View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2006/07
Pages :
[
6]
MunsterMunch
26/01/2007, 12:59 PM
Does anyone know if the Peake Villa cup game is due to take place this Sunday? it would be a bit of a joke considering they will have a couple of players playing OT on the Saturday......
I also heard the rumours that jugs was talking about, but all anyone who is not part of the club can say, is that ALL they are, are rumours! Unless someone from the club or something with concrete facts can divulge further then there is no use bringing up all this here.
One thing i did hear for certain though is the Noel 'Bub' Burn is leaving Peake. Not sure why and i think it could be a big loss, especially seeing how big a move foward the club have made since last year. (him only coming back at the start of this season).
hooperlooper
26/01/2007, 8:48 PM
munsterman000 sorry 4 bein a bit odd,grattan would have never have even know about the 60/40 split if it wasnt for the fai guy in the car, at the game to be honest we we'rnt bothered either way,twas some of the comments posted that ****ed me off but i should have used some common sense and saw past them ,its bin 25 years since we got to the open round so 50 euro wasnt or reason for goin 2 clonmel and by the way i was not happy at all at the carry on o of a section of the grattan supporters,twas a stuipd comment to make on my behalf,i apoligise,but credit clon for the grub katie ryans
Tipperary_Man
28/01/2007, 6:51 PM
the tipp cup holders st michaels were beaten on penalties by sarsfield rovers!! with town out aswell maybe a team from a lower league can stake a claim for the trophy
tippsouth
28/01/2007, 10:12 PM
was surprised michaels agreed to play todays game with 2 players on yesterdays team. like wise with peake they had 2 players on the team aswell. its not gonna be a good season for michaels. out of two major cups and it still only january. anyone know why paul breen and donal duggan weren't in the squad??
Van The Man
29/01/2007, 2:49 PM
was surprised michaels agreed to play todays game with 2 players on yesterdays team. like wise with peake they had 2 players on the team aswell. its not gonna be a good season for michaels. out of two major cups and it still only january. anyone know why paul breen and donal duggan weren't in the squad??
I remember only last weekend Peak were getting slated here for their loss to Grattan in the FAI and it was mentioned that it would be end of their season for them....I didn't see any games over the weekend, but they had a 4-0 result in the Tipperary Cup over the weekend, so they seem to have came back with a bag...it might have been poorer opposition but it was a "bounce-back" for them...I see St. Michaels got dumped out of the Tipperary Cup over the weekend, a very poor season so far for St. Michaels, FAI exit early, Tipp Cup exit early...interesting time in Tipp Town !!!....So St. Michaels and Clonmel Town are now gone....makes for a good run-up to the Final of this Cup this year...Peak must fancy somewhat of a chance of this Cup this season....as I suppose every team would at this stage....IT'S A FUNNY AULD GAME....
Tipperary_Man
29/01/2007, 4:54 PM
they have a lot of young players in thier squad this season and only a handful of the players have much experience. if st michaels didnt rely on signing players from other teams they would be a lot worse off then they are now. i've seen them a few times this season and without the seasoned pros they are a very ordianry outfit, very few players in the 25-28 age bracket when players should be hitting their prime.
and on another matter, the oscar traynor team are still in with a shout of qualifying from their group even though there doesnt seem to be interest from players. why for a league of south tipp's stature is a competition like the oscar traynor treated so badly??
tipp man
29/01/2007, 8:24 PM
Noel Byrne was on the new sports programme on Tipp FM this evening and seemed to confirm the posts that have circulated here about an incident between a Peake Villa player and management after the Gratten game. He compared it to the spat between Ferguson and Beckham a few years ago.
munsterman000
30/01/2007, 8:45 AM
No bother hooperlooper, as i said before best of luck against pike.
As for the Tipp Cup, unbelieveable stuff! Who would have thought that Town and Michaels would be out already? It throws it wide open for everyone - I'd say that every club left in it would fancy their chances (with a bit of luck). It does at least mean that someone other than the big two will get their hands on a major trophy this year - does anyone know how many times that has happened in the last ten years (i know peake won a league one year)?
stevie11
30/01/2007, 10:56 AM
Agree with ya totally "Tipperary Man".Seen Michaels play a bit this year and they look very ordinary!!They have alot of young players there this year and maybe they are tryin to build again,cause from what i have seen this year they really need to!!When the likes of James Welsh goes, which maybe next year wat will happen to them then??
They obviously took Sarsfield Rovers very lightly and they shouldnt have cause they dont exactly have alot left to play for this season..Is it true they didnt play Paul Breen???:ball:
Van The Man
30/01/2007, 11:39 AM
No bother hooperlooper, as i said before best of luck against pike.
As for the Tipp Cup, unbelieveable stuff! Who would have thought that Town and Michaels would be out already? It throws it wide open for everyone - I'd say that every club left in it would fancy their chances (with a bit of luck). It does at least mean that someone other than the big two will get their hands on a major trophy this year - does anyone know how many times that has happened in the last ten years (i know peake won a league one year)?
Munsterman, as you said it's thrown wide open now and a new name on the Cup....Outside of Town and Michaels, Peake were the last one's to win in it 2000/2001, Peake also won the league that year......Knocklong were the last one's before that in 1992/1993 season to win the Tipp Cup....so it will be a welcome change in the TSDL to have someone else in with a shout....
PREMIER LEAGUE WINNERS
1992-93 St. Michael’s
1993-94 Clonmel Town
1994-95 St. Michael’s
1995-96 St. Michael’s
1997-98 Clonmel Town
1998-99 Clonmel Town
1999-2000 St. Michael’s
2000-01 Peake Villa
2001-02 Clonmel Town
2002-03 St. Michael’s
2003-04 Clonmel Town
2004-05 Clonmel Town
2005-06 Clonmel Town
TIPP CUP WINNERS
1992-93 Knocklong FC
1993-94 Clonmel Town
1994-95 St. Michael's
1995-96 Clonmel Town
1996-97 Clonmel Town
1997-98 St. Michael’s
1998-99 Clonmel Town
1999-2000 Clonmel Town
2000-01 Peake Villa
2001-02 Clonmel Town
2002-03 Clonmel Town
2003-04 Clonmel Town
2004-05 St. Michael’s
2005-06 St. Michael's
balls
30/01/2007, 10:25 PM
peake or oldbridge be my favourates for tipp cup. rock rrovers rosegreen or galbally be good outside bet
Tipperary_Man
31/01/2007, 10:26 AM
rosegreen were knocked out by michaels in the 1st round, would agree with you about galbally, not many teams would fancy their chances playing down there but its good to see for a change a new team have a chance of winning the competition
is noel byrne still involved with peake? one of the forummers said he was leaving the club but he was on tipp fm a few nights ago
Tipperary_Man
31/01/2007, 10:31 AM
congrats to shane long on being called into the irish squad, very nice lad whose kept his feet on the ground,who would have thought it only 4 years ago he was playing schoolboy soccer in tipperary. well done and he fully deserves it
Van The Man
01/02/2007, 8:47 AM
peake or oldbridge be my favourates for tipp cup. rock rrovers rosegreen or galbally be good outside bet
Yea Peake have to strong contenders for this trophy at this stage with the two big guns gone....but every team is saying that I'd say....so wide open and all on the day.....When is the draw been made ?
allab
01/02/2007, 11:36 AM
anyone know when michaels game in the munster is on?
Van The Man
01/02/2007, 11:39 AM
anyone know when michaels game in the munster is on?
Possibly the wkend of the 18th of Feb. They have FAI this weekend, Oscar Traynor on the 11th, so probably the 18th......but unsure....:confused:
allab
01/02/2007, 11:43 AM
Possibly the wkend of the 18th of Feb. They have FAI this weekend, Oscar Traynor on the 11th, so probably the 18th......but unsure....:confused:
thought there out of the FAI?
zizu's head
01/02/2007, 1:09 PM
They're playing in the Munster Junior Cup this weekend!
Van The Man
01/02/2007, 1:10 PM
Oooops....lost my train of thought altogether, was thinkin one thing and typing the other....:confused: :confused:
They are playing Castleview from Cork AUL in the Munster JC 4th Round this Saturday nite at 7.45pm under lights.
Den Perry
04/02/2007, 8:05 PM
ya i agree peake were d better side bt on d day grattan wanted to win it more nd dats wat fai junior cups are all about. has to be said fair play to grattan united who gave half the gate reciepts to peake. i think its a nice touch and should be the same for all once you get outside the area. cant see them beatin pike though. town and kilester should be a good one
"wanted to win it more"?? that is utter b ull ****. Villa were unlucky and it could really have gone either way, but there is no way that Grattan won because they wanted it more (by the way I know this post is a few wks late, but that statement really annoyed me)
Den Perry
04/02/2007, 8:11 PM
i am greatfull for all the positive comments regarding grattan giving half the gate recipts to peake,its in the fai rule book that you have to charge a minimum 3 to 5 euro entrance from the 4th round onwards,a 60/40 split between the 2 clubs,60 % home and 40% away,we gave it to peake,clonmel did not give it to us,thats what you call bad loser.in relation to the comments being made regardin peake bein the better football team i do not agree with them ,we are all entitled to our opinion but i feel that the comments being made are buy supporters of peake and of the tsdl league in general,i appriciate that,but to be totally fair,peakevilla did not creat much on the day,maybe 2 chances,a lot of very well delivered corners and frees when they got them,a fratuitious goal,when a grattan defenders arse had diverted the ball to peaks best player,and he duely scored,no problems with that,grattan put a lot of pressur and got a goal by using the conditions to there benifit,a long free kick down the throat of the keeper,the center back missed the header and the keeper did not have time to readjust,ball in the peakvilla net,if peake were honest,a good side they are,but they never really caused grattan any problems until the grattan players butt made there oppertuinity,which they duly took,they did have there best spell of the game for the last 15 mins of the game but grattan always seemed dangerious on the break,grattan got a good goal in the first period of xtra time,peakevilla switched off and grattan pounced,peake never had it in reserve to claw there way back,but respect is due to them,good players,good manager good club BUT,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,grattan played peake off the park,they chased everything,never gave peake a chance,back 3 were rock solid,forced peake to belt balls long and grattans back 3 are all over 6'2,dealt with it all day,grattan had 5 in midfield,peake couldnt deal with that either,and the small quick forward that drove clon celtic mad did the same to peake,dont get me wrong peake are good,but they could nt raise there game and find that somthin to get a reult,grattan did,,,,,,,,,,,finally grattan were supposed to be easy pickins for clonmel celtic,and after we beat them some **** in a fai bannered ford people carrier told me that we wouldnt beat peake,not a hope in hell were his exact words,to him i offer you my middle finger with the attached slogan,talk is cheap,no doubt some one from limerick or tipp will say that pike are going to beat grattan,we take that on the chin,but last years fai winners means nothin on the day,how many fai finals or how many semis you have reached means nothin,what you do on they day means everything,grattan have spirit and a raw agression matched with skill,ask anyone at the game what they thought of grattans outside right,skinny guy, our captain,best player on the park according to peake secretary,nice man,and id take spirit and hard work over skill any day ,would it be so hard for some one to just admit that though their individual clubsides are good,grattan were better on the day and they will be hard to beat on the day down in cork and that they are a strong side,come on the gratts:p
You are a serious pain in the h ole. Its all "us against the world" with you.And if you think you played Villa off the park, you know less about the football than the Villa secretary
tipp man
04/02/2007, 8:37 PM
You are a serious pain in the h ole. Its all "us against the world" with you.And if you think you played Villa off the park, you know less about the football than the Villa secretary
I'm curious now; who is the Villa secretary?
tippsouth
04/02/2007, 9:53 PM
deen perry dats wat i said shur villa were d better side day jst didnt perform. d team didnt click dat day. day were lackin the desire to win unlike today in the mjc. they played the same way as they did against borris the previous week. day cudnt expect 2 advance like dat. had villa played like they did today grattan would have been trashed. but as i said thats cup football. pike rovers can blame the ref's or the wind all day like but in cup football nytin cn happen. gerry hogan is the villa secretary., the man knows as much about soccer as he does about his furniture shop.
wilhelm2
05/02/2007, 2:08 PM
deen perry dats wat i said shur villa were d better side day jst didnt perform. d team didnt click dat day. day were lackin the desire to win unlike today in the mjc. they played the same way as they did against borris the previous week. day cudnt expect 2 advance like dat. had villa played like they did today grattan would have been trashed. but as i said thats cup football. pike rovers can blame the ref's or the wind all day like but in cup football nytin cn happen. gerry hogan is the villa secretary. the man knows as much about soccer as he does about his furniture shop.
i taught this forum was about difference of opinions in junior football
is there any need for personal ??
its very brave of you to hide behind a log on name tippsouth (very original name by the way) and give abuse.
i hope your knowledge of soccer (and of furniture shops) is as good as your ability to write proper english.
Van The Man
05/02/2007, 3:01 PM
i taught this forum was about difference of opinions in junior football
is there any need for personal ??
its very brave of you to hide behind a log on name tippsouth (very original name by the way) and give abuse.
i hope your knowledge of soccer (and of furniture shops) is as good as your ability to write proper english.
Wilhelm2, your comments are correct. We are all here to have opinions on Junior Football country wide. Personal opinions on club patrons are best kept to yourself tippsouth, maybe you should bring up this matter at your next clubs meeting and not drag down somebodies name on this site, we are not on this forum to name and blame people, we could all do that...we are all in it for the football. :ball:
Van The Man
05/02/2007, 3:28 PM
Den you seem to have scared Hooper away, he has made an open apology on a new thread and jumped ship....
wilhelm2
05/02/2007, 6:09 PM
with town now out of the fai, they look certs for winning the league
three games in hand and equel points at the top
for the sake of the run in i hope michaels/town head to head results in two draws, that would keep three in the race !!!!
Den Perry
05/02/2007, 6:15 PM
Den you seem to have scared Hooper away, he has made an open apology on a new thread and jumped ship....
I am psycho....i am a psycho....
Den Perry
05/02/2007, 6:25 PM
look i'm sorry but i have to say this, i am closely linked with peake villa and i know for fact that an incident occured after the grattan game between a member of the committee and a player so ye can all stop B****in about hte rumour mill but some things really have to brought to light, it was an abolute disgrace what went on that day and all because only SOME of the peake committee were feelin bad after gettin beaten, thats the reason they wouldn't stop for the food after because of sour grapes, and to further prove my point in those committee members not allowing the players the food layed on why would they then stop at another venue on there way home. This is something i fear that may well ruin the season for peake, some parts of junior football will remain rotten i fear!!:o
Just read this post again and it makes no sense, there is no structure to the statement whatsoever
Den Perry
05/02/2007, 6:39 PM
deen perry dats wat i said shur villa were d better side day jst didnt perform. d team didnt click dat day. day were lackin the desire to win unlike today in the mjc. they played the same way as they did against borris the previous week. day cudnt expect 2 advance like dat. had villa played like they did today grattan would have been trashed. but as i said thats cup football. pike rovers can blame the ref's or the wind all day like but in cup football nytin cn happen. gerry hogan is the villa secretary. the man knows as much about soccer as he does about his furniture shop.
Can you please stop using "text speak" It is both immature and very unsightly, rather like your posts
tippsouth
05/02/2007, 8:19 PM
den perry and welhem sorry for using text style writing but its just handier that way. i'm not exactly shakespere. whats the problem anyway. the only reason i mentioned villas secretarys name was it was asked who he was further up in this page
05/02/2007, 9:33 PM
den perry and welhem sorry for using text style writing but its just handier that way. i'm not exactly shakespere. whats the problem anyway. the only reason i mentioned villas secretarys name was it was asked who he was further up in this page
If you are going to name someone here don't let it be followed by something like you posted earlier up in this thread and was edited accordingly.Consider yourself warned.
tippsouth
05/02/2007, 10:37 PM
deen perry dats wat i said shur villa were d better side day jst didnt perform. d team didnt click dat day. day were lackin the desire to win unlike today in the mjc. they played the same way as they did against borris the previous week. day cudnt expect 2 advance like dat. had villa played like they did today grattan would have been trashed. but as i said thats cup football. pike rovers can blame the ref's or the wind all day like but in cup football nytin cn happen. gerry hogan is the villa secretary., the man knows as much about soccer as he does about his furniture shop.
i didnt edit anything to do with that. it was 4 sumtin else in my comment. as i said the only reason the villa secretary was mentioned was "I'm curious now; who is the Villa secretary?"
06/02/2007, 7:01 AM
i didnt edit anything to do with that. it was 4 sumtin else in my comment. as i said the only reason the villa secretary was mentioned was "I'm curious now; who is the Villa secretary?"
I edited out your remark (you know what remark),do you think you can call people what you like here?.
If you can't keep it civil keep it to yourself.
jug2004
06/02/2007, 8:18 AM
i'm sorry Den Perry for not puting my comma's and question marks in the text, is there any other english lessons you would like to give me?. I know for fact what happened that day is all i was saying. I believe closure was looked for on the situation so stop dragging your heels over it again please!
Van The Man
06/02/2007, 8:37 AM
i'm sorry Den Perry for not puting my comma's and question marks in the text, is there any other english lessons you would like to give me?. I know for fact what happened that day is all i was saying. I believe closure was looked for on the situation so stop dragging your heels over it again please!
Jug I don't think he was getting at you for your comma's and questions marks, just meerly that he couldn't make head nor tail of your post.....The english lessons were pointed towards "the txt writer" tippsouth I think....
The conversation about the peake/grattan day is long over and we have moved on along since then...
Van The Man
06/02/2007, 8:41 AM
with town now out of the fai, they look certs for winning the league
three games in hand and equel points at the top
for the sake of the run in i hope michaels/town head to head results in two draws, that would keep three in the race !!!!
Yes it looks like Town's title, can't see them slip at this stage of the league, as you said with their exit from the FAI all concentration will be on the league and Munster now. To tell you the truth I can't see the two clashes between Town and Saints ending up in draws, as nice as it would be to see a 3 way run-in for the title....
wilhelm2
07/02/2007, 12:51 AM
Yes it looks like Town's title, can't see them slip at this stage of the league, as you said with their exit from the FAI all concentration will be on the league and Munster now. To tell you the truth I can't see the two clashes between Town and Saints ending up in draws, as nice as it would be to see a 3 way run-in for the title....
perhaps 4 points to michaels one point to clonmel town then??????
with town still having to go to thurles, it wouild make interesting finale.
town still have game in hand over michaels
Tipperary_Man
11/02/2007, 6:10 PM
i heard barnesey got shown a straight red today playing for clonmel town B team. will he be suspended for the munster junior cup game next weekend?
wilhelm2
13/02/2007, 2:18 AM
surely barnes is not eligible to play for b side
my uderstanding of the rules is that you can only play five games or cup game and then you can no longer play in a lower divison?????
Tipperary_Man
13/02/2007, 11:33 AM
john shanahan, darren burns were both playing aswel with the B team, i think its only goin by league games which i think is very unfair
Van The Man
13/02/2007, 2:25 PM
Killusty FC v Bansha Celtic
Two Mile Borris v Kilmanahan United
St. Michael’s B v Glengoole United
St. Kieran's FC v Rock Rovers
Old Bridge FC v Ballingarry Albion
Cashel Town v Clonmel Town B
Killenaule Rovers v Peake Villa
Sarsfield Rovers v Clonmel Celtic
zizu's head
20/02/2007, 12:20 PM
Lads,
Any info on the rumour that 'Blossom' Quinlivan is taking over as manager of Clonmel Town next season? I had heard that Charlie McCeaver was getting involved with Clonmel Commercials GAA, but didn't know that he was leaving Clonmel Town in the process!
Any truth? :confused:
C.T.F.C
22/02/2007, 11:54 AM
Not confirmed yet but it would be the likeliest scenario if Charlie goes.
Larry 'da' Wyse
26/02/2007, 11:38 AM
Anyone at the Peake v. Kinsale game. 5-5 and Peake sneak it on peno's.
Sounds exciting!
Van The Man
26/02/2007, 1:19 PM
Anyone at the Peake v. Kinsale game. 5-5 and Peake sneak it on peno's.
Sounds exciting!
I heard they were 3-0 up at half time. 5-5 after extra time. They won 9-8 on peno's. 28 goals !!! Sound exciting alright.
I heard peake didn't play 3 of their first 11 because they are meant to be signing for a League of Ireland team. Ted O'Connor, Foggy Fogarty and Aaron Ryan, heard they travelled but weren't played at all.
Larry 'da' Wyse
26/02/2007, 1:54 PM
a League of Ireland team. Ted O'Connor, Foggy Fogarty and Aaron Ryan, heard they travelled but weren't played at all.
Interesting. Limerick 37 are having an 'official' launch in 2 days time.
Van The Man
26/02/2007, 3:09 PM
Interesting. Limerick 37 are having an 'official' launch in 2 days time.
The close off date for signing for the League of Ireland is Wednesday !!:confused:
they are 3 quality players would bewell able for the step up to eircom league big loss to peake. any other tsdl players signing for them think anthony glasheen from saint michaels is signed for them too
MunsterMunch
26/02/2007, 9:58 PM
I heard Eoin o Shea from Peake was signing for them as well so thats 4 starting players. Ted and Foggy are the biggest loses!