View Full Version : Stuart Byrnes RTE Rant
MrJoeSoap
18/11/2006, 1:03 PM
enjoy your sucess
Thanks, will do. :)
18/11/2006, 1:24 PM
heard about stewies interview at the match last nite from a close friend in cork that was watchin the match! i have not seen the interview yet im a bit surprised by what he said after all mr kenny brought him to longford town and he was in the wilderness up at crusaders. he would do well to remember that.:eek:
MrJoeSoap
18/11/2006, 1:29 PM
heard about stewies interview at the match last nite from a close friend in cork that was watchin the match! i have not seen the interview yet im a bit surprised by what he said after all mr kenny brought him to longford town and he was in the wilderness up at crusaders. he would do well to remember that.:eek:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rKxsvjUkmk
18/11/2006, 1:45 PM
Fooking heroic :cool:
The Sheliban
18/11/2006, 2:35 PM
Given the manner the league have given fines out to Managers this season Byrne has to be sanctioned. If (I suppose i should say when) he isn't brought up on charges for that outburst will onlt further confirm the bias towards Shels by the eL.
I could excuse Byrne if he was a kid but he is very experienced pro & should know better.
:(
Was Georgie fined or reprimanded for his far worse and far more offensive "All Shels are scum" outburst? If not, does that just confirm the League's pro-Cork bias?
Was Georgie fined or reprimanded for his far worse and far more offensive "All Shels are scum" outburst?
I don't remember that. Can you direct me to the live tv interview?
lofty9
18/11/2006, 3:31 PM
How anybody could try to defend Byrne or find his comments amusing is beyond comprehension. He has added fuel to the fire on why EVERYBODY outside Drumcondra hates Shelbourne. A club which are lacking in dignity. Winners do so by grace and honour. He should take example from his manager who was dignified in his interviews. Stuart Byrne should be ashamed of himself and should apologise to Stephen. How ironic that it was Stephen who helped enhance his career at Longford.
Congratulations to Shels on winning (except to Ollie and his lovechildren Stuart and the skooligans)
The Sheliban
18/11/2006, 3:41 PM
I don't remember that. Can you direct me to the live tv interview?
Ah, so you can say what you like, provided its not live on TV??
Interesting submission, m'lud.
nzamcdza
18/11/2006, 4:49 PM
He was obvioulsy paid by umbro for that rant. Sellout.
Given the manner the league have given fines out to Managers this season Byrne has to be sanctioned. If (I suppose i should say when) he isn't brought up on charges for that outburst will onlt further confirm the bias towards Shels by the eL.
Worse example of this is Rovers getting fned €5k for two pitch invasions in Athlone while Shels getting nothing for their two in Richmond. I'm not saying they should be fined but where's the consistency
Shels schooligans invade the pitch every week.
I am in favour of consistency but pitch invasions ok for last game of the season as on-pitch Cup presentations are terrible as can't see anything.
derryophonics
18/11/2006, 5:50 PM
Have yis thought why he said what he said??? All I can say is, well said, everything said about that príck Kenny is true, wait till you know the facts before spouting on about his character!
I've thought about it and still can't understand why he said what he did. It was unprofessional, vitriolic, and a blatant personal attack that, quite simply, was uncalled for.
18/11/2006, 5:54 PM
Exactly what every Shels fan has been thinking :cool: :D
18/11/2006, 7:18 PM
Maybe Byrne's rant was provoked by the realisation that the League victory was a last hurrah for his beloved one man football club which is about to lose its manager, half its squad and has already lost its ground.
Last nights pathetic exercise in self-humiliation comes after the same player made inflammatory gestures in celebrating a last minute goal against Derry in front of the travelling fans earlier this season.
One things certain, if Shels haven't gone the way of Dublin City by next season (and we live in hope), Stuart will get a fairly lively reception from the Derry fans.
But really, what else should we expect from the representatives of Ireland's most unlikeable club?
18/11/2006, 8:21 PM
Roddy Collins= legend
What was it that Stephen Kenny said that was so terrible anyway ? That Shels shouldn't get the points or a replay of the Bohs game, is that all ? So fukking what ? What did the poor Shels babies expect him to say ? Byrnes rant was pathetic, and I've certainly lost any respect I had for him. He's a top player, but a complete tool. And as for "We won the league by 3 points" Hah. Bollcocks. Shelbourne DID NOT LOSE ANY POINTS as a result of the Dublin City situation. Do you get it Stuart ? Everyones games against DC were wiped out, nobody lost, nobody gained. The fact that Derry lost against them is irrelevant.
BohsFans
18/11/2006, 8:55 PM
Lots of crap has been thrown at shels week in week out, and the players have not said a word. I guess the pressure cooker needs to release steam at some point. So many reasons for that rant. I still think stuart is a fine player and a very nice bloke. We have been branded cheats and all sorts during the season and as a player playing week in week out, that has got to **** you off.
You've brought it on yourself! The attitude and behaviour of your club in the media and in el grounds around the country is nothing short of shocking.
And you wonder why everyone hates your sad small minded club?:rolleyes:
18/11/2006, 9:45 PM
A pathetic, petty and frankly amateurish outburst from a player at a pathetic, petty and frankly amateurish club. Wioth a convict as it's Chief Executive.
Enjoy your pyrrhic victory Olly. Keep going the way you are and Shels will be just the latest Tolka-based club to go out of senior existence (Drumcondra, Home Farm, Dublin City...)
18/11/2006, 9:49 PM
some people in longford have not forgot the way stephen kenny left us to go to bohs - mid season and relegation threatened, and frankly he's done the same to derry
Yeah - Kenny really fecked Derry over. We're all gutted with the way he took us from relegation candidates to 2nd place 2 years in a row, won us the League Cup twice, got us to an FAI Cup Semi and a Final, delivered the best set of European performances/results form an Irish team EVER, delivered a substantial increase in crowds and managed to inject massive pride and self-belief back into the entire city.
Oh - and he's obviously leaving us mid-season and relegation threatened.
Gutted. And I thought we owned him like a dog..... :rolleyes:
The Sheliban
18/11/2006, 11:55 PM
Seems all the vitriol iscoming from Derry and Bohs fans?????????
Buile Shuibhne
18/11/2006, 11:57 PM
Jaysus Pete - you could write a poem about it !
19/11/2006, 12:09 AM
Seems all the vitriol iscoming from Derry and Bohs fans?????????
Well he didn't have a go at anyone else...
19/11/2006, 12:11 AM
Seems all the vitriol iscoming from Derry and Bohs fans?????????...and Pats, Cork and Rovers.
It not paranoia when they all really do hate you......
fanatic
19/11/2006, 2:54 AM
What was it that Stephen Kenny said that was so terrible anyway ? That Shels shouldn't get the points or a replay of the Bohs game, is that all ? So fukking what ? What did the poor Shels babies expect him to say ? Byrnes rant was pathetic, and I've certainly lost any respect I had for him. He's a top player, but a complete tool. And as for "We won the league by 3 points" Hah. Bollcocks. Shelbourne DID NOT LOSE ANY POINTS as a result of the Dublin City situation. Do you get it Stuart ? Everyones games against DC were wiped out, nobody lost, nobody gained. The fact that Derry lost against them is irrelevant.
can someone please explain the reasons for Byrne's rant.......im still lost as to why he can give such a personal attack on the guy.
lofty9
19/11/2006, 8:18 AM
can someone please explain the reasons for Byrne's rant.......im still lost as to why he can give such a personal attack on the guy.
Probably been brainwashed by the Ollie Byrne propaganda machine. They must have been making stories up and been given a weekly newsletter by Ollie. It just goes to show the pressure they were put on to win the league, that he exploded in such an irrational manner.
19/11/2006, 9:32 AM
I think Stuart Byrne was at Longford when Stephen Kenny baled out and joined Bohs.
1Davy
19/11/2006, 12:13 PM
Lots of crap has been thrown at shels week in week out, and the players have not said a word. I guess the pressure cooker needs to release steam at some point. So many reasons for that rant. I still think stuart is a fine player and a very nice bloke. We have been branded cheats and all sorts during the season and as a player playing week in week out, that has got to **** you off.
It was Ollie who treated his players abysmally, why didn't Byrne have a go at him?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rKxsvjUkmk
Hero. Amazing performance tonight. If we had lost and he had said that people would have called him a bad loser, so fair ****s to him for coming out and saying what he thought. Certainly made some entertaining viewing!
When Shels were beat in the LC they showed what bad losers they were.
Byrne now has shown they are also bad winners.
from knowing stuey's sister,i can honestly say that the interview seen on rte is not a reflection on the man himself. he let off a bit of steam??so what!they have just won the league.its probabaly what every $hel$ fan was thinking anyway .he just had the balls to say it. well done shels anyway.well deserved IMO.
Balls, the man hasn't got any.
He waited until SK was about to leave the country before he attacked him.
If he had any balls he would have told SK to his face what he thought.
The man's a coward.
Don't see what the fuss is about. Kenny is just another rat deserting the eircom league sinking ship. very entertaining. Funny hearing that Roddy had no written contract with Rovers. That was the excuse they used when he left Dublin City & the Rovers fans slagged us off about it. i Heard he got €15000, not a lot. Another Title bought by Shels, nothing to be proud of. at least ollie won't be in the high court on Monday.
What a silly and stupid thing to say.
Would you say that about a player who signed for a Scottish Premier club.
Kenny went to Dunfermline where he will have a higher profile, and where he can compete against the likes of Strachen and Le Guen.
Have yis thought why he said what he said??? All I can say is, well said, everything said about that príck Kenny is true, wait till you know the facts before spouting on about his character!
FORZA SHELS! CHAMPIONS 2006!!!
You wouldn't know the facts if they bit you on the a**e.
How anybody could try to defend Byrne or find his comments amusing is beyond comprehension. He has added fuel to the fire on why EVERYBODY outside Drumcondra hates Shelbourne. A club which are lacking in dignity. Winners do so by grace and honour. He should take example from his manager who was dignified in his interviews. Stuart Byrne should be ashamed of himself and should apologise to Stephen. How ironic that it was Stephen who helped enhance his career at Longford.
Congratulations to Shels on winning (except to Ollie and his lovechildren Stuart and the skooligans)
Exactly.
Even the Shels supporters aren't attempting to answer that one.
It's interesting to read on here that the vast majority have condemned Byrne's rant.
It's also interesting to see that Shels supporters are willing to come on here and give their comments, but their own web site cannot appear to stomach anyone who doesn't agree with them.
I have posted on almost all the other web sites but i along with others have found ourselves banned from the Shels site this last week.
Then again i guess the site is a bit like the club it's self.
We don't listen to anyone else, we are a law onto ourself.
We have different rules from everyone else.
And like Byrne we have no balls.
higgins
19/11/2006, 1:06 PM
100% behind Stuey comments. The whole Shels team kept their mouths shut over the last 3 months when Kenny was crying after every Derry game during his interviews. The **** Kenny came out with ove "winning it on the pitch" is what makes Kenny a tosser.
Its double standards because as you all know Derry gained 3 points OFF the pitch.
If Kenny had of went about his business the same way the Shels players and Pat Fenlon did then there would have been no rant.
Kenny came across as an idiot these past few months and I think Stuey waiting until the league was over to speak his mind was fair enough. I only wish more people would speak out against the cray Kenny was talking.
Then there the whole ringing Bohs players rumour.
The Shels players have been called cheaters right through the season, can you tell me one player off the shels team who gave out in an after match interview or asked for a replay or moaned about the Dublin City points or spoke out on the Hargan points? I doubt you can.... Kenny was the one doing the talking over the last few months and Shels and Stuey deserve to have a go at him.
100% behind what Stuey said and I for one am glad to see the back of Stephen Kenny.
19/11/2006, 1:12 PM
If Kenny had of went about his business the same way the Shels players and Pat Fenlon did then there would have been no rant.You obviously missed Fenlon's Newstalk rant 2 weeks ago.
And I see you neatly excluded Ollie from your analysis. Regardless of what our ex-manager said or didn't say, its not a patch on what the criminal comes out with season after season.
Why don't you look within your own club before you comment on others.
100% behind Stuey comments. The whole Shels team kept their mouths shut over the last 3 months when Kenny was crying after every Derry game during his interviews. The **** Kenny came out with ove "winning it on the pitch" is what makes Kenny a tosser.
Its double standards because as you all know Derry gained 3 points OFF the pitch.
If Kenny had of went about his business the same way the Shels players and Pat Fenlon did then there would have been no rant.
Kenny came across as an idiot these past few months and I think Stuey waiting until the league was over to speak his mind was fair enough. I only wish more people would speak out against the cray Kenny was talking.
The Shels players have been called cheaters right through the season, can you tell me one player off the shels team who gave out in an after match interview or asked for a replay or moaned about the Dublin City points or spoke out on the Hargan points? I doubt you can.... Kenny was the one doing the talking over the last few months and Shels and Stuey deserve to have a go at him.
100% behind what Stuey said and I for one am glad to see the back of Stephen Kenny.
Of course you are, especially when you count the number of times his team beat you over the last couple of seasons.
lofty9
19/11/2006, 5:59 PM
how could anyone defend Stuart Byrnes rant? Your rumour on Kenny phoning the bohs players is highly amusing. Even if he did, so what? It's called mind games. I'm glad you won the league because you would have been hard to listen to if you didn't. You fully deserve the 'wonderful' media coverage in all todays papers. You sir, are fully deserving of the club that you support, enjoy your victory and the winding road to non existence in the next few years. Say good luck to wee Pat for me on his way to Derry in the morning.
And a certain Mr S Byrne blew his chance of going to Dunfermiline BTW.
higgins
19/11/2006, 6:12 PM
And I see you neatly excluded Ollie from your analysis.
thread title - Stuart Byrnes RTE Rant
higgins
19/11/2006, 6:26 PM
And a certain Mr S Byrne blew his chance of going to Dunfermiline BTW.
Are you for real ?
Why the **** would somone playing at the top level in Ireland want to go play for Moaning Michael at the bottom of the SPL?
How sad Derry have looked over the past couple of months. Is there anyone SK didnt blame ? Are the league still out to get you ?
How can anyone take SK seriously after Dublin City, Hargan and McGuinness all went your way?
You even won the toss in the League Cup final and your still giving out!!!
Not even after Waterford are denied a certain peno and you score 40 seconds after extra time would you back down.
Its amazing how easy it is to pull the wool over peoples eyes. He played the Pat Dolan tactic and to my surprise you lot in Derry fell for it. I used to have much greater respect for the Derry fans.
That rant sums up Shelbourne football club for me.
19/11/2006, 6:44 PM
Of course you are, especially when you count the number of times his team beat you over the last couple of seasons.
I'm too busy counting the number of league titles we've won in that time to give a toss. Though if you want to know, the head to head in the league this season was an embarassing humilation for Shels. Look at this, awful stuff
Played 3, won 1, drawn 1, lost 1
Pales in comparison to Kennys almighty Derrys record against us, shockingly, played 3, won 1, drawn 1, lost 1.
Shameful. But sure at least we've out 3rd title in 4 years to console ourselves over it. It's a crum of comfort, at least.
Celdrog
19/11/2006, 7:39 PM
Agreed Pablo
lofty9
19/11/2006, 7:56 PM
Are you for real ?
Why the **** would somone playing at the top level in Ireland want to go play for Moaning Michael at the bottom of the SPL?
How sad Derry have looked over the past couple of months. Is there anyone SK didnt blame ? Are the league still out to get you ?
How can anyone take SK seriously after Dublin City, Hargan and McGuinness all went your way?
You even won the toss in the League Cup final and your still giving out!!!
Not even after Waterford are denied a certain peno and you score 40 seconds after extra time would you back down.
Its amazing how easy it is to pull the wool over peoples eyes. He played the Pat Dolan tactic and to my surprise you lot in Derry fell for it. I used to have much greater respect for the Derry fans.
Right, lets get things in perspective.
Shels won the league on the pitch - fair play. There isn't one Derry fan that disrespects that fact. However, the bad taste left by s Byrne and Ollie since winning the league has incensed me.
Dublin City went against you - but what else was supposed to be done? Everybody with an ounce of intelligence agreed with the decision. Cork fans haven't moaned about it and they have lost a European spot due to Drogheda's advantage of it.
The Bohs/Shels affair - the rules were applied. Shamrock Rovers/Dundalk same rule applied. I agree with the 3-0 rule but the clubs signed up for th epresent set of rules.
Stephen Kenny had one rant over the season. It was after having his goalkeeper sent off in the league game which you were fortunate enough to avail of SK's one mistake in his tenure with us (no keeper on the bench). The rant was double edged IMO against the political powers in the North on how DCFC were limited in their support for their new stadium and against the FAI in the Hargan case.
On the Hargan case, Derry were not notified that he was suspended. The FAI were proven to have lied about it also. The administration of it was embarrasing. No notifications were given to press or any release was made in reference to the suspension. Derry played him for 3 matches. Why the hell would they play him? It's not as if he is Owen Heary.
In response to your Waterford/penalty situation - I don't follow Shelbourne enough to pinpoint certain moments that won you the league. However, the mark of a good team is not knowing when to back down. I'm sure you think your chairman is doing a sterling job for you for that reason.
However, I do know of the games that cost us the league. I am a realist - Jason Byrnes last min winner at Tolka against us - No sub keeper when Pat Jennings sent off - The recent Drogheda matches - Bray at home - UCD at home - Bohs at Home - all matches apart from Drogheda away we should have won. Thats what cost us.
Who said the league was out to get us? I thought the league was out to get Shelbourne, after all every decision went against you.
One last point, SK has done so much for our community and our city that I am proud to say that he was once manager of our club. He has transformed the spirit of DCFC. There are more kids wearing Derry jersey's in this town than the usual english/scottish teams. To compare him to Pat Dolan is way off the mark.
I am glad we as a city fell for him, for that I will gladly give up the respect you may have had for us.
BohsFans
19/11/2006, 8:16 PM
Have to say that's the most sense I've seen typed on this thread!
It was because Kenny was in contact with Bohs. For sure.
Don't think Kenny done anything wrong re: gettting Bohs to go for it. I would do the same thing myself.
headtheball
19/11/2006, 8:33 PM
Nail on the head Pablo!!!
LukeO
19/11/2006, 10:26 PM
Right, lets get things in perspective.
Shels won the league on the pitch - fair play. There isn't one Derry fan that disrespects that fact. However, the bad taste left by s Byrne and Ollie since winning the league has incensed me.
Dublin City went against you - but what else was supposed to be done? Everybody with an ounce of intelligence agreed with the decision. Cork fans haven't moaned about it and they have lost a European spot due to Drogheda's advantage of it.
The Bohs/Shels affair - the rules were applied. Shamrock Rovers/Dundalk same rule applied. I agree with the 3-0 rule but the clubs signed up for th epresent set of rules.
Stephen Kenny had one rant over the season. It was after having his goalkeeper sent off in the league game which you were fortunate enough to avail of SK's one mistake in his tenure with us (no keeper on the bench). The rant was double edged IMO against the political powers in the North on how DCFC were limited in their support for their new stadium and against the FAI in the Hargan case.
On the Hargan case, Derry were not notified that he was suspended. The FAI were proven to have lied about it also. The administration of it was embarrasing. No notifications were given to press or any release was made in reference to the suspension. Derry played him for 3 matches. Why the hell would they play him? It's not as if he is Owen Heary.
In response to your Waterford/penalty situation - I don't follow Shelbourne enough to pinpoint certain moments that won you the league. However, the mark of a good team is not knowing when to back down. I'm sure you think your chairman is doing a sterling job for you for that reason.
However, I do know of the games that cost us the league. I am a realist - Jason Byrnes last min winner at Tolka against us - No sub keeper when Pat Jennings sent off - The recent Drogheda matches - Bray at home - UCD at home - Bohs at Home - all matches apart from Drogheda away we should have won. Thats what cost us.
Who said the league was out to get us? I thought the league was out to get Shelbourne, after all every decision went against you.
One last point, SK has done so much for our community and our city that I am proud to say that he was once manager of our club. He has transformed the spirit of DCFC. There are more kids wearing Derry jersey's in this town than the usual english/scottish teams. To compare him to Pat Dolan is way off the mark.
I am glad we as a city fell for him, for that I will gladly give up the respect you may have had for us.
Excellent post. :ball:
MrJoeSoap
20/11/2006, 12:35 AM
When Shels were beat in the LC they showed what bad losers they were.
How so? I was at that game and don't know what you are talking about.
Yeah - Kenny really fecked Derry over. We're all gutted with the way he took us from relegation candidates to 2nd place 2 years in a row, won us the League Cup twice, got us to an FAI Cup Semi and a Final, delivered the best set of European performances/results form an Irish team EVER, delivered a substantial increase in crowds and managed to inject massive pride and self-belief back into the entire city.
Oh - and he's obviously leaving us mid-season and relegation threatened.
Gutted. And I thought we owned him like a dog..... :rolleyes:
Here's that old Derry City chip on both shoulders. Best European results ever? I would say Shels run in the Champions league a few years ago might outdo you in that one, not to mention Linfield getting to the quarter finals of the European Cup but I suppose it is only a matter of time until Derry, the self proclaimed greatest club in the world qualify for the group stages of the Champions League. Oh that's right I forgot, that would mean you actually winning the league first
lofty9
20/11/2006, 10:09 AM
Here's that old Derry City chip on both shoulders. Best European results ever? I would say Shels run in the Champions league a few years ago might outdo you in that one, not to mention Linfield getting to the quarter finals of the European Cup but I suppose it is only a matter of time until Derry, the self proclaimed greatest club in the world qualify for the group stages of the Champions League. Oh that's right I forgot, that would mean you actually winning the league first
David, there are also some chips on your shoulders, for whatever reason, I don't know. Have you anything good to say about Derry City FC at all? Will you ever have? Well done to Linfield for their wonderful European exploits, I remember watching it on TV years ago. Plenty of well deserverd media coverage at the time, if I recall. Nice to see you regard Linfield as Irish too. That's a welcome break from the norm.
Concentrate on congratulating Shelbourne on winning the league and stop having a pop at DCFC at every whim. BTW are you going to go to the Brandywell when your hero Fenlon takes over the reigns from Kenny? Somehow I think your dislike for Derry will put a sour taste to your liking for him when that happens.
20/11/2006, 10:14 AM
I guess it has been a while since you last had a go at Derry David - the tenson must have been getting unbearable round your house.... :rolleyes:
So you think Shel's run in 2004 was better than Derry's in 2006 ? Well, let's just do the obvious thing and look at the facts then, shall we :
P W D L F A PTS
Shels 2004 6 1 3 2 6 8 6
Derry 2006 6 3 2 1 9 5 11
As you can see, Derry won 3 times as many games, bagging almost twice as many points (in the traditional sense of 3pts for a win, 1 for a draw), and scored 50% more goals. Derry also made a greater contribution to the Eircom League's co-efficient, despite CL points being worth more at an earlier stage. So I'd be delighted to know what part of the above comparison suggests to you that Shels had a better European run ? Oh - apart form the fact that the comparison involves a club you clearly despise, that is....
Next - let's take the dangerous step of comparing European runs from a club you clearly love (Linfield) with one you clearly hate (Derry). Admittedly, this step has proven difficult - as your last run of any note in Europe was so long ago that all records of it are written in either Greek hieroglyphics or the Ulster-Scats dialect. Nevertheless - recent re-runs of Rab C Nesbitt on UK Comedy has left me well-equipped to muddle through with primary evidence in the latter dialect.
Looking at the facts, your European Champions Cup run in 1996/7 involved exactly the same number of games and teams as Derry played in Europe this year. It's just that in those days, 6 games in Europe got you up to the end of the quarter-finals. These days, it merely gets you to the end of the hurdle before the group stages :
P W D L F A PTS
Linfield 1966/7 6 2 3 1 16 9 9
Derry 2006 6 3 2 1 9 5 11
Therefore - looking at the actual facts, your European run of 1966/7 was NOT better than Derry's this year. You won less games and bagged less points. The only area you did better in was goals for - though not hard really when you get to wallop the mighty champions of Luxembourg 6:1 at home (albeit after embarassingly drawing with them away). Even if the structure of the competition back then gave you a shout at a Semi-final appearance for exactly the same effort as ours, your results were simply inferior to ours.
So a wee tip for you David. The next time you're driving the wife mad around the house, and you feel the need to release some tension by having a go at your be-hated Derry City FC, please check the facts before you log-on and make yourself look like a silly Billy......
Oh oh. Here we go again!
Steve lad, why don't you and David get a room and get it over and done with? Gone mate, for Ireland :) ;)
lofty9
20/11/2006, 10:23 AM
Oh oh. Here we go again!
Steve lad, why don't you and David get a room and get it over and done with? Gone mate, for Ireland :) ;)
They would have to argue who gets to be the b itch first:D
David
20/11/2006, 10:32 AM
I guess it has been a while since you last had a go at Derry David - the tenson must have been getting unbearable round your house.... :rolleyes:
So you think Shel's run in 2004 was better than Derry's in 2006 ? Well, let's just do the obvious thing and look at the facts then, shall we :
As you can see, Derry won 3 times as many games, bagging almost twice as many points (in the traditional sense of 3pts for a win, 1 for a draw), and scored 50% more goals. Derry also made a greater contribution to the Eircom League's co-efficient, despite CL points being worth more at an earlier stage. So I'd be delighted to know what part of the above comparison suggests to you that Shels had a better European run ? Oh - apart form the fact that the comparison involves a club you clearly despise, that is....
Next - let's take the dangerous step of comparing European runs from a club you clearly love (Linfield) with one you clearly hate (Derry). Admittedly, this step has proven difficult - as your last run of any note in Europe was so long ago that all records of it are written in either Greek hieroglyphics or the Ulster-Scats dialect. Nevertheless - recent re-runs of Rab C Nesbitt on UK Comedy has left me well-equipped to muddle through with primary evidence in the latter dialect.
Looking at the facts, your European Champions Cup run in 1996/7 involved exactly the same number of games and teams as Derry played in Europe this year. It's just that in those days, 6 games in Europe got you up to the end of the quarter-finals. These days, it merely gets you to the end of the hurdle before the group stages :
Therefore - looking at the actual facts, your European run of 1966/7 was NOT better than Derry's this year. You won less games and bagged less points. The only area you did better in was goals for - though not hard really when you get to wallop the mighty champions of Luxembourg 6:1 at home (albeit after embarassingly drawing with them away). Even if the structure of the competition back then gave you a shout at a Semi-final appearance for exactly the same effort as ours, your results were simply inferior to ours.
So a wee tip for you David. The next time you're driving the wife mad around the house, and you feel the need to release some tension by having a go at your be-hated Derry City FC, please check the facts before you log-on and make yourself look like a silly Billy......
Difference between Shels run (and Linfield's) and that of Derry City is that it was in the premier European club competition and not a competition that the major clubs no longer take serious. As for Linfield being Irish, of course we are. When have I said differently? We are Irish League Champions (although I do realise that the term champions is not something that a Derry City supporter is overly familar with) after all and the Republic of Ireland does not have an exclusivity on all things Irish. A very petty attempt to try and politicise there. And finally, on Pat Fenlon, I will always hold him in very high esteem, as will all Linfield supporters (unless he ever happened to go to the Glens of course ;) )
20/11/2006, 10:46 AM
Difference between Shels run (and Linfield's) and that of Derry City is that it was in the premier European club competition and not a competition that the major clubs no longer take serious.
OK - will let's pop back to our good friends the facts and see what they have to say about the relative merits of the teams involved :
Teams Played
Linfield 1966/7 : FC Aris, FC Valarengen, CSKA Sofia.
Shelbourne 2004 : KR Reykjavik, Hdjuk Split, Deportivo La Coruna.
Derry 2006 : IFK Gothenborg, Gretna FC, Paris St Germain.
Looking at the teams involved, Linfield definitely had the least tricky opponents - even accounting for the ebbs and flows in standing over time. Admittedly, there isn't much in it in terms of quality of opposition when comparing Shels and Derry - we had a much tougher first round (though still managed to win both legs, whilst Shels drew both of theirs and had to rely on away goals to scrape through), and Shels had a tougher second round.
Also - if you want to try to reduce the impact of our run by bringing up issues such as how seriously clubs take each competition, I will happily bat that back with references to the fact that the gap between Irish football and the rest of the European pack in 1966/7 was narrower than it is today.
But bottom line is that the facts clearly state that Derry had a better run in Europe than Shels in 2004 and Linfield in 1966. If only you weren't so bitter and twisted about the Cadnystripes, you might be man enough to admit you called this one very wrong.
As for Linfield being Irish, of course we are. When have I said differently?
And when did I say differently ?
We are Irish League Champions (although I do realise that the term champions is not something that a Derry City supporter is overly familar with) after all and the Republic of Ireland does not have an exclusivity on all things Irish. A very petty attempt to try and politicise there.
Oh David - put that handbag down. At your age you'll do yourself some real damage swinging it around like that.....
And finally, on Pat Fenlon, I will always hold him in very high esteem, as will all Linfield supporters (unless he ever happened to go to the Glens of course ;) )
Good for you, and thanks for sharing that with me - even though i didn't mention Pat Fenlon anywhere in my post. A wee tip for you - different log-on names and avators usually suggests posts from different people....
lofty9
20/11/2006, 10:53 AM
Good for you, and thanks for sharing that with me - even though i didn't mention Pat Fenlon anywhere in my post. A wee tip for you - different log-on names and avators usually suggests posts from different people....
David I hope you are ok. I worry when this happens to veteran keyboard warriors! I worry for myself that you could mix me up with that eejit:D .