View Full Version : Barry Maguire
Pages :
[
2]
DeNiro
27/01/2009, 7:57 PM
To be honest its a very very bad day when a regular football fan on an football forum has to contact the FAI to prompt them to get the finger out. Did you make Delaney by any chance. The gormless numpty. Of course its impressive that you did so and actually if Barry Maguire ever makes it to the senior squad I want to know who the great musicinmouth is for his/her/it's :D efforts.
Surely the FAI's scouting staff are paid enough and organised enough to keep tabs on whose who and how they are progressing. What have we got to lose in getting him a cap.He might be a future, he might not.We need all the possibilities we have at our disposal.
Well done that man but worrying stuff when a player, who has been profiled enough as Barry Maguire, hasn't quite been approached on the matter.
On a side issue,and maybe I shouldnt as I suspect Sigmund Freud doesn't hang about here that much these days, but if say Barry was born in the Netherlands could his declaration be dependant on which parent was most influential in his life or which he was closes too. It may not of course but it might. Say his mother was Dutch and he was closer to her than his dad then might he look at choosing to play for the Netherlands before the Republic of Ireland?.
Excellent points Harpsbear. Well done also music on sterling work. But, to be fair, what is the FAI at? You have to wonder if this sort of nonchalence by the FAI is costing us more players that could play for us. I mean Barry Maguire playing for a Dutch club, surely bells must be ringing in our scouts heads at the Irishness of that name. God only knows if this clumsy approach is also used in dialogue with the Stephen Ireland and Andy O'Brien, etc.
27/01/2009, 9:00 PM
To be honest its a very very bad day when a regular football fan on an football forum has to contact the FAI to prompt them to get the finger out. Did you make Delaney by any chance. The gormless numpty. Of course its impressive that you did so and actually if Barry Maguire ever makes it to the senior squad I want to know who the great musicinmouth is for his/her/it's :D efforts.
Surely the FAI's scouting staff are paid enough and organised enough to keep tabs on whose who and how they are progressing. What have we got to lose in getting him a cap.He might be a future, he might not.We need all the possibilities we have at our disposal.
Well done that man but worrying stuff when a player, who has been profiled enough as Barry Maguire, hasn't quite been approached on the matter.
On a side issue,and maybe I shouldnt as I suspect Sigmund Freud doesn't hang about here that much these days, but if say Barry was born in the Netherlands could his declaration be dependant on which parent was most influential in his life or which he was closes too. It may not of course but it might. Say his mother was Dutch and he was closer to her than his dad then might he look at choosing to play for the Netherlands before the Republic of Ireland?.
I find in general on a sporting level and a nationalistic level its always the dad that people get it from
Diarmo
27/01/2009, 9:00 PM
Great news, Music, well done. Hopefully, with Koevermans on board, we should be able to keep him as part of the set up from here on in.
musicinmouth
27/01/2009, 9:02 PM
Thanks everyone.
A few weeks ago I contacted Barry Maguire. I said that I didn't know if the FAI had been in contact, but I just wanted to let him know that the Irish fans are really hoping he might consider playing for us. He indicated that he would be interested... but that he hadn't heard from the FAI... so I wrote to John Delaney, who let me know that my e-mail would be followed up on... I got replies from Wim Koevermans and the Director of International Football Operations last week... Everybody was very positive and friendly... Mr. Koevermans let me know that he had been finding it difficult to get in touch with Barry, but that he had now made contact and Barry was indeed very interested in playing for us... and that I could cheer for him in the U21 game against Germany...
So hopefully he will play for us - I am sure it must be a hard decision to make. I'm glad that he's been called up now. It would have been a shame if he had never been asked. We can't afford to lose quality players like that.
I'm also really looking forward to seeing James McCarthy. I think our U21 team sound very strong now.
27/01/2009, 9:05 PM
great work!
Razors left peg
27/01/2009, 9:06 PM
Thanks everyone.
A few weeks ago I contacted Barry Maguire. I said that I didn't know if the FAI had been in contact, but I just wanted to let him know that the Irish fans are really hoping he might consider playing for us. He indicated that he would be interested... but that he hadn't heard from the FAI... so I wrote to John Delaney, who let me know that my e-mail would be followed up on... I got replies from Wim Koevermans and the Director of International Football Operations last week... Everybody was very positive and friendly... Mr. Koevermans let me know that he had been finding it difficult to get in touch with Barry, but that he had now made contact and Barry was indeed very interested in playing for us... and that I could cheer for him in the U21 game against Germany...
So hopefully he will play for us - I am sure it must be a hard decision to make. I'm glad that he's been called up now. It would have been a shame if he had never been asked. We can't afford to lose quality players like that.
I'm also really looking forward to seeing James McCarthy. I think our U21 team sound very strong now.
Well done again mate, really good work.... even though u seemed to be doing the FAIs job for them, credit to them for responding to you the way they did
27/01/2009, 9:20 PM
I said that I didn't know if the FAI had been in contact, but I just wanted to let him know that the Irish fans are really hoping he might consider playing for us. He indicated that he would be interested... but that he hadn't heard from the FAI.
Tbh, you could have been having the exact same conversation with Stephen Ireland.
The way I see it, if he wants to play for Ireland then he'll wait. By him saying he "would be interested" suggests he's waiting on whoever makes the first move, the KNVB or the FAI.
Manc Irish Wolf
27/01/2009, 10:21 PM
Thanks everyone.
That is legendary. Top work MusicinMouth. Quality that you actually got in touch with him.
Amazes me how no contact had been made - just highlights the level of ignorance that is going on at the FAI.
Pity we can't get hold of an FAI email list - a regular mass email highlighting the potential of some of our lesser known and up and coming prospects could help improve their obviously limited knowledge on a more regular basis.
dr_peepee
28/01/2009, 9:48 AM
Of course its impressive that you did so and actually if Barry Maguire ever makes it to the senior squad I want to know who the great musicinmouth is for his/her/it's :D efforts.
Six feet tall he was..... With a shock of red hair that burned like the fires of hell!!!
28/01/2009, 10:11 AM
Six feet tall he was..... With a shock of red hair that burned like the fires of hell!!!
Arms like tree trunks. Eyes like steel!
28/01/2009, 10:43 AM
and he could shut lightning bolts from his aaaahhhhhhrse.
Well done MIM. How did you acquire his email address though?!
Drumcondra 69er
28/01/2009, 10:54 AM
Thanks everyone.
Fair play mate, excellent work.
But it begs the question what are we paying Koevermans for if he finds it difficult to get in touch with a player playing in his native Holland and you managed it with apparent ease.
Delighted to see him called up, hope he's one for the future!
Traps Cat
28/01/2009, 11:48 AM
The Future's Bright. The Future's half green / half Orange.
Sorry.
Well done Music...
macdermesser
29/01/2009, 8:10 AM
Well done Music!!
Can you email this guy Sean Rooney down under :-) ..
apparently he is eligible
http://www.theherald.com.au/news/local/sport/soccer/jets-poach-sean-rooney-from-sydney-fc/1383232.aspx
hehe .. well done again.
Junior
29/01/2009, 10:18 AM
and he could shut lightning bolts from his aaaahhhhhhrse.
Well done MIM. How did you acquire his email address though?!
He was on Bebo of course....jaysus paul get wit da times man:D
Well done Music man - in years to come I can see you telling a yarn or two about how you backpacked to deepest darkest holland in search of the missing Paddy known as McGuire and singlehandedly you carried him back to the emerald isle on your back..........:D
Mad Moose
29/01/2009, 11:49 AM
Well done Music!!
http://www.theherald.com.au/news/local/sport/soccer/jets-poach-sean-rooney-from-sydney-fc/1383232.aspx
hehe .. well done again.
When I first read it I thought it read Sean Cooney. Not a player I ever had the fortune of seeing tog out at Finn Park but he achieved new heights when it came to been pure pish.
SaucyJack
29/01/2009, 1:18 PM
Well done Music!!
hehe .. well done again.
Someone in the comments section said he's Wayne Rooney's cousin, wonder if there's any truth to that.
kingdom hoop
29/01/2009, 1:31 PM
Not a player I ever had the fortune of seeing tog out at Finn Park...
Try this next time maybe
http://blog.modernmechanix.com/mags/qf/c/PopularScience/5-1939/med_wollensak.jpg
:p
livehead1
29/01/2009, 2:01 PM
Here he is scoring
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6JgXN37KR_c&feature=related
Razors left peg
29/01/2009, 2:17 PM
Here he is scoring
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=6JgXN37KR_c&feature=related
Jesus keep that to yourself will ya.... If Trap sees any of our center midfielders going forward and scoring goals he wont pick them!!!;)
The Fly
30/01/2009, 12:25 PM
Over on eleven-a-side.com people are saying that Maguire has declined the invitation for the time being. Can anyone confirm this?
gwhite
30/01/2009, 12:57 PM
On a serious note, I'm surprised this thread didn't make the papers, i.e. a fan contacts an eligible player, gets positive response and suddenly he's in the squad. Great story. On another note, wtf were Delaney and the management team doing while all this was going on? And Brady is really starting to get on my t*ts. First of all talking about recruiting Kyle Naughton after he was called up by the England U-21's and now this. What a pleb.
co. down green
30/01/2009, 12:59 PM
http://www.telegraaf.nl/telesport/voetbal/3123343/__Maguire_wijst_Ierland_af__.html
Rough online translation
UTRECHT - Barry Maguire van FC Utrecht has rejected an invitation for the Irish selection under 21. The middenvelder wants continue play provisionally for the Netherlands.
„I remain provisional for Oranje game, thus Maguire, which a Dutch and Irish passport has. „Moreover do not mean this that I will play never for Ireland. Only the choice to end up definitively for a another country then the Netherlands, I have postponed. The middenvelder played already interlands for Oranje under 18 and under 19.
bwagner
30/01/2009, 1:10 PM
Cant say I blame the guy at all. It really is comical the way Brady and co have handle this and Naughton .Ben Stiller couldnt write a funny satire. Thats him gone now as the Dutch will call him in to their under 21 section.
30/01/2009, 1:15 PM
Cant say I blame the guy at all. It really is comical the way Brady and co have handle this and Naughton .Ben Stiller couldnt write a funny satire. Thats him gone now as the Dutch will call him in to their under 21 section.
What exactly have Brady and Co. done or not done??? :confused:
bwagner
30/01/2009, 1:26 PM
Brady came out with a statement saying that Naughton was as good as in a green jersey while 2 days before hand the lad was in the England squad, That dutch clown that work for the Fai "could not get in contact with Maguire "...Are you joking here...They are all a pack of lazy money grabbing wasters
30/01/2009, 1:35 PM
Brady came out with a statement saying that Naughton was as good as in a green jersey while 2 days before hand the lad was in the England squad, That dutch clown that work for the Fai "could not get in contact with Maguire "...Are you joking here...They are all a pack of lazy money grabbing wasters
If these lads wanted to play for Ireland there wouldn't be any problems.
dr_peepee
30/01/2009, 1:47 PM
If these lads wanted to play for Ireland there wouldn't be any problems.
Ah would ye stop!!! If the lads were born and reared on the Island you'd be 100% right. But they're not.
He has a dutch mother, dutch friends, went to dutch schools and predominant exposure to dutch family so his natural affinity woul be that way and I wouldn't begrudge him that. However we should be building bridges with him and others like him to create something to counter that. D'ye know what.. The more I think of it an off the cuff mail recieved from a fan he never knew he had representing a group of people (us) wanting him to represent our country may have gone some way to counter it too...
Make these lads want to play for us.....
bwagner
30/01/2009, 1:49 PM
So what the hell are the Fai paying that clown for if he cant TRY to talk to the lad who is half Irish.
30/01/2009, 1:52 PM
Ah would ye stop!!! If the lads were born and reared on the Island you'd be 100% right. But they're not.
He has a dutch mother, dutch friends, went to dutch schools and predominant exposure to dutch family so his natural affinity woul be that way and I wouldn't begrudge him that. However we should be building bridges with him and others like him to create something to counter that.
Agreed. And he's not saying that he definitely won't play for Ireland.
He's 19 and playing a friendly against Germany at this stage of the season,(for a numpty like Givens) is not going to benefit him personally or career wise at this stage.
Direct from FC Utrecht website
FC Utrecht midfielder Barry Maguire is not available for the Irish team under 21. "I remain provisional for Orange play," he says in a comment.
Barry Maguire is in the possession of two passports, one Irish and one Dutch. He was this week by the Irish Association called for the international practice of the Under 21 team against Germany. "I have been whether it would still be a choice for or Orange or the Irish team. After easily have thought, I decided not to accept the invitation, "said the midfielder. "Moreover it does not mean that I am never going to play for Ireland. Only the final choice for a country other than the Netherlands to arrive, I postponed. "
Maguire has played an international agreement with an Irish jeugdteam, but he came out for Orange Under 18 and Under 19.
30/01/2009, 1:54 PM
He has a dutch mother, dutch friends, went to dutch schools and predominant exposure to dutch family so his natural affinity woul be that way and I wouldn't begrudge him that. However we should be building bridges with him and others like him to create something to counter that.
If he wants to play with Holland that's all well and good, and I wish him good luck.
Make these lads want to play for us.....
That goes against the grain of what international football should represent.
So what the hell are the Fai paying that clown for if he cant TRY to talk to the lad who is half Irish.
You can read about his brief here
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0712/1215787862760.html
30/01/2009, 4:21 PM
Saucy Jack posted (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=619633&postcount=2)
McCaffrey “held discussions” with Dutch youngster
February 8, 2007
Republic of Ireland youths boss Sean McCaffrey has revealed that he spoke with Dutch international youngster Barry Maguire about the possibility of representing Ireland.
Maguire, 17 and born in Holland, is a regular at first-team level for Dutch league side Den Bosch and made his under-18 debut for the Dutch AGAINST Ireland on Wednesday night.
He qualifies for Ireland through his Dublin-born father – and even donned the green for a friendly at under-15 level – but now looks destined to slip through McCaffrey’s net.
The Irish chief told the Irish Daily Star: “I had discussions with Barry about playing for us and I thought he was going to declare for Ireland.
“I’ve had scouts over to Holland to watch Barry play for his club and the reports were excellent. If he doesn’t want to play for us, that’s his decision and good luck to him
Paddy Garcia
01/02/2009, 9:19 AM
I don't understand why they named him in the squad!
bwagner
01/02/2009, 9:21 AM
There is another lad attached to 1 of the other dutch clubs callded Adam Maher beinf tracked
01/02/2009, 12:00 PM
I don't understand why they named him in the squad!
It's not that difficult.
The FAI contacted him, he said yes.
He then had second thoughts and pulled out.
The second thoughts could have been inspired by any number of possibilities, himself,the Dutch FA, family, friends, club.
Paddy Garcia
01/02/2009, 1:35 PM
It's not that difficult.
The FAI contacted him, he said yes.
He then had second thoughts and pulled out.
The second thoughts could have been inspired by any number of possibilities, himself,the Dutch FA, family, friends, club.
OK- it was not crystal clear that he said yes - the McCaffrey quote is certainly inconclusive - fair enough if thats the case.
01/02/2009, 7:23 PM
It is the most likely scenario, until proved otherwise.
Barry says he has rejected an invitation to join up but postponed a final decision.
Sure the 2 year old McCaffrey quote is inconclusive.
The McCaffrey quote is evidence that the FAI had watched him and approached him 2 years ago.
bawn79
02/02/2009, 2:49 PM
I know internet petitions are normally laughed at, but in this case it might be of some use.
Send around a link to sign a petition offering the support of the Irish people to Barry Maguire if he would play for Ireland.
Im sure we could get a good few thousand to sign it easily.
Then get MusicinMouth to send it on to him.
I know Id be impressed if I got a petition with thousands of people asking for me to play for Ireland (Unfortunately Im not in the boots of a young talented footballer).
colster
02/02/2009, 5:46 PM
I know internet petitions are normally laughed at, but in this case it might be of some use.
Send around a link to sign a petition offering the support of the Irish people to Barry Maguire if he would play for Ireland.
Im sure we could get a good few thousand to sign it easily.
Then get MusicinMouth to send it on to him.
I know Id be impressed if I got a petition with thousands of people asking for me to play for Ireland (Unfortunately Im not in the boots of a young talented footballer).
I for one would not be signing any such petition. We should'nt have to beg a player to play for us. Most Irish people would give their right arm to play for Ireland.
boovidge
02/02/2009, 5:56 PM
I for one would not be signing any such petition. We should'nt have to beg a player to play for us. Most Irish people would give their right arm to play for Ireland.
Agreed. As I've said before, if he was English-born everyone would be against begging him to play for us. I don't see why it's different because he's Dutch.
I still think there's a reasonable chance he'll turn out for us though.
Newryrep
02/02/2009, 6:43 PM
Pretty much agree with that, he's eligable for us, he eligable for the dutch, he has been asked. If he feels more Dutch than Irish - no hard feelings and wish him all the best
WexCar
02/02/2009, 6:59 PM
i'll imagine he'll wait till just before his 21st birthday if he chooses to play for ireland, as it'll come down to whether or not he believes he will be good enough to regularly make the Dutch senior squad when he gets older.
bawn79
02/02/2009, 7:06 PM
Pretty much agree with that, he's eligable for us, he eligable for the dutch, he has been asked. If he feels more Dutch than Irish - no hard feelings and wish him all the best
Totally understand where ye are coming from, I think I phrased things badly.
I suppose I just meant the petition as a show of the support he would have in Ireland. Its unlikely that he would get such support in Holland and I thought that could be the deciding factor.
I guess I would give anything for the team to be successful and he sounds like a player with great potential.
amaccann
03/02/2009, 7:46 AM
Internet petitions are not worth the paper they're printed on.
bawn79
03/02/2009, 1:55 PM
Internet petitions are not worth the paper they're printed on.
Neither would sending an email to a guys bebo website you would think.
05/02/2009, 9:55 AM
Hey musicinmouth, if you have the time get onto this lad
Paddy John (http://www.imscouting.com/player.aspx?id=b0rg4e/+m15MOaW1mWvMGQ%7C%7C&name=Paddy+John)
He was born in Liberia, and has Dutch nationality but he's clearly a Paddy.
musicinmouth
12/04/2009, 11:40 AM
Ok, so there is an article in the Sunday Times about Barry Maguire... sounds like Don Givens messed up again... he promised Barry that he would still be able to switch back to holland if he played for our U21 team up to the age of 21... that wasn't true as you can only switch once... Givens insisted he was right, when he was not... He did something similar with James McCarthy recently... The article mentioned that Givens believes he has a lot of admirers for not taking any nonsense from players... It also mentions he has been manager for NINE years and we have slipped to fourth seeds in the U21 competitions...
Barry Maguire is too good a player for us to miss out because of Don Givens.
It sounds like Barry would really like to play for us - I have a really strong impression that that is the case...
It's very frustrating that Givens seems to be so reckless with the young players... I don't understand how he is still the manager...
TerryPhelan
12/04/2009, 12:32 PM
Petition is up. Not sure if I got the wording right - even the word 'petition' is regrettably inadequate - as people have written above I don't want to be seen to be begging anyone, but rather than do nothing I would like to let the guy know that there are an awful lot of people here who hope that he does declare for us.
http://www.petitiononline.com/lysaghtb/petition.html
12/04/2009, 6:29 PM
He did something similar with James McCarthy recentlyAfter we played Portugal Givens went on record as saying he had thought that had tied McCarthy to Ireland. How a guy in his position isn't aware of the rules is astonishing.
Givens' influence on Irish international football, underage and senior, is causing damage.
How on earth is he held in such high esteem?
TheBoss
12/04/2009, 9:45 PM
Petition is up. Not sure if I got the wording right - even the word 'petition' is regrettably inadequate - as people have written above I don't want to be seen to be begging anyone, but rather than do nothing I would like to let the guy know that there are an awful lot of people here who hope that he does declare for us.
http://www.petitiononline.com/lysaghtb/petition.html
I think a Don Givens to be removed might have more success as a petition. :D