View Full Version : Barry Maguire

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

Paddy Garcia
12/04/2009, 9:53 PM
[QUOTE=musicinmouth;1142194]

It sounds like Barry would really like to play for us - I have a really strong impression that that is the case...

QUOTE]

Great if so - what makes you think this ?

The Fly
12/04/2009, 10:10 PM
Ok, so there is an article in the Sunday Times about Barry Maguire... sounds like Don Givens messed up again...

I would be very grateful if some could post or provide a link to this article. I assume it is on page 8 above the piece with Shay Given. In the NI edition it had an article on the IFA's attempts to secure Nigel Worthington to a new contract instead. :mad:

Apologies for the tangent, but in this NI centred article, IFA President and acting Chief Executive Raymond Kennedy revealed that the association is due to have further talks with FIFA to seek clarification about the eligibility ruling entitling players born in NI to play for ROI if they so wish. He states, "FIFA will call us over and have a meeting with us and the Republic....it is a matter of intepretation. We had a meeting with them and we suggested we have another meeting."

The article also states that there have been calls for the IFA to stand up to FIFA more firmly on the issue. Good luck with that :rolleyes:.

Kennedy wouldn't rule out legal action of some sort, but said it was best avoided. He goes on to say, " As far as I am concerned legal people have been getting involved anyway. I don't want to say too much because it is a very sensitive issue and we will try to resolve it through football."

---------------------------

I hope they have the meeting tomorrow and then this whole issue can be put to bed once and for all.
.....I feel a migraine coming on!

TerryPhelan
17/04/2009, 6:05 PM
Thirty signatures and counting... Come on lads, Barry Maguire's international future is (sort of) in our hands - let's make this happen!!
:):ball:

Sign your name at http://www.petitiononline.com/lysaghtb/

Musicinmouth, if we reach a respectable number of signatures would you reckon you could maybe just send word on to Barry that there are a lot of people here who are very keen to see him play for Ireland - keen to the point of starting and signing a petition of support? You'd know the lie of the land better than most about this situation. Cheers man.

17/04/2009, 6:24 PM
done.

brianw82
17/04/2009, 6:40 PM
signed

The Fly
17/04/2009, 7:30 PM
34 now!
Come on lads - how many members are there on foot.ie?

I'm gonna get at least 10 to sign it.

third policeman
17/04/2009, 8:09 PM
I'm 37 (again)

irishfan86
17/04/2009, 8:20 PM
#39, done.

TerryPhelan
17/04/2009, 9:57 PM
That's the spirit lads, brilliant! :)

kingdomkerry
17/04/2009, 10:33 PM
No. 44

Mcgeady46
17/04/2009, 11:56 PM
done no 46

Greenbod
18/04/2009, 2:05 AM
Am I the only one who finds this more than a little pathetic?

Whatever happened to a player being eligible, being willing, and then being good enough to be selected by the manager?..............without any begging letters.

joema
18/04/2009, 4:15 AM
Am I the only one who finds this more than a little pathetic?

Whatever happened to a player being eligible, being willing, and then being good enough to be selected by the manager?..............without any begging letters.

Completely agree.

This whole petition thing is cringe worthy tbh.

Smacks of desperation.

irishfan86
18/04/2009, 5:22 AM
If you read the comments on the petition, you'll see that it's in a good spirit.

People are saying they will support him whether he plays for us or not, and to follow his heart.

I don't see the harm in letting him know that he'd be welcomed by the fans if he declared for us.

amaccann
18/04/2009, 11:08 AM
If that's so, then an open letter "from the football fans of Ireland" might make more sense? Online petitions are easy to set-up, worth nothing & even easier to ignore. At least an open letter to some news / footie sites might cut more ice?

TerryPhelan
18/04/2009, 12:06 PM
Petition is up. Not sure if I got the wording right - even the word 'petition' is regrettably inadequate - as people have written above I don't want to be seen to be begging anyone, but rather than do nothing I would like to let the guy know that there are an awful lot of people here who hope that he does declare for us.

http://www.petitiononline.com/lysaghtb/petition.html

I agree that begging letters are pathetic - and as I said when I posted the thing up, the word 'petition' is inadequate to say the least. If you look at the wording of the actual petition, hopefully it does justice to what I was trying to get across: we want to show support, to let him know that if he did decide to declare for Ireland there are a lot of people who would be happy with that, but that ultimately it goes without saying either decision will be respected. It's a small effort to try and undo some of the confusion sown by Don Givens. Nobody's begging anyone.

18/04/2009, 5:19 PM
51 now

The petition reads fine Terry.

Royal rover
18/04/2009, 10:29 PM
just a thought - anyone on facebook should send it to there friends or put it up on there wall - i know at least 60 of mine that will sign it

joema
18/04/2009, 10:43 PM
If you read the comments on the petition, you'll see that it's in a good spirit.

People are saying they will support him whether he plays for us or not, and to follow his heart.

I don't see the harm in letting him know that he'd be welcomed by the fans if he declared for us.

If that's so, then an open letter "from the football fans of Ireland" might make more sense? Online petitions are easy to set-up, worth nothing & even easier to ignore. At least an open letter to some news / footie sites might cut more ice?

Since when did ye lot speak for the entire Irish support?:rolleyes:

boovidge
19/04/2009, 7:40 PM
I'd like to see him play for Ireland but a "petition" seems a bit desperate. Would people be doing this if he was English born?

TerryPhelan
19/04/2009, 10:03 PM
I refer again to my message above. I have said from the outset that the word 'petition' is inadequate to describe what I am actually intending to put together here, but that out of a desire to do something - anything - to try and repair some of the damage done by Don Givens, I thought that a show of support for the guy might be of some use: better to try and influence the situation than sit back, do nothing and then shrug our shoulders if he declares for the Dutch citing an ambivalent and ambiguous response from the FAI. We are Ireland supporters and we don't normally hold much sway in how these decisions are made. I don't believe in begging or asking anyone to play for Ireland. I do, however, believe in acting, making an effort and trying to influence a situation where it is appropriate. Given the quotes attributed to Barry Maguire in the press, and the soundings given by musicinmouth - if I am interpreting these correctly - I think that Barry has been left a bit bewildered by the carry-on of Don Givens and the FAI. He, apparently, is keen on playing for Ireland - but his prospects of doing so have been thrown into confusion by Givens. This is as I understand the situation to be. This is why I think it might help to let the guy know there are a lot of people who invest huge time, emotion and expense in following the Irish team who cannot trust the FAI to handle simple matters like this correctly, and who would rather communicate their hopes to the guy rather than bow their heads, fold their hands and trust in the FAI to clarify things for them.

Also, please read below the actual wording of the message to which people are putting their names. After you have read it, and you still feel that this is pathetic, embarrassing or desperate, you might please post your reasons.

To: Barry Maguire

We, the undersigned, being passionate and committed supporters of Irish international football, sign our names to this petition to show our admiration for Barry Maguire, and to reassure him of the great support he has among Irish fans. We sign our names to communicate to Barry our shared hope that he might one day decide to represent Ireland at senior level, and above all, to assure him of our respect and goodwill whatever his final decision.

Sincerely,

The Undersigned

20/04/2009, 12:40 AM
can all the little beeyatches moaning about this petition just voice their objection by not signing and leave this thread to people who would like to see him represent Ireland.

We are not exactly in a position to let any promising young player go without a fight and the whole "begging players to play for us" argument is well worn out at this stage.

20/04/2009, 1:24 AM
59 ;)

joema
20/04/2009, 11:00 AM
and the whole "begging players to play for us" argument is well worn out at this stage.

How is it "worn out"? Is it just 'cause you have head this too many times??

Fact is, its very relevant.

Playing for your country is a great honor and nobody should need to be petitioned in order to do so. If you are to play for Ireland, one should chose so on his own accord.

Stop with this, "the Irish fans will like you, Barry..." nonsense...

The petition is embarrassing IMO.

Oh, and just out of interest, how many of ye who signed have seen Maguire play??

amaccann
20/04/2009, 12:52 PM
can all the little beeyatches moaning about this petition just voice their objection by not signing and leave this thread to people who would like to see him represent Ireland.

We are not exactly in a position to let any promising young player go without a fight and the whole "begging players to play for us" argument is well worn out at this stage.
Leave the thread to those who want him to play? Shockingly as it may sound, I want him to play for Ireland too, but then I want Kaka to be able to play for Ireland as well. Doesn't mean a petition is going to hold much water.

If a petition is the way to go, perhaps it should instead be aimed at the muppets in the FAI who have let this talent slip away ...

Razors left peg
20/04/2009, 7:21 PM
I want all good players available to us to be in the Irish squad but just as a matter of interest how many people on here have actually seen this lad play? Yes it would be great if we had more players scattered throughout the European leagues but just because a guy is playing on the contenent doesnt make him the second coming of Maradona.I wouldnt regard the Dutch league as particularly strong these days(just from judging on european results so obviously no expert).
If hes is as good as he is being made out to be and wants to play for us then fantastic, if not well at least we have the likes of Jamie McCarthy coming through in that position

20/04/2009, 8:16 PM
If hes is as good as he is being made out to be and wants to play for us then fantastic, if not well at least we have the likes of Jamie McCarthy coming through in that position
Sorry Razor but I have to call you up on this one.

To say a player isn't good enough because he plays in a "weaker" league like Holland is one thing, but to suggest that a lad who plays with a small club in the SPL (which only has a decent UEFA coefficient because of the Old Firm) is a better choice is mind-boggling.

20/04/2009, 8:29 PM
I'd call you both up on this one, Razor & Superfrank.

Surely at their age you look at each lad play and then make a judgment? Just because McCarthy is playing for a small club doesn't make him a mind-boggling choice, not as an 18 year-old. Likerwise the Dutch are renowned for developing young players even if their league isn't as strong as it has been. Their academy products are the envy of the world. A good young player is a good young player regardless of where he plays.

20/04/2009, 8:38 PM
My point wasn't that McCarthy's crap; I haven't seen enough of him to make any judgement.

irishfan86
20/04/2009, 8:43 PM
The whole point here is that we shouldn't have to choose- why not have both, or at least let both of them know that a good chunk of supporters would welcome them?

richieos
20/04/2009, 8:58 PM
barry maguire has never lived in ireland, and probably doesnt know anything about irish culture. therefore i see no harm in sending him this petition to show him the close relationship that ireland supporters have to their team. the main thing that the ireland team has going for them is the special relationship the supporters have with the team, and i think this petition is a good way to show barry maguire what were all about, and that we respect his decision regardless of what it might be. he could turn out to be a great player and if we dont want to miss out on him then every little helps

Razors left peg
21/04/2009, 8:13 AM
I'd call you both up on this one, Razor & Superfrank.

Surely at their age you look at each lad play and then make a judgment? Just because McCarthy is playing for a small club doesn't make him a mind-boggling choice, not as an 18 year-old. Likerwise the Dutch are renowned for developing young players even if their league isn't as strong as it has been. Their academy products are the envy of the world. A good young player is a good young player regardless of where he plays.

I think I was misunderstood a little bit. I wasnt saying that because he is playing in a weak league that he couldnt be a good player,my point was that some people have a mystique about players playing in any other league but England and Scotland.Yes the dutch league has a history of developing technically good players but that doesnt make every player from that league good enough to play at the top level.I have never seen the lad play so I cant comment on him to say whether he is good enough or not,I hope he is and if he is I would be delighted if he was to declare for us.

joema
21/04/2009, 8:49 AM
barry maguire has never lived in ireland, and probably doesnt know anything about irish culture. therefore i see no harm in sending him this petition to show him the close relationship that ireland supporters have to their team. the main thing that the ireland team has going for them is the special relationship the supporters have with the team, and i think this petition is a good way to show barry maguire what were all about, and that we respect his decision regardless of what it might be. he could turn out to be a great player and if we dont want to miss out on him then every little helps

You are correct - he probably knows very little about Irish culture, therefore he should probably not play for Ireland!

21/04/2009, 10:30 AM
Half his family are Irish.
The better half :)

Personally I don't swallow the īGivens fecking it up againī theory.
Barry has been invited to play for Ireland. Normally that on its own is enough.
He is also Dutch, probably his first choice is to play for Holland, if he can.
He does not have to declare just yet. He can play for Holland underage, then change over to Ireland before 21. He can only change once.

On the changing once before he 21.
Barry has not played for Holland or Ireland yet.
He has to play before being recognised as having declared for that federation.
If Barry played for Ireland underage he would still be entitled to one change back to Holland before the age of 21. Givens is correct in this.

On another point I don't know if even playing underage friendlies count as a full registration.

richieos
21/04/2009, 11:57 AM
You are correct - he probably knows very little about Irish culture, therefore he should probably not play for Ireland!

possibly so, but why not give him an idea of what were about before he makes his mind up?

irishultra
21/04/2009, 1:50 PM

yep we'll have to send him off his man utd or celtic jersey, britians got talent DVD boxset, 'an audience with take that' cd, perhaps even if somebody has recordings of 'corrie' or eastenders we could send that as well just so he can familairise himself further with irish culture.

Wangball
21/04/2009, 2:13 PM

No one is making you read this thread, or post on this thread or indeed sign the petition....why don't you just grow up and move on???!

The boy has an Irish born and raised father, this isn't some tenuous crawl through the family tree connection. Look at his name for gods sake, this alone shows he's acutely aware of his roots, sure he's probably had to explain it to every Dutch person he's met through out his life when they look at him oddly after asking his name and I bet he answers every time "My Father is Irish" how much more aware do you want him to be? Do you want him to stand on the steps of the GPO and recite the proclomation? Or perhaps he could Riverdance his way into your heart???

We want him to play football for us....not run for Taoiseach, get a grip and crawl back into whatever LOI thread you clawed your way out of, there's raffle tickets that need selling

boovidge
21/04/2009, 2:15 PM
Half his family are Irish.
The better half :)

Personally I don't swallow the īGivens fecking it up againī theory.
Barry has been invited to play for Ireland. Normally that on its own is enough.
He is also Dutch, probably his first choice is to play for Holland, if he can.
He does not have to declare just yet. He can play for Holland underage, then change over to Ireland before 21. He can only change once.

On the changing once before he 21.
Barry has not played for Holland or Ireland yet.
He has to play before being recognised as having declared for that federation.
If Barry played for Ireland underage he would still be entitled to one change back to Holland before the age of 21. Givens is correct in this.

On another point I don't know if even playing underage friendlies count as a full registration.

If his first choice is Holland he should probably play for Holland. Ireland shouldnt be the "second choice" team even if we had to resort to that in the past.

Wangball
21/04/2009, 2:15 PM
yep we'll have to send him off his man utd or celtic jersey, britians got talent DVD boxset, 'an audience with take that' cd, perhaps even if somebody has recordings of 'corrie' or eastenders we could send that as well just so he can familairise himself further with irish culture.

You have a look at the above post too.....this sort of guff is nothing short of pathetic

Whats wrong with wanting the best players available/eligible to play for your country? Would you rather we sent out a team of cloggers from Finn Harps and Kilkenny to get horsewhipped??

boovidge
21/04/2009, 2:45 PM
Would you rather we sent out a team of cloggers from Finn Harps and Kilkenny to get horsewhipped??

That's not the alternative though is it? Ireland produces enough good players and has players born in other parts of the world who chose to play for Ireland without needing a petition.

Having read more about the petition I do understand that it's not a begging letter and I can see now why it was started. I'd love to see Barry Maguire representing Ireland but i'd rather Ireland be his first choice than a last resort. I don't really see how that is an unreasonable opinion to have.

Predator
21/04/2009, 3:10 PM
You have a look at the above post too.....this sort of guff is nothing short of pathetic

Whats wrong with wanting the best players available/eligible to play for your country? Would you rather we sent out a team of cloggers from Finn Harps and Kilkenny to get horsewhipped??

Relax yourself dude.I thought the tongue-in-cheek jibe at 'Irish culture' was funny. It's harmless, but not pathetic.

I haven't seen Maguire play, so I don't think I should sign the petition yet. He might not be good enough to play for Ireland, for all I know.

I am however, all for players born outside of Ireland, but with Irish parentage, playing for Ireland - if they're good enough and passionate about it.

21/04/2009, 3:14 PM
Relax yourself dude.I thought the tongue-in-cheek jibe at 'Irish culture' was funny. It's harmless, but not pathetic.

i agree - i thought it was hilarious!!

Wangball:
get a grip and crawl back into whatever LOI thread you clawed your way out of, there's raffle tickets that need selling

unnecessary, a quick look at the "LOI" people posting here will reveal quite a lot of them supporting "Maguire for Ireland".

21/04/2009, 3:15 PM
If his first choice is Holland he should probably play for Holland. Ireland shouldnt be the "second choice" team even if we had to resort to that in the past.
He is a dual national. He has the right to play for either Holland or Ireland..
It is his football civil right.
Barry can decide for himself what he wants to do. Both of his choices are perfectly legit, regardless of a possible current preference.

joema
21/04/2009, 8:43 PM
Funny stuff lads, honestly.

Lads, if Maguire wants to play for Ireland I'd be delighted, if he proves to be a good international player I'll be even happier.

Fact is, he's is well able to decide what country he wants to represent himself. He can familiarise himself with Irish culture in any way he sees fit...if he wants to, that is.

Petitioning him to play is embarrassing. Where is the pride in the jersey gone like? Personally, I think its depressing stuff.

Oh, and Wangball, this is an internet forum, people are going to disagree with it, get some manners and learn to deal with it.

After all, nobody is making you post here either. I'm entitled to my opinion, even if you disagree with it.

LOI jibe was out of order too, in keeping with the rest of your post though I must say!

richieos
21/04/2009, 9:29 PM
After all, nobody is making you post here either. I'm entitled to my opinion, even if you disagree with it.

why arent we entitled to our opinion that a petition is the way to go? instead of you making people out to be pathetic when we clearly just want whats best for the team and will try anything to achieve that.

Wangball
21/04/2009, 9:32 PM
LOI jibe was out of order too, in keeping with the rest of your post though I must say!

Well I'd hate to disappoint you:)

irishfan86
21/04/2009, 9:32 PM
I honestly think anybody against the petition is just misunderstanding what we're doing.

When I read that a petition was started, I laughed it off, but once I read the actual wording of the petition I decided to sign it.

This is not an example of begging, but merely a welcoming invitation from (some) supporters. I think there's a difference.

joema
21/04/2009, 9:57 PM
why arent we entitled to our opinion that a petition is the way to go? instead of you making people out to be pathetic when we clearly just want whats best for the team and will try anything to achieve that.

You are entitled to your opinion, I never said otherwise. Fact is, I disagree with your opinion, simple as that.

Oh, and I want whats best for the team too. Ever seen Maguire play?

joema
21/04/2009, 9:59 PM
I honestly think anybody against the petition is just misunderstanding what we're doing.

When I read that a petition was started, I laughed it off, but once I read the actual wording of the petition I decided to sign it.

This is not an example of begging, but merely a welcoming invitation from (some) supporters. I think there's a difference.

I understand that. I just don't think it is necessary, in any way.

After all, the word "petition" does mean to request something. So, in this case it could be argued that ye are requesting that Maguire choses to play for Ireland.

Having said that, I understand what you mean. I just disagree with it.

Well I'd hate to disappoint you:)

That's better. Good lad. Glad to see you've calmed down:eek::ball:

richieos
21/04/2009, 10:05 PM
You are entitled to your opinion, I never said otherwise. Fact is, I disagree with your opinion, simple as that.

Oh, and I want whats best for the team too. Ever seen Maguire play?

i've only seen a few clips of him, but thats completely irrelevant as all people are trying to do is let maguire know that he'd be appreciated. i dont care how good or bad he is, if he or anyone else is chosen to play for ireland i'll support them 100% and thats the reason i signed the petition