View Full Version : Stuart Byrnes RTE Rant

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

17/11/2006, 8:45 PM
Just lost the rag on live TV. Had a massive go at Stephen Kenny and people in general and went on about how Shels were robbed!

17/11/2006, 8:47 PM
Cringeworthy to say the least! He was even given the chance to move on and moved back to his rant. He said we won't want people like Kenny in our league and he can go off to Scotland. A real stark contrast between him and Fenlon!

17/11/2006, 8:47 PM
Patethic! I think its a Shels tradition as i seem to remember Ollie Byrne & maybe Fenlon having a go off someone else last time they won.

They are taking gloss off their own win as they clearly deserving winners as they finished top of the league.

17/11/2006, 8:51 PM
Patethic! I think its a Shels tradition as i seem to remember Ollie Byrne & maybe Fenlon having a go off someone else last time they won.

Two years ago Ollie went on a blubbering incoherent rant about Bohs dropping the three players, which Shels had publically announced they signed off them on the last day, against Cork.

tribesman78
17/11/2006, 8:59 PM
Everyone always goes on about poor losers but that was a prime example of a bad winner, he must have forgot that Pat Fenlon had his fair bit too say as well.:mad:

17/11/2006, 9:00 PM
what a tool....talk about ruining it for yourself!

Paddyfield
17/11/2006, 9:02 PM
Someone pi$$ed on Stuart Byrne's Corn-Flakes this morning. What would he be like if he won the Euro Millions Lotto?

Sore winner!

17/11/2006, 9:27 PM
Missed tonights game on the box, just arrived home to catch the end of Shels v Bohs. Caught Stuart Byrnes rant at the end of the game and must admit I've rarely been so disgusted. Always had a lot of time for Byrne as a player, someone who would have been at the top of my list for players to come to Pats. Not anymore. If an anyone is looking for a reason why Shels are so hated by the rest of the league, look no further than this little outburst. You'd think he'd have been happy with his team clinching the Title, but no, he has to indulge in the small time pettiness that has become the trademark of this filthy club. Telling Stephen Kenny to **** off to Scotland:mad: . **** you Byrne, **** your poxy club. Normally the Chmapions of the league would merit congratulations, all I can offer Shels after this display is a massive two fingers. It's so similar to two seasons ago and Ollies rant in Richmond after clinching the title.You should remember lads, one of the hallmarks of Champions is being able to win with dignity, something you are sadly incapable of.:mad: :mad:

17/11/2006, 9:36 PM
It's easy to be a gracious winner, but not for some people obviously.

wexfordned
In my opinion this sums up everything tht stinks about Shelbourne FC. Couple of years ago Ollie slags off bohs for not playing Crowe & co. This year Stuart Byrne decides to have a go as well. I suppose with a convicted criminal as owner of your football club its hard to show a bit of class but still could at least TRY! Still I believe in karma, what goes around comes around so enjoy being champions & for the $hel$ fans here is a link you can send on to the players.

http://www.svp.ie/index.cfm/loc/5/project_area_id/53689091-3A94-4222-92F3B802976BA66E

Kenny is moving up in his career will get to pit his wits against Strachan & Le Guen in Ibrox & Celtic Park. Stuart Byrne can go the church to pray that he gets paid on Friday. (Bohs better not sign that f**ker)

onceahoop
Was in my local club watching it. Couldn't hear a thing as a band had started up. Watching his face was enough. Maybe someone will post it on youtube. Any chance Joe Soap or will it appear on the Shels web.

Gareth
17/11/2006, 9:39 PM
It was some rant :) Some rant indeed. I am not sure it'll make Shelsweb for some reason lads :)

17/11/2006, 9:50 PM
Great TV. Not sure what his particular gripe was with Stephen Kenny other than his behaviour after the League Cup final or just the fact that he's generally a moaning ponce like most eL managers. I don't begrudge him his rant, Shels take an incredible amount of sh1t in the media and elsewhere and have every right to give the world two fingers when they prevail. Unlike those who bitch to the press or whine on the internet, the guy went out on the field and played like an absolute lion. It's nice to see a footballer have the last word in a league in which football seems a secondary concern sometimes. He earned his rant.

Gareth
17/11/2006, 9:51 PM
HE had some game. Rock solid he was. Rock solid.

nzamcdza
17/11/2006, 9:56 PM
surley he and the club will be fined for this! a disgrace! I mean they bloody won the league and all he can do is complain.

Worlds worst winner.

The Sheliban
17/11/2006, 10:13 PM
I never heard it, so can't comment.

Was it as bad as Kenny's rant to the media about how it would be an absolute disgrace if Shels appeal were successful?

17/11/2006, 10:18 PM
Right, I know I started the thread and all but I don't think we should be overly harsh on the guy.

When Sportsmen have mikes stuck in their face at the end of a very emotional game after a very long a difficult season it's always likely that silly thing will be said. Of course that's the point I suppose.

17/11/2006, 10:25 PM
No doubt that the FAI are going to sue him for that along with Derry and Kenny taken action against him too. All I can say is that he just made himself look like a right tool, the guy should have been celebrating the fact that he just won the league and not taking swipes at people.

Gareth
17/11/2006, 10:33 PM
Lots of crap has been thrown at shels week in week out, and the players have not said a word. I guess the pressure cooker needs to release steam at some point. So many reasons for that rant. I still think stuart is a fine player and a very nice bloke. We have been branded cheats and all sorts during the season and as a player playing week in week out, that has got to **** you off.

17/11/2006, 10:38 PM
I agree with you Gareth, but you have to admit his timing wasnt the best !

Gareth
17/11/2006, 10:45 PM
True. But I have a feeling he wasn't too concerned over the timing. :) I am still somewhat giggling at the fact he exploded. For sheer unexpectedness of it all, it was funny. I said there a bit dropjawed and nearly spat my tea all over the place :)

hoops1
17/11/2006, 10:51 PM
I have to say I have had alot of dealings with Stew and he is a thoroughly
decent fella. He is one of them players who plays on anger. Id say someone in
Shels was fuelling his fire and by god it worked, He was fantastic. Emotion got the better of him it happens.But It was a world class rant. He will be embarrased in the morning. Its better to be a bad winner than a bad loser and
his league winners medal should ease his anger

Gareth
17/11/2006, 10:53 PM
The more I think about it the funnier it gets. I think it will go down as one of those moments :). I think derry fans might even laugh a little once the dust settles.

LeixlipRed
17/11/2006, 11:13 PM
Lads you might all care about this but we couldn't give a flying ****. You can catch me in Dublin airport next July jetting of to wherever for our CL game. We can chat then

Gareth
17/11/2006, 11:19 PM
he got compo from rovers....or settled or something

Billy Lord
17/11/2006, 11:52 PM
Roddy didn't win his case because it never reached that stage: a compromise arose ahead of the EAT hearing. A no-blame agreement was reached that saved both sides a lot of money in legal fees.
Considering that the people who brought him to Rovers never even signed him up to a written contract (yep, that's how badly Rovers used to be run), it's a satisfactory conclusion to a grim chapter in SRFC history.

BleusAvantTout
18/11/2006, 12:03 AM
It was a little cringeworthy. Was he the dude who was red-carded - if so maybe that explains his rant?

cheifo
18/11/2006, 12:39 AM
Good player who got carried away.If people from different clubs on here say he is normally a good fella then thats good enough for me.Congragulations Shelbourne.
btw was a bit disappointed with Shels fans the Boez outsung them all game.

Frankfurt Hoop
18/11/2006, 12:41 AM
It was a little cringeworthy. Was he the dude who was red-carded - if so maybe that explains his rant?

Cringeworthy? It was a charlied-up amateur hour. Byrne embarassed Irish Football with his childish outburst. Then the podium was set up facing the stand that the Bohs fans had vacated. The TV struggled to follow the presentation with a couple of hundred on the pitch. It all looked like a GAA county final somewhere you'd never dare put on a map.

The dude who was red carded, and still on the field of play subsequently, was Dirtbird Baker.

fanatic
18/11/2006, 12:50 AM
Lots of crap has been thrown at shels week in week out, and the players have not said a word. I guess the pressure cooker needs to release steam at some point. So many reasons for that rant. I still think stuart is a fine player and a very nice bloke. We have been branded cheats and all sorts during the season and as a player playing week in week out, that has got to **** you off.

So many reasons for that rant - explain in terms relating to Stephen Kenny plz ? as im lost to the reason for Byrne's rant ?

18/11/2006, 1:03 AM
Byrne said something similar on RTE radio. Best midfielder in the country IMO

MrJoeSoap
18/11/2006, 1:22 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rKxsvjUkmk

Hero. Amazing performance tonight. If we had lost and he had said that people would have called him a bad loser, so fair ****s to him for coming out and saying what he thought. Certainly made some entertaining viewing!

depor
18/11/2006, 1:25 AM
Did anybody pick-up on an exchange between Dave Barry and Roddy Collins before the match?

DB said that the drinks were on RC as it had been a very good week for him. A smiling RC said he couldn't possibly comment. What was that all about? Did RC win his unfair dismissal case against Rovers?

ya i heard it. there are two things DB could be referring to and both were in todays papers. first and most likely was the fact that rovers settled, and second was that RC got a new contract from RTE for being a panelist.:rolleyes:

pól-dcfc
18/11/2006, 2:37 AM
video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rKxsvjUkmk)

nzamcdza
18/11/2006, 2:44 AM
imagine if Stephen Gerrard said that about Sir Alex, the FA would have him up on chargers before he had finished speaking.

There is something to be said for winning graciously.

Blue Man
18/11/2006, 3:13 AM
from knowing stuey's sister,i can honestly say that the interview seen on rte is not a reflection on the man himself. he let off a bit of steam??so what!they have just won the league.its probabaly what every $hel$ fan was thinking anyway .he just had the balls to say it. well done shels anyway.well deserved IMO.

Ringo
18/11/2006, 5:57 AM
Don't see what the fuss is about. Kenny is just another rat deserting the eircom league sinking ship. very entertaining. Funny hearing that Roddy had no written contract with Rovers. That was the excuse they used when he left Dublin City & the Rovers fans slagged us off about it. i Heard he got €15000, not a lot. Another Title bought by Shels, nothing to be proud of. at least ollie won't be in the high court on Monday.

onceahoop
18/11/2006, 7:01 AM
A perfect example as to why sportsmen should never talk to a reporter immediately after a highly charged game. His reference to being angry for a long time is interesting. A lot of players would go around diving in and kicking lumps out of people but I have to hand it to Byrne, he channelled all the anger in the right direction and deserved his man of the match. He was still going strong at the finish. I think he should apologise though,

"Robbed Blind" "Ridden rock solid" and here I was thinking we're playing football

CousinSylDolan
18/11/2006, 7:29 AM
The guy played a great game and then went and ruined it all by harping on like that on TV... Shels deservedly won the title but managed to make themselves even more "hateable" just cos of that jibberish by Byrne.

As I say he played very well but what we will all remember is his laughable moan in the interview. If they had lost the title he had a right to be angry but when he won it would have been better to smile to the camera and say hello to his wife and kids....

Why do I get the feeling that its Eamonn Collins and his "the world against us" attitude that brought that out in Byrne last night....although that might be the reason they are champions....

Redzer
18/11/2006, 8:49 AM
"WE WON THE LEAGUE BY THREE POINTS, DO YOU HEAR ME STEPHEN KENNY"
Poor guy cant even read the league table thru' the red mist.

Sniffer
18/11/2006, 8:55 AM
I heard this morning that Stuey Byrne is signing for some Scottish club, The Pars or something like that.

18/11/2006, 9:19 AM
I wouldn't go so far as to call it a shame and indictment on our league. I think Mourinho just ranted about Celtic after winning the UEFA Cup with Porto, there was Kevin Keegan's famous rant and there's Mike Newell's sexist rant the other week. It does happen all over the place. There's a reason why there's a lot of stuff said against Shelbourne and most of it is down to their behaviour and conduct so I think it's silly to say they're somehow entitled to their rant.

18/11/2006, 9:34 AM
He gave a lot more calm and measured interview to TV 3 after the presentation of trophies. Making many of the same points but in a cool calm and collected manner, and in fact more effectively I think, having had the chance to reflect a little and possibly even finally enjoy the title triumph.

Bad losers are hard to take, but people who are so caught up with things that went wrong that they cannot enjoy success when they finally get it, is just the flip side of everything they were moaning about in the first place.
It's as if the success cannot replace the chip they have on the shoulder about their " treatment" on the road to glory.

monkey magic
18/11/2006, 9:39 AM
was in the flansiro last nite loseing fingers to the cold so obviously i didnt see the rant and we've no sound at work to watch it on you tube but i can tell you this; stuey byrne is a top man, a good pro and a quality footballer and if you'd had to put up with what he and the other shels players have had to youd need to let off some steam aswell. some of the cork fans on here condeming him would do better than to look at the professionalism of some of the players who were in their league winning team, ala kearney and o'callaghan

lets not forget the players are innocent in this whole mess that is shels; they've been nothing but professional all year and have had to put up with non payment of wages, being called cheats and possible loseing their jobs. its not their foult that ollie has got shels into the mess their in.

some people in longford have not forgot the way stephen kenny left us to go to bohs - mid season and relegation threatened, and frankly he's done the same to derry so lets not put him on a big pedastil, call him untouchable and condemm anyone who says a word about him. stuey played in that longford team under kenny aswell, lets not forget that. by all means it was ill timed, and probable a bit jibberish, but just maybe he's earned that right, he has after all been one of the best players in this league over the past few years and a fantastic example of how to play the game with guts and determination. if roy keane were to make that kind of outburst, we would all be applauding his tanacity and will to win.

JC_GUFC
18/11/2006, 9:42 AM
"WE WON THE LEAGUE BY THREE POINTS, DO YOU HEAR ME STEPHEN KENNY"
Poor guy cant even read the league table thru' the red mist.

I think he was referring to the fact that they got 3 more points than Derry did against Dublin City.

It seems Shels were motivated the same way Pat's were when they had the 15 point deduction.

As for a Dublin City fan posting about rats leaving a sinking ship you have to be saying that tongue in cheek! :D

Cabinteelygull
18/11/2006, 10:48 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rKxsvjUkmk

Wow that was crazy!! Don't think the studio knew what to make of that especially Roddy, observant as always : "eh......i tink he was a bit angry"

chippie0001
18/11/2006, 12:04 PM
Slightly ironic abuse from Byrne to Kenny, given that it was Kenny that saved his career by bringing him to Longford and allwoing him to develop into the player he is. Without that Byrne would not be at Shels let alone winning medals as his career had stalled. Thats gratitude fro you I guess.

Drumcondra Red
18/11/2006, 12:43 PM
Have yis thought why he said what he said??? All I can say is, well said, everything said about that príck Kenny is true, wait till you know the facts before spouting on about his character!

FORZA SHELS! CHAMPIONS 2006!!!

18/11/2006, 12:52 PM
Given the manner the league have given fines out to Managers this season Byrne has to be sanctioned. If (I suppose i should say when) he isn't brought up on charges for that outburst will onlt further confirm the bias towards Shels by the eL.

I could excuse Byrne if he was a kid but he is very experienced pro & should know better.

:(

Aaron
18/11/2006, 1:00 PM
Have yis thought why he said what he said??? All I can say is, well said, everything said about that príck Kenny is true, wait till you know the facts before spouting on about his character!

FORZA SHELS! CHAMPIONS 2006!!!

So Kenny is a ***** then? So wot is Ollie Byrne? Did you see Kenny dragging the league through the ****e by threatening court? NO!! Did you see Kenny giving a two finger salute to opposition fans? NO!! The fact is not one Shels fan can sit and give off about any club when they're own are in a mess they are in. Can't even pay your own player. All i will say is enjoy your sucess because it will be the last time in a while before you have success again!!