Pages :
[
3]
mcgonigle
11/12/2006, 4:10 PM
Nothin compared to Rovers setup, eh NY Hoop, head out of ar*e time i think
gerryscore
11/12/2006, 4:12 PM
excellent post jebus, basically what i would have tried to say though my post would probably have been a LOT more bitter and resentful
gerryscore
11/12/2006, 4:13 PM
in fairness mcgonigle, i'm sure whoever's setup they borrow next season will be excellent.
11/12/2006, 4:14 PM
Mind if i use that in my sig?
By all means, Anto, go ahead.
11/12/2006, 4:15 PM
Excellent post Jebus. Decisions like this one has me scratching my own head wondering why i support this league.
Poor student,Much appreicated.
11/12/2006, 4:16 PM
Well lads anyone who comes on here moaning next year about why the 'barstool monkeys' won't support their local teams can shove it as far as I'm concerned. This ruling from day one was always going to make a farce out of the League of Ireland and we have been told all along (in truth mostly by Galway 'fans'*) to just accept it. Galway being put up in place of Dundalk makes this league a ****ing joke in most people's eyes, well the people who count anyway, the 'barstool monkeys' who the FAI are trying to entice back to watching this sham of a league.
How can we expect anyone with a passing interest in League of Ireland football to give a toss about it now? Or how can expect to point out the merits of a competitive FAI Premiership to non-League of Ireland fans now? All any of them have to(and trust me will do) is point to this nonsense and ask how we can support such tripe. Its a ****ing disgrace and any Galway fan coming on here bleating about it should be ashamed of themselves
*In my, and many other fans eyes the vast majority of people who supported this from day one have been Galway fans, and thats not even mentioning the pig headed crowing they have been doing in the last few weeks on this website about this. Apologies to any Galway supporter who saw sense and didn't support this for lumping you in with that shower. I said 'fans' because I can't honestly say that I think of them as 'football fans' given all this 'we're best off the field' nonsense they have been coming out with, try winning something on the pitch lads before you start thumping your chest
We're in the Premier league Jebus so by all means continue your anti Galway rants.:)
I'll leave it off til you lot are back where you belong in the First Division. I see Galway supporters are organising a 'Promotion Party'. Truly pathetic from Franchise FC
gerryscore
11/12/2006, 4:18 PM
firm dismissal of any anti-galway in the premier argument from conor h, seems to be applying the same amount of brainpower into his responses as the fai put into this ****ing league.
11/12/2006, 4:19 PM
You're right. You are light years behind us in how to run a matchday i.e. making sure the visiting supporters can exit safely, cameramen arent attacked etc etc.
Enjoy yet another year in the graveyard. You wont be missed.
You'd swear this was a surprise.
Instead of whinging on here about the FAI why don't ye whinge to yere clubs Dundalk included who signed up for the thing.
Dundalk knew full well when they signed up they hadn't a hope of making the premier but it now the whinge about it.
Waterford can have no complaints. They lost the "relegation/promotion" playoff so they can hardly complain they replaced by Galway instead of Dundalk.
Dundalk signed up to this independent process & now they moaning because they not like the result. Does this mean Dundalks signature worht nothing.
Bray are very lucky to survive.
Philly
11/12/2006, 4:19 PM
I really don't get this.
The system was agreed to by ALL the clubs that are currently in the league.
If you have a problem, you all ought to be bashing your club reps who voted FOR this change and system, not a club that participated fully in it and ticked most of the boxes required.
Seriously. A bit of common sonse wouldn't go afar here....
11/12/2006, 4:20 PM
I have been saying all along Dundalk knew before a Ball was kicked this year they wouldnt make it and the independence of the IAG is surely shown by the demotion of Waterford.
You have to wonder, what the hell was going on when Waterford were given these unofficial oral guarantees by FAI men (possibly Delaney himself) when evidently they went down?
11/12/2006, 4:22 PM
I really don't get this.
The system was agreed to by ALL the clubs that are currently in the league.
If you have a problem, you all ought to be bashing your club reps who voted FOR this change and system, not a club that participated fully in it and ticked most of the boxes required.
Seriously. A bit of common sonse wouldn't go afar here....
Sense is not common in Dundalk. Witness their whinging now and in coming days. No sympathy.
gerryscore
11/12/2006, 4:23 PM
you have to wonder why the teams with 'no chance' of getting into the league bothered fielding a team this year. unneccessary expense.
bigmac
11/12/2006, 4:24 PM
What can I say, Dundalk got shafted on the playing side. Waterford relegated deservedly in a normal year, but probably as an example this year. Looks like doing what the FAI wants you to do and live within your means doesn't get you a place in the super dooper premier thingy after all. I'm disappointed obviously, but I'll wait to see what the full story is as regards scores etc. before I make my mind up. Either way, by the time the league gets cut to 10 it'll be back to the best 10 teams on the pitch - a waste of a year in my opinion.
Just wondering does anyone else think that the easiest way to get into the 10 team premier will be by promotion the year 3 go down?
11/12/2006, 4:24 PM
firm dismissal of any anti-galway in the premier argument from conor h, seems to be applying the same amount of brainpower into his responses as the fai put into this ****ing league.
PREMIER LEAGUE.
bigmac
11/12/2006, 4:26 PM
You have to wonder, what the hell was going on when Waterford were given these unofficial oral guarantees by FAI men (possibly Delaney himself) when evidently they went down?
have to prove the committee's independence somehow.
PREMIER LEAGUE.
Don't be such a d*ckhead. You don't deserve to be there and you know it.
Battery Rover
It is tough on Dundalk but they knew from the start as we did. I wonder how long it will take Gill to come out roaring on the radio or somewhere saying that they have been shafted.
gerryscore
11/12/2006, 4:27 PM
i look forward to the galway celebrations. it is a big achievement for a club the size of galway to only finish one position behind dundalk. a big well done to all concerned with galway united.
People, every club signed up for this. No-matter how much they rant on about how they should be in the Premier, they agreed to sign to this agreement and therefore they coudnt turn back on it. I do agree that Dundalk should be in because they beat Waterford in the play-off but when they signed up to the agreement they knew exactly what was required to get into the new premiership and they didnt match it. Its hard lines but thats what they agreed to. Also i have no sympathy for Waterford, they thought they'd bring in **** players and rest on their laurels thinking Mr Delaney will secure their place in the Premier. Well hard lines yeez didnt get in, good luck in the First Division:p .....plus it means we only have to travel to Munster twice next year!! :D :D
Its a ****ing disgrace and any Galway fan coming on here bleating about it should be ashamed of themselves
*In my, and many other fans eyes the vast majority of people who supported this from day one have been Galway fans, and thats not even mentioning the pig headed crowing they have been doing in the last few weeks on this website about this. Apologies to any Galway supporter who saw sense and didn't support this for lumping you in with that shower. I said 'fans' because I can't honestly say that I think of them as 'football fans' given all this 'we're best off the field' nonsense they have been coming out with, try winning something on the pitch lads before you start thumping your chest
PREMIER LEAGUE.
Damn I love being proved right about those Galway 'supporters' ;) :rolleyes:
11/12/2006, 4:34 PM
The clubs (and a lot of posters on here) can whinge all they want about off-field points etc. but they signed up to the process, so it really is a case of tough luck, unless Dundalk or Waterford can prove that the criteria was not adhered to or applied rigourously and consistently.
I'd be surprised if they can prove this to be honest. The IAG were set up as an independent body specifically to avoid allegations of favouritism and the like and they SHOULD have evidenced all their decisions in great detail as they surely knew that there was always going to be one or more clubs very unhappy with the results.
Intuitively the results make sense. It is well known that Galway focused on long-term off-field structures at the expense of short-term on field performance over the past few years (the anti-Shels) and they are being rewarded for this. Not sure on Waterford's structures but they can't be that good or they would have been shouting from the rooftops about them. Dundalk can't be surprised and last weeks announcement about the training centre has been shown up for what it was, a last minute attempt to get in the headlines. I suspect UCD's late season rally on the pitch was their saving grace.
More interesting (to me at least) is the criteria going forward. Are on field and off field criteria going to be used for promotion/relegation going forward? If you think about it, its ridiculous that they wouldn't be as you would end up with clubs slipping back into short-termist behaviour of spending too much on players wages and not enough on development and infrastructure.
If the FAI has any sense they will divvy out the windfall payments they have been promising the new set up would bring based on the off field criteria (rather than simply dividing by the number of clubs or putting it all into prizemoney).
bigmac
11/12/2006, 4:34 PM
Also i have no sympathy for Waterford, they thought they'd bring in **** players and rest on their laurels thinking Mr Delaney will secure their place in the Premier.
Yeah cos John Delaney's done so much for the club :rolleyes: He's our Kilcoyne FFS!
We brought in the only players we could afford and we have a debt free club that is no longer making a loss each year. If that costs us a season or two in the first division then fine, but get your facts straight before you start posting such rubbish.
Have you seen any Waterford supporters on here giving out about the result?
can I assume there will now be court cases, recriminations, accusations and all of the usual Irish senior football shenanigans.
At the same time the English premiership will have a rip roaring league title race....all of the 12 year old kids and future football supporters will be glued to RTE news and Supreme Court to get the results of the Irish premier league NOT! How boring compared to Match of the DAy, Sky Sports Super Sunday....
At least the FAI tried to have a process laid out in advance - but when the result of the process does not go the way that someone wants then the process was faulty and it should have just been straight league results.
The public are votingh with their feet....
People, every club signed up for this. No-matter how much they rant on about how they should be in the Premier, they agreed to sign to this agreement and therefore they coudnt turn back on it. I do agree that Dundalk should be in because they beat Waterford in the play-off but when they signed up to the agreement they knew exactly what was required to get into the new premiership and they didnt match it. Its hard lines but thats what they agreed to. Also i have no sympathy for Waterford, they thought they'd bring in **** players and rest on their laurels thinking Mr Delaney will secure their place in the Premier. Well hard lines yeez didnt get in, good luck in the First Division:p .....plus it means we only have to travel to Munster twice next year!! :D :D
Amazing how this line of arguement is coming out of people who support clubs who this no promotion/relegation issue had no effect on whatsoever. What do you think would happen if, say Dundalk, had voted against it? Do you think that would have stopped this happening? Because all I think would have happened there would they would either a) have had no chance of being promoted this year because the FAI would have a grudge against them, or b) be kicked out of the league altogether because the FAI would have had a grudge against them. Do you really think Dundalk voting against this would have stopped it? Really?
GalwayFrancis
11/12/2006, 4:36 PM
Damn I love being proved right about those Galway 'supporters' ;) :rolleyes:
so what do you see as a 'supporter' jebus?
someone who attends every match he can, someone who organises buses so other supporters can go to away game, someone who spends alot of time and effort incouraging other people to go to matches and someone who spends money out of his own pocket to make the terraces a louder and more colourful place?
well if so, conor H is a very big 'supporter', as are the majority of gufc's regular fans
11/12/2006, 4:36 PM
I suspect UCD's late season rally on the pitch was their saving grace.
No, our off the field set up was always going to be an advantage too.
Just heard on RTÉ radio that Waterford got more points than Galway, but Galway were chosen to be ahead of them!:eek:
gerryscore
11/12/2006, 4:39 PM
this galway promotion stinks to high heaven if the rumour they scored less than waterford is true.
GalwayFrancis
11/12/2006, 4:40 PM
Amazing how this line of arguement is coming out of people who support clubs who this no promotion/relegation issue had no effect on whatsoever.
well technically this process effected every club, even the mighty derry city had to go before the IAG and be evaluated. do you think if derry didnt show up to their IAG meeting, that theyd be in the premiership, only scoring out of the 50% on field activities?
MarkyH
11/12/2006, 4:41 PM
I'd say Deleaney is disgusted that UCD finished so high in the league that he couldn't relegate them. Galway always had all the right ingredients (not on the field though) to appeal to Delaney and his cohorts - PR, marketing, media coverage, 5 year plans etc. To me it looked like Waterford gave up trying on the field as they presumed they were going to be in the Premier League no matter what next year.
so what do you see as a 'supporter' jebus?
someone who attends every match he can, someone who organises buses so other supporters can go to away game, someone who spends alot of time and effort incouraging other people to go to matches and someone who spends money out of his own pocket to make the terraces a louder and more colourful place?
well if so, conor H is a very big 'supporter', as are the majority of gufc's regular fans
Quite simply someone who believs in their club achieving their goals on the pitch. After all are we not meant to be supporters of a competitive game? Its that simple GalwayFrancis, that simple.
The Celtic League teams in rugby must be ****ing themselves laughing at us, how are we going to win fans from them?
11/12/2006, 4:43 PM
I'd say Deleaney is disgusted that UCD finished so high in the league that he couldn't relegate them.
Criteria etc...:rolleyes:
11/12/2006, 4:44 PM
Nice trip to Galway now. Can't see how clubs can complain if they signed up to the bloody thing :rolleyes:
well technically this process effected every club, even the mighty derry city had to go before the IAG and be evaluated. do you think if derry didnt show up to their IAG meeting, that theyd be in the premiership, only scoring out of the 50% on field activities?
Do you think for one second that Derry were ever in danger of being relegated? Do you think that they wouldn't show up for an IAG meeting? If they didn't wouldn't that say that they don't want anything to do with the League of Ireland? Stupid argument GalwayFrancis, albeit a slightly better one than Conor's
Kildare Lad
11/12/2006, 4:44 PM
So, what will happen to the 1st division if Limerick do not suceed in their appeal?
When will the new team in the league be announced?
Philly
11/12/2006, 4:45 PM
If that is true then it is baffling...... Hopefully it isn't.
11/12/2006, 4:45 PM
No, our off the field set up was always going to be an advantage too.The move to the Bowl certainly helps, also administratively and financially I would say UCD are very well run. This would compensate for getting hammered on the marketability side.
Just heard on RTÉ radio that Waterford got more points than Galway, but Galway were chosen to be ahead of them!:eek:Was it someone from Waterford alleged this?
As I said above, given that the process was always likely to be challenged by the losers I'd be surprised (not very surprised mind given the stupidity of some involved!) that the process was fudged in such an obvious way.
No, our off the field set up was always going to be an advantage too.
Just heard on RTÉ radio that Waterford got more points than Galway, but Galway were chosen to be ahead of them!:eek:
If that's true......well this is already a disgrace regardless, but if that's true there won't be words in the English language to describe this farce
I find it laughable that people are giving out about what happened today. The clubs practically unanimously agreed to this process. Then, not now, was the time to be debating its merits.
I always maintained that the playoff was stupid this year because it was of so little actual value towards the overall points process.
I would have preferred if we'd finished in the top two, but it doesn't matter a damn because everyone knew that this was an exceptional season as regards the future.
Galway United are the best-run club in the league and, on the basis that it was 50-50 on- and off-the-pitch, it was always going to be odds-on in my view that we'd make it.
For those who haven't, there'll be promotion next season. We might well get relegated.
gerryscore
11/12/2006, 4:47 PM
oh and congrats to ucd, nice to see them performing so well enough as to throw a spanner in delaney's plan. here's to another good season for them next season
11/12/2006, 4:48 PM
I find it laughable that people are giving out about what happened today. The clubs practically unanimously agreed to this process.
The fans were largely opposed. Don't see how anybody can complain about fans complaining about this whole farce.
You must have written a book-worth of stuff by now stu.
The clubs vote on the future of the league, not the fans.
11/12/2006, 4:51 PM
And the fans are complaining about it, not the clubs*. The fact that the clubs voted it in doesn't mean the fans aren't entitled to complain.
* - apart from the clubs who are complaining...
11/12/2006, 4:51 PM
Can't see how clubs can complain if they signed up to the bloody thing :rolleyes:
Something in UEFA documents about fair play and on the pitch is the only way that can be used. They're not the exact words obviously because of UEFA licensing but it was something along those lines. If UEFA suddenly said that the FAI can't do what they are after doing the only way it could remain if FAI pulled out of UEFA, which would mean that the national team wouldn't be able to qualify for WC or Euros, or that Irish clubs wouldn't be able to qualify for CL etc.
Was it someone from Waterford alleged this?
Don't think so. Des Cahill read out that Waterford scored more points than Galway but that the IAG (presume he meant FAI?) chose to pick Galway ahead of Waterford.
gerryscore
11/12/2006, 4:52 PM
john gill 'considering his future in football' according to local radio here. he committed to dundalk at the end of this season knowing rightly we may not be promoted. would be embarrassed and ashamed if he left.
The clubs vote on the future of the league, not the fans.
Truly you are a supporter of Franchise FC. Is it not the fans who are going to be the ones to make this league work? You know by doing a little thing like supporting these clubs and this league? If this is supposed to be a step in the right direction for League of Ireland then how is this supposed to attract new fans? All it has done is alienate current ones
thomas
11/12/2006, 4:59 PM
The lack of understanding from some people is unreal. The clubs agreed to the process and it was well explained to them in advance.
The next thing to watch out for is the 3 clubs being relegated next season. I predict Bray, Longford and one of Sligo, Galway and Bohs.
GalwayFrancis
11/12/2006, 4:59 PM
Truly you are a supporter of Franchise FC.
how do you figure we are Franchise Fc?