View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8

Den Perry
31/08/2006, 10:09 PM
i wouldnt say ryan missed three glorious chances BUT, any of the top strikers in the league would have taken them.....

Noddy
05/09/2006, 10:48 PM
any have a league table? Do St. Michaels play alot of there home games under lights?

Van The Man
06/09/2006, 8:34 AM
any have a league table? Do St. Michaels play alot of there home games under lights?

U'll find a league Table on www.tsdl.ie

Saints played a few games under lights already this season. But the majority of games are played on Sunday afternoons.

Tipp Man 2
11/09/2006, 10:34 AM
MUNSTER JUNIOR CUP

Preliminary Round Draw
Redmondstown FC v Clonmel Celtic
Galbally Utd v Rock Rovers FC
Kilmanahan United v Ballingarry Albion
Rosegreen Rangers v Commons FC
Killenaule Rovers v Old Bridge FC
Wilderness Rovers v Peake Villa FC
Cullen-Lattin FC v Hollyford FC
Bansha Celtic v Two Mile Borris / St Kevin's

1st Round Draw
St Nicholas FC v Glengoole United
Sarsfield Rovers v Killenaule Rovers or Old Bridge
Galbally Utd or Rock Rvs v Glen Villa
Clonmel Town FC v Mullinahone FC
Wilderness Rovers or Peake Villa v Moyglass Utd FC
St Michael's AFC v Burncourt Celtic
Cullen-Lattin FC or Hollyford v Cashel Town FC
Cahir Park AFC v Killusty FC
Rosegreen Rgs or Commons FC v Donohill and Doon Celtic
Gooldscross FC v Bansha Celtic or Two Mile Borris / St Kevin's
Kilmanahan Utd or Ballingarry Albion v Kilsheelan United
Vee Rovers FC v Redmondstown or Clonmel Celtic

2nd Round Draw
A Galbally Utd or Rock Rvs or Glen Villa v Vee Rovers or Redmondstown or Clonmel Celtic
B Cullen-Lattin FC or Hollyford or Cashel Town v Clonmel Town or Mullinahone
C Wilderness Rovers or Peake Villa or Moyglass Utd v Gooldscross or Bansha Celtic or Two Mile Borris/St Kevins
D Sarsfield Rvs or Killenaule Rvs or Old Bridge v St Nicholas FC or Glengoole Utd
E Cahir Park or Killusty v Rosegreen Rgs or Commons FC or Donohill and Doon Celtic
F St Michael's or Burncourt Celtic v Kilmanahan Utd or Ballingarry Albion or Kilsheelan Utd

3rd Round Draw
A v B
E v C
F v D

C.T.F.C
14/09/2006, 11:38 AM
Just seen the draw for the MSC. Does anyone know why St Michaels are in this Comp??? I was under the impression that only junior league winners were invited to participate. Anyone???? Also IMO this competition is a waste of time and energy for junior sides. A possible 5 extra matches in an already congested season. Whilst the opportunity to face LOI oppisition is a nice incentive the drawbacks such as increased club costs and the toll it can take on the squad - injuries etc surely outweigh any benefits accruing???? Agree/Disagree????

Tipp Man 2
14/09/2006, 12:40 PM
Just seen the draw for the MSC. Does anyone know why St Michaels are in this Comp??? I was under the impression that only junior league winners were invited to participate. Anyone???? Also IMO this competition is a waste of time and energy for junior sides. A possible 5 extra matches in an already congested season. Whilst the opportunity to face LOI oppisition is a nice incentive the drawbacks such as increased club costs and the toll it can take on the squad - injuries etc surely outweigh any benefits accruing???? Agree/Disagree????

I agree completely but its a good way to show that both saints and Town are 2 of the tops teams in munster at this level..As for saints in this competition this year, i would reckon (and im only guessing) that they entered because Town won Munster Junior and Tipp league which is 2 places for Junior teams in mun senior so therefore there needs to be a another junior representative..because saints were runners up in both i guess by default its them that enters ! agree?

C.T.F.C
14/09/2006, 2:44 PM
Sounds plausible alright. I notice however that there are no represantatives fron the limerick or waterford leagues. Different priorities?????

Tipp Man 2
14/09/2006, 3:13 PM
Sounds plausible alright. I notice however that there are no represantatives fron the limerick or waterford leagues. Different priorities?????

I saw tramore in it..did they win the league last year in waterford?...Limerick capable of anything....

wilhelm2
17/09/2006, 9:39 AM
I agree completely but its a good way to show that both saints and Town are 2 of the tops teams in munster at this level..As for saints in this competition this year, i would reckon (and im only guessing) that they entered because Town won Munster Junior and Tipp league which is 2 places for Junior teams in mun senior so therefore there needs to be a another junior representative..because saints were runners up in both i guess by default its them that enters ! agree?

dont you think that town and michaels should try and progress further??
they are like celtic and rangers in the scotish legue (big fish in a small pond)
perhaps they should be looking at munster serior league or even league of ireland, they certainly have the facilities for it and it might also be good for the league

wilhelm2
19/09/2006, 8:52 AM
looks like the league is thrown open again after michaels defeat on sunday????
for a while he looked that it was going to be a runaway situation
anyone at the match???

Tipp Man 2
19/09/2006, 10:10 AM
looks like the league is thrown open again after michaels defeat on sunday????
for a while he looked that it was going to be a runaway situation
anyone at the match???

was at the game...peake deserved to win in the end..saints looked like a team that hadn't played in 3 weeks which was the case.. saints had youth keeper playing who was the cause of 2 goals... as i said tho overall peake deserved it

C.T.F.C
19/09/2006, 10:59 AM
dont you think that town and michaels should try and progress further??
they are like celtic and rangers in the scotish legue (big fish in a small pond)
perhaps they should be looking at munster serior league or even league of ireland, they certainly have the facilities for it and it might also be good for the league

The cost of participating in the MSL would be prohibitive for both clubs. Expenses increase greatly without generating extra income to compensate. That said I believe both clubs have the ability to play at this level. As for LOI, unless an extremely generous benefactor wants to bankroll such a venture its definetly a non runner. Most LOI clubs operate at a loss every year so it doesnt qualify as a sound business venture. There was talk last year of a consortium of Clonmel business people funding a LOI adventure but in the end it came to nothing. So until we can find a Roman Abramovich I think we are staying put.

The league was always going to be a more open affair this year and so it has proved. Peake are always a hard side to beat at home so there may be more twist and turns to come before the Liam Delahunty Trophy is handed out.

Van The Man
19/09/2006, 3:09 PM
was at the game...peake deserved to win in the end..saints looked like a team that hadn't played in 3 weeks which was the case.. saints had youth keeper playing who was the cause of 2 goals... as i said tho overall peake deserved it

Was at the game myself. Don't know if the league is thrown wide open again after just one result. There is a long season ahead yet. I beg to differ on the fact that you say the youth keeper was at fault for 2 goals. 2 of peakes goals came from corners which were headed to the net, so I don't think he can be blamed for that. Also the first goal was a shot from distance the corner of the net, now maybe you want to blame him for that, but it was a well struck shot and he mightn't have seen it throught the legs of the defence. On peake, "Redser" O' Grady was the scorer of 2 goals for peake, didn't even know he played soccer to tell you the truth, but he didn't look too out of place against Breen & Walsh I can tell you. Foggy Fogarty got the winner which seems a bit ironic don't you think !

Just on another note, maybe it's just me, but I found it quite unusual that Saints played Villa so close to FAI Cup time !

C.T.F.C
02/10/2006, 9:41 PM
Town beat Ringmahon Rangers 5-1 on Sunday and in truth it could have been double figures. The ref and linesmen lost complete control of the game and brandished 4 red and im guessing 14 yellows( I stopped counting after 10). Surely there are better junior sides in Cork capable of replacing Ringmahon in the MSL????? Whilst its always nice to win, this competition is definetly way down the list of priorities.

balls
10/10/2006, 9:03 PM
rumour has it alot of saints players arent looking forward to the big fai game on sunday against peake on sunday. i fancy ted o connor to score in a peake win

wilhelm2
11/10/2006, 2:54 AM
rumour has it alot of saints players arent looking forward to the big fai game on sunday against peake on sunday. i fancy ted o connor to score in a peake win

its too tough to call , last five meetings : saints 2 ,villa 2 ; with 1 draw
villa have home advantage but saints will be out for revenge for last year
and recent league reverse. going to be interesting?

Galla
11/10/2006, 3:56 PM
Where is the Bridge v 'Town game to be played on Sunday. On the by-pass as last year ??

C.T.F.C
12/10/2006, 8:43 AM
If the weather holds it will probably be played over in Green Lane, narrowed pitch and long grass included:D . Seriously though as always it will be a battle. May the best team win.

wilhelm2
15/10/2006, 5:27 PM
any reports on the sainta v villa game
any good were villa worth their win
big disappointment for saints??:

balls
15/10/2006, 7:00 PM
tough on saints 2 years in a row. especially after there 15-1 win last week. no other club would humiliate a div4 team by that much so delighted saints got what they deserved this week. well done peake

Van The Man
16/10/2006, 9:22 AM
tough on saints 2 years in a row. especially after there 15-1 win last week. no other club would humiliate a div4 team by that much so delighted saints got what they deserved this week. well done peake

Not really tough on saints 2 years in a row. That's how cup football goes. If saints deserved to win I would say that it would have been tough. But that wasn't so. A great game of football, in lovely conditions. Sun was shining and the pitch look well in Thurles. It was a tit for tat game, no side was giving much away. Saints had O'Sullivan back in the goals, but saints don't look the team they used to be, a lot of young players venturing into their squad these days and it showed yesterday. Finnian has his Peake outfit looking good and they deserved the win, it was hard fought right to the end. It should have been more than 1-0 near the end of the game and peake squandered changes when saints pushed for an equalizer and were down to 10 men. Back to the drawing board for saints, and into the next round for Peake. Two wins by Peake over Saints in the last few weeks has to say something for Finnians Thurles outfit this year and it could make for an interesting season ahead in both the league and cup games. Well done Peake.

jug2004
16/10/2006, 10:41 AM
Think its great that peake have won again this year they got alot of stick for being flash in the pans for winnin last year. They proved now they are a team to be reckoned with and at home on there day they willl give any team in the country a good game.Was at the bridge and town game, pitch was truely terrible & so were both defences, town prob done enough in the second half to win alright but bridge missed some glaring chances all the same. They hit the bar at 1-1 and if they could have gone in front at any stage i feel town may have struggled. Anyone know when the draw for the next round is on???:)

stevie11
16/10/2006, 12:43 PM
Fair play to Peake for knockin out saints again this year..Looks like Saints season is in tatters again so early on in the year..Peake are 1 of the best sides in the premier this year n maybe they can really challenge for the premier or even more??In de long run of the season dont think Saints will b up to much,havnt got de players anymore..so i think they shouldnt be so cocky and it was good they got brought back down to earth with a bang!!Was over at the Town bridge game myself,was shocked with how poor Town were at defending set pieces,shocking!!overall maybe they deserved to win but not by 2 goals.If they dont tighten up at de back a better team will punish them.:ball:

allab
16/10/2006, 4:03 PM
who scored the goal for peake and who was sent off for saints

jug2004
17/10/2006, 10:18 AM
ted o connor got the winner for them some roche fella got sent off for them think he's only outa youth football :ball:

Van The Man
17/10/2006, 11:01 AM
ted o connor got the winner for them some roche fella got sent off for them think he's only outa youth football :ball:

Yea O'Connor got the winner for them in the first half of extra time. That Roche lad looked only to be out of Youth Football, he was very poor indeed, a very surprising choice to start in a FAI Cup game. I saw Sean O' Halloran on the bench and thought he might have got in instead of Roche, unless O'Halloran was injured.

wilhelm2
17/10/2006, 11:05 AM

GOOD CALL !!!!!!!!!

Van The Man
17/10/2006, 11:09 AM
Originally Posted by balls

GOOD CALL !!!!!!!!!

Wonder has balls any lotto numbers for 2moro night, a good call on the saints V villa game !!!

Van The Man
19/10/2006, 8:28 AM
GAMES TO BE PLAYED ON OR BEFORE THE 4TH/5TH.November2006
TIPPERARY-W.W.E.C. 3RD.ROUND
1 Cloughjordan (n.t.d.l.) v Killusty / Commons
2 Cahir Park v Newtown Clt.(n.t.d.l.)
3 Peakvilla v Borrisoleigh (n.t.d.l.)
4 Wilderness Rvs. v Clonmore Utd.
5 Ballingarry Albion v Burncourt
6 Rock Rovers v Nenagh Celtic
7 Ardmore F.C. v Two mile Borris St.Kevins
8 Bansha F.C. v Clonmel Clt.
9 Rosegreen v Thurles Town
10 Galbally v Clonmel Town.

jug2004
23/10/2006, 1:00 PM
not bad draws for alot of the "bigger" teams involved, interesting to see the next round though still some tricky teams left. As the Oscar traynor draws nearer what do ye think the team should or will be this year, they seem to have a serious man on board in this McCarthy guy, anyone any ideas on the panel or team, granted the players that are willing to play(hopefully not all the killusty team this year):ball:

zizu's head
23/10/2006, 2:47 PM
not bad draws for alot of the "bigger" teams involved, interesting to see the next round though still some tricky teams left. As the Oscar traynor draws nearer what do ye think the team should or will be this year, they seem to have a serious man on board in this McCarthy guy, anyone any ideas on the panel or team, granted the players that are willing to play(hopefully not all the killusty team this year):ball:

If the players are willing to play this year, and it would appear that they will as they have a good manager, then I don't see why they can't go all the way! But like every year, it WILL depend on what players decide to show up!!

C.T.F.C
24/10/2006, 2:05 PM
Good manager or not the prevailing attitude seems to be one of disdain. Adding more fixtures to an already conjested season is hardly likely to win favour amongst the players???? Some leagues seem to take it far more seriously than others( the limerick squad seems to have been training together for weeks). To have any chance the new manager needs to secure commitment from players WILLING to play. IMO the OT competition would enjoy more success if it was played as a pre season tournament. Any thoughts????

allab
24/10/2006, 3:33 PM
Good manager or not the prevailing attitude seems to be one of disdain. Adding more fixtures to an already conjested season is hardly likely to win favour amongst the players???? Some leagues seem to take it far more seriously than others( the limerick squad seems to have been training together for weeks). To have any chance the new manager needs to secure commitment from players WILLING to play. IMO the OT competition would enjoy more success if it was played as a pre season tournament. Any thoughts????

maybe so but how is the manager going to pick his team if he wouldnt of seen any players in action as its pre season??

C.T.F.C
24/10/2006, 6:56 PM
Assuming the manager has commitment from all registered players in the T.S.D.L the squad virtually picks itself. A few training sessions would enable him to select his prefered team. Problem solved????

zizu's head
25/10/2006, 7:07 AM

I see where you're going with this, but adding the OT to the pre-season might only succeed in lessening the time off that the players have in the summer months!! :)

Den Perry
04/11/2006, 12:00 PM
I see where you're going with this, but adding the OT to the pre-season might only succeed in lessening the time off that the players have in the summer months!! :)

i hear this has been named? anyone got the full squad?

zizu's head
06/11/2006, 6:27 AM
i hear this has been named? anyone got the full squad?

Everyone seems to be wondering about the squad. Nobody has heard anything, even though the first game is Saturday night!! :rolleyes:

zizu's head
07/11/2006, 6:20 AM
Everyone seems to be wondering about the squad. Nobody has heard anything, even though the first game is Saturday night!! :rolleyes:

This is the TSDL squad.

St. Michael’s: James Walsh, Paul Breen, Richie Ryan, Raymie O’Brien, Paul Tobin, Ray McMahon, Davy Ryan;

Clonmel Town: Richard Ryan, Raymie Condon, Dwayne Burns, Anthony Davis, Aaron Moroney, Paul Scully, Tony Scully;

Peake Villa: Derek Breen, Aaron Ryan, Ger O’Grady, Ted O’Connor, Jody O’Grady;

Clonmel Celtic: Paul Kennedy and Andrew Cosgrave,

Cahir Park: Richard Tobin, Keith Maguire;

Old Bridge: Paddy O’Donnell, Barry O’Neill

Van The Man
07/11/2006, 8:29 AM
Derek Breen

Anthony Davis , James Walsh , Paul Breen, Paul Tobin

Tony Scully, Paul Scully, Davy Ryan , A.N. OTHER

Ted O'Connor Aaron Moroney

HAS ANYBODY ANY DIFFERENT LAYOUT.
I CAN'T PICK A LEFT SIDE OF MIDFIELD

Tipp Man 2
07/11/2006, 2:17 PM
Derek Breen

Anthony Davis , James Walsh , Paul Breen, Paul Tobin

Tony Scully, Paul Scully, Davy Ryan , A.N. OTHER

HAS ANYBODY ANY DIFFERENT LAYOUT.
I CAN'T PICK A LEFT SIDE OF MIDFIELD

james walsh out injured(damaged his knee ligaments with irish squad) Davy Ryan not available..going to see shane long playing in england and paul scully injured also

jug2004
07/11/2006, 2:30 PM
Chalky is a huge loss, but don't know would i agree with the team anyway, is breen best keeper in tipp at mo? is there a better right full than A davis? Fogarty from peake villa surely good enough for the team, who now for the middle of the field then? and would aaron and ted definatley play couldn't see them both playing

Van The Man
07/11/2006, 3:50 PM
Chalky is a huge loss, but don't know would i agree with the team anyway, is breen best keeper in tipp at mo? is there a better right full than A davis? Fogarty from peake villa surely good enough for the team, who now for the middle of the field then? and would aaron and ted definatley play couldn't see them both playing

With injuries and non-attendence I would change the team to this so. I'm not saying that's it the best team in the TSDL, I'm only going with the Squad that's there. And yes fogarty from peake should be on the squad, and should actually be starting centre field, i'd have him ahead of McMahon, but fogarty isn't on the squad at the moment so we'll have to make do with what he has picked.

What do you mean by "couldn't" see them both playing, is is that they wouldn't blend together ??

Derek Breen

Anthony Davis , Aaron Ryan , Paul Breen, Paul Tobin

Richie Ryan, Tony Scully, Ray McMahon , A.N. OTHER

Den Perry
07/11/2006, 9:42 PM
With injuries and non-attendence I would change the team to this so. I'm not saying that's it the best team in the TSDL, I'm only going with the Squad that's there. And yes fogarty from peake should be on the squad, and should actually be starting centre field, i'd have him ahead of McMahon, but fogarty isn't on the squad at the moment so we'll have to make do with what he has picked.

What do you mean by "couldn't" see them both playing, is is that they wouldn't blend together ??

Derek Breen

Anthony Davis , Aaron Ryan , Paul Breen, Paul Tobin

Richie Ryan, Tony Scully, Ray McMahon , A.N. OTHER

I would probably agree with that team. I'd say O'Connor and Moroney would work well together up front....though I believe Ted limped out of the fai cup game near the end last sunday.Cant believe fogarty not even in the squad...or alan leahy for that matter, especially with walsh injured

C.T.F.C
08/11/2006, 1:03 PM
You could play T Scully on the left- he's better on the flanks than in the centre anyway. IMO Andy Cosgrave from Celtic would be a good option in the middle. Seen him play a few times this year and last. Good engine-tough and can shoot with either foot. Were foggy and ian barnes not selected or did they not make themselves available???

Van The Man
08/11/2006, 1:15 PM
You could play T Scully on the left- he's better on the flanks than in the centre anyway. IMO Andy Cosgrave from Celtic would be a good option in the middle. Seen him play a few times this year and last. Good engine-tough and can shoot with either foot. Were foggy and ian barnes not selected or did they not make themselves available???

They were available alright, they just weren't selected :confused: :confused: . Why I don't know. Barnsey would be good down the left and Foggy a certainty for the center of midfield. Unless anyone else gets called up between now and Sat nite..

zizu's head
08/11/2006, 7:46 PM
4th Round Draw

(The 5 winners will go into the last 64 'open national draw')

Rosegreen Rangers (Division 1) v Two Mile Borris (Premier League)

Clonmel Celtic (Premier League) v Rock Rovers (Division 1)

Wilderness Rovers (Division 3) v Clonmel Town (Premier League)

Peake Villa (Premier League) v Killusty FC (Division 1)

Cahir Park (Premier League) v Ballingarry Albion (Division 1)

stevie11
09/11/2006, 12:23 PM
have been to a fair few Town games this year and its shockin dat Barnsey isnt in de TSDL team..Flipper isnt playin as well this year and maybe Richi Ryan should be starting in Goal??any suggestions!!!!??Robbie Costigan would also be good enough to be in the panel..possibley at centre half!!!!:ball: :ball:

tipp man
09/11/2006, 10:13 PM
Barnes is great down the left. The only problem is , he thinks it is beneath him to play anywhere else but down the middle.

He is a great talent, but he insisits on playing himself out of position. He knows best I suppose.

C.T.F.C
10/11/2006, 12:49 PM
Hardly beneath him- the reason he prefers the centre or the right is that when he cuts in he is coming onto his left foot. In an ideal world you could give him a free role behind 2 strikers but alas this is not Brazilian football:D .
I dont know what criteria Liam McCarthy used to select his squad but he has ommited some of the best players in the T.D.S.L. It doesnt auger well for the campaign.

Van The Man
21/11/2006, 9:34 AM
4th Round Draw

(The 5 winners will go into the last 64 'open national draw')

Rosegreen Rangers (Division 1) v Two Mile Borris (Premier League)

Clonmel Celtic (Premier League) v Rock Rovers (Division 1)

Wilderness Rovers (Division 3) v Clonmel Town (Premier League)

Peake Villa (Premier League) v Killusty FC (Division 1)

Cahir Park (Premier League) v Ballingarry Albion (Division 1)

To progress to the last 64:

Two Mile Borris
Clonmel Celtic
Clonmel Town
Peake Villa
Cahir Park