Also was walking down by Smithfield and Bertie going by in his Merc has the audacity to give me a big smile and a wave as if I'm his buddy.

30/04/2007, 1:38 PM
Also was walking down by Smithfield and Bertie going by in his Merc has the audacity to give me a big smile and a wave as if I'm his buddy.
Hope you replied with the finger.

30/04/2007, 1:44 PM
Sorry to say I didn't. By the time the shocl had worn off he was gone. :(

30/04/2007, 1:47 PM
mahon tribunal ppostponed until after the election. Now there's a surprise...

30/04/2007, 1:48 PM
mahon tribunal ppostponed until after the election. Now there's a surprise...
Even the feckin tribunals are corrupt in this country. :rolleyes:

finlma
30/04/2007, 3:26 PM
D'ya know what I think is funny? The Fianna Failure voters never have the balls to explain why they vote(d) FF, or even admit that they do/did it.

Simple really. Their father did, their father's father did and their father's father's father did and by God their son will vote Fianna Fail too.

Some people are just that way - thick I suppose you'd say.

30/04/2007, 3:36 PM
I'll be voting FF and I've no problem saying it. Labour and the Shinners will get votes off me too. No Blueshirts or PDs or crazy lefty/right wing nut will ever get my vote.

And by my reckoning I'll be a 'winner' in this election - Bertie back but with Labour to keep an eye on him rather than McDowell. Jobs a good 'un.

30/04/2007, 4:10 PM
I'd love to see the Greens as junior partners in Government but I'm not sure that having FG in there with them is worth it.

30/04/2007, 4:10 PM
Sorry to say I didn't. By the time the shocl had worn off he was gone. :(The only shock you should experience when you see the Gombeen Man is that he's not in jail. Keep the finger on a hair trigger.

finlma
30/04/2007, 4:14 PM
I'll be voting FF and I've no problem saying it. Labour and the Shinners will get votes off me too. No Blueshirts or PDs or crazy lefty/right wing nut will ever get my vote.

That's a contradiction if ever I read one. Not voting for any crazy left wingers and you're voting for Sinn Fein.