View Full Version : Official Premiership Thread
Pages :
[
4]
If w'ford did finish on more points than GUFC then it is a disgrace that we were put in infront of them, BUT, I would never believe what cahill says. For e.g. I heard in work that GUFC actually finished higher than a few other clubs (points wise) that are also in the premier, so what story do you believe?
By the way, commiserations to waterford but Im sure ye'll be back. Delighted to see UCD still there too, totally deservant.
11/12/2006, 5:01 PM
The lack of understanding from some people is unreal. The clubs agreed to the process and it was well explained to them in advance.
The next thing to watch out for is the 3 clubs being relegated next season. I predict Bray, Longford and one of Sligo, Galway and Bohs.
It's still one down, one playoff next year. The season after 3 clubs are relegated.
thedoyler
11/12/2006, 5:01 PM
Genius stuff, delighted we are in, was sitting in a college exam hall from 11-4 with no way of finding out what happened, just got the news now, im thrilled. Well done to the other clubs.
thomas
11/12/2006, 5:02 PM
It's still one down, one playoff next year. The season after 3 clubs are relegated.
D'oh!
geezer
11/12/2006, 5:03 PM
GUFC got what they deserved, and in reality and this will drive dundalk and waterford mad but it makes no odds now and it will probably ensure Galway United stays alive for another 5 years and in reality that is some bonus
11/12/2006, 5:03 PM
Something in UEFA documents about fair play and on the pitch is the only way that can be used. They're not the exact words obviously because of UEFA licensing but it was something along those lines. If UEFA suddenly said that the FAI can't do what they are after doing the only way it could remain if FAI pulled out of UEFA, which would mean that the national team wouldn't be able to qualify for WC or Euros, or that Irish clubs wouldn't be able to qualify for CL etc.
I am sick of reading straw-clutching ill-informed verbiage like this.
Red herring 1) This has nothing to do with Fair Play. THE LEAGUE WAS DISBANDED AND APPLICATIONS WERE SOUGHT BASED ON DEFINED CRITERIA.
Red herring 2) UEFA are bigging up licensing in a major way and have a new version of UEFA licensing (moving the bar even higher) that will apply to Irish clubs in Europe next season and to all Premier clubs the season after. OFF-FIELD STUFF MATTERS.
The naive assumptions being made on here about football being solely about 22 players on a pitch with a ball would carry more weight if the League (ie the clubs) hadn't stumbled from one shambles to another over the past 30 years in almost terminal decline
Irish domestic football is broken, and badly broken at that. By all means discuss if the FAI's actions were the right way to fix it, but if you can't even see the problems, quite frankly you need your head examined.
how do you figure we are Franchise Fc?
Because of you lot bleating on about your club's marketability? Because of your emphasis on off the pitch results rather than on the pitch results? Because of you lot gloating over being promoted despite being able to get the job done on the pitch?
Did I answer all of your previous questions to your satisfaction? Care to respond to why I don't consider Conor H a proper supporter? Or to why your assertion that Derry had to go to an IAG meeting so it means that there was a possibility that they were in danger?
Galway United Supporters Trust has a place on the GUFC board
If the fans ran the clubs and decided the future of the league, it would remind me of Flann O'Brien's synopsis of the consequences of giving everyone third-level education in Ireland.
11/12/2006, 5:06 PM
THE LEAGUE WAS DISBANDED AND APPLICATIONS WERE SOUGHT BASED ON DEFINED CRITERIA.
That has got absolutely zero to do with what was in the UEFA document. It is on their website somewhere but I can't find it at the moment.
chippie0001
11/12/2006, 5:07 PM
The lack of understanding from some people is unreal. The clubs agreed to the process and it was well explained to them in advance.
The next thing to watch out for is the 3 clubs being relegated next season. I predict Bray, Longford and one of Sligo, Galway and Bohs.
Since you are so well informed, why would you predict Bohs? My understanding from now on it is based on, on the pitch results.
11/12/2006, 5:07 PM
I am sick of reading straw-clutching ill-informed verbiage like this.
Red herring 1) This has nothing to do with Fair Play. THE LEAGUE WAS DISBANDED AND APPLICATIONS WERE SOUGHT BASED ON DEFINED CRITERIA.
Red herring 2) UEFA are bigging up licensing in a major way and have a new version of UEFA licensing (moving the bar even higher) that will apply to Irish clubs in Europe next season and to all Premier clubs the season after. OFF-FIELD STUFF MATTERS.
The naive assumptions being made on here about football being solely about 22 players on a pitch with a ball would carry more weight if the League (ie the clubs) hadn't stumbled from one shambles to another over the past 30 years in almost terminal decline
Irish domestic football is broken, and badly broken at that. By all means discuss if the FAI's actions were the right way to fix it, but if you can't even see the problems, quite frankly you need your head examined.
Your post is garbage, ORA.
Irish domestic football is broken, but that fact is irrelevant in this context. Nobody's saying things are perfect.
UEFA statutes ought to govern all aspects of football in Europe.
If you think football isn't about 22 men on a pitch, then you're as much a fan of football as the G14 directors, Galway fans and the Glazers.
The fact about UEFA Licencing is that a club who qualified on field for the Premier has to get a licence; if they get it, they are in. Dundalk won what we will call for the moment a promotion play-off, got a Premier Division licence and were not promoted. That's a fundamentally huge difference.
Not like you to post such rubbish.
11/12/2006, 5:09 PM
For all those who continually repeat the mantra that the clubs ratified the process, those clubs that felt they had the most to lose by this process felt intimidated into voting for it. I've heard this from a number of sources from a number of clubs. If you held a gun to my head my vote would mean far less than if I voted of my own volition.
If you think football isn't about 22 men on a pitch, then you're as much a fan of football as the G14 directors, Galway fans and the Glazers.
Sure as long as you've a pitch every second week and a ball you're grand, isn't that right stu.
By your logic, if Rovers, say, had 50m euro of debts, still nowhere to play, but a squad of players, they'd be entitled to play in the league next season.
UEFA statutes ought to govern all aspects of football in Europe.
The fact about UEFA Licencing is that a club who qualified on field for the Premier has to get a licence; if they get it, they are in. Dundalk won what we will call for the moment a promotion play-off, got a Premier Division licence and were not promoted. That's a fundamentally huge difference.
Great Post
When Dundalk go bitching to the media they will confirm all the worst aspects of eL football to outsiders looking in. I did not hear Dundalk moan earlier in the season when they were in the bottom half of the table. Strange how they only started making noises when thought might actually win promotion on the pitch.
IMO many 1st division sides voted in favour of this process as they thought have better chance of promotion off the pitch than on it. The FAi clearly want the most viable 12 teams in the Premier & aside from possible exception removing UCD (UCD financially viable & good on pitch record) & Bray (not sure what Bray bring as cannot have been high for on or off pitch crieria) they have achieved that.
mcgonigle
11/12/2006, 5:16 PM
You're right. You are light years behind us in how to run a matchday i.e. making sure the visiting supporters can exit safely, cameramen arent attacked etc etc.
Enjoy yet another year in the graveyard. You wont be missed.
Dont put 'our' ground down so quickly, way rovers are goin they'll be renting off us soon enough, hows that appeal going by the GAA:)
11/12/2006, 5:21 PM
Because of you lot bleating on about your club's marketability? Because of your emphasis on off the pitch results rather than on the pitch results? Because of you lot gloating over being promoted despite being able to get the job done on the pitch?
Did I answer all of your previous questions to your satisfaction? Care to respond to why I don't consider Conor H a proper supporter? Or to why your assertion that Derry had to go to an IAG meeting so it means that there was a possibility that they were in danger?
Don't ever question me as a proper supporter.I may act the clown on this board alot(generally cause i like winding people up) but outside of this i work my balls off for my club and GUST.....as do many.The fact that Dundalk aren't there is a sad day for Irish football.A club with a proud history,solid fanbase and in general a great tradition.
As i said i'm delighted my club are up but i totally understand ye're resentment and anger.
I hope Dundalk fans don't develop a hatred towards us.It was the FAI who put us up and i also have great time for any set of fans who travel in their hundereds for 4 hours on a Friday evening.I hope our away support can aspire to that monumental feat.
Best of luck in 2007.
I'd like to assure all fans visting Terryland next year ye'll thouroughly enjoy it.
When Dundalk go bitching to the media they will confirm all the worst aspects of eL football to outsiders looking in. I did not hear Dundalk moan earlier in the season when they were in the bottom half of the table. Strange how they only started making noises when thought might actually win promotion on the pitch.
Do you honestly think when a non-EL fan hears that Dundalk are 'bitching' about not being promoted after winning a promotion playoff and then being replaced by a team behind them in the league is what they think will mean the Eircom League is garbage? You can say it wasn't a promotion play-off all you want but the fact is is that a lot of Irish media covered it as such, and as my non-EL supporting brother asked 'why would they have a playoff if it didn't mean anything?'
IMO many 1st division sides voted in favour of this process as they thought have better chance of promotion off the pitch than on it.
Most 1st Division teams knew they hadn't a hope of going up (really I think only Galway, Rovers and Dundalk thought they had), so would have been more worried about the concequences of going against their new governing body on their first act ,than whether or not they were going up. Really can you imagine if Limerick had gone against them? Right now there would be no chance of us getting a license on appeal off of them. Can you imagine if, say, Kilkenny caused a stink about it and then finished bottom of the 1st Divsion next year? They'd be pushed out of the league faster than you could say 'anyone got Wexford's number'
Don't ever question me as a proper supporter.I may act the clown on this board alot(generally cause i like winding people up) but outside of this i work my balls off for my club and GUST
I think I have been questioning your support of football in general Conor, as I have been of a lot of Galway fans, not of your support for your sham of a club that pretends to be a football team.
Love the way you reverse back to being a sympathetic fan of Eircom League football when all you and your fellow Galway FC supporters have been doing on this board today and in the past few weeks/months is harping on about your off the field achievements and how you deserve to be in the Premier, and winding up people on an already touchy subject. I'll state it again, do something on the pitch before you start thumping your chest about your club
thedoyler
11/12/2006, 5:26 PM
Bray are run very well off the pitch actually, and the club took a step backwards on the pitch, by letting the likes of Zayed and Charles go to take 2 steps forward off the pitch ie new toilets, new stand, new dug-outs & new dressing rooms <on the way>. Not many clubs put as much effort in off the pitch i wouldnt say, and that was probably our saving grace. As well as having a better 5 year record on the pitch than most clubs.
11/12/2006, 5:26 PM
That has got absolutely zero to do with what was in the UEFA document. It is on their website somewhere but I can't find it at the moment.
http://www.uefa.com/uefa/Keytopics/kind=64/newsId=406848.html
See number 2.
passerrby
11/12/2006, 5:27 PM
if limerick only appealed at the weekend does that not mean there appeal cannot be heard as it is out of time (manual says five working days from notifiction,only a question
11/12/2006, 5:27 PM
poor dundalk, only kne suprise...if any...galway! dundalk will feel hard done by as will waterford seeing as they've been in the premier for a while now but there grounds no good, terryland is decent, dont know what the difference in crowds are either! well dont to all who made it anyway!
I'd just like to say well done to Galway United. Don't mind the begrudgers. everyone signed up for this and everyone knew what was required.
Well done lads. I look forward to a good lash in the City of the Tribes next season. At last we'll be travelling to an away match on a different Road more than once a year! !
Gaillimh Al
11/12/2006, 5:28 PM
If football were only about 22 men on a field, why are the majority of a team who will embark on a Champions League adventure as the flagbearers of Irish football all jumping ship? Off the field infrastructure matters. Players getting paid matters. Living within your means matters. Having a plan in place to raise capital to compete within the Premiership matters.
Fair enough, Galway didn't do enough on the pitch last year but we weren't very far off. I believed that another year in Division 1 and winning it would have done us the world of good. Now we have to improve very quickly but i think we can. We have a very good young manager who will be tested at the highest level sooner than he thought.
I am proud to be a Galway Utd supporter and it is a proud day for our club.
bigmac
11/12/2006, 5:28 PM
waterford took delaney at his word that they were safe and essentially threw the season the fools.
See my previous post and don't make yourself look stupid by posting about something you haven't got a clue about :rolleyes:
Louth4sam
11/12/2006, 5:29 PM
i have no sympathy for your joke of a club. looks like the 'creative' accounting wasnt creative enough.....
Like getting 2,000,000 euros written off? Its people like you and NYHOOP that make me really hope the GAA get their way.
if limerick only appealed at the weekend does that not mean there appeal cannot be heard as it is out of time (manual says five working days from notifiction,only a question
I thought this on Saturday morning but I think (not sure) we were given a reprieve while the final details were being ironed out. Again not too sure if any of that is true, just what I heard on the grapevine
I think I have been questioning your support of football in general Conor, as I have been of a lot of Galway fans, not of your support for your sham of a club that pretends to be a football team.
It's at times like this that the pain of going through all the messages posted here becomes so real.
You can say it wasn't a promotion play-off all you want but the fact is is that a lot of Irish media covered it as such, and as my non-EL supporting brother asked 'why would they have a playoff if it didn't mean anything?'
The media regularily report cup games as league games & get incorrect scores so I would listen to them too much.
The playoff was to decide the official ranking for the 2006 season which was worth 20% of the total points for the IAG.
I don't understand why a limerick fan is backing Dundalk. Aside from winning 1 playoff this season Dundalk have been poor on the pitch for last 5 years & even on the pitch are only good financially due to recent sugar daddy acquisition.
Absolutley. Rovers back by popular demand. Galway up as a reward for being well run and lovely chaps. Dundalk rotting where they belong. Whats the problem? :D
and welcome back Rovers of course! I look forward to a nice and easy 18 points off ye!
If only UCD had been banished it'd be a perfect day!
The media regularily report cup games as league games & get incorrect scores so I would listen to them too much.
The playoff was to decide the official ranking for the 2006 season which was worth 20% of the total points for the IAG.
I don't understand why a limerick fan is backing Dundalk. Aside from winning 1 playoff this season Dundalk have been poor on the pitch for last 5 years & even on the pitch are only good financially due to recent sugar daddy acquisition.
I'm not backing Dundalk as such, I'm backing on the field competition rather than off the field. If Dundalk win a promotion playoff and are awarded a Premier License than how can a Licensing Comittee deny them entry?
And I'll make my point again. This FAI Premiership is being set up to attract new fans to Irish football, because without them we will die a death. These same fans will have heard and read that it was a playoff final and thought it so, so they will listen to the Irish media, and they're who matter in the scheme of this
It's at times like this that the pain of going through all the messages posted here becomes so real.
Yeah I've been enjoying your fantastic points of discussion all day JW :rolleyes:
sniffa
11/12/2006, 5:35 PM
If w'ford did finish on more points than GUFC then it is a disgrace that we were put in infront of them, BUT, I would never believe what cahill says. For e.g. I heard in work that GUFC actually finished higher than a few other clubs (points wise) that are also in the premier, so what story do you believe?
By the way, commiserations to waterford but Im sure ye'll be back. Delighted to see UCD still there too, totally deservant.
Seeing as Cahill was part of the committee that evaluated the applications then what he said has to be taken seriously.
" I heard in work....." :eek:
What do you think the reaction would have been had Dundalk been invited rather than Galway with no invite to Waterford?
Amazing how this line of arguement is coming out of people who support clubs who this no promotion/relegation issue had no effect on whatsoever. What do you think would happen if, say Dundalk, had voted against it? Do you think that would have stopped this happening? Because all I think would have happened there would they would either a) have had no chance of being promoted this year because the FAI would have a grudge against them, or b) be kicked out of the league altogether because the FAI would have had a grudge against them. Do you really think Dundalk voting against this would have stopped it? Really?
But the fact is that Dundalk DID sign up to this league and knew exactly what thay were signing up for, and now when they know they didnt get in they start a debacle. The fact is if i was supporting Kilkenny or Monaghan (no disrespect to either club) and we were consigned to the First Division again i would know its because we signed to the agreement and have only ourselves to blame. It dosnt matter who i support my argument would be the same
GalwayFrancis
11/12/2006, 5:39 PM
I'm not backing Dundalk as such, I'm backing on the field competition rather than off the field. If Dundalk win a promotion playoff and are awarded a Premier License than how can a Licensing Comittee deny them entry?
because it wasnt a promotion play off!
are you for real? :confused:
did you sleep through the whole 5 year and off the field points system?
they didnt get enough points. galway did. end of.
Am I not saying all day that that 5 year on and off the field points system was a sham to begin with, isn't that the point of practically all of my posts? Don't understand where you are getting confused here
mcgonigle
11/12/2006, 5:40 PM
are you for real? :confused:
did you sleep through the whole 5 year and off the field points system?
they didnt get enough points. galway did. end of.
Shows how much you know hooperatzi, it was based on 4 years, if it was 5 then we would be there, as we came 10th of 12 in the premier n won the cup
If you think Galway are a sham of a club jebus, particularly given your own allegiance, you must on drugs that have some serious side effects.
Louth4sam
11/12/2006, 5:43 PM
our way of doing it was legal and agreed with all our creditors.
Legal but unfair to other clubs that were/run fairly
your way was a blatant attempt to cheat.
How the hell did we cheat??
sort out your matchday shambles and iffy property bills before you lecture the rest of us.
How can we be possibly be responsible for something that happens outside our ground? IF rovers ever move to tallaght will SRFC garantee the safty of every away supporter that visits the area??
aside from the sniping, did you expect to come up? and if so, where did you reckon the points would come from?
Firstly im not sniping it was yourself and NYHOOP that started all the petty comments. Did we expect to come up? Most of us didnt as we thought it would be the same eleven teams plus rovers. The biggest dissapointment is Galway getting in ahead of us. We have achieved great things both on and off the pitch this year. I thought we would have got very good marks on our off the field. I hope the FAI will realese the scores that ever club can see where they scored highly and lowly and for what.
because it wasnt a promotion play off!
Jesus Christ GalwayFrancis do you drop in and out of comas or something? Have I not been saying all day long that a) it should have been, b) it was reported as such and c) the non-EL football fan that we are trying to entice to our league would have viewed it as such. Did I not say in that same sentence that I back on the field competition rather than off the field competition?
I see Galway are referring to their background organisation staff as Galway Utd Legends now, says a lot about your club really. Sure put their portraits up at Terryland, tell your grandkids all about that great day the four of them won promotion for the club and look blankly at them when they ask where the trophy is
BrayUnknowns
11/12/2006, 5:45 PM
Bray are very lucky to survive.
Explain, and explain with good reaso and not just because you don't like Bray, i'm dying to hear your explanation as to why we were very lucky to stay up.....
on the field we were WELL ahead of Dundalk and Galway, off the field they were not better than us.
If you think Galway are a sham of a club jebus, particularly given your own allegiance, you must on drugs that have some serious side effects.
My drug use and its side effects have little to do with any of my ravings (except the ones about where my drugs are) and look above at the piece I wrote about your new Galway Legends to see why I think your club is a sham of a football club
11/12/2006, 5:48 PM
Sure put their portraits up at Terryland, tell your grandkids all about that great day the four of them won promotion for the club and look blankly at them when they ask where the trophy is
That's the crux of it, very nicely expressed. Anyone who can't empathize with that statement is following the wrong sport.
11/12/2006, 5:48 PM
Shows how much you know hooperatzi, it was based on 4 years, if it was 5 then we would be there, as we came 10th of 12 in the premier n won the cup
And this was only changed after the original announcement when somebody pointed out to the FAI that one of their clubs (Kildare) didn't exist 5 seasons ago. Of course, the on-pitch points awarded for this season were missing one club as well. Oh it's a GOOD system all right.
mcgonigle
11/12/2006, 5:58 PM
Hooperatzi, lets not get into a discussion about, fan discipline, rovers wouldnt have a leg to stand on
Why are people surprised about Dundalk?! I could understand a fuss about UCD not being in, but my dead cat could've predicted Dundalk not to get into the league. They are not good enough. They won a pointless play off that most people knew meant nothing - I suspect Waterford weren't even trying 100% because they guessed it was irrelevant (as with a fair few of their final league games) to whether they'd stay up or not - and now they try and push it about being on the pitch blah blah. Galway were always going to be stronger than Dundalk and are deservedly in, imo.
So if it was a choice between Dundalk or UCD, there's no competition there either.
If this is the reaction to Dundalk being out, imagine what the UCD lads would be like on here now if they had failed like they thought..:eek:
GuisaSaigon
11/12/2006, 6:12 PM
Sham !!!!!!!!???????????
if we are a sham of a club what does that make Limerick, you havent even got a 1st division license ffs. I usually dont bother replying to your posts because its obvious you've got a chip on your shoulder when it comes to Galway United.Get over it man, we are in the premier while ye are a pathethic mess.You should be concentrating on sorting out your own club.
Sham !!!!!!!!???????????
if we are a sham of a club what does that make Limerick, you havent even got a 1st division license ffs. I usually dont bother replying to your posts because its obvious you've got a chip on your shoulder when it comes to Galway United.Get over it man, we are in the premier while ye are a pathethic mess.You should be concentrating on sorting out your own club.
Another well reasoned discussion from a Galway supporter on this I see. I'll tell you why I call Galway a sham of a club. It's because you lot have purposefully gone out to try and get promotion through non-sporting ways, i.e. ye put a lick of paint up at Terryland, and are now rejoicing in the fact that Galway United as a football club couldn't get the job done, but Galway United as a business proposition did. I don't expect much in the way of dignity from football fans in general but the way Galway fans are proud of this achievement really takes the biscuit
11/12/2006, 6:27 PM
That's the crux of it, very nicely expressed. Anyone who can't empathize with that statement is following the wrong sport.
i agree. Im just waiting for the idiots who dont understand to have a personnel attack on him :rolleyes: