21/11/2006, 11:08 AM
You two have ruined a perfectly great thread about a perfectly great rant

Hamsta I propose a new sub forum

"DCFCSteve + Davids only"

McShels
21/11/2006, 12:10 PM
Thanks for posting that link MrJoeSoap.
I watched the game but was so disgusted that shower won the league that I turned it off before the interview.
Having seen it now all I can say is:

"Will you ever f**k off Stuart Byrne you complete and utter w***er."

Talking about being "robbed blind" while having a convicted thief as your chairman gave me a good laugh I must say.
As for drawing up about the Dublin City affair, you'd think Shels were the only club that lost points because of it.
F**k off Byrne you idiot, I hope ye get walloped in the Champions League.

The post quoted above is a disgrace and should be removed immediately.
Shed Ender, can you tell me for what crime was the chairman of Shelbourne FC jailed?
Futhermore, Stuey Byrne is only concerned with Shelbourne FC and not with Cork (IS that who you follow going by your username?) or anyone else who lost points in the Dublin City debacle.

I would like to think that on reflection you would regret what you posted and make an apology ir edit your post using more reasonable language and at least make a point on your view of what Stuey said, but thats assuning you have actually heard what he said and you didnt hear it from a third party.

21/11/2006, 12:13 PM
its on youtube ffs

we've all heard it!

Ollies done time

google it if u want the specifics

21/11/2006, 12:14 PM
Shed Ender, can you tell me for what crime was the chairman of Shelbourne FC jailed?

McShels, can you tell me the name of the Shels chairman?

21/11/2006, 12:17 PM
Presumably thats one of those trick questions?

Ollie, the convicted criminal, is the Chief Executive. By your protestations Ollie, sorry "McShels", I presume Ollie isn't the Chairman?

Anyway, his post is more measured that S Byrne's rant so you can like it or lump it.

David
21/11/2006, 12:18 PM
What - the one that said "you may have a but of a struggle..." ? I'll happily back that up - as "may" means feck all.

So you don't have the confidence in Linfield winning the league to put a wager down on it ? :) After all - if you're slagging City off for finishing joint top on points, then surely you must be expecting Linfield to do better ?

Or is it the fear that some of your money might end up in Derry City hands that's holding you back...? :D

C'mon - I'll even let you pay me in George Best fivers.....

But you didn't finish joint top, you finished second, there is a difference. :p

21/11/2006, 12:21 PM
But you didn't finish joint top, you finished second, there is a difference. :p

What part of "joint top on points" do you not get...?

When teams finish joint top on points, the rule is that the title goes to the team with the best goal difference. But that doesn't stop the 2 teams from being joint top on points....

Anyways - that's twice now you've dodged the offer of a wager on Linfield being clear at the top of the IL table by season's end. Are you bottling the bet or what ?

21/11/2006, 12:22 PM
You two have ruined a perfectly great thread about a perfectly great rant

Hamsta I propose a new sub forum

"DCFCSteve + Davids only"

Not a bad idea, but who would moderate it?

21/11/2006, 12:25 PM
"

Not a bad idea, but who would moderate it?Kofi Annan, George Mitchell and Matta Atasari would get my vote.

21/11/2006, 12:29 PM
"

Not a bad idea, but who would moderate it?

I'd like a Presbyterian Minister, a Catholic priest and a Canadian General please..... :D

21/11/2006, 12:52 PM
who would moderate it?Who cares, no one else would read it.

21/11/2006, 12:54 PM
Who cares, no one else would read it.

Well you care enough to post about it..... :rolleyes:

21/11/2006, 1:34 PM
Just like to add my weight (shut up those who know me..) to the move calling for a specific dcfcsteve and David forum.

A few points; 1) Dundalk's european run was better (getting by 2 rounds and losing 3-2 to celtic (after 0-0 draw)) than either Shels or Linfields. 2) Byrne's rant was hilarious 3) I hope Ollie follows through with his threat regarding the Hargan case and possibly the Dublin City point thing too. Farcical decisions.

David
21/11/2006, 1:38 PM
Just like to add my weight (shut up those who know me..) to the move calling for a specific dcfcsteve and David forum.

A few points; 1) Dundalk's european run was better (getting by 2 rounds and losing 3-2 to celtic (after 0-0 draw)) than either Shels or Linfields. 2) Byrne's rant was hilarious 3) I hope Ollie follows through with his threat regarding the Hargan case and possibly the Dublin City point thing too. Farcical decisions.

But Dundalk were lucky to get past us and only did so because we had to play our home game in Holland. :D

David
21/11/2006, 1:39 PM
What part of "joint top on points" do you not get...?

When teams finish joint top on points, the rule is that the title goes to the team with the best goal difference. But that doesn't stop the 2 teams from being joint top on points....

Anyways - that's twice now you've dodged the offer of a wager on Linfield being clear at the top of the IL table by season's end. Are you bottling the bet or what ?

Ok, how much?

MrJoeSoap
21/11/2006, 1:54 PM
Well this has to be the most off-topic and tangential thread I have ever seen.

21/11/2006, 2:23 PM
You reckon?

I've seen worse.

shed_ender
21/11/2006, 2:30 PM
McShels, can you tell me the name of the Shels chairman?

Obviously he had to look it up.Says it all about their "fanbase".
The rows and rows of empty seats were there for all to see on tv last Friday night.
Getting back to the point of this thread, I make no apologies for describing Stuart Byrne in those terms (some people on this board have a lot worse as their signatures).
He is a hypocrite of the highest order considering what Shels have got up to in the past.

MrJoeSoap
21/11/2006, 2:47 PM
Says it all about their "fanbase".

Of course it does. :rolleyes:

21/11/2006, 3:02 PM
He is a hypocrite of the highest order considering what Shels have got up to in the past.

and present.

21/11/2006, 3:29 PM
Obviously he had to look it up.Says it all about their "fanbase".

My point was that AFAIK they don't have a chairman (or a board for that matter) since Finbarr Flood and a couple of others saw sense and headed for the hills. Shels are a one man band.

21/11/2006, 3:37 PM
best part of that was they resigned, and about 2 months later there was an Emmet malone article about it. A Shels fan posted on their official forum asking was it true and if so why nobody was informed. Smithers replied saying he knew but didn't think it was that important to post up. General basis of that malone article was that there was now nobody to keep Ollie in check...

22/11/2006, 9:55 AM
But Dundalk were lucky to get past us and only did so because we had to play our home game in Holland. :D
Maybee you'd wonder why UEFA laid 100% blame on Linfield fc. and ordered the 2nd leg to be played in Holland. The first leg saw the most poisonous violent actions ever witnessed by a set of so called club supporters in the south. Landsdowne rd. riot times 50.
Linfield were deservedly outplayed in Holland fair and square and fortunate to get off very lightly with that limited UEFA sanction.

I thought the Shels Bohs game was very poor, the interview certainly grabbed my attention though it was dosed in vinegar.

22/11/2006, 10:08 AM
Ok, how much?

Name your price. £50 ? £100 ?

David
22/11/2006, 3:59 PM
Maybee you'd wonder why UEFA laid 100% blame on Linfield fc. and ordered the 2nd leg to be played in Holland. The first leg saw the most poisonous violent actions ever witnessed by a set of so called club supporters in the south. Landsdowne rd. riot times 50.
Linfield were deservedly outplayed in Holland fair and square and fortunate to get off very lightly with that limited UEFA sanction.

I thought the Shels Bohs game was very poor, the interview certainly grabbed my attention though it was dosed in vinegar.

Linfield took their punishment and indeed had to play the following season in Holland as well, against Nantes of France. To say that we were 100% to blame is ludicrous. There were many many hangers on on both sides that night with a significant number of Nationalists/Republicans travelling from Northern Ireland to "support" Dundalk. Given the political climate at the time the outcome was inevitable. I may be wrong but I think this game was played in the wake of the murder of Lord Mountbatten and the massacre of 18 British soldiers at Warrenpoint. Dundalk I would say got off very lightly indeed from that shameful night.

David
22/11/2006, 4:01 PM
Name your price. £50 ? £100 ?

£50 it is. I must point out here that I am going against the habit of a lifetime, I literally never bet on Linfield but as I will personally not gain financially I can live with this one. :p

23/11/2006, 9:38 AM
To say that we were 100% to blame is ludicrous.
Take it up with the neutral observers.
I said Uefa placed 100% blame on Linfield, though it was factually incorrect, Dundalk were fined about £1000 for not providing adequate security, some 300 Gardai were present and fully engaged.

monutdfc
23/11/2006, 10:13 AM
some 300 Gardai were present and fully engaged.
and from what my brother tells me fully engaged they were (i'm too young to remember it). It was Shell to Sea and Reclaim the Streets times 10 all rolled into one. The Gardai never enjoyed themselves as much since until Smirnoff Ice was introduced to Copperface Jacks.

David
23/11/2006, 10:51 AM
Take it up with the neutral observers.
I said Uefa placed 100% blame on Linfield, though it was factually incorrect, Dundalk were fined about £1000 for not providing adequate security, some 300 Gardai were present and fully engaged.

The Gardai that night certainly seemed to take great pleasure in their actions which were absolutely disgraceful. Their indiscriminate assaults on Linfield supporters were criminal. Dundalk came out of that very well and Linfield, as usually seems to be the case were UEFA are concerned, were absolutely hammered.

23/11/2006, 1:25 PM
and Linfield, as usually seems to be the case were UEFA are concerned, were absolutely hammered.

A-ha-ha - let's all laugh at Linfield moaning about getting ill treatment from authorities.

Is that a chip you have on yer shoulder David ? :D

Now you've had a tiny taste of how clubs like Derry, Belfast Celtic, Donegal Celtic etc have felt over the years. :p

Superb irony......

23/11/2006, 1:30 PM
£50 it is. I must point out here that I am going against the habit of a lifetime, I literally never bet on Linfield but as I will personally not gain financially I can live with this one. :p

Thank God you said £50....! :D

Ok - so what's the deal ? If I win - you need to forward the £50 to the Derry City Development Committee within 7 days of the 2006/7 Irish League season ending. If you win, let me know where the money should go under the same terms. I will keep my word on this, and expect/assume you will do the same.

Yees wil probably win the bloody thing now anyway, but at least it'll give me some excitement now that the EL season is over for another year... :D

David
23/11/2006, 2:16 PM

Ok - so what's the deal ? If I win - you need to forward the £50 to the Derry City Development Committee within 7 days of the 2006/7 Irish League season ending. If you win, let me know where the money should go under the same terms. I will keep my word on this, and expect/assume you will do the same.

Yees wil probably win the bloody thing now anyway, but at least it'll give me some excitement now that the EL season is over for another year... :D

Just forward it to Linfield FC and I will inform the Trasurer of the impending arrival of your cheque. And yes I will keep my word. :D

David
23/11/2006, 2:20 PM
A-ha-ha - let's all laugh at Linfield moaning about getting ill treatment from authorities.

Is that a chip you have on yer shoulder David ? :D

Now you've had a tiny taste of how clubs like Derry, Belfast Celtic, Donegal Celtic etc have felt over the years. :p

Superb irony......

I recall when we played Lillestrom in the late 80's. Some idiot threw a bottle that landed on the track around the pitch at Windsor. We had to play our next two home games at least 100 miles from Windsor Park. For obvious reasons we could not go down south. The Scottish FA banned us and the English FA followed suit. We thought we were going to have to go to mainland Europe until Wrexham stepped in and gave us use of their ground. Is that punishment in line with what happens to other teams in Europe. Ffs look what the Turks have done over the years and their punishment was being awarded the CL final. Those trips to Wrexham were two of the best European away trips I have been on though. :D

23/11/2006, 2:36 PM

Yees wil probably win the bloody thing now anyway, but at least it'll give me some excitement now that the EL season is over for another year... :DPay them in Euro Steve :D

Dr.Nightdub
23/11/2006, 9:05 PM
...we had to play our home game in Holland. :D

In your spiritual home, then?

Sorry, no malice intended. It just struck me that there could be worse places for Linfield fans to be made go. :D

Aaron
27/12/2007, 7:34 PM
Lads you might all care about this but we couldn't give a flying ****. You can catch me in Dublin airport next July jetting of to wherever for our CL game. We can chat then

:D:DHa

LeixlipRed
27/12/2007, 7:47 PM
:D:DHa

I'll suggest knitting as a hobby

Aaron
27/12/2007, 7:48 PM
I'll suggest knitting as a hobby

Just looking over a few old threads, esp the Gretna one, that SuperGretna is an ass:D:D

Aaron
27/12/2007, 8:03 PM
I wonder how the reaction will go when Byrne and Kenny first come face to face again since Kenny is back.

LeixlipRed
27/12/2007, 11:00 PM
I wonder does SuperGretna still use the internet anymore or does he cower behind the sofa in fear of making an even bigger ass of himself

27/12/2007, 11:24 PM
Seriously CTID, where do you find the time for this? Having said that it is funny and typical Shels. My favourite football program, its around here somewhere, is Shels V Bohs April 2001 where the columnist predicted that Roddy would be drafting his capitulation speech after the game. Bohs went on to win the game and the double.

27/12/2007, 11:30 PM

Ok - so what's the deal ? If I win - you need to forward the £50 to the Derry City Development Committee within 7 days of the 2006/7 Irish League season ending. If you win, let me know where the money should go under the same terms. I will keep my word on this, and expect/assume you will do the same.Was this bet ever claimed I wonder?:D

28/12/2007, 12:21 AM
Was this bet ever claimed I wonder?:D

Which reminds me I bet one of your lot that SC would see out the season as Bohs manager. 50 quid I think. Unfortunately I can't remember which one of you it was. Probably you, RT or Brewer. Oh well. If you know who you are, give it to the charity of your choice. (Not yourself or Sligo Rovers FC)

28/12/2007, 12:55 AM
Which reminds me I bet one of your lot that SC would see out the season as Bohs manager. 50 quid I think. Unfortunately I can't remember which one of you it was. Probably you, RT or Brewer. Oh well. If you know who you are, give it to the charity of your choice. (Not yourself or Sligo Rovers FC)It wasn't me anyway so I'm safe. Sounds like the type of thing RT would have done tbh:D

LeixlipRed
28/12/2007, 1:20 AM
Having said that it is funny and typical Shels.

Imagine predicting we'd be in the CL after just winning the league? How silly of me :rolleyes:

28/12/2007, 1:23 AM
Imagine predicting we'd be in the CL after just winning the league? How silly of me :rolleyes:

Are you new to the LOI? :D

LeixlipRed
28/12/2007, 2:15 AM
Are you new to the LOI? :D

What the hell is a LOI? :D

28/12/2007, 6:57 AM
leixlip Red

L = League and I = Ireland I think :D

LeixlipRed
28/12/2007, 1:50 PM
O is for over then. Clearly. Maybe

Philly
28/12/2007, 8:16 PM
Now Kenny is back in the League, I wonder is Stuart considering a move to Engerland :rolleyes:

Wonder how the two will get on when they encounter one another next season...