View Full Version : Official Premiership Thread
Pages :
[
5]
i agree. Im just waiting for the idiots who dont understand to have a personnel attack on him :rolleyes:
oh where have you been all day Gael, its been happening all day long :p
whereas you failed at both. galway played the game superbly. the ST soft piece was the icing. 50% of the points were for off the field, like it or not. id be surprised if more than 3 clubs scored higher than them there. and the fans were integral to the whole process.
loose the chip jebus. as the eastern westerner said, you really have other things to worry about.
Limerick have nothing to do this, so I don't know why you are harping back to it, neither does my dislike of Galway United. All I have been saying on here can be boiled down to me just saying that you and I must have very different viewpoints on competitive sports Hooperatzi
Good man jebus. Signing three players on transfer deadline day, upping the playing budget and getting in Tony Cousins as manager, before going on a run that bettered all other Div 1 clubs over that period... it all constitutes us not giving a damn about winning the league this season.
Gaillimh Al
11/12/2006, 6:37 PM
Yes, we really went out of our way not to win it on the pitch. Scoring the joint highest amount of goals, losing 5 games, equalling a club record 7 wins in a row, accumulating enough points that would have seen us go up most seasons.
Lick of paint? Realignment of floodlights and building of a new stand that will increase capacity to 5,000.
What is it you want Jebus? For us to hang our heads in shame and beg your forgiveness for being invited to this new league. Can you please tell us?
Gaillimh Al,
There's no point arguing with a wall.
11/12/2006, 6:43 PM
Galway beat Waterford by 17 points according to Newstalk. How much was the play-off worth?
Good man jebus. Signing three players on transfer deadline day, upping the playing budget and getting in Tony Cousins as manager, before going on a run that bettered all other Div 1 clubs over that period... it all constitutes us not giving a damn about winning the league this season.
Are you saying that all the Galway bleating about 5-year off the field targets, putting an emphasis on off the field efforts, apparantly at the cost of your team budget (it's been said on here, in this or some other thread today) and the rejoicing at the fact that a committee promoted you means you didn't put an empasis on off the pitch matters? I never said you didn't give a damn about winning the league this season so don't try to put your ill-reason on me :)
What I said if you look back is that you have purposefully gone out trying to achieve off the pitch promotion, which you obviously have, how else would Galway have been promoted? Your club may have tried to get things done one the pitch, but when that failed you lot fell back on trying to persuade a committee to promote you. People can say that every club knew the rules and that Galway just played them well, but all thats constitues is that you purposefully went out looking to get promoted off the pitch. Since your club is the one that is and has been going on about off the field ideas and deeds than I can't see why you would have a problem with me saying this
Well done to Galway.I think they deserved it at Waterfords expense, however if it had been UCD, then I'd be of a different opinion.
Hopefully will get over for one of the derbies next season.
your right Jebus, they should overspend on players, ignore their stadium, not squander money on marketing or youth systems. :D
and the prize for missing the point about the entire criteria approach goes to....
and the prize for not coming up with a reasoned argument as to why this criteria=promotion lark is a good thing (once again)goes to......
Explain, and explain with good reaso and not just because you don't like Bray, i'm dying to hear your explanation as to why we were very lucky to stay up.....
on the field we were WELL ahead of Dundalk and Galway, off the field they were not better than us.
Its not that I don't like Bray. I think your results on the pitch have not been spectacular so ye only ahead of Dundalk & Galway on that front because they quiet poor. Off the pitch in all my years going to Bray I have seen little change aside from DIY stand this season (what is there a mosquito net at the back?). Because you also darwing on support from the south Dublin area you don't gain points for regional factor. IMO galway are miles ahead of you off the pitch in facilities & admin.
Aside from UCD (good admin & on the pitch results saved them) this is probbaly the best 12 clubs collectively for the Premier League. The addition of Galway & Rovers offers more in terms of interest & attendances than other candidates could offer.
See Shels got a license again. Despite the 3 winding up orders. Wonder did it come up?
Despise Dundalk, glad we'll never play them again. Unlucky on waterford who seemed to be sorting themselves out after a few ****s being in charge of them
exiled_gufc_fan
11/12/2006, 7:15 PM
IThese same fans will have heard and read that it was a playoff final and thought it sos
Can you point me in the direction of any of these reports? The one I read in The Irish Times was very careful to state exactly what the position of the play-off!
Gaillimh Al
11/12/2006, 7:24 PM
Look, at the end of the day, for better or worse, we're going to be in this league next year. Plans will be put in place tomorrow for next season and it should be exciting.
Jebus, and others who are against this, you have the right to your opinion and fair play for envoking a lively debate. However, I dont like your snide comments about our club and the way it is being run. It's an insult to the people who have worked hard since 1978 to have a League of Ireland club in Galway city. There have been a couple of occasions where the club has nearly gone to the wall and only for the hard work of dedicated people we wouldn't be in this position now. So why shouldn't they be proud that their achievement in turning this club into one of the better run in the country has helped out the club's on-field ambitions.
Objections to the way this selection was picked is fair enough, but castigating the club's officials for doing all it possibly could is wrong.
Once again, I ask, what would you have us do?
11/12/2006, 7:28 PM
Because you also darwing on support from the south Dublin area you don't gain points for regional factor.
I love this idea - Bray would get more bonus points if their support came exclusively from Wicklow and wasn't contaminated by proximity to the nation's capital. Unfortunately, this is about the level the IAG, with their vague 'regionality' notions, are operating at. Was the deciding factor in leaving out Waterford and Dundalk their location in the eastern half of the country:confused: :eek:
cavan_fan
11/12/2006, 7:28 PM
Whew, having just read through all the posts, I defintiely agree this should be done every year. Far more exciting than mere football.
There are 2 debates here, one contentious about whether the idea of 50% off field is a good one, most people obviously think not as this is supposed to be a competitive sport. (I guess even many Galway fans agree on this). From a neutral point of view seems a bit silly to do this then have straight promotion/relegation next year if the idea is to promote long term stability.
The second debate is whether, given that system, the results are correct. There doesnt seem to be as much disagreement on this, though of course the whole thing is so subjective that its hard to say if Galway are really worth 19 points (or whatever) more than Waterford.
Might help if people were clearer about which they are angry about.
11/12/2006, 7:35 PM
Galway beat Waterford by 17 points according to Newstalk. How much was the play-off worth?
There was a differnce of one point for this season's standings between winninh/losing the playoff. Then that would have been added to FAI Cup points, League Cup etc. If that one point meant that Waterford would have scored more points for this season than the team placed ahead of them they would have gotten 10 extra points for the final score.
BrayUnknowns
11/12/2006, 7:40 PM
Its not that I don't like Bray. I think your results on the pitch have not been spectacular so ye only ahead of Dundalk & Galway on that front because they quiet poor. Off the pitch in all my years going to Bray I have seen little change aside from DIY stand this season (what is there a mosquito net at the back?). Because you also darwing on support from the south Dublin area you don't gain points for regional factor. IMO galway are miles ahead of you off the pitch in facilities & admin.
Aside from UCD (good admin & on the pitch results saved them) this is probbaly the best 12 clubs collectively for the Premier League. The addition of Galway & Rovers offers more in terms of interest & attendances than other candidates could offer.
That's a good sensible reply, not normally i'd expect in a Bray/Cork thread, BUT and it's a big BUT, there are some serious wrong points in your anwer. Bray are one of the best run clubs in th league, our admin is 2nd to none. We have never ever onced missed player payments, never been in trouble with the courts (winding up orders etc). Our youth set up is excellent as well, we have an official link up with our Feeder club (Joeys) which we have 1st choice on all there top youth players, our 21 side are one of the best in the country, We also have a great record of developing players (Jason Byrne and Eamon Zyed are only 2 from a long list) ground improvements have slowely taken place over the past few seasons which include a new stand, new toilets and new press and media facilities, a new hospitality hut was also installed. It took us a while buut that was down to objections to planning premission, this has all now been passed and yet more plans are in place to further improve the ground. We are the only senior football club in wicklow, which means with the right marketing and money we have a massive tarket to tap into.
The regional thing has nothing to do with it what so ever, it's to do with the best clubs in the country, and we finished 10th this season meaning we fully deserve to be in the premier and that's not even taking off the field into account. We were well clear (70 or so points) of Galway on the pitch, so that point would be pretty invalid as well. What extra hae galway done to Teryland Park over the past couple of years ?
It comes down o what clubs people like and dislike.
IMO, any club who has been or ended up in the courts with winding up orders should not be in the premier, clearly shows they don't know ho to run a business in the correct manner, but that just my opnion.
I never expected us to be selected, our appaling seasons of 03 + 04 saw any hope of that quickly fade away.
Now regarding the 12, I have no probs with 10 of them, all fully derseved. Maybe UCD dont tick everyones boxes, but they are a well run club and have performed very well, finishing 6th this season.
What I do have a major issue with is Bray and Galway ?? What exactly have they done to get there over us ?
Bray, I`d hazzard a guess and say they budget their survial totally on dublin derby gates, they have very moderate support and have been with us since all of 1984 winning two trophys. A very friendly but ulitmately a first divsion club in every sense of the word, in fact a role model for Wexford Town to follow.
Galway, good support, decent stadium, alive and kicking since 1978 in the shape of Galway Rovers, I remember well the old terryland with the farm gates at each corner, give credit to their turn around though, but again very moderate sucess, a haul of one trophy, won in 1991 and relegated with us in 2002, and like us have been there ever since, so apart from everyones fav away trip, what was the difference. Better pubs ?
Yes we did sign up for this, but had we a choice ? why did the fai go ahead with the play off costing us thousands of euro ? is that not a more pressing concern for neutrals.
As I said I never expected us to go up but to see these two chosen ahead of is simply scandalous.
What I do have a major issue with is Bray and Galway ?? What exactly have they done to get there over us ?
we have finish above dundalk in the last 4 years and this is the first year ye finished above us and everyone is shocked that you didnt get a place thats why galway got there place and there also well organised off the pitch so why are people shocked that galway leapfroged dundalk when they were always going to finish ahead of them
11/12/2006, 9:09 PM
It's a disgrace that Dundalk who finished 2nd and won the play off don't get promoted and yet Galway who finished 3rd and weren't good enough on the pitch do.
Another great decision by the FAI:rolleyes:
mcgonigle
11/12/2006, 9:18 PM
Despise Dundalk, glad we'll never play them again.
Why are Pats folding???
It's a disgrace that Dundalk who finished 2nd and won the play off don't get promoted and yet Galway who finished 3rd and weren't good enough on the pitch do.
But that was this year it was over the last 4 years and we ve finished above them so we were better on the pitch too over the last 4 years and they think its shocking and go CRYING to the media well al i can say is FECK DUNDALK
If Dundalk had finished say third like Galway..who is better prepared to tackle the Premier? Galway.
Had Dundalk finished second with no playoff, who's better prepared to tackle the Premier? Galway.
A friendly 'playoff' that meant very little is all Dundalk have to cling to. I'm sure there's plenty in the thread here about what was the point of playing the 'playoff' when it had no impact...but now that Dundalk win it, suddenly it's their basis for promotion and expect to be promoted.
Nonsense. Dundalk are where they were going to be either way. Get over it.
mcgonigle
11/12/2006, 9:27 PM
and there also well organised off the pitch
That wont save Galway next season, they might have to get a successful team, now theres a challenge all the marketing and facilities in the world wont achieve....
Although it might you never know what the F.A.I will do next
11/12/2006, 9:36 PM
But that was this year it was over the last 4 years and we ve finished above them so we were better on the pitch too over the last 4 years and they think its shocking and go CRYING to the media well al i can say is FECK DUNDALKMy point is that is shouldn't be based on previous seasons, the only season it should be based on is the 2006 one and in that, Dundalk finished higher, therefore should be promoted.
11/12/2006, 9:45 PM
But that was this year it was over the last 4 years and we ve finished above them so we were better on the pitch too over the last 4 years and they think its shocking and go CRYING to the media well al i can say is FECK DUNDALK
Oh God, we're back on this roundabout again. :rolleyes:
Partizan
11/12/2006, 9:49 PM
Can anyone tell me how UCD and Bray outscored us in the off field criteria. I'd love to see a breakdown of the points. Unless our presentation team ****ed up royaly during the presentation or something is amiss here.
Our situation (on the pitch)
League - 6th, 5th, 8th, 12th (Premier)
Cup Runners up in 2004
Off the pitch: New 1700 seater stand, new press facilities, toilets, offices, turnstiles, 2 all weather pitches, link up with WIT with the scholarship schemes. Link up with local junior and schoolboy leagues. These plans are not pie in the sky, they are written down on paper. The plans are on view in Waterford City Council offices.
Delaney told Club officials and fans including myself that we were safe. that would explain why the Managemnet Committee wrote this season off. However it seems that Galway and Bray made up ground on us for off pitch criteria. How is that and also Des Cahill stated on Radio 1 that we scored more points overall than Galway???
Dumbfounded.
11/12/2006, 9:55 PM
Delaney told Club officials and fans including myself that we were safe. that would explain why the Managemnet Committee wrote this season off.
More fool you for believing him. It's been said here all season that pretty much everyone was told they were in.
chippie0001
11/12/2006, 9:58 PM
How is that and also Des Cahill stated on Radio 1 that we scored more points overall than Galway???
Dumbfounded.
Sorry can anyone confirm the scoring for clubs or if this is true. I have heard this a few times now and cannot believe it. As someone not in favour of this process, if the above is true, we may as wlel throw our hats at it.
11/12/2006, 9:59 PM
Stated elsewhere that Newstalk reported Galway as coming 19 or so points ahead of Waterford.
11/12/2006, 10:02 PM
Your post is garbage, ORA.
Irish domestic football is broken, but that fact is irrelevant in this context. Nobody's saying things are perfect.
UEFA statutes ought to govern all aspects of football in Europe.
If you think football isn't about 22 men on a pitch, then you're as much a fan of football as the G14 directors, Galway fans and the Glazers.
The fact about UEFA Licencing is that a club who qualified on field for the Premier has to get a licence; if they get it, they are in. Dundalk won what we will call for the moment a promotion play-off, got a Premier Division licence and were not promoted. That's a fundamentally huge difference.
Not like you to post such rubbish.Your view is completely self-serving.
UCD's relative success in LoI football is based purely on the relevant inadequacy of every other club in the League to organise and run themselves in a professional manner.
Every other club has a large potential fanbase that has been tapped into at various times over the past few generations or so, except UCD.You have zero crowd growth potential and have admitted as such. Ergo you are in favour of everything that maintains the status quo, ie if clubs are continued to be run as a shambles, UCD profits as it is a well run university club with limited growth potential.
Doubling or trebling attendences in the League would inevitably force UCD down to 1st or U-21 division status as they have extremely limited marketability, so why am I not surprised you are, en masse, against it?
The phrase "turkeys voting for Christmas" is used a lot on here. Had UCD voted for the new league it would have been a clear example of that.
As for your corinthian spirit, jumpers for goalposts ethos, what a load of crap.
EL clubs are, by and large, multi-million euro businesses run by muppets. In any other business which had a wage bill of 20-50 euro a week would more than likely be run by someone with a business qualification, not a bunch of old lads in their spare time.
You can say what you want about UEFA's rules, fair play and the like but I can assure you UEFA will be fully behind the FAI's approach.
I seem to remember your preferred option of improving football was by dishing out equal amounts of cap ex and development money to all clubs. If ever there was a way to reward the laggard, thats it.
11/12/2006, 10:13 PM
Your view is completely self-serving.
I find that hard seeing as I didn't mention UCD once.
Doubling or trebling attendences in the League would inevitably force UCD down to 1st or U-21 division status as they have extremely limited marketability, so why am I not surprised you are, en masse, against it?
Oh sweet Jesus. How on earth do we have so many stupid posts from stupid people here?!?!
I am against this because it's a complete violation of sporting principles. It is, in short, c0ck. How hard is that to understand? It didn't help that muppets like yourself seem to prefer that UCD not be in the league, but the simple, overriding points are -
(a) It's completely against everything sport stands for and
(b) nobody - including you in your post - have actually said how this is good for the league. Why should something be accepted because Delaney says it's great or because you mention phrases like "doubling or trebling attendances" and "Irish football is broken"? Do you honestly listen to or believe yourself talking?!
I seem to remember your preferred option of improving football was by dishing out equal amounts of cap ex and development money to all clubs. If ever there was a way to reward the laggard, thats it.
Wrong, as usual. However, I was in favour of a more even distribution of prize money so as to maintain stable growth in the league, to reduce the possibility of one club running away with things every season as they got richer and richer and to prevent financial rollercoasters as clubs go financially all out and then some to win the title money to recoup what they spent aerning it in the first place. Which is quite different to what you posted.
Frankfurt Hoop
11/12/2006, 10:18 PM
I can't see what all the fuss is about really. Dundalk signed their death warrant when they voted for the qualifying criteria. They just had far too many points to make up off the field.
Waterford fans have some very legitimate questions to ask of their own board as well as of the FAI. They have a lot going for them off the pitch, was their presentation to the IAG that bad that they dropped 80 points to Galway?
Student Mullet
11/12/2006, 10:18 PM
Can anyone tell me how UCD and Bray outscored us in the off field criteria.I don't know, I'm actually as shocked as you are. When I heard that Bray and Galway are up I tought we were gone for sure.
My guess would be that writing this season off did yee no favours and yee did have some trouble staying in existance last season which may or may not have counted but it looks to me like UCD and Bray simply gave better presentations. It is completly messed up that a club can be relegated or promoted on the basis of their chairman's public speaking skills.
11/12/2006, 10:21 PM
It is potentially good for the League as it is a crude, but valid, attempt at picking out those clubs that will benefit most from an injection of money from the centre and improve the standing of the league in general hopefully resulting in a better product and all the benefits that come from that.
Money thrown about in a haphazard manner to all clubs will result in maintenance of the status quo.
Do you or don't you subscribe to the view that EL football is broken and if it is, how do you propose fixing it?
Student Mullet
11/12/2006, 10:27 PM
UCD's relative success in LoI football is based purely on the relevant inadequacy of every other club in the League to organise and run themselves in a professional manner.I largely agree with you on this point but the blame here is with the clubs which run themselved badly, not with UCD for being well run.
I don't agree with you here. UCD competes in the top division of pretty much every sport in the country (though the rugger team is doing its best to change that), we've even been thrown out of the hurling because we're too good at it.
If you believe UCD are going to be left behind at some point, then you only need wait for it to happen. It hasn't happened yet and I'm not holding my breath. The idea that UCD is trying to hold the league back to prevent our relegation is a bit of a conspiracy theory.
11/12/2006, 10:49 PM
Can anyone tell me how UCD and Bray outscored us in the off field criteria. I'd love to see a breakdown of the points. Unless our presentation team ****ed up royaly during the presentation or something is amiss here.
Our situation (on the pitch)
League - 6th, 5th, 8th, 12th (Premier)
Cup Runners up in 2004
Off the pitch: New 1700 seater stand, new press facilities, toilets, offices, turnstiles, 2 all weather pitches, link up with WIT with the scholarship schemes. Link up with local junior and schoolboy leagues. These plans are not pie in the sky, they are written down on paper. The plans are on view in Waterford City Council offices.
Honestly, what do you actually do significantly better than UCD? We've got just as concrete plans to bring the Belfield Bowl up to standard by April, we've got just as much other facilities, we have the scholarship programme for decades, we have schoolboy link up and we have a history of proper governance and sound financial management coupled with a decent off the field record this season particularly. As far as Bray are concerned I can't see how they fare much worse. The only criticism I had for Bray was about the Carlisle and that's being sorted.
UCD are not unmarketable. We're still newish to the league, we started off in the geographical shadow of Shamrock Rovers, we entered Irish senior football at a point when its support was actually collapsing. It's going to take some time for the club to cultivate and establish a fanbase. It's being slowly done working from grassroots football. The club lacks the man power to market itself at the moment but hopefully the Club Promotion Officer will help address this. There's no actual reason why the fanbase cannot be developed over time.
To suggest that UCD only enjoy any degree of success due to the mismanagement of other clubs and that the whole league is just waiting to race ahead and leave us behind is nonsense. The only clubs that are significantly ahead of us in this country seem to be spending high above income level apart from Derry. If all clubs were managed properly we'd be doing even better. We're that well run, how else do you think we scored so high off the field in spite of attendances and geography counting against us?
Gareth
11/12/2006, 10:58 PM
I have to say Waterford had the worst pitch in the league on the visits we made. The surface was awful.
Its been that for at least the last 3 years & no attempt at improving. The ground is also one of the worst in the league & thats saying a lot. Stand is far away from the pitch & if you unlucky enough be be outside will be lucky to see anything of the game. If you site on the last 5 seats on the side cannot see the goalmouth of the near penalty area. Stewarding is hopeless too on my last couple of visits with stand clearly over capacity by 200-300 people.
Off the pitch is more than just ground facilities though, involves planning for the good & bad, budgeting & basically good governence.
I think the FAI wanted to have a South East derby for when Wexford County enter the 1st division :p
BTW if you disapprove of the IAG priocess any chance could add link with your disapproving posts when this was announced 6 months ago?
LukeO
12/12/2006, 12:03 AM
Sorry can anyone confirm the scoring for clubs or if this is true. I have heard this a few times now and cannot believe it. As someone not in favour of this process, if the above is true, we may as wlel throw our hats at it.
I'd be shocked if that's true. He may have confused the on-the-field points with the final combined results of the on-the-field points and the off-the-field points. :confused:
12/12/2006, 1:22 AM
UCD are not unmarketable.
We're still newish to the league.
:D :D
It's going to take some time for the club to cultivate and establish a fanbase. The club lacks the man power to market itself at the moment. There's no actual reason why the fanbase cannot be developed over time.
UCD have been in the league for 30-odd years, have won the cup, been in Europe, play in a vast sports campus, and have a couple of thousand students living around the ground. Why can't you build a fanbase or market your club?
If you were ground-hopping around the city like we are every year to find somewhere to play with your resources, you would have gone the same way as Home Farm long ago.
Dave drummerboy
12/12/2006, 1:34 AM
First post here since i heard the news , i thought that it would be rovers and same 11 . Well done to galway . The clubs all agreed to this at start of the season and we new our last four years were not going to help we done very well in the off field stuff but not good enough to make up for last four years . We actually done better then shels shams and drogs and more . The only thing that is really bugging me is why have a ****ing playoff . That was said about 6 weeks before end of season when we were top of the league so why have one if it was not gonna count at all . Was it to try save rovers if needs be i dont know . Lot of people are angry that the fact galway came third and went up . Thay had one of the best off the field set ups and have done a bit better then us in the first div in the last few years . Best of luck to galway and hopefully we can come back stronger then ever and rip apart all the teams in the first and go up .
12/12/2006, 2:19 AM
As I said before, no 2 clubs from the same county outside Dublin were going in, and as Drogheda had already taken the Louth spot, there was only one division left for Dundalk to go to. It happened.
exiled_gufc_fan
12/12/2006, 6:19 AM
The Indo have published some of the scores that were leaked by the clubs.
Derry City
On The Field: 460. Off The Field: 370. Total: 830 (Premier Div))
Bohemians
On The Field: 420. Off The Field: 371. Total: 791 (Premier Div))
Shelbourne
On The Field: 493. Off The Field: 278. Total: 771 (Premier Div)
UCD
On The Field: 370. Off The Field: 374. Total: 744 (Premier Div)
Drogheda United
On The Field: 437. Off The Field: 300. Total: 737 (Premier Div)
Shamrock Rovers
On The Field: 380. Off The Field: 346. Total: 726 (Premier Div)
Sligo Rovers
On The Field: 340. Off The Field: 360. Total: 700 (Premier Div)
Bray Wanderers
On The Field: 333. Off The Field: 351. Total: 684 (Premier Div)
Galway
On The Field: 260. Off The Field: 389. Total: 649 (Premier Div)
Waterford
On The Field: 337. Off The Field: 295. Total: 632 (First Div)
Dundalk
On The Field: 247. Off The Field: 348. Total: 595 (First Div)
Cork City
On The Field: 460. Off The Field: N/A. (Premier Div)
Longford Town
On The Field: 430. Off The Field: N/A. (Premier Div)
St Patrick's Athletic
On The Field: 410. Off The Field: N/A. (Premier Div)
Mind you the journalist covering the story for them reminded everyone of his club allegiance!! Although I do agree with his view that scores should be published by the FAI.
Does that mean Derry are this years champions?
Full points breakdown (i.e for each individual section) MUST be released
Real ale Madrid
12/12/2006, 7:44 AM
[QUOTE=Frankfurt Hoop;589964]I can't see what all the fuss is about really. Dundalk signed their death warrant when they voted for the qualifying criteria. They just had far too many points to make up off the field.
QUOTE]
Can someone form Dundalk come on and shed some light on this. After ye beat Waterford to win the play-off ye celebrated as if ye had been promoted? To me these are not the actions of a team who signed their own death warrant at the start of the season? Loads of people throughout the thread have been saying tough luck to Dundalk ye signed up for this in the first place so b******s to ye now. Fine if they did but did they know did anyone know the real criteria for promotion to this fantastic new FAI league thats going to sort out all our problems? They should not have even bothered showing up to the playoff against Waterford in my opinion because according to lots of people on this thread they knew full well, having signed up for the process at the start that it was pointless winning it anyway?
UCD
On The Field: 370. Off The Field: 374. Total: 744 (Premier Div)
Galway
On The Field: 260. Off The Field: 389. Total: 649 (Premier Div)
So, if these are correct, so far GUFC lead the way for off the feild with UCD coming a close 2nd ? Even there supporters must be shocked at this??
12/12/2006, 7:55 AM
Full points breakdown (i.e for each individual section) MUST be released
Agreed.
The FAI and IAG need to release the points breakdown and reveal how the off-field points totals were reached. If, at that stage, it is shown as being handled professionally, no-one can have any complaints. The longer that there is uncertainty, rumour and accusations of favouritism the longer this rubbish will drag on.
I know it's going back a year, but the criteria for a Premier Licence are set out (though they should be more stringently applied, they're still a mystery at times), and the 12 teams who perform best on the field while receiving a premier licence should form the Premier League.
But clubs (I assume) were aware of what they had to achieve to get the off-field points, Galway saw their opportunity and took it. Others didn't.
On a purely personal level, I'm delighted to see them up.
12/12/2006, 8:18 AM
UCD coming a close 2nd ? Even there supporters must be shocked at this??
No. We always knew we were one of the best run clubs in the country. We just didn't expect to be rewarded because of it like Galway fans.
That figure is correct for UCD anyway, so overall, the figures appear good. Nice to see Shels getting a fairly low score. Waterford must have a fair few problems to iron out yet that they can only beat Shels by ten or so points.
Oh, and the detailed breakdown was never going to be released by the FAI. Too scared clubs would complain.
It is potentially good for the League as it is a crude, but valid, attempt at picking out those clubs that will benefit most from an injection of money from the centre and improve the standing of the league in general hopefully resulting in a better product and all the benefits that come from that.
But that completely goes against the idea of a sporting competition to favour some clubs!! If they're good enough, they'll come up to the Premier and thrive there in due course. If not, why the hell should they get a helping hand?
Do you or don't you subscribe to the view that EL football is broken and if it is, how do you propose fixing it?
I do subscribe to the theory. However, this is not the solution, which you seem to have problems grasping. My solution would be to apply licencing competently and get all clubs well run and solvent. The league may well worsen in the short term, but in the long term, it'll end up with 22 viable members who don't go to the wall every few months and can build and go forward on solid foundations.
incident
12/12/2006, 8:25 AM
Can someone form Dundalk come on and shed some light on this. After ye beat Waterford to win the play-off ye celebrated as if ye had been promoted? To me these are not the actions of a team who signed their own death warrant at the start of the season? Loads of people throughout the thread have been saying tough luck to Dundalk ye signed up for this in the first place so b******s to ye now. Fine if they did but did they know did anyone know the real criteria for promotion to this fantastic new FAI league thats going to sort out all our problems? They should not have even bothered showing up to the playoff against Waterford in my opinion because according to lots of people on this thread they knew full well, having signed up for the process at the start that it was pointless winning it anyway?
Dundalk might have celebrated as though they'd got promoted - but if they thought that they were guaranteed a spot in the top flight then they were clearly mistaken.
Anyone who'd read the criteria (even the limited information that was made publically available) knew that this seasons results (including the playoff) would not ensure a place in the new Premier Division. Dundalk would've been aware of this just like every other club.
The only way that a club can really have any complaints is if the IAG haven't followed the published criteria, which is why the breakdown of figures should be made public.